Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Schooner Inn 2 stars

215 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451, USA

#16 of 105 hotels in Virginia Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 684 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Great spot, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Great location at end of boardwalk. Quiet area comparator middle of boardwalk. Still close to very good restaurants. Loved it and will go back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    I loved the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't smoke in the room or balcony

    I loved the staff. The man at the desk was very helpful and even got me in my room earlier than check in time due to the fact that I over estimated how long the drive would take. The rooms were very clean and the views from the balcony was amazing!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    A slice of paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We will be staying there again! The room was clean and the view of the ocean from the balcony was awesome. There are a few restaurants within a few blocks. Because it is located at the end of the boardwalk, there wasn't a lot of foot traffic on the boardwalk. Parking was adequate, maybe a little tight in spots for a SUV.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    My stay was restful and enjoyable:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were lumpy and the coffee tasted bland even with cream and sugar.

    The staff were courteous, house keep was great, the beds were comfortable and the ocean view from the balcony was beautiful!! There was also plenty of parking space.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Noisy, hotel adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good, hotel is a good value for the money, staff is Friendly. Asked for early check in, but they did not hurry. There was a huge party across the street, but the hotel had nothing to do with that, still noise was intrusive. Have not been to Va Beach in a while, and it’s a lot seedier than other beaches. I need to stick with the better beaches.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Circumstances allowing we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront Kitchenette Deluxe, 2 Double beds, whirlpool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everyone was friendly and helpful. Downside of giving a good review is this place will be too busy next time we book. LoL. Sandy feet gives some people guilt coming thru lobby & elevator then we notice decor is suited to sand and salt. Located at very southern end of the boardwalk, all quiet except for the flybys from local military base, brings a smile to the patriotic soul & never woke us!

    Until one stays a day or two, so many details go unnoticed. Upon entering room 1st time--we notice 2 blue light electronic panels for charging USB plugs & others! Plenty for the 2 of us. Then, the view hits us! And we see 2 luxury covered beds with a side-mirror &/or curtained (black out!) window. Photos in ads were perfect. The hot tub just as shown, oceanfront view, cleanliness ~ A+ perfect for our stay. The attached photos are taken from our room & the walkway to our door (bayside). Thank you for making our stay so nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.0
    Won't be back. For $180. a night, I didn't get much. And what about TEA drinkers. Only coffee !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool-side Standard Room, 2 Double beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought I was getting a beachfront room. I thought I read free breakfast. The room being damp and the bed was damp . Asked for a dehumidifier in the morning, but there was none to get. Thanks to the housekeeper for changing my bedding and setting the a/c to make the room comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Nice staff. Clean room/bathroom. Enough linens. Comfortable bed. Great balcony view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Nice staff. Clean room/bathroom. Enough linens. Comfortable bed. Great balcony view. I love being at the end of the boardwalk - you can see the playground and boats going in and out of Rudee Inlet. Its quieter.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    We enjoy staying here. It is in a great location and quite. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room could have been a little cleaner. I noticed dirt and grim in the bathroom.

    The bed was comfy. We have stayed here many times and have always had a good time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Had a great time but somewhat disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cigarettes and a ash tray was left in the dresser drawer and when on the balcony other guest are smoking. This was suppose to be a non smoking facility.

    The balcony view was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Anniversary weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of maintenance, the door to our room was difficult to open and shut.

    The room, the view, the staff were all fantastic! It was a great place for a relaxing anniversary weekend. It's location was wonderful, and quiet. Plenty of things to see and do. We'll definately stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is showing age but nothing to bad that’s really the only thing I have to say

    The room was very nice and clean and staff was friendly and professional. It’s only a few steps from the beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The staff was very friendly and if there was something...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very friendly and if there was something wrong in the room that needed fixed they took care of it right away and also love the location of the hotel Like being on the end and not in the middle of Virginia beach cause it was easier to get to other places that we wanted to go to

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    Beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a room with a jacuzzi and the jets were broken. The shower tub leaked from the side. Balcony was a little on the small side

    Beds were comfortable. Beautiful view. Beach was less crowded in that area due to being in the corner of the boardwalk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Great stay. See you next year !
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Kitchenette Deluxe, 2 Double beds, whirlpool
    • Stayed 6 nights

    elevator is super hot. Needs ventilation but it's only 6 floors so it's not earth shattering.

    I have stayed at the Schooner in the past and will continue to stay there in the future. Its well run, managed and well kept. Staff is friendly and there is always maintenance people around if you have questions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Fine, staff could smile more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Kitchenette Deluxe, 2 Double beds, whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    U need some type of breakfast for the people staying, like muffins, donuts or fresh fruit, coffee and juice and it would take your motel to a totally different level. Something small Alittle area to the side would do

    Room, beds good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Love the Location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    didn't have a stove top in room.....

    Loved that they had outside grills......Wished we had a stove top in our room as well....thought that was suppose to be in our room but think we chose the wrong one.....Other than that Great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Best family vacation with an awsome location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Kitchenette Deluxe, 2 Double beds, whirlpool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well if I needed to be picky I would say the room was a bit tiny, balcony was too small because or the whirlpool.

    The view, swimming pool, parking, friendly staff, Capt George restaurant, location location location.....I will be coming back next year and this time for 2 weeks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    The beach , rainbow and sunrise pictures are shot from the balcony of our ocean front room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Kitchenette Deluxe, 2 Double beds, whirlpool
    • Stayed 5 nights

    LEAVING and wifi would not stay connected even though showed strong signal, used data to avoid issues.

    Great location. The rooms were what we expected and very clean. The pool was well kept and also very clean. We loved being at the Rudee Inlet at the beginning of the boardwalk. All the tours are near by. We sat on the balcony and watched the boats come and go all day long. We checked in with the fisherman on the bank near by. The beach gets more crowded as you head up the boardwalk so it was great to be able to throw down your chairs and stick the umbrella in the sand without being crowded. We'll be back again. Maybe even next summer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing Views !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC would not go down past 72 on my room or my friend's room. Never seen that in a hotel before.

    Great location. Staff was great. Very nice rooms and the views were just amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    We've never had an issue there in four stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My kids and I have stayed here four times. Being on the south end of the boardwalk makes it more laid back and relaxing. The view from the balcony is great. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. We'll be back again next year. Also, parking is convenient...right there at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    The front staff we great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool-side Standard Room, 2 Double beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable, the bed quilt was dirty, the cleaning attendant on made up one bed not the second bed on Thursday morning. The pillows were horrible. I had challenges with my back and legs.

    The front staff we great. Very quite on this end.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    It is right on the beach, at one end of the boardwalk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little run down, can tell the building is older. Unfortunately so are the mattresses - there were lumps and lack of support, we generally woke up sore.

    It is right on the beach, at one end of the boardwalk. There is a station to rent bikes, but we brought our own and they let us lock them to the railing around the pool. The pool seemed nice but we were in the ocean all week! We stayed in a king whirlpool room and the tub was actually great, clean and did not seem old. It was nice to soak and watch tv after long days biking everywhere and playing in the waves.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    One and done
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is one of the originals on the beach and shows its age. Air conditioning was not great, the carpeting was dirty, it was vacuumed, it needed steam cleaned. Shower water stream was horrible. Met folks who have stayed there for the past 17 years. I was fooled by the 8.3 rating...

    Location to the beach. Staff was friendly and our room was available early. The pool was nice, though located in the parking lot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    We had a nice time, but will not return to the Schooner Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool-side Standard Room, 2 Double beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was disappointing. The bathroom ventilation was horrible. When showering, the steam would get so bad that we had to open the door, but then the fire alarm would go off. Room didn’t smell very nice either.

    We liked the convenience of being right on the beach and the location was nice because it was away from the busier hotels. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful time at the Schooner and we are sure we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Kitchenette Deluxe, 2 Double beds, whirlpool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't see any snack machines or pop machines.

    Our room had a balcony as well as an indoor hot tub that overlooked the beach. Great room to watch the sunrise. Also great for people watching while people streamed by on the boardwalk below us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Virginia Beach Mini-vacay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay wasn't long enough.

    Fabulous beach view from balcony, comfortable beds, kitchette. easy access to food and entertainment, friendly and accommodating staff, and lots of amenities. 😀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Check in time was slow and room wasn’t ready as promised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time was slow and room wasn’t ready as promised. The management should consider hiring more cleaning staff in the summer when it’s really busy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    The beds were comfortable the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony door vibrated making it hard to sleep. The tub had no handles to hold on to to get in or out of the shower

    The beds were comfortable the room was clean. The location was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    We will be coming back!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    This is the 3rd year we stayed at the Schooner Inn. I've been bring my husband here for Father's Day. We loved this little "JEWEL" at the end of the road. We always have the beach views...All I can say is we love this place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Beach getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was awesome!

    Great location to see all the boats exiting or entering the inlet. At the beginning of the strip so you can explore everything beginning to end.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    it rained off and on, but on sunday the closed the pool all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it rained off and on, but on sunday the closed the pool all day? I picked it cause it had the heated pool, it was not thundering and lighting would of liked to swim, but the advised they shocked it, which is something that should be done at night. and the bed fell to the middle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Mixed bag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool-side Standard Room, 2 Double beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 12:30pm, stopped in to see if room is ready. Tyler, at desk, told us they wasn't but call back at 1:30 pm,needless to say this went on to 4:00 pm.

    Room for an excellent value for the price. Very clean, no sand. Quiet location at the very end of the boardwalk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Noisy and loud guests ruin our stay in an otherwise stellar hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool-side Standard Room, 2 Double beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    SO NOISY!!! We got a connecting room and could hear the guests in the other room. And they were partying in their room until 2am. Must have been 10 people in there. Didn't feel safe calling the front desk because as I said you can hear everything from the other room. EVERYTHING!!! Also the wifi was spotty at best and non-existent at worse.

    Hotel in itself is quite good. Room was spacious and clean. Bed and pillows comfortable. Bathroom was average size with good and hot water pressure. We didn't go in the pool but it looked clean as well. I saw the pool attendant a couple of times tending to it. Staff was nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    It was very nice and convienent to everything, enjoyed riding our bikes to restaurants and activitie
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Getting to our room after a 4 1/2 hour drive and because of a glitch in the booking.com system we were not in there. Also, the prices for the weekend nights Friday and Saturday went from 159 to 270 a night all of a sudden. for the same room, we could of stayed somewhere else for those rates and will definitely check into other options for next year. We pick that week out especially before the rate changes, and now they have been jacked up prior to the Memorial weekend which is not right. You could tell this by the emptiness of the rooms......

    We have stayed here the past 5 years the same week every year because the rates are good before memorial day and are always pleased with our oceanfront efficiency. We had a problem with check in, but the Staff especially Janet helped us get through everything and keep our vacation enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great. Parking is narrow. Ocean view is beautiful. Friendly staff. Kitchen has everything that you need: plates, glasses, cups, pots and etc. Hotel looks old but for that kind of money is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    We are looking forward to our next trip to this lovely family Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish it was located in the north end. Elevators are very slow. Disappointed that we did not get the new chairs, like the other rooms. Bathroom door is only 23 inches wide, but room itself is adequate. Tv was small, but at least we had a tv and it was a flat screen.

    The beds are new and extra comfy. Loved the polyester fleece blanket . The balcony and the oceanfront efficiency room was large . The pool was adequate. Other rooms were getting new dining chairs and new lounge chair. Parking was plentiful, but tight in some spots, and no extra charge. Nice to have dishes, pots and pans and two burner cooktop. Also had a toaster and coffee maker.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    The location of this hotel is great if you like to be quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little old and could do with a new look/upgrade to make it more trendy.

    The location of this hotel is great if you like to be quiet. It is right at the end of the promenade. But sill easy to go into town walking along the path or the beach. In the morning they were plenty of dolphins swimming about. As well as jets taking off and landing at the airbase just around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom could use a good scrubbing. The mattress wasn't the best, but it was sufficient.

    Location was excellent. Staff was very accommodating. My husband had oxygen tanks delivered & the staff had them in our room when we arrived. Everyone was super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    I really enjoyed my stay and I will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was spotty and the elevators were tiny.

    I loved the abundance of pillows on the bed and the size of the room and the beds.The staff was friendly and the view of the beach was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    I will be staying there at least four or five times this year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would like to change is the type of matress on the bed but that is a pretty rediculous expectation to have a sleep number bed in a hotel.

    The Schooner Inn is our favorite place to stay in Va Beach. It's clean and the bathrooms are clean,it has adequate ice and vending machines and is overall a great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    We always stay at the Schooner Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices are higher than they used to be. We won’t be going back as often as we used to.

    We always stay at the Schooner Inn. Perfect location for where we like to go !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool near street at front of hotel. Had the Monster Truck completion that weekend. Right on the beach at the hotel. Little noisy.

    Bed was comfortable, Room great, Staff friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice/ clean rooms, nice view, friendly staff, and decent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very spacious and clean. The bed is very comfortable and the balcony is nice. The ocean view from the room is amazing. It is in a nice location relative to the marina. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. This is a great establishment and I would definitely stay here again. 9/10

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    We relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trash was not emptied or tissues replaced. I was told maid service is every other day. We were there from Thurs. to Sunday. No maid was ever in our room.

    The view from the balcony was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we didn't really care for was the water pressure. It needs to be a little stronger but it was still workable.

    The room was bigger than expected and the kitchenette was stocked just right.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Booking Error but the hotel came through
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I made my reservation, received my confirmation, and showed up at the hotel (thankfully attempting an early check in) for US Finals. The hotel had no reservation in my name. Thankfully they had a room held back to be released and I was given that room. They really came through and it was well appreciated. The room was spacious and comfortable and walked out right to the boardwalk. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    A great place. Very clean, polite and friendly staff. I would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not enough space to store clothes if staying a week for 2 people. Maid service for stay overs didn't clean the room until very late in the afternoon when it was time for showers and dinners which was not good...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Pool-side Standard Room, 2 Double beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning problem was fixed very quickly, that was the only problem and it was fixed.

    The first room was lovely but there was a problem with the air conditioner. We were moved to a ocean front room with a lovely heart shaped hot tub in front of the large ocean view window. The hotel was beautiful, clean and friendly..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    The view from the room and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were a few, minor issues with the room (wonky flusher on toilet), but nothing that made the trip un-enjoyable.

    The view from the room and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location and view from balcony was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping NEVER cleaned our room so I had to go to front desk for coffee, towels, soap etc. no apology was extended for this lack of service.

    Front desk staff was friendly upon arrival. Nice location. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Bug-free, very clean, “homey” feeling, beautiful view , got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t smoke on the balcony , I mean it’s understandable because the rooms are so clean, but when you’re on the 6th floor , it’s annoying.

    Bug-free, very clean, “homey” feeling, beautiful view , got to watch dolphins in the morning , definitely will stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Quiet, comfortable, pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room seemed half clean. It had a slightly musty smell, crumbs on kitchen counter and one of the blankets and top sheet on one of the beds smelled like BO upon check-in. Family stayed in a room down the hall and had no issues and no smell in their room.

    Comfy bed, quiet room, great view, great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Everything is great except no Roof for car parking which are beneath rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool-side Standard Room, 2 Double beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    construction work was going on, a Iron tool fell right between 2 cars besides my Friend's head - i took that tool to reception and asked them to tell workers to be MORE careful, luckily it fell on floor between so many cars. Car parking have NO roof, so if someone throws something from any of the rooms in that 6 floors, it will fall on your Car, i suggest Schooner Inn to have a roof in Car Parking lot, that helps avoid any big incidents.

    Very near to beach. Worth it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    My sons and I had a great stay...great value for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they told us the pool wasn’t open yet, but it was too chilly to swim anyway..

    I love the kitchenette, the beds were comfy, room was clean and staff very friendly! We’ll be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Counter space in bathroom was sparse. Fridge froze the food.

    Everything! Sunrise VIEW, location, quiet saw dolphins in inlet every day, bed comfy, shower hot, little kitchenette great, VIEW, restaurants nearby, parking great, staff wonderful, VIEW...coming back next year!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Awesome!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was great

    Everything from the view, surrounding things to eat and the interrior of the hotel was wonderful. This was our 2nd time staying at the Schooner Inn and we love it with our 3yr old and 1 year old.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    I really enjoyed my stay. Virginia Beach is the place to enjoy a wonderful vacation.
    • Group
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was outstanding!!! No complaints.

    I really enjoyed the hot tub inside the room. First time staying in a hotel with nice luxury to go along with my visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool-side Standard Room, 2 Double beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We had trouble with another hotel in the area who claimed to have 24hr desk service. At 11:30PM they called us and told us they close at midnight (we booked with them at 11AM that same day) and that I would have to find other accomodations. The Schooner Inn not only gave us a room but upgraded us for our trouble and I will never stay anywhere else. The staff, accommodations, and location really make this place stand out. 10/10 will stay there again each time we visit VA Beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Magnificent view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub in front of window so you can't sit inside to view water very easily.

    Magnificent view! Nice size room with private balconies. Very convenient with fridge and microwave in room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Everything, the atmosphere, the heart shaped jetted, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nonthing it was amazing visit. Can't wait to go back

    Everything, the atmosphere, the heart shaped jetted, the quietness, looking over the ocean at night and in the morning is really soothing 😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    4.6
    I liked the fact the hotel was clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable you should not feel springs while trying to sleep. Also our room was a non smoking room however, we had a burn hole in our sheets. I had the AC on at 67 degrees but the thermostat stayed between 73-76 degrees. When I checked in the front desk clerk did not seem very happy about his job no smiles no how are you or anything. I feel like someone who is greeting guest should have a good personality it’s nothing worse then to walk up to a counter where the person acts like you are a number and not a person! It should not rub off like you hate your job. The vending machines are on the 1st and 6th floor however the snack machine did not even work. The soap and lotion is coconut and vanilla if your someone like me you have to actually go out and buy soap as some individuals as myself are allergic to coconut.

    I liked the fact the hotel was clean! The view was very peaceful and calming. I did enjoy the whirlpool in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Be honest to your renters.
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The listing should have told up there was no AC on the property til May. You have to keep your front door open to get it below 80 in your room which anyone can walk into. Don't stay during this time. he manager stated during off season no AC Oct-May

    Close to everything right on boardwalk. Clean besides hair in bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    The spa was great. it was great looking out on the ocean and soaking in the spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the fact that I had to make so much coffee because of the size of the pot. I think also it should be ok to smoke outside the oceanfront door.

    I really liked that I could fix some meals in the room, except I truly think that a two burner stove should be there and a bigger coffee pot. other than then that, everything was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The extra lock on door wouldn't lock all the way, and need new seal around door. Cold air blowing in.

    It was a very nice place to stay, we like the location, and had a great time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    The view was amazing especially from the hot tub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jets in the hot tub only worked on one side. Also, the blow dryer was broke & although I called the front desk and was told they were sending one up, it never showed up.

    The view was amazing especially from the hot tub!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    My husband couldn't stop talking about our room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people next door to us were loud but they quieted down. This is something that is expected when staying at a hotel.

    My husband couldn't stop talking about our room! We loved everything about it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great with beautiful views of the ocean and inlet.we had the king Jacuzzi room and it was great it was roomy and had a nice kitchenette

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    The clean rooms and the coffee pots
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to smoke on the 6 floor balcony. No smoking in rooms I understand but not on the balcony outside a bit excessive

    The clean rooms and the coffee pots

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.3
    Good stay overall. Acoustic isolation could be improved
    • Solo traveller
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This time, I had some issue with acoustic isolation with the room next door. The connecting door let everything through (light, sound....). Back luck this time.

    Second stay at this place. Still large comfy room with kitchenette well equipped. Great view on the ocean and friendly staff. Great parking and location. Good price for this period of the year>

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Definitely plan to stay again next year I think it was one of the best motels in VA Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that you couldn't smoke on the balcony, but they did provide a smoker section.

    Excellent location. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Efficiency, 2 Double Beds, 2 Burner stove top kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right on the beach. Clean rooms and great staff. Lobby looks a little dated but clean. Great stay and loved getting up and looking out the window at the beach!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would like for housekeeping to vacuum a little when replacing towels in the room.

    loved everything about the place. would like to see complamentary bikes gor the guest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    It was pretty good. I'd stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been excellent if they offered breakfast and had a small stove in the room.

    The Jacuzzi in the king oceanfront room is romantic.It was also a good location if you're in to fishing and surfing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Our stay here was amazing, We loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Whirlpool room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay another night lol

    I came here for one night with my husband. I was looking for a hotel that would make me forget I was in the same state I live in and Schooner Inn did that and more...For the low price it was, the room was AMAZING. The sheets were whiter then white, the bed was very comfortable, the shower was clean, The balcony makes you feel at home away from home, and the Jacuzzi is an extra plus...I'll definitely refer this place to anyone and will definitely be back soon...

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Schooner Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: