Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Standard, Hollywood 4 stars

8300 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90069, USA

#194 of 379 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 570 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    2.5
    Nothing, it was absolutely disgusting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so old and dirty that I was afraid to unpack or even walk on the carpet with my bare feet. The linens seemed unclean and the bathroom smelled like mold. Even the hallway of my floor smelled like a giant stale ashtray. I couldn’t leave soon enough.

    Nothing, it was absolutely disgusting

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is located at the very heart of Sunset Blvd, close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to do a serious cleaning job to the carpets. Aisles and rooms smell weird and my asthma allergy got me sick all my stay.

    The hotel is located at the very heart of Sunset Blvd, close to a Starbucks and a couple of restaurants. Facilities are nice, staff is super friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location to explore West Hollywood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the corridors. It smelt like the carpet needs replacing.

    The pool area and shag carpet entrance were great! Also the proximity to the comedy store and Hollywood blvd.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    I felt welcomed and had a fun stay.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The seating options in the room. The chair is not comfortable for extended period of time or to hang and the bean bag is not big enough for a 5'4 150lbs person. It would be great to have a coffee maker in the room.

    Good variety in the menu. Food tasted great I ordered the cauliflower grilled cheese and the kale salad YUMMY. Service was prompt and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Needs a re-do.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Black mold in the bathroom was gross, cannot control A/C temp, crappy old TVs, and electronically challenged for today's world. Pretty much a tired place (NO STARS) - STAFF ***** FIVE STARS

    The kindest and most friendly staff anywhere. They truly go out of their way. ***Except for the one girl with brown hair that took my order in the restaurant: wrong food, dismissive, spent the time taking to the staff, and most unprofessional. She'll never be a success anywhere with the attitude the size of a boulder on her shoulder.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and great front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool staff and young men on the front door were a bit rude. Had to ask the cleaner clean our room as she missed it but once asked it was cleaned well.

    Great location and great front desk staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    This hotel tries hard to be trendy, but I wasn't buying it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service food was inedible ("garlicky green beans" had been cooked hours before. Cheese sandwich was over-cooked) and took a while to arrive. No coffee maker in room. Everything in room had a price.

    Bed was comfy, shower was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    It is a nice hotel, with a cool hip vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air conditioning was so cold and switching it off didn´t help. You hear also all the Sunset traffic and on weekends partying. On weekends they make you pay for poolside table. Only valet parking and very expensive, Valet guys super cute though.

    It is a nice hotel, with a cool hip vibe. The pool area is very nice and location so easy to get everywhere. Earplugs for free and European adapter in the mini bar for almost same price as the shop. Nice room!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways and room smelled strange. Not dirty, but definately not clean, like a very stale chemical. No coffee and no air conditioner.

    The room was comfortable, the bed was clean and bathroom were crisp and clean, they provided plenty of bedding. There was a plentitude of snacks and a mini bar. The view over Sunset Blvd. Full service pool area open until 2AM!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Great but some details could really improve the stay!
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The housekeeping was not good! They didn´t returned the robes for the following days also the soap. The room was quite noisy at night!

    The ambiance also the different activities at the hotel, the lobby is exceptional!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    2.9
    NO STANDARD
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    By far the worst hotel we visited during our trip to the US. The rooms are large but the decor is dated. It stinks in the hallways and in the room after old vomit. The room was cleaned only on repeated notice at the front desk. On the second day it was like that. Then either the towels or the bathrobe were missing. Ongoing was something else and nothing worked out as I expect it from a hotel of this price range. Very noisy around the clock! Party music is ok and I knew that before, but the rooms are so noisy that you can not sleep around the clock. The few visitors of the nocturnal pool parties (the music is so bad, there are only those who have no chance elsewhere) were so drunk, that they unfortunately did not care, even in the morning to 4 loud and to rant. But that does not really interest the hotel staff. The pool is not available for hotel guests, since party guests from outside the beach chairs reserve and besiege. I was totally unfriendly pointed out and "allowed" me to sit down at a table. The really very arrogant, unfriendly lady who distributed the pool chairs and seats, preferred to flirt with male guests or colleagues and left us more or less left. You definitely do not feel like a guest. Roomservice is offered 24 hours, but unfortunately did not work. All in all, the hotel is totally overpriced - $ 300 a night plus $ 42 parking garage. NEVER AGAIN. Pity!

    Nichts

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Shower was nice, it had a lot of pressure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was a little sketchy, my wife and I felt more comfortable taking the stairs. Restroom was a little on the small side and shower drain didn’t seem to drain properly which left the floor pretty damp the entire stay. TV in the room needs to be updated, to small and old.

    Shower was nice, it had a lot of pressure. Pool lounge area was chill and very relaxing. Bed and pillows were comfy got a good night rest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    We'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not informed about the Party in the hotel that Friday night by the time I checked in.

    General design and the all the stuff available at room's fridge/bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Top of Sunset with a fabulous pool patio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited parking so had to put the car in Valet which was a little pricey. $42 per day.

    Great Pool and very cool Andy Warhol vibe. Frose cocktail was delicious. Room was a great size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay if you’re coming to party in Hollywood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a theme hotel, so the decor is a bit dated but it’s fine.

    Great place to stay if you’re coming to party in Hollywood. The place was made for partying. 2 pools, amazing poolside service, 24 hour room service, stocked mini bar. Walking distance to all the nightclubs. They even provide earplugs in case your neighbors are too rowdy!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.0
    For 400AUD a night, complimentary tea or coffee would of be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 400AUD a night, complimentary tea or coffee would of be nice! Breakfast room service was ordinary, however great little restaurant downstairs offered good and service!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Fun Fun Fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet not too helpful with bags or bringing the car up from beside the bushes so passenger could get in. Busy socializing or on there phone. Didn’t remove ticket from windshield. Went to grab a to go coffee in the morning, very very slow even though it wasn’t busy one person is doing the whole order while the other person stands are talking instead of helping to make it a little bit faster.

    Front desk was very friendly. I love the atmosphere love the character of the hotel, great drinks great food. Quiet room, comfy bed and pillow

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    The property is in a great location and is very cool inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a visitor from out of town, I feel the charges and prices could’ve been explained better. I was handed an invoice which was more expensive than the price I had originally booked. Whilst the staff were helpful, there was no support with explaining the additional charges, which I thought was something most staff should be able to do (having customers from all over the world staying on their premises)

    The property is in a great location and is very cool inside. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very trendy, and the amenities are great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    The design of the room was very nice, it was equipped well,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway in my floor smelled very bad, they did hang a sign apologizing for the dust saying they were renovating, but it still smelled, and not like dust.

    The design of the room was very nice, it was equipped well, including two books that if the guest chooses he can just take from the room and automatically pay for it. The black soap in the bathroom was also nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Always like this hotel for a cool and happening stay with amazing pool area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was actually surprised to see two kids at the pool area. Would be great if this was kids free (can't understand why you want to stay here with kids anyway) But I guess it is not often this happens.

    I always enjoy The Standard. The location is awesome, the pool area really nice, and rooms modern and nice. Sure, if you just want a really quite night in relaxed surroundings, you might look elsewhere. The hotel is happening, and the pool area is busy till late. But if you are a young couple or solo traveller who likes a more edgy and happening hotel, this is a great choise! Bonus info: I recommend spending a little extra on a room with pool view as Sunset Blv. can by quite noizy,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    You have options, use them
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived on a motorcycle loaded with bags the door kid just looked at me without saying hi, offering any help at all. The guy working the next morning was great. Marcus at the front desk was very helpful

    Location is top notch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Loved it! The Standard Hollywood is dope
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything really. First time at this location. Quick valet and was able to check in early with no problem. Was down at the pool having a cocktail and apps in no time. Before you know it the pool was packed and decided to rack up a tab. Went to Catch for dinner a little buzzed, then Harlowe bar for drinks. Back to the hotel and then hit the strip. In and out of the hotel until the bars closed, ended up having a blast. Late checkout def made all the difference. Allowed for sleeping in and ordering french toast. Quick valet on the way out, no complaints other than I wanted to stay and party more at the pool. Young couple mid 30s / late 20s. Very West Hollywood. Prefect location for hitting the strip. Will return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    the bed was so comfy, such a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is quite expensive... but probably worth the cost for the benefits

    the bed was so comfy, such a great location! the pool was gorgeous and the staff were great. highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay in West Hollywood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are nice and big, though could do with an extra piece of furniture or two, as they feel a bit sparse.

    Beautiful hotel with a pleasant and kitschy feel to it. The bar/restaurant downstairs is open all night and serves fantastic food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.8
    Must have been great 5 years ago.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were not friendly. I didn't get the feeling that they were there to help. The hotel is REALLY old. The carpets are dirty, and the rooms and bathrooms are old.

    The location was good, and the Valet staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Close to everything, comfortable, friendly and very stylish with cool staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area given over to function on Memorial Day - didn’t feel comfortable to go there even though we were hotel guests

    Welcoming lobby and pool, great diner, friendly informal staff, inclusivity and activism

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is noisy with AC equipment on the top of the roof and the one glass window on Sunset Boulevard. There is too muxh willungness from the staff of the restaurant to make you consume more and ni reasonable offering for breakfast.

    The hotel location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Bed was super comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms felt more like a motel than hotel. The lobby and pool area felt like they had put a lot more effort into the aesthetic than the rooms.

    Bed was super comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    The door to our patio would not close but the maintenance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door to our patio would not close but the maintenance staff was great and prompt in fixing. The bathroom soap is black and this seems silly. It makes a mess on the bathroom sink. The pool area is nice the restaurant fresh and clean but the hallways to the room seem kind of worn-out and tacky. The rooms however are good size and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    I found the staff very awkward and didn’t have much customer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the staff very awkward and didn’t have much customer service. They we not at all trained on how to welcome people. I felt a bit awkward when talking to the front desk. But overall it was nice and the location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very noisy till very late (beyond 12.30/1 am). I think there was a nightclub operating there. We were promised and paid for an upgrade to quiet rooms, however they overlooked the pool area which was extremely noisy playing loud doof doof music to the early morning. The supplied earplugs did nothing to mute the noise. We did receive a free breakfast and the upgrades were complimentary once we complained, but we did not sleep for two nights having travelled from Australia. We would never stay there again.

    This hotel should be renamed SubStandard. I did not like anything about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    The property needs to be non-smoking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property needs to be non-smoking. Didn't like having to smell cigarette smoke while at pool area and while in room (overlooking pool). Ashtrays aren't cool. Smoking and second hand smoke KILLS, and we're better than that. Please consider making the change #truth

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Thank you Mr. Somerset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My experience at the hotel wasn't good due to the poor service at the front desk. However I must remark that their manager Mr Somerset was extremely helpful and willing to make my experience better once I told him about my problems and he managed to solve them. It's important for me to remark this because he really tried his best to give me the best experience possible and i really appreciate this. If everyone working at the hotel was like him, i'm sure the best service in LA.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very plastic type of hotel - right next to the Road. Think stay would have Been better if you get Another room that has a view towards pool or if its not located groundfloor..

    Good location, ok price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Old, worn out, mouldly and over priced. Totally shocked for a Standard Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worst Standard I've ever stayed at. An extremely dated venue. It was dark, smelly, old and mouldy. I simply cannot believe this is acceptable for the price they are charging. Never ever again.

    The staff at the café - very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Being a returning customer (spent there at least 50 nights...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very disappointed with the dining situation this time. Eat-in phone number literally NEVER picks up. And the 24/7 diner just provided the worst careless service the one morning I tried to go there. Also charge $50 for parking is ridiculous.

    Being a returning customer (spent there at least 50 nights so far), the management staff is always the nicest. I do enjoy the rooms and the property in general a lot. Perfect location as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    gluten free waffles were literally TO DIE FOR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pool wait staff was hard to track down to order drinks.

    gluten free waffles were literally TO DIE FOR. aesthetic of everything is on point. and I love that it hasn't really changed since I first visited in 2008 :) it's epic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Prime location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could be better maintained, some furniture is old and shows wear&tear. 42usd a day parking for hotel guests is pricey but hard to avoid since there are few public parking spaces

    Staff is super friendly and accomodating, also definitely a "place to be", the pool partys are legendary

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Above average service but left a little to be desired.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities need a little refresh. 3 of our 4 rooms had issues with lamps, water temperature, and one, being located near the elevator fan mechanism, was constantly vibrating.

    We liked the atmosphere and walkability of the hotel. The staff was so accommodating and the food at Croft Alley exceeded our expectations

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool was in maintenance our second day . We were very disapointed because we could not take advantage of it or have breakfast on the terrace.

    The staff was very friendly and the location great. Finally,we had a room with view on the swimming pool which was also really great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money in an excellent location, great staff - too much music!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise level - constant music on loud - They have said it's a party space but it was too much for those that weren't constantly up for a party No bedroom slippers!

    Size of the room, Proficiency of staff and atmoshphere, food and general service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    great location and decoration and style
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    too loud. music until late without double glass windows. you hear the room upstairs. the constructions works were also not ideal

    great location and decoration and style

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    3.3
    Learned a lesson
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready at 6pm The place was loud and the heater sounds like a jet engine. They put us in a room across a dog park so it was very loud from all sides. We were woken up @3:45 am and could not go back to sleep because it was so loud. My wife has epilepsy and then had multiple seizures die to lack of sleep. They did comp our night but I think that was the least they could do. The front desk staff was not competent or caring for that matter.

    The manager was good at handling a poor stay and realizing that they had not performed their duties. I think he should manage a better place as he was very competent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Soho Grand is a on trend hotel in fabulous location, with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the friendliness of the staff, they were great to chat to to get information and suggestions. The bar and restaurants were super cool and the decor in the bedrooms was modern and trendy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    As usual, everything I’m looking for in a hotel. Comfort and a vibe in a central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant/room service menu is quite snazzy, but maybe I would like some more pedestrian options too (I’m probably on my own there though!).

    Enjoyed the mini bar options, good shower facilities, post cards, really enjoyed it all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointed.
    • Group
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom and shower floor in room 306 was filthy. Is that black mold??? Restaurant was a disaster both quality of food, attention to detail, and personnel.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    One of - if not the best I have ever had on a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can’t think of a whole lot that I didn’t like. It was just awesome. Even. The lighting in the hallways - just a fabulous experience.

    It was such a cool decor and the staff was superb. I loved the “ uniforms “ the bar tenders made phenomenal drinks and the room was trendy yet comfortable. I also like the “ private club “. Great DJ and intimate environment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    Super cool but need to be careful coolness isn't overshadowed by old school genuine service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. Either disco noise, dog park noise or pool party noise. Staff did their best to move us to a quiet room however the window glass isn't from this century either.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.3
    I'll be heading back to the Mondrian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - It's an actual 60's motel. - Rooms are drab - Walls are paper thin. The room next door had a party in the middle of the night and it may as well have been in my room. - I could hear the entire conversation in the bathroom next door as if they were in the room thru the extractor fan. - There is zero aural privacy between rooms

    - Location is great. - It's a cool hotel with that 60's vibe. - Pleasant staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Trendy Hollywood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really funky and trendy! The staff were all amazing, I was really impressed. I arrived to the hotel with a injured foot and could not walk, the staff did so much to accomodate me, they were really fantastic! My only regrets is that we did not stay longer!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location and amazing pool area with live music.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and amazing pool area with live music. The staff were great and the hotel is very central if wanting to go out in West Hollywood or to go to Runyon canyon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    A very reasonable choice for a tourist in LA
    • Couple
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't really love room decoration, but that didn't affect our experience The bathroom ventilation that never goes off

    Very convenient location, great vibe, excellent customer service, great bar-restaurant open 24 hrs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    I like the Standard feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I like the Standard feel. Lively lobby and pool area everytime. Nice people around. Rooms are large and cosy. Good location. Hollywood, Weho and Beverly Hills are very close, a short Lyft or Uber ride from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.3
    Worst stay ever in a standard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why pay $300 for a nice room when you actually get a Motel 6 kind of room. No AC, pop corn ceiling, completely cheap and outdated bathroom, TV from early 2000's, dirty capret, paper walls.. you can hear people talking next rooms, and I am not talking about the sound isolation from Sunset blvd... On top of that get charged for mini bar consumption that we did not... would have like to use the water in the minibar but we did not get any but charged for it! ($26.. for 2 bottles of water... stop by CVS if you need water guys...) You want a nice room near by, Mondrian, The London... but certainly not the Standard Sunset Blvd!

    What did I like? Not much.. felt scammed...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Odd but comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The halls very poorly lite and dingy and old the construction was terrible the restaurant downstairs afford strange options! The air conditioning vents were super strange and loud!

    The beds the pillows the shower the balcony pool side bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    enjoyable !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pricey hotel! free upgrade softened that blow! rooms could do with a bit of a freshen up (cork tiles lifted on bathroom floor) and room although spacious, felt really sparse and not unlike IKEA from the 70's!

    design and quirkiness of the hotel....was really like a motel DJ in the reception/bar area - although quite overwhelming after a long haul flight from the UK! humorous labels in room I was given a free upgrade on arrival to a pool/city view room due to an overbooking problem - more than happy with that!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay ☺️
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough loo paper !

    The staff were very friendly & helpful. Loved that they allowed free early check-in if a room was ready which it was ! Check out time of 1pm was great which was more relaxed for me as my flight departed at 4.50pm. Groovy hotel as well 😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.6
    In need of a thorough overhaul
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Off-putting musty smell in the corridors; insufficient clothing storage; deafening thumping music from the bar/lounge on Friday/Saturday nights; holier-than-thou security and desk staff

    Super-comfortable bed, nice, spacious bath

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    A little overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price would have expected a little more luxurious rooms. Seem to pay for location alone. Would look elsewhere in future.

    Great location on sunset near the action.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.0
    Ok, despite my Gucci lents and the Nasty Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Gucci Lents got stolen from the Valet parking And the Pool is so dirty, I usually don't write or take my time to do this evaluations but this time I spend over $1000 and this is totally Unfair

    The Location and the interior Design

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    I would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff did their job but weren't quite friendly enough for me.

    Fantastic location. Big room with a good sized balcony and great view over Hollywood. I loved lazing around the pool for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Super cool, great vibe and knock out pina colada's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    The pool at weekends gets quite busy (add to that our stay included Labor Day which mean't it was packed). So we headed out to Malibu, Venice and Santa Barbara till it died down. All good : )

    The staff and vibe of The Standard made it for us, really cool and chilled without feeling too dull.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Perfect spot and facilities for the price.
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thebeds could have been higher off the ground. As eclectic as the menu was at the restaurant and the pool I would have personally preferred it featured some "ordinary" basics.

    Front desk staff very helpful and informative- almost caring.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Cool place to see and be seen on sunset - with a great pool area, food and cocktails!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a hot tub and a later Bar!

    Very cool place - great pool area, great food and fab cocktails - you don't have to leave the hotel to have a Hollywood experience given the Sex and The City LA episodes were filmed here! Great shower as well in the room 😝

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.0
    The Standard has to think about becoming the BASIC
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 5 years of staying. Nothing has changed - and I think it needs a refurb in the rooms. The Alma which I loved isn't great either - the once 24 hour diner had good food & cooked correctly. Now it's over priced and it's not even mediocre. The noise in room was terrible as it was above the kitchen so you can imagine wasn't quiet.

    The Pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    YOU CAN DO BEETER FOR THIS PRICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't take the sunset rooms! it feels that the road is in your room and the feeling is that the hotel is very old and they just painted it a little to make it feel nice. if you need a clean shower it is not a great place for you because the tiles in the shower are black and it is not mold it is just because the tiles are really old

    no breakfast included but there is a resturant in the hotel and the breakfast is nice and not expenssive. the place is to pricey than it is worth but the location is really nice its 20 min from universal and is on sunset blvd.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    3.3
    Very painful and uncomfortable especially when you pay $300/nite.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My bed was defective and we could not sleep whole nite. It took 3 reminders before it was fixed. Hotel is very noisy and we could hear the party music until 12.30 am. I was supposed to stay in this hotel for 4 days but checked out after 2 days, Manger was very rude and uncooperative. I will never stay in this hotel again.

    NA

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Perfect WeHo stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On Saturdays the pool deck can get a little crowded and chaotic, but if you can handle it, it is very fun.

    The staff was very helpful and the vibe of the pool deck was exactly what I was looking for.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    2.5
    I will never stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is really old hotel, it was the oldest hotel ever stayed in our trip..elevator mostly out of service..had to use the other service elevator in the end of the hall..totally disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    For younger person
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was out dated. Sink was clogged . ask for quiet room there is no quiet rooms in this hotel. TV didn't work.

    Restaurant was good, cool place for younger group of people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Really nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if the hotel is nice, it is really expensive. As residents of the hotel we had to pay 38$ more for the parking a day... I don't really appreciate it.

    We inform them that we were on honeymoon, they upgraded Us and the room was amazing. Perfect view... The hotel is perfectly located on the hills and maybe what we can think it was calm (but it was not on ween-end).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Overpricy 80's hotel!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The look of the room is cheap. The noise by the poil untill midnight, they should give earbuds to sleep. The stripper in the fish bowl it's not art. It doesn't need that in the entrance. It creates uncomfortableness

    The bed is really confortable. The view is pretty from the balcony. Great location. Restaurant of the hotel open late

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    West Hollywood - good and bad
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in was not very helpful or welcoming, the extensive cost for parking would be way better if it were just included in the room price, and the vibe was more pretentious than previous The Standard hotels I have stayed at before.

    If you want to be in the heart of West Hollywood, the location is good. The valet employees and luggage handlers were great. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Valet staff were outstanding, friendly and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Valet staff were outstanding, friendly and informative. Rooms were very good, quirky and the bathroom and bed were as close to perfect as you can get.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Consistent with previous stellar experiences I've had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Consistent with previous stellar experiences I've had with other Standard Hotels. Great location in West Hollywood with great respectful staff. Recommended especially for younger LA visitors - young crowd, awesome pool (which sometimes hosts parties). The rooms are an impressive size with great lighting. Bonus - hotel is dog friendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Standard, Hollywood traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: