Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. Colorado hotel reviews
  4. Estes Park hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Stanley Hotel

Reviews of The Stanley Hotel 4 stars

333 Wonderview Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517, USA

#34 of 38 hotels in Estes Park

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 463 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    9.6
    We stayed at the aspire- I lived how it was within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the aspire- I lived how it was within walking distance of the Stanley but far enough away from all of the tourists. Huge rooms with a balcony and they were clean!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    7.9
    Fun, but probably not going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some confusion at check-in, partially my fault and partially the hotel staff. There was a LOT of dust in the room, but I am from Germans so, maybe too critical. It took several (many) requests and time to get the roll-away up to our room. The food was good, but maybe a little overpriced, with no sides at all appearing on the plate. The menu could be clearer about no sides with the entrees.

    My granddaughter enjoyed the haunted tour. Building and area was beautiful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    9.2
    Our rooms or cold at night because the heat was off. The front desk manager did the best job she cou
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms or cold at night because the heat was off. The front desk manager did the best job she could to satisfy us. Her name is Kaylee and she is wonderful. Sorry if I missed spelled her name

    I like the tradition of the Stanley Hotel

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    7.1
    It was a beautiful historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do other than go to the bar or take a tour. I kind of wish they had more amenities (I.e., spa)

    It was a beautiful historic hotel. Even for the hotel being 100+ years old, it is very well kept while still keeping its charm.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, charming place. Great hotel staff and fun romantic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets were scratchy. I missed my sheets at home for how much you pay per night, linens should be top end and not pulling everywhere. They didn’t vacuum the stairs from the lobby for three days. Other than one bartender , the service in the bar and restraunt was lacking. We stared at our soup for 5 mins before we got silverware and that was after asking.

    The charm, size of room, the staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is so beautiful and majestic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Was great

    This hotel is so beautiful and majestic. It is over 100 years old so you have to appreciate how it is stilling standing and going strong. It is more like a huge house than a standard hotel so the rooms are smaller and not sound proof but they are very cozy. The views are gorgeous and the bar and restaurant are great! We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    5.8
    The facility needs major improvement!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility needs major improvement! Moldy smell in room especially in the closet. Now all my close smell of that. Tub faucet leak the whole time . Place needs updating

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    5.4
    Very expensive. Didn’t sleep well. Bed was uneven. Tv missing channels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was falling because slats were not secure. Tv didn’t have fox sports channel and there was a baseball championship game on. Too expensive for what we got.

    Sophie’s tour was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    8.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, the hot water didn’t work properly and had to be fixed. There also was lots of equipment throughout the hall.

    Liked the historic features- it’s a beautiful hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    7.9
    Great location and everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is fairly expensive, because it's a tourist attraction. We did the night tour, which I wouldn't recommend. They highlight the underground caves in the description, but it's really just one tiny, underground room. All of the history and information is interesting though. I'd do a day tour so the hotel part is included (they don't do it at night to avoid disturbing the guests).

    It's a beautiful hotel, in a great location. The food and drinks at Cascades restaurant were great! Make sure you make a reservation, especially if it's on a weekend.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    5.0
    Don’t stay!!!! It’s a beauty to visit and take pics but not worth paying for one night!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel for the amount of money i paid for one night, i was better off at a super 8 motel, at least I’d be getting what i paid for. Let’s start off with visible hair on the restroom floor, no fridge or microwave in room, the bed was horrifically uncomfortable, the fixtures were outdated which I’m sure is a must, paper thin walls, i heard nothing but voices outside my room the entire night, running down the hallways, might of not helped that i stayed on Halloween night, the front desk guy who looked oriented “sorry not trying to sound racist” was not friendly at all. Everything in the gift shop is overrated and over priced. A small keychain cost $14.00!!! Unfortunately i had to stick with just post cards. The Cascades restaurant had poor choices for dinner, the prices are outrageous, just for a entree lowest price was $21 Only reason why i stayed was for the movie the shining and iam a big Stephen king fan. I wouldn’t recommend this place. Your better off looking for a better deal somewhere closer to town.

    I liked the view scenery outside, i liked the keuring coffee machine offered in the room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    7.9
    The location and history of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The borderline clean jetted tubs in the guest baths should be switched to step in showers. The condition of the tubs was no enticement to do anything but take a quick hot shower and get out. And the bathrooms are large enough to accommodate larger vanities.

    The location and history of the property

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    10
    My favorite place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Traditional Junior Suite - The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What didn’t I like? Beautiful old , but not cramped, hotel, in a spectacular setting. Staff was wonderful. The interior is lovely. You can explore the “haunted” property, take a tour, eat well, drive a short distance to town. The maze is fun! A most enjoyable stay, at a good price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    5.0
    just stay at a motel 6
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the money at all. Hotel is falling apart. Rooms have poor upkeep peeling wallpaper chunks stained bed sheets. Room cost not worth it. Feels like a motel 6 in Denver in room except maybe worse.

    Tour was fun

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    8.8
    Would love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room – The Lodge at The Stanley
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality was excellent. Only problem Was heat and dryness on third floor. It was very uncomfortable at night even with all windows open. Perhaps humidifiers would help.

    Hospitality

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Here's Johnny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful historic hotel in the Rocky Mountains. Wife and I also did the ghost tour that night. A must do for anyone looking to add some fun to their stay. Breakfast the next morning as we watched the first snowfall of the season. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, we will definitely be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar staff were very rude to us, they were very snotty which I didn’t appreciate considering we were there two days.

    Hotel was beautiful!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.4
    The location and the aesthetic of the hotel is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. Would hazard a guess is as old as the hotel. Many of the staff seemed unsure about the facilities, processes or what the hotel had on offer.

    The location and the aesthetic of the hotel is great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    The history of the place was palpable, we took both the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The history of the place was palpable, we took both the history tour and spirit tour during our stay. The hotel was nothing short of amazing. The town of Estes Park was an absolute pleasant surprise, beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    We were staying in the Aspire Residence, the room was...
    • People with friends
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints to our stay other than we requested early check-in, we were attending a 4pm wedding and check in is at 4pm. A large quantity of the guests were driving 3+ hours, on top of the guests that were also flying in and the early check in request system seemed slightly flawed. I reached out by phone and was informed that my room was in fact empty, and would be bumped up on the list to clean first, the woman on the phone was so pleasant and nice about it, but when I arrived at 1pm as she said..come to find out, the request wasnt relayed to the cleaning staff. So they took our phone number and said they would call when it was ready....and even then it seems a little all over the place. I know it was a busy weekend, and Im sure the staff had a lot of rooms to do the same thing to, so I wouldnt let this deter you from staying here!

    We were staying in the Aspire Residence, the room was absolutely incredible, modern, clean with a couple beautiful vintage style pieces to keep with the antique feel of the main Stanley building. Originally we were disappointed we were not in the main building, but the size of the room and how impeccable everything was, we were very content.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    Gorgeous location, historic but could use some updates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the cost I expected a little more comfort. The linens were shabby- the bottom sheet kept slipping off the end so our feet were on the plastic mattress cover. Toiletries were never replaced. Electrical outlets are fee and poorly placed. Had to carry the Kurig coffee maker into the bathroom and balance it on the sink to use it Restaurant service and food good but there were chips in the dinnerware.

    Was a historic hotel and very beautiful location. Loved the ambiance of yesteryear.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    One time last time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Person registering us talked to and looked at her computer screen instead of looking at me the guest. Very low first impression of the staff.

    The grounds, bed & Elk

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Loved it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t notice anything that needs to be changed. It really exceeded our expectations. We loved the hotel and the beautiful scenery. The Aspire room was wonderful and very spacious with a fabulous patio attached.

    We loved everything about the Stanley! It was perfect in every way!! Our room exceeded our expectations. We will definitely stay again if we are ever back in Estes Park. Thank you so much. We had a fabulous experience!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.8
    Close to RMNP.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only decafinated coffee was offered in the room. The room was tired and needed cosmetic attention.

    the History & location. Whiskey bar and rear patio were delightful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. A little disappointed this was not THE historic stanley burr the view and the room more than made up for it. Once in a lifetime experience

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    4.5
    Glad we went, but would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very much a tourist destination, packed! You have to check in at the gate to get to the car park. With the exception of employees in the bar/Cascades Restaurant, employees had an attitiude of arrogance and were overly anxious to explain the “rules”. NOT a 5 star hotel, uncomforable and hot rooms (windows sealed shut) and minimal services.

    Steeped in history, and enjoyed hearing alot of interesting stories about the hotel. Good food in Cascades.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    I would defiantly stay here again love the history and beauty of the Stanley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King - The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds need to be replaced and are a little lumpy and this is a heavily touristed historic motel and the guest floors need to have security access to keep random people from wandering the hallways at all hours

    Love the historic property and that this gem is being preserved for many generations to come. Rooms are beautiful and like stepping back in time to a stately summer vacation resort.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay in an historic hotel and beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There needs to be more attention to cleanliness and minor repairs-dusty and scuffed woodwork-nothing that spoiled our stay but noticable and easily remedied.

    Historic hotel in a beautiful setting with inviting lobby which has deep comfortable seating and two fireplaces. Many period antiques and artwork.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great, historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’d request a room on level 2 or 3 as 4 was quite warm as heat rises & even though it was really cool overnight, the aircon struggled!!

    Historic & iconic, The Stanley is a character all on its own. We spent two nights. We were in room 411 (top floor) & it was comfortable & very clean. It’s a bit posh which is great. As guests, spots are held for you if you want them on the Spirit Tour ($25 USD pp) & probably for the Historic Tour as well. In the “basement” there’s a cafe which serves REDRUM Lattes (vanilla, cherry flavoured), ice creams, cakes etc. Check in was easy. We stayed in the main building. There are many others onsite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great historical hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wee bit pricey...but it's the Stanley Hotel. The ambience and history are excellent!

    The history of the hotel and the location! Older well kept hotel. There needs to be more like these.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    We had a wonderful time and will definitely come back. Great family atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are a little high but very comfortable, could use a footstool for the height challenged folks to help. The rooms could use a few more pictures on the walls. Lobby in Aspire looks more like an office than a Lobby.

    Overall a great experience. Heather in Aspire was very nice and all the staff was very nice and friendly. A beautiful place to stay. Recommend highly. Atmosphere is awesome. Historical but up to date.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    the view was beautiful and would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking- with the tours of the hotel going on as a guest there should be more "better spaces" we had to park on the dirt area because there was no available better spaces

    the history behind the hotel bar area is fantastic food was delicious

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    The history and ghost tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I got to our room and found another guests clothes in the closet. Further an empty Perrier bottle on the counter, used soap on the sink, and random hairs in the shower. Upon notifying the manager he offered to retrieve the clothes “at our convenience”, a turn down service (which never occurred) and nothing more. Not wanting to ruin our evening, I did not argue for more. We made dinner reservations at the restaurant for 7:30 and a ghost tour at 9pm. My wife and I ordered the $42 filets. My steak was requested butterflied and medium well. It arrived still having a pulse. I sent it back as my wife dined. 10 minutes later my steak arrived, stilll undercooked...red and bloody. I did not have time to send it back and make the tour. Very disappointed to say the least.

    The history and ghost tour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location and full of charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too crowded because of tours every two hours, peaple comes and goes all day. Considering high cost for one night, there"s no peace at all and not great attention to guests. I must add that I ve got a problem after leaving, not caused by the hotel, but I wrote three mail and I made a call...no reply till now. That let me down

    Great location and full of charm

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    The Incredible Stanley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was amazing.

    The staff was exceedly cordial. The facility - well it speaks for itself. Gorgeous from top to bottom. The restaurant - oh my gods delicious - both for dinner and breakfast. The grounds were meticulously kept, and beautiful to behold. In fewer words - we lived everything about the Stanley!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Very much enjoyed the comfort of old world charm and history of the Stanley Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms are what one would expect for the age of the building.

    Love the old world charm and history of The Stanley Hotel. The atmosphere, the well-designed gardens, the view, the comfortable beds and the marvelous porch on which you can sit and enjoy a drink is spectacular. The hotel is close to town to enjoy activities, shopping and the great outdoors. Love this place!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Not at all what I expected. Also, the advertisement on booking.com says there is a pool and a spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude staff. I felt like I was a burden by paying to stay there.

    The staff were obvioulsy over it. Not just me, but other guest I observed as well, it seemed as though guest were burdens and not one single member of staff smiled, or asked how our stay was. It was really disappointing. They were pretty rude. Not at all what I expected. Also, the advertisement on booking.com says there is a pool and a spa, apparently it has been boarded over for at least 2 years. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Good spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really more of a hotel to experience. The rooms are pricey for the amenities, but the modern Aspire guest facility is much more advanced.

    The surrounding gardens and views are excellent of Estes Park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Loved the aspect of the stay, hated the price from booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I utilized booking.com for my reservations and was extremely overcharged based on the standard rates available directly from the hotel that we discovered after we got there, but nothing could be changed. Will not use booking.com again.

    It was great place to stay at for the novelty of the location, history and ghost stories. Bucket list type event.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    The location is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked I reserved a king size bed suite. When I arrived they told me it was in the building across the street. I came as part of the wedding and wanted to be in the main building. There was nothing telling me about being across the street when I signed up. I had to settle with a queen size bed in a room the size of my bedroom to stay in the main building. Small cramped and ceiling curved by bed. I hit my head a few times. The 4th floor has these ceilings. Also the room only had a portable ac unit. The room was hot when we arrived. It didn’t cool down until night time when sun went down. The room warmed back up when sun came out.

    The location is amazing! The historic nature of the place is what made the discomforting part tolerable. Great character and views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    The historical detail that was preserved makes it a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room – The Lodge at The Stanley
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a view of the back entrance. Not what i was expecting at all. You make it sound like all your rooms have magnificent views but not true. I was charged twice on my card for my two night stay. It was corrected, but still have to wait 5 to 7 days for my money to be back on my card. The staff was nice but a big inconvienence.

    The historical detail that was preserved makes it a beautiful facility.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    2.5
    Dissatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last minute weather concerns changed our plans which forced us to cancel. We had to forfeit one nights charge. Thanks for nothing. Won’t use booking or Stanley hotel ever again. We won’t use any hotel that is not flexible in understanding that bad weather forecasts does affect ones plans especially when everything centers on the outdoors. Never again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    The staff (who spoke english) was very nice and enthusiastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I called the hotel prior to notify we wouldn't be checkiing in until after midnight. I had to call from my cell phone to the front desk to awaken a sleeping front desk clerk to help us. There was a large language barrier. I was told there were blow dryers in the room, there weren't. When I asked for one the front desk said she'd have housekeeping bring me one, an hour later I had to track down housekeeping and they went to retrieve one for me. Its a beautiful place but attention to corners and chipping paint would make all the difference in the world.

    The staff (who spoke english) was very nice and enthusiastic. The Aiden Sinclair show was great and night ghost tour was wonderful and Jenn the guide was crazy! (in a good way)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    Room did not live up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overhead fan in our room did not work. The chain lock on the door was broken. The room was incredibly small and a big part of the floor space was taken up by an in room air conditioner. The wallpaper was patched and appeared old and dirty in spots, though these rooms in the hotel were not originally there. Tour guide said they were added in the 80's. The overall ambiance was dreary.

    Bed frame was pretty but too big for the room. Bed comfort was fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice efficiency apartment and housekeeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite - Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only concerning thing was slight whiff of poorly vented septic line in bathroom. Not major, but noticeable on occasion.

    Great functional space with fully equipped kitchen, washer, dryer, and excellent housekeeping. They even did our light dishes in the sink. Balcony was nice too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    We could bring our dog.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room – The Lodge at the Stanley
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not helpful or friendly when we checked in. The room was tiny for a big price. No refrigerator or microwave in room. The food and drink prices were outrageous!

    We could bring our dog.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.2
    The property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air didn’t work, most of the staff can’t be bothered. The amenities where non existent for such an expensive place. The keys didn’t work for more than half of our stay. Would never go back.

    The property

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Being able to see the Stanley Hotel from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon booking the room I didn't realize I wasn't booking a room in the actual Stanley Hotel. I ended up with a room down the driveway in the more modern Aspire facility not in the actual Stanley Hotel. Tried to see if we could get a room at the Stanley and was told would have to book 2 king rooms for my family of 4 instead of the 1 room. For the price I paid if I new I wasn't staying in the Stanley I would have stayed one more night at the river lodge I was in.

    Being able to see the Stanley Hotel from our room. Taking the ghost tour in the hotel was the best. Our guide was great. The room was very modern and facility was very new with the Stanley theme on the outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Amazing experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We absolutely loved the Stanley! We were a little confused on where we would be staying on the compound but it was a fabulous visit! We were able to go to the main building to take in all of the historical beauty. The lady that checked us in at the building beside the main building was so nice! She chatted with my granddaughter, gave her a booklet for spotting wildlife!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Cool historical hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got to our room (which was in a different building and not close to the front desk) with our luggage only to find our keys not working. It was late and we had to wait for someone to bring us new keys.

    We stayed in the Aspire residences. Super comfy and awesome!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.6
    Definitely would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room – The Lodge at The Stanley
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn’t cleaned and needed to request someone to clean. Breakfast was included when we booked and we had to pay. Location is plus the hotel definitely a minus.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    Would love to come back again! Enjoyed it....wished we could have stayed longer!!!
    • Group
    • Suite – The Lodge at The Stanley
    • Stayed 1 night

    The renovation on the exterior .....even though I know that is how you keep it well preserved! Parking was very limited but we eventually got closer to the hotel.

    I loved that I actually got to see this beautiful, historical hotel...Only complaint I had was the shower backed up and the water would not drain properly...we were in room 211..... other than that it was amazing! We even experienced paranormal during the night....Amazing! Would love to come back again soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not quite as friendly as smaller hotels. A few day trippers on tours around but not as many as expected.

    Great location, nice historic building and restaurant was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved The Aspire Residences; nice big rooms, but for ambience, stay at the old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plastic cups and paper coffee cups were a bit disappointing. I know that cleaning of glassware is an issue with hotels, but with the price and caliber of this hotel, I would have expected glasses.

    Very Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Our Honeymoon and we love The Shining movie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the booth-toity restaurant on site. To pricy and the food is weird! Won’t go back. Will eat in town.

    The property is really nice. We are staying in the original part of the hotel and it’s really cool. Go on the night ghosts tour and the daytime your. You’ll learn so much! I would waste my time on their restaurant. The food was not that good. Only good part was my Caesars salad! I sent my chicken back and my husbands beet salad was weird. He got the steak and it was ok but had to be cooked longer. It wasn’t worth $28 bucks! It wasn’t that busy and my husband had to wait for a refill on his iced tea for about 30 minutes. By this time we were almost done. I did try the Red Rum lunch in the bar. Very yummy, but $15 bucks? Really. Oh well, it was a good trip overall. The tours are really fun

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Truly fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to know about the $100 hold/deposit before staying here since that is a little more expensive for a deposit than what is standard.

    The Stanley was an amazing place to stay. The history is present everywhere which was wonderful. We also greatly enjoyed the coffee shop in the basement, the Cascades restaurant and the entire view of the grounds. A nice touch was in the mornings they had two nice fireplaces going in the main lobby and seating on the grand front porch where you could eat your breakfast and drink coffee!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    The ghost tour was what saved my experience. Other than that I was really upset with the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We unfortunately were at the Aspire building which is not what I wanted. I thought I paid over $250 to stay at the actual Stanley which really to be quite honest ticked me off. Then we had no hot water! I think on any website you should make it clear about there’s other buildings you could possibly stay in. I would have never paid that much to stay at Aspire! I would have rather stayed somewhere else for half the price!

    Bed were comfortable and the room was very nice. The ghost tour was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    Don't go until the construction is complete- lots of good little rentals, restaurants in Estes Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is scaffolding all over the front of the hotel, the beautiful porch is closed for construction and the hotel is bustling with construction workers, construction noise- the whole property is a big construction zone with condos going up all around it- and dirt mountains as scenery...we go to historic properties whenever we can- we understand that preserving the history while keeping it updated is a delicate dance, but this hotel is old and sad, it smells musty inside- they should upgrade inside while doing the outside and have the main hotel closed to guests during the process. The food was barely passable. There is no A/C, and lots of disorganization within the staff about procedures (the staff at the gatehouse gave us the wrong directions to the new parking lot used during construction)- we schlepped our suitcases all over the place and up and down stairs without any help- let alone valet

    the only thing this old hotel has going for it is the beautiful view of the Rockies- the staff is obviously used to complaints because with only the nicest statement of pure disappointment, she upgraded us to a suite in a new building on the property, which was much better (although no hot water one morning, for a shower)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    Overall, stay was pleasant, but would not stay in the historic part of Stanley again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite – The Lodge at The Stanley
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was dirty. Lots of dust under the bed and dirt on the window sill & bathroom floor. TP & Kleenex were NOT properly re-stocked for 4 people x 3 nights A convenience type in hotel store would have been nice & wish there would have been a reasonably priced eatery on site. The Estes Park village & Safeway store was short walking distance, but bear leavings were evident, so probably not without danger.

    The grounds were beautiful. The Bellman, Maurice was exemplary

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Had a great & think we should come back every year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy king size bed, loved very large soaking tub & the rain shower head, outstanding! Espresso coffee in the room was a pleasant surprise! Had trouble w/ TV but came to fix it within 10minutes😉 Took the "tour" of the hotel, guides were knowledgeable & friendly, enjoyed it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    I would suggest just visiting the hotel to walk around and see it, but not stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower only bathroom did not have a grab bar and was slippery. No vending machines for sodas or other snacks after coffee shop closed. Staff suggested that the grocery store was close. Because of going to the grocery we needed a refrigerator and were charged extra for a compact unit. Felt "nickeled and dimed" by this.

    Our room was fine in the Aspire Double King Room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Gorgeous hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room – The Lodge at the Stanley
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no AC in the hotel and our room was terribly warm. Much warmer than it was outside. Unfortunately we were on the bottom floor next to a walkway so we couldn’t open the window. We stayed in the lodge and the room was very small. Wasn’t worth over $300 for the night. I’m glad I’ve done it but I don’t think we’ll do it again. Drinks were also ridiculously expensive for what they were. Needed renovations were going on and it does take away from the ambiance.

    Gorgeous hotel. Definitely go for the experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is going down the tubes. They need to vacuum the whole place. Carpets are dirty on all floors. TV went out, after being move to 3 different room got a room with a working TV. Wall paper peeling off walls, mold on bath room ceiling, tile and grout bad on bath room floor. Workers outside paint and hammering all day. not very peaceful. Such a nice idea of a place, but with no up keep it is very over priced.

    The area, but not the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    The property was under renovation, did not know that when I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was under renovation, did not know that when I booked reservations. Would of looked elsewhere, But it was a pleasant stay and the Food and Resturant service AWESOME

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.2
    Aweful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that people walked in on me in my underwear, oh they double booked my room. Then they changed the keys on me so I got locked out. The room was dirty. Someone before us sure did love Doritoes as they were all over the floor. They didn't even offer me a free breakfast for all the discomfort I endured. They should've given me an extra night or something. Overall the experience was very bad for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Felt like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator stopped working the second day of our stay but a bellhop was sent to help bring the bags down.

    The view and staff were great! Felt at home and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    I think they should have discounted rates during renovation. It was a let down for the $
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The renovations really are pretty disruptive, if this is a bucket list item, I’d wait till they are done renovating. Carpet it tore up and there is scaphling all on the exterior. Also the room was 77 degrees when we got there and it was only 65 outside, had to sleep with the windows open without a screen. The toilet handle also was broken and kept running randomly. The room was clean and the bed mostly comfortable. Checked in, was to be on the 4th floor but only mentioned the elevator was broken after we had our room keys, instead of offering a lower floor first.

    The location is beautiful Room was clean Bed comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t have a mini fridge in our room which was a little disappointing.

    The beds were large and comfy, the view was fantastic. Staff at the Aspire were extremely helpful and friendly and the ghost tour was a lot of fun!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second day no toilet paper in room but we had plenty of clean towels!

    Wait staff were great. We were allowed to book the haunted tour on day two because we missed the first day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    After the history lover's heart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave or refrigerator in room.

    Owner kept the hotel as historically accurate as possible. Took the history tour which was very interesting and made our stay more meaningful. The grounds are beautiful also and the mountain view is wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very accommodating. We loved the Aiden Sinclair show. The room was very nice, great view. It looks like the bathroom radiator could use some help. The only thing negative, was the loud drunk people next door (I think teenagers, ghost hunting). Other than that, we would love to come back in the summer. The resaturant was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.6
    We had a 2 night stay and we expected more from this trip. We thought stay would be more pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen – The Stanley Hotel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too firm and the pillow cases were too hard/stiff. Our room was hot the ceiling fan was not working. The shower tub stopper was broke so standing water was an issue in the shower. The room was stuffy no circulation. The was a lot of construction going on and in the evening you could hear things banging outside like the tarps on the scaffolding. It was an eye sore as well not a very contained environment.

    The food in Cascades was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room – The Lodge at the Stanley
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived and went to our room the tiles in the bathroom were molded and falling off the wall. The view was of the condos in the back, and the bedding was wet in spots. We went to the desk and were reassigned a different room with a view. However, when I took a bath that night it took 2 hrs for the tub to drain. I tried to call the front desk but the phone in the room didn’t work. I went down the next morning an was assured by the front desk that the tub would be in working order when we got back from sightseeing. When we got back that evening, the tub still would not drain, the bed was not made( the duvet had just been straightened) The dirty towels had been picked up from the floor and shoved into the towel rack, the drinking cups were still dirty and no coffee cups or coffee had been replaced. I spoke to the staff member in the hall and he said he would get a repair person up right away, a hour later as I was standing in the hall waiting another staff member approached me and asked what he could help me with. I again explained about the tub and being unable to take a shower because the tub filled up to my ankles during a shower. He again told me that someone would be there right away, and that he would personally be back to check on progress. At 11:30 pm we went to bed as no one had showed up. The next morning we checked out of the hotel as it seemed It would be a second day without being able to bath. I later called to cancel the tour I had booked that night and was told that she would take the information to management and they would call me Monday. It’s Tuesday and I still haven’t heard from anyone. The staff seemed like they didn’t care about the guests. They told you what they needed to placate you then did nothing. I was very disappointed in my stay.

    The view was awesome!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Although the room wasn’t what I was expecting, I have to say this vacation was by far the best.
    • Family with young children
    • Double King Room – Aspire Residences
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t realize my booking was in the aspire building until after confirmation. Also, the elevator in that building seemed more sketchy than the actual Stanley hotel.

    Never wanted to leave my bed. So comfortable! And the views?! Oh my, absolutely BEAUTIFUL.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Relaxin, peaceful and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room – The Lodge at the Stanley
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking it would have been nice to know I was going to stay at the Lodge. Was hoping to be in the actual hotel. Still pleased with the accommodation.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Stanley Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: