Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Morgan Hotel San Simeon 3 stars

9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452, USA

#5 of 11 hotels in San Simeon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 505 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was ample, rooms were clean, staff was wonderful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken curtains in our room.

    Breakfast was ample, rooms were clean, staff was wonderful, location was so convenient. Great hotel! Best part was shower has strong water pressure and shower head is high up, great for tall folk like me!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    The staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, and we were not told beforehand.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The Mexican restaurant next to the hotel was convenient and delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    This hotel got two buildings, one is the main with lobby and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel got two buildings, one is the main with lobby and pool, the other one is at some distance. Rooms are spacious, parking is ok. It's good place to spend a night before/after visiting Hurst castle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Stay was ok. Room small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two Queens Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See note above Also the sheets were thread bare and didn’t fit the bed

    We had a room right across from the registration desk so when we opened the door they could see. Not much privacy. Our window faced the parking lot so people’s headlights flared into our room late at night. I suppose becuz we were only staying 1 night that’s the reason for the room location. The room was small and crowded even for the 2 of us. They accommodate us with a late check out & extra towels. Very good referral in Cambria for dinner. Would we stay again maybe

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was so lovely that they offered us a bottle of wine for our honeymoon and a huge room. The motel is clean, well located to visit Hearst Castle and certainly one of the most "value for money" you can find around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    3.3
    Awkward and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management was horrible they treated My wife and I very rude .we went there for our anniversary and they did nothing special for us like they do at plenty of other beach hotels for special occasions and when I asked they looked like I was crazy and said no I need to pay for everything which of course was fine they Definitely aren’t out to please their customers. I know that we will never stay at this place again .

    Only that it was near the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable after a long drive. Best hotel in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    San Simeon isn't really a place, it was a series of motels. The Mexican restaurant next door to the hotel was terrible, don't eat there. We went to Cambria, nearby, on the next day which was a lovely town and very friendly. The breakfast is basic carb stuff.

    Bed was comfy, room had good facilities and good TV. It's a really nice hotel, we recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Good location and short walk to a couple restaurants and to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and short walk to a couple restaurants and to the beach. Very comfortable bed, Great breakfast and loved the gas fireplace in our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    its okay level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very simple. Location is a bit inconvienent, we had to drive to any diners or stores instead of walking.

    Room is large and quiet. Great sea view outside the building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Great staff and nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not many hot options for breakfast

    Great staff and nice location. Name after the designer Morgan and had lots of paintings from the Hearst Castle. Warm in the cold weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was over looking highway 1 and traffic was very loud. Windows had to be open because there was an air conditioning. Room was so stuffy I was not able to sleep.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    Completely underwhelmed by accomations and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was completely underwhelmed by our hotel stay. Starting with check in. We arrived late and even mentioned we drove 3 1/2hrs to get there. The woman did not explain that our hotel room was in a different building - separated from the main hotel by what looks like an abandoned restaurant. She seemed very annoyed when we returned because we couldn’t find our room. It was only then that she offered us a hotel map. This pretty much sums up every experience we had with hotel staff.

    The place was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.2
    I wasn’t comfortable having my room/bathroom 2-3 steps away from the reception area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two Queens Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i booked my stay, I requested upstairs with privacy and possibly a view. It was my first time to book here and i was excited to relax and enjoy my stay for the weekend. I even called right after i had my confirmation number to verify if i have my room for the weekend. When i arrived, the lady looked at her papers and searched for my name (she had maybe,10 folded papers). There is your room pointing or looked to the right 2-3 steps away from her. I told her that I requested a second floor with privacy and possibly a view. She said right away “i’m sorry we are fully booked for the weekend”. Then i asked her again “do you have any in the first floor but not 2-3 steps away from the reception area”? She replied right away “i’m sorry we are fully booked”.

    I like the fire place. Unlike the heater, it wasn’t making noise. I like the free continental breakfast. The lady that was preparing the food is pleasant and very attentive when the food needs to be refilled.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Had a GREAT stay looking forward to next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Window blinds could have been in better condition.

    We requested "fur-free" & it was. Staff was pleasant. room and bathroon were clean. Would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Love this little hotel, perfect for a weekend getaway
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy to sit/lay on until we woke up with both of our backs completely messed up from the bed, so that was a bummer.

    Carlos at the front desk was really helpful and courteous to us with a very late checkout with no extra fee so we could extend our visit at Hearst Castle which is grueling and terrible 5 minute drive from the hotel along the Pacific Coast, haha! It was the perfect little hotel for a relaxing weekend getaway to visit Hearst Castle, Elephant Seal Vista Point, and Moonstone Beach... also a really awesome bath tub in the room helps :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views a few minutes walk away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit painful that there was no laundry - had to go to the next town (Which was only about 10 minutes drive away)

    Clean and friendly. Children loved the pool. Very close to a great park with fire pits, checkers, chess, tick tack toe and room to run whilst watching the sun set. Nice and close to Hearst Castle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For old folks. difficult to get out from bath as it was high and slippery. Need safety measures to be installed.

    The scenery and choices of restaurants .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Great Stay Close to the beach Peace and Quiet
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi good be better

    The Location Friendly Staff Pet Friendly Continental Breakfast. Angie (Staff) we had left something behind and she out of her way to make the things was sent back to us. **Awesome Person**

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Will not come back here, feel duped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel did not let us know we were not in the main building, but instead, in another building on the other side of the Mexican restaurant. Would like to have known that as we possibly would’ve stayed elsewhere. Walls were so thin, I could easily hear our neighbors conversation, television, etc. Room needs updating as far as decor goes...the color on the walls make the room appear smaller and dark. The bathroom door had holes in the interior side, which only made things look worn and tired...much like the dark mustard color on the walls. Housekeeping did a good job, having an ocean view was the best part...and the sound of the ocean, when our neighbors were done chatting and the tv was off. Would not recommend you stay here, unless you verify exactly which building you are in, and request a room away from any room that is connected to you so you can actually sleep when it’s time to go to bed!

    The Big Sur restaurant was the place to go for our breakfast, hotel muffins do not a breakfast make! The food was EXCELLENT, as was the service. So much so, we went back again the following morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful grounds but overpriced for the lack of amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The room was clean and comfortable. The view from our room was fantastic. Very pretty grounds! There's a Mexican restaurant just next door. The breakfast was very basic with mostly pastries and cereal. However, the walls were paper thin and we could hear kids running by and crying throughout our stay. Also,this hotel does not have an elevator so be aware of that since you will have to drag your luggage up stairs, with no staff in sight to help! The staff is in another building, where the breakfast is served. This is quite inconvenient. The coffee in our room was terrible. Tasted like dirt water due to it being poor quality. Also the rooms are outdated. Lastly,the cable is very basic and the wifi was less than 1 mbps (very slow). The price of this hotel was unreasonably overpriced considering all the negatives. Customers be aware.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable accommodation if you're in the area for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Sea view" was over the roofs over other buildings if you looked to one side only, otherwise non-existent and should not be charged extra for.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Nice spot for a weekend gate away with family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two Queens Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options were limited and mostly cold. Nothing fresh. The parking is limited and spaces are narrow.

    Hotel was quiet. Staff were attentive to your needs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    3.8
    Booking.com review scores are a scam - do not stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge like a premium hotel, maybe they were 10 years ago. Everything is old and warn, the building with room in was in a separate property down the street. Breakfast was the worst I’ve had for a long time, they’d run out of most things and what was left was dreadful! Old stale food which was only left because nobody wanted it. The staffs attitude was to shrug their shoulders and say ‘so what?!’... This hotel would have gone out of business years ago if it wasn’t in such a good location.

    Location was OK but that’s about it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Our stay was very comfortable. I won't think twice about staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really

    The breakfasts were ample and a time saver for the mornings when we had tours at Hearst Castle. The beds were very comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. The location was perfect, between Hearst Castle and the center of Cambria.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Did not realize were not in the same building as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not realize were not in the same building as the breakfast and pool. A bit inconvenient to have a separate key to open the buildings exterior door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Location and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quality has slipped. Room maintenance, for example the dead bolt was broken, and the TV channel situation was terrible. You would have to page through dozens of channels to find one that worked.

    Location and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable, clean and friendly place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no thermostat on the heater so it was not possible to achieve a comfortable room temperature at night when it got cold. The breakfast was unexpectedly terrible.

    The room was large with a nice sitting area. The bed was really comfortable and the sheets were soft. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    the window next to bed looked at back parking lot and thus,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the carpet in my room had several dirty spots indicating a need for carpet shampooing.

    the window next to bed looked at back parking lot and thus, shades had to be drawn at all times. will get a second floor room next time!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location, lodgings good, not spectacular.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This sounds picky but the bottom sheets of the platform beds were not fitted so during the night with tossing and turning the whole bed fell apart. Didn’t like that at all. The room had trash on the floor. Bad in-room coffee.

    Easy to access, beautiful location near the shoreline, very quiet, pet friendly, spacious rooms. Complimentary continental breakfast. Morning desk clerk suggested lunch at Sebastian’s 4 mi up the road at the Hearst Winery-really great food, glad we went.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay--with a few qualms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The plusses are the lovely site and helpful staff. Minuses for us were the disappointing breakfast and the lack of a second chair and reading light bear the window. The site does not have a gym. Our room did not have a microwave, which we had counted upon using.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Rooms had all the right features -- fridge, microwave, some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattresses were too hard.

    Rooms had all the right features -- fridge, microwave, some have fireplaces, counter with mirror both inside and outside bathroom. It's right next to the ocean, too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Excellent! A lovely clean & friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Nada. Zilch.

    Friendly arrival. Great nights sleep. Lovely continental breakfast. Friendly goodbye. A perfect stop over for our road trip - I was so impressed and excellent value for money!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    The basics done well!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little off the main route in San Simeon, this was a great motel to over night in. It has a heated pool and a bar/grill restaurant just down the road. Breakfast included had all the basics and a lovely large area to sit and eat in. Staff were courteous and helpful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    mehh..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are better hotels at the asking price right near this place. I didnt think the price justified the no elevator small room with a view to the parking lot(front & back(

    The staff was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Great night in San Simeon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast offering could have been better.

    Fantastic little hotel. Lovely well spec'd room, quiet, very relaxing and very comfortable. Very obliging staff and would happily return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.8
    No elevator; this feature not noted on your site. Bathroom sink outside of the bathroom unsanirary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had NO elevator. The desk clerk was able to give us a second floor "ocean" view, we were excited at first but our excitement was dashed when we discovered the "ocean view" was obstructed.by tall I trimmed trees. Probably the most disappointing room feature was the bathroom sink was outside of the bathroom. The other disappointing room aspects were the awkward layout of the room no microwave and non operational frig.

    The housekeeper replaced our bath towels even when we rehung them to use the next day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Our stay had a few hiccups, but generally comfortable for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival very late on a hot night we found the room's thermostat set at the highest temperature making the room feel literally like a sauna! The only way to cool the room was to open the windows, which took several hours to cool the place down. This was very uncomfortable as we wanted to sleep as it was after midnight when we arrived! The breakfast was chaotic to say the least. Poor choice of healthy options and nowhere to sit at a table as the hotel did not have enough tables with chairs to accommodate all guests st breakfast time.

    The beds were comfortable and spacious. The rooms were clean and well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    Location near the State Park and quietness of the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room area was noisy and seemed crowded.

    Location near the State Park and quietness of the room was appreciated. Recommendation from the staff for dinner at the SeaChest which is located outside San Simeon was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    Communication with the Hotel was good prior to arrival as I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival, we were given our rooms to find that neither had be cleaned, so had to wait whilst this was done. The staff at the desk were very unfriendly both at check in and in the morning at check out. The whole building is very tired and this was reflected in the rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast was very limited.

    Communication with the Hotel was good prior to arrival as I requested inter-connecting rooms. They were very helpful and arranged everything to accommodate us as a family. The rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.3
    Noisy but comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was noisy and the walls were very thin. Our room was situated near the top of the stairs so we heard late groups arriving and people in the pool which was annoying especially since it was after 10pm. The TV was also difficult to navigate.

    The front desk staff were helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room itself is nice and clean but the walls were uneven. they had painted it but they didn't do a good job smoothing the walls before painting. If i had to fork that kind of money--i expect it be be very well worth the money.

    it was clean and a walking distance to the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    Hotel was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not great. Just a few bread & cereal options, make your own oatmeal in a microwave. No AC in the room. It wasn't hot there, but the room did feel muggy. Fans provided. Many of the rooms were in a separate building a block down from the lobby and pool, which is where we stayed.

    Hotel was clean. Walk to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed the atmosphere and the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Two Queens Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we thought was that the beds were too soft for our liking.

    We enjoyed the atmosphere and the location of the hotel. Since I have bad knees, I didn't realize there wasn't an elevator to the second floor. I wish I would've asked for a ground floor room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    It's a room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food , internet

    Wifi was basically non existent and the breakfast was poor served on plastic plates & cutlery . The rooms are old , quirky & comfortable, we slept well . It's a room over your head & not much more .. The staff are friendly but have no idea about hospitality. Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. The Mexican restaurant next door is appalling..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel in San Simeon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel with great hospitality, nice rooms and outstanding pool. The location is excellent to visit the Hearst castle or as a break on the Highway 1 to Carmel/San Francisco or south to LA and San Diego

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable and relaxing will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled with my sister and 92 year old mom I feel that all restrooms should be handicap ready we had a difficult time helping my Mom in the shower no bars to hold on too.

    We've stay at the Morgan before so we are very satisfy they offer books games for the children and family.I've haven't brought my dog yet but knowing that there pet friendly is extra nice. Staff was very helpful nd accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Okay hotel for overnight trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price; the hotel was fine but I would have been more pleased if it had been priced $50-100 less.

    This hotel was okay for an overnight trip to Heart Castle

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location for touring Hearst Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed like it was formerly an apartment building that is being used as a hotel

    Distance ocean view from room Good location for touring Hearst Castle Good for a 1 night stay Breakfast was adequate

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.3
    Good location for Hearst Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture for watching TV or reading for uncomfortable. Everything looked a little tired.

    Good location for Hearst Castle. Short drive to Cambria. Staffing was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    A GREAT Hotel and Environment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hotel was very, very nice! Room was clean and totally comfy!! The decor was classy and appealing! The staff are friendly, professional and friendly! The hotel is well kept, quiet and a step or two above many hotels... the environment in and around the hotel is absolutely breath-taking! A GREAT hotel and area to spend some time on the Central coast and enjoy the ocean environment!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    Great internet presence did not live up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were poorly maintained. Couch that I planned on having a child sleep in was so gross we didn't even sit on it. One refrigerator didn't work and smelled bad the other was locked. Pool furniture appeared a little mildewed and there was clumps of hair in the pool. Continental breakfast has good coffee but pastries tasted very old.

    Despite small space, they were very accommodating. I had a large bicycle that needed storing and they kept it for me. Coffee service both at breakfast and evening was very good. Proximity to Hearst Castle and elephant seals was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Quaint, clean, family friendly hotel with veiws of the Pacific. A great place for some R & R.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comment, everything was great

    Room size - excellent for a family of 4. Very clean Breakfast great Close to eating establishments Close to Hearst Castle Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    4.6
    Our building was quite a way from the main building with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our building was quite a way from the main building with the pool. An uncomfortably long walk down the street in a wet suit. There was no elevator and a view of the highway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel in San Simeon that is very near to Hearst Castle. The room was excellent, as is the general condition of the hotel. Great facilities and a pleasant continental breakfast is provided.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    2.9
    Unfortunately the room did not have air conditioner, my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the room did not have air conditioner, my friends found a spider in the bathroom area, the quality of mattress was not too good, and the breakfast had poor options. Not enough fruits, baked goods, and again unfortunately service was not the best. The Wi-Fi signal was weak.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Good family friendly hotel close to Hearst Castle and Cambria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast. It didn't start until 7:30. Why not 7? The breads and pastries were mediocre. There was only one chair in the room. We were in the second building, and there wasn't a good place to hang out with the adults while the kids were playing together. One of our down comforters was dead. All the down had clumped into teeny wads. It was basically like a bumpy double sheet. The kids were cold one night, but there weren't extra blankets in the closet.

    Close to Cambria and to Hearst Castle. Nice beach for walking/driftwood searching was just a few minutes walk. Mini fridge. Snacks and drinks in room, as well as in the vending machines, were reasonably priced. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited and offerings were not replenished quickly.

    The location was excellent for seeing the Hearst Castle. Our room had a sea view and was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.4
    Not the best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally OK but nothing about the accommodation was above average. The breakfast was also not particularly inspiring. In general we felt that the value for money was not very good, and have had similar quality for less money.

    Comfortable bed and reasonable furnishings

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.6
    for a quick rest stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC.breakfast was just ok, coffee was not hot. Ice chest in the hallway was dirty. Towels looks dingy. Internet was slow. Door locks are hard to open

    Beds were comfy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.4
    The rooms were clean, and easy access to parking
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning, we had to stay in a completely different building and when we had to get anything had to go to the main building, including breakfast. We were only given one set of keys, which made it difficult. Only a small pool, no jacuzzi

    The rooms were clean, and easy access to parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Very comfy beds, plenty of pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is tight. No hot breakfast. The pastries are from a local bakery and are DELICIOUS.

    Very comfy beds, plenty of pillows! The towels were soft and thick. They use actual keys! Great location, you can hear the ocean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    Friendly staff and convenient location to Hearst Castle.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred different locks on the doors (magnetic key instead of metal key). Only provided with one key, which was very inconvenient.

    Breakfast was okay, but I have had better.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    3.3
    Very old property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to get any hot water until the morning we left. Room was dirty. Looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. Would never go back.

    Very old property. Not much to like

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    6.3
    It's ok for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary drinking water, only basic toiletries provided. Wifi is almost not working :(

    Convenient, food is just across the highway, 10min drive to Hearst Castle. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.1
    It's 8 minutes the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at this hotel in November and the pool was not heated, so it was useless. I did not like that my room was not in the main building so I had to drive to the lobby for breakfast. Although it was very cold outside, it was very hot in my room at night. I made sure that the heater was off; I called reception and they suggested I used a fan or open the windows. I opened the windows and the breeze came in. I was not comfortable sleeping with the windows open as I was in the first floor and people could walk behind the building. Although the hotel is near the ocean, I could not see it from my room.

    It's 8 minutes the castle.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    3.8
    No thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in room is noisy - turning on and off all night; room is stuffy- even with open windows; sink didn't drain; view was over entrance parapet. Carpets are old and stained. Bathrooms need up dating,

    Not much

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    2.9
    One night stay, big mistake
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are way over priced; bath tile was mismatched, chalking was missing; bed was poorly made, walls so thin you could hear your neighbor's conversation. No ceiling fan, but opening a window just allowed the noise from the parking lot to intrude. We won't be back.

    Location was close to our friends condo and that was the best thing about this establishment.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    5.0
    It's like your fave Aunt. Around the corner, a bit worn, & you don't look too close!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vacuums, brooms, and full trash bags in hall way, as if it's the storage area. Tip container at breakfast spot is low class and insulting. Second building is beyond run down and raggedy. The value of this place is just ok, you're paying for the convenience, but that building is the 'hood'. No A/C, but they give you a portable fan! Oh and the pool is closed at 6. I've never experienced a hotel with a pool curfew earlier than my kids!

    Convenient location when traveling with kids and taking a night tour of Hearst Castle. Boutique hotel , so it's in keeping with atmosphere of the castle. No A/C, but they give you a portable fan! It's got a pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful location and the friendliest staff you will ever meet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing because everything was perfect!

    The hotel was in a great location. Within walking distance to the beach. Staff was so wonderful and accommodating. The hotel was very clean quiet and clean. I am booking my reservation now for next year.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel and location for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very minimal could have offered more things

    We loved the staff and the hotel. All was great and comfortable. Beautiful view from our room and great location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Great value!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late breakfast start...7:30. Most hotels/motels start 6 or 6:30. Limited selection of cold cereals, breads/sweet rolls, yogurt, coffee/juices.

    Quiet, safe/secure, friendly staff. We had booked 2 rooms for 1 night, but decided on arrival to stay 2 nights/2 rooms. VERY helpful front desk staff took care of change with no problems and no room upgrade charges or room changes. Most appreciated. Highly recommend. Beautiful ocean views and ideal proximity to Hearst Castle, elephant seals, and "old" town San Simeon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    6.3
    Pool was a welcome benefit after staying in a couple of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel felt a bit tired, with holes in the curtains in our room. Dogs were kept behind the reception and the breakfast space (shared partly with reception) was somewhat compromised. Staff member was uninterested in helping us find some milk for our coffee when we asked.

    Pool was a welcome benefit after staying in a couple of hotels without on.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.3
    Great location for Hearst Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location if visiting Hearst Castle. Unfortunately for us Hearst Castle was closed due to forest fires. But it's not a place you'd visit other than passing through.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel along the coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the mornings,the noise level coming from downstairs made it feel like we were in an upstairs bedroom in someone's house. There was a continual sound of rattling dishes and cups that was a bit bothersome. We didn't like that there was a twin bed in the room--would've been great if we had a child with us,but we didn't....we noticed the room next door had a couch and we would have preferred that. :-)

    The bed was comfy and the room was spacious. The shower was a good size,although we were a tad disappointed that some of the features had been disconnected,but with the drought,it's understandable. When we got in our room very late at night,the tv wasn't working correctly....a gal from the front desk came right up and worked on it for a few minutes to get it working right(this was during the Olympics and I didn't want to miss it lol) and our last morning they graciously granted our request for an hour longer to check out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.4
    Won't stay in this city next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Room is cold. 2. Lack of restaurants nearby. 3. Gas was much more expensive than other cities. 4. My Visa credit was declined in this hotel, but it worked on all other hotel during my 18 days of trip. I would travelers to drive more miles to live in Solvang.

    The hotel's decoration includes some Chinese elements.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: