Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Townsend Hotel 4 stars

100 Townsend Street, Birmingham, MI 48009, USA

#1 of 3 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 37 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    The Townsend is a little gem. It's real treat to stay there!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Strange how the in-room breakfast menu is better than the dining room menu but its just an observation not a criticism.

    It's always a pleasure to stay in this hotel. I love the old world charm and yet light and airy rooms. I feel like it's home from home. It has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are just so smart, helpful and kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great location, walking distance to all of our destinations, I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    David at the Rugby Grille was a great waiter for my particular friends. He did a super job meeting their special requests! The bell desk was responsive to bringing our car and retrieving our luggage, no long waits.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in a walkable community
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a cluster fu** around the property. We wanted to valet but couldn’t even get to a point where we could stop and hand the keys off. It’s all street parking around and the valet was backed up maybe? It’s the the Townsend’s fault though.

    Evening turn down service. Excellent value. The staff is wonderful as are the rooms. Room service is tasty, quick and well worth the exorbitant price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean facility. Staff was professional, friendly, and always there to help or ask if you need anything. The hotel is located within downtown Birmingham, which is upscale and has a lot of places to shop and dine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    10
    Classy stay but front desk didn't listen to billing request.
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged my daughters charge card for one night because she checked in first, even though they held the room on my credit card . I had told them I would arrive much later but my daughter would get there first . When I checked in I repeated that. At check out I repeated that I wanted all charges on my credit card ... had the card in my hand. They assured me it was all taken care of as I wished but it wasn't!! . One night and the parking showed up on my (fresh out of college)daughter's credit card . They eventually fixed it. But it never should have happened.

    Bedding was wonderful! Crisp clean sheets with a perfect weight down duvet. Wish I had it for home. Even the turn down service and chocolates were extra nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Great staff excellent restaurant
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things like coffee and tea in the room. Better wifi without paying for premium.

    Bed was super comfy staff paid extra attention and gave you needed things even without being asked like extra box of kleenex because I had a cold.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.2
    Great location/clean rooms/quiet/great bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hefty price for aging hallways/crack paint/chipping/no pool or hot tub......would have expected pristine.

    Great location/clean rooms/quiet/great bed! Concierge and Stephanie at front desk very helpful finding dinner spot for us...much appreciated. Valet staff on the ball and moved fast with both drop off and getting car the next day...the water bottles a plus!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Very cozy, excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cozy, excellent service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Outstanding team
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding team

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Staff and luxury.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service Friday night was weak. Understaffed.

    Staff and luxury.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Everything was clean and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was clean and beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    this is a good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed is very comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.1
    The bed was like a cloud very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stained floors. The smell.

    The bed was like a cloud very comfy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    9.6
    Great property & location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is a bit pricey but with your rate, it made it do able.

    Great property & location. Walking distance to nice restaurants. My 1st visit at this hotel & I would go back.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    9.6
    It was elegant & what I expected with the exception of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was elegant & what I expected with the exception of during dinner we had to be moved because there was a direct cold vent near our table . We also had the view of the back of the brick building!

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV in bedroom would just shut off. We were asked every day if we wanted a newspaper in our room, we said yes every time. It never showed up.

    Beautiful hotel. Great size suite and the neighborhood is wonderful, with great shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.5
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    price rooms with aging interior loud hall way air conditioning some rooms in noisy location no pool no hot tub expensive parking bedding and room felt damp pictures not reflective of actual rooms old carpet small bath tub

    location bottled water

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Questo albergo si trova a Birmingham, un'isola felice a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Questo albergo si trova a Birmingham, un'isola felice a mezz'ora di distanza da Detroit ed una delle contee piu' ricche di tutti gli Stati uniti. La cittadina e' deliziosa e l'albergo e' uno dei piu' belli di tutto lo stato del Michigan. L'edificio e' ubicato in un vecchio edificio restaurato, ma l'interno, pur mantenendo un arredamento in linea con la storia del palazzo, e' comunque tutto nuovo e scintillante. Le camere sono enormi. La stanza comprende sia la zona letto sia una zona soggiorno con divani, televisione e scrivania. Anche il bagno e' particolarmente grande e confortevole. Hai a disposizione di tutto: numerosi asciugamani, 2 accappatoi, pantofole, radio sintonizzata su una radio locale che trasmette musica, un bar all'interno di un mobile apposito che si illumina quando viene aperto e contiene ogni ben di Dio. Letto molto confortevole. Servizio impeccabile. La colazione ed il wi-fi si pagano a parte.

    Questo albergo si trova a Birmingham, un'isola felice a mezz'ora di distanza da Detroit ed una delle contee piu' ricche di tutti gli Stati uniti. La cittadina e' deliziosa e l'albergo e' uno dei piu' belli di tutto lo stato del Michigan. L'edificio e' ubicato in un vecchio edificio restaurato, ma l'interno, pur mantenendo un arredamento in linea con la storia del palazzo, e' comunque tutto nuovo e scintillante. Le camere sono enormi. La stanza comprende sia la zona letto sia una zona soggiorno con divani, televisione e scrivania. Anche il bagno e' particolarmente grande e confortevole. Hai a disposizione di tutto: numerosi asciugamani, 2 accappatoi, pantofole, radio sintonizzata su una radio locale che trasmette musica, un bar all'interno di un mobile apposito che si illumina quando viene aperto e contiene ogni ben di Dio. Letto molto confortevole. Servizio impeccabile. La colazione ed il wi-fi si pagano a parte.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    10
    From the moment we arrived until the moment we left,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I cannot think of anything which did not exceed expectations

    From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, everyone and everything was top notch. Not a single misstep in two days.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    10
    Our stay was with 7 girlfriends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our stay was with 7 girlfriends. Exceptional service by Bellmen, Front Desk Check In, Concierge Services and Check Out. Convenient Location to Birmingham Shops and Restaurants. Hotel well lite during late hours and well staffed. A+ goes to the Concierge Staff who sensitively dealt with a valued article left behind. Within 30 minutes of phone call it was on its way across the state. The service level of this amazing boutique hotel goes well beyond your stay. A+

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    10
    All the staff was helpful.
    • Couple

    All the staff was helpful. The parking valet was particularly good at helping to direct me around town.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    Excellent staff.
    • Couple

    Excellent staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.8
    Staff was friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    some parts of the hotel felt dated.

    Staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    couldn't print from the computers in the business center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    couldn't print from the computers in the business center however the front desk printed my tickets so that was a positive finish thank you

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    10
    We really enjoyed relaxing in our friend's suite with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was perfect.

    We really enjoyed relaxing in our friend's suite with wine after a "hard" afternoon of shopping!

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    9.6
    Excellent hospitality, super friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent hospitality, super friendly and helpful.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: