Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Silversmith Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

10 South Wabash Avenue, Chicago Loop, Chicago, IL 60603, United States of America

#16 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 639 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.2
    The rooms were beautiful and the staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The high nightly rate, surprise fees, and noise of the L.

    The rooms were beautiful and the staff was friendly. I did not enjoy the surprise fees at the end of the stay and I thought the rate was high for a hotel that faces the L, but we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.3
    I had a memorable stay and would book again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wish there was an ice machine on my floor as I did not like to have to call room service for ice. Also, housekeeping did an amazing job but I would have preferred if they cleaned the room earlier in the day. One day I returned at 4:00 pm and the room still wasn't cleaned.

    The bed was comfy, the room was clean and the staff was very attentive as we had to call several times for service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    I will stay here again;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I will stay here again; Silversmith Hotel is in a great Loop location, and everything about the rooms was worked out well and has been maintained well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a weekend theater trip to Chicago!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit odd that the lobby lounge and bar was always empty and closed early on a Saturday night. If guests are coming for the theater, there should be a nice place to hang out for a drink and conversation after the show.

    Beautiful boutique hotel central to the theater and shopping districts. Walk to Millennium Park, Lakefront and all of the GREAT museums. The staff was friendly and helpful. The decor was very well done!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Great place and great location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff there was unbelievable. Everyone was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. I loved the location and proximity to the parks and west loop. Definitely can't wait to come back and stay here

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Double room was decent size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After looking at room bill there is an extra 50 dollar charge per night! One is a destination fee, what is that! Waaaayyyyy too pricey!

    Double room was decent size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Nice decor and comfortable/quiet stay in very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Somehow I missed the signage twice— it was a little hard to find with El tracks right there obscuring visibility maybe.

    Location just a block or two from the Art Institute was outstanding. Great places to eat within a block. Valet parking was easy and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    The hotel has been very nicely renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel has been very nicely renovated. Our room was comfortable, well decorated and had very good beds (excellent mattress and pillows). The staff was diligent and courteous. Excellent hotel location for visiting the Art Institute of Chicago, The Magnificent Mile Park and river tours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    3.8
    frustrating experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One shipment from FedEx received and I was in the room and when I asked the reception more than once, the answer was we didn't receive any. after insisting and showing them the email that the shipment was delivered to the hotel then finally they said they found it. second problem, I had another FedEx shipment which sadly delivered 1 day after my check out and my trip back to my country.I did my best that that not to happen . I informed the reception that this might happen. and I asked the hotel not to receive the package as I would be checked out and not available. but they accepted the package though I checked out. I called hotel international almost daily for help. I emailed them several times. no replies and will keep u on hold. without solutions. they asked me to do the shipment to my country by myself. which was impossible. I only wanted them to call FedEx and reship the packages to my country and I would pay everything.it was big frustration.the hotel was very bad treating the guest when he has little problem like this. and the solution was very simple.finally after 14 days of phone calls, they agreed to ship it of course I paid for everything. I had to call for each step. very bad service.

    location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.6
    My husband and I were treating our youngest daughter to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed size....would have preferred queens

    My husband and I were treating our youngest daughter to a trip to Chicago for her 21st birthday. I think that we were only offered 2 double beds. Two queen size beds and I could have given you 100%. The staff was so incredibly friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    9.6
    Modern, comfortable hotel, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints except that the outlets in the room didn't hold my two-prong chargers very well (they feel out easily). On the plus side, there were plenty of outlets!

    This hotel has a good location near Millennium Park and right next to an L stop (convenient if you fly into Midway airport). The room was clean and comfortable (especially the bed!) and the staff friendly and helpful. Not cheap, but decent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Awesome stay and awesome staff, I will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    I hope am I getting the names correct. Beverly at the front desk was amazing. This was our first time to Chicago but definitely not the last. Beverly answered all our questions, gave us great suggestions on what to do etc she even drew maps to help us get around. I will recommend this hotel to family and friends. The doorman Enrique was awesome. He told us where to eat and what to eat. Told us how to get places and what to avoid. Enrique even asked when we were checking out and promised to have a taxi waiting to take us to the airport on that day. Sure enough we were leaving at 6:30 am Sunday morning and the taxi was there waiting for us. Lastly Greg who I believe is the other doorman stood outside in the cold and rain waiting for our uber driver so that we did not have too. It was great to see that there are still good and nice people left in society. They made this a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel and the room size was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I should have done a little more research on the location. While it was close to where we wanted to be, it right next to an L platform. We listened to the train noise all night even though we were on the 8th floor. Bring your ear plugs.

    Beautiful hotel and the room size was amazing! Also, the bed was very comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    Great location, comfy and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location for my needs. Staff is awesome. Great service. Room very nice and comfortable, loved the two head showers. Bed very comfirtable and the room nicely decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, lovely room, good folks.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drinks at the bar were only okay. A little sweet for a negroni... Would have liked a little help with the doors since they don't have automatic openers for disabilities. Everything else was great.

    Great folks running the hotel, decent bartender (but only okay drinks), the room will be bigger than some houses I've lived in. It was greatly designed and I wished I had been able to spend more time there. I'll definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view from our room wasn't very nice. We overlooked the building roof next to us.

    Great location from the train, lots of great food and drinks near by. The staff was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in a terrific hotel with a friendly staff at a good price in a great location.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing comes to mind.

    Location is superb for visiting the Loop. Staff friendly and helpful.... GREAT room... we'd stay here again in a minute... and will. The history of the place, connection to jewelry row, was unknown to us, and a plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.6
    Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but the front desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but the front desk staff was wonderful and within 10 minutes of arriving the room was ready. Drinks at the bar were pretty pricey... $15 for an old fashion that wasn't anything spectacular. The location was great though! Able to walk to Shedd Aquarium and to Michigan Ave.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.2
    Can’t go wrong with this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms amenities could be upgraded a little size wise. The brand used is great. Maybe some slippers to go along with the robes and there should be some drinks in the refrigerator which was empty. Since water is complementary, I was expecting so see a couple of bottles upon check in.

    Exceptional over all value. Top location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.1
    My experience was overall quite great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were no booklets or instructions in the room (like you normally have in a hotel) explaining how to use the wifi, where the fitness center is, etc. Typically, you would have something like this to let people know what amenities are in the hotel or in the immediate area. Adding this would be useful to future patrons. There was also no desk in the room, which would have been a benefit for me while travelling for business.

    My experience was overall quite great. The room was clean and spacious. It was very centrally located. There are lots of food options in the immediate area. I would consider staying again if I were back in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    Excellent Stay in Downtown Chicago
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would prefer cheaper parking, but that's Chicago for you. I ended up parking elsewhere instead to save money.

    Great price for it's location, the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and the decorations were unique, funky, and beautiful. My room was in a back corner, so even though I was downtown, it was nice and quiet. The bed was comfy, the shower had perfect temperature and pressure, and the desk chair was comfy enough to sit in for a full day's remote work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.1
    Would consider again but might look for something with a view for the same price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are comfy but pretty small. You can hear the train at night. Its not terrible but did wake me up a few times the first night. Didn't bother rest of my family, but they could sleep through a hurricane. Was little disappointing in the fact there is no view. Our room looked directly into the back of the hotel straight into other rooms. You have to have the curtains closed entire time. Probably biggest complaint. My wife and I did go down to the bar one night for a drink. Two drinks with a small tip $38. I know everything in Chicago is expensive but for the size of the drinks and the fact we were Hotel guests I was disappointed. We left the Hotel and about a block down found a nice bar and prices were good so we hung out there both nights instead of the hotel bar.

    The staff was very courteous, from the bell boy to the desk ladies. All were good. The location was good. Only couple blocks to almost everything and you could get a cab or uber very easy. Overall the motel was pretty clean and felt very safe being there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    7.9
    The staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view had me facing other hotel rooms and was right next to the train, which was a bit louder than expected.

    The staff was amazing!! Customer Service made the stay 10 times better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.6
    The bed is so comfortable- love the pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are plenty of outlets, but they are horribly placed throughout the room making them inconvenient. We wanted to go to the restaurant, but it doesn't serve lunch so we didn't go. That was unfortunate as we wanted to try it.

    The bed is so comfortable- love the pillows!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    Book it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have nothing bad to say!

    Really large room and super big bathroom. Clean, modern, awesome staff, free water, quiet, comfortable. Great location and value. A+!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful and look forward to coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service at the bar wasn’t great. It was St Patrick’s Day in the evening, so it might have been a tiring day. But the workers weren’t very friendly.

    The bed was amazingly comfortable- everything was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    8.8
    Definitely would stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My main concern, being older, was the lack of grab bars in the shower. The shower floor and the bathroom floor we're polished tile which can get slippery. There was no really comfortable chair. We had some unusual equipment malfunctions. Out refrigerator had to be replaced because it kept freezing things, and our toilet kept clogging up.

    The staff here is great. Very friendly and helpful. Our room was actually a suite, two separate rooms and TVs. It was large and pleasant. Security is excellent. You can not go up in the elevators without a room key.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    5.0
    Won’t come back for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. Bad insolation. The gap between the entrance door and floor is increadible u can hear everything what is happening at the corridor. 2. Cleanliness.. we stayed for 7days. I guess the bedsheets were changed once. The hair on the floor in bathroom from previous stay was a nice surprise. 3. Room facilities. No kit for shoes, no sleepers, no sewing kit, the bath robe looked the way u don’t want even to touch it.

    1. the location is great! Nearby milllenium park, Wabash metro station. 2, the doormen are really friendly 3. Check -in and out process were fast! 4. The baby bed were provided as requested.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    8.8
    THe staff were very helpful and friendly; the hotel and room were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i would like towel racks in the bathroom. I would also like the manual throw lock that many hotel rooms have.

    separaate area for couch (a third bed) was great. Quiet was great. Promptness with which housekeeping responded to two requests was superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was clean. Beautiful. Staff was amazing and accommodating especially for an 8 AM check in. Great bar in the lobby. Definitely would stay here again if I ever visit Chicago in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    8.3
    Okay for the price but go elsewhere for breakfast.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was not worth it! I spent almost $30.00 for myself and 4 year old daughter. We had 1 glass of juice each and she had pancakes and I had the Denver omlette. THAT’S ALL! You did not get sausage or bacon, that’s extra, hash browns, that’s extra or anything. It was a restaurant that is seperate from the hotel. Breakfast was NOT worth it!!!

    The room I booked was taken so the hotel upgraded me at no extra charge to another room. I was asked if I wanted a room with a city view. I said yes, and when we got to the room all we could see was the buildings across the street. Staff was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    10
    A beautiful romantic and comfortable hotel in a great location for the Loop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As nice as the large shower is, it would be really great if there was a nicer shower head to stand under. I didn't request a room with a view so this isn't a real complaint but the view was not what I expected. It was not worth opening the blinds for and I will know better for my next visit, and I will stay at the Silversmith again.

    The room was very nice and I loved how large the shower was. The bed was excellent. The front desk and bell men were very helpful and always pleasant with a cheerful greeting. I liked the fact that the Silversmith has a small presence from the street. It's more of a hidden gem that I will recommend to others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful & Affordable Hotel in a SUPERB LOCATION!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This last stay, I had an issue with one of the front desk staff. I had called multiple times and was ensured a queen air mattress would be provided for 2 extra guests, but they only gave me a single one and she was very rude when I called to inquire about the mix-up. She wouldn't give me 2 singles because of fire code... We never did get our queen air mattress and we had to hike back to the car at 11:30 at night to get the one we brought just in case.

    This hotel is AMAZING! I have stayed here 6+ times in the last few years and it is always a great experience! It is in the PERFECT location... close to Millenium Park Garages, State Street, & Michican Ave shopping! The interior of the hotel is so beautiful & fun!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    8.8
    Overall quite happy, would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    In-hotel restaurant was relatively poor and quite expensive, odd features of room layout (not enough towel bars/hooks, wastebaskets).

    Friendly staff, and an excellent location! Just a block from Millenium Park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.9
    Seems like a nice facility but maybe not very well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk seemed understaffed at check-in time. We arrived 15 minutes prior to the check-in time and our room was not ready yet - which was a unfortunate, but we obviously were fine with waiting 15 minutes. The problem is that we then had to stand/sit in the lobby for over 30 minutes before our room was ready. It would have been one thing if we had been compensated in some way for the wait, but we weren't, and because the hotel bar and restaurant weren't open at that time, there was nothing for us to do. When we finally got our room, the keys didn't work so we had to go back down to the front desk to straighten it out.

    The location was great and the beds and pillows were wonderful. The bathroom in our room was very nice and spacious and the workout room was small but contained everything we needed. The bellman and valet attendants were very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    10
    Staff very helpful to me a foreigner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I had stayed before - about 3 years ago. There were no issues then. Nor now!

    Staff very helpful to me a foreigner. Breakfast service was quick. Room was quiet. Lots of design aspects with this hotel, eg the fact that the elevators are on one side means when at the floor I always know to turn to the right. You may not think this is of much interest but I do find it annoying when, at other hotels, and pre-occupied with chatter with others in the lift I then turn the wrong way because that's what I did last time. With the Silversmith it's always one way only. Nice. I had from experience 3 years ago recommended this hotel to friends this time around. At least one guy stayed for the conference I attended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    9.2
    Great location for The Loop. Good value for money. I would stay for work not pleasure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The overall look and feel of the room/hotel felt a little dated and dark. The room overlooked the top of ugly rooftops.

    I asked to check in early as I needed to get ready for a meeting. Despite being full they had room my prepared when I arrived and I was able to shower/relax Comfortably. It was such a lifesaver. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.6
    It was exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gym was a little lean... but that’s not why I was there so it was fine.

    The staff are beyond helpful! Location is perfect! Super clean room with a bed we did not want to get out of

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    10
    Super friendly and knowledgeble staff. Aways a step ahead of our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A nice pint of Old Style!!

    Beds we're super comfy, don't remember going to bed, just waking up 8 hours later. Ever person in hotel greeted us, made us feel welcome. Seating area around bar area unbelievablely accommodating to large groups but comfortable. Happy hour pricing amazing for downtown Chicago!!! Our friends left their hotels to come to Silversmith once we filled them in on the deals and the hospitality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    8.8
    Very easy location and most enjoyable around the hotel for shopping, parks, and entertainment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No maid service on our last night.

    Very comfortable, friendly, staff. Location was key to our visit as we were attending shows at the various theatre venues. They were all withing walking distance for us. We were also able to attend mass at a beautiful Catholic church which we walked too as well. The location of the train to and from Midway was less than a block from the Hotel entrance. No need for cab, Uber, or Lyft.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    10
    my stay is beyond my expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect loaction with restaurants around. At the corner is Target shopping center. At level 2 is fresh food section where you can buy fresh stuffs for breakfast. Large room and and super bathroom! If the courtyard the window faces to can have some innovations, that will greatly improve the quality of living.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    5.4
    Great location, but cleanliness was sketchy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hair in the shower and urine on the toilette- not mine! Like room was used briefly by someone. Staff would not let my husband check in to the room because he did not book the room. He sat in the hotel bar for 3 hours until I returned from seeing “Wicked”.

    Nice pillows. Gorgeous decor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    8.8
    Hidden little gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Train right next to hotel. Noise seemed mildly isolated--didn't interfere with rest or chill time

    Hidden little gem. That has great service. They also hold your luggage and car until 5p the day you check out. Super plus. State Street shoppes and a Target right behind the hotel for last minute items.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    We will definitely be back. This may be our hotel every Christmas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Train outside our room was surprising, but not loud. We tuned it out pretty quickly.

    Great location for us. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was huge, the fridge was convenient, and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    9.2
    Public transportation is right at the front door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have liked more variety in the exercise room. There was no stationary bike

    Public transportation is right at the front door. There are many places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Foul smell when I first opened doors. In the small section in between two doors. Easily hear commotion in hallways, but I feel like that happens at every hotel.

    It was very close walking distance to alot of things by millennium park and the river as well. Essentially in the middle of State St. and Michigan, so we were always close to where we had to go. Staff was very helpful and nice. I forgot an item in the room and they let me go back and look for it after I checked out. Very satisfied with The Silversmith and will likely be our go to when staying in Chicago.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    7.5
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food and service at the Adamus restaurant. It was awful!

    The beds were very comfortable. The hotel is beautiful and in the heart of downtown Chicago.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    9.2
    Staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loud surrounings. No room service menu. Valet brought the wrong car down the first time, was a communication error.

    Staff were helpful. Room was nice. Will hold luggage at the desk before check in

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    From the Front Desk Attendees to the Door Men, every person...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From the Front Desk Attendees to the Door Men, every person went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and at our service for any and every need! Excellent staff and perfect hotel stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    9.6
    Stylish and spacious oasis in the center of it all in Chicago!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The extremely large marbled bathroom and huge marble shower were gorgeous, and once we had a bathmat (provided at once by the desk!) a bit less slippery and perfect for us.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. We were in the center of everything wonderful: cultural sites, good restaurants, great shopping! The hotel is beautiful, quiet, well staffed and an oasis in the center of a busy, bustling Loop location downtown.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    3 days/2 nights for a Hamilton show.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located 2 blocks off Millennium Park. A block and a half from the theater where Hamilton is showing. Easy walking distance to many of the major landmarks in Chicago. Easy access to the 'L' and the subway if you are trying to get to a different spot outside of walking distance. Front desk was helpful in suggesting places to eat and easy directions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    8.3
    very central and confy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was too expensive and limited and the room service was not good at all. It all came packaged as fast food with prime price.

    Confortable room and very nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    7.1
    Good location and very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very few services/amenities for the price - no mini bar, no room service, no pool, no jacuzzi.

    Good location and very friendly staff. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    A charming hotel, perfectly located and staffed by fantastic people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This small hotel is in a perfect location, close to the Art Institute and Millenium Park. The staff is endlessly helpful and friendly. And what a comfortable bed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    10
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, the hotel is next to the elevated train system, (the 'Loop'); so I heard the train rather clearly at night. Earplugs helped; however, but I am a light sleeper. This isn't a comment against the hotel, as proximity to public transport is usually a plus, of course. The commuter train system, (South Shore Line and Metra Line), station is a short 5 minute walk north of the hotel.

    The bed was excellent; as was the shower & bathroom. Loved having a fridge in the room - that feature was very helpful & useful for my four night stay. My room, (number 710) a standard King room, had 5 table lamps - I've had hotel rooms with poor lighting; so, I recognize & appreciate excellent lighting when provided. The room itself was nicely decorated & furnished.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    7.5
    Still communicating with staff on rate charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Still communicating with staff on rate charged. It appears that the charge to my credit card is $60 higher than what was booked on Booking. com and what is showing on closing statement.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    Beautiful clean hotel in a fantastic location with very attentive friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The room was huge and the bed was so comfy I didn’t want to get up! The bar area was beautiful with a widely stocked array of drinks. Great staff who were very attentive and helpful. Overall the hotel was excellent and I would stay there again when we return to Chicago. It is a great location too right next to Macy’s and not far from the tourist spots. Loved it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely but shame it cost more than booking.com originally stated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like that booking.com stung us on the cost. Because you don't pay upfront booking.com gave me a price and then when we left it was significantly higher due to the rate changing and the races etc. Be better to keep to the price booking.com give you otherwise I wouldn't have paid this much to stay somewhere. Air con unit was loud.

    The hotel was in a great location. It was clean and our room was lovely. The free wifi was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel! Loved the location.
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would like a microwave

    Good coffee. Nice to have a fridge. They provided us marathoners with an appropriate early breakfast - toast, coffee, bananas...perfect and appreciated!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Outstanding hotel at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location to leave the car and walk to everything. Beautiful and comfortable room and bathroom. Beautiful lobby, restaurant, and lounge areas. Friendly and helpful staff.We’ll be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    10
    Holly train stop! The convenience and comfort of this place is stellar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only bummer was no microwave to heat up the deep dish, no ice machine on the floor, but the Kurig, fridge, and wonderful staff willing to deliver ice, etc. at the snap of your fingers was outstanding.

    This place is immaculate!! The online photos were pretty much spot on and the room was as promised in appearance and accommodation. The only bummer was no microwave to heat up the deep dish, no ice machine on the floor, but the Kurig, fridge, and wonderful staff willing to deliver ice, etc. at the snap of your fingers was outstanding. Bed, robes, pillows, superb!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    8.8
    Exellent, comfortable and clean hotel. But the restaurant and Bar could use some work!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant (Adamus) could use some work. Took forever to get waited on and then we were going to order we wanted to know what the Chicago Marathon special consisted of and the waiter had no clue what we were talking about and had to ask even though it was posted in the hotel lobby. And another couple entered and were waited on before us and received their food before us. Lastly, I think the bar could have been much better if they has offered some drink specials to the Marathon runners! There did not seem to be a lot of activity in the bar and a special may have bolstered customers. I know we would have taken advantage of a special in the bar. Needed ice for an ice bath after marathon. Asked for 4 bags of ice and received only one bucket full! Ice machines available for hotel guests would be a big plus in my opinion.

    Room was super spacious and comfortable and clean. I would stay there again if the opportunity arises in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    9.6
    Location was very central and therefore perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to complain.

    Location was very central and therefore perfect. Close to the main attractions. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The 24/7 gym was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was gorgeous but the water pressure was horrible and made washing my hair take forever. Why is the toilet tissue on the wall behind you instead of on the wall next to you? Awkward.

    Fabulous location, staff was extremely friendly and helpful, accommodations were large and comfortable, stylish decor, bath products were nice quality and smelled fabulous!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    4.6
    Empty Sole less shell of a hotel they offer nothing for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is expensive but I don't understand why, its a sole less hotel, there were no room service menus or information packs its just a shell and very expensive for nothing would never book this again

    I can not find anything to say I liked this sole less hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room layout was kinda funky. Needed a place to sit and read with my coffee beside me but there was nowhere. Ended up across the street at goddess and the baker so all was good!

    The room was very clean and had a vintage chic charm to it! Loved the high ceilings which gave the smaller room a bigger feel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect , it made our trip memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I would suggest was a handle bar by the bathtub to aid when exiting tub.

    The room was so great as we had 4 people in our room. So beautifully decorated was a plus. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. I can't thank all of them enough for all their help. Rooms very quiet also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    10
    Staff were extremely accommodating and friendly, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The AC was a little finicky and the fan was a little too quiet (some white noise is nice to have!)

    Staff were extremely accommodating and friendly, and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    7.5
    proximity/location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We tried to arrange a car from the city to the suburbs and asked for advice from the concierge/doorman. they insisted we go through them versus an Uber or city transit because they could help get us a better deal or their Uber drivers could give us a better deal. They found a cab who charged almost double to what we would have been charged in an Uber. Disappointed because everything else had been great thusfar.

    proximity/location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from window was an alley and the back of a brick building next door. Not a big deal for us, but those who want a view might want to check which side of the hotel they are getting.

    Room was very clean and up-to-date. Very nice that wireless internet is included - not an extra fee. We arrived late and left early, so not much opportunity to explore amenities, but the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    9.6
    Great comfortable stay in the heart of Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too bad the hotel is wedged between two other buildings. We had a view of a building wall making it very dark in the room. But that wasn't a big deal

    The hotel lobby and restaurant are very nice and clean. The staff is beyond friendly and helpful. The room itself is nice, clean and spacious. The bed and pillows are VERY comfortable. The washroom is very nice and clean. this hotel is located one street away from the Millenium park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    6.7
    So So.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Closed the bar before 11 and no food. Also, for this level of hotel, one would think that they would place bottles of water in the room but do not.

    location is good & staff friendly. Rooms are large and spacious for chicago.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    The Perfect Hotel in the Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't get enough towels on the last day, but didn't impact us, so would have called down if we had needed more.

    The front desk staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. Room was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    9.2
    Will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant/bar has all the physical elements for a hot spot however, it's a not spot. Hopefully, Owners/Management are in the process of updating their ideas for this mostly unused space.

    Enrique the doorman. While there's location location location...another critical aspect is employe employe employe. Enrique is genuinely a helpful, fun and sincere individual.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    8.3
    Major selling point is the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No view! Took one peak out the window and that's all we needed. That's the only real downside to this hotel. The tub looked like it could have used a little more elbow grease, but the bathroom was pretty spacious as was the room itself.

    Location was perfect. We went to Hamilton & Something Rotten! at Private Bank & Oriental Theaters, respectively, and they were easy walks from the hotel. So close to Millenium Park & MI Ave. Walked to Willis Tower. Would have walked to Ramen-san on Hubbard but I had blisters :( Overall hotel experience was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: