Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Salem Inn 3 stars

7 Summer Street, Salem, MA 01970, USA

#5 of 7 hotels in Salem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 375 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Location, building, decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad bed, pillows and linens. TV didn’t work. We caleed reception for assistance. They came to have a look, promissed to call back and send a technician. Never happened. No TV

    Location, building, decoration

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay in a history filled location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - Curwen House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent, of both the Salem Inn and Curnow house. It’s a short walk to the attractions and a stunning area for strolling and admiring the historical houses. It’s more of a bed and breakfast style abode than a hotel, so don’t expect fridges in the room and room service. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was satisfying and served by cheery staff and the location was everything we coukd wish for in witchy Salem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    the location of the Hotel is excellent if you are looking...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite - West House
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location of the Hotel is excellent if you are looking for a Hotel in Salem but for me as Person who searched for a Hotel in Boston it was too far away

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    I would highly recommend the hotel to prospective visitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We weren't sure what to expect, but were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were all friendly and the room was great. The location allowed us to walk to the places we wanted to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay, will definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Curwen House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Recommend updating rooms with expected conveniences. Recommendation would be writing desks, bottles of water in the room, etc.

    Location was fantastic! Walking distance to all the sites!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    We loved the inn, it's history as well as the location. Please invest in new mattresses/ bed frames
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - Curwen House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was terrible. Very hard and uncomfortable. It squeaked with every move. The screws were hanging out of the headboard so much that I had to screw them in hand. The front door was designed to pull shut by what I would think was a spring of a sort. This caused the door to swing shut and slam all night. We were on the second floor so it was directly above the door.

    We loved where the property was located. My daughter is fascinated by Salem and it's history so we enjoyed the age and history behind the inn. The fireplace was lovely and it was very soothing to fall asleep to the crackling of the fire and flickering of the flames.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Great room with a lot of character and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't get the airco to work, staff seemed somewhat reluctant to show us the car park.

    Great room with a lot of character and convenient location. Very friendly lady (Diane) baking omelets for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in a historic home. Delicious breakfast from cordial staff. Inquire about parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room - Curwen House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Specific directions for parking ahead of time and a heads up on the wine and cheese offering. We knew about the breakfast but not the wine and cheese. It was exceptionally cold during our visit and we would have enjoyed warming up and visiting with other guests to learn which sites they visited and what they would recommend as worthwhile.

    We have never been to Salem before and had difficulty finding parking to check in to the Inn. We rode around and around before locating a legal spot. We did not realize that the Inn was a collection of houses and it would have been helpful to tell us by phone the property we were staying at and that we could park in the lot behind that building. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with omelets cooked to order ! There is a wine and cheese offering in the afternoon that we were unaware of. Be sure to check it out :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The whirlpool tub was amazing and the staff were incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right on the street,and someone left a dog in one of the rooms, it was barking and scratching at the door. Not exactly the way I want to wake up in the morning.

    The whirlpool tub was amazing and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was amazing

    DeAnne downstairs at breakfast was amazing! You have a real gem on your hand there. She was full of information of where to go and what to see. We only had 2 nights and she was a wealth of information. The location of your property is fantastic. We stayed in Westhouse, right around the corner from the Essex Street was great! Parked the car and no need to move it again. If we make it back to Salem we will definetly be staying with you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall enjoyable. Staff in lobby could have been more enthusiastic and freindly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - Curwen House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not as I expected for a bed and breakfast. The furnishings were a bit modern for the setting.Had to walk to 2 blocks for breakfast.

    Location was good. Good breakfast and friendly breakfast attendant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.7
    An experience I won’t forget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Curwen House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The feeling of not being alone in our room! 🙀

    The hotel was beautiful so others may love it I personally did not feel comfortable staying here and had to leave before we actually used the facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room - Curwen House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps complimentary bottled water in rooms ? The tap water was unpleasant for drinking.

    Unexpected delight to find a box of local made chocolates in our room ! Bed was very comfortable . It snowed the night before Andy the property was plowed and shoveled early .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    A welcoming, comfortable place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Curwen House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty with coffee maker in room, no creamer, no decaf teabags..

    Front desk person on Sunday Feb 11 was a young woman who was so pleasant. View was on the street..loved the history of building and period furnishings. Great claw footed bathtub.. slept well comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent place, will for sure stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - Curwen House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fireplace was real, there were ashes blown in all over the carpet which was no big deal but no broom available to clean it up.

    Location, cleanliness and comfort. Breakfast was included and the staff both at the front desk and in the dining area were both great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Not bad, not the worst, but could have been a tiny bit better.
    • Group
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt it was a bit pricey for time of year. It was either too hot or too cold, and heating unit kept us away as it would shut off and turn on intermittenly. I also did not realize our room was on the 4th floor and there was no elevator.

    I liked the area as it is historic Salem, MA. Considering it is basically the only hotel/inn accomodations in Salem I didn't really have a choice. The Inn itself is BEAUTIFUL! Loved the historic feel to it. I rented the family suite it it was much larger than I originally thought.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.7
    Sweet sour memory at Salem Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not within the inn grounds. One has to park down some street far away. Its very difficult to manage with suitcases. Plus the entrance steps are high. Its difficult to lug the suitcases up and down.

    Its very strategically located. Close to tourist attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    nice B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable. Our room was on the first floor and the guest coming and going as well as the street were loud and made it tough to sleep. The room was also incredibly hot--even with the heat turned off and me sleeping naked. I woke up a couple times both nights as a result of the heat.

    The staff were lovely, and the location is also very central to downtown Salem. Our whirlpool tub was great, and the new shower in the room was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Romantic time travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - Curwen House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love it. Nothing to complain at all.

    It's so beautiful and lovely. The location is awesome, every detail is perfect and the view is gorgeous. The breakfast is delicious. I'm wishing to go there again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location! Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Staff was fantastic! I didn’t know about the complimentary wine and cheese hour so that was a nice surprise! Thank you for a great mini getaway with my hubby and some friends! :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    I was not happy with my stay for the price I paid. I wouldn’t recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the second night, the heat stopped working and while the front desk staff tried to be helpful, the manager was no where to be found. The parking area is several blocks away. The bathroom was extremely drafty. The bed was very uncomfortable.

    Th staff was friendly and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Great buildings and accommodations, great staff. Excellent location. I will be coming back here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at breakfast the food was delicious but we felt sorry for our waitress that was seemingly by herself to run the omelette station. There was no one around to help clean off tables. They did get someone over shortly after we arrived (8:30ish) but we had no where to sit at first. This problem was resolved rather quickly.

    I stayed one night Saturday into Sunday November 4-5 with three of my girlfriends for my 40th birthday . We booked the Peabody family suit and received room that was spacious. It had old world charm with modernized updates. It was cute, comfortable, and clean. The bathroom was small but suitable. The kitchenette was perfect. The gentleman at the front desk Johnny, was informative professional and had a very delightful personality . We enjoyed wine and cheese etc. at the main building from 4 to 5pm on the day of arrival which was complementary. An unexpected delightful start to our evening . Deanna was our server for both wine and cheese and for breakfast the following morning. She gave us great service with a smile and was informative on our choices for restaurants and hidden charms of the town. Parking was off street thankfully because the road is extremely busy where we stayed. This did not seem to be too loud for us in the morning. The Peabody house where we stayed was surprisingly in a separate building 2 houses down. That was no bother just unexpected. It did not take away from our experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.2
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite - West House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big but smelt of smoking/weed. The carpet was disgusting, so much so I wouldn't walk on it. The decor was very old and tatty. There was nothing left for breakfast! Over priced for what it was.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived after 10:00 PM so did not meet the desk staff. A message was left for us with directions to our room -- in another building 2 blocks away. The one-way streets in Salem made it very difficult to find the building and to find parking.

    Excellent breakfast. Beautiful, vintage furniture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    get place to stay in a beautiful new england historic town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was a scenic walk to the main building that had the breakfast. Just the nature of the place having many guests and a few buildings meant you don't get that history tour and friendship with the owner - it's not the intimate little B&B experience - but still a great place we would use again

    nice historic area - our room had a private door and a big walk in shower room. They custom cooked omlets for the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    I would not book this property again, the bed was terribly uncomfortable, fireplace not in season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was in need of replacement, terribly uncomfortable and we lost sleep. The information about the hotel states that there are fireplaces in each room with complementary wood when check in, however when we asked for this the staff stated that the fireplaces are out of season. This should be stated on the website as this was one of the main reasons why we booked this particular site, very disappointing.

    I liked the modern bathroom with the stand up shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Loved Salem & the Salem Inn, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff were very friendly but some were not & that's a pity because you remember the ones who weren't so nice

    Loved the omelette choice every morning. We stayed in Curwen House away from main Inn, had a great sitting room just outside our room which was great for relaxing with our friends & having a glass of wine when came back in the evening

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    Close to downtown Salem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not welcoming or helpful. Very difficult parking at another property several blocks away.

    Close to downtown Salem. Once we parked, walked or rode trolley to everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    The Inn is a very comfy and welcoming hotel and I would recommend it to anyone
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I just wish the breakfast had more options and more help. They had bagels, bread, muffins, and coffee and juice. They did have a omelet bar, but you had to wait about 15mins for an omelet because they only had one person working. Wish they had bacon and waffles. But the food wasn't bad i just wish I could have had an omelet without waiting 15 mins.

    We loved how close the Inn was to downtown Salem. It was about a 5 minute walk to all the restaurants and attractions. The staff was very helpful with advice about places to eat and what to see.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable. Only second time we've stayed in Salem, both at Salem Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few things forgotten to be replaced- washcloths and coffee. The stairs to third floor were a little tough for my parents who are seniors.

    Breakfast was wonderful. Quaint atmosphere. Staff was great, especially Miss D!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Delightful stay at the Salem Inn, would definatley return and can highly recommend to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking on the street in front of the hotel was difficult, no fault of the hotel it was the other drivers who just didn't want to allow you to back into a parking space.

    Perfect location, friendly staff who were very personable. The room was perfect couldn't have asked for anything better. They offered a wine and cheese get together at night with a great breakfast in the morning! This place was an absolute delight!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    I had a great overall stay at The Salem Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the hiway; traffic noise, as well as very limited "at the location" parking(parking is provided at a nearby location).

    Close to attractions, dining, shopping, and of course, tours. The rooms are large, beds are very comfortable, the complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese get together are very nice as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Lovely Inn. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We had a wonderful time there.

    Exceptional breakfast. Staff was very friendly. Location was great for walking to all the tourists attractions. Lunch at Village Tavern was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Great visit . I would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was super clean . The staff was excellent and it was nice to have a complimentary breakfast that included something besides pastries and bread .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    the rooms (really not just one with bed area, hottub area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is always a bit difficult (having to load and unload on a busy street and then move to a remote lot

    the rooms (really not just one with bed area, hottub area, couch area, bathroom and two closets are huge compared to others of comparable price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Very central and within easy walking distance to Salem centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a large room on the ground floor with whirlpool and a separate bathroom with shower. The bed was really high and needed a two step stool to climb into it - very oldly worldy. Breakfast was served in the basement of the property and omelettes cooked to order with numerous fillings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    The Hot Breakfast was nice;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to search the hallway storage closets for toilet paper.

    The Hot Breakfast was nice; we liked the omelets and how fast they were prepared. The hotel is very well located in a nice part of Salem with an easy walk to the attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Stylish historic boutique hotel in the heart of Salem. Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a self contained hotel-apartment in the centre of Salem. The hotel was beautifully restored. The staff were fantastic especially Dionne. The breakfast was fabulous- omelettes made to order and fresh bagels etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Overall it was great. We will just only get complimentary breakfast on weekdays from now on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast on the weekend during our stay were not hospitable. We arrived the same time as we had on the weekdays at 9:45am. They rushed us to be done by 10am and told us they had run out of food. They never greeted us and cleaned around us as a hint that we were aparently taking up their time. During the week this was not the case. We were politely greeted and told we could have an omelet made of our choosing along with any of the other pastries and goodies bring served. It was actually much slower on the weekend with less guests as well. There should havr been no reason to be shooed out that way.

    We really enjoyed the cozy feel of the old building. We stayed in the west house. It was very comfortable and clean. The staff were wonderful especially one in particular Deanne. She gave us great advice on local eateries and attractions. She was the kindest person we met.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    The staff was extremely nice and accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY thing was the accessibility of their WiFi. We couldn't get it in our room at all. They were helpful in trying to remedy the situation but probably need to update their modem. It was very pleasant sitting in the parlor though, where I could easily and quickly find service.

    The staff was extremely nice and accommodating! The room was spotlessly clean as was the updated bathroom. Loved the breakfast room and much more than a complimentary breakfast! The Inn is located within easy walking distance to the wonderful restaurants and sights of Salem. We want to go back and try one of their other houses!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Historical Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a challenge. No elevators, so you need to be able to handle steps.

    Super location to explore the city. Felt more like a bed and breakfast, period furnishings, hardwood floors, canopy bed etc. Staff was very friendly, even recommended and booked tours. Great breakfast with homemade omelets!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    The location was perfect! The room comfortable and the service,food and staff great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee maker was unusually loud..could be old... There was no tub, but that is just me...I m old fashioned.. The bathroom door sticks...recently painted... I did tell the staff and they wrote it down.. Very steep steps...some seniors would have trouble with them...people should be told before booking...the other suggestion I have would be to have a coffee maker in the livingroom downstairs...if you wanted to read,you would have to go to your room,make the coffee,bring it downstairs, and remember to bring it back upstairs..having it there would be great!

    The bed was very comfortable and thanks for the extra blanket! I loved the little seating area! We enjoyed the breakfast as well as the wine and cheese...and a big thank you for having hot chocolate!😘 I am not a coffee drinker!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    In addition to the already delicious breakfast options, they...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In addition to the already delicious breakfast options, they now make custom omelettes to order. The bathrooms have all been renovated recently and are fabulous!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Love Salem Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed table to put toiletries and clothes on while showering. Needed tv in bedroom and sitting room. Granddaughter did not want to watch same thing as we did and only tv was in the room with the table and daybed. Would have been nice to have tv in our bedroom for us to watch. Also if one wanted to stay up and watch tv it would disturb the person in room with one tv. Small tv would have been great. Other than that everything was perfect.

    Excellent location. Clean and beautiful. Friendly helpful staff. Very good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Breakfast was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They need to upgrade internet access. It was very slow, sometimes unresponsive.

    Breakfast was awesome Wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice touch

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Very authentic to the area but with all the amenities you would want!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the layout of our suite! We had a refrigerator, microwave, stovetop and coffee maker!! Bed was comfortable and true location was smack in the middle of town, walking distance to everything. We also liked the fact that parking was real close and right out back where we stayed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location to many of Salem's attractions and restaurants was excellent. It was very easy to walk where we needed to go. The room was very clean and well equipped with everything necessary, including a small kitchen. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of choices to suit everyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.0
    Decent B&B located on VERY BUSY AND LOUD HIGHWAY.
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room in the main building suffered from VERY LOUD AND CONSTANT TRAFFIC NOISE from the extremely busy highway just outside the window. The VERY LOUD traffic was an annoying distraction from an otherwise OK experience.

    Generally a pleasant old B&B feel ..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Lovely Inn with Great Location & Welcoming Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Salem Inn is a beautiful historic property. Great location within walking distance of downtown attractions, restaurants and bars. The staff were friendly and helpful. The 'Family Suite' that we stayed in was great to sleep four comfortably (king bed in bedroom, full bed with twin trundle bed - all very comfortable). We would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    This B&B does it right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great if your in shape, but no elevator and the off street parking available was down the street. You will need to be able to do stairs. Not a great set up for elderly or handicapped people.

    Old New England charm with spacious, nicely updated bed and bathroom. A truly wonderful staff. Nice breakfast buffet with Deanne making you a delicious personal omelet for breakfast and serving evening happy hour of wine with cheese and crackers. In the breakfast rooms or outside in the lovely garden sitting area are great places to mingle and discuss the days activities with other guests. Perfect location to downtown Salem for sightseeing, restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    A delightful inn in downtown Salem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stair risers to the second floor are higher than standard but typical of the era of the inn.

    Beautiful, well kept inn. Made to order omelettes for breakfast, and a complimentary afternoon wine & cheese in the garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Best vacation I've ever had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was wonderful! Very friendly and eager to help! The food was delicious, and the daily wine tastings were a wonderful bonus. We especially enjoyed talking with DeAnn, who made our breakfasts and served us wine while we were there!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay for a short or long vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really didn't have any complaints. The only thing was the wi-fi wasn't super fast and sometimes kicked you off, but that wasn't a huge deal.

    a/c was very quiet, the location was close to downtown Salem, within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. Staff was super friendly and the room rate includes a wonderful extended continental breakfast including homemade omlets to order.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.4
    No sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were kept awake all night because of the AC units under the decking right outside our door. The bed was very squeaky. Wasn't actually staying where booked but an unmanned property over the road. No soap in the bathroom so after using the toilet you have to climb inside the shower to get some shower gel from the dispenser on the wall. Then you have to go to yet another property for breakfast. Which, incidentally was very nice. The shower was full of long dark hairs. There's a 1 1/2 inch gap under the door which let the light in all night.

    The room and buildings are very beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    The woman that checked us in was super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman that checked us in was super friendly. Let us leave our bags there because we were so early. Told us where to get some lunch and start our day of e woman that's runs the breakfast bar is super friendly and makes awesome omletts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Great room for your vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weak internet signal and a lack of an in-room desk or table to work. Unfortunately, I had a project for work that I had to finish the first day of my stay. It was very uncomfortable to work from the couch or bed and the cafes around the area were not great places to work either.

    Great room just a block's walk from downtown Salem. Comfortable and modern in a historic building. Great bed. Clean and spacious bathroom. The in-room jacuzzi was nice after a long day around eastern MA. Perfect for a Salem vacation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Everything was clean and staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually, Booking.com misrepresented the room that I booked. I went on the trip thinking I booked a room for up to 6 ppl and that was not the case. Clarification would've been helpful.

    Everything was clean and staff was very helpful. It had a beautiful courtyard for daily breakfast and afternoon wine with cheese.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic amenities at the Salem Inn
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little staff gossiping to guests about other staff. The pillow on my side of the bed was as flat as if it was purchased in 1854, when the section of the inn we stayed in was built. There was only one extra pillow in the room.

    Free cheese and wine (liberal pour) at 4pm. Excellent breakfast offerings including fresh-made omelettes. All included in the price!! And the room was bright and spacious, with a beautiful 4-post bed and antique accessories. We will absolutely be staying there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Great location but needs a few more items in room.
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't an iron or ironing board in room & we had several fancy events to attend. Our clothes were wrinkled from the flight. A small fridge would have been good as we bought food & we had medication that had to be refrigerated.

    It was located in between several events we were attending.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    Not Bed & Breakfast Experience One Would Expect
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    $225 for one night with no service is outrageous. The Salem Inn consists of 3 separate houses. Staying in a house other than the main The Salem Inn house is like staying in a lonely Airbnb property. No staff on duty at all. Double bed is advertised as a Queen - impossible for two people to sleep in this "Queen" bed. Value for Money rates 1 out of 10. Look at the negative comments online - Management responds "If only customers had told us". At $225 a night, I have to tell management to vacuum my room? I spoke to desk person, left message to have Management contact me - never heard back. Salem neighbor said good reviews are left by huge wedding parties who take over an entire house and party on with no supervision. Don't stay here. Many nice hotels in Salem, especially near Pickering Wharf, 5-10 min walk away near water.

    Large renovated room. Good location - walk everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Salem for only 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hate stairs at our age but really a beautiful older building.

    Very nice and homey. Love the older homes and the details. Comfortable beds but newer bath. Would stay there again. Great breakfast and beautiful courtyard. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful quaint place to stay with great people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no elevators at the hotel, but we knew there were none and wasn't expecting any.

    The staff was great. 5 min walk to most in town sights. The breakfasts were great. Everyone we met were pleasant and nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location. Hotel could update some amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The television was tiny in a corner with a large mirror placed in the center of the room. TV should have been swapped with the mirror.

    Cozy room close to great shopping and food locations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    The room was spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was just okay. It was more commercial than most B&B's where we have stayed in the past.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    Very Quaint Hotel in Salem, MA with Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking situation. There were only a few parking spots on the street and no lot available close to the hotel entrance.

    The staff who serviced the breakfast area were friendly and helpful. They provided suggestions for things to see in the area and made sure that everyone had what they needed at breakfast. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    The room was large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was road noise early in the morning. But one has to remember you are staying in a city environment. Stayy a great place to stay and will surely return.

    The room was large. Wife enjoyed the whirlpool tub. And we still had oversized shower. Staff was amazing. Breakfast was fantastic. Our schedule didn't give us an opportunity to take part in the wine/cheese happy hoir.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.7
    Costly Etiquette
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room far too noisy Single cup coffee maker ,kettle much preffered quicker more often than not two people have coffee/tea than a single person (again to me this is budget type motel thinking) The Salem Inn is not a cheap b&b, but even in budget places , I have found you are escorted to your room after check in That and the room noise killed it for me Reception staff poor, stayed sitting while in conversation

    Large Bed very comfortable, good size room Breakfast room quirky in the basement kitchen staff very good Very clean We were in Salem for a wedding ,we were told about the bus 459 and that it leaves from Term C 203 door 1st level straight into Salem its just over an hour trip but for a few Dollars so worth it also reliable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A larger variety of breakfast would be nice. You had to order the omelette, and wait for it to be done. The hotel does not have an elevator, but we knew that so it was not a real problem. Generally it is a decent hotel.

    The location was great, 5 minutes walk to the center of Salem, and right across the Witch house which is the main attraction of the town. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, cozy with an "old-style" look, as it should be in Salem and the area it is located. Also the room was quite llarge for two people. Wi-fi very satisfying, and breakfast right next door to a nice breakfast room with very friendly staff that serves breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.7
    Charming historic inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn't work; was promptly repaired but not a good design. The breakfast space was in the basement and a little creepy.

    Located on a very busy street; a few blocks walk to the areas you want to visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    My friends & I will "never" forget our 50 years of friendship stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like parking in a lot a distance away, was wishing there was parking right at the house we stayed & not "on the street".

    Loved the wine & cheese in the afternoon, fun meeting people that were staying in the same house & other houses. Also breakfast included is a major plus. Absolutely adored the woman who managed both of those things, she was so accommodating to everyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Best Place to stay in Salem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was about a block away if there are none available right on the street but still not too bad.

    Super friendly staff! Everything is in allying distance to include Essex Street, the museums, and some great restaurants! Short drive or train ride to Boston. All around a perfect spot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend! We will be going again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very cold and the heater in the room didn't seem to help but this could be due to the fact that it's an old house so we weren't upset about it. The breakfast was okay.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was beautiful. The location is perfect and right in the middle of town so on a nice day you can just walk everywhere! The staff was extremely friendly as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite - West House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was off one bedroom meaning guests in the other bedroom had to go through ours. Inconvenient but acceptable for family.

    Excellent location, extremely courteous and accommodating staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.3
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know that the buildings are very old, but, boy, those walls are thin. And a bit pricy for one night.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Great location. Very cozy room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    7.5
    Eh basic lodging but in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic for 200$ a night. One night it rained and wanted to rent a movie and order food but the on demand wouldn't allow us to rent (we thought they'd just charge it to the card) . The biggest problem we had was the housekeeping in the morning. We were sleeping (probably around 9:30 am) and we heard a knock at the door. My mom didn't even have enough time to get up and answer it before the lady just opened the door and came in! She of course was embarrassed but come on it was too early for housekeeping and they need to knock and wait a minute or wait till noon. We didn't have our room cleaned our whole stay because of how early they came so I'd have to get toilet paper and stuff like that on my own. So just in case you stay here and you know you won't be up before 9am hang the do not disturb sign on the door before you go to bed or you'll get a lil surprise in the morning...

    Was in the perfect location and loved the vibe of Salem in general. It was my mother and I staying and we had a blast. I liked how they gave us a room with a porch so we could smoke.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Salem Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: