Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Palms Hotel & Spa 4 stars

3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140, USA

#81 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1520 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Beatiful hotel with a terrible internet. Good for holidays but not suitable for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In my opinion it can't be acceptable having such a bad internet nowadays. I was on a business trip and had to get to sit with open door in the door to get any internet. When I called the reception they connected me to someone outside of the state who wanted to give me the ticket number to follow up with the issue.

    I liked the style and design of the hotel itself which has a lot of character, somehow in the colonial style. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was also friendly. Another highlight was the excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful stay ,fantastic place .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to improve signal of the internet in the rooms otherwise nothing to complain .

    Beautiful stay ,fantastic place .very nice staff Thank you guys !!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.3
    Just okay but on prime beach realty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was outdated.

    The proximity to the beach is a plus. A bustling neighborhood with a Starbucks right down the street. For the most part kind employees, except for check in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful garden and pool area. Beautiful interior. Good Breakfast. Great location. We will certainly return and recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely overall experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows are not very comfortable. Limited restaurant options. Room has a coffee machine but no kettle.

    Pool and beach area are fantastic. Quiet area away from the hassel of Central Miami Beach but still close enough to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    A gem of a hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovating 5th floor so being on 4th wasn't ideal for resting during the day. There was also a wedding one night til about 1 30 which was incredibly noisy. Overall. Great.

    Staff excellent, pool area is excellent and proximity to the beach just Wow! Parking tip - avoid the $43 per night at the hotel by parking 15 mins walk away in Garage 6 (off 42nd) for about $8 for 24 hours!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given tired room with frayed carpets on entrance - rang and asked for change of room which was better!., given nice bottle of Prosecco and told hotel under renovation which I realise is necessary. Receptionist tapped her nails impatiently whilst I was getting my passport out!. Bad impression on check-in!.,

    Location fantastic and pool/beach beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Lovely and relaxing luxury stay in calm Mid Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    200 dollars consumption deposit..almost everywhere in Miami.. Non convenient and unfamiliar for europeans

    Great pool area. Fantastic relaxing and beautiful tropical outdoor facilities. Friendly, smiley and helpful staff. Amazing restaurant. Healthy and very fresh food. Great rooms with separate bathroom and toilet. Nice and open entry hall. Great staff at the front door.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was clean and well kept, and all surrounding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff in general were rude and unhelpful, food was over priced and of poor quality, atmosphere was weak and Tips were mandatory for all staff so we continued to constantly pay 20% for below average service. Biggest thing to let down the hotel were it's staff members, especially around the Tiki-Bar

    The hotel was clean and well kept, and all surrounding grounds. Rooms were a good size, beds we comfortable and shower facilities were good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a tray of leftover food (from room service) in the hallway below the ice machine for an entire day. The elevators were exceptionally slow and the Wifi was spotty and was completely not working one of the days. The location of the hotel is not great because aside from the beach there’s really nothing around or within walking distance.

    The view was great. The beds were very comfortable. The concierge and front desk personnel were friendly and very helpful. The food at the pool area was quite good although pretty pricey.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely independent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bit expensive to park the car though and ridiculous 100 bucks if you want a double lounger with wind break on the beach. Normal loungers covered so ok!

    Excellent hotel, great staff, fine facilities,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size and bathroom size slightly on the small side. Didn’t realise that valet parking was $42 a night

    People were friendly and welcoming. Housekeeping were really nice. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Not satisfied as years before
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seaweed at the beach all days without anybody from the hotel doing anything to clean the beach. 3 out of 4 days at 4 PM we had to ask housekeeping for not doing the room.not

    Location, Service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Beach access, hotel territory with swimming pool was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    $45 valet parking.

    Beach access, hotel territory with swimming pool was awesome. nice personnel. rooms are kinda pricey but compared to other south beach hotels of this level that looked reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel to celebrate my granddaughter’s 16 thbday!!!🎂🎈💕
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you ordered food/drinks on the beach there was an extra service charge that really escalated the bill. We did not see this charge on the menu before we ordered. We heard other guests on the beach comment on how high their bill was. We did not know if tip was included in this bill so we gave waiter a tip on top of bill.

    Wonderful service. Beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    I've stayed at this hotel before and I would again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Inconvenience of a toilet breaking and having to move rooms and 1 of the elevators being out of commission.

    I've stayed at this hotel before and I would again. However, this time we had to move rooms 2x because our toilet didn't work, then they moved us to a smaller room so we complained and they moved us back to the original size room. They did credit our bill at the end for the inconvenience, but it was a matter of the inconvenience that was annoying. Also, they decided to replace 1 of the elevators during the holiday weekend so it took forever to get an downstairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    My husband and I have stayed here twice (once for two days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is pricey (especially the food), but I suppose that’s consistent with Miami beachfront hotels of its kind. I also noticed a few gnats flying around in the bathroom shower, but that is mostly likely due to the heavy rain Florida has been experiencing. The room and hotel were very well-kept, so I don’t think it was a cleanliness issue.

    My husband and I have stayed here twice (once for two days at the end of our honeymoon in a fancy, top-floor suite that was INCREDIBLE, and the second time for a night in a standard, oceanfront room). We absolutely love this hotel! It has a gorgeous oceanfront view from the room, a very nice pool area, and direct beach access. The hotel has a very chic, upscale feel. It was very clean and the service was excellent. Great place for couples, families or a group of friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    We loved it and would return to the Palms for another stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 11th floor and one of the elevators wasn’t working. The wait times were excessive

    The staff was amazing and they went out of their way to accommodate your requests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiki bar was nice, but the staff was more concerned with the soccer game than customers.

    The property was beautiful! We booked a room with a beach view, definitely worth it. Breakfast was delicious, coffee shop was close by, room was comfortable, and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    The location and view of the ocean is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was a bit messy with not the most comfortable beds and not always clean. The staff handing out towels did not seem so happy. Not the most interesting job for them! I would say find a new system as they could make better use of their skills helping guests rather than giving out a towel and I think would be a bit happier.

    The location and view of the ocean is fantastic. The resturant was excellent for dinner and fabulous breakfast. The staff at the front door where excellent, great attention to detail and one gentleman who gave a brilliant service to us everyday of our stay. The vallet parking is great and may be expensive but worth it to just get rid of the car and not worry about finding a parking space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel with an amazing garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were missing some basic toiletries, no slippers, only one bathrobe for 3 people. Their reception was quite slow. Impossible to get earlier check in or later check out.

    Beautiful hotel with an amazing garden. Their hotel restaurant was excellent, quite pricey but food was delicious. Food and drink service on the beach was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit expensive but probably in keeping with the area.

    Great views. Comfy bed. Lovely bathroom facilities. Friendly staff. Great outdoor space, nice pool & attractive tropical surroundings. Great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent facilities at the hotel, pool area is beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spa is quite pricey. It is about 40 min walk from the hart of the center.

    Excellent facilities at the hotel, pool area is beautiful and well maintained. Beach near the hotel is beautiful, with free sun chairs and parasols.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    Overall fair at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach staff was horrible well one in particular he brings me the wrong drink and makes me pay for both his last name started with an M and instead of apologizing he argued with me. It was clearly his mistake. I will not be going there anymore.

    Bar staff was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel, well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs livening up in the evening. Whilst the out door bar is nice it's a bit sedate. It doesn't need anything too loud but something a little more interesting.

    We were on honeymoon and the hotel were great. We were met with a bottle of champagne on arrival, a very nice touch. Location is excellent with the beach on the doorstep. Whilst it's not in down town Miami this is a positive as it's only two miles away, so you can enjoy Ocean Drive etc and then leave the noise behind for some great relaxation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a great time! Room was super comfortable and location was easy to uber to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach was a little cramped and crowded but it was a busy time of year. Staff was very friendly and accommodating though and helped you move your spot if you were unhappy. Honestly, it wasn't bad. Really not much I didn't like.

    Extremely clean property inside and out. Beautiful grounds. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Shower area was very big but the area around the toilet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower area was very big but the area around the toilet and sink were too small. Could have very easily dropped towels into toilet because there was no towel holder near sink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    Generally my stay was ok .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally my stay was ok .. not the best value for money . You can hear other room doors slamming all day , it wasn’t quite . I can hear the people talking and laughing in the room next to mine. When you pay quite a bit of money you expect to pay for quality. The worst part is the last 2 days of my stay they didn’t even do housekeeping, I had to clean the room myself. If I knew I would have to do that I would have rented a private apartment and not paid that much money. You pay $42 for valet and it takes at least 10mins to bring the car and when they do the valet drivers come with some bad attitude. Don’t stay in such a hotel if you car about the value for money. The food was not the best , it arrived cold and almost tasteless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    In general in hotel is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i can complain about is that charging $42 per day for parking it is too much given the fact that we were hotel guests.

    In general in hotel is really nice. The outside and the pool area is beautiful. Our room was fine and breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay on Miami Beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping knocking on my door to see when we were leaving with a less than friendly attitude even though we had requested a late checkout...

    Celebrated my daughter’s birthday this week at the hotel and have to commend the beach and pool employees for excellent service! Room was cozy and clean, restaurant had delicious breakfast options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Perfection! What a resort should be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The tropical garden and pool area are enchanting and like a small botanical garden. The beach and beach lounge area is marvelous - comfy sun lounges and perfect water and sand. Superb beach service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 18% gratuity is rediculous. I believe when tips are automatic the staff are not as helpful and attentive as when its up to the consumer. This will be a deterrent for me staying here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.2
    Liked beach access but also would get higher value at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money go down further towards spa Loews etc didn’t like the smallest room ever scarce amenities breakfast was mediocre location not central at all. If you don’t care for the location go to a better establishment otherwise the area is shady at night so basic even things provided were scarce. Will NOT stay again

    Liked beach access but also would get higher value at another location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable overall, but the bar service needs a serious overhaul. Not at all customer friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar service in the main bar in the evening time was extremely poor. We found both the male and female staff members on duty during our stay both indifferent and disinterested. When we asked for bottles mixers instead of splash, we were greeted with a grunt and a frown. The staff need to remember that European visitors are more used to bottled mixers than splash, so some awareness and understanding of these particular customer needs would not go amiss. This aspect of the stay marred our overall enjoyment of the hotel and its facilities.

    The hotel facilities were varied and interesting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    They show include a free continental breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They show include a free continental breakfast. They should have not instant oatmeal and earlgray tea as options. They should not charge for bottle of water in the room since there is no water to drink once you are there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed the food, as well as the location( beachfront...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We enjoyed the food, as well as the location( beachfront with a pool). The beds were comfortable but small. The staff was very pleasant as well as accomodating. My family would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the bar outside the restaurant was okay. The food was great but the service was not. The bartender could careless if we were there or not.

    Food was excellent. And the Miami vices were yummy!! It was Casablanca meets Tommy Bahama decor and perfect for our taste. the bar tenders in the tiki bar were generous and very attentive . The concierge was amazing very caring and even asked me how the recommendations he gave were the next day. This is our 3rd visit to Miami for the boat show and even though this was a little further away then we wanted to be from the show.... we will definitely book here again next year!!! We love love love! The palms!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love everything! There's not one thing I could dislike about this hotel.

    The location was great! The property was very clean with a great staff. Pretty awesome that the beach is literally behind the hotel. The outside lounge area is amazing. I love everything about this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location and lively rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area is too cold. There are no shower indoor facilities for people who have later flights following morning room check out. When I enquired I was told I would have to pay $20 each for a spa day pass. For a 5 star hotel you wouldn't expect to pay extra, it should be included as it is in other hotels.It would be a good idea to add a shower to the rest room facilities near the spa. Beach towels are too short and don't cover the sun beds.

    Excellent location, super room with a great sea view, pleasant and professional staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic ocean view room, sunrise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me the hotel menu was limited, wasn’t a huge vegetarian selection, but would still say generally good choice

    Laid back feel, poolside and Tiki bar as well as beach access. Lots of places to eat close by with 1/2 mike walk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Loved this hotel, but wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My family and I chose this hotel because of the initial price, but all of the extra mandatory add-ons took it to a price point where I wasn't comfortable. There were at least $150 of charges regarding outside fees for valet parking as well as a daily hotel fee (shouldn't that just be included in the room cost?). It was unexpected.

    This hotel was beautiful. It felt safe and welcoming, the rooms were gorgeous and clean, and the staff were very friendly. The walking path/boardwalk was such a nice touch, and the hotel was within walking distance of other things we wanted to see. Also, the breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Very happy, we'd happily revisit The Palms for our next stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed wasn't too wonderful, acceptable but I was having some issues with lower back pain. The pillows were terrible in my opinion.

    The whole facility really met or exceeded our expectations and needs. The location is ideal for us in that its walking distance to the epicenter of South Beach but still quiet. The beach-side locale is ideal. We loved the pool area in that it's private and secluded from the public boardwalk. The hotel staff was wonderful and the on-premises restaurant was really honestly delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Absolutely would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While bathroom beautifully updated, room was dated. Also, though there was a closet that included 3 (smallish) drawers, there was no dresser. Food tasty but pricey, however that’s true about all area restaurants.

    Without exception staff helpful and friendly! Common areas clean and attractive. Outdoor spaces (including pool) beautiful and well kept. Concierge a big plus. It’s a “healthy” walk to the more commercial ares but we enjoyed that and the boardwalk is wonderful. There is plenty of public transportation and we used Lyft for other trips so we didn’t need to rent a car.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.3
    Not happy with the resort fee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not happy with the resort fee. On Booking.com when makeing the resrvation is was stated: "Price are per room included: 14 % Tax, US$ 26.75 resort fee per night" We were charged for the USD 26.75 per night for resort fee!!!! Is it a mistake from the Hotel or from Booking.com? I would like a response from Booking.com

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Insatisfeito com a taxa diária cobrada!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Insatisfeito com a taxa diária cobrada! No site da Bookking há a frase: Prices are per room "included: 14 % Tax, US$ 26.75 resort fee per night" Ao pagar fui cobrado da taxa de USD 26.75 por noite! Erro do Hotel ou do Booking.com?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    3.8
    The return on my investment was terrible. Felt like I was robbed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I ordered oat meal and green tea. They charged me $43 which included 18% tip. They included tip on everything and the staff knew they were getting tipped regardless.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    nice hotel, terrible service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff at pool terrible. took half hour to attract a server and another 45 min to get out drinks price of the drinks were outrageous. they don't even charge that much in mid-town manhattan valet parking slow and expensive

    location and facility

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.4
    Property was clean and staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin. I heard both sides of my room very clearly coming in late and waking me up. The hotel also seems to have a policy of over charging and making mistakes on bills. I saw at least 10 people over charged or charged incorrectly at the pool bar. I was personally over charged. I also watched a film in my room and was charged $40 for it, even though it clearly stated $14. Also they tried to charge me $40 on mini bar even though I hadn’t used it. This hotel definitely operates an over charge policy and then you have to prove they are wrong. Won’t stay again but if you do stay there, just watch what you buy.

    Property was clean and staff were friendly. Food in main restaurant was excellent albeit expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    We had an excellent time and was sad when it came to an end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of drinks and the menu at the bar outside

    We were treated with class from all the staff. They made our 25 wedding anniversary a special memory. Everything we wanted was at the Palms Hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    Very well placed for Miami Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was a little quirky , dinner items were complicated nothing straightforward , and very expensive . Also no restaurants within a short walk as I have mobility issues so had to eat on site .Also the carpet on entering the lift was FILTHY ! Looked like it was covered in mud. Also not cleaned very well as there was sandy deposits from the beach in the lift. Car parking ONLY Valet and $41 / day so you cant just go back to your car if you forgot something . Also no restaurants within a short walk as I have mobility issues so had to eat on site .

    The bed was very comfortable, had an amazing ocean view, and good AC

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.4
    We were more impressed with the outside then the inside of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small considering what the picture showed. When we originally booked the room, it showed that 2 breakfasts would be included but when checking in was told differently. The room also had a "musty" odor and just had an "old" smell to it. Bathroom was very small and didn't allow to place things anywhere such as bottles of cologne, toiletries or turn around when someone else was in there.. etc... If it wasn't for the location, I would have thought the quality of our room was less then a Hampton Inn that we have stayed in numerous times all over. I also had to verify in writing that we were suppose to be able to get early check in and late check out (which I did get verification showing was verified and at no charge).. You didn't have any notes and I had to spend time looking for this on my phone which I brought down to your desk, gave it to the desk people and even had to wait for the "manager" to give his OK!...Which he did do. The whole process to check in was a little nerve wracking to say the least!

    We were more impressed with the outside then the inside of the facility, esp. our room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel- would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only 2 complaints are that only one elevator worked so it would take forever to go up and down and it was always packed with people. The shower water temperature was either too cold or scolding hott. It was never at a nice comfortable temperature. If you went too hott it would not go back down so you would just have to try to bathe in boiling water.

    I didn’t go into the pool but it was very nice. If I stayed for longer I would have gone to the spa. Nice path to the beach. So lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Quick and easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was always very nice and quick to respond to requests and questions. The facility is very nice, great restaurant, pool, tiki bar and easy beach access.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Very pretty, very clean, very convenient - very satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room With Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Onsite parking is extraordinarily expensive. We parked at the public lot - a 15min walk away - for our entire trip - 5 days - for less than the cost of one day at the hotel.

    Food was excellent! Pool/beach side of property was especially pretty - loved the gardens.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.3
    Average hotel with some maintenance issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is average in most ways though I expected more for the price. Lifts in main lobby didn't work some days and required the use of a stairwell to access higher floors. Staff were average at best. Final bill was wrong (including incorrect mini-bar usage). Wi-fi slow.

    Good beach access but quite far from Lincoln Road and South Beach (expect a 20/30 min walk or a $10 cab ride). Room itself was comfortable and quiet. Food in the hotel was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    The pool area was nice and it was confidently located on the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attentiveness in the staff - housekeeping and wait staff in the restaurant. The elevators were out of service and took forever.

    The pool area was nice and it was confidently located on the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but tired building and too expensive for what itis now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's the second or third time I stay and there's always one lift malfunctioning. Toilet with hand basin included it's a waste of water and not practical (when flushing water runs in a mini incorporated sink). I keep on using the larger sink. Wifi in the room was weak.

    Beds are really comfy, location great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    I liked the old elegant style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a bit out of everything. If the weather is not so good, the breakfast area is a bit small and food choice not so wide.

    I liked the old elegant style. Staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to say that is negative.

    Beautiful Art Deco hotel, low rise (compared to many hotels in this area). The hotel isn’t glitzy or opulent but has loads of beautiful and charming character. There’s a welcoming bar that serves a really impressive selection if everything! Food was fabulous, we ate breakfast and dinner during our stay. Best of all though are the staff - genuinely friendly, helpful and engaging. We enjoyed many interesting conversations with the staff. The lady working concierge went way beyond her remit helping us sort our taxi back to the airport. We would 100% return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Terrible and would never stay there again. I normally don’t write the reviews but this was so bad I
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start... I could not get into my room until 4.30pm (arrived at 10.30am!), you have no choice of self parking but have to use valet which costs $41 per day! And you have to wait for everything - only 2 elevators so you will wait ages to get to/from your room, you will wait for valet to bring your car (waited for over 20 min both days despite calling them in advance from the room), you will wait to have breakfast in the morning (20 min as well) and you will have to wait to get a bed on the beach (did not get it for hours so ended up lying down on the sand).

    Staff on the beach is amazing. They serve you really fast and are super friendly. I really liked the spa as well. The location is great as well as it is right on the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    The locations is good but if you wanna hang out in Lincoln...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room With Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I ordered couple of things from Amazon and they charged me almost 10 dollars for every package to keep them in their storage room. So if you order like 4 books in different boxes you have to pay almost 40 dollars to receive them. The funny thing is If you are not asking for your packages they never let you know about it.

    The locations is good but if you wanna hang out in Lincoln Road and the touristic sites it is a bit far away. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    4.2
    It was close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception Staff were unhelpful and obstinate, to the point where I felt like cancelling my booking a going to another hotel.. they are pompous and Arrogant and I will never recommend this hotel to anyone Ever!!

    It was close to the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Its a great hotel to stay in for special occasions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really can't think of anything else. I would like to see more of a return to the old art deco style.

    I have been staying at this Hotel for many years. I liked it because of its old art deco style, but I think that the Hotel has lately been getting away from that style. This is unquestionably a very nice, first class hotel, but it is a bit expensive. Its not outrageous, just expensive. If you can afford it, its a great place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    They made wrong arrangement of the room and we had to move...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They made wrong arrangement of the room and we had to move to another room after we settled everything. Also no one comes to clean the room the second night of out stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    Upsetting from the very beginning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer Service from the front desk staff and all staff that answer Phones at the property are extremely poor.. from poor English language to poor customer service... no one gives you proper answers to questions... my room was delayed and never not once did anyone offer me anything else.. until I had to get upset and then miraculously I had a room...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    The high price of Miami Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beach and the pool equipment was quite run down and didn't look very clean and taken care of. The furniture at the breakfest had a lot of spots of bird poo let alone there were lot of birds joining the breakast not in a comfortable way. The choice of breafast was wide however quality of some of the items (e.g. bread, oatmeal, pastry, cheese) wasn't worth the money.

    The view from the room was amazing. The overall room layout was very nice and generous -with separate vanity bathroom and toilet (also with own vanity). The service from the staff was perfect - at the desk, with valet parking, getting the luggage to the room (With the streets being packed there basically isn't other way to park but valet - for 41USD/day.). The wifi worked without any issues.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    The perfect Caribbean style getaway with easy access to a gorgeous stretch of beach.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The walls in the rooms are thin, you can hear your neighbors every move. The drinks are small for the price.

    The room was small but comfy. The access to the beach is incredible. The food is excellent and the overall atmosphere is exactly what I was hoping for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    The elevator doors need to be maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator doors need to be maintained. The squealing sound they made when opening or closing was so strong to wake up us (we had a room next to it)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    My stay was lovely and peaceful after touring from New York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No option for a bath. Bit dusty in some places in the room. Not being able to use the pool (the fee was waivered and we had access to a pool next door). A little far out, had to get Uber's or do a half hour walk into south beach, ocean drive area.

    Loved the little cafe/shop. Bed was comfy. Loved the parrots and the outdoor area. The smell as you walk in was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    very nice - will stay here again - hopefully soon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    can't think of anything

    the room was very comfortable - the food was great had breakfast and dinner -and appies / happy hour, the staff was very nice - checking in was very easy and so was the checking out .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    If the pool area was open this would have been a good resort to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were disappointed that the pool area was closed during our visit which made it difficult to spend time in the hotel during day time. They could have given us more notice about the closure so that I could have looked at other similar hotels as I read many reviews about this hotel and choose to stay here based on the reviews about pool and garden ambience. Our holiday here was disrupted, in that, we had to use the pool in the hotel next door (which was not good). I felt I had to persistently ask the hotel to give me concessions due to this disruption. I was upgraded to an ocean front room and daily resort fees was waived (which is not a concession as it is for use of pool anyway but there was no attempt to acknowledge that our stay was disrupted due to the late closure of pool. I asked for late check out and thought that the hotel would have readily agreed to it given the disruptions to our resort holiday but I had to insist (nearly beg) to get an extension. I was sternly told that they would extend it to 1:30 pm and a minute more than that would incur a day charge. I found this customer service slightly unreasonable, more so, given the non-availability of pool in the resort. The hotel could have done more to the guests in the form of activities etc in the absence of pool area facilities. This would have been seen as a genuine attempt from hotel to keep customer confidence up.

    The resort would have been good if the swimming pool was open (the hotel informed us of the planned closure just 7 days before our arrival). They offered us to use the pool next door at Hotel Riu. The pool there was cold and not so good. The Palm hotel was clean and the beach was good. The food at TIKI bar was also good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    Price scammer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is like a scam! The daily rates are decent until you find out that will cost you $41.00 a day for parking, another $29.00 resort fee, a can of beer cost you $9.00, breakfast another $35.00 per person, an omelet $20.00, and a bottle of water $7.00. They lure you with somewhat decent rates and destrói your wallet once you are there.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Would stay there again no doubt
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed for repairs but they waved the resort fee and they let us use the pool from the neighborhood's hotel

    Amazing ocean view great food and awsome service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    I would recommend this place as a good to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walpapers in the corridors for sure have to be changed. Very humid inside. No balkonies, it’s a great loss. If you order any tours in the hotel, they keep almost a half of this price for themselves (for hotel, I mean). This is a lot. Guess it can be much more worthy to book directly through the service providers. And would be much more pleasant, if the hotel tried not to make money from it, but helped with tour bookings for free, like in Europe.

    I would recommend this place as a good to stay. Breakfasts were a great pleasure: beautiful tableware and food serving. Enjoyed the choice a lot, because we could have a light and healthy breakfast with jogurt, muesli, porridge, many fruits and berries, but everything else was also available: bacon, toasts, eggs of all kinds, even red fish. Nicely decorated rooms! And the design of the entrance hall is very nice Shower room and toilet are separate. The hotel is quite old (you should be ready for it), but it gives the place some unique charm. And many things have been renovated, so no worries Cleaning is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Stayed at the Palms last year and had a terrific time, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed at the Palms last year and had a terrific time, so decided to come back. Hotel is beautiful, clean and plenty of staff. The staff in the bar are especially nice, Vele and Emilio treated my 10 year old daughter like a princess and they couldn’t do enough for us, great guys.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Palms Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: