Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Washington Inn 3 stars

495 Tenth Street, Oakland, CA 94607, USA

#20 of 42 hotels in Oakland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 400 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Very Cool Washington
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Two Beds Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much I didn’t like, except wish I would have noticed the fan switch on the wall. I was too hammered to see it at night and passed out and woke up really thirsty and hot :p

    For the Washington Hotel being 108 years old, it had a ton of character and is located very close to the Fox Theatre and plenty of other cool places.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Very to close to BART station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy inside, but it is normal in this type of buildings Expensive parking, if you want to let your car there during day, it is necessary to use garage in Convention center (35 USD per day, very close to hotel). On street parking is possible to prepay only for two hours!

    Very to close to BART station Everything was clean and fine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Two Beds Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets flushed very poorly. Sometimes it would take three or four tries just to get it to work. The shower head was also very unimpressive because it did not have an actual head. The water was just spraying out full blast however it wanted and the temperature did not stay consistent.

    The location was amazing. Not too far from anything we needed in town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.0
    Old boutique hotel seen better days needs improvement and better staff training.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tries to be boutique hotel but old and not well kept seen better days. Room maintenance average to poorly. Carpet in room worn out. Stairs carpet dirty. Staff disinterested to surly.

    Air conditioning worked well. Bed pretty comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Convenient for BART and cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast finishes exactly 9am and immediately cleared up. No gluten-free food at breakfast except a hard boiled egg. No decaffeinated coffee at breakfast - sachets in room for coffee maker but they ran out of those before the end of our stay. Ran out of butter on the last morning. Lift like hotel - something from the 1950's and noisy. Starting from ground floor despite pressing floor number the lift often went to basement (doors opened and finally closed) then back up to ground floor (doors opened again) before finally going to desired floor. Staff average at best. Noisy on Saturday as party in function room.

    Convenient to BART (Metro system) for travelling into San Francisco, and for the Bay Area it was cheap. One good restaurant (Agave - Latin-Mexican good quality) but up at 22nd street. Free shuttle from bus stops on Broadway till 9pm so if eat early then can get shuttle both ways from 22nd to 10th Street where hotel is. If using room in evenings it is worth getting a "parlour room" as extra room next to bedroom with microwave and fridge (in serious need of defrosting though) and a supermarket ("Smart & Final") a few yards from hotel if planning to eat in room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice funky little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funky old elevator, but it works. Door locks for a bit wonky as well. these are small rooms and you stepped down into them so people who need a lot of space or have issues with balance, or steps might find them difficult.

    Nice clean room! Very conveniently located near BART, Jack London Square, right across from the convention center and not far from the ferry terminal. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.2
    Not clean and very shabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy. There was a black hair in the bathroom and the shower grout was filthy. Uncomfortable lumpy bed. Terrifying elevator. Broken sink in the room. Carpet ripped and unsafe. Never again.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location for both Oakland and San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little underwhelming. They said it's a "continental" breakfast but the continent wasn't Europe for sure as I've wrongly assumed :)

    Very good location if you want to visit SF but don't want to pay SF prices for the hotel. Just around the corner from the BART station and around 20min ride to SF. Decent size room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    3.8
    Nothing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff had little to no information about the chain of command for complaints , on employee was extremely rude , no manager on Ground to handle complaints, no working elevator for the guests but the house keepers were able to use it , I called before hand and asked about a elevator because I have mobility issues and have a Grandson with a disability , after we checked in we were told the elevator didn’t work , and I was put in the 3rd floor which was extremely difficult , no restaurant and continental breakfast was nothing to be desired ! This is rated a 3 1/2 Star property , I usually book at the Marriott on the corner which is a 3 Star hotel ..... a Motel 6 would have been better !

    Nothing !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    With such a convenient location they should make an effort to make the hotel a better experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amenities were non-existent. Elevator broken and no strong young person to carry bags up a 3 flight per floor narrow staircase. Bar and restaurant closed on weekends and open very little during the week. No outside area to accommodate smokers (bench, ash stand?). Guest computer not functioning for the 3 days we were there. and staff just shrugged their shoulders about when it might be fixed. Room felt cramped and windowsills were dirty with cobwebs.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    3.8
    Elevator not working and did not let us know until check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator not working and did not let us know until check in. I am in process of recovering from a knee replacement. Offered to give our money back but most hotels were booked at that late date. Hair dryer did not work. Blanket on bed was about the same thickness of the sheet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Front Desk not Helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator not working, front desk was extremely rude and not helpful. We had a elderly woman with health problems and they put us on the 4th floor with no elevator working. They said no other rooms were available but we had friends that were staying there too that had the exact same room but on second floor and had not checked in yet and they would not give us that room???

    It was very close to the Oracle Arena and Jack London Square. Loved the old charm of the place..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator not working; bed sheets were not fresh; toilet not well cleaned; sink is outside the bathroom; tv remote batteries dead; problematic parking.

    Location;

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great and helpful staff, good location, charming lobby and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room details could have used a bit of attention, like torn pillow and no extension cord to reach the coffee maker. But nothing critical.

    Great and helpful staff, good location, charming lobby and bar, room had everything I needed for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Well located, convenient for downtown Oakland business events
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated facilities, horrible WiFi in room, no information left in room. Only option is to call desk and they do not answer.

    Well located, convenient for downtown Oakland business events

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Location is terrific and the little lobby bar a charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very mediocre breakfast. No fruit or gluten free options. No protein. Hard boiled eggs and a bag of apples and packets of nut butter would be cheap for them and make a real meal.

    Location is terrific and the little lobby bar a charm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.4
    Won't recommend and won't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pitiful. The night manager thought my room was vacant and tried to evict me at 11 pm by insisting I open the door and show him my ID. Once my daughter, who was in a room close by, convinced him that I was legitimately checked in and he went away, there was no apology.

    Price and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    We stayed with adult sons and they gave us rooms were across from each other at last minute booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lights were not easy to find and turn on. Our room had a step down which we had to be extra careful.

    Good location and parking was available on street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    I loved the Svenhard pastries!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the Svenhard pastries! They really brought me back to my early childhood years!! I loved the overall service, and how my questions were answered in a timely manner!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    I was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Two Beds Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a 1920s style hotel. It has been remodeled at some point, but much like the city of Oakland it is long past its prim. A real dump. Mold in the shower and rotted wood around the windows.

    I was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    The room was uncomfortable for two people travelling with cases
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not helpful when we arrived or had questions. The continental breakfast wasn’t worth getting up for. The fridge was filthy and the motor was louder than the TV, there was no complimentary shower gel just shampoo and moisturiser, the bedding was inadequate, the windows unclean, there was a rip in the carpet that wasn’t tapped down, the sink it was in the bedroom even though there was space in the bathroom and the room needed a good clean.

    The location was perfect with a supermarket and nightlife close by. The air conditioning worked perfectly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location, lousy stay...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room and bar closed. Someone above my room was exercising at midnight and wafts of marijuana in the halls on the third floor. All in all, not a great experience.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    Wonderful location, no hotel scene
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old elevator is sketchy. My date got caught in it. Freaked her out and staff not very responsive. Room could have been cleaner. Bar scene is DEAD. Breakfast is pathetix.

    Location and historical vibe. Very quaint.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    They did not have working wi-fi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They did not have working wi-fi. The lobby's wi-fi was spotty at best, when it actually was on, and the wi-fi for the other floors did not work at all. When asked, hotel staff did not seem overly concerned and said it might take a week to resolve. Given that this was during the California bar exam, when numerous hotel guests were preparing to take the exam right across the street and needed access to their study materials or needed to load up their exam software on their laptops with an internet connection, this was poor planning and investment on the hotel's part.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Washington stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Too old. Dark lobby. Dark carport. Small elevator. Parking is bad because it is across the street in another hotel on the other side of the block. And, it was raining. I got soaked and sweaty getting to and from my car with extra baggage.

    Interesting room set up. Inexpensive. Some character.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall, good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room faced 10th street and there was a lot of noise from various trucks starting around 6 AM, and even during late evening. I'm not sure what they were all doing there... The WiFi was OK for leisure, but too slow for work.

    The building is old fashioned but very well maintained. The room was large and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. Plenty of dining options in walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.6
    Great location, not worth the $$
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leak in shower, uncomfortable bed, old pillows, minimal assistance, overpriced food service that wasn’t always available.

    Location was close to where I needed to be. Great coffee maker. Mostly quiet and decent cable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Historic hotel with lots of character and no frills in the heart of Downtown Oakland
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel definitely shows its age - sometimes that's charming (in the case of the elevator and lobby) and sometimes it's kind of eyebrow-raising. It aspires to be a boutique hotel, but it would take some additional renovations to get it to that status. The wi-fi was fine for browsing, but not adequate for work beyond checking email.

    The hotel is clean and serviceable and the staff is professional. It is an older hotel and the lobby has personality (and a bar). The location on 10th and Broadway puts guests in the heart of downtown, with easy access to Old Oakland, Jack London Square, Chinatown, and Uptown. If you prioritize location and affordability with history and character, this is a solid choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.0
    Meh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Customer service was pretty awful. Unprofessional (not attentive / on phone snapchatting instead of helping me)

    Location is walking distance to a hip & lively downtown area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    I would most definitely stay again
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small and I had to keep going to the front because my key wasn’t working

    The area is lovely the rooms are clean the staff are very professional and nice my stay was very comfortable and with no hassle

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Good value for downtown Oakland
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is ancient so while quaint, was a little scary and never seemed to stop on the floor I wanted. But the building is only 4 stories so it’s not a problem to take the stairs.

    Comfortable and good value for the money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    Quaint, decent place. I'd stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They don't give you conditioner and were stingy with the soap. Place could use a bit of renovating. the vending machine/ice machine area was vacant, like it used to be there recently?

    Bed was comfortable, room was a good size. Television had a lot of available channels. Location was near some stuff to do at night and decent food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Good. I stay in Master Suite every year for my birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat did not work.

    Staff was nice. Had a 2 room suite that was great. Bartender Melissa made me an awesome drink for my Birthday. The Hotel is cute and quirky.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.7
    Great stay. Parking and climate control could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold and the heat did not work well. The guy at the front desk was a little rude about their very sketchy and inconvenient parking situation.

    The building is very old and cool. The room was cozy and very clean. The price is great. I have paid much more for a hotel room and received many nasty surprises. Not the case here. We will stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.7
    Would've been so much better with attentive and caring staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a great welcome. Front desk staff was sitting at the bar, full of swearing patrons, when we checked in. Had to wait for them to finish their activities before being serviced. Staff was patronizing and exasperated when explaining parking.

    Quirky and historic. Nice 2-room suite with street view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    The price was ideal, but we would probably choose to stay somewhere else during our next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Two Beds Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast never changed, so after 2 days we went elsewhere for breakfast. The bed was too soft. The water pressure was weak, and the temperature was inconsistent.

    The location was very good in Old Oakland, and the parking was easy and convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    For the price, the hotel was adequate. It is not luxury and there were some problems, but it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The phone in the room did not work and when brought to the attention of staff, nothing was done to correct that. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby. Lighting in the room was insufficient.

    The staff were pleasant. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    Overall, quite pleasant but forget the breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise quite loud at 3am. It woke me up. Elevator requires you to push up button and then press close door button when you get inside.

    The uniqueness of the space. The size of the King parlor suite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.2
    It sufficed , it was clean but I wouldn't stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I read other reviews and expected better. But the photographs are true. Stained ceiling tiles in lobby, strange cleaner smell throughout and really old linens and pillows. It was economical for Oakland, but it really is not a 3 star hotel at all.

    Location and ease to conference across the street. Easy to get to by BART. It is located around the corner from Old Oakland and great shops, and Stan's market. That part was great. And it is perfectly fine, just they could step it up.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    We made it work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Two Beds Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff was promised a fan would be brought to our room and we are still waits for it. Room 316 toilet stool pulled up. Housekeeping did a great job. Breakfast was fine. No hair conditioner in room. More hangers needed in room

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    The cleanliness and uniqueness of the rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Two Beds Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited and should be called Seven Eleven snacks. There was nothing being offered that was worth leaving your room.

    The cleanliness and uniqueness of the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location near Fox Theater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress hard and uncomfortable- not a good rest. This is a critical element for me... poor sleep affects your trip.

    Awesome location for easy access to the Fox Theater just 5 blocks away. Great pub next door-pacific coast brewery and great food lots of options 5 blocks down at Rudy's Cant Fail Cafe. Staff were very nice and helpful at front desk, at bar and servicing rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Great fun, totally satisfactory/quaint and great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should give up on restaurant ....too much competition in Oakland old town district.

    Folksy boutique hotel with Bay Area feeling. Much more desirable than monster chain look alike nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved the hotel, Great bars around the corner and jack...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are definitely warm wouldn't recommend stay in the dead of summer, staff provided us with a fan the 2nd night was much cooler

    Loved the hotel, Great bars around the corner and jack London park is within walking distance, continental breakfast served was nice to grab and go. Staff was awesome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Good, new environment for us. Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one in lobby - hard to figure who was working the desk at night, lack of info about hotel in rooms, breakfast could have had fresh cut seasonal fruit, warm eggs

    Old fashioned elevator, coffee in lobby, bar happy hour, light in room, water pressure, quiet, fifties film noir lobby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.2
    I like it because it was quiet.
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy that was at the desk that night he was rude,not helpful,no communication skills. The elevator is very old. I call the front desk for help so I can watch tv, no body did anything. I won't go back again, too expensive for what it is.

    I like it because it was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is located near the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside it was approx. 20 degrees, but in the room terribly hot. Slept with window open, because the AC is noisy. Not enough staff in the morning to maintain the breakfast. No clean plates, only bowls. Empty cans (juice, hot water, etc.).

    The hotel is located near the metro station. Clean rooms and friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Convenient parking and in a "relatively" safe...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite an old property that needs a touch of paint.

    Convenient parking and in a "relatively" safe location just off a principal commercial street through Oakland.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Parking across the street and the small, non-air-conditioned room were the negatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Two Beds Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very small, and our air-conditioning didn't work at all. They had propped an old box fan in the window to blow in the outside air, which also blew in the marijuana and cigarette smoke from the guest across the way. I didn't see any other box fans, though, so maybe we were just the lucky ones.

    I loved the old-fashioned design of the hotel. It was very retro and unique.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.3
    It was congenitally located to the Convention Center where I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot. There is no an AC only a fan and it definitely didn't do the justice. Front desk staff advised that in addition to the fan, I open up windows to cool the room temperature, which I did, but then there was too much noise from the street and trucks delivering supplies to the near by Smart & Final store. I felt like being in an oven that night.

    It was congenitally located to the Convention Center where I had a meeting. The room was clean and a coffee maker and a fridge were in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Nice clean comfortable no riff raff wondering around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea bag for tea in the morning or for afternoon tea

    Nice clean comfortable no riff raff wondering around. Very safe wondering the surrounding streets. Very nice stay we book next month.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.6
    The first person I met at the reception was very rude, then...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell in the room and the bathrooms.

    The first person I met at the reception was very rude, then another receptionist arrived and he was very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    Location was downtown close to other things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel was old and grimy looking, needs to be remodeled

    Location was downtown close to other things. Also, it was conveniently where the event I attended was at.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.0
    You get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the handicapped/accessible room and The bathroom was gross. No door around the shower, just old shower curtain. Floor would get wet all around, even by the toilet. Noise outside the building g could be heard, also an old musty carpet smell, and bed was so-so.

    Parking was offered @ $15/night. Was 2 blocks from the 12th St Oakland BART

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Historic hotel in central Oakland could become great if staff were friendlier, bar were operational.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Layout of room was strange, with half of the room one step up from the rest (probably due to settling of old building). Small room. Parking is across the street in a structure, requires a pass card that must immediately be returned to the hotel, so it's a bit cumbersome. Breakfast is nothing special.

    Modern furniture, comfortable bed, interesting old building, relatively affordable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.2
    Bad experience for 10 days
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy area with restaurants outdoor terace nearby. They have also a ballroom in the lobby kept with open doors and all the noise was coming up in the rooms. Breakfast very poor. If some products were finished, they don't refill it because no staff there at all during serving hours.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited breakfast. One of the window was blocked, so had to left open all the night. Some stuff was unsmiling. Paid $15 for car park.

    Nice old building. Location is good, very close to BART.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed staying at this nicely maintained and classy older hotel. Like a step back in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very clean and nicely furnished, but it has a step down from the front door into the main part of the room. I would guess that this was done to accommodate plumbing issues done in the past but it makes moving around in the room a little awkward. The fold out bed in the second room for the kids was not particularly comfortable.

    This is an older hotel that doesn't have that new shiny look, but it has been well maintained and has a very comfortable and older classy appeal. Nice breakfast setup. Easy covered parking immediately across the street at an affordable price. Just a one block walk to a BART subway station and you can be on your way to San Francisco. One evening we ate in the restaurant around the corner and were very pleased with the casual dining available there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Heart of Oakland and not to far from SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rather basic and always something missing

    Only two BART stations or a walk and a great ferry ride to San Francisco Embarcadero, in the heart of Oakland Cify Center, not to far from Jack London Square or Lake Merritt, nice rooms, bargain for SF visitors

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Great Place
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice historic hotel in a great location. Reasonable price for the area. Breakfast was better than most continental breakfasts with a good selection Staff were exceptional-very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    3.8
    Australians this establishment is not up to Australian standards not even close
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not up to Australian standards. Small, rude and unwelcoming staff at the check in counter. The rooms are so tiny and beds extremely hard. Television is all info commercials, if you want to get better looking skin, buy saucepans, exercise machines or just about anything else then you are in the right place. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANY AUSTRALIAN TOURIST EVER! The staff member who was on the desk Tuesday (July 11,2017) was extremely rude and very unhelpful. When asked about parking we where told we don't have parking. I asked about the parking that was advertised when i booked the room, he rudely again informed me that the parking in the street was free until 7am the following morning and i should get up early and move the car. I was not impressed with his customer service at all. The bathroom had mould and although we requested 2x face washers and 4x towels we never received them. The lights where motion detected so when you moved in the bed the lights came on and you actually had to get out of the bed to turn the lights back off. The idea of a hand basin in the room and not in the bathroom was ridiculous and took up much needed space. Often you could not find anyone from the hotel to have the breakfast supplies filled and the entire atmosphere of the establishment was cold, unwelcoming and the gentleman who plays the piano in the foyer, 2 levels up you could still hear him singing and playing. I found this rude as some guests including myself needed rest and sleep. I travelled with an American friend who was even more disappointed than me.

    The location for the Washington Inn was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.7
    Booked into a room that was not available
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had booked a king suite months ago. When we got there, we were informed that there were none available and we had been put into a queen room. This wasn't acceptable as I was traveling with a work colleague and we wanted the king suite so as to sleep separately but work together in the room. They did fairly quickly make good on the issue - giving us two queen rooms for the price I had been quoted. But why were we told we were booked into a room that wasn't available?? Staff varied drastically - one very professional and accomodating. Several quite snarly and condescending.

    It was in a convenient location and the room was just fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.6
    Great Location - Sadly not worth the $
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Two Beds Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked the room for 3. There were only 2 towels in the room. We tried calling the front desk - no answer. My daughter had to walk downstairs to ask for one and was told they would send one up to our room. After time went by I went downstairs and was then told they were out of towels. What!?! How do you book a room for 3 and not provide enough towels for everyone first of all and then to say you would send one up and then say you are out is just weird and definitely bad customer service. The room was clean, but the bed was very uncomfortable - the mattress had a big "dip" in the middle - so 2 people in one bed was extremely uncomfortable. Parking - confusing - and the front desk was not very helpful in explaining how it worked. You park in the convention center parking across the street. They charge you $15 at the hotel and give you an electronic card to get out of the garage, but then you have to return the electronic card or get charged $75. It was just a pain - especially since the staff did not explain it very well at all. Sadly, our overall experience with this hotel will not have us staying there again - especially when the Marriott is right across the street and the cost difference is minimal.

    The location was great. Walking distance to the Fox Theatre where we attended a performance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Fun n Funky Old Oakland Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Two Beds Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    better bagel selection? my wife said i don't get to make the reservations anymore :( ;)

    it was a funky old hotel, which i enjoy. the night manager was gruff, but when i asked to change rooms due to our original room was small and stuffy, he begrudgingly moved us to a larger room, a big corporate hotel would most likely have very nicely said sorry, thats not possible. i'd stay here again in a minute. the elevator is not to be missed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable historic hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were reasonably helpful and polite, but not particularly friendly or professional. They made sure we had what we needed and nothing more.

    The location was excellent. The building has been nicely restored and the rooms were large for an urban hotel in a historic building. Everything was clean and in good repair.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    The BEST in Oakland downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing.

    My boss and I enjoy the Washington Inn and always try to book rooms there for our employees and if possible our corporate officers too. All employees at the Washington are friendly and know us and always willing to help us and our needs. Carlos is great and very helpful and Melissa is a great bartender and always smiling and makes us feel at home, and they have a great breakfast (Free). I recommend this place if you don't want to feel like a number.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Clean & comfortable in a good location but no wifi!?!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no wifi in the rooms. Since wifi is basically a utility now days like running water and electrical power this was a major downer. While I understand that this hotel is small and unable to have an ice machine on every floor, I found having to go down to the ground floor to get ice to be a hassle. One woman at the front desk during the day was very friendly and helpful, I found the guy at the desk in the evenings to be unhelpful and unfriendly. The coffee was lousy.

    The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was also surprisingly quite for a downtown location (I was on the 4th floor). I had a suite and appreciated the second room with a sink, refrigerator and microwave.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    We're regulars here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel bar not open on weekends? Really?

    Bed was much softer and more comfortable than the usual hotel pallets. Staff was friendly and helpful as always.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Elegant, historical ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on stairway could be upgraded

    Maintaining it's historical integrity, seemed upgraded from 3 yrs ago, breakfast good and in dining room rather than lobby

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Vintage boutique
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant reminder of old-style city hotels, right down to sash windows that open and high ceilings. Comfortable bed, very clean room and boutique ambience .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    3.8
    location - downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Two Beds Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything else was crap - elevator hasn't been modernized since the 60's and barely worked, stairs were rickety and old, rooms are laughably small, beds and showers are scary in terms of frequent cleaning and overall freshness. would never book there again (absent a major overhaul) and certainly would not recommend it to a friend today.

    location - downtown

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Overall.....pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While they state having a restaurant it's not actually open and no-one is on duty at the downstairs bar. The check IN staff member (a gentleman) was really lack lustre, and while not rude was not particularly friendly and just appeared to be going through the motions.

    Great location, walking distance to clubs, bars, theatres and restaurants as well as public transport. Car parking is available via the hotel at the Marriott across the road. At $15 a day (24hrs) it's good value. The breakfast while simple is adequate. The check OUT staff (Christa I think her name was) was lovely. Really friendly, polite and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Better in cooler weather .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C fan very noisy, when turned off and open windows, a lot of street noise. Better place to stay when weather is cooler.

    Very nice bed & shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    4.6
    The room was sold as a two bed room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Two Beds Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sold as a two bed room. Once we arrived we found out the place has no parking of their own and the second bed is actually a small pull out couch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    I love to stay in Washington inn Hotel!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Queen Non-Smoking Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi not very work in room!

    I appreciated with The Washington inn hotel's Manager Carlos Rosales with all staffs are very kindness, concerned and helpfulness to take good care, and also including saved a good room for me! Many thanks for all of staffs! Wishing good luck and every success for all of you! Thanks!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Washington Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: