Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3 stars

85 Fifth Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94103, USA

#151 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2670 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Very happy with our stay, as always!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one elevator working at the time.

    Comfy Bed and awesome pillows. Very clean rooms. Unbeatable location if you’re in town for a ball game. Love the bar/restaurant downstairs. Reasonable onsite parking fee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    3.3
    I wasn’t happy at all the staff were rude when I complained...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t happy at all the staff were rude when I complained about about construction work that started on the building at 9am and we weren’t told about it. There was a jack hammer being used under our window while we were sleeping. There was no aircon for the room which meant the window had to be left open all night with sirens and traffic to be heard at all hours.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    The location is amazing, conveniently located in the middle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small.

    The location is amazing, conveniently located in the middle of downtown across the street from the SF Chronicle. The bathtub provided enough room to stretch out and enjoy a lovely bath. The amenities offered are terrific and the option to check your bags before and after your stay make it an easy choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    2.5
    Stay Away from The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a very very old, not maintained building that smells badly. There are cracks in the walls including the room you sleep in. Beds are not comfortable and they practice price gauging. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Nothing at all!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Great comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly one elevator wasn't working which made for incredibly frustrating waits every time we wanted to come down or return to our room. The elevator is rather small so if it was packed you'd need to wait for it to drop everyone off and come back, in which time you'd just give up and take the stairs. Please fix the elevator. Also, one of our room keys didn't work sporadically. Was very annoying when I went out exploring alone and couldn't get back into the room. Staff were helpful in resetting the card, but it's an issue that, coupled with the elevator problem, contributed to some dissatisfaction overall with this hotel. Rooms are smaller than they appear online, but it's good value considering what we paid for five nights and the fact that we didn't spend much time at the hotel.

    Great comfortable beds. Loved the location- so close to transport, a huge Westfield shopping centre, local restaurants etc

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Hotel for fit people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really good to keep us fit as there was only ONE lift working. So my friend and I carry all our luggage to the 4th floor walking! Now my arms and shoulders look amazing! Thanks Pickwick Hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Clean but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean and tidy, we could hear everything happening in the next room so not all that private, very expensive for what you got but we booked short notice so maybe that reflected in the price. Short walk to the shops, overall not bad

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Great for a family stay in San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was a fantastic location for accessing San Francisco's shopping district with easy transport links to Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel was quite old but very clean and all in-room appliances worked well. Our room was big with two double beds. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A very pleasant stay and ideal for a family spending a few days in San Francisco.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    'Perfect location for city escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor issue - I wish there was a shelf in the bathroom. It was a big room, but I had nowhere to place any bottles. Although a fridge was provided I would have liked a microwave also, as sometimes my trips finished late and I didn't feel comfortable walking around at night (just like in any big city not just SF). I could have heated up a Walgreen's ready meal!

    I was wary of choosing a hotel that wasn't a chain but I was not left disappointed. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed linen was bright white and comfortable, the shower was sparkling clean, and the location was perfect for public transport links and had a Walgreen's and Trader Joes close by. Yes it is an old building that maybe needs a bit of attention to detail on the renovation, and yes sometimes you do hear the pipes, but it really wasn't an issue when the rest of the room was of a high standard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Knocking noise all night... Only 1 dirty cramped elevator worked. Staff acted like we were bothering them when we checked in and it seemed they treated us different because we were only staying 1 night. Coffee in room was only offered in dark roast (yuck)... I would not go back or recommend this hotel.

    It was close to the AT&T park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.5
    The restaurant located in the hotel the food was delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so squeaky and loud and the bed springs were popping out the mattress

    The restaurant located in the hotel the food was delicious for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had asked for a queen bed but gave me 2 twin beds but I made it work. It said there is hotel parking but they charge you 40 overnight

    Clean rooms and bathroom, heat and air worked, friendly staff and the restaurant had a door to the lobby

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didnt cool as well as i would like. The bathrooms are tiny. The location is a little too close to the tenderloin. Heard police sirens and car alarms all night.

    Very friendly staff. Parking garage!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    We were happy with the beds, very comfortable, and the location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were rather small for two people. No tea to make a cup of tea. Noisy, traffic and people showering around us,

    the Staff were very helpful and nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to get into the parking garage was very difficult. There was a musty smell in the bedding.

    The staff was amazing!! So warm and friendly. Liked the overall appearance and cleanliness of the room. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Great place to stay that is close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a little old and in need of a make over (old carpets and bad renovation work in the rooms)

    Great location within walking distance to the trams and bus lines. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Frightening neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dead bird in our window. The neighbourhood was full with homeless people it easy frightening to go out in the evening

    The hotel is close to shopping center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain about since I was staying only one night.

    It's literally next to the shopping area. The area here is safe unlike everything on 6th street. The room is big and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Historic Hotel in heart of San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC but the weather in San Francisco doesn’t require it. It was just loud with the window cracked open for some air.

    Clean room, friendly staff and convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with most older hotels, walls are thin - could hear neighbors conversations as if they were sitting next to me. Vent in bathroom allowed hearing strangers go to the toilet. Additionally, if you pay for the cheapest room, you will receive a room on 5th st where fire engines roar until late into the night. If you are a light sleeper, pay extra for a quieter room off the busy road. Also, restaurant is not open until 10am for breakfast.

    Property is close to many attractions downtown. Rooms are updated, clean and comfortable with air conditioning and heat. Staff is very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    Budget hotel with almost no facilities and not such a budget price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small rooms and very, very small beds. We asked for larger beds but it seems that this size was the only size in the hotel. When we asked for extra towels we had to go pick them up ourselves...

    The location is perfect. The receptionist helped us very well telling the San Francisco highlights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable and the Wi-Fi was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was not cleaned on first day of stay; room was very small and décor was 'jaded' and carpet worn through in places. Walls were paper thin and therefore heard everything going on in rooms either side of us, which varied from screaming children to amorous couples! Only one lift worked and was very slow; felt we were fighting for use of it with utility workers who seemed to be using it to get to works they were doing somewhere on the upper floors; Curtains prevented natural light from coming into room so it felt even smaller.

    Bed was comfortable and the Wi-Fi was good. great shower and toiletries. When room was cleaned it was cleaned well. great location;

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Location location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs an update worn bath and carpet but very clean and comfortable Noisy city traffic out of their conttol

    Really great location lovrly staff very comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    the location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't work . Although I gave the staff my credit card when I checked in and wanted to pay cash at checkout they didn't listen and charged the card on the booking. com reservation even though I said I wanted to use a different card

    the location was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    The beds were really comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In a very noisy area and the windows were not soundproof. The area didn't look safe either. We would make sure we were back before 9pm.

    The beds were really comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Location was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was outstanding. A bit pricey but that’s more an issue with San Francisco. The elevators are painfully slow so ask for a lower floor and take the stairs. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    A trip for my 16yrs old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small room, only 1 elevator working, bathroom very small, the walls not sound proof too much noise at night and for that cost at least continental breakfast could be offered. The homeless just walks in and create a seen as you try to check-in.

    It was central to shopping center, train station and trolley rides.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice size room.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is an older hotel and some areas are a little tired.

    Nice size room. Quiet, great WiFi and I was on 7th floor. Clean and well looked after. Very nice staff. Very central for lots of activities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.6
    Terrible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not super clean. And the smell of the bathroom was terrible. Plus the shower was almost destroyed.

    Location. But some of the best hotels are around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.8
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and hotel shabby and in need of painting. Room was expensive and did not merit price paid. Room small and very small bathroom.Only coffee maker and no teamaking facilities. Reception Staff not very helpful. Concierge both very helpful

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were rude and tried to over charge us on checkout At one stage we had 5 different taxes on our big Booking.com only advised of 2 taxes to be added

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    Bed conformt was good, the location is good in the middle of...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Elevator does not work, the room was not so clean, a little bit noisy, you can hear your neighbors

    Bed conformt was good, the location is good in the middle of the town, 10 minutes by foot to union square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location and bed but it is expensive, old and dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift never worked properly, there is NO restaurant or eating facilities in the hotel. Very expensive for what it is and the tax ( 3 different ones) being tagged on at the end is deceptive.

    Location - convenient to AT&T Park and shops. Staff were great and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities look somewhat old. Walls are thin and you can hear next room noise.

    Location is really good, you can walk to a lot of places. There are not as many homeless people as near other hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfy and reasonably priced for downtown San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one elevator working so took a while to ride up and down. Could hear the conversations in the next room when I was in the bathroom. Tiny bathroom, but functional.

    Location was fantastic! Easy to get to the things we wanted to see and do! Nice room and great staff, helpful and friendly! Very comfy bed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    I would not revisit this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not clean, man in next room spoke on speaker phone 12 - 2 am & started again @ about 4:30 or 5 am, a/c could not be adjusted (on or off only)

    Clean towels and sheets, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff told me to wait until the day of checkout to change payment method. I went to the desk to pay at check out and was informed the staff had made a mistake. The payment was already authorized without my permission and I was unable to retract it. I was not pleased because of the misinformation and inconvenience it caused.

    Clean friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Central location at a reasonable price it would have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel a little dated and unfortunately didn't offer breakfast

    Central location at a reasonable price it would have been much more expensive to stay nearer the Wharf area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    The room was comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downtown San Fran is dirty with addicts on every corner, but that's rather a problem of the city than the hotel. On of the elevators was broken, so there was only on available for such a big hotel (=waiting long to go up). The personal wasn't really friendly and client-focused.

    The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    This hotel was in a great location. But it was too expensive and i slept badly because of the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was noise outside our room on the corridor which woke me up.It continued until my husband eventually went down to reception at 4am and complained. WE received no apology.

    The location is great but i felt that it was expensive for what we got.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Rather miserable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the very entry at the reception for check in I realised that the hotel is rather dated. The elevators are rather old and clunky. The quality of the carpeting on the floors also suggests that the hotel could do with some modernisation. The room itself was not too bad even though the bathroom is rather small. The stay was made miserable by some heavy duty maintenance work with very noisy heavy equipment and a crane that seemed to be going to either the roof or the top floor of the hotel. The work started around 10pm and went on until 2am. It proved impossible to cope with the noise and one could just not sleep.

    Location in the heart of the city, a block away from Market Street and a comfortable walk to the Embarcadero.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Overall was an okay stay, just feel like a few things can be updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beds weren’t at all comfortable. the ac unit was either freezing or way too hot there was really no in between.

    I love that this hotel is near everything. walking distance and barely a few dollars for an uber our to the piers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value for the price but a little noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since it is an older building it is easy to hear EVERYTHING happening outside on the street or in the hallway. Bring a pair of earplugs for a good night’s sleep.

    Location is great as well as the staff. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant attached to the hotel has an awesome happy hour and there are plenty of cafes and smaller restaurants close by to choose from. Very reasonable pricing all things considered.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfort close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location of this property to the shops, and having many great restaurants and cafes close by. Room was comfortable and quiet considering our room faced a busy road. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the stay staff helpful clean and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred a kettle in the room instead of the coffee machine .

    The location was very good. Caught a BART train from airport costing 10$ each, a lot cheaper than a taxi, and the stop was in Powell Street just across the road and down the street tomour Hotel. It was in an ideal location for union square and got public transport to get to the various sites we wanted to see. A good selection of buses trams and cable car all within easily reach. Found an excellent diner “Mels Diner one block away which was excellent food and service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy, and only one of two lifts was operating so a bit slow to get up the room

    Excellent location, perfect for a conference at the Moscone Center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Convenient location in the heart of downtown and two steps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly staff. Rooms very uncomfortable and (2nd floor) very noisy from the street. Doesn't worth the value. Needs renovation.

    Convenient location in the heart of downtown and two steps away from Bart / Metro station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    4th weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noisy being near a busy intersection near the lobby & restaurant. Our room was quiet, though.

    Good location. Hotel staff were friendly & helpful. The restaurant food was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Best Price and Great Location Package.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the elevator is outdated and no free continental breakfast like Hampton Inn or Best Western. the parking rate is outrageously expensive that is why we didn't rent a car on this expedition of our journey to San Francisco. Lyft is cheaper than Uber with more pickup locations throughout the city and shared cost of trips was incredible price. Decor wise it is outdated for a 3.5 star rating hotel. They definitely need to train their new hire staff more adequately because i saw a few no no moments. especially the maid service staffing.

    Location is the central reason for our stay here during gay Pride weekend. We loved using Lfyt for our ground transportation and airport shuttle service. Close to walking distance is the SOMA restaurant with great Italian cuisine and sushi restaurant next door too. Morning breakfast either at the Cafe or SOMA is really a good deal. We had 20 bottles of the Fiji water $3.00 each. But you can also find Walgreens and supermarket all within walking distance. Overall staff is very helpful and nice. Rooms are clean and well managed. 3.5 Stars Rating is well deserved here. Best rate in town for the time of Gay Pride Weekend. We could have stayed at other 4 stars luxury hotel but the cost was double or triple what I paid on Booking.com.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Horrible Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why is it booking customers get the worst rooms in the hotels? Bed springs stabbing us. Pillows horrible, room so tiny luggage did not fit. All other rooms on the floor were much more spacious. Shower and sink faucets falling apart. Bathroom so tiny you could not turn around. Street noise so loud sleep impossible, Windows, new Windows did not help.

    The front desk staff were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was in a good location next to Westfield shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was a bit run down and not quite to the standard we were expecting.

    The hotel was in a good location next to Westfield shopping mall, short walk to union square and to the trams which are easy to take across the city and down to the pier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    good central unuion square hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    walls were quite thin -old building and could clearly hear conversions next door. Lots of street vehicle noise as main entry/exit road despite upper level room and double glazing. Gym is limited. Great staff . Your paying for the location

    Great Union square location with pub below. Basic gym. Price is to be expected for the city location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Had a great trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing everything was good

    We had a wonderful time staff were very helpful especially the concierge guy he was great got us shuttle bus to airport and book us tour tickets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Decent hotel in a great location. Others are more up to date for similar money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from the room was of the alley - not much to see. The bathroom is tiny and a little worse for wear.

    Excellent location - easy walking access to Union Square, shopping, entertainment, and the Ferry Building. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    I would definitely stay here again! The Pickwick is in a great downtown location close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an older hotel & the hallway carpets & bathroom tubs/shower need upgrading. The front desk woman seemed to be having a bad day. As a matter of fact we greeted her after standing there for several minutes without any acknowledgement. Strange experience..

    I love that Pickwick provides Coffee Machines in the room & The bed was beyond comfortable. Pillows were soft & luxurious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Historic hotel, close to public transport. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was an odd layout. My room was on Mission St and you could pretty much hear everything happening below. It helped to make sure both windows were closed.

    This hotel was very close to lots of shopping and good restaurants. Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially with my late night check in. Also close to lots of public transportation - BART, Muni and the Cable Car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    2.9
    Nightmare in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. I found some hair on the bathrobe and the answer was just sorry for that. The TV was not working, the shower is hard to turn on, no complementary water, room very small you cannot move, the hotel is very old and you cannot sleep during the night due to the noise because the windows are too old. Price is crazy in respect of the service,staff not friendly

    Nothing apart from central location, but surrounded by homeless

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    - Excelent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    - You can hear people talking next door. Otherwise everything was good.

    - Excelent location - Large room - Historic hotel (older than 100 years) in really good condition - Lots of vendomats in the mezzanine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Weekend Stay in San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was $46 per day which we were not expecting and the receptionist was quite unfriendly when we were worrying about how we would cover this cost. We decide to change the credit card used for the booking so we could cover the cost of parking and although the payment went through straight away we had a letter posted through our hotel door to say the card had been declined. We went to reception immediately and were told everything was okay and they had made a mistake however this had added unnecessary worry to our weekend.

    Hotel was very clean and comfortable and in a great location for sightseeing around the city. The concierge was very helpful with organising taxis and helping us to plan our days of sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is great! The rooms were clean. The only thing is that the building is kind of old and is right in the middle of union square, so it was a pain getting in and out of the hotel. Also one of the elevators wasn't working, so it took forever to go up and down especially since we were on the 8th floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street in front of the hotel is noisy. One can hear literally everything from the room next door.

    The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. It was also clean and the hotel gives a good impression. Transport easy to find around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Well maintained antique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was little bit smaller than I expected I would say. There is a vending machine on the M floor but I can't find a single bottle water in it. All I can find were carbonated drink (e.g. sparkling water). The elevator were kind of slow but it is an old building so I can't be too picky on this.

    This hotel is a typical San Francisco downtown antique style hotel. It's old but well maintained.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Central location near public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I made some purchases by internet to be delivered in the hotel as I usually do. One of them get lost . The hotel said they did not receive it but the carrier (US postal service) has a confirmation of delivery, which was not signed. I will never know what really happened but I asked many times in the hotel and they keep reviewing a list they have, after many attempts they checked the packages they have and my package was not there. They were not very proactive to search for my package and each time they forgot what we spoked the day before. They charge 2$ for the packages I received.

    Central location near public transportation. The hotel restaurant, SOMA, was pretty good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect, close to the cable car station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit worn out, but with the offered price, it is alright.

    The location is perfect, close to the cable car station. The bed is also comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Good price, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work inside the room. The mattress was old and a little bit uncomfortable

    Great location and very clean. Plus, they have a business center where you can print stuff if you need it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Booked a room with 2 queen beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room and slow elevator

    Booked a room with 2 queen beds. Room was a bit small and building a bit dated (but i assume most hotels are like this if they are not the marriot or Sheraton) but it had all the basics. Room had a tablet for requests and info but we put in 2 request and did not get fulfilled until we called (for towels and an iron). So perhaps they need to work on monitoring this option for guests. If they did it would be a huge plus for guests! Lots of soft pillows. Mini fridge was nice. Walking distance to Target, Starbucks, shopping, etc. Overall happy with my stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay in a great location hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift (due for replacement anyway) is slow and stops on random floors.

    Hotel is not very new but rooms are bigger compared to other hotels. Staff are great in helping guests

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Air conditioner sucks!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner is central and they are cheap and won’t turn down the temp, so my room was about 75-80 degrees the whole trip. Very frustrating not to have individual air conditioning!

    My room was large and painted and decorated well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Receptionist was really unpleasent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was really unpleasent. Haven’t had any drinks in fridge in the room. Also bill for room water was not included in the main bill and receptionist refused to do it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.5
    HOTEL itself is a throwback to the 1930s. If you are there to tour the city, transportation is close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small but comfortable bed. Bathroom vintage 1930's but clean. Many homeless sleeping in near proximity to hotel. Hotel is on the edge of the Mission District (corner of 5th & Mission).

    The hotel is directly across from the old San Francisco Mint. The view from the room we had was basically just the Mint. Breakfast is available at a Cafe close by and dinner at the SOMA was VERY GOOD.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    This hotel was well located by union square and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of its age, you could hear your neighbors shower just as loudly as your own. The king bed was also quite hard, which I don’t mind, but with no foam topper to make it truly comfy. The neighborhood it is in is also pretty dirty. Great shopping area, especially high end, but many, many homeless, needles and filth all over just half a block away.

    This hotel was well located by union square and had excellent public transportation connections (I’m talking BART, trolley, streetcar, bus... you name it it had it). It also had character in an old building that was clean and refreshed, but not so remodeled that all the charm disappeared. Water pressure in the showers was better than my own home. The restaurant in the hotel also has a phenomenal happy hour with cheap food and amazing drink specials.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable and the front desk staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and the room got quite warm at night despite the A/C being on.

    The bed was very comfortable and the front desk staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.8
    Don’t waste your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were many problems during our stay. When we arrived, the bathroom wall’s had hair and makeup on them. There was mold on the shower curtain, and a hole in the shower wall that collected water. When I called about it, they asked if I wanted to move, it was late so I asked if we can move rooms the next day, the person agreed and said someone will contact me. No one contacted me, I had to email and then call again before getting a reply. The day manager gave us another room and said she “upgraded” us. The room was not an upgrade at all, it was smaller, and had a electronic iPad thing which didn’t work because it needed to be charged but no charger in sight. The second room was a bit cleaner but not by much. Someone knocked on our door at 7:00 and asked they could do the sheet change and clean it for the day. We were still sleeping, this is not acceptable. The place is old so chipped paint was expected. Although, it being an old building does not make the lack of cleanliness alright. Two night stay with parking, it came to about $630. It is not worth the money. I suggest staying at the holiday inn express. The Pickwick Hotel location is alright, but I think there are better choices for a better price that would have the same or similar access to stuff. Also, online it says they have city views available, it is not a city view. If anything, you will get a view of a building where a bunch of homeless people sleep.

    The hotel lobby decor was nice but...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.5
    All around a good hotel, at a good value for money, in a desirable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room. Lots of scuff marks on the walls, furniture, bath tub etc. coffee cups were dirty.

    Thought the room was a nice size. Had the necessary amenities and was in the right location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Problems with receiving back the pre-authorize amount.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was ok but created serious problems with payments. My invoice was for 340$. They additionally pre-authorized 440$ and after a week (when I asked) told me that it will take UP TO 30 DAYS to give it back to me and that it is impossible to make it faster. This is ridiculous.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: