Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. New York State hotel reviews
  4. West Point hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Thayer Hotel

Reviews of The Thayer Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

674 Thayer Road, West Point, NY 10996 , United States of America

#1 of 2 hotels in West Point

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 86 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.6
    The room was Comfortable and cozy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The light systems in the rooms was complicated.

    The room was Comfortable and cozy. The entire building was historic with wonderful views. The staff was the best!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location and architecture with friendly staff but Information,readiness&food disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon choosing which side of the hotel (Mountain or river) there was mention of an occasional train on the river side. There were, in fact 8 trains that evening. The chicken dish was supposed to be "pounded thin and tender". It was thick, dry and hard. It was, however, removed from our bill by the manager. My first selection from the menu was eventually unavailable. The crab cakes were good but quite small. The breakfast pancakes were stiff and dense and there was dried food on 2 of the 4 forks in our place setting. The first cup of coffee was cold. The replacement was hot and good.

    The bed was comfortable. The waiters and staff were friendly. The grounds were nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.2
    It was most excellent. We would gladly stay here again.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food service did not exactly match the menu price. Everyone was very nice, but not as professional as the menu prices indicated.

    Cannot beat the location. The rooms were very comfortable, as well as the pull out sofa which was utilized by our teenaged daughter It was a beautiful, historic building and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    9.6
    Smooth and comfortable experience. We love The Thayer for its ambience and convenience.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just need modern shower heads in bathroom. Those old ones work, and the water pressure is fine, but they need to be updated.

    Location, friendly, courteous and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    7.5
    It was a clean, pleasant and the location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traveling at night to the Thayer hotel was difficult to find. There is a different address needed to get there with the GPS. Try to get to the hotel by day or dusk.

    The bed was super comfy and the bathroom was like a spa.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Knowing where we were and who had pasted there before us was like being a part of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the distance to the parking area.

    The continental breakfast was exceptional; but my favorite aspect of the stay was the views from the roof top and the bar. The entire Thayer staff were helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    10
    Always a treat and convenience staying at The Thayer!
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only variable is the weather. This year it was dry and unseasonably warm.

    Always enjoy visiting West Point and USMA. Location is beautiful and historic. The Thayer is a big part of that beauty and history.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.2
    Amazing castle in an army area where you feel like you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - it is a bit pricey but the standard is high

    Amazing castle in an army area where you feel like you are on a historical location ( or movie set). The view is breathtaking, we liked the bar and the restaurant food was delicious, the room was spacious and lots of light. Sounds of the train gave it a nice little atmosphere!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    8.3
    Elegant and historic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room with a view was only available by train tracks side ( which can be heard in middle of night ) so we had to switch sides without a view.

    Brunch was not as extensive as it should be for the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    9.2
    Great staff. Great food in the restaurant. Excellent atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was warned about the freight trains noises for the rooms facing the rear of the hotel but the frequency was woefully under estimated.

    The champagne brunch on Sunday is awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    7.1
    Lovely historic venue - pity about the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food! It was mostly terrible. Dinner the first night. Pasta dish inedible - tasteless, sauce less, awful. Prawn dish only slightly more acceptable. Tried our best not to eat in hotel again. Were at a wedding. Entree left on plate. Steak for mains was good. Lots of staff but some could do with being more helpful.

    The setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    9.6
    Everything about the room was fine, except had my daughter...
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lights were very difficult to work, we could not get the bed light on the night stand to turn on and there was no outlet near the ed for y breathing machine (Cpap)

    Everything about the room was fine, except had my daughter and granddaughter stayed with us we would have been very crowded in 2 double beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    7.1
    Location is fantastic but you pay for it
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No water from 9am to 4pm. Just too bad for the guest. I was informed via a note slid under the door the evening I checked in. Should have been told prior to arriving that construction was going to take place and there would no no water on the day I was visiting.

    When checking in I realized I was in a king bed room. I requested the room we changed to two queen beds. The hotel would only do so if I paid an additional $70 dollars simply because the room was booked through booking.com. I refused but agreed to split the difference. The hotel was basically empty. Location is wonderful but not worth the shake-down mentality at Thayer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay, great views..great staff..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit chilly and we were surprised that the big fireplace in lobby was not burning..it would have added to the historic atmosphere of hotel and provide a bit of heat!

    Location and design/history of premises.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    8.3
    Visit West Point in style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a little pricey, but a nice change from the usual hotels/motels in the area.

    This is an old fashioned elegant hotel, in a great location if you are visiting USMA at West Point as it is right at the foot of the academy. Staff also helpful in getting a cheap cab to take us to Eisenhower Hall for a show at the other end of the campus, which is a long walk especially at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    8.8
    Nice weekend getaway from NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -food in the hotel tavern didn't have much flavor -hours of hotel restaurant were not extensive enough, especially for the weekend

    Beautiful hotel with historical significance

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast cost.

    Location. Staff was great. Patton bar was great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great! Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Great location!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine

    The atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    9.6
    very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    main restaurant was abit overpriced; could have offered golf cart lift to main gate;

    the staff was exceptionally helpful and nice (Maria and Larry)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location on West Point Campus and close to start of West Point Tour.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    9.6
    Views, character, tradition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water temperature control was dangerous. Needs more light. Additional noise you would expect from an older building.

    Views, character, tradition

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.6
    The historical aspect was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were small

    The historical aspect was beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    6.3
    hotel: good, restaurant: bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quality and service of the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    I fell in love with The Thayer Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complimentary breakfast

    Bed was 12/10.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    8.8
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small rooms. Too pricy for this time of year.

    Location. Historic nature of hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    10
    Very Enjoyable
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A long wait for dinner tobeserved

    The whole experience was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    10
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small beds. Light was very dim.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    10
    Beautiful site.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was beautiful

    The history of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    10
    Great place to visit West Point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Interesting hotel with historic ambiance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.5
    Location near near mountain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant was high priced, but mediocre quality.

    Location near near mountain

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    8.3
    Have loved the thayer for 50 years
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Trains running by the back side

    Have loved the thayer for 50 years

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    9.6
    Liked it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to reach without a car

    Rooms are really nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel; enjoyed conversations with Kelsey & other bartenders on the rooftop & Patton bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I realize the Thayer is an older hotel, indicative as to why you could hear people in the hall & through the walls (guests & hotel staff)...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.6
    great bed;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    crummy view looking at wall from adjacent building

    great bed; pictures of USMA heroes; dining room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.6
    We will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room not ready until 4 PM. Bed not made the next day until 4 PM.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.9
    location was perfect next to West Point
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok, but price was ridiculous.

    location was perfect next to West Point

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    10
    beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    10
    Bed was the BEST!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was the BEST!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had no complaints

    The history of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: