Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5 stars

50 Central Park South, New York, NY 10019, USA

#127 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 139 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Superb! A fantastic base for discovering New York!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A superb hotel: the room was generously sized, spottlessly clean and tastefully decorated and furnished with high-end materials. Fantastic view over Central Park. The room was also lovely and quiet. Very comfortable bed. The staff were wonderful - and really went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable, to make us feel welcome, and to faciliate our activities. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to New York. Truly 10 out of 10!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, in my eyes the best hotel in NYC
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really....we had an issue with our heating however this was promptly rectified

    We had an amazing stay. The staff were superb....it’s a haven of calm, quality and luxury

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wish there was a larger lobby area or gathering area.

    Excellent friendly staff. We had an issue with our heat and our efficient housekeeper arranged having it fixed immediately.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Premium price for excellent location but actual hotel is quite underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Suite was in desperate need of refurbishment and not as luxurious as you would expect for the room rate. Club lounge was nothing special. Doormen were the surliest I have ever encountered in a hotel.

    We had a fantastic view of Central Park and location wise was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    I'd stay here again without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We requested a room with two beds but had to settle for a roll-a-way instead, which left us with rather limited space in our room.

    In passing, we mentioned to a staff member that we were attending a play, the next day, a CD of the music from that play was playing for us in our room as a gift from the hotel. It was a lovely, completely unexpected gesture.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Excellent and very helpful staffs
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no one

    I met their warm hospitality when our group enter the gate. Excellent and very helpful staffs. We didn't need long time for check in. When we came early and they need more time to clean up the room, they gave us compliment drinks in the luxury lounge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was reasonable but fell far short of what you'd expect, especially for the price. Room A/C was set to 62 degrees when we got in so we turned the heat up and it only got colder. We called the front desk and they said that heating isn't available until later in the year. Pretty weird policy especially if they crank the A/C to an uncomfortable level. Otherwise a very comfortable room, would stay there again

    Great view of Central Park, friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, nice decor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    No. 1 item on my bucketlist: Stay at the Ritz Carlton on Central Park South, New York City - CHECK!!
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My requests were met 100%. There was nothing the staff could not do. Turn-down service excellent. Restaurant staff excellent. Reception staff service excellent. In room dining staff service excellent. I will be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    The cocktails we had on Friday Night April were not good at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cocktails we had on Friday Night April were not good at all. We tried several different ones and none were good. We loved the bar itself but totally dissatisfied with the quality of the drinks themself.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel by all measures
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Location, just across Central Park and adjacent to some excellent Resturants Staff were very helpful Conceriege was able to get us broadway show tickets that were sold out for the next 6 months

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    This stay was for a special occasion and Ritz Carlton did not disappoint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    $1350 per night and they charge for $14.95 for wi-fi? Really?

    Service was outstanding! Our special occasion was a milestone birthday and the staff, especially Ronald, could not have made it more special. They sent a cake and balloons and were sure to wish my mother a happy birthday every time they saw her. This is my second time to stay here and it was marvelous. Fantastic location. The central park view is not to be missed!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Ritz-Carlton Central Park, I cant see how it could get much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No coffee in my room, no ice maker on my floor, these two things were big to me

    All of the staff, were the most friendly and helpful of any place that I have ever stayed. The location is also the best.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.7
    Definitely not the same sandard as the Ritz Carlton Buckhead or Atlanta or Liguna Niguel
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was a mixed bag, some very nice, some very surly and the night clerk apparently overworked & rude in 1 case when someone was trying to contact me in an emergency, spelt my name & was told there is no one here by that name. Bathroom was devoid of many TSA prohibited items that are useful. Came with 1 bar of soap, 1 mini bottle of Scope, shampoo/conditioner & Asprey purple water. No moisturizer after a dehydrating flight, no toothpaste, shave cream, hand sanitizer etc. Mini-bar was small, missing an item; I drank 2 diet Pepsis, (only diet selections) & they were replaced by 2 generic things. About on par with the Golden Nugget in downtown Vegas but I think both are Michelin rated.

    Room & furnishings we're nice, quiet & comfortable. WIFI was fair but there was a direct connection (cabled internet) out of site under the desk where it was not immediately apparent & nothing in the check-in materials mentioned this. Housekeeping was good arriving while I was still on hold for housekeeping after a small cut.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    So chic at Central Park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv and the cable networks do not have the high level of the hotel.

    I adore everything! The room with a beautiful view of Central Park, the kindness and professionalism of all the staff. Very clean and with a lovely scent in every part of the hotel. Tres chic!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    More than excellent and I look forward to returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothinh

    They are very attentive and always look after you extremely well. You are very much treated as an individual

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    commendable experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfortable bed. Homely environment. Friendly and cordial staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    The Staff, The Room, The Location... everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Staff, The Room, The Location... everything was perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant and enjoyable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    limited dinning options

    pleasant helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    How polite the staff was
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms old horrible view

    How polite the staff was

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    It was good! There are better Ritz out there ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not free: WiFi and breakfast

    Staff very professional They stored our luggage for two days whilst we were out of state

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Heavenly. Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keep doing what you. Keep improving.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Exceptional all of it will definitely be back to New York...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Exceptional all of it will definitely be back to New York and will stay here Better than any other hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    I liked Jitka Bohmova, front desk agent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked Jitka Bohmova, front desk agent. She gave me a lovely suite upgrade. Raise her salary

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Very nice workers
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Park View and Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice workers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    It was beauiful nice and comfortable
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was beauiful nice and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Denise is very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Denise is very helpful. Kind. Really like the front office staff like her!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Beds are great.
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    the location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    The convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are some street sellers who are very rude around the corner of the hotel.

    The convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    terrific accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    absolutely nothing

    staff were friendly and the hotel was terrific... looking forward to our next stay xoxo

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    Can't be the location across the street from the park!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They didn't give us a room with a view.

    Can't be the location across the street from the park!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Was amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The people at the Ritz's could not do enough for you!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the prices of the room service are very high !

    I simply adore this hotel! Everything is wonderful!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    A dreamy stay with friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was extra comfy and I was surprised by being privileged on having an espresso machine in the room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.9
    Great location, but lacks five-star service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception could be more helpful, more qualified Could be more friendly, warmer

    Location: very convenient for visits Room with view on Central Park

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service is too slow and sometimes dont deliver what u requested

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely sanctuary in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Property -- beautiful staff!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    I had a ball
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and good food everything u great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. It worth every penny

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    Great staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room small for the price! Delux room with view! They were remodeling rooms above so the noice was uncomfortable. And the staff did not notify!

    Great staff !! Good service, friendly made us feel comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    Ask for a view of the park on a high floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is no justification for the prices for food and room service . After our first breakfast which cost 170 dollars, for 3, we ate elsewhere. 44 dollars for 2 fried eggs. Scandalous.

    Ask for a view of the park on a high floor. We where on the 18th floor and the view was truly amazing. Made the price more palatable. Bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious. Staff and service exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff was unbelievable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was unbelievable. From the second we walked in the door everyone went out of their way to make us feel at home. We had to wait a few minutes for our room, so they sent up an amazing bottle of Chardonnay to our room as a thank you. Wow!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    8.8
    It was sudden reservation,(we went there only 20minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basically not. But if saying, room was meanlessly too big.(Passway area is too wide.So distance from bedroom to living room is too far.) If there is room of bit smaller but bit low price, it will be great.

    It was sudden reservation,(we went there only 20minutes after booking) but all staff were very much wellcomed us(myself,wife,and a cat).Like other every Ritz,the service and hospitality is great.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    6.3
    Lage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Infrastruktur ist alt

    Lage

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    5.0
    great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was not very clean, small lobby and facilities, staff was average

    great Location

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    9.6
    View of Central Park and the fireworks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price

    View of Central Park and the fireworks

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    The staff were personable and warm;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were personable and warm; the room was gorgeous; location is perfect. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.8
    Great location, we had spacious room, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really.

    Great location, we had spacious room, comfortable bed. Lounge on 2d floor was very nice option. Friendly and helpful personnel.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    30min wait for my car from valet

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    8.8
    Receptions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Receptions. Concierge. Very welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Staff . At reception and concierge. Specially those in the front who takes your laggag and car to garage.many thanks to them.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    Stands upto the chains name and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stands upto the chains name and value

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    Great lounge/bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great lounge/bar

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    9.2
    Loved the hotel room with view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food needs improvement Cocktails need improvement

    Loved the hotel room with view Very helpful staff Comfy lounge

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    10
    Customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Customer service

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    9.6
    Staff in the club lounge were fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff in the club lounge were fantastic!!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    9.0
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the price breakfast should have been included

    Excellent location Excellent staff

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    8.3
    The staff was really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was really nice and helpful. Besides the quality of the restaurant was excellent. We would recommend the stake which was amazing.

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: