Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Touchstone Hotel - City Center 3 stars

480 Geary Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#150 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2173 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    2.9
    The only thing i liked was a location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too expensive for its old facilities. Also they pretended to provide free parking service but they charged expensive parking fee.

    The only thing i liked was a location. Except its location, it was terrible.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    I loved their staff, super friendly, and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a lot smaller than I they made it out to be on the pictures.

    I loved their staff, super friendly, and helpful. Really convenient location considering the hotel is in the heart of downtown.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed, very clean and staff were all lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge to keep food or water in, which was a shame as breakfast was not included so would have been useful to keep some fruit and drinks in there. The room backed onto an alley way which was quite noisy in the early hours of the morning. The rate we paid was good in comparison to other hotels in the area, but still feel it was a little pricey for the room we stayed in

    Comfy bed, very clean and staff were all lovely. Check in and check out were made very easy and the location was very handy - right next to Union Square. Free water in the room each day, which was a nice touch. 20% discount in David's Deli next door.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lobby, hotel bar or vending machines. Some rooms have no accessible power outlets. Some beds are on wheels so you roll around the room at Night. Very small rooms.

    Great location. 20% discount at the diner next door which has great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Great doorman to compensate for the bathroom experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was mold in the bathroom, and areas that were not too clean

    The fantastic doorman at night (Cicero) who entertained my boyfriend quite a bit with great stories

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    It was central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very expensive. The place is very old. The room did not look as shown in the picture. We expected much more but received a quality less then a one star hotel. The night before we stayed in a one star hotel and that one was much better. It was loud and cold. The windows were old. It sounded like they were open.

    It was central. The staff was very polite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Charming little hotel for those on a budget who don't want to stay in a dump or share a room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It didn't have a coffee machine in the room, :( and the TV was pretty terrible. My room had a view of a wall in an alleyway and was very noisy - rubbish trucks or something making a lot of noise very early in the morning.

    Great location, 2 blocks from Union Square, art galleries and about 8 mins walk to Bart/Metro Station. The hotel has a great Art Deco feel. The room/bathroom was a little on the small side, but comfortable enough for one person. This was pretty much the cheapest but best rated hotel in the area, and it did exceed my expectations. Lovely staff too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.2
    The staff was very pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. The blinds were dusty. As I lift the bed sheets I found hair and pubic hair on the sheets. I felt like the sheets were not changed and that maids just fixed the bed instead of changing sheets. I just slept on top of the covers.

    The staff was very pleasant. Both when I checked In and checked out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel in the center of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff (including the hotel owner and his wife) was very friendly. My wife lost her wallet with id and credit card at the sidewalk when she exited the car - the owners wife saw it and adviced a waiter in the restaurant to search for the wallet's owner - THANKS FOR THIS. The room itself was a little small, but very nice and clean (we had a room towards the street). One of the best things in this hotel is the restaurant. Really great breakfast and dinner (you get a voucher for 20% off on all meals during your stay) - we liked especially the "oldfashioned style" sitting on a bar and having breakfast (try the shaksuka!!!) and dinner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Check-in was good, and were able to check-in a few hours...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After check in we went straight to our room. The room was quite small and the bathroom very small. The shower was rubbish and only dribbled water, and the taps for the shower were very temperamental. The shower curtain did not look clean.

    Check-in was good, and were able to check-in a few hours before the time advertised. The lady from Romford England checked us in who was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location to discover SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room (and a bit small for two people with two big suitcases). No fridge or microwave in room. A bit noisy on some nights.

    Complimentary bottles of water. Hair-dryer in the bathroom. We were given a 20% discount for food at David's Delicatessen (right next to the lobby) - which was really worth it (great breakfast!). Wi-fi worked properly in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Jane at reception was excellent. Our tour had been cancelled a few days before and she was able to arrange tickets for us immediately. Very helpful and the location was ideal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed overall, wasn’t expecting the RItz but at close to 1200$ for five nights very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe deposit box in room, no tea/ coffee making facilities,no double glazing, tv control did not work and not replaced despite several requests, bathroom very basic and shabby. The carpet on our 5th floor gave off a rank odour

    Very little.... the bed linen was clean at least and towels changed every day

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Touchstone hotel is located in a perfect place very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Touchstone hotel is located in a perfect place very close to Union Square (4 mins by walking) , the bar of the hotel has fantastic various and abundant breakfast, especially the coffee is the best coffe I’ve had during our trip around USA :) the rooms are pretty small but okay, the staff is kind and helpful and especially Cicero has been thoughtful kind and friendly with us. He could also speak Italian with us that was a plus

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff is incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't really like was that there is no restroom aside form the ones in the rooms.

    The staff is incredible! If you need any info on where to go in San Francisco, they are there to help. The hotel is very clean and the location is amazing, almost everything is walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Everything was as expected from other reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was as expected from other reviews. All in all it was a nice and pleasant stay. The staff was nice and helpful. The locational near union square is very good. We left the car in ellis o'farell garage and the rates were reasonable, but you have to reserve cca 30 dollara per night (in any of the nearby garages) if you come with car

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Very central hotel, although in the Tenderloin district is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central hotel, although in the Tenderloin district is at the better end of it. It is very small and room is very small but spotlessly clean. Bed was small but very comfortable. No restaurant facilities but David’s delicatessen down stairs beside the hotel had excellent food and you get 20% off as a guest. Basic, clean, central. Excellent choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    2 nights in Union Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, tiny bathroom, but clean.

    Very close to Union Square and good shopping areas. Close to Chinatown. Lots of restaurants in the area. Convenient and safe. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea, coffee, milk & a kettle in the room would have been great to make a cuppa at our convenience. Breakfast included option sadly wasn't an option when booking.

    The café next door was great with 20% discount for motel guests. Beds were comfortable & the location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    - Close to the Market St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included (but 20% off in the restaurant next door)

    - Close to the Market St. and to Powell - felt safe enough at night - staff super nice - very clean - shampoo, conditioner, body soap & hair dryer complimentary - complimentary water every day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean and comfortable but the whole parking/check in thing soured my stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were not very clear about parking. You basically park a few blocks away in unrelated parking garage that you pay. When we pulled up there was a sign for valet parking. My son went in to get the valet but it turns out you had to arrange that weeks ahead. They should not have had a sign out for valet. They need to be more transparent about parking. They do not have parking.

    The room was comfortable and in a good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Will return again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV is a bit small without cable tv; just the local digital channels. But then again, you are in downtown SF, Union Square and Theatre District! Go outside and enjoy the foods and the city life!

    Convenience of Union Square and Geary Street, right across from two historic theaters. Plenty of affiliated parking garages nearby but expect typical big city parking fees. Although the building is over 100 years old and the rooms are small, they are cleanly painted with high ceilings and good flooring. Beds are comfortable. I wanted a quiet room so it’s inside by an alley without a view. You can pay for late checkout, up to 3 hours, but the manager actually gave us 2 hours complimentary. Will definitely return, and highly recommend for its values and customer service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    The room was a double, but just me, was big enough for two,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame there isn't a kettle in the room, always had to go out for hot drink. Noisy late at night, people shouting, wouldn't have gone out by myself.

    The room was a double, but just me, was big enough for two, would probably only recommend short stay. Was on 6th floor at front of property, it was noisy at night as expected but being on 6th floor helped. Easy to check-in, David's deli downstairs handy for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    The traffic so early in the morning was the only downfall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The traffic so early in the morning was the only downfall. But for the rest I liked it...it was an older hotel but the staff was great and it was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Reasonably priced (for SF) small hotel in the heart of Union Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Touchstone is a converted residence hotel and the rooms are small. The bathroom is recently remodeled, efficient, with ample, plush towels. The cramped space might be difficult for long stays, especially with large amounts of luggage. The elevator is the size of a stall shower.

    San Francisco hotels are expensive and the Touchstone is a decent value given the Union Square location. It is located in the theatre district, surrounded by plenty of restaurants. Cable cars and shopping are a short two block walk. A good option for an overnight or short weekend stay (see below)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    The location was great and the staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very expensive for the quality. I know that this is a problem in San Francisco, but I’ve been to other high priced cities around the world and never had to pay so much for so little. There’s a bad smell in the general building, the bed was quite old and dipped in the middle. The water ran piping hot then cold with no pressure.The decor and facilities are shabby and musty. Basically the building needs a good refurbishment. However I have to point out that this doesn’t reflect on the reception staff or cleaning staff who were clearly doing their jobs everyday.

    The location was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Guests receive a 20% discount for the diner next door which was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Centrally located, friendly staff and a good diner next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight musky smell in hallways. Reception area is very small and at times a bit cramped.

    Well located and met our expectations after reading other reviews. Clean room on the second floor so easy to access without needing to use the elevator

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Cost-effective stay in central SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A room with no ar conditioner, even in an usually cold / mild city like San Francisco, can be considered a really serious issue. The elevator was small and isn´t capable of standing the demand.

    Very nice staff, room w/ enough space and clean, comfortable toilet. The hotel is close to various hotspots of SF and is located just 2 blocks from Union Sq. The café next to the hotel is excellent. Another quality: seems like a pet-friendly place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.0
    Needs a major renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old facilities, bathrooms not very clean (especially the shower), building without ventilation, shower very small and with a very small water flow, WiFi was not working properly, room without blackout curtains, room service did not pass by after the first night.

    The staff was nice. Other than that, I would not recommend this place for its price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    San Fransisco was an amazing place. The Touchstone was nice but a bit pricey for the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were small and there was no air conditioning. The staff at the desk were apathetic.

    The rooms were comfortable but very small. Conveniently located.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location tired facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tired and drab, pictures onsite do not reflect the age of the fittings. No glasses in room. Alright if just sleeping there but not a nice room to relax in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    A great introduction to San Francisco, handy to the center, and nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no air con and it was on a busy street and our room was next to the fire escape so keeping the window at night open wasn't feasible. A small fan in the room would have been great.

    The hotel was in a great location, walking distance to everything central. The room was pretty small for 3 people but had comfy beds and room for storing stuff. The bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Great value for the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is a bit dated (the elevator running very very slowly). TV in room, but only 5 local channels.

    Great value for the location! Easy and fast check-in, clean room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.0
    Clean with limited amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Fan light switch was broke. In all fairness, I was only there overnight. I needed a place with a bed & a shower. Elevator was small & tight. My mom had a wheelchair. Not good for people with limited mobility.

    Close location to BART. Had a great spot for Uber pick ups.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    Location was great, close to the heart of San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small, very pricey and the bed was very uncomfortable. There was a lot of noises coming from the hallways and the other rooms.

    Location was great, close to the heart of San Fran

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Beautif SF and Touchstone Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect

    -nice Room -very good located - a lot of Bars and Restaurants around -very nice professional reception and staff especially Drew. Thank u For the nice Holidays

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Location is great, friendly staff and diner downstairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and some rooms quite small. Some rooms windows not great so the traffic all night and very early. They do provide ear plugs though so that helps.

    Location is great, friendly staff and diner downstairs attached.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Super nice great location and a receptionist who know how to do his job
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is slow- it’s hard to find a fault with this hotel

    The guy on the desk was super amazing and talked to me on level about events omin San Francisco- he made my stay better

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great stay at this hotel. The room was small but comfortable for the time we spent in it. The staff was exceptionable and very helpful at all times. The location was great! Will definitely stay here again😀😀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.3
    To be honest I did not like much about this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, smelly, loud, no ventilation, fire alarm/smoke detector was removed from the room, looked like blood smears on the bathroom floor, advertised that there is valet parking outside but they actually do not valet

    To be honest I did not like much about this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money and excellent location. Fisherman's Wharf is a 30 minute walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing one can do with the noise as the hotel is located in one of San Francisco's busiest streets so if you're looking for a very quiet place, this might not be the best place for you.

    I was initially apprehensive when I booked this hotel because of the negative reviews but I realized they were applying 5-star expectations to a 2-star hotel. Touchstone provides great location and value for money. I would surely stay here again next time. Might not be advisable for groups with kids.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    JUST
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size, noise and construction men right outside the window.

    The room was clean, but way too small for what the pictures showed. Noise since right outside the window there was construction. We were not able to open the window curtains, because construction men were right there. The front desk was very friendly and the restaurant next door (which you get 20% off) the waiter Jose, was amazing. I guess for one night just to sleep was ok, unless you get a bigger room and no construction.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Good way to stay in downtown San Francisco without breaking the bank.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is downtown San Francisco so it is noisy. Room was warm and no air conditioning, so it may not be the best place to stay in the heat of summer.

    Good location and price. We didn’t want a fancy hotel since we were planning to be out and about in the city. Room was small but just the right size for us. Very friendly staff! Walking distance to a lot of downtown attractions as well as the BART.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Old, but Good Location Hotel near Union Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility was old. Especially, Shower Room was very small - not enough space to move.

    Location of the hotel was the best to access Union Square and Powell Station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Ok place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No AC. No on site parking. I had to pay and extra $105 for 3 days of parking in a garage that was a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Very small room.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    It is a quaint hotel, the rooms are intimate and provide what you need for a safe stay in San Fran.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little warm at night so we had to sleep with the window open, unfortunately the San Francisco streets are quite noisy, so if you are a light sleeper you might find it tough to sleep.

    The staff were all very friendly and gave great advice for sightseeing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, safe, and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No way to control air temp. Remote didn't work. No wash clothes in room. Phone to front desk did not work. But for a clean room and great location we slept great and headed early to the airport.

    Location, affordability, deli next door with reasonably priced choices and the staff were prompt & courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, this is not a hotel's fault but there was a total idiot in the neigbourhood at 2.30 am pressing the car alarm a couple of minutes.

    I very much liked that hard mattress on the bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and needs update. No tissues or coffee station. Bathtub in bad condition. Only one of the blinds worked.

    Good location. Staff at front desk were very friendly and helpful. Good shower. Liked the water in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    the very first thing that did not like this is that at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the very first thing that did not like this is that at the entrance you need to constantly open the common door with only a card. That is, no one can come to you until you get out and another minus is that on the left there was a repair all lay around the corridor it was impossible to pass and go in the room it was very difficult because the workers did something and I think that for this amount that I spent it is not worth it .. and even no parking so spend another $ 35 per day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Solid hotel, conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No real complaints. Room was on the smaller side. The single elevator is pretty old and not the fastest.

    Convenient location. Lots of public transportation options in walking distance. Easy to get to airport. We were lucky to get a room facing the back alley, so it wasn't too noisy at night. Staff was helpful and offered recommendations on places to eat and how to get around. Solid wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location bad room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    But the mattress was horrible. And the room was very very small. The sink faucet wasn't working well sand water could not come out. We went there with our 8year child and we dind't fit in the bed because it was a small bed.

    The location is the best. Breakfast very good served in David's next to the Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of our room was a little small. Some of them are bigger

    Location is the best, one block away from Union square. You can hear a little bit of notice in the night but not as much if you were in the main street. Walking distance from everything. Breakfast had really good options in the restaurant at the lobby, excellent value-price in general

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    There is no breakfast as lots of hotel doesn`t have in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too dusty. they need to clean the room better, restroom also is full of dust

    There is no breakfast as lots of hotel doesn`t have in the region. nice room, not that big, but a bit dusty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location and reasonable value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise at night. We were in the back of the hotel where there is an alley. Homeless people hangout and sleep there. They were very vocal and loud. The restaurant cleans up after closing and the clattering of dishes was annoying. Overall it was quiet by 10:00pm except for the two Saturday mornings when the trash and recycling were emptied at 5:30am!!!! Not cool. Also emergency vehicle sirens were common throughout the night. The night before we left, the hotel was installing double paneled glass over the windows in the front of the hotel to cut down the noise. They plan to do the same in the back. No tea/coffee facilities in room, no refrigerator in room.

    The location was excellent. Walking distance to Union Square, the fancy stores, the cable trolley and much more. There is a restaurant on site. The food is good but the restaurant, David’s, is very dated. 20% off at David’s for guests all day except on specials. Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a large selection of cakes and pastries. Free tea/coffee/hot chocolate for guests everyday after 2:00pm. There is a 24 hour restaurant, Pinecrest Diner, very close by. The food and service were excellent. We had breakfast there most days. The hotel is very close to bus public transport which we utilized a lot. There is also a Walgreens just steps away that stays open until midnight. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed firm, which we like.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    For us, the location was very convenient and the staff was nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room was very tiny, and the walls are paper thin -we could clearly hear our neighbors and the whole city outside at night.

    Complimentary water in the room was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Front desk service was extremely nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows might as well been nonexistent. Cold and loud from traffic. Bed sheets were rough and itchy. Shower floor looked like it needed to be clean

    Front desk service was extremely nice. Barring the shower, all other aspects of the room were very clean. Ear plugs were provided to handle the noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Jane at the desk is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved a lounge for visiting with friends, but it was a good deal...european style.

    Jane at the desk is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very conveniently located, close to his lines, union square, nice restaurants and private galleries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Small, but great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than expected especially the shower. No clock in the room or ice like most hotels provide.

    Great location! Able to walk to trolly and streetcar within minutes. Clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location but very noisy at night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a great location...oh my goodness it’s VERY noisy outside and you can everything! The hotel do provide you with ear plugs though, but still was a big let down on everything else the hotel had to offer.

    This hotel is in a good location and is less than 5 mins walk from Union Square. Having the diner right next door was very handy, great breakfasts and you get a discount during your stay. The lady on reception when we checked in was super helpful too. Great advise on places to visit and eat etc. Room was a decent size and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I assumed the fact that their amenities listed parking that they would be able to take care of this for us. Wrong...what it meant was there was public parking in the surrounding area.

    The staff were friendly and accommodating. Deli was a hit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.8
    Deceiving photos, rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos were deceiving, sink was in bedroom not in bathroom as per photos displayed. Expensive for standard of room, wouldn't recommend

    Central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    It was very comp
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been a small ice box and microwave in the room unless you have to request it.

    Everything went well with our stay! Very clean and comfortable. Close to everything ! Staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.2
    Average. Decor needs updating and staff need to upskill in customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities need updating. Carpet needs replacing. Customer service by front of house staff was poor - there was value add.

    Quiet room. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    The guy receptionist was not friendly. We said thank you and he just ignore us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is smaller than expected. The lobby is super small as well. The sound from the next room was very apparent.

    It is a good place to stay if you are just there to take a shower and sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    Ok for the rate, but customer service is extra poor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Room was facing the Street and insanely loud. Closing the windows didn't make a difference, I could hardly sleep even with ear plugs. I moved out ahead of time without checking out. They let my room to another person without refunding anything to me. I understand that a non-refundable booking is non-refundable; however, I did not check out, so they should not have let the room otherwise. A staff person directed me to come back the next day and talk to a manager. When I came back, another person told me to come back the next day to talk to a manager. I came back during their suggested times, and again did not reach anyone. They told me via email that they are OK with refunding the nights they let otherwise, but I never heard back even after 3 emails inquiring over a week. Really poor.

    The location is pretty central and entering the hotel was easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff was friendly and helpful, the room is small and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No conditioning / ventilation - it was hard to sleep during the warm night.

    The staff was friendly and helpful, the room is small and basic, but had everything needed, up to iron and hair dryer, and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location and rooms; plan to pay for off-site parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is off-site (less than two blocks away) and expensive ($35/night). The Union Square area is quite loud (to be expected in a big city, but the hotel provided ear plugs, which was nice).

    The hotel is right in the heart of Union Square and within walking distance to a lot of restaurants, shopping, tourist attractions, and transit options for attractions or activities that are farther away. The room was clean (pretty basic: no fridge or microwave) and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.2
    At first day the gentleman at the front desk was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet didnt work. We stayed 2 night. We told them after first night And they would fix it. When we came back for 2nd night it was not fixed So we couldnt use our toilet for the whole stay. When checking out we mentioned it. The women at the front desk said someone would contact us to sort out the problem but no-one contacted us, which is a bit rude if you as me

    At first day the gentleman at the front desk was very helpful. Giving us tips of how to move around SF.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Loved it overall and will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really uncomfortable. :(

    The location was perfect considering the affordable cost point! The decor was cozy and relaxing and the room size and ammenities were perfect for the both of us and our young child. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Location for downtown is brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room and bathroom. Building work going on in the building which started early. Hassled by homeless people right outside the door when coming in.

    Location for downtown is brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location downtown, great restaurant very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator a bit slow.

    Restaurant next door was excellent. The free breakfast was very good and we had an excellent dinner there. Rooms were small but comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Had a lovely time the hotel is in a great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator is a bit on the slow side. Otherwise all very good.

    The free breakfast at the diner next door was excellent, as was the other meal we had there. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Would stay there again if I needed to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window blinders were quite old and some sunlight was coming into the room in the early morning. It can be quite nosy at night time

    Location was excellent! Staff really friendly and helpful! Clean bathroom!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    I would not repeat a stay at this hotel nor would I recommend it for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extreme amount of Bleach used to clean bathroom; extremely loud street noise level late at night, early morning; was not told airport shuttle to airport had a $17 charge; no coffee maker in the room; smell in hallways; overpriced for the location street side

    Friendly desk clerks; bathroom products used-soap, shampoo, conditioner; clean room; location close to my meetings

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Touchstone Hotel - City Center traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: