Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

85 Fifth Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94103, United States of America

#151 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2941 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.3
    The room was comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Downtown San Fran is dirty with addicts on every corner, but that's rather a problem of the city than the hotel. On of the elevators was broken, so there was only on available for such a big hotel (=waiting long to go up). The personal wasn't really friendly and client-focused.

    The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.3
    This hotel was in a great location. But it was too expensive and i slept badly because of the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was noise outside our room on the corridor which woke me up.It continued until my husband eventually went down to reception at 4am and complained. WE received no apology.

    The location is great but i felt that it was expensive for what we got.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.7
    Rather miserable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From the very entry at the reception for check in I realised that the hotel is rather dated. The elevators are rather old and clunky. The quality of the carpeting on the floors also suggests that the hotel could do with some modernisation. The room itself was not too bad even though the bathroom is rather small. The stay was made miserable by some heavy duty maintenance work with very noisy heavy equipment and a crane that seemed to be going to either the roof or the top floor of the hotel. The work started around 10pm and went on until 2am. It proved impossible to cope with the noise and one could just not sleep.

    Location in the heart of the city, a block away from Market Street and a comfortable walk to the Embarcadero.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.7
    Overall was an okay stay, just feel like a few things can be updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    beds weren’t at all comfortable. the ac unit was either freezing or way too hot there was really no in between.

    I love that this hotel is near everything. walking distance and barely a few dollars for an uber our to the piers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.3
    Great value for the price but a little noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Since it is an older building it is easy to hear EVERYTHING happening outside on the street or in the hallway. Bring a pair of earplugs for a good night’s sleep.

    Location is great as well as the staff. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant attached to the hotel has an awesome happy hour and there are plenty of cafes and smaller restaurants close by to choose from. Very reasonable pricing all things considered.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.3
    Comfort close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the location of this property to the shops, and having many great restaurants and cafes close by. Room was comfortable and quiet considering our room faced a busy road. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the stay staff helpful clean and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have preferred a kettle in the room instead of the coffee machine .

    The location was very good. Caught a BART train from airport costing 10$ each, a lot cheaper than a taxi, and the stop was in Powell Street just across the road and down the street tomour Hotel. It was in an ideal location for union square and got public transport to get to the various sites we wanted to see. A good selection of buses trams and cable car all within easily reach. Found an excellent diner “Mels Diner one block away which was excellent food and service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit noisy, and only one of two lifts was operating so a bit slow to get up the room

    Excellent location, perfect for a conference at the Moscone Center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    5.0
    Convenient location in the heart of downtown and two steps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly staff. Rooms very uncomfortable and (2nd floor) very noisy from the street. Doesn't worth the value. Needs renovation.

    Convenient location in the heart of downtown and two steps away from Bart / Metro station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.5
    4th weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a little noisy being near a busy intersection near the lobby & restaurant. Our room was quiet, though.

    Good location. Hotel staff were friendly & helpful. The restaurant food was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Best Price and Great Location Package.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the elevator is outdated and no free continental breakfast like Hampton Inn or Best Western. the parking rate is outrageously expensive that is why we didn't rent a car on this expedition of our journey to San Francisco. Lyft is cheaper than Uber with more pickup locations throughout the city and shared cost of trips was incredible price. Decor wise it is outdated for a 3.5 star rating hotel. They definitely need to train their new hire staff more adequately because i saw a few no no moments. especially the maid service staffing.

    Location is the central reason for our stay here during gay Pride weekend. We loved using Lfyt for our ground transportation and airport shuttle service. Close to walking distance is the SOMA restaurant with great Italian cuisine and sushi restaurant next door too. Morning breakfast either at the Cafe or SOMA is really a good deal. We had 20 bottles of the Fiji water $3.00 each. But you can also find Walgreens and supermarket all within walking distance. Overall staff is very helpful and nice. Rooms are clean and well managed. 3.5 Stars Rating is well deserved here. Best rate in town for the time of Gay Pride Weekend. We could have stayed at other 4 stars luxury hotel but the cost was double or triple what I paid on Booking.com.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    4.6
    Horrible Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Why is it booking customers get the worst rooms in the hotels? Bed springs stabbing us. Pillows horrible, room so tiny luggage did not fit. All other rooms on the floor were much more spacious. Shower and sink faucets falling apart. Bathroom so tiny you could not turn around. Street noise so loud sleep impossible, Windows, new Windows did not help.

    The front desk staff were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was in a good location next to Westfield shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was a bit run down and not quite to the standard we were expecting.

    The hotel was in a good location next to Westfield shopping mall, short walk to union square and to the trams which are easy to take across the city and down to the pier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.9
    good central unuion square hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    walls were quite thin -old building and could clearly hear conversions next door. Lots of street vehicle noise as main entry/exit road despite upper level room and double glazing. Gym is limited. Great staff . Your paying for the location

    Great Union square location with pub below. Basic gym. Price is to be expected for the city location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Had a great trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing everything was good

    We had a wonderful time staff were very helpful especially the concierge guy he was great got us shuttle bus to airport and book us tour tickets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.1
    Decent hotel in a great location. Others are more up to date for similar money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from the room was of the alley - not much to see. The bathroom is tiny and a little worse for wear.

    Excellent location - easy walking access to Union Square, shopping, entertainment, and the Ferry Building. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.5
    I would definitely stay here again! The Pickwick is in a great downtown location close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an older hotel & the hallway carpets & bathroom tubs/shower need upgrading. The front desk woman seemed to be having a bad day. As a matter of fact we greeted her after standing there for several minutes without any acknowledgement. Strange experience..

    I love that Pickwick provides Coffee Machines in the room & The bed was beyond comfortable. Pillows were soft & luxurious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.2
    Historic hotel, close to public transport. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was an odd layout. My room was on Mission St and you could pretty much hear everything happening below. It helped to make sure both windows were closed.

    This hotel was very close to lots of shopping and good restaurants. Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially with my late night check in. Also close to lots of public transportation - BART, Muni and the Cable Car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    2.9
    Nightmare in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything. I found some hair on the bathrobe and the answer was just sorry for that. The TV was not working, the shower is hard to turn on, no complementary water, room very small you cannot move, the hotel is very old and you cannot sleep during the night due to the noise because the windows are too old. Price is crazy in respect of the service,staff not friendly

    Nothing apart from central location, but surrounded by homeless

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.6
    - Excelent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    - You can hear people talking next door. Otherwise everything was good.

    - Excelent location - Large room - Historic hotel (older than 100 years) in really good condition - Lots of vendomats in the mezzanine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.3
    Weekend Stay in San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was $46 per day which we were not expecting and the receptionist was quite unfriendly when we were worrying about how we would cover this cost. We decide to change the credit card used for the booking so we could cover the cost of parking and although the payment went through straight away we had a letter posted through our hotel door to say the card had been declined. We went to reception immediately and were told everything was okay and they had made a mistake however this had added unnecessary worry to our weekend.

    Hotel was very clean and comfortable and in a great location for sightseeing around the city. The concierge was very helpful with organising taxis and helping us to plan our days of sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.1
    The staff is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is great! The rooms were clean. The only thing is that the building is kind of old and is right in the middle of union square, so it was a pain getting in and out of the hotel. Also one of the elevators wasn't working, so it took forever to go up and down especially since we were on the 8th floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The street in front of the hotel is noisy. One can hear literally everything from the room next door.

    The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. It was also clean and the hotel gives a good impression. Transport easy to find around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.6
    Well maintained antique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was little bit smaller than I expected I would say. There is a vending machine on the M floor but I can't find a single bottle water in it. All I can find were carbonated drink (e.g. sparkling water). The elevator were kind of slow but it is an old building so I can't be too picky on this.

    This hotel is a typical San Francisco downtown antique style hotel. It's old but well maintained.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    6.7
    Central location near public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I made some purchases by internet to be delivered in the hotel as I usually do. One of them get lost . The hotel said they did not receive it but the carrier (US postal service) has a confirmation of delivery, which was not signed. I will never know what really happened but I asked many times in the hotel and they keep reviewing a list they have, after many attempts they checked the packages they have and my package was not there. They were not very proactive to search for my package and each time they forgot what we spoked the day before. They charge 2$ for the packages I received.

    Central location near public transportation. The hotel restaurant, SOMA, was pretty good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect, close to the cable car station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is a bit worn out, but with the offered price, it is alright.

    The location is perfect, close to the cable car station. The bed is also comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.8
    Good price, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi didn't work inside the room. The mattress was old and a little bit uncomfortable

    Great location and very clean. Plus, they have a business center where you can print stuff if you need it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.9
    Booked a room with 2 queen beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room and slow elevator

    Booked a room with 2 queen beds. Room was a bit small and building a bit dated (but i assume most hotels are like this if they are not the marriot or Sheraton) but it had all the basics. Room had a tablet for requests and info but we put in 2 request and did not get fulfilled until we called (for towels and an iron). So perhaps they need to work on monitoring this option for guests. If they did it would be a huge plus for guests! Lots of soft pillows. Mini fridge was nice. Walking distance to Target, Starbucks, shopping, etc. Overall happy with my stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay in a great location hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lift (due for replacement anyway) is slow and stops on random floors.

    Hotel is not very new but rooms are bigger compared to other hotels. Staff are great in helping guests

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.5
    Air conditioner sucks!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioner is central and they are cheap and won’t turn down the temp, so my room was about 75-80 degrees the whole trip. Very frustrating not to have individual air conditioning!

    My room was large and painted and decorated well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    5.8
    Receptionist was really unpleasent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Receptionist was really unpleasent. Haven’t had any drinks in fridge in the room. Also bill for room water was not included in the main bill and receptionist refused to do it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.5
    HOTEL itself is a throwback to the 1930s. If you are there to tour the city, transportation is close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small but comfortable bed. Bathroom vintage 1930's but clean. Many homeless sleeping in near proximity to hotel. Hotel is on the edge of the Mission District (corner of 5th & Mission).

    The hotel is directly across from the old San Francisco Mint. The view from the room we had was basically just the Mint. Breakfast is available at a Cafe close by and dinner at the SOMA was VERY GOOD.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    This hotel was well located by union square and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Because of its age, you could hear your neighbors shower just as loudly as your own. The king bed was also quite hard, which I don’t mind, but with no foam topper to make it truly comfy. The neighborhood it is in is also pretty dirty. Great shopping area, especially high end, but many, many homeless, needles and filth all over just half a block away.

    This hotel was well located by union square and had excellent public transportation connections (I’m talking BART, trolley, streetcar, bus... you name it it had it). It also had character in an old building that was clean and refreshed, but not so remodeled that all the charm disappeared. Water pressure in the showers was better than my own home. The restaurant in the hotel also has a phenomenal happy hour with cheap food and amazing drink specials.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable and the front desk staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was very small and the room got quite warm at night despite the A/C being on.

    The bed was very comfortable and the front desk staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    3.8
    Don’t waste your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were many problems during our stay. When we arrived, the bathroom wall’s had hair and makeup on them. There was mold on the shower curtain, and a hole in the shower wall that collected water. When I called about it, they asked if I wanted to move, it was late so I asked if we can move rooms the next day, the person agreed and said someone will contact me. No one contacted me, I had to email and then call again before getting a reply. The day manager gave us another room and said she “upgraded” us. The room was not an upgrade at all, it was smaller, and had a electronic iPad thing which didn’t work because it needed to be charged but no charger in sight. The second room was a bit cleaner but not by much. Someone knocked on our door at 7:00 and asked they could do the sheet change and clean it for the day. We were still sleeping, this is not acceptable. The place is old so chipped paint was expected. Although, it being an old building does not make the lack of cleanliness alright. Two night stay with parking, it came to about $630. It is not worth the money. I suggest staying at the holiday inn express. The Pickwick Hotel location is alright, but I think there are better choices for a better price that would have the same or similar access to stuff. Also, online it says they have city views available, it is not a city view. If anything, you will get a view of a building where a bunch of homeless people sleep.

    The hotel lobby decor was nice but...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.5
    All around a good hotel, at a good value for money, in a desirable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness of room. Lots of scuff marks on the walls, furniture, bath tub etc. coffee cups were dirty.

    Thought the room was a nice size. Had the necessary amenities and was in the right location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    6.3
    Problems with receiving back the pre-authorize amount.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was ok but created serious problems with payments. My invoice was for 340$. They additionally pre-authorized 440$ and after a week (when I asked) told me that it will take UP TO 30 DAYS to give it back to me and that it is impossible to make it faster. This is ridiculous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn’t recommend as very old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wrong room allocated on arrival, only 2 mugs for 3 people and one of them leaked. Bathroom door wouldn’t lock. No information about restaurant or hotel facilities.

    The lobby was very welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    2.9
    Originally booked for five days and cut the stay short to two days, enough said.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What didn't I like.....Everything! Place is not as described or how it looks in its photos. Very run down and dirty throughout, evident from the dust and dirt on the carpet behind the front desk when you arrive. Corridor to bedrooms had a damp musky smell almost like sick. The door to the room was not the most secure. The room itself was again dusty and dirty, no soap was provided in the bathroom on either day and the bathroom fixtures and fittings were again dusty indicating they hadn't been washed. Finally the noise from outside (not the nicest part of San Francisco just off the lower end of Market Street) and from the other rooms is disgraceful, you could hear every conversation and pin drop through the vents. The humorous thing is that this room was supposedly an upgrade, I dread to think what the others were like. Hotel also charged above and beyond competitive fees as there was a conference on in the city.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    5.8
    Convenient but lacking in basic amenities for families and the staff leave much to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was noisy constantly even at 3am in the morning. It is NOT child friendly. There are no basic facilities available like a microwave or even hot water kettle in the rooms. I had to use a staff microwave which I was made to feel was a major inconvenience even though I paid over $1500 to stay at the place! When I asked for a bowl to put baby food inside, the hotel staff were unable to help and suggested me to ask the cafe in the hotel who also refused to let us borrow a bowl. This is enough to define the experience. Having worked in hospitality before, I understand the need to assist customers and found the staff response to be completely unacceptable. When I asked the best way to get to an area a few kilometres away, I was recommended by the bellman to take a $40 private car ride instead of public transport or Uber. I checked Uber and it gave me an $11 ride...this immediately made me distrustful of the staff. A small thing to note is that the elevators are very temperamental, they stop on random levels. Not a major issue but somewhat annoying if you have an exhausted child.

    The location was great. Extremely conveniently located. Great for business trips and for people who travel alone or with friends. A short walk to the centre of the city and literally next door to Bloomingdales for a quick spot of shopping. Also Mel’s diner is around the corner which is a decent place to grab a quick bite. Staff members Marie and Marco are great, helped make our stay more enjoyable. They went the extra step to help us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and close to the hub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a good size, nice and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Very close to Union Square, all in all I would say it was a great hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.2
    Overall an excellent value for money hotel in close proximity to nearly everything you may need!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Only complaint was that my room magstripe access card got corrupted a few times due to proximity to my phone and needed to be recoded. If an alternate mechanism could be used to access rooms, I think it would really improve the overall experience. Room interior was clean and tidy, just showing its age a bit.

    Super efficient and friendly front desk. Concierge service helped with transport and receiving of a package while I was there. Fantastic location with easy accessibility to the heart of Market street, Moscone Centre, Powell Street Bart station and Union Square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.8
    Location and price was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a little dated, but can't complain too much for the price you pay.

    Location and price was excellent. Short walk to Union square and even closer to Westfields!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.8
    Cheap for the area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite noisy at night due to being on a busy street

    Cheap for the area! Staff were friendly. In great central location. Perfect if you want to shop. Got the job done.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, clean, tidy and fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I could fault is the road noise and sirens

    Everything was clean and well presented, staff were friendly and it was fantastic value for money. Two thumbs up 👍👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable bed, good wi-fi, excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    minor quibble was that rooms were dated (which added character or lacked polish, depending on your point of view) with ineffectual air-conditioning, if any at all. on hot days this may be an issue but when I travelled it was cool outside and it didn't bother me. but the main issue with the hotel is the noise. Would not recommend to light sleepers! Traffic noise and noise from adjoining rooms is quite noticeable (Especially in the bathroom, when my neighbors were in their bathroom I could hear every word they were saying). But if you sleep heavily or use ear plugs, this would not be an issue.

    Comfortable bed, good wi-fi, excellent location. The building is very old and has lots of character, which some people may or may not like. it aint fancy! it's a good, pragmatic choice for a stay. Staff were always courteous and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    5.8
    mediocre hotel that's pretty expensive. So it's pretty much just a hotel in San Francisco then.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Getting a lecture from the night check in guy, upon arrival ,that i had to shut down was pretty annoying. It was the end of his shift though and we're all human but it didn't start this trip the right way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    6.7
    Good value, great location, just don’t expect to have a quiet night’s sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls of the hotel room were paper thin. You could hear conversations, snoring, coughing, phone conversations of the neighboring rooms.

    The location was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.8
    The room was in good shape despite an old façade .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Despite a central location, the area is slightly dodgy, it is nearby Tenderloin and you can feel unsafe at nights. The staff is not welcoming at all and doesn't provide information easily ... you are left on your own & when it is your first time in SF you do expect a bit of recommendations from the hotel receptionist ....

    The room was in good shape despite an old façade ... which was re-insuring. I wasn't hearing the street and I wasn't hearing too much the other rooms or the corridor noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    3.3
    I would not recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi was appalling - I was unable to work from the hotel. upon arrival there were a pair of men's boxers in my colleague's room that did not belong to her obviously. We flagged this to reception but it took them a day, and for us to chase them again for them to be removed. That is unacceptable!

    Location Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    8.8
    The location is fantastic, a block from the BART and close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevator sometimes stops randomly on certain floors constantly, and the WiFi is spotty depending which part of the building you’re on. But, really no reasons to not stay again.

    The location is fantastic, a block from the BART and close to a lot of really great spots that have that SF feel. The rooms are clean, and the housekeeping staff is extremely inviting. The price was very reasonable as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    6.3
    Location was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was disappointed that the rates fluctuated so much during my 5 nights stay, going up to 300% more during 2 of the 5 nights. Also, it was very noisy..with sound of dump trucks in the wee hours of the night.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable and location is good.
    • Travelers with friends
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking is super overpriced, We've been mislead by the staff about the parking and we talked with the hotel shift manger (guy named Ellen) he was rude and disrespectful. Eventually the parking lot owner got to en arrangement with us, without any help from the hotel shift manager.

    Clean, comfortable and location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    3.8
    meh
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service at the front desk. When attempting to book an extra night, the woman tried to charge us more than necessary. We booked with another employee for a lower rate the next day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    5.8
    I would not recommend staying here.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Crazy elevator (stopped on every floor randomly) rude, unhelpful staff. Lack of attention from hotel manager when we had an issue upon arrival. Concierge never offered to help us and this is a small hotel and it was obvious we were tourists. Concierge was very difficult to understand after we asked a trolley question.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.6
    Very close to public transportation.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Elevators need to be fixed. Rooms weren't soundproof. You could hear next room easily.

    Very close to public transportation. Room tablet was a nice add on . Staff made us feel comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.1
    Decent hotel for the price you pay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It did look a bit old and some renovation would be nice. Some of the staff were superkind, but others were simply rude - yawning while serving for example.

    It was a decent hotelroom. Three star in an expensive city, so simply decent. All was a bit old, but not bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    6.3
    The stay was okay but the cost was way too much for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and bathroom are small. The building itself is old. The room is quite expensive but I guess that's what you get for downtown San Francisco. Didn't care for the riff raff pan handlers in front of the hotel. The hotel charges $46 a day to park your vehicle.

    Clean comfortable bed. Wi-fi worked. Nice large towels. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent staff, good clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    A Little noisy on the road side - did quieten down at night time.

    Excellent staff, good clean rooms. Excellent location for shopping, lots of lovely restaurants and shops a short walk away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff at the Pickwick!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit of elevator trouble...

    I don't often write reviews, but I was so impressed with the attentiveness and friendliness of every member of this staff. Made for a great trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.6
    Tablet in the room with name and some local info (like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's a fire station near by so it was noisy. Had to wear ear plugs.

    Tablet in the room with name and some local info (like weather) was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    5.8
    Staff not very accomodating nor did they seem to care about repeat business
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel manager was completely unreasonable with my request. Charged for an extra day due to an error in booking. Manager wouldn't budge and made no attempt to contact me after I'd filed a complaint. Rooms are small and a bit stuffy. Windows only partly open. Rooms are loud and can hear conversations from floors above.

    Location was great. Room was comfortable enough. Housekeeping staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    7.9
    Quite decent hotel but gets pricy when there are conventions near-by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very enthusiastic cleaning lady chatting loudly in the corridor in front of guest rooms as of 7:30 in the morning, waking us up. Unless you put something on the door, I thought she will just march into your room. Elevator was quite old and stops randomly at different levels and shared by room services, so a trip could be longer than you expected.

    Location and having attatched parking lot despite being in middle of downtown.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.5
    the location and price were better than some of the other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pocket door for the bathroom did not open and close well causing you to become literally trapped in the bathroom. And in the bathroom there was literally no counter top to lay down personal items such as a toothbrush and toothpaste etc although there was space enough for some type of table to be added. The mattress on the room bed was pretty comfy however the pillows themselves were not very nice. But overall the monetary savings those were minor things to deal with.

    the location and price were better than some of the other same level hotels

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk person Ryan was rude. He knocked on my door saying we were too loud AFTER a person across the hall accosted us. Never mind the heavy smell of weed, the children running up and down the halls or the fact one elevator doesn’t work and there’s no mention of this anywhere. Worst hotel experience to date

    The shuttle drivers were great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are thin. Conversations are heard clearly and loud. Housekeeping not thorough in cleaning the bathroom and the carpets. The room with 2 queen beds are small.

    Location, amenities and the pricing are good. Although the wifi is slow but its sufficient for emails and online tasks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    6.3
    Great location. But very outdated hotel that needs some care and upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed mattress was rough, weared out bed sheets (the bed sheets were torn with holes in them and stained). The bathroom was very outdated, the fixtures especially and the bathtub needs to be replaced. The bathtub looks like its been patched up instead of replaced over the many years.

    Location is everything, staff are super nice too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    5.4
    Location is great but thats about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very tiny and the staff wasn’t very engaging or friendly. Nothing at all to make you say “wow”.

    It’s very close to all the shops and a big shopping mall. Location makes everything walkable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and very easy with uber to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I can say I missed in my room was a full length mirror. Other than that it was great.

    Upon arrival the staff were very helpful and informative. Every team member smiled and had a fabulous attitude.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is on a very busy street and so can be quite noisy.

    Room was comfortable and clean. Staff were helpful and welcoming. Very central for both shopping and the cable car.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    9.2
    Luxury hotel for a decent price in the off-season (March)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could have used a countertop (or larger sink) to put all my bathroom stuff. I had to use the luggage stand for this purpose. Beware dates when big conferences come to town because most all most hotels in San Francisco jack up the prices.

    This is a class remodeled hotel built in the mid 1920s. The movie "The Maltese Falcon" with Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall was filmed in the hotel in the 1940s. It is located a block from Market Street and right next to the West Field Mall. Also nearby is a Denny's and Mel's Dinner, 2 multiplex movie theaters and several local restaurants and bars. Pick your favorite cuisine: it's San Francisco after all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like that the elevator was never working. We took my 1 year old had a stroller and had to take the stairs. We payed $145 for a one night stay and on top of that got changed $40 for parking for one day. The rooms were much smaller than I was expecting. The bathroom door did not lock. I would probably not stay here again.

    The staff was fine, the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.5
    Great location proximate to Powell-Market cable car and BART...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of 2 elevators was out of service, and the one that worked was shabby. Room windows need painting or rehab.

    Great location proximate to Powell-Market cable car and BART, shopping, and restaurants; good wi-fi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    7.1
    It was just okay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The thermostat was hidden and has no real way of knowing what the exact temperature is, you kind of just have to guess... and the walls are extremely thin I could hear the neighbors. The windows are very old and they were open! You can hear cars all through the night and feel the cold breeze.

    The bed was clean and comfy, the bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    7.5
    A good option for a reasonable price downtown San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is a little creepy and weird, needs some internal remodeling. The area is very tricky, it's near some dangerous homeless and junky streets. But then, there are great places to see, stores and restaurants, if not sure, you'd better ask the personnel before leaving or you will end up in some compromising situation as you walk by.

    The robes were fantastic! it had everything I needed! The room was spacious, very clean bathroom and linens, super neat! It was laptop friendly with a great desk/are for work. Great Wi-Fi, comfortable bed and drawers, wireless phone, fridge, safe, iron and ironing table, buzzer, lots of plugs! No bad smells or irritating fresheners at all!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: