Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Opal 3 stars

1050 Van Ness Avenue, Van Ness, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#138 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1786 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Currently under renovation - although this didn’t impact on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently under renovation - although this didn’t impact on our room (ie it was clean, and not noisy). Unfortunately the WiFi was not working, and the staff on front desk seemed a little grumpy. Nice location on Van Ness with frequent bus connections to rest of SF

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The room was very nice, and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay extra for parking.

    The room was very nice, and clean. The hotel is under a major renovation and the staff was very helpful to make sure we not lost.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    the room was great, just redesigned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    front desk service. hotel is going through renovations and we had to carry our luggage through stairs and that was not comfortable at all !

    the room was great, just redesigned. very nice !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, location is good, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would give 10 for the cleaning level, but we have found an underwear which wasn't ours and asked the housekeeping to take it- twice.

    Comfortable, location is good, nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Thank you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sorry but the bed was uncomfortable. I understand you are under construction but there was no business center to have something scanned or printed out. I will come back but the sooner everything is finished with construction the better.

    The location is great and rooms were good. The rooms are very clean and staff is helpful and very friendly. I enjoyed my stay and will return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Awesome place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast but there are multiple very good places super close, so its not a big deal. First floor is being refurbished, so access to parking is not immediate. Parking is not included. On the mobile web version of booking.com this is not obvious, but this is an issue of booking.com, not of the hotel per se.

    Awesome place. Good quality/cost ratio, as the room matched and was above my expectations. Very clean. Helpful personnel at the reception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Under construction, but newly remodeled room was immaculate 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main lobby was still under construction, but the hotel seemed equipped with a make shift check in table and laptops. The room window view was obstructed by outside scaffolding and ladders. Which, most of San Francisco seemed to be under construction..

    The room was VERY clean. Everyfixture was NEW and in great condition. The friendly house keeping staff checked in with us to coordinate when they could clean, which I personally appreciated, as we are late sleepers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thses beautifully renovated rooms and I am sure the rest will be done in the same fashion. The staff was efficient and friendly and location was a plus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Great for the price !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was by the service elevator and it made a lot of noise getting off or on it woke me up maybe, furthermore found someones long hair in the shower where the shampoo was placed. Over all it was a nice hotel room.

    The price wasn't bad, the room was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Super friendly helpful staff, new rooms are excellent, would (and probably will) stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have no issues with the hotel or staff or anything that was under the hotel's control. Some streets near the hotel are sketchy and it's right on Van Ness which is under perpetual construction. Take away that and add the fact that it's easy to get transportation to and from, and I have no issues.

    It was comfortable, the a/c worked perfectly, everything in it was new, and I really feel like once the renovations are done, this place will shine above the rest. Based on other recent reviews I knew going in that the hotel was under renovation and to expect some noise, some members complained about the rooms being older, etc. It was still undergoing renovation when I stayed but my room was one of the recently finished and it was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Good value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited supply of beverages in the room. The filter machine would only do 1 cup at a time. But, when we asked for more coffee, tea, sugar and cups we got plenty. The hotel is still being renovated but you can see that once it will be finished it will be a really decent place to stay, especially if the price stays the same.

    The rooms were really comfortable and clean. The staff on the check in desk were really helpful as well. The location was pretty good, not the nicest part of town but easy to get to for all of the major attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    This hotel is a great place to stay in San Fransisco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a great place to stay in San Fransisco! The staff was great very nice and friendly ! The room was very clean and comfortable! The location is great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    one of the best deals
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constructions out on the street. Remodeling inside hotel. I suspect the price will rise after remodeling is complete. Also it takes some walking to get to point of interests and restaurants etc.

    Room is newly remodeled, clean, comfortable and well appointed. I stayed in various hotels in SF and this is comparable to much more expensive hotels

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    3.8
    Skid row. Probably use to be nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crumby location. Construction everywhere. Can’t find the entrance easily. Lobby door locked. They have to buzz you in for security. Not a great place to walk around

    Room is clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in a pretty city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Presently there were some renovation works going on; no real hinder though. There is no breakfast (because of the renovation or is it a policy?). There are breakfast opportunities in the area, such as Starbucks and Peete's.

    Liked the hotel and its location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Good value for $200 per night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn’t great. It is too far from Union Square. Beresford Arms Hotel was a much better value. We stayed one night here because Beresford was booked when we decided to stay an additional night in SF.

    Good value for $200 per night. Rooms are new and clean except for a spot on the carpet. Looked like blood or could have been chocolate. They came right away to spot clean. Staff offered to change our room immediately.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    Excellent for a weekend in the city, not for work trips.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Traveling for work, I used to stay at Opal because there would always be a quick way to get something to eat at Mel's and I could wake up an hour earlier and use the laundry room and it would always be available because the hotel wasn't very occupied. This time Mel's was closed (it looks like they are going to revamp the diner into a hipster burger place), the hotel was so packed the only elevator required some serious waiting and the laundry room was inoperant. Maybe this has to do with the hotel having been sold to Marriot. I would stay again for fun, not on a work trip.

    The renovated rooms are very comfy and big for what usually find in SF.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Stayed in a junior suite with three children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed in a junior suite with three children. Spacious and beautiful. Newly refurbished rooms. Coffee available in room. Good shower, comfy beds. Walking distance to China town and Union Square. Also good bus connections right on the Van Ness Ave to go the see the Golden Gate and Presidio.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    The room was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was amazing! I loved the décor and it had the most comfortable bed ever! The only bummer was the hotel was under construction in the lobby and outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation is going around the lobby area so it can get quite crowded in the morning due to lack of space.

    Location is great. The rooms are very clean and the bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel staff were very nice and let us check in early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff were very nice and let us check in early since our room was available. Rooms are newly renovated and very beautiful, clean and comfortable. They were under construction at the time but it not bother us at all. Great location, would recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    The Opal San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a hotel with a gym but it wasn't open and we were not advised in advance. The hotel was being refurbished. Our room was fine but it's a building site elsewhere with a temporary reception. A lot of money for a hotel that looked like this.

    Clean room location ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    The room was newly renovated and i like the design of it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is still under renovation and you don't have access to the lots of facilities. They start working by 10 or 11 am, it is a bit annoying.

    The room was newly renovated and i like the design of it very much. close to the public transportation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the room but lobby was not good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is still under renovations and the lobby was not really a good first impression and it was the same experience outside. However once on the floor of my room it was splendid. Neighborhood did not feel very save so I do not recommend walking around in the area, seems to be similar for many parts of San Francisco

    The rooms have been renovated and were great!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Got the job done.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of course renovation was not divulged beforehand, only when I arrived. Understandably pretty standard practice for hotels but it’s always a disappointing discovery upon arrival.

    Nice room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    The hotel and the room are beautiful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Renovation of the building (internal and external) causes inconvenience to the guests. No meals are offered. The area is not so safety.

    The hotel and the room are beautiful and nice. The room is cleaned with care.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedrooms were fully renovated with a beautiful colour scheme of teal and gold. Everything was new, the bed was so comfy. Overall we had a great stay. The lobby is under full renovation, I'm sure it will look amazing once its done.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Super clean. Comfy. Did not like the parking though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is in the basement and going to our room from the parking involved some walking, opening doors, getting stairs and an elevator. We were kind of lost and had to call the hotel to know how to enter the building. It was a bit scary at night. Parking is 0/10. Everything else is Perfect about this hotel. Super clean and comfy.

    Rooms are new and super clean. I mean really new and clean. Beds are comfy. Sheets were clean and bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.5
    Great. Room was good, parking was ample.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Neighborhood immediately around the hotel is ok, but go two blocks back toward downtown and it becomes sketchy. You enter an area called the Tenderloin which has always been a rough area. Lots of homeless on the street.

    Room was nice. Comfortable and was recently redone. The hotel is going through a renovation and soon to become a Courtyard Marriott. They are taking an older boutique hotel and modernizing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed 😞
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel under refurb which was not stated on the website and the price was very expensive 1000 dollars for 2 night stay with no facilities. Also stated parking no parking . Very disappointed 😔

    The bed was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To nitpick, strong Air Conditioning, but in San Francisco, why bother. Crack open the window!!

    Everything!! The renovation looked amazing. The room is cozy and extremely comfortable!! It made my stay in San Francisco even more amazing!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    2.5
    fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they didn't say anything about the renovation, the main entrance is full with dust though they covered it by plastics. the room is too small and it does not have a good air circulations

    fair price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The room was new.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wifi signal isn't strong enough.

    The room was new..! It was justed finished renovation and reopened the while floor. I was lucky to the first person to stay that floor. Facilities were all new and comfortable and bathroom was luxurious. I would definitely recommend this place to others and it will be much better once they resume to full service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Overall stay is good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is under renovation and it's noisy in the early morning that woke you up, hopefully renovation will be done soon.

    Location, room is clean and friendly staffs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, centrally located and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the building is under construction and it was never forecasted prior to booking.

    Bed was exceptional and the room was spacious. Wifi strength was excellent from desk or bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    All in all it was a good hotel and near everything we wanted to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was not available, we had to park down a couple blocks. Construction was ongoing on the property. The rate was not the same as I had booked but it didn't break the bank either. First full day there they were turning the water off from noon to 4 PM. All of these were unforeseen which would have made me not want to stay there again but the room is what made it.

    Room was great and just what I needed, a Jr. Suite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely renovated room in a location that might not appeal to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lobby floor is being renovated so the facilities on the ground floor are very basic at the moment (June 2018). Even though the location is good for getting around the city, the hotel lies on the edge of the Tenderloin district which can be bit rough.

    Our double room on the 4th Floor was extremely nice, recently renovated, stylish and comfortable. Wifi works well, room was immaculately clean. Staff very nice. Location is central for getting around the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    Newly renovated, comfortable room and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under a major renovation. Half the lobby is closed off for construction, uso ba makeshift desk for check-in/out. We chose this hotel because they offered onsite parking. However, upon arrival the front desk staff informed us their parking garage was closed because it was being used for construction parking instead. So we had to find alternative parking in a garage about 1.5 blocks away with a daily rate and no in/out privileges.

    Newly renovated, comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Happy with my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC wasn't very cool, but not a deal breaker for me

    The hotel was very nice. Even tho it was under renovation, it was clean. The floor we were on has been renovated and it was absolutely gorgeous! Our room was small, but comfortable and I loved it. The bathroom was great. The decor and comfort were wonderful. It's sort of a modern Victorian. The staff was pleasant. Tommy's Place restaurant across the street is awesome! And there is a movie theater next door.I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located in not so nice part of city Tenderloin. Lots of the homeless around the hotel.

    Despite the reconstruction, we really liked the hotel. Rooms were clean, cozy and nicely decorated. Helpful staff. Garage parking for a good price nearby (28 USD for 2 days).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.5
    Maybe next time after the construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many part of the hotel is under construction. The lobby is not connected to the garage because of that and garage door was broken on the day I left.

    The room was great and the hallway was really nice too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    We loved the hotel, the location was perfect for everything that we wanted to do in San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was under construction. It was a little difficult carrying suitcases up the front steps to check in and out.

    Absolutely loved the renovated room, just gorgeous. Very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Great weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a rougher area of San Fran about 1.5 km from union square 20 mins walk through a lot of homeless area

    Clean and newly updated or in process of upscale

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a microwave. The restaurant next door and 1/2 of the hotel was being remodeled. The location was not close to very many places to dine. Bonus AMC movie theater was next door. The new room we stayed in was small but modern and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    It was wonderful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I needed to wear an eyemask to sleep, but since I always travel with one that was not a problem. I do prefer not using one if possible.

    It was very clean and quiet. I loved the very spacious, clean bathroom with higher end fixtures and higher end spacious shower that came with a pull-down wooden slat seat. Loved the lighting in the bathroom and bedroom. Good size desk. Bed was good with a classy, attractive white waffley bedspread. Dealt with 4 different front desk staff on 4 different days and every one of them was really nice and helpful. Nice hot shower; heat and a/c worked perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    It functioned well for what we needed it to, but wish we had more for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money, we didn’t get many extra perks. No breakfast or other food, small room and facility in general with not very many amenities. We had WiFi but not very many TV channels. No appliances in the room except mini-fridge. The building felt a little closed-in because of the construction so we didn’t get to see much of it, though what we did see was beautiful. Also no extra activities available at the hotel.

    The staff were awesome, very friendly and helpful with any questions, very good English (not always as easy as it sounds in San Francisco) and available all the time. The property (what has been remodeled so far) was also beautiful...very stylish!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the hotel was bad. The city is doing major street work so the streets are little rough.

    Very friendly staff in process of remodeling looks nice now.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful remodel, comfortable beds, easy check in and check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction did limit some navigation ways of the hotel.

    Beautiful remodel, comfortable beds, easy check in and check out, hotel location is almost in the center of everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Under renovations but on the inside brand new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't mention $30 extra per night for parking. Water struggled to get hot most of the time. Bathroom door didn't lock and self closes.

    Great newly renovated space! Rooms were brand new and decor too! Very comfortable bed, great air con and good tv channel selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    My stay was pleasant.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I did not like that the room was not kid friendly. there were lots of sharp edges for my 18 month old to hurt himself with. The room did not have a microwave not did the Lobby and I called to ask before I booked it and they said that there would be one available in the lobby to use. I had to be escorted to the basement every time I needed to heat up a bottle. The noise of the construction that was going on in the building was annoying as well. The fact that the water was shut off for 4 hours was not pleasing to me.

    I like the cleanliness of the hotel, the staff was pleasant, the room was lovely, the location was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Budget Stay @ The Opal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like how the hotel was still under renovations and the lobby wasn’t completed. Also I sometimes heard construction noises.

    I liked how the rooms were renovated and new. The bed was very comfortable and I liked the black out curtains. The bathroom was very modern and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    An ok experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower doesn't get very hot and takes a couple minutes to heat up. The rooms are very small. There are drug addicts and prostitutes around the property especially at night.

    The decor was really nice. The room had very comfortable bed as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff is friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only 2 small negatives: Renovation work is still in progress, staff said they will hopefully finish by the end of this year (2018). But we weren't too bothered with the work in progress. No (free) breakfast. But with all the nice breakfast cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood, who wants to eat hotel breakfasts anyway? :)

    Staff is friendly. Newly renovated rooms are beautiful (love the blue/brown colour combinations). Typical San Fransisco window sill to sit in (rooms on the street side). Convenient location: there is a bus to Fisherman's wharf that stops just in front of the hotel, BART station is 15 min walking distance. Free water in the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Love the new rooms, renovations lasting through end of year.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is under renovation, lobby is closed and the onsite parking is closed during construction. I have stayed here several times and It would have been nice to know. New renovated rooms are very nice, quiet with good beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Had just what we needed during our short trip to San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have appreciated a complimentary breakfast but luckily there are plenty of options around, many in walking distance.

    I was pleasantly surprised with our stay. The main lobby and adjacent diner (for breakfast) were under construction but we were placed in an updated room on the 5th floor away from any noise. The room was small but had everything we needed including a mini fridge, a safe, hair dryer and complimentary soaps, shampoo, etc. Although the hotel is located adjacent to the 'bad' part of San Fran, it is on a main road and the building and elevator are secure (you need your room key to get in and use the elevator) so I felt very safe. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I received a deal by reserving this hotel with booking.com, but for the price would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    The Opal was great! They made it a great visit while here in San Francisco!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. But you can work around it. Just becareful adventuring the surrendering streets at night. Uber is your best friend and was suggested by one of the Opal staff, excellent recommendation! We walked around at night, but just paid attention to your surroundings. It was good taste to the authenticity of San Fran.

    This place saved our vacation! We needed some where to stay aftering our flight landed and we discovered our original hotel was a nightmare. Desperately we needed a room fast and checked-in via booking.com into the opal crossing our fingers it wouldn’t be worst or the same conditions we was in. The Opal was better then I hoped for, it gave us comfort and peace. All the staff on each shift was friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned daily with attentiveness and care. Any questions or needs the staff is quick to accommodate. The decor is nice, very clean hotel and I love how the keep it safe with the main entrance always being locked with only a keycard entry. The location is near everything, even the side of town with a lot of homeless individuals approaching you and things seem sketchy. But the hotel provided that security needed while staying here. It is close to everything you’d want to visit, the tourist side, the local interactive visit and all the key spots you should visit while in San Francisco. The Opal saved our trip! As soon as we checked-in here, we had a wonderful time in San Fran and so glad we found this place after our nightmare. The Opal is a place I would stay again and recommend to anyone! Even despite the location this place was comfy, clean and a great value for the money. Good job The Opal SF!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    We loved the rates and the room but would have enjoyed our stay more if there was a lobby and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not realize that the lobby was under complete construction and we disappointed when we arrived. Not having a place to meet or just sit and relax while waiting on other was huge negative.

    The newly renovated room with additional sleeper sofa was wonderful !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    My room was always serviced and it was like walking into the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My room was always serviced and it was like walking into the room for the first time. This is the best place I have stayed in San Fran, and I will stay here again! Coffee, food, and CVS near by, easy access dropoff/pickup zone for uber or lyft as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    I recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Even with all the rebuilding!!

    We stayed in a newly refurbished room! It was super spaceous and confortable. The staff friendly and all very quiet in spite of all the work taking place!!... The hotel is being renewed and so the lobby as well the 1st and 2nd floor were being rebuilt!! It didnt bother us at all!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    The room was cozy.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room, I was not informed that the hotel was under construction. It was a major inconvenience. Could not access the parking garage from the lobby. I either had to go up to 5th floor and catch the other elevator and go down to garage or go outside the front door and walk down a sketchy alleyway. The parking garage was not attached to hotel so I had to walk in the rain and carry my luggage up a flight of stairs and I had to pay an extra $30 to park my car in the garage.

    The room was cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    The remodeled rooms are beautiful and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The television volume only moved in increments of 4; zero was muted, four was barely audible and eight was very loud. Hopefully, the hotel can make adjustments. We have stayed at the Opal several times and expected there to be parking. Due to the remodeling the parking was not available but that information was not shared. We may have made other hotel arrangements.

    The remodeled rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. If the remodeled room is an indication, the lobby will be amazing when the remodel is complete. The facilities were limited due to the remodeling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful surprise in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the Opal is under construction the rooms are amazing. Parking you can’t beat in the city. I really liked the safety aspect, as well. Super excited to see the finished product. We will definitely be back. Lots of restaurants and entertainment within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great value for money. Super clean and comfortable. The room is spacious and the bathroom was really clean. There was construction but we weren't bothered that much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Hotel staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the hotel under major construction. Elevator did not work our last day and had to go down five flights of stairs with luggage. Was not told of the construction until we arrived and saw it.

    Hotel staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Their renovated rooms were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were some renovations happening, and that only left the main elevator open to get to the lobby. On one occasion, the elevator did not respond, so I had to go through construction on the stairs to get out. Once their renovations are finished, this shouldn't be a problem.

    Their renovated rooms were nice. I found the staff to be friendly as well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall The Opal was pretty good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel was a little ways away from the tourist areas so made for a lot of walking. Also there wasn’t a lot to choose from nearby for food or restaurants. The on site restaurant was closed and under renovation and we weren’t told about that until we arrived.

    Our room was nice. It had been updated. Bed was comfortable and the shower was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel in Frisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the moment was under restoration works. But we didn't have any problem with this

    The room sas large and new. Just refurbished. Personnel was very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    4.6
    Suck will not recommend to my friends or family.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room feel like a sauna. It was so hot cant sleep. No one can do anything for me. And they have no fan.. ac did not work.

    That it was close to everything i want to go do..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Was comfortable and pleasant inside
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Area around the hotel is not particularly pleasant. Lack of any breakfast facility.

    Hotel was clean and interior was new and well appointed. Staff were freindly and price was reasonable for San Francisco.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is being refurbished and two of the lower floors were shut. Noise during the day wasn’t too much of a problem but the outside noise from across the street started at 6am. Also, this is a 15 minute walk to Union Square so be prepared to get a Lyft or Uber.

    The floor I was on had newly refurbished rooms. They were well done and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant. Nice room. No problems.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Exercise facilities are not existent.

    They are remodeling 2 floors. I stayed on the 5th floor which was newly redone. It was very nice. Not perfect, but very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    I had a very enjoyable short trip to San Francisco and I look forward to the next stay at the Opal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    The room was very comfortable and the furnishings were simple and fitting for the style of this hotel. The front desk staff, particularly Marnie, was very accommodating and knowledgeable about the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Well positioned, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was undergoing refurbishment when we stayed and a couple of minor things would need to be sorted (& probably have been by now)

    Good position for the Concert and Opera halls and main theatres.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Newly renovated rooms are beautiful and comfortable; great location for business and leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Navigating the hotel during the construction was a bit tricky - for one trip due to maintenance it took two different elevators and a flight of stairs to get to the garage. Some signs around the hotel helping guest navigate around would be super helpful

    The newly renovated rooms are super nice and comfortable and the location is great both for getting downtown for business and getting to more fun tourist options like Fisherman's Wharf.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    3.3
    the hotel ought to have been closed, rather than luring uninformed travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I ought to have been informed, the hotel was IN THE PROCESS of renovation : dirty and noisy, workers everywhere, elevator not working, etc. In addition, the guy checking me in made a mistake, sent me and all my luggage to the wrong room. Moreover, they forgot to make up my room three out of the 10 days of my stay. No coffee provided in the morning in the lobby; i demand a partial refund, at least 30 % of what I was charged.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Opal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: