Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale 5 stars

6000 East Camelback Road, Camelback East, Scottsdale, AZ 85251, USA

#55 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 68 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Paid WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King Room Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Server at Relish wanted us out asap, disappointing. Driver who took us to Old Town Scottsdale was clueless. Service in Thirsty Camel a little slow.

    Great room 7221. Adult pool area was good. Cactus garden very interesting. Kris at poolside bar excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never felt more unwelcome at a hotel before . From curdled cream in our room and railings on balcony covered in bird droppings , this is far from a luxury resort , five hours before we could get a seat at the pool , Be prepared to spend a ton on food and drinks here , Tried the bakery for breakfast but entirely sold out of all breakfast items by 10:15 , brunch buffet was good but totally ignored by staff . Close proximity to Old Town Scottsdale . Golf course is closed till November .

    Comfortable bed very nice bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing! The best hotel experience I’ve had. From check in to check out they made it so special. The food was amazing! The pool was heated so it was a very nice stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was wonderfully comfortable, room was spacious, bathroom was wonderful and spacious. Our room was very near the elevator but surprisingly, there was noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing could have been somewhat better was the speed of the service. The restaurant many of the group chose was a very long for the meals to arrive and the bakery/coffee shop was also a longer wait than anticipated. The staff were very pleasant but there could probably be some improvement to efficiencies.

    We had a large group of people travelling together and there were a few hiccups with check-in that the staff were very helpful with and made sure that everything was taken care of. The rooms were AWESOME, with super comfortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the top fine dining restaurant was horrible. Our waiter shushed/ finger over lips when my friend asked for something. I was not allowed to order and appetizer unless I ordered my entire meal at the same time. The waitsfaff are mafia goons.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    However the walkway led to the golf cart path which was forbidden to walkers. It would have been nice to be able to walk on the path as the trail behind the hotel was very short. If you were not in a golf cart, you could not enjoy the scenery on foot.

    The bed was very comfortable. The walkway along the cactus garden behind the hotel was enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in my room was very uncomfortable and I kept sinking in the middle. I was most disappointed that I was not informed at the time I booked my room that most of the hotel was closed!!!! The main pool area was completely closed and we were informed that there was a pool on the other side of the property available for use but only until 7pm! We chose the Phoenician because we wanted a romantic staycation and this is not what we got! Huge disappointment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was too soft, we both agreed on that. The hot water took very long to heat up. And because it's located on 250 acres, expect a lot of walking.

    LOVED the view from our room in building "C". Looking at Camel Back mountain when I woke was wonderful not to mention the cactus garden below. Exceptional. J & G Steak House, outstanding food and view of Scottsdale.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valley parking is overpriced and the renovation was a little inconvenience but still they made us feel great.

    Everything the service was excellent the property is beautiful plan to come in September and December.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous room was massive loved the huge patio and the in room breakfast was delicious..but are doing construction work and pool and stuff closed while there never got to enjoy it:(

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A 5 Star-Hotel. Are you kidding me? 3/4 of the resort was under major remodeling and it was very apparent. The "WOW" factor of a 5 Star hotel was gone. All shops on the way to our elevator were empty! The place looked like and felt like an empty mausoleum. We certainly wouldn't have come if we had prior knowledge. 1. Our room elevator was down during our stay requiring us to compete with housekeeping for the one service elevator that did work. Long waits or use the stairs. Yuck. 2. Parking garage exit didn't work, properly using my room key, causing a big back up of waiting cars until an attendant appeared and manually raised it. 3. Was advised by EVS staff that I could use the service elevator to access my car in the garage. Wrong! We ended up wondering around the large dimly lite empty basement kitchen area until another staff gave us better directions. 4. Had to ask 4 staff (2 over the phone) and 2 engineers to fix my bathroom sink plunger over a 23 hr period. 5. At check in they forgot to give us a parking sticker for our car to access the hotel without stopping each time. So we stopped each time and told our story. The last day I found out about the stickers and they gave us one. 6. The hotel wrist bands that we were told to wear around the pool were not worn by most of the guests. So we took them off after the first day and never asked for more. 7. You select your floor for the elevators on the outside of the elevator! Once inside you're stuck. Even staff thought that was stupid! So...what are you going to do for the next 2 years? During your renovations reduce your prices and advertise them as specials or social media will destroy you. (And retrain your staff.)

    1) The pool 2) The courtesy of Johanna at the first desk 2) The hotel exit sign for my car.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I RESERVED /CONFIRMED A ROOM AND UPON CHECK-INN THEY SAID DID NOT HAVE THE ROOM I RESERVED SO THEY CHARGED 50.00 MORE A DAY FOR ANOTHER ROOM TYPE:-(

    FRIENDLY STAFF

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This resort is pretty old, and in desperate need of an update, which they're doing. Rooms smelled musty from years of smoke. Hope it can become a beautiful luxurious resort again soon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is like a giant, cold factory. Dated and impersonal, not a true 5 star (careful, their marketing and photos suggest otherwise... They have their own rating where they give themselves 5 stars, they're actually 4). We had construction workers on our balcony half the time making the use of that space impossible, tons of mischarges with no real solution or answer just "our system doesn't make mistakes" (though they were equally surprised and final check out regarding all the debits and credits to our account....). All in all an OK hotel but as a honeymoon destination, we were extremely disappointed and won't be returning.

    The linens and bathrooms were great. Spa was pretty good, slightly dated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner in the steak house was horrible. The waiter was insensitive and not helpful when a water glass was spilled. I had to order him to clean it up. The head waiter was not helpful. At this price point, I expect stellar service. The steaks were great, but the seafood was just OK.

    The lunch in the golf pub was fantastic. The service was stellar.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff would knock on room door at all times of the day. Shower could have more hot water and better shower heads, or at least in my room

    Staff was good, hotel was clean,pools were good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For that kind of money, a free cup of coffee

    Bathrooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pancakes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered dinner room service and the steak, calamari and asparagus were Cold😡

    The room eas very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Service was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOT being told the main pool was under construction when booked, main reason I wanted to stay there. no GF restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some maintenance concerns.Weight scale not working. Safe not working. Pool restroom with problems.

    .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was a concrete wall.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe King Room Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not know I needed a pass to park by my room

    room service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The distance to various restaurants - but the golf cart drivers helped!

    The golf cart rides when I needed them

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Resort
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice facilities like pools golf etc

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms under renovation. This was not posted.

    Staff were friendly and helpful . Afternoon tea delightful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a stain on my floor :-( We should have stayed in a different room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wet floors! Internet didn't work. Incorrect bill.

    Beautiful property, great staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price offered for a deluxe resort

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not comfortable

    Beautiful property and pool areas.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Property is amazing. We did a staycation for hubby's bday and it was great. Pools and room were fantastic and staff even left him a birthday note on his pillow! Look forward to coming back. 😊

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Made a booking for a king bed and when we arrived the only room available was two double beds. Other issue is we were placed on second floor facing a wall. We were basically in a basement. After a discussion with the front desk we could get a room above ground with a king bed for a premium... Why not offer this right away? As a Canadian after taxes and resort fees my room was over 750.00/night not what I expect to pay given the complications.

    Relish, the pool & the pool staff, golf course.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check in wasn't welcoming - the attendants were not knowledgable and didn't really care if we were there or not...not a great way to start!

    The bellman, Anthony was fantastic. We wanted to hike La Cholla trail and he gave us detailed, logical and memorable directions with energy and a great attitude. Also, the pool attendants were wonderful - especially Ivan at the pool restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Didn't like the extra charge for a view of the pool area. Getting on wi-fi was a hassle for me. Each location demanded a different process. Garage charge for my guests.

    Very modern and complete exercise facility plus free spa with jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room. Also the service at the pools was excellent. Also very accommodating and friendly staff at every location.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Casita door did not lock. Coffee maker in room did not work. Refrigerator motor went out. Did not offer another room until night before we left. Casita location was awful. Street noise constantly; need to book room with patio on interior courtyard. In room breakfast way over-priced.

    Beautiful grounds. Great Staff. Great golf.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff are friendly. Gorgeous gardens. Exquisite food, including the best steak I've ever had. Wonderful yoga instructors. Fabulous golf course. Kids loved the pools and playrooms. Total rejuvenation of body, mind and soul.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    VERY poor housekeeping staff. We had to ask twice for our room to be cleaned after an entire day gone. Also, the casitas are in desperate need of a facelift. stained drapes, worn carpeting and doors that need painting. Main hotel is being maintained much better.

    Their location is wonderful and so was pool and scenery.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    room had worn out & old fashioned interior, needs to be renovated. Cushions on balcony's sun beds had burn marks and bird droppings.

    Large rooms

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The interior room doors were awkwardly placed and intrusive. The small room refrigerator was also hard to open without gauging one's hands.

    The incredible service provided by the entire hotel staff. Room canyon n view was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needed body lotion with the small collection of lotions in the bathroom and tea bags not just coffee

    Fantastic staff couldn't do enough for us even supplied a kettle for tea when asked sun beds were the best

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tasting menu in the JG Steakhouse with their wine pairings was right on point. Enjoyed the pool and walking through the cactus garden. Donna at Salon Mila gave both of us great haircuts. Would return for that, and another good meal.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception was all OK but unfortunately a bit "robotic" rather than welcoming. The product is starting to age and refurbishment will be required to maintain a 5 star presentation.

    True resort big area and well laid out. The staff were helpful and generally friendly particularly bell staff and in Relish restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Facilities and landscape

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful truly 5 star hotel with excellent staff who cannot do enough for you.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food was not up to par for a resort. J&G and Il Terzzzo were fair. Relish was great!

    Pools were varied and had something for everyone

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very big room and very nice scenery

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Gym facilities

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff is extremely well trained. Whomever is in charge of the training program has done an excellent job.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water in the bathroom unless you ran the tap / shower for 10 minutes

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: