Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Varden Hotel 3 stars

335 Pacific Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802, USA

#9 of 66 hotels in Long Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 203 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    10/10 all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was 10/10! I normally don't expect much more than a clean, comfortable space while traveling but the Varden went above and beyong!

    The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The happy hour beverages and snacks were and unexpected and welcome touch in a cozy open area. The location was perfect, very close to the water! And of course the room was cozy, efficient, clean, and bright.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Clean, Quiet, and Close
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was excellent! It was clean, quiet, and close to the downtown and convention center. About 4-5 blocks away from the convention center. I was very impressed when finding this little gem inside the city. Truth be told, I enjoyed staying here more than the Renaissance Hotel which was quite loud on the street side. Good value the staff was so accommodating. I actually stayed two different times. I stayed one night, traveled to Catalina Island and came back to The Varden Hotel. The Hotel was so accommodating that they held my suitcase in their storage for when I returned. It was so helpful and thoughtful. Really good management and people at the hotel. Thank you for helping to make my visit so nice in Long Beach, CA. I recommend to others!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    I’d come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mosquitos breeding in the a/c unit in my room. Everytime i would use the a/c, mosquitos would suddenly appear. Very annoying!

    Decor was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    It was a very cute experience. I recommend people try it for themselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban Room with One Double Bed - Third Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a little thin and you could hear people taking showers in the morning.

    The room was cute and perfect for two people. My partner and I arrived around 5pm and left around 10am. We weren’t there long and it was a perfect little place to stay for a short amount of time. It had everything you needed. The staff was very friendly and I liked that they had little extra surprises for you. They had wine and snacks for guests to have. The continental breakfast was good and it was better then some other places. I liked that they closed the main door at 9pm. That made me feel secure. We walked to downtown Long Beach (which was about a 6 minute walk) and not once did we feel uncomfortable. It was a cute experience and I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, friendly and super helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress wasn't the comfiest and you can hear a lot through the walls but thankfully we had quiet neighbours!

    Great location, friendly and super helpful staff. They put out snacks and wine in the evenings and have tea, coffee and fresh fruit available all day!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    the great customer service, specially the eye contact
    • Group
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wished when I checked out, they could of taken off my credit card to pay for my other guest who was under my reservation. The other guest were ask to leave a credit card for their room but was never charge for it. I got charge for the whole three rooms :(

    the great customer service, specially the eye contact

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    I can’t speak too highly of the staff - they were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor.

    I can’t speak too highly of the staff - they were very friendly and obliging and went out of their way to help. The room was basic but ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice little hotel with everything you need.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not real breakfast for us.

    Our room was relatively small but super clean and had the essentials which was just what we needed. We loved how close it was to downtown where we could just walk to restaurants and places with out how having to drive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small for the price. Must be the historical value that places it at that price. The walls are thin so prepare for that. Didn't bother me, I had music to drown out the noise.

    The neighborhood was safe in my opinion and near main attractions. The size of the room was ideal for me, as I didn't stay in the room very long. The wine offering was a nice touch. Their hospitality and kindness was beyond my expectations. Overall it was a pleasant experience with this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    stay was nice staff great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't like the layout room bit small and bed bit small as I asked for king size and view from window was brick wall not much for breakfast and a bit over priced for what you get but guess you pay for modern look

    style of room good , location not too bad within walking distance of food and shops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    I would stay at this hotel again because of the wonderful accommodating and friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is just too small. There is no closet. The sink is difficult to use because there's a shelf right above the sink and if I raised up my head would bump into the shelf. Brushing my teeth was awkward. There is no elevator and I got tired going up and down the stairs. The shower is very small and difficult to move around in. When using the toilet the bathroom space is very tight and I had to reach behind me with my left hand in order to reach the toilet paper roll.

    The bed was comfortable, the linen was clean, the towels were clean and plush, staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Peace and quiet we needed for my boyfriends birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban Room with One Double Bed - Third Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was super cute and the free wine tasting was an excellent start to our short weekend. The rooms are small, but I expected that. They were so cute and well appointed. I thought it was a great way to maximize space. The staff was excellent, they remembered my name the whole time I was there, that is an unusual thing. Totally worth the trip, and will stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    The employees made the stay. Highly recommend!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom/shower was a bit small but nothing to ruin the experience, we are just tall people :)

    Loved the staff. Everyone is overly friendly and efficient! Each staff member was this way, they made the experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    My conference was easy and comfortable thanks to the Varden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    K-cups are trash.

    The simple room with exactly what I needed and not a lot of other fuss. It was great and I'll be staying at the Varden next time I come to LA for sure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    Great staff and location, but rooms are poorly designed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had only a thin sliding wall so didn’t give much privacy. The sink was so tiny it was not possible to use to wash your face. Also no sufficient shelf to put anything in the bathroom. Just a tiny, tiny night stand and small table under the tv with no other table or luggage rack so our stuff was just all over the floor. The curtain in the shower was sooo hard to close. If I wasn’t very tall I wouldn’t have been able to reach high enough to close it. It was also hard to sleep with only 1 pillow.

    Staff was great and enjoyed the little perks like the evening wine and snacks. Also great location and pretty comfortable bed. Liked the phone dock/charger thing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Fun and funky area .Staff exceptional and so helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and tidy. Liked the little 5pm nibbles and as much tea and coffee as you like.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    An experience I’ll never forget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Urban Room with One Double Bed - Third Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size could be a tad bigger and missed having a closet.

    Location was good and easy parking access. Loved the outdoor mural and history of the building. I did find the room very small for two people but everything inside was so clean that it made up for it. Staff was wonderful and we had a great experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    It was conviene, and cousi that makes feel like home
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rack from hanging the clothes was blocking the view of the television

    The pillows were on point, the room space was on point. Was on a really combinet location. Everything was a walking distance. The rooms were so cute and felt like home

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Cozy place with a lot to see walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property is maintained clean, staff is one of the best I have come around. Overall a great pleasure staying at this location, I will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent choice :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not really soundproof which would be the only minus I have found.

    We were offered a glass of wine directly upon our arrival, Sarah showed us the room personally and was really kind and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Boutique hotel with excellent decor, polite and helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy outside in the late evening, there was a big conference in town.

    Boutique hotel with excellent decor, polite and helpful staff, and a great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Quaint is often a mixed bag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the painting the room was chipped. The sink was narrow and small, and placed in an awkward position directly under the glass shelfing.

    It's nearness to local hot spots. Within walking distance of the Pike and harbor tours.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Every visit to Long Beach is made better because we know we will be staying at The Varden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an amazing boutique hotel. Historical, great amenities, and the best staff you could ask for. The rooms are small but very comfortable and space is well utilized.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay - I'll be back again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a refreshing break from the ordinary. This was a combination of an old European hotel with Tokyo modern finish. Very quiet, very cozy, and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    overall good
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    What could use improvement is the shelf above the sink in the room is in a very bad spot, my husband was not able to bend down because he would have hit his head on the shelf also there was rust on the window in the shower that opens outward also there is no elevator but the staff did help us carry up our luggage overall was a very pleasant experience, but it was overpriced for what it was

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the room was very small but clean, the location was good, the parking was good. .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Little boutique
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban Room with One Double Bed - Third Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get the floor requested as previous guest hadn't checked out of room we had booked so ended up on 1st floor room 10 which is at the front of the properth above reception, everyone can be heard coming and going and standing outside under window smoking. Trams run past the window and very noisy.

    Clean and central comfortable bed. Staff very friendly and accomodating. Basic breakfast but coffee and water available 24 hours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Centrally located, clean hotel with friendly staff. Sufficiently comfortable for our short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom did not deserve to be called a bathroom. Tiny sink in room. Shower almost on top of toilet and practically in room, separated from bed by a thin sliding door. Tiny room. Hate feeling trapped in bed because only one side has access.

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Awesome. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor thing was that our room didn't have coffee/tea making facilities however there was a nice lounge area with this option which was clean and well stocked so is barely a negative.

    Great service from the staff. Clean and streamlined room. Very simple but the small stuff is done very well. Comfortable bed with quality linen. Wifi worked great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Great staff compensated somewhat, but security concerns and unpleasantly small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street people try to enter the hotel and hide in the parking lot, causing worry about the security. The room was VERY tiny--maybe 8.5 x 17--and while clean and in good condition--very sparsely furnished-not at all cozy.

    The staff was wonderfully helpful and accommodating. The bed/linens and furniture were nice, Room was sparkling clean and in good repair. The evening wine and snack were nice; as was the morning coffee/continental breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    The staff here was incredibly helpful, the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small, but efficient. They made good use of the tiny space. There are other larger rooms, but we were at a festival all day and were only using the room to sleep in.

    The staff here was incredibly helpful, the location was great and the room was very clean. This hotel is in the heart of downtown with a lot of places to go and things to see.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    The staff is very friendly and welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good, but a bit unsatisfying (only few items). Although I asked for lactose free items when I booked, I did not find any patisseries or bread suitable. Even if the metro is very close, reaching Los Angeles takes a while. It is better to go there by car.

    The staff is very friendly and welcoming! The room is small but new and nice. You find everything you need. It is very clean. The metro, restaurants, cafes, beach are all pretty close. Also, they offer a nice wine-tasting (included in your staying) every afternoon. Coffee and water available at any time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent bang for your buck in the cool vibe of downtown Long Beach, CA!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Urban Room with One Double Bed - Third Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a big room, but very clean and within walking distance to downtown Long Beach. plenty of restaurants, large and small. absolutely met my needs on very short notice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is very clean, the staff are all friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom/shower/sink is small and difficult to get ready in the morning. The air conditioning unit is directly above the bed.

    The hotel is very clean, the staff are all friendly and super accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Quiet and small.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Urban Room with One Double Bed - Third Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shelf over the bathroom sink is terrible. There is not enough room to wash your face. The light around the bathroom mirror is also terrible; just glare, not enough illumination.

    Quiet and small.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, with double bed pushed against the wall, requiring one person to climb off the end of the bed. Very disappointing breakfast, with a small variety of sweet pastries, definitely not the continental breakfast advertised.

    Very modern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    4.2
    kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    tiny old, worn out room(#3) motel 6 for half the price will have twice the size room. no coset only 5 hooks to hang cloths. No space to even put a toothbrush by the sink. no shelves & the toilet was pracically under the shower. Scary area to walk outside to the parking especially at night.

    kind staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    A good place to stay in Long Beach.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound insulation. For example, was able to hear next door snoring, arguments from two-three rooms away, steps above. I surely annoyed someone myself with the TV, keeping it on throughout my stay.

    Location, Hospitality, Renovation, Style, Hygiene

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Ideally located with Excellent Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) A little more variety in the breakfast choices would be nice 2) The beds do not seem to be a standard length-- I am 5'8" yet I always need to scoot up to the very top, almost touching the headboard, just so they do not get off the bed. 3) The shower stall is VERY tight. By the time you avoid hitting the shower faucet handle, you are halfway out the shower stall.

    Excellent and friendly staff. Proximity to our corporate offices. Having a cocktail hour was a nice touch

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    I arrived to the hotel late in the evening and they still...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was all pretty great for a quick business trip. Very close to court house and Long Beach Administrative area for any attorneys or other business people that need a quick but comfortable place to stay.

    I arrived to the hotel late in the evening and they still had a very friendly staff member waiting there, outside, ready to greet me and assist me with my two bags. This was particularly unexpected for a small boutique style hotel. I was even more surprised by the rooms. They are modern, updated and have everything you could ask for for a quick business trip. The size of the room was on the smaller size, but they don't try and hide it and make the best use of the space I have seen for a small size hotel. The staff was also very friendly and welcoming, always eager to assist or just let me go on my way.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.9
    Very modern chic interior with the most tremendous helpful and truly friendly staff I have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lodging in all of downtown Long Beach is pretty pricey. More than I pay in Seattle, DC, San Francisco . . . you get the idea. Long Beach Citizens need to care more for their city. They treat their city as a trash bin, which detracts from all the downtown hotels not just this one.

    Conveniently located on the edge of town, very close to all public transportation, including the ferry to Catalina. Very modern chic interior with the most tremendous helpful and truly friendly staff I have ever encountered, and I have traveled a lot. There is also a great Mexican restaurant right next door. Looks iffy on the outside, but very pleasant inside and great food and service. On the downside the restaurant only takes cash. While I though the place was a bit expensive, it is competitive with other comparable places in downtown Long Beach. Don't let the exterior fool you. It is a very nice place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.2
    Good design and friendly small hotel concept
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not too much to chose for breakfast, no bread or toasts, it was very simple.

    Good design, very friendly with an interesting concept, wine tasting in the evening, coffee machine and fruit at the disposal of the guests.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    8.3
    Good atmosphere and fantastic service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Urban Room with One Double Bed - Third Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small rooms and short beds

    All staff provides a fantastic service and will do their absolutely best, to make sure your stay feels better than good. Clean hotel and rooms. Free coffee and water all day. Relaxed atsmophere and quiet location, very close to downtown Long Beach, and walking distance to beach.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Quick Long Beach stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't super comfortable. No elevater but courteous staff helped with my bags up and down stairs.

    Great location. Super helpful and courteous staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    The bed was like a cloud, pillows amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, should have been free, water bottles in the room

    The bed was like a cloud, pillows amazing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Small and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and cozy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Comfortable bed, accommodation was excellent. Had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of any to not like.

    Easy location, Plenty of food places for easy walking distance, and very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Tea, coffee & water available any time and for free. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Met my needs and exceeded my expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they had an elevator.

    The price was fair, and the cleanliness and comfort exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Clean and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator in room

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Personalized care by staff.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personalized care by staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    We will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban Room with One Double Bed - Third Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view

    Very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Walls are very thin, I can hear the neighboring rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are very thin, I can hear the neighboring rooms and the bustle in the hallways.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    One night before cruise. Basic accommodation . Cheese n wine happy hour
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure

    Location, price, quirky

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Great experience, wouldn’t hesitate to refer or comeback !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee :(

    CLEAN ROOM AND KIND HELPFUL STAFF!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    a kind staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not a good location; a tiny room and bathroom; an uncomfortable bed

    a kind staff; a clean room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    The staff are very supportive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small size room

    The staff are very supportive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Staff is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Staff is amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location not too appealing

    reasonably priced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small..

    Bed was comfortable. Very welcoming, free wine, clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.0
    It was better than I anticipated, would definitely stay there on my next visit to Long Beach
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Urban Room with One Double Bed - Third Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small sink and no plug.

    Very friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    The bed was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smallroom size but adequate for 1 person

    The bed was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great things come in small packages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, but very quaint. Expect a small but beautiful room.

    The staff was amazing and was a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay enhanced by super friendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I prefer a firmer bed

    Quick in & out (First floor, great parking)- perfect for my purposes this visit!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast choice very limited
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice very limited

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Comfy pillows
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small

    Comfy pillows

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was terrific....went far and beyond. What a gem of a hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    The staff was super friendly and attentive.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could be improved

    The staff was super friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    I’d stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff and excellent clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    short and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff there is very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    The bed so small far 2 people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed so small far 2 people

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    Adequate for overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room.

    History of the building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    The staff was excellent and the room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with One Double Bed- First Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was excellent and the room was very clean. I will stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    The hotel is in a great location and was convenient for my nearby family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Double Bed- Second Floor/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Varden staff went out of their way to be helpful and offer suggestions for excursions in the area

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: