Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Queen Anne 3 stars

1590 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#61 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 626 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Loved every minute of the stay!

    If you are seeking an authentic San Francisco experience, then the Queen Anne Hotel is the best choice for your stay. Stepping through the main parlor is like being transported back in time to the Victorian age of California's original state capital and the origins of the Golden State. Don't let the age of this historic building lead you to think the amenities aren't modern. The rooms are comfortable, the wi-fi speedy and the location convenient. A true gem!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe in room and could do with a shelf in bathroom

    Like walking into a stately home beautiful decor. Breakfast was very good. Very close to Union square city centre, hotel offers shuttle to town and Airport with added fee. Anyone visiting San Francisco must check out this hotel online

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was a bit higher than I was thinking, but actually not bad

    Great location! Right near lots of fun things to do in SF. Cable car start on California - easy walk to Embarcadero

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff was nice but i suggest uniforms of some sort so you can identify staff. parental controls on our tv had to be unlocked by staff and the person that showed up could have been anyone. no nametag or uniform. room could use a fan, it was warm in SF and room was stuffy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was dust in the room.

    I liked the location, quiet but with a lot of places to eat or shop nearby. There is a bus stop almost in front of the hotel and a lot more closed to it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a funky smell in the lobby from a candle they burn. I assume the candle is to cover up some other smell. I was given an ADA compliant room, but not told. I didn't request one. Breakfast is typical of a holiday inn or best western free breakfast without the selection. No yogurt or warm eggs. The bathroom could use some maintenance. Clean but tired.

    Price was best in the area for a holiday weekend. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom was tiny, and the refrigerator froze everything we put in it. The breakfast was okay, but I did get a little tired of hard boiled eggs and sausage. I never saw anyone get an intact waffle out of the waffle maker. All it needed was a little cooking spray, which was not provided.

    The beds were very comfortable and the room was decorated in a charming style appropriate for the age and history of the building. Loved the reading nook. Great soap and shampoo, and the housekeeping staff was excellent. Parking was pricey ($30 per day) but convenient once we realized that backing into the lot made it much easier to get out again. Location was great, and relatively easy to find in such a large city. When three of our family members came down with a stomach virus during our stay, the little market on the next corner came in very handy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs cooked too much.

    Close to restaurants and all the activities I wanted to experience. The room was very comfortable. The breakfast was good with good variety. The staff very helpful and gracious. Overall experience was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was 7-9am, not good if you want to sleep in.

    Quiet area with public transport and on street parking outside. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. Area is residential and felt safe. Hotel very authentic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the enormous lobby area with plenty of reading materials and places to sit; enjoyed reading by the fireplace. Also enjoyed the Sherry and cookies each night in the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing. The free WiFi offered didn't work well.

    The breakfast spread was good, there were Several choices for a free breakfast. It was spread out and open, which gave guest opportunity to move freely. The parole area was inviting and cozy. There was plenty of seating and the fire place added a little touch of home. There were also games available to play as you sit and relax. It is also next to a minni liquor store, if you need something extra you could walk 20 steps Across the cross walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much really, was a very comfortable stay. Parking at $30 a day I thought was a tad steep for the location (i.e. not in strict tourist spot), and considering it wasn't secure parking, however we didn't have a problem.

    Room was comfortable, the crib for our son was exchanged quickly once we worked out that the initial one was too small for him. All the staff were lovely, breakfast had a good selection by American standards, libations at night were a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff and the concierge were awesome, vey helpful. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood and the room was very comfortable, which contributed for a relaxing stay. Breakfast did not offer too many options but was very good. The hotel is walking-distance from a few interesting places (Japantown, Painted Sisters, Fillmore Street) and close to mini-markets and convenience stores; for everything else you will need transportation. The parking was very convenient. The property is an attraction in itself.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a strange and damp smell in the hotel lobby and in the hotel room. The curtain for the bathroom (which faces the main street) had a massive gap in the middle of it.

    Amazing cookies at 3pm. Great decor of hotel. Rooms have good basic facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no restaurant or room service provided, but the continental breakfast was adequate and since we were out sightseeing all day it didn't matter that much.

    This is not your typical modern, big box hotel. It is a quaint Victorian building filled with antiques that make the entire experience relaxing and most enjoyable. It could use a new coat of paint and some minor touchups, but the charm of the place is wonderful. The only negative is the heater which is an old electric one which either threw off a lot of heat or none. The staff was excellent, the location was perfect for us and within walking distance to a church, cafe for lunch, and the fabled San Francisco cable cars. If you like modern glitz and polish, this is not the place for you, but if you appreciate old time luxury with a wonderful decor, then the Queen Ann is the place for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first floor area was beautifully decorated with authentic Victorian style furniture in keeping with the original architecture. It was a lovely place to enjoy tea, coffee, or an evening sherry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel with a great location. Safe neighborhood to walk around, close to Japantown. Beautiful hotel with a friendly staff, nice spacious rooms and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one thing that might be improved is the breakfast. There is choice and the option of making your own waffles was nice, but there is not a lot of variety if you stay multiple days and I'm not a fan of American breakfasts in general.

    The entire concept works great. You have the feeling of this old victorian place that still contains all the modern comforts. I especially liked the lounge area with the afternoon tea and cookies. It was very relaxing after a long day of visiting the city. Also the neighbourhood was relatively quit and the people visiting the hotel seemed to be the people that enjoy silence.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast

    An absolutely cozy "drawing room" where I sat in front of the fireplace read, sip sherry and snoozed. Outstanding authentic Victorian and even though I'm a minimalist I just loved how inviting and homey the high-quality furnishings arranged in intimate nooks were. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. And, yes, the bed was comfortable, and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was adequate. Nothing special. I will be back I hope.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, the staff are friendly and professional and are extremely helpful. The room was lovely and big for one person. Clean and traditionally British.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could put a little thought and money into their small appliances. The toaster didn’t work very well in the dining room and the coffee maker was needed to be near an outlet in the room.

    If you are looking to step back in time then the Queen Anne is for you. Definitely not a cookie cutter hotel. We loved it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, everything was really sweet the cereals, breads and all spreads.

    The hotel was such a welcome change to the minimalist business type hotels, the location was brilliant as only a couple of blocks away from Fillmore district a great area with reastraunts and nice shops also the hotel is just outside the very centre which has a real problem with rough sleepers that can get quite verbally loud and frightening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room only had one accessible outlet and even that was hidden behind a chest of drawers. Given the age of the home, the lack of outlets was to be expected, but when only two outlets are available, at least one should be visible without having to shift furniture.

    Afternoon tea and sherry in the lounge was a nice feature. My husband and I are history buffs, so getting to stay in an historic home (that pre-dated the San Francisco fire) was incredible. The decor was a bit of a mish-mash of periods, but the house itself was a gem, especially the center staircase. It's a bit of a hike to Fisherman's Wharf from the hotel but definitely do-able. Within walking distance of some great restaurants too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Royal Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude woman at the front desk in the morning who lied about my Fiancé and my wake up call. The digital clock in the room, which was the only clock in the room, was 4 hours behind! We knew she was lying because he's a light sleeper and I was up since (7:30am real time) 3:30am constantly checking the clock to make sure we were on track. Horrible service that time. We are very upset about the situation.

    Friendly check-in and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I did not like was the windows are very old and when the wind blows they make noise.

    I love the hotel very vintage beautiful and peaceful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe this place is haunted! Lots of pounding and knocking in the walls at night. It was a tad stuffy too.

    The bed was very comfortable and luxurious!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very weak. I had to come out to the corridor to connect to wifi and email.

    Interior of the hotel was wonderful. I enjoyed breakfast and afternoon coffee/delights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we could eat for breakfast. The boiled eggs appeared to have been cooked a long time before being served. There was a lot of sugary pastries. Even the bread was too sweet to eat. We did each eat a banana.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The LED bulbs in the room are a tad harsh on the eyes. But other than that it was beautiful and comfortable .

    The decor was amazing !! The hotel is in the original Victorian style. It is perfectly kept in the style of the 1800s and you feel as though you stepped back in time. The rooms are elegant and comfortable . The bed is comfortable .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a perfect location near the regency ballroom however it is not close to the downtown area. We took an Uber from the Montgomery BART station and it was only about a five dollar ride

    Beautiful Victorian hotel with a history. All furnishings in Victorian. The lobby and living room area are very lovely. We went there to attend the Edwardia and ball and it was a perfect setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy beautiful king bed, easy to adjust room temperature, homey and regal/elegant at the same time, pleasant hallways, amazing sitting rooms with two fireplaces, convenient restrooms off of sitting rooms, tea all day, lovely Sherry in the late afternoon, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast instead of boiled eggs everyday...probably they could change to scrambled on odd days

    The hotel is very unique ,very British....with eve tea and cookies and sherry.....this hotel takes u back in time.....very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't get medical visit discount because I booked on line.

    The décor for the holiday season was breathtaking. Coffee and tea were readily available. Breakfast was quiet and simple with lots of choices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be great if the rooms had recycling, given the recycling-centric nature of SF. And would be ideal to have breakfast be available later than 9am.

    Victorian grandeur on a level you may have never seen before. Christmas decorations of the main floor was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our car gets smashed in the parking lot provided by the hotel and our luggages are stolen. Another car is also damaged but nothing is lost. This is the only thing that saddened me. But it really killed our journey.

    Staff are very very nice,decoration is unforgettable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast similar to chain hotel spreads (but is included in cost). Parking is $30/night (lol! see what I did like). Not easy to move curtains back to get natural light in room. No response to my email inquiry on sheets for my son under booking.com--but I didn't ask in person either.

    Very nice staff (eg John). Competitive pricing. Hotel in great location, less crowded than union square hotels but still able to reach most spots (recommend Japantown just 2 blocks down hill). Fun holiday decor still in place on our arrival. My son rates 5 stars from the complimentary hot chocolate staff got him (we got cookies and sherry:). Quiet. Parking is $30/night--which is actually good for SF and right across the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Location very good for my needs as visiting family nearby - morning breakfast very nice Staff helpful and friendly. Love this hotel. My third stay for the holidays. Will book again n the Spring

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that would make it better is an onsite hot tub.

    Breakfast was wonderful. They even ran it past the times listed. Old victorian house was beautiful. REDRUM kind of vibe. great location. surprisingly large rooms for an old house.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast coffee could be stronger, and hotter ... but this is a minor concern.

    I love the Victorian ambiance and furnishings. The fact that this hotel is in a residential area and not right downtown is an added bonus for those of us who like a peaceful atmosphere and enjoy exploring San Francisco's neighborhoods.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complimentary cookies, sherry & tea in the cosy lobby in the afternoon. The bedroom & bathroom were clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was diverse and plentiful, but not fancy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice well-kept vintage hotel. Lobby was extremely nice with excellent antiques. Room was good, clean but needed a little maintenance and furniture was more garage sale then antique. Breakfast was good but not great. Parking lot right across street for $30. Hotel personel were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were willing to help, but not always well informed.

    Great hotel, good location (not directly in the city centre, but in a quiet neighbourhood in Nob's Hill and easily accessible by bus). On the whole good breakfast (for American standards!). Amusing decoration.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It misses some of the more modern features such as sufficient outlets for charging near the bed. The breakfasts were limited but I appreciated hard boiled eggs over the typical scramble.

    The place was clean and the staff excellent. It's a unique hotel with lots of character.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The breakfast was very good and there was always a good selection - my only criticism would be that the 2 people who work in the breakfast room are never very friendly. Last time we stayed here the lady who worked there always greeted us with a friendly good morning but these 2 never spoke to anyone or smiled or acknowledged any of the guests.

    The hotel is beautiful and the house keepers keep it very clean and tidy. Our room was cleaned every day and the House keepers were always friendly and polite. The front desk staff made us feel very welcome when we arrived and continued throughout our stay to make us feel at home. The hotel is very close to Japan Town which really is a lovely place to visit and so much better than China Town. It is also close to several good bus routes and a bus stops almost outside which is great when you get a bit tired of walking up all the hills in San Francisco! The hotel is very quiet and we were never disturbed by outside noise or any noise inside for that matter. It really was a very quiet peaceful place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast

    Breakfast .. soft boiled eggs were hard boiled ... no scrambled eggs ... no yogurt ... cereals ok. coffee ok ... tea ok. Afternoon tea/sherry was very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very disappointing.

    The beds & bedding were awesome!! The staff very helpful. The atmosphere was very relaxing! The location was fantastic!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It felt like we travelled on time. Beautiful building and furniture, comfortable bed, good breakfast and pleasant staff. All worked perfectly during my stay (I travelled with an infant, 4 months old, and an au pair). Also located close to delicious Japanese and Thai food places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasy is a bit underwhelming and uninspired, sadly enough.

    wonderful tacky hotel. Has plenty of character, unique place to be. It used to be an old Victorian girls school with classrooms and dormitories. This makes the entire vibe special. Very velvety with really supporting staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work on 3rd floor. Room was too small for a $300/night rate. The shower pressure in bathroom was inadequate and the water temperature was hard to control.

    The bed was comfy, the room was clean, the breakfast was amazing, and the staff was always helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of variety of restaurants in the area

    This is an old hotel with old-fashion furnishings; I mean this as a compliment. Room was nor air conditioned and mildly uncomfortable during unusually warm days in San Francisco.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The amazingly cozy common area on the ground floor was great to sit around in the afternoon and have some of the sherry on offer, or at the fireplace in the evening. The lack of an A/C wasn't really that bad, as the house is of decent construction by american standards and remained cool inside even if it was 30C / 90F outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is an old building though it does not have the comfort of other hotels I stayed in. There is no airco which was very uncomfortable because there was an heatwave and no fan was provided. Breakfast was ok but rather basic and I like more healthy fresh products for breakfast.

    The hotel is cute and well located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were good, friendly staff, quirky atmosphere (a little over the top with the Victorian style) but with good breakfast, price/quality ratio and location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps more variety on the breakfast buffet would be good.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to attend to all our needs and questions. The 24 hour beverage buffet was wonderful and the afternoon cookies were yummy! The Victorian decor was lovely and the lit fireplaces were so inviting and comfy after the cool nights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here twice now - once with my daughter, and now with husband and daughter, and have no complaints. We love the historical setting.

    We love the ambiance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    it is too far to walk to Fisherman´s Wharf, any other waterfront or SoMa etc., some streets further east (in tenderloin district) are reportedly not the safest at night (but we did not have any issues ourselves), it is not cheap (but hey ... this is San Francisco ;-)

    we loved the lobby with it´s victorian antique beauty, free tea and coffee (and sometimes sherry) and our rooms were good as well, the continental breakfast is nice, some shopping and restaurants are nearby, we liked the SFMTA 3 day passes for visitors to get around by public transport (several bus stops are close to the hotel).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I love the decorations of the hotel! The staffs are really nice and super friendly! The room is very clean and the beds are sooooo comfy! I also enjoy the breakfast and the all day drinks and the hi-tea chocolate cookies!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the entire hotel had a sickly sweet dirty odor, the building was run down. the 4th story windows opened and had no screens one of which did not have a latch with a fire escape outside of window. The shower had no curtain so the floor was very slippery after a shower. the bed was awful, hard and lumpy. the pillows were cheap foam and very uncomfortable, the linens were scratchy. the curtains were dusty. All of the staff we encountered were aloof and customer service was lacking. Only the 1 person at the desk was kind when we checked out 2 days early. the neighborhood is scary. Not at all what we were expecting based on other reviews or the website. We only stayed 1 night and payed over 1100.00 and were told in an email from the manager that because we prepaid they didn't care about the circumstances of out early departure because they don't pry in to their guests business.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C, neighborhood isn't the best for cars at night so be sure to take everything out of it.

    Historic building with restored decor true to era and Great breakfast ! Cute parlor with plenty of comfy seating and games for kids and a piano. Staff was super friendly. Near Japantown with great food options there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No A/C and it was a rare hot day in San Francisco.

    Good location and breakfast. Location 5 minutes to Japan town and 10 minutes to the Filmore. Perfect location to have dinner and then see a show. Good breakfast that included waffles and sausage, in a charming Victorian dining room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the city and the breakfast was not re-stocked so not much to choose from.

    Cool old historical hotel kept up in traditional decor. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as quiet as a modern hotel.

    Historic Building with period furniture, but very comfortable beds. Quiet location with many restaurants a short walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints!

    The staff was incredibly friendly and the entire hotel was very clean. The bed was super comfy! The location was pretty centralized, which we really like because we take advantage of the inexpensive public transportation when we visit San Francisco. We will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some hair on the wall in the bathroom. The pillows could have been a little nicer.

    The breakfast was nice. They had a make your own waffle station that the kids enjoyed. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spectacular Victorian hotel. Sitting in the beautiful lobby drinking sherry and eating cookies was great. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Nice breakfast. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not many restaurants around that had family friendly foods. Ended up ordering in. They told us to remove everything in our car repeatedly. Didn't make us feel very safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom vanity size was too small, impossible to place make up and creams for women, 2)no place to put off numerous decorative pillows for night, so we had to stuff them to the closet, 3)bathroom curtain rod was not properly fixed and fell off

    1)Customer friendly and accommodating attitude of personnel - Mr John especially, 2)welcome sherry and cookies

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    If one must pay $30 a night for parking, then the parking needs to be secure; not just a lot across the street. Parking spaces are to tight.

    Historical appeal and design. Very nice antiques. Very classy. Very beautiful. Room was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Didn't have AC but we really didn't need it. We were still comfortable. So that really wasn't a problem.

    The hotel was beautiful inside and out, and the room was comfortable. The staff was amazing, we were there for our first anniversary and they left a complimentary bottle of wine in our room while we were out. We had breakfast every morning, which was nice. Nothing big but it was nice. Also from 4pm to 6pm they had sherry and cookies in the lobby. I noticed quit a few people spent time in the lobby, it was nice and comfortable. The hotel was quiet, not a lot of noise. We slept very well with windows open. We would definetly stay here again if we go back to San Francisco.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all the Hotel was wonderful

    My relatives were at your place and they told me that it was amazing to thank you I recommend this place in San Francisco

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was initially a little disappointed with our room, it had no view but this was more than made up for by the comfortable lounge on the ground floor. Beautiful Victorian furnishings throughout, welcoming fires burning in the lounges. Especially appreciated the coffee being available 24 hours a day, and the sherry and biscuits in the late afternoon was a lovely little extra. Nice breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing property with very helpful and happy staff. We found it to be in a great location and quiet and cosy. Loved the sherry and biscuits in the afternoon sitting by the fireplace and the breakfast was enough for us to start the day. Was a lovely place to end our holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that close to Bart but close enough to the muni buses

    Staff was very friendly. Enjoyed the breakfast and all day coffe/water availability. Location was good, not that close to downtown but good to be out of the tourist areas. Public transportation walkable making all areas accessible. Charming Victorian building with unique decor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has all necessary amenities. Victorian decorations. Old style bedding. Comforter was too heavy would be nice to replace with light weight down ones.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room did not have a little refrigerator. We were told that was because it was at the low end of the fee scale.

    Victorian décor was wonderful. Staff very accommodating and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Queen Anne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: