Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Standard, Hollywood This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

8300 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90069, United States of America

#172 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 562 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Always like this hotel for a cool and happening stay with amazing pool area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was actually surprised to see two kids at the pool area. Would be great if this was kids free (can't understand why you want to stay here with kids anyway) But I guess it is not often this happens.

    I always enjoy The Standard. The location is awesome, the pool area really nice, and rooms modern and nice. Sure, if you just want a really quite night in relaxed surroundings, you might look elsewhere. The hotel is happening, and the pool area is busy till late. But if you are a young couple or solo traveller who likes a more edgy and happening hotel, this is a great choise! Bonus info: I recommend spending a little extra on a room with pool view as Sunset Blv. can by quite noizy,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    5.8
    You have options, use them
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I arrived on a motorcycle loaded with bags the door kid just looked at me without saying hi, offering any help at all. The guy working the next morning was great. Marcus at the front desk was very helpful

    Location is top notch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Loved it! The Standard Hollywood is dope
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything really. First time at this location. Quick valet and was able to check in early with no problem. Was down at the pool having a cocktail and apps in no time. Before you know it the pool was packed and decided to rack up a tab. Went to Catch for dinner a little buzzed, then Harlowe bar for drinks. Back to the hotel and then hit the strip. In and out of the hotel until the bars closed, ended up having a blast. Late checkout def made all the difference. Allowed for sleeping in and ordering french toast. Quick valet on the way out, no complaints other than I wanted to stay and party more at the pool. Young couple mid 30s / late 20s. Very West Hollywood. Prefect location for hitting the strip. Will return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.2
    the bed was so comfy, such a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is quite expensive... but probably worth the cost for the benefits

    the bed was so comfy, such a great location! the pool was gorgeous and the staff were great. highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay in West Hollywood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are nice and big, though could do with an extra piece of furniture or two, as they feel a bit sparse.

    Beautiful hotel with a pleasant and kitschy feel to it. The bar/restaurant downstairs is open all night and serves fantastic food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    3.8
    Must have been great 5 years ago.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were not friendly. I didn't get the feeling that they were there to help. The hotel is REALLY old. The carpets are dirty, and the rooms and bathrooms are old.

    The location was good, and the Valet staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    8.8
    Close to everything, comfortable, friendly and very stylish with cool staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool area given over to function on Memorial Day - didn’t feel comfortable to go there even though we were hotel guests

    Welcoming lobby and pool, great diner, friendly informal staff, inclusivity and activism

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    6.7
    The hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is noisy with AC equipment on the top of the roof and the one glass window on Sunset Boulevard. There is too muxh willungness from the staff of the restaurant to make you consume more and ni reasonable offering for breakfast.

    The hotel location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    7.5
    Bed was super comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms felt more like a motel than hotel. The lobby and pool area felt like they had put a lot more effort into the aesthetic than the rooms.

    Bed was super comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.1
    The door to our patio would not close but the maintenance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door to our patio would not close but the maintenance staff was great and prompt in fixing. The bathroom soap is black and this seems silly. It makes a mess on the bathroom sink. The pool area is nice the restaurant fresh and clean but the hallways to the room seem kind of worn-out and tacky. The rooms however are good size and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.9
    I found the staff very awkward and didn’t have much customer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the staff very awkward and didn’t have much customer service. They we not at all trained on how to welcome people. I felt a bit awkward when talking to the front desk. But overall it was nice and the location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very noisy till very late (beyond 12.30/1 am). I think there was a nightclub operating there. We were promised and paid for an upgrade to quiet rooms, however they overlooked the pool area which was extremely noisy playing loud doof doof music to the early morning. The supplied earplugs did nothing to mute the noise. We did receive a free breakfast and the upgrades were complimentary once we complained, but we did not sleep for two nights having travelled from Australia. We would never stay there again.

    This hotel should be renamed SubStandard. I did not like anything about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    9.6
    The property needs to be non-smoking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property needs to be non-smoking. Didn't like having to smell cigarette smoke while at pool area and while in room (overlooking pool). Ashtrays aren't cool. Smoking and second hand smoke KILLS, and we're better than that. Please consider making the change #truth

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.4
    Thank you Mr. Somerset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My experience at the hotel wasn't good due to the poor service at the front desk. However I must remark that their manager Mr Somerset was extremely helpful and willing to make my experience better once I told him about my problems and he managed to solve them. It's important for me to remark this because he really tried his best to give me the best experience possible and i really appreciate this. If everyone working at the hotel was like him, i'm sure the best service in LA.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.1
    Ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very plastic type of hotel - right next to the Road. Think stay would have Been better if you get Another room that has a view towards pool or if its not located groundfloor..

    Good location, ok price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    3.8
    Old, worn out, mouldly and over priced. Totally shocked for a Standard Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worst Standard I've ever stayed at. An extremely dated venue. It was dark, smelly, old and mouldy. I simply cannot believe this is acceptable for the price they are charging. Never ever again.

    The staff at the café - very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.7
    Being a returning customer (spent there at least 50 nights...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very disappointed with the dining situation this time. Eat-in phone number literally NEVER picks up. And the 24/7 diner just provided the worst careless service the one morning I tried to go there. Also charge $50 for parking is ridiculous.

    Being a returning customer (spent there at least 50 nights so far), the management staff is always the nicest. I do enjoy the rooms and the property in general a lot. Perfect location as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    gluten free waffles were literally TO DIE FOR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pool wait staff was hard to track down to order drinks.

    gluten free waffles were literally TO DIE FOR. aesthetic of everything is on point. and I love that it hasn't really changed since I first visited in 2008 :) it's epic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    Prime location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could be better maintained, some furniture is old and shows wear&tear. 42usd a day parking for hotel guests is pricey but hard to avoid since there are few public parking spaces

    Staff is super friendly and accomodating, also definitely a "place to be", the pool partys are legendary

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    7.9
    Above average service but left a little to be desired.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities need a little refresh. 3 of our 4 rooms had issues with lamps, water temperature, and one, being located near the elevator fan mechanism, was constantly vibrating.

    We liked the atmosphere and walkability of the hotel. The staff was so accommodating and the food at Croft Alley exceeded our expectations

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool was in maintenance our second day . We were very disapointed because we could not take advantage of it or have breakfast on the terrace.

    The staff was very friendly and the location great. Finally,we had a room with view on the swimming pool which was also really great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money in an excellent location, great staff - too much music!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise level - constant music on loud - They have said it's a party space but it was too much for those that weren't constantly up for a party No bedroom slippers!

    Size of the room, Proficiency of staff and atmoshphere, food and general service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    6.7
    great location and decoration and style
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    too loud. music until late without double glass windows. you hear the room upstairs. the constructions works were also not ideal

    great location and decoration and style

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    3.3
    Learned a lesson
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was not ready at 6pm The place was loud and the heater sounds like a jet engine. They put us in a room across a dog park so it was very loud from all sides. We were woken up @3:45 am and could not go back to sleep because it was so loud. My wife has epilepsy and then had multiple seizures die to lack of sleep. They did comp our night but I think that was the least they could do. The front desk staff was not competent or caring for that matter.

    The manager was good at handling a poor stay and realizing that they had not performed their duties. I think he should manage a better place as he was very competent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    10
    Soho Grand is a on trend hotel in fabulous location, with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the friendliness of the staff, they were great to chat to to get information and suggestions. The bar and restaurants were super cool and the decor in the bedrooms was modern and trendy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    10
    As usual, everything I’m looking for in a hotel. Comfort and a vibe in a central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant/room service menu is quite snazzy, but maybe I would like some more pedestrian options too (I’m probably on my own there though!).

    Enjoyed the mini bar options, good shower facilities, post cards, really enjoyed it all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointed.
    • Group
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom and shower floor in room 306 was filthy. Is that black mold??? Restaurant was a disaster both quality of food, attention to detail, and personnel.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    10
    One of - if not the best I have ever had on a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really can’t think of a whole lot that I didn’t like. It was just awesome. Even. The lighting in the hallways - just a fabulous experience.

    It was such a cool decor and the staff was superb. I loved the “ uniforms “ the bar tenders made phenomenal drinks and the room was trendy yet comfortable. I also like the “ private club “. Great DJ and intimate environment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    6.7
    Super cool but need to be careful coolness isn't overshadowed by old school genuine service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise. Either disco noise, dog park noise or pool party noise. Staff did their best to move us to a quiet room however the window glass isn't from this century either.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    6.3
    I'll be heading back to the Mondrian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - It's an actual 60's motel. - Rooms are drab - Walls are paper thin. The room next door had a party in the middle of the night and it may as well have been in my room. - I could hear the entire conversation in the bathroom next door as if they were in the room thru the extractor fan. - There is zero aural privacy between rooms

    - Location is great. - It's a cool hotel with that 60's vibe. - Pleasant staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    9.2
    Trendy Hollywood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really funky and trendy! The staff were all amazing, I was really impressed. I arrived to the hotel with a injured foot and could not walk, the staff did so much to accomodate me, they were really fantastic! My only regrets is that we did not stay longer!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.6
    Great location and amazing pool area with live music.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location and amazing pool area with live music. The staff were great and the hotel is very central if wanting to go out in West Hollywood or to go to Runyon canyon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    9.2
    A very reasonable choice for a tourist in LA
    • Couple
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't really love room decoration, but that didn't affect our experience The bathroom ventilation that never goes off

    Very convenient location, great vibe, excellent customer service, great bar-restaurant open 24 hrs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    8.3
    I like the Standard feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I like the Standard feel. Lively lobby and pool area everytime. Nice people around. Rooms are large and cosy. Good location. Hollywood, Weho and Beverly Hills are very close, a short Lyft or Uber ride from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    3.3
    Worst stay ever in a standard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why pay $300 for a nice room when you actually get a Motel 6 kind of room. No AC, pop corn ceiling, completely cheap and outdated bathroom, TV from early 2000's, dirty capret, paper walls.. you can hear people talking next rooms, and I am not talking about the sound isolation from Sunset blvd... On top of that get charged for mini bar consumption that we did not... would have like to use the water in the minibar but we did not get any but charged for it! ($26.. for 2 bottles of water... stop by CVS if you need water guys...) You want a nice room near by, Mondrian, The London... but certainly not the Standard Sunset Blvd!

    What did I like? Not much.. felt scammed...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    6.3
    Odd but comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The halls very poorly lite and dingy and old the construction was terrible the restaurant downstairs afford strange options! The air conditioning vents were super strange and loud!

    The beds the pillows the shower the balcony pool side bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    7.1
    enjoyable !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pricey hotel! free upgrade softened that blow! rooms could do with a bit of a freshen up (cork tiles lifted on bathroom floor) and room although spacious, felt really sparse and not unlike IKEA from the 70's!

    design and quirkiness of the hotel....was really like a motel DJ in the reception/bar area - although quite overwhelming after a long haul flight from the UK! humorous labels in room I was given a free upgrade on arrival to a pool/city view room due to an overbooking problem - more than happy with that!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay ☺️
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough loo paper !

    The staff were very friendly & helpful. Loved that they allowed free early check-in if a room was ready which it was ! Check out time of 1pm was great which was more relaxed for me as my flight departed at 4.50pm. Groovy hotel as well 😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    4.6
    In need of a thorough overhaul
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Off-putting musty smell in the corridors; insufficient clothing storage; deafening thumping music from the bar/lounge on Friday/Saturday nights; holier-than-thou security and desk staff

    Super-comfortable bed, nice, spacious bath

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.5
    A little overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price would have expected a little more luxurious rooms. Seem to pay for location alone. Would look elsewhere in future.

    Great location on sunset near the action.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    5.0
    Ok, despite my Gucci lents and the Nasty Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My Gucci Lents got stolen from the Valet parking And the Pool is so dirty, I usually don't write or take my time to do this evaluations but this time I spend over $1000 and this is totally Unfair

    The Location and the interior Design

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    7.5
    I would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff did their job but weren't quite friendly enough for me.

    Fantastic location. Big room with a good sized balcony and great view over Hollywood. I loved lazing around the pool for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    8.8
    Super cool, great vibe and knock out pina colada's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    The pool at weekends gets quite busy (add to that our stay included Labor Day which mean't it was packed). So we headed out to Malibu, Venice and Santa Barbara till it died down. All good : )

    The staff and vibe of The Standard made it for us, really cool and chilled without feeling too dull.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    Perfect spot and facilities for the price.
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thebeds could have been higher off the ground. As eclectic as the menu was at the restaurant and the pool I would have personally preferred it featured some "ordinary" basics.

    Front desk staff very helpful and informative- almost caring.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    8.8
    Cool place to see and be seen on sunset - with a great pool area, food and cocktails!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could do with a hot tub and a later Bar!

    Very cool place - great pool area, great food and fab cocktails - you don't have to leave the hotel to have a Hollywood experience given the Sex and The City LA episodes were filmed here! Great shower as well in the room 😝

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    5.0
    The Standard has to think about becoming the BASIC
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After 5 years of staying. Nothing has changed - and I think it needs a refurb in the rooms. The Alma which I loved isn't great either - the once 24 hour diner had good food & cooked correctly. Now it's over priced and it's not even mediocre. The noise in room was terrible as it was above the kitchen so you can imagine wasn't quiet.

    The Pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    6.7
    YOU CAN DO BEETER FOR THIS PRICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't take the sunset rooms! it feels that the road is in your room and the feeling is that the hotel is very old and they just painted it a little to make it feel nice. if you need a clean shower it is not a great place for you because the tiles in the shower are black and it is not mold it is just because the tiles are really old

    no breakfast included but there is a resturant in the hotel and the breakfast is nice and not expenssive. the place is to pricey than it is worth but the location is really nice its 20 min from universal and is on sunset blvd.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    3.3
    Very painful and uncomfortable especially when you pay $300/nite.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My bed was defective and we could not sleep whole nite. It took 3 reminders before it was fixed. Hotel is very noisy and we could hear the party music until 12.30 am. I was supposed to stay in this hotel for 4 days but checked out after 2 days, Manger was very rude and uncooperative. I will never stay in this hotel again.

    NA

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    Perfect WeHo stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On Saturdays the pool deck can get a little crowded and chaotic, but if you can handle it, it is very fun.

    The staff was very helpful and the vibe of the pool deck was exactly what I was looking for.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    2.5
    I will never stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is really old hotel, it was the oldest hotel ever stayed in our trip..elevator mostly out of service..had to use the other service elevator in the end of the hall..totally disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    5.4
    For younger person
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was out dated. Sink was clogged . ask for quiet room there is no quiet rooms in this hotel. TV didn't work.

    Restaurant was good, cool place for younger group of people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    9.2
    Really nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even if the hotel is nice, it is really expensive. As residents of the hotel we had to pay 38$ more for the parking a day... I don't really appreciate it.

    We inform them that we were on honeymoon, they upgraded Us and the room was amazing. Perfect view... The hotel is perfectly located on the hills and maybe what we can think it was calm (but it was not on ween-end).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    6.3
    Overpricy 80's hotel!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The look of the room is cheap. The noise by the poil untill midnight, they should give earbuds to sleep. The stripper in the fish bowl it's not art. It doesn't need that in the entrance. It creates uncomfortableness

    The bed is really confortable. The view is pretty from the balcony. Great location. Restaurant of the hotel open late

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    7.5
    West Hollywood - good and bad
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in was not very helpful or welcoming, the extensive cost for parking would be way better if it were just included in the room price, and the vibe was more pretentious than previous The Standard hotels I have stayed at before.

    If you want to be in the heart of West Hollywood, the location is good. The valet employees and luggage handlers were great. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    9.2
    Valet staff were outstanding, friendly and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Valet staff were outstanding, friendly and informative. Rooms were very good, quirky and the bathroom and bed were as close to perfect as you can get.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    9.6
    Consistent with previous stellar experiences I've had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Consistent with previous stellar experiences I've had with other Standard Hotels. Great location in West Hollywood with great respectful staff. Recommended especially for younger LA visitors - young crowd, awesome pool (which sometimes hosts parties). The rooms are an impressive size with great lighting. Bonus - hotel is dog friendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    6.7
    Friendly but basic hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in need of a facelift. The corridors to the rooms make one feel like being in a motel and have an unpleasant odeur. The rooms are big but soulless and could benefit from some artwork. It feels as if someone tried to achieve a sleek, minimalistic design but the outcome is actually just basic. Same goes for the pool area. Soundproofing of the rooms is very poor, we could hear every step of the people above. Parking services were excellent but at USD 38 overnight we found it expensive.

    All staff was very welcoming, helpful and friendly. We did not like our allocated room and were transferred to another one the next day free of charge which we really appreciated. Room cleaning services were excellent and another big plus is 24 hours room service offering warm dishes. The crowd staying in this hotel is cool and unpretentious. There is live DJ entertainment in the lobby almost every day and the hotel has a club. Location is good for easy access to Beverly Hills and Hollywood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    5.8
    Great value, beware of the shortfalls
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast menu was very limited and should have been more basic. Who wants herbed arugula on everything?....breakfast needs to be hearty and a lot more selection...I ordered scrambled eggs they were cold and looked like they were left in the sun before I got them....need a better bread like panini or quality baguette. Also being in a Sunset Room I couldn't have the window opened at night because of road noise. Unfortunately the A/C was on or off and it was arctic....i coughed all night.

    The pool staff generally bear pleasant and the housekeeping was exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    8.3
    Cool Spot - Felt OK but was not wowed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Standard was a solid option, however it felt like it lacked the oomph of other Standards that I've stayed in - is this a refurbished hotel? Pool area and views were great Funky reception/lounge area and happy, attentive staff Rooms a good size with modern bathrooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This support hotel has hidden service fee (vallet parking) that is not explicitly mention at the reservation which turn the actual price covered for your room much higher than the price contracted on booking.com. Not fair at all !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    8.8
    The staff was excellent, very friendly and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaning staff do a great job cleaning the rooms, but it seems like the rooms and hallways are due for a renovation. The rooms and dark hallways had a little bit of a musty smell and seem to be a bit worn.

    The staff was excellent, very friendly and courteous. The location is excellent. The room was large and bright. Breakfast in the hotel was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    7.5
    Cool in The City !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pool was a bit too busy for my liking possibly as they allow non hotel guests to use it ... .. also The in room wi fi was really poor too

    The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    5.4
    The sub-standard hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Hollywood Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entire hotel is completely rundown. Compared to other hotels in the area like the Grafton for example in a similar price range, the Standard looks like it's a three star motel . The music in the lounge at night I'm sure was entertaining for guests that wanted to relax in the lobby and pool area however if you are trying to sleep in any of the surrounding rooms it was a bit of a nuisance to have live music on at night during the week. This is not a good place to stay on a business trip, rather maybe visit for lunch or brunch to sit by the pool or for a drink before going out for the night.

    Good restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    8.8
    Great time!!
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a little old. It has some modern amenities however still has an old hollywood feel.

    The location of the hotel is amazing! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful! The hotel has an amazing energy that makes you not want to leave.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    6.7
    Very hip — in fact, too hip for comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furnishings were clean, but old – mid-century/mod styling that at times felt too old. The room was clammy, even though it was not particularly humid outside. The lighting in the hallway was all blue, which was odd. The whole hotel felt like it was trying so hard to be trendy that comfort was not a priority.

    The location is excellent, and the staff were nice enough. The rooms were clean, including the bathroom. We needed underground, secure parking and the valet staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    6.7
    Fun but odd
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed squeaked

    Very unusual to have lady lying in a tank behind reception! When we arrived on a Sunday afternoon there was a pool party with VERY loud music. If I was maybe 40+ I would tend to stay clear.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    7.9
    Great location in West Hollywood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I geneuinely thought I had booked a room with two Queen beds. It wasn't until we got into it that we found out it was one bed, I was sure the booking.com website had said two beds as that is their normal approach. Anyway, we paid $50 extra per night to have a two bed room which was spacious and much nicer. There were times when the communal areas were a bit dirty, we checked out very early in the morning and the carpets were covered in all sorts - I guess nobody wants to hoover at 4am though so I think it would have been sorted at a more sociable hour! It's a nice hotel, to me, it felt like a fancy hostel rather than hotel

    This hotel is in a great West Hollywood location. Valet is taken care of quickly and easily and the guys are really friendly. Checking in was quick and the atmosphere around the place was buzzing with the DJ playing tunes to suit the time of day. Our room was spacious and quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay, eat at the POOL. Avoid room service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ordered room service which was overpriced and underwhelming. So very disappointed because we bypassed many eating options just to dine in. The eggs were cold and the ketchup was sour. The chicken and waffles were sad. We did dine at the pool the next day and had the most amazing cheeseburger. Overall our stay was nice. I would eat at the pool again but never room service, that actually may affect my stay in the future.

    Our stay was pleasant. All the employees we encountered were helpful. Check in and out was fast and easy. We did dine at the pool and had the most amazing cheeseburger. The server was attentive and helpful. Valet was quick and easy. The gentleman actually showed me a feature on my vehicle I had no idea existed. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and somewhat sparse in decor but met our needs. Overall our stay was nice. I would eat at the pool again but never room service, that may affect my stay in the future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    The not so Standard, Standard Hollywood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very cool hotel. Not really a Standard Hotel, hence the upside down logo. Valet was fast and friendly. Check in was effortless and the front desk even managed to get us some restaurant reservations that we were having some difficulty booking either online, or by app. Even at places that had turned us down, like the Chateau Marmont restaurant, we were able to get very decent tables. If it was good enough for Andy Garcia who had dinner next to us, it's good enough for us. The room had a 50's vibe to it, that I wasn't really sure from the pictures, but in person was much nicer. The bed and linens were awesome, and the pillows were amazing (they even sell them on their website). The mini bar and other stuff they got on the hotel room were also very good. From a Harry's shaving kit, to candles, get up and go juice for the jet lag, advil, and much much more. The bathroom wasn't that big, but hey, it's just to do what you gotta do and go, right... The pool, and bar were also very lively although the weather wasn't that great. The restaurant ALMA, was good, we had breakfast there during our stay. Try the coffee granola, it's out of this world. Open 24/7 The overall experience was a thing to remember. ps: they even have a Warby Parker Store in the lobby. Since we don't get them in Europe we had to buy 3 pairs of glasses.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    2.5
    Basically a youth hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived and there wasn't a valet. No bag boy either. Had to park my own car and bring in my own bags. Later was approached by a valet and no apology was offered. All the staff think they're hanging out at a hipster bar. I guess that's their "thing" at the standard and has been for years. But the hotel is crumbling and gets dirtier every year I stay. Carpets and furniture get older and the pool gets dirtier. And the level of service remains completely unprofessional and even basic manners aren't used. Part of My booking was messed up in one of the rooms for one of my guests and I was told call booking.com and sort it out myself. They couldn't even pick up the phone for me? In short - this is not a 4 star hotel, it's a 3 star hotel for people in their 20s, I guess it's become kind of a hostel really. The nightly rate should be reflected at a 3 star level.

    Location is good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    6.3
    Expensive and Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room, although large, had low bed, just 1 hard plastic chair plus beanbag, hardly suitable for Senior Citizens. No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Breakfast very expensive and we were even charged $19 for minibar which had never been used. This charge appeared after we had returned home so payment had already been deducted. Contacted Hotel via email requesting explanation / refund but no courtesy of a reply

    Convenient location, allowed to check in early

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    7.5
    cool old Hollywood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's very cliquey. as a couple, it was hard to enjoy the pool and bar because big groups of locals go there.

    cool place, like stepping back into old Hollywood.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    8.3
    Energy! Fun! Great for everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hallways are a bit prison like, and doesn't represent the rest of the hotels bright fun energy- Instead of the blue/gray prison wall cold color A statement in Orange would be fun and reflect the rest of the hotel - then again - I'm talking about it as a negative, but I am talking about it

    Fun hotel, rooms and energetic Lobby Excellent location !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    5.0
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a very odd smell on the 2nd floor. Also, the room was really outdated and the cost seemed to high for the hotel.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    5.0
    Party hotel. Avoid in case of a business stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SunSet Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin walls. You can hear voices in corridor and footsteps above room. If you book, get a room on the 3rd floor (top floor).

    Shower with strong pressure. Spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Standard, Hollywood Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: