Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5 stars

1 Ritz Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Lahaina, HI 96761, USA

#15 of 31 hotels in Lahaina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 103 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    Great fitness center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated. They charge 35$ resort fee, but unlike others, they charge for every hotel activity. Moreover, they charge for beach chairs(!)

    Great fitness center

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge 100$/day for bed and umbrella at the beach Restaurants offer of the hotel should be improved Breakfast is ridiculously expensive

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    Save your money and choose a nicer hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were there for our honeymoon which we noted in our booking and the room we received was badly located on the property over the gold course with outdated amenities - this is not a 5 star hotel and really just writing this review to make sure other honeymooners don't overspend on this hotel over others on the island. Really wish we had booked a different once we had arrived. Also the beach did not have complimentary towels, chairs or even umbrellas, come on is this really the Ritz?! By the time you get down there there's no point in walking all the way back to your room and the front desk never gave us information around this. Overall a nice hotel generally but disappointing and overpriced for a 5 star.

    The staff were very nice and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    4.2
    Extremely expensive for what it was.
    • Group
    • Residential One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely expensive for what it was. We went to celebrate 2 people 50s Ann/ and they didn’t bother about us. Only money and tips. Other wise you can only get an angry or un satisfied face ! For the money I’ve paid didn’t get breakfast included and my friends who have paid for it included had the bill at the end charging it twice.. its not what we are used to at the ritz in Dubai. They should get some advise from the services and customer care in the UAE and London. No many choices for restaurants n food disgusting ! Embararazing to see that the friend I’ve recomended this hotel to celebrate their 50s must pay in order to use the beds and umbrellas at its own beach ! What a reputación ! No coming back there again. After flying almost 24 hours from Dubai. All of this night mare have been paid for the cost of (around 7000 dollars for 5 nights ).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    Very nice property in an area where the weather is not as good as other areas on Maui.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy work above us during the day. Charge of $ 5 to print airline boarding pass. Simple coffee service instead of espresso only option. Limited dining options.

    Special treatment at banyan tree for anniversary. Beautiful suite. Great singer in lobby in the evening. Treatment by front desk staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    It was a nice and quiet area to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The dinning choices are very limited.

    The front desk ladies were all very friendly. She was willing to talk to manager upgrade my room when my request of bed arrangement were not available in the room category I booked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    First class all the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous expansive grounds so it never feels crowded... choice of several tiered pools or small beach area. Spa was a phenomenal experience as it is small and private with all the special amenities you would expect from a 5 star resort. Everyone was accomadating and friendly. They even upgraded us with our service dog to a residence room with small hedge enclosed area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    We were on our honeymoon and he staff and property at the Ritz made it a perfect vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was incredible, from the team at the welcome area, the front desk, the cleaning staff, to the beach area... everyone made us feel special bad welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel and staff! Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was old food left in the fridge from the previous guest, and the bathroom had black hair clippings under the garbage (my boyfriend and I both have blonde hair), also the grout in the shower had mildew (black)- my advice is better detailed cleaning checklist.

    Amazing customer service and hospitality. Very friendly staff. Just wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Best stay-cation ever!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for an extra cot but wan unable to accommodate us.

    Loved the bedding, housekeeping service and valets were excellent. Kids loved the room service food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    The beach that u walk to from hotel is nice but not good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach that u walk to from hotel is nice but not good for swimming or snorkeling no large lounge chairs or umbrellas are on beach. U can get a small foldable beach chair from a counter by the beach for free. Kapalua bay which is a beach 5 min by car either u can drive or use the hotel shuttle is a protected bat and is great for swimming or snorkeling but gets crowded early so should go at around 8 am to secure a good spot on the beach/parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    fantastic, fabulous, superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool & SPA temperature could have been lower, breakfast buffet could have been richer, food variety could have been more, historical elements art effects could have been preserved and protected better

    Swimming pool, luxury, spaciousness, art, history, class, classic, royal feeling, comfort, elegance, style, help, service, food, cleanliness, staff, location, view, surroundings, plants, flowers, decor, ambiance, atmosphere, feeling

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    4.2
    If you are rich , stay with four seasons , cause they will never mess things up !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not helpful at all ! Actually, they were very rude and arrogant ! The first day , we check in at 5:00 pm, after 20 hours flight , we were both exhausted and the jet lag was killing us , the check in was fast and friendly . After we finally arrived at our room , we just went to sleep right away , but , we keep hearing noises from our neighbors, which was shockingly unacceptable! We couldn't sleep at all , we could hear their whole conversations clearly , which I never experienced in any of a 5 star hotel before , in my opinion , to offer a comfortable sleeping environment is very basic for any hotels , not to mention that we are taking about a 5 star hotel ! I called reception , the staff said they will send someone to fix it , after 15 mins , I still hearing that noise from my neighbors ! I called again , the same staff said they have send someone , and the noise seams normal to them ! I was both angry and sleepy at that time , I asked them to come again to my room and see if the noise is normal or not ! This time , they do send a gentleman to my room , he come into the room and instantly realized that the noise is not acceptable! He seams very panic and unexpected . At this point , I would expect a experienced staff to try to fix the problem ASAP, but he told me that the only thing they could do is to get me a new room and I have to pack everything and move , that's totally unacceptable! We didn't do anything wrong ! Why should we move ? I asked the staff to ask my neighbors to move , he said ok , then he went out of my room . After 20 mins , I am still waiting ! Don't forget that during the whole time , I am hearing conversations from my neighbors! Anyway , long story short , after about 1:30 hours , I finally get a solution : we can get a new room across the lobby , and we could also keep the old room for luggages . So we went to the new room , finally get a good sleep ! This is very bad experience after all !

    The breakfast was ok , but not outstanding or anywhere close to impressive. The environment is classic and relaxing, location is good, close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Pricey but (almost) worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything on the property is very expensive and very little is included in the room price - just be prepared to pay $18 - $20 for a poolside drink!

    This is a fabulous resort with first-class facilities and beach location. However, our favorite aspect of the hotel was its staff - they were super friendly and accommodating without being stuffy or hovering. It is one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever experienced - tremendous variety and a focus on local specialties, actually worth the $40 charged! Don't plan too many outside activities as we found we were happy just staying at the resort.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    3.3
    Don't waste your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Location is private , but the value for money is over rated , premises need renovation , food quality needs improvement , staff needs to be brushed up on communication etiquette and politeness. Overall a 3 star rated resort.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    5 star all the way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing and our upgraded suite was beautiful. Just wish we could have spent more time here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel but overrated and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced compared to other hotels. Location not so convenient to tour the island. Not so exclusive as expected.

    Pools open 24 hours

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    The facility was all around outstanding. We will be back!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a mirror in the bedroom as well as bathroom

    The customer service was outstanding!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    The best hotel in Maui!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the staff's great hospitality everywhere in the hotel. They are so professional!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay if you want luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was amazing (expensive but amazing) and they upgraded us because it was our honeymoon! It was a lovely stay. Would 100% recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    The pools were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks at poolside were very expensive

    The pools were lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevater was broken

    Service and property were lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Location, good service and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not provide services at the beach. It only gives you towels and chairs that you can take to the beach.

    Location, good service and room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Exquisite. Period.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    no eggs no bacon .
    • Solo traveller
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no eggs no bacon . plenty orange juice and hot green tea , honey sticks by sprouts,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Dreamy Hawaii with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the property, hotel and amenities and kids programs were great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.8
    We paid 100$ for 4 boiled eggs and they tried to charge us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid 100$ for 4 boiled eggs and they tried to charge us dubble

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Go
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    display of natural beauty

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    It was a wonderful mini vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't close to the beach which was advertised

    The pools and the room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not up to it's stander!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.6
    breakfast buffet was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast buffet was wonderful. Staff was very pleasant and professional

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.3
    A truly astonishing property located on the hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kapalua is the rainiest part of Maui so if you're looking for sunshine go central island (Kihei, Wailea)

    A truly astonishing property located on the hill Great facilities incl. one of the best hotel gyms Nice spacious rooms Breakfast choice (fantastic omelettes and waffles) Direct access to golf course

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    5.8
    I made reservations 3 months in advance for two queen beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I made reservations 3 months in advance for two queen beds. Upon arrival they only had a king available. I was told they'd change us the next day, which they did, and comp our breakfast for the inconvenience which did not happen. Unacceptable at $750 per night.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    9.6
    The beds were excellent and staff was extra attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Separate bathroom entrance on the one bedroom. Didn't care for the traffic in and out of our room at night

    The beds were excellent and staff was extra attentive

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    5.4
    Food was great, music at night was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To stuffy, staff too friendly we felt awkward. Location is not great for winter. "Room with a view, was balcony with a view"

    Food was great, music at night was nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    5.0
    The prices were for more than a 5* and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms were small, the bathroom tub didn't have a shower(stand in shower only) and the staff tried to put extra charges twice(not once!) onto our bill - first for 400$ and then for 100$. We wanted to switch the package to remove the breakfast package and got a run around between the hotel and booking.com with no resolution at the end.

    The prices were for more than a 5* and the prices/amenities were closer to a 3*. The service was ok.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    We loved everything about this place the location and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    We loved everything about this place the location and the property is just gorgeous..probably the best place we stayed and we are high end experienced travelers. Very special place close to Lahaina and best beaches on the island part of the resort

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    9.6
    Location good views from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tipping. Spent about $50 American dollars in the first 30 minutes. Room service asked for kettle and ceramic cups. Kettle came forot the cups, thought the same person would come back of course not there goes another tip. Sandwich sent room service not toasted again a differnt person came back with meal. Here we go again. TV played up another tip we had the busiest room in the hotel. With tipping in Hawaii these people must earn a packet.

    Location good views from the room. Excellent staff. Very good buffet breakfast in restaurant

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    6.3
    The scenery was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location of our rooms was too far from the hotel lobby and we did not get a good view.Sofa was also old and due for reupholstery.Pillows was too soft.Prices for food was expensive.

    The scenery was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    10
    Hotel was absolutely beautiful and the pool and beach were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was absolutely beautiful and the pool and beach were really nice and relaxing! The room had a Nespresso maker which was so awesome and delicious!

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one point: a "free photoshoot" is offered by the hotel to people staying in the resort, but if you do the photoshoot there is a lot of pressure to purchase (very expensive) prints of the photos. In my opinion this is misleading, but the photography company is probably at fault in this rather than the hotel.

    Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff. The facilities are great, the rooms are very big (bathrooms also). Five-star all the way. Two great restaurants as well (Banyan Tree and Kai Sushi).

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    The ALOHA feeling!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    That the restaurant Banyan Tree wasn't open all evenings.

    The ALOHA feeling! The sea at your doorstep. Beautiful views to the sea and poolside. The luxury feeling good service. The great PGA Plantation golfcourse. The staff was very helpful especially the frontdesk lady Margie.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food at the banyan tree was average.

    Beautiful hotel. Great service. Gives the feeling you expects from a luxury hotel. Beautiful view from the room. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.6
    LOVED the Ritz in Kapalua.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach amenities are still evolving - we were a few weeks too early to enjoy chair/umbrella service right on the beach. The pools could be renovated - the very basic concrete style has room for improvement.

    LOVED the Ritz in Kapalua. Beautiful property, incredible staff, and an amazing place to unwind.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    9.6
    Luke , the staff waiter at the pool was fun and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Luke , the staff waiter at the pool was fun and accommodating . Great sense of humor and quick to respond . After two days of other activities which excluded me from the pool area, and when I had to depart for a flight he was smiling and greeted me by name. I would hire Luke if I was in the hospitality business. Hopefully he will be with you when I return in January! Ali from the Jacque Cousteau Ambassador Center was superb. I was the only person to sign for the snorkeling and she was bright , cheery, and knowledgable. Good sense of humor , yet professional. Background in related field was evident. Most high recommendation!!! I would welcome feedback on my comments.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    7.5
    Everything, but the convention that took over most of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel should let people who are making reservations know that a very large convention is booked at same time. It made me feel I was intruding and a complete outsider in a sea of white name tags.

    Everything, but the convention that took over most of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    7.9
    Nice facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Front desk staff don't know how to manage upset customers. The managers hide behind the front line employees- except the housekeeping manager who was awesome.

    Nice facility. Nice beach adjacent to property.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    10
    Wish all hotel staff were like this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only reason I booked this hotel was because booking.com hooked me up. I'm usually paying for the cheep stiff bed hotels because I'd always tell myself "all I need is someplace to sleep and wash". So naturally I felt so out of place with a staff that felt like they wanted to help you every single moment... Not really a dislike but it's more of a me problem..... Lol.

    Wish all hotel staff were like this. They were so welcoming, so helpful, so nice. From the moment I arrived they were "yes sir" and "how are you sir".

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    8.8
    It's everything you'd expect from a Ritz-Carlton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only complain is that the location is a little bit remote from malls and shops.

    It's everything you'd expect from a Ritz-Carlton. Perfect if you like to seclusion. The pool, especially the hot tubs are great!

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.8
    Vallet staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beach was disappointing. Food was grossly overpriced - even for a resort. Thank goodness for the local market.

    Vallet staff were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    9.6
    Hospitality, comfort and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hospitality, comfort and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.2
    Great facilities especially resorts, excellent staffs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no dinner buffet on site, breakfast was average.

    Great facilities especially resorts, excellent staffs services,

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    The property was very beautiful, clean and very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The property was very beautiful, clean and very comfortable. the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    More knowledge of local places to eat such as Star Noodles for example. Need a bigger fridge.

    Very clean. Comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Paradise!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Service was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Service was great! Great facilities!

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.5
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of some plainer food choice in the menu Slow service by the pool. It was ok once we found someone and got them to come over to us

    Nice location

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    9.6
    Location, interior , pool , room service ,almost all are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location, interior , pool , room service ,almost all are perfect. Better than any other hotels.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    10
    EVERYTHING!
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    NOTHING...

    EVERYTHING!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    8.8
    the beach is very kept
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the beach is very kept not so crowd as in other areas of Maui

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: