Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4 stars

33 West 37 Street, New York, NY 10018, USA

#84 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 138 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was great! Empire State Building was right outside our window. Right in the shopping area of New York. Pleasant helpful staff. Real value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointed not to be able to take my daughter (18) to the rooftop bar, even for a soft drink, as this was one of the selling points of the hotel for me.

    Location was great - could walk to all midtown attractions and just a few blocks from the subway. Staff all very helpful and friendly. Beds were super comfy. Free coffee in the mornings was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Comfiest bed I have ever slept in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee/tea making facilities in the room were not the best for tea drinkers.

    Comfiest bed I have ever slept in. Within walking distance of a lot of places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel, fabulous location with friendly welcoming staff. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect for what we needed

    Excellent location, friendly staff and fabulous facilities. The roof top bat overlooking the Empire State is spectacular!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful my mother came away feeling very positive about her stay at this hotel. Excellentt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I travelled with my elderly mother and found the location to be just perfect. We were able to walk to a few tourist locations with ease, with a bonus of having a hop on hop off stop nearby (36th West). The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Rooms well equipped and comfortable along with a wi-fi that consistently works. The cost I thought was very reasonable considering what you could expect to pay within NYC accompanied with a ,Birdseye view of the Empire State Building'. As a female travelling with my elderly mother it was comforting to know consideration had been given to your safety with added security-excellent. Overall this hotel was an excellent find the best I've stayed In out of previous visits to NYC and I would definitely stay there again and would recommend this hotel to a NYC visitor.😀😀😀 Thank you!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Roof top was closed and was not reported when I booked.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof top was closed and was not reported when I booked. At the checkout I was not asked about my reward card and I have been trying since then to get my 4 nights in the rewards program without any luck so far.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Bed comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No counter top or surface space in bath room to put anything. (At least add a shelf!) Bathroom lighting around vanity weak. Bathroom floor stains from water damage. No desk surface for PC. Would have liked microwave.

    Bed comfort. Shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice stay in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our double bed was a sofa bed which was not expected. Kept knocking my leg on the metal edges when passing by it so would have definitely preferred a normal double bed

    Good location and nice bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view out our window and having to wait to check in. Had to leave our luggage there so we could go on s tour group. Don't expect early check in but they did accommodate us and hold our luggage and park our car.

    Very clean and confortable. Able to walk right down the street to Times Square!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Great staff & hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only meal I had was on my first night in the Bistro. Great recommendations from staff and super attentive especially as I was eating on my own. In general all staff I interacted with could not have been more helpful, especially the lady concierge (I do apologise I can't remember her name) but, she is relentless in helping you especially as I had a problem with my booked pick up. The customer care number I had went voicemail and she spent 25 mins on the phone sorting it out for me. She is a diamond!! If I return to New York I will certainly stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    Great Location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking was quite expensive, and atleast for that rate they should have given unlimited in/outs within a days fees.

    The staff was extremely kind and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant hotel with limited space
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The afternoon concierge seemed hurried and gave us poor directions to the train station. There are no shelves anywhere for bathroom supplies.

    We liked the morning concierge; she was helpful. The staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.8
    Not the Best Marriott Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small with little options. They close the rooftop bar, a highlight, for private parties so it was not available many days this week!!!

    The staff is excellent and very accommodating!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    A wonderful find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just temporary due to renovation but the dining room was closed. On a previous stay, the food was wonderful, staff attentive, and the dining room was comfortable and intimate.

    Location excellent for walking to some of New York's favorite spots. Staff first class. Professional, personable, and responsive. Even without hesitation, looking for and finding a pair of lost glasses. Rooms immaculate and comfortable. Rooftop bar an added perk. This was our second stay and without doubt there will be a third.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay but currently undergoing renervations
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room. Hotel now undergoing renervations.I would be hesitant to return before June 2017

    Location and restaurant were good.Restaurant now closed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.2
    Great place for the money!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop bar could be soooo much better. The staff was subpar. Nice, but not efficient, outgoing, or organized. We went on Thursday at 830 and had 1 drink. We never went back during our trip.

    What a bargain! I never thought I'd be able to afford a trip to NYC, but with the vacation club deal, it was possible. We added on another night, so spent 4 nights there ($499 for the first 3 and then $170 for the 4th night) Everyone was very helpful. They even helped us navigate our way from the Newark airport to them by train. It is in Midtown, on a not very busy street. We loved walking to Bryant park, time square, the subway, etc. We really liked the location. The rooms are what I expected from the pictures and reviews. They are going to start remodeling soon, but we didn't mind the decor. The room is small. It is definitely the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in, but how much space does one really need to sleep? If your idea of a vacation is hanging out in the room all day, this place isn't for you. The downstairs restaurant looked inviting. The lobby is small, but nice; serving complimentary coffee and cucumber water.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin paper walls. Heard EVERYONE slam their doors, it shook our room and we never had a good sleep the entire time there. Probably would never stay there again.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Loved New York! Need to visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger room but know that's not going to happen in New York!

    Lovely staff, nothing too much trouble. Fantastic view of the Empire State Building from our room!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    Great staff attitudes and responsiveness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small. Food was ok...not great.

    Great staff attitudes and responsiveness. Tops. Also, Midtown location was very convenient for our plans.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Perfect location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small mix up with charges, being charged twice but staff were very good at helping resolve this.

    Beds were very comfy. Room was spacious. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Shower pressure sucked
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to get a drink and small bite after a day full of appointments at bridal market and the only option was the bar. Went up there and there was no where to sit so we had to leave hotel to eat

    Shower pressure sucked

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Marriott vacation club made New York ....New York !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility was excellent ! the staff was excellent and we couldn't ask for a better location and the view of the Empire State Building from our room was incredible !!!! will defiantly stay here again !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Amazing 3-night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location! Cozy, elegant room - even our 2nd floor room had a direct view to the Empire State Building and no noise from quiet street. Great restaurant and of course the amazing cocktail bar on the roof!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.3
    Good, friendly hotel well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For New York at the price we paid not a bad sized room. Three adults managed okay for 2 days in a room with 2 double beds. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great view from roof top bar. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.5
    Great location and friendly staff, but lacks Vacation Club quality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small even by hotel standards. Aircon unit was very noisey. Rooftop bar was not staffed during the day and had too few staff in the evening. This is not a vacation club!

    Friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.2
    Amazing staff, great hotel! Will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smaller hotel with amazing staff. I spent 3 nights at your hotel with my friends and I can honestly say after staying in many hotels worldwide, your staff was second to none. There was nothing we asked for that they could not help with, Whether it be umbrellas for a rainy day, milk for in our room, band aids for blisters, making sure we had internet connection at all times. Everyone we interacted with was friendly, fun and professional. Thanks for a fantastic stay, will definitely be back again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    A nice hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A nice hotel in a great location. The rooms are quite small but I guess that is standard in New York City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Not be going back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No many facilities in room, needs more access to drinks, view terrible.

    Position of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    i will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i will come again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft, check in rather late especially after a long flight.

    Amazing location and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Staff was very accommodating and eager to please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room coffee maker.

    Staff was very accommodating and eager to please.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.6
    Diappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communicating the level of rooms and over charging for views that were nothing to brag about

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Size of room, air conditioning, friendly staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The look out my window, the price was a little high.

    Size of room, air conditioning, friendly staff, good location, and the pillows were great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    We got lucky on our first ever trip to New York in finding the Marriott Vacation Club Pulse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Perfect location, friendly & helpful staff, spotlessly clean. Great little rooftop bar with views of the Empire State Building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is very small. Not enough horizontal areas( to place belongings ) in both bathroom and room.

    Nice location. Staff was EXCELLENT !!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall not bad. Didn't get to go to rooftop bar much way too overcrowded
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small could barely walk around when pull out bed opened. No room to sit except in bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Location and rooftop bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building was under construction - including one elevator, restaurant, etc.

    Location and rooftop bar

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    The staff are lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no gym

    location great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.7
    Poor breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast Expensive rates for what they offer

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Construction/renovation was ongoing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction/renovation was ongoing. Need to try after it's completion

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    5.8
    Rooftop bar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entire building under construction. Restaurant and fitness center closed.

    Rooftop bar

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.1
    Was not told that the hotel was under renovation and the...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not told that the hotel was under renovation and the cost of almost $60. was a shock.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.6
    Great location - good rooms - friendly and efficient staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restricted restaurant hours - not open for lunch

    Staff and location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    The downstairs bar was rarely open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downstairs bar was rarely open.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.5
    Perfect central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee making facilities poor and no mini fridge in room.

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    5.0
    Don't thing we will be returning there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not user friendly, no room in bathroom for anything, no towel rack, hooks, counter etc

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable room, hot shower, friendly staff, roof top bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room, hot shower, friendly staff, roof top bar

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    Very Nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bed was very hard, but the sheets were nice.

    Nice clean bathroom

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    A comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Empire City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had breakfast just once in the hotel dining room and our omelette was very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Family fun in Bryant park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't complain. Elevators small.

    The location was perfect. We love Bryant park. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    The food was exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was exceptional!! The view from the roof top is magnificent! The staff are very pleasant and helpful!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    I would have liked a bathtub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a bathtub

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    2nd Amazing Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Love the staff and the size of the rooms! Location is amazing. :-)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hallways were very hot and elevator was a little slow.

    Loved this location. Small bar but nice one. I didn't eat here but it looked good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.9
    No tea,coffee or fridge in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea,coffee or fridge in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Fantastic location - very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    there wasn't a special seating area for residents in the rooftop bar

    Fantastic location - very central

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.2
    Great stay..friendly staff...great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    sofa bed option could have been better

    Clean rooms, comfy beds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.0
    Very goog except the restaurant .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant the menu for all is to small , you after lunch and if I want a drink before leve the bar is close.

    Se service and nice front desk

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.9
    Staff very helpful, lovely places to eat very near
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I had hoped for a sofa bed as requested and maybe a little bigger room as had said trip was to celebrate a special event

    Staff very helpful, lovely places to eat very near

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    8.3
    Well located for Midtown business meetings and close to Penn...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows far too soft for my liking.

    Well located for Midtown business meetings and close to Penn Station and the subway. It's in a relatively quiet street. Great view of the Empire State building from the roof-top bar.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    9.2
    Great location, comfy bed and good size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooftop bar quite pricey but great view and it is a 4 star hotel.

    Great location, comfy bed and good size room. Roof top bar had a great view of Empire State and city. Excellent location. Staff were brilliant and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    6.3
    The floors very noisy, no mini bar in the rooms, not even a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The floors very noisy, no mini bar in the rooms, not even a bottle of water in the rooms , no coffee machine in room, no beverage machines in the hotel you have to walk a block to get a drink

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.3
    Loved the view of the Empire State Building from our room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The was no hot water on the morning of our checkout and the late checkout request was not communicated between booking.com and The Strand which caused a lot of grief. Overall I somewhat enjoyed my stay and Dwayne was helpful at checkout with compensating our difficult morning. I would like to think it was an isolated incident and would definitely stay there again if I were to visit NYC

    Loved the view of the Empire State Building from our room and the door men were extra helpful. The rooftop bar was absolutely breathtaking

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.2
    Hot chocolate in the lobby was a nice touch especially with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On-site restaurant is just okay; breakfast menu is a little limited and the service we experienced was not attentive; the waiter kept dripping water as he poured from the pitcher. While I love the openness of the shower stall, water puddles on top of the transition and flows onto the restroom floor. A towel on the floor to catch the water is a MUST.

    Hot chocolate in the lobby was a nice touch especially with the cold temperatures this Presidents weekend. The front doorman, the desk staff and the concierge were always friendly and smiling. I love The Strand's location being so close to Fabrick, one of my fave restaurants. Love The Strand's rooftop bar even though we didn't visit it this trip. The rooms are small but very efficiently designed and beautifully finished. The restroom floor tile will need a make-over soon though.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    8.3
    Loved the rooftop bar with glass ceiling overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very uncomfortable and they only offered "feather" pillows. It was also significantly over priced.

    Loved the rooftop bar with glass ceiling overlooking the Empire State Building!!! The staff were all incredible and so friendly! If you have ever stayed in NYC you know the rooms are extremely small......BUT NOT AT THE STRAND! The room was large for the city and the shower was awesome :)

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.6
    1/2 work 1/2 leisure trip (Thurs-Sun in January).
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    1/2 work 1/2 leisure trip (Thurs-Sun in January). Work was paying for the room and I could spend up to $400/night, but this place was a steal at around $200/night. When I arrived I asked for a room with a view (of the empire state building) got a room with a view. Asked for an extra bathrobe, it was in my room when I got back from my deposition. Great midtown location. On Saturday we took the subway up to the Met and worked our way through central park down to the financial district to visit the Freedom Tower. Best location to get around the city (we mostly used the subway and a couple ubers). Once we got back and were exhausted we realized we hadn't even been to the rooftop bar yet, so we went and had a cocktail since it was just an elevator ride away. Nice F&B staff by NYC standards.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    7.1
    Front desk staff were very nice & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was too small & cramped. Also rooftop bar was loud & disappointing.

    Front desk staff were very nice & helpful. Excellent customer service

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    10
    I WANTED A KING DELUXE ROOM AND THEY GAVE ME THE BEST ROOM...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I WANTED A KING DELUXE ROOM AND THEY GAVE ME THE BEST ROOM IN THE HOUSE FOR MY BOYFRIEND'S 30TH BIRTHDAY! FREE BREAKFAST AS A COURTESY AND GREAT SERVICE! I WILL BE BACK!!!! COMFTY BED, NICE VIEW OF THE EMPIRE STATE BUILDING NICE EVERYTHING!!!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.5
    Carlos on the front door excellent & friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar staff on roof top bar on the Saturday night no personality . Room was small but well appointed .

    Carlos on the front door excellent & friendly . Location excellent we walked everywhere loved the roof top bar and view.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small room but this may be the norm in New York. Smallest room we've ever stayed in in the states. However, room was clean, comfortable and functional.

    Excellent location. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel. Amazing rooftop bar. Wonderful restaurant with great food and ambiance.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    8.3
    Brilliant location minutes from 5th avenue, Times Square and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noise from streets at night kept us awake - possibly a double glazing issue? Rooms adequate but a tight fit for storage - 3 small drawers and one tiny cupboard with only hanging space.

    Brilliant location minutes from 5th avenue, Times Square and all the sights - walking distance. Hotel clean Staff very friendly and helpful Roof to bar excellent views of Empure State Building.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    9.6
    Location is great and staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds were comfy but they were squeaky, just rolling over made the beds squeak - just a little complaint

    Location is great and staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice looking hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    10
    Great location in Mid town, just off 5th Avenue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Great location in Mid town, just off 5th Avenue. Great little delicatessen across the road. Hotel had a rooftop bar and we also eat twice at Frankie and Johny's Steak house immediately across from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    6.7
    Front Desk staff very good, as were the satff who served...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inconsistency in the staff offering/meeting service expectations. Roof Top lounge staff require customer service training, as do those running the bar that is located on the main floor.

    Front Desk staff very good, as were the satff who served breakfast. Breakfast was quite good - fresh and of above average in quality.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    8.8
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very creeky and the air conditioning was making a weird noise. But those were minor issues for us.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was also perfect.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: