Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3 stars

2863 Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

#51 of 210 hotels in Honolulu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 441 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money !!!! spend $9,000 US in two rooms (16 nights) and was not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Old Property, low maintenance, water was down for whole day of the trip( no place to shower or go to restroom), cockroaches in one of the rooms Put extra charges on the bill.... will not recommend it have to pay $32 US per day for parking the car

    the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    I loved that it was right on the beach away from the hustle...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs, nothing major.

    I loved that it was right on the beach away from the hustle and bustle in Waikiki. We stayed at 6 different places in Hawaii and it was nice to end the last 2 nights right on the beach in Waikiki. It’s amazing to have private beach access, and a nice view of the city and the mountains too. Beds were comfy, deffs not my last time here, will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Terrific hotel with private beach is well worth the short stroll to the hot spots in Waikiki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit pricey with breakfast ... the hotel should offer its guests a discount. The Valet is $36 nightly, a bit pricey.

    We upgraded for a suite with ocean and mountain views, Room 710, which was fabulous!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Most of all, we enjoyed the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was much too too short.

    Most of all, we enjoyed the location. It’s at the quiet end of Waikiki near Diamond Head. The view of Diamond Head was spectacular from the the room we stayed in. The lanai was an added bonus. The Hau Tree Lanai Restaurant is wonderfully situated by the beach and is a great place to enjoy a leisurely meal with friends, however quite pricey. we didn’t dine there this time, however we have enjoyed many fine meals there in the past. I’m especially fond of their breakfast.. Love the ambiance!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Not bad for the money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The room was ok for two people. We had a view of Diamond Head Volcano which was beautiful, mostly used the room to rest our head. Nice restaurant inside the hotel that seems to be busy. Food was ok, nothing to rave about. Breakfast was good . Location was excellent, away from the commercial/tourism attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.8
    Unsatisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested a queen bed and got two singles pushed together with a hard edge in the middle. The pillows are extra small and very old and lumpy. Without the AC on all night the room gets hot and stuffy. The location is pretty next to Diamond Head but miles away from downtown. The resort fee added to the room rate is for nothing more than a beach towel and a coffee machine in the room since there are no resort facilities. Breakfast is not included.

    The shower was hot and strong and the hair products ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    The property was close to Waikiki beach and action without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c was right on top of me. I couldn’t get comfortable with that and there was no pool.

    The property was close to Waikiki beach and action without the craziness. It had a beautiful park across the street and you can’t beat the backyard—- the beach!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    We needed a break in a long flight sequence. Staying here worked well.
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small; had trouble fitting suitcases in room.

    Bed was comfortable, food was very good, beach was nice, location was good for us with park nearby and beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a great holiday by the beach!! Total chillaxin in beautiful Hawaii 😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given its all about the tourism, they could offered more in the way of activities. Customer service lacked in this space.

    Great stay. Room was excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable and met expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room was very small, even for just two of us. I'm sure there are bigger rooms but for the price we paid, our room was tiny.

    The staff was friendly, the view was as good as it gets and it's right on the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful place for a quiet, peaceful and restorative stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We loved being right on the beach in a more quiet hotel than Waikiki usually offers. The swimming was awesome! We upgraded to a corner room with an ocean view and enjoyed it immensely. The refrigerator in the room was a lifesaver.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel location in a beautiful place. Had a fabulous holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The room was very small and could have been updated, little tired in places.

    Loved the location of the property in a quiet area being on a lovely beach and a park at the front.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is right on the beach and not a long walk from shops and restaurants. The hotel provides beach towels and mats at the front desk free of charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location for a quiet escape from the noise of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a bit of a walk (10-15 mins). to get into Waikiki shopping.

    Excellent location for a quiet escape from the noise of Waikiki. Very friendly staff. Easy access to bus stops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Love Kaimana Beach Staycation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive Valet parking... no king size beds...pay for gym...no in-room jacuzzi

    Beachfront location with Valet Quiet, clean, beautiful less crowded beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Not 5 star but absolutely lovely hotel to stay. Just a short walk to the Waikiki Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really. Great hotel for the price.

    The restaurant was lovely, the food and drinks great but expensive. Could not fault the service, everyone attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.2
    The name of the hotel is misleading, not so "new" anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hostel size rooms, clogged bathtub, AC wouldnt work unless balcony door was shut. Mattresses were old and uncomfortable. this was definitely not worth the price at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Just stayed overnight, pleasant after a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the view of the condos right on my balcony from next door; much too close; that was the only drawback.just

    It is on the beach near Kapiolani Park and quiet. Waikiki not a far walk. The food was good and the staff very pleasant. Dining on the lanai very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    nice beach with some locals , quite park across the street, easy walk to shops, great food -cozy rm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    getting back for the beach should be easier as getting to the beach is from a side door but getting back is through the front door and lobby

    the place was mellow , had good food and nice people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.0
    Spent too much money for what I got. Not worth it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like how you could feel that the bed was two twin beds out together. The walls were extremely thin you could hear everything!!! My view was nothing like my picture! I didn't have much of an ocean view even though I paid for it. Way too pricey for what you get.

    Decent view. Couch was comfy. Bathroom was nice. Loved the patios. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Never disappoints, it's always my favorite place to stay in Honolulu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are very small.

    The location is unbeatable in the Waikiki area, very quiet corner of the city, much more family-friendly, but all the action is just a short walk through the park away. Hau Tree restaurant has one of the best beach views in all of the city, and has good eggs benedict.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, nice beach location slightly offset from Waikiki but very walkable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in a selerate wing, there was no elevator (that we could find) for bags. Also, the gym facilities were a seperate business and additional expense

    The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The service was great, and felt a bit upmarket with the turn down service. Bed was large and comfortable, and the room had good facilities - kitchenette, dining, living space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Right in the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool. Room was just a little on the small side. We were evacuted but it was a false alarm. I appreciate that they have a protocol in place in case of emergency, but no one told us it was over. I had to go in and ask.

    Right in the beach. Staff were nice. A little bit of a walk to stores maybe .5 mile but it was along the ocean so it was a nice walk. There was a small convenience store at hotel if you didn't want to go far. We had Diamond Head view not ocean but I still really liked my view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Were were supposed to get two rooms next to each other.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Were were supposed to get two rooms next to each other...but there weren't any - so they upgraded us so one room was as expected and one room was the premier suite. Awesome view being on the top floor of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    The Luau Cafe is a wonderful spot for a meal next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No self parking option.

    The Luau Cafe is a wonderful spot for a meal next to the beach, open air, under the trees, and the blue Pacific for a background. Just perfect location. Also I liked being further away from the frenetic and crowded Waikiki scene.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    thanks for the friendly staff but no thanks on staying in that tiny room again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I paid I got a view of the parking lot next door ,a small view of ocean and a small view of diamond Head. The room was tiny, recommended hotels like these should never build tiny rooms, and the bathroom didn't have a real door so no privacy when using the bathroom Also the shower wasn't draining well, no swimming pool or jacuzzi on site either here and the bed wasn't king size it was 2 twins put together, my girlfriend and I couldn't really get comfortable sleeping next to each other

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is very good. Nice and quiet in the park. Walking distance to Waikiki and plenty of free public parking. Left my rental parked over night without any problems The property is also located on a nice cozy beach. Making it real easy to go hang out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed being here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room condition is a little tired and not all in working order. Room needed better dusting. Closet door only moved with great difficulty.

    location, friendly and helpful staff, view from room, good bed, bar restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Over all awesome! I just wish they had organized the beds before our arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved a room with two twin beds, and when we arrived there were two twins pushed together into one king. It took a while for staff to come and separate the beds and remake them, and we didnt arrive until about 10pm and we were super exhausted coming from EST.

    Hau Tree lanai is my fav breakfast place on Oahu (I used to live in Honolulu for just under 3.5 years).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Close to Diamond Head
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in room air system was noisy and difficult to adjust. Not the greatest for restful sleep.

    The location was outstanding. The restaurant was good and was right on the beach. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    We stayed only one night so the tiny room was tolerable but for $200+ it was disappointing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small we barely had room to move around. No nightstand and bedside lamp on one side and no place to put luggage. Also, I don’t think there is a pool-just beach. Very small work out room -one treadmill only for a fee if $25/day..

    Great breakfast-Hawaiian French Toast. Need to make a reservation. Desk staff and bellman were very friendly and helpful. Every thing was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Honolulu’s Gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    This has been my hotel of choice for many years, staying repeatedly for business. I hadn’t been back for over 14 years. It was like coming home. The bellmen remembered me after all those years. Meals in the the Hau Tree Lanai are wonderful and delicious in a superb setting right on the beach. I saw the most spectacular sunset. I would stay nowhere else. The New Otani is a special place embodying the true concept of “ohana.”

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Location is best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cooking facility is nothing.

    Location is best. Staffs are very friendry and very helpful. View from the room is wonderful in the morning and sunsett-time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    people were great but the hotel itself was only so-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    BED TOO SOFT. bath/shower water took a long time to get hot/warm. shampoo/soaps were not replaced/refreshed daily (all hotels i've stayed at from luxury to budget replaced daily except for the cheapest places). the housekeeping did not get all trash (some left on the floor) when they straightened the room.

    the front desk staff and the car valets were VERY helpful and friendly. i had to print an important medical email and the front desk did it right away for me; the car valets were always prompt and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Now I understand why so many other reviewers say they repeatedly stay there when in Honolulu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Didn't have a pool but didn't need one with beach a dozen steps away. Had heard rooms were small---mine was sufficient and comfortable.

    Requested King bed; reservation stated double; was given king without asking (again). Staff was sincerely friendly and helpful. Location was great. Restaurant(s) were great. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.8
    Hotel is facing the beautiful beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    New Otani brand and expensive, but the facility was old and room was small Window view was just building and parking... changing room costed USD 60

    Hotel is facing the beautiful beach Very nice restaurants -but expensive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    Room was quite small, but clean and nicely furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the top of the building below.

    Room was quite small, but clean and nicely furnished. Along with the view of Diamond Head was a view of the top of the building below. The location is a 15 minute walk away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and has a great swimming beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    A nice stay, good beach and superb staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing to complain about

    A very nice thing is that this hotel has its own beach access, however small, and that its main restaurant sits on that beach as well, under a majestic tree. We swam and took barefoot beach walks - superb both in the morning and evening, and to reach Waikiki by beach only takes 15-ish minutes. The staff is phenomenal, from the valet to our housekeeper, everyone was super friendly and helpful. A balcony is a nice touch, big enough to enjoy a morning cup of coffee. Although the coffee machine is the dead cheap one, it makes a very nice cup! There is a fridge for your own food. AC is available, of course, but we never needed it, because the sea breeze was enough to cool down our room during the night - we slept like babies with open doors. We never saw a mosquito nor were bitten by one. The hotel bar offers a nice selection of cocktails and the poke was excellent both at the lobby bar and at the Miyake restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful and relaxing place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant prices a bit expensive.

    Location away from the business of Waikiki. Lovely beach, glorious sunsets. Restaurant for breakfast - views unbeatable. Very friendly helpful staff. Top Japanese restaurant. Handy onsite shop. Pleasant walk to Waikiki.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    Location was close to the beach and close to downtown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room is very small, so if you are a tall person by yourself, you may feel a little cramped. Doubly if traveling in a pair.

    Location was close to the beach and close to downtown Waikiki. The Hau Tree Lanai is a great place to eat - excellent food and very romantic with a great view of the beach. Price for a room was good if you just need someplace to stay while touring the island/going to the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Location, near Waikiki but quiter beach than the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put two twin mattresses together instead of 1 king mattress. That really annoyed me and my husband. Duvet was stained with what looked like blood but the duvet covers were always clean.

    Location, near Waikiki but quiter beach than the main Waikiki beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. The tourist agent desk was very helpful too, they gave us pretty good advices about where to go and how to get there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Whenever we come back to Oahu we will stay at the New Otani!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Donald Trump was in town.

    Great location and beach access. Great staff. Early check in was very helpful. Beautiful views of Waikiki. Great restaurant and bar!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant for the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our view was looking into other condo/hotel rooms even on the 8th floor. It would be nice it they offered beach chairs to use.

    I like the quiet end of town. Glad we didn't have a car as it would have cost $30 per night!! Staff is nice and welcoming. Hau Tree Restaurant is great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Wish I had taken time to use the SUP.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 twin beds, but they were so close, might almost have been a king

    Wish I had taken time to use the SUP. Spent most of the weekend at the sports fields near there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Just okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Diamond Head Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We initially thought that we would receive an ocean view room, but we received a view of the mountain which was not as beautiful.

    The breakfast was amazing, however $70 for breakfast is a bit on the expensive side. Try eating breakfast outside of the hotel, you will find pretty much the same thing for half the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Just enjoyable and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though it’s surrounding area is beautiful, it’s quite a walk to get the main area where majority of the restaurants and shops are.

    The hotel was right on the beach. In the morning, you have the beach practically to yourself.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    I will still stay here again and recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub didn't drain, and no nightstand on one side of the bed. Room was very tiny

    Staff were all wonderful, welcoming, polite from beginning to the end, reception , groundskeeper, bar, restaurant etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value (large room and beach-front) with old-fashion charm .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Diamond Head Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall building was somewhat old and the restaurants, though quality was good, were also somewhat old-fashioned - kind of place you feel like you're at grandmother's, that relaxing, but does not have the modern style that younger travelers would look for - perfect, however, for family travelers like us.

    The relaxed atmosphere, proximity to the beach (right in front) and nice staff. The Diamond Rock Suite was quite spacious for the price, but too bad it had no view of the ocean right in front. I also liked that elevators are always available, unlike some of the giant tower hotels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.0
    Average but poor staff during the night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiHi went down and noone can do anything. I travels a lot on business and this is the first any hotel wihi just simply offline and then hotel do nothing, just simply said "it happens". Hotel's website does not dusclose that its Japanese restaurant was closed on Tuesday and I was suppose to meet my business associate for dinner pn Tuesday.

    Clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    My stay at this hotel was a sweet, calm refuge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room was quiet with no traffic sounds or sirens that one hears in most of Honolulu. Besides that, I could see the ocean and beach from my balcony. The restaurant was excellent with lots of servers and helpers and good food. Beach towels were always available. The WiFi was excellent and free. The elevators came quickly. I was happy here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Would definitely stay at the New Otani again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooler in hotel and elevators.

    Location is terrific with the heart of Waikiki within a short walk to shops, restaurants and activities. Closest hotel to Diamond Head. Food was quite good, too. Staff are extremely accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.0
    Horrible. I felt cheated... I went to a better and cheaper resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ROOM WAS TOOOO SMALL!!!!! TOO EXPENSIVE FOR SUCH A SMALL SPACE!!!! I CHECKED OUT THE NEXT DAY CAUSE IT WAS NOT LIKE THE PICS ONLINE. THAT WAS SUCH A DISAPPOINTMENT!

    Breakfast was good but toooo expensive and wasn't free from the advertising

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    3.8
    What a terrible place....!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was not friendly and helpful at all. After staying for 10 days in the hotel nobody asked if we had a nice stay- they just asked for Credit Card details. Our room was not renovated and in bad shape. Reception told us that they will renovate our unit within the next weeks.... We come to Hawaii once a year- but this hotel was a big disappointment- sorry. The very first one in Honolulu- at least for us.

    We have enjoyed the quite atmophere in a certain distance to Waikiki. It is walking distance to the busy places at Waikiki but also a good position to get to all the other places by car without getting through the busy center of Honolulu. The Kaimana beach is nice especially for kids and not overcrowded like Waikiki. Excellent valet service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the location and will return in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Size of the rooms was smaller by comparison to Australian standards. The king size beds currently in use in the hotel cannot be separated into 2 beds, if this option was available I would have upgraded after arrival to the corner suite.

    Restaurant was absolute beachfront and the food and service was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Quite corner of Wakiki with breathtaking views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean and City View Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing is that the lobby could use a facelift but didn't matter because we were never there.

    The room was beautiful and the view was amazing. Just far enough away from the main drag to be quiet but close enough to walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is smallish, on the Kaimana beach which is also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean and City View Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking.com gave me a meal plan "free breakfast" but the hotel refused to honour this. I have asked New Otani, and they agreed to follow up, to obtain a credit from Booking.com to my credit card. "free breakfast" was one of the reasons that I booked New Otani, so that was disappointing to say the least.

    The hotel is smallish, on the Kaimana beach which is also small and used largely by locals. It is quite an intimate place to be.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    with moderate price, i really like this hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it would be a perfect place with a complimentary breakfast

    great location, very quiet relaxing place, great staff, access to a beautiful beach view, walking distance to the main Waikiki beach, restaurants, and shopping stores

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Hawiian Honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt it was overpriced, both for accomodation and the meals.

    It felt very comfortable and inviting. Not overwhelming or too "shiney"! The staff were lovely. Location was great for a quiet few days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our short stay, wish it could have been longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Diamond Head View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Enjoyed a beautiful ocean view. Excellent restaurants on site. Small market for essentials very convenient. Quiet area. Access to public transportation. Nice park area all around. Nice walk to the crowed area of Waikiki.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Loved it! Very cool place with nice staff and great design. Perfect beach out front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside is that the hotel is a bit further out of town (about 20 mins walk to Waikiki), but that's not big hardship.

    Loved everything about this place! It's super cool and clean and comfortable. For our first stint in Honolulu we stayed in the centre of town so we decided to stay a bit further along the beach this time. The beach right out front was perfect and the hotel provides towels, beach mats and umbrellas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    3.8
    VERY, VERY Small. No privacy. Run Down. Does not fit property description.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was VERY VERY small. Too small for two people. The bathroom was also VERY VERY small, with absolutely no privacy. The hotel overall was pretty shabby looking. No workout facility though the description indicated there was one. No spa, though the description said there was one.

    The bed was nice. The staff was nice. The soap was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.0
    A BIG disappointment, the rooms are uncomfortably small, bathrooms lack privacy, not a nice beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean and City View Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked two rooms - a superior room for my husband and I, and a standard for our two kids. The rooms are extremely small, even the superior room. But the standard is particularly small. Too small honestly. Both bathrooms were very small and lacked any privacy. The bathroom in the superior room was the width of a tub and toilet. Nothing but a louvered door dividing you from the rest of the room. The hotel charges a resort fee that I am not sure what it is for. This is not a resort. The description indicates that there is a workout facility which there is not. When I asked at the desk, I was told there was a facility outside of the hotel and there was a fee.. The hotels also says it offers a spa, which by traditional standards it does not - I believe they offer a message down a hallway on the 2nd floor, past the banquet rooms. More than half of the beach was closed for our entire visit -- it was inhabited by a seal and her pup and it was deemed unsafe - I understand this is not the fault of the hotel, but they don't even mention it upon arrival, or do anything to compensate. That the hotel is on the beach is really it's only selling point. Even so, it is not a nice beach, nor one you would want to spend much time on - it is adjacent to a big run down public park. We stayed at the hotel for over a week, and it really was uncomfortable after about two days. With the added resort fee and $30.00 a day parking fee, it's not a deal or a value for the money. The one lovely part of the hotel is the dining room. However, guests of the surrounding condos and hotels are aware of this highpoint, so a reservation is required even for breakfast (no one mentioned this when we checked in.) Guest are not given preference. I do not recommend this hotel unless your stay is no more than 2 days and you get a very discounted rate. The hotel is in need of a MAJOR renovation. Consider it a tourist hotel at best, and one to be avoided.

    The bed was nice. The view from my room was very nice. The view from my kids was not. Most of the staff is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Comfortablely elegant in Great location and I felt safe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little close to the adjoining property but i did get my sliver of a beach view from my Balcony , I could have touched the building next door but I did get a great price for 1 nite and I did have a sliver of a beach view!!!

    Bed and linens very nice and comfortable! Room was a nice size! Location of property was perfect for me! Love your large open bathrooms!!! I like the fact you only have Valet parking on the property! Even though it is an extra charge, it is well worth not to deal with the Car, never had to wait for it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    The quietness in the room I had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of a thing.

    The quietness in the room I had. The comfort of the bed and the room itself. So cozy. I needed a good night sleep and I had 2 nights of it. I enjoyed my stay at one of the most well known hotels on Oahu for many years. The valet attendant made me welcomed and was very conversational to many points of the hotel, so were the bell captains. Look forward to more staycations, little longer in order to take advantage of the restaurants, music and night life around the Kaimana.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    We liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean and City View Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked everything. We were so relaxed. the room was quite large and comfortable. We loved sitting out on the balcony and that we could walk down to what felt like a private beach even though it is public. Dining outside was very pleasant and Miyako, the Japanese restaurant, was lovely food for good value. We will return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    The "Moderate Room" was tiny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "Moderate Room" was tiny and had a view of the parking lot. Definitely not worth the $200+ a night. I felt so claustrophobic in that room! They were fully booked on our first night at the hotel, so we were not able to move to a larger room until the following day. Once we moved to the one bedroom with a view of the park, we were much much happier.

    Proximity to Kaimana Beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Expensive hotel but totally worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Diamond Head Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been nice if breakfast was included.

    Expensive hotel but totally worth it! Quiet, large, clean room with wonderful view over Diamond Head and partial ocean view. Attentive staff. Really nice beach in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.8
    A lovely old historic hotel but needs a bit of TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms we had were dated and needed modernisation. No lift to our room on the third floor.

    Excellent location away from the crowds. Great beach - would be nice to have some beach chairs or loungers. Also some umbrellas as no shade on the beach for childern.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.4
    Pros and cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a stroke in August...though I am 95% better the handicapp features in the bathroom are inadequate. I love the location but the hotel looks "tired." I was first put in a building with no elevator...they did move me.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    The Perfect Oceanside Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Diamond Head Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmmm... it wasn't sunny enough on Monday. Are you kidding???? There was nothing we didn't love!

    Both hotel restaurants and the bar were some of the best in Honolulu. The location was close to everything, but at a distance from the craziness of the heart of Waikiki. The hotel was recommended to us by friends as a decent place to stay, but we had no idea it would be this nice! This will definitely be our "home" during future trips to Honolulu!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The room was very clean, the staff extreme friendly, the location perfect. I was travelling with my little son and he could go to the beach while I had breakfast on the terrace.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Above all it was ok
    • Family with young children
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price, I stayed at hotels in the Mainland that were way cheaper and we're much nicer than this hotel for $45 a night.

    The bed was comfy, hotel was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice location, tiny room, no view.
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I booked this room, I picked a certain room and the picture changed that was assigned to my pick. It was a view of the beach in a lovely room. So imagine my surprise when I was put in a cramp tiny room and no view whatsoever. I don't know how you would be able to guarantee that you got the room you wanted and thought you would be getting... I guess go downstairs and get upset. Or, perhaps, the hotel could give accurate views of the choices of room. I would not have picked this hotel if I knew they were going to give me this room.

    The hotel is directly on the beach, which is always a plus in my book. The bed was comfortable and the housekeeping would come around and clean every day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.9
    Comfy, intimate, quiet location away from the chaos of Waikiki. Boutique Hotel feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish they would have told me my ocean front room was on the corner. I would have preferred a larger balcony. Although I was on the 9th floor, I did not feel comfortable leaving my balcony door open because the balconies are actually interconnected. They are just separated by partitions that another guest can potentially climb over from the neighboring room. It would have been nice to have slept with the sounds of the waves. I had reserved a one bedroom apartment initially and wondered if that one bedroom apartment had a better view. It would have been nice if staff was more informative. Please tell me next time. The website does not fully describe where the one bedroom units are located. Please tell me if I am on the corner unit. That wasn't very nice. If I had the larger balcony, you would have gotten some amazing photos to share.

    The location, the intimacy of a smaller property. The wonderful restaurant Hau Tree Lanai...Eggs Benedict and of course the in room service. Too tired to go out for dinner the first night. Friendly restaurant staff. Friendly concierge and parking attendants. Comfy and intimate setting. This probably what most tourists wish for but sadly the do not. This place is a gem. Please keep it small. Don't change. I frequent your restaurant whether I am staying there or not. I did not know there was another restaurant on the second floor. What a surprise. I'll try it next time. Your dessert menu was expansive and wonderful. You have the best breakfast menu as well as the lunch menu. Fantastic burgers and fries when you just crave it but want a magical setting. I was not clear whether wifi was free or paid for service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.1
    As a whole, quite decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms are small. Only room for twin beds, but comfy. Valet parking is too expensive at $30/day. Small fridge; no microwave.

    Open lanai. Left open at night. Liked valet parking. Great breakfasts on dining patio. Room service very good. Located at quiet end of Waikiki

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    6.7
    Clean but rather old. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not so comfortable. Room different from pictures on booking.com and TripAdvisor. Apparently the pictures on those sites are for oceanfront deluxe, but they are captioned and advertised as oceanfront superior. Deluxe is larger and has windows on two sides. I expected to get deluxe but didn't.

    Location. And ocean view

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: