Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4 stars

335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#66 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2944 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms TV is located awkawardly Subpar ammenities Huge hotel so extra wait time standing in line at front desk everytime all the time

    Terrific location. Attentive and service oriented personnel Historic landmark hotel. Good price/value relationship Spacious bathrooms Water bottles offered at check in and every time you make your way to the front desk, bell boys or butlers. Good information provided by staff regarding the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled slightly of cigarettes but it was in the not-yet-refurbished area. Front desk staff not at all helpful.

    The concierge was very nice, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived the hotel from the Powell street entrance and there’s only stairs. We had to carry two huge suitcases because there’s no bellboy. Valet parking is really expensive. We parked at the Union Square garage for $36, which is a cheaper option. Bathtub drain is slow. Lots of homeless people in Union Square area, but they are pretty much all around SF I guess.

    easy access to cable cars, malls and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning was very noisy and would cut and out every few minutes. At 2.00 am I was forced to go hunt for the controls and turn it off. VERY long (5-10 minutes) wait for the elevator on Saturday morning

    Staff were VERY helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds – Tower Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very poor and standard breakfast for the rate. You get much better off finding a nice place outside the hotell.

    The concierge, car parking service and the fitness room were all very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over $600 paid for 2 nights and breakfast not included. Seriously? $80 more per couple per day? That’s crazy! Paid $73 at Cheesecake Factory across the street and that included 4?bloody Mary’s ... get with the times

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The only thing we were really sorry about, is that we missed out on the guided tour of the hotel because we didn't read the information pack until the day after. A mention of the tour at check in would be a good thing?

    Loved the gracious architecture, history and ambiance and perfect location. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds – Tower Building
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sparsely furnished. The breakfast was repetitive with just one dish changing everyday. There were hardly any facilities in the hotel

    The location. Very central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facility to hang clothes in the bathroom.

    Overall very good, special mention about the concierge service staff and how helpful they were at locating restaurants, bars, pubs and shopping areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room – Union Square View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really expensive with 500 USD per night and therefore, the room is not too comfortable (e.g. shower is complicated, we had to ask for slippers, bathrobe) Breakfast in hotel restaurant is also overpriced. Quality of restaurants in the area is not great, very touristic (except of Cheesecake Factory across the square!)

    Location is perfect directly on Union Square, close to shops, restaurants, cable car, muséums, etc. It is easy to go out and around with a pram (we traveled with a baby), no need for a car which costs only lots for parking. Very big room Baby cod for free, fridge and coffee maker are helpful to prepare baby food. Starbucks downstairs in the lobby Fast elevators Hertz Rental station in the hotel lobby (but not very qualified)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no atmosphere. a huge hotel where they don't particularly care about the guests. constant big events being held so lots of through traffic. our room was tiny and overlooked a brick wall.

    Good value for money and location was pretty good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    I looked the hotel weeks before, then looked and the price dropped nearly in half. Paid $400 and could have booked the hotel last minute for $250. Very annoying. Watch out, Westin charges for every little thing. Early check-in- even though a room was already ready....

    The hotel was beautiful, lots of history and beautiful architecture. The location was perfect, very close to shops and various restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King Room – Union Square View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast at the hotel restaurant was bare of stuff and the service during breakfast was slow. The breakfast buffet is extremely expensive to the quality of food presented. Despite the room was prepared everyday, no bottle of water were left in the room as is the tradition in all the other Westin hotels The hotel does not have a president club/lounge

    The view from my room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds – Tower Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No restaurant for dinner & no guest lounge area were disappointments.

    Very friendly professional staff were helpful in every way. The room was spacious & immaculately clean with lovely views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bar was too small for the number of rooms/guests .We went elsewhere .

    comfortable beds,greta location easy to extend check out as we had a late flight back to the UK

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not our sort of hotel - dated and faded elegance in the lobby. Poor facilities for bar & restaurant - the coffee shop was 'basic' Corridors were very cold Lack of toiletries in our room and no bottled water (due to a labour dispute as to who puts it in the room). The above points were made to William the Duty Manager before leaving. Very expensive for what it was

    Room comfortable Staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As to be expected, valet parking fees are a bit high at $68 a night. Not a big deal since we expected these prices from San Francisco but may be a deal breaker to some.

    The tower rooms are modern and beautiful. Higher floor rooms offer beautiful views of the bay and city. The staff were always friendly and professional. Concierge is top notch. Well maintained facilities and wonderful location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room – Union Square View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seems a bit old and this was visible in the rooms as well where the walls, doors and paint seemed old. The bathroom was tiny and not as we expected.

    Great location and good view from our room overlooking Union Square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds – Tower Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Showerhead didn't attach tightly and flew off the handle if not turned off.

    Fitness center was excellent, with a lot of really good treadmills, ellipticals, etc. Bedding was super-soft and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not friendly and informative about your stay concerns. Check in’s are at 3:00pm supposedly but the room was not ready till 8:00pm saying we had very special requests of having both rooms that we booked on the same floor. Overall not a very Welcoming experience.

    The bed was very comfortable. The rooms were nice and big with high ceilings and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were awful. As usual we were palmed off with a twin room for a family of four. 2 double beds are not enough. The room was set up for 2 adults. We even paid for an upgrade to have more room at $25 per night but charged $30 per night when presented with the bill. I am pursuing the matter direct with the hotel.

    I have stayed here before many years ago with my husband before kids! So I knew the location was great so that was familiar to me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small room, we could barely open our luggages to unpack.

    The location is superb with loads of restaurants and shops around. A nice luxurious hotel with comfortable bed. There is valet parking which is quite expensive though at $75 per night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds – Tower Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator brake down once, there are actually many elevators but because of the special performance of the elevator, the others can’t work if one elevator broke.

    House keepers came to clean our room everyday and there were so many pillows and duvets on the bed, we put those which we don’t need on the chair and house keepers didn’t put them back on our bed when they but put them in the wardrobe. This is very humanize.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area around Union Square does not feel very safe, many homeless and suspicious looking people. Also very crowded during day time due to the historic trams on Powell Street.

    Very comfortable bed. Comfortable room with good view. Very effective elevators. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but can recommend Pinecrest Diner across the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room – City or Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel food was quite expensive and there aren't too many restaurants in the area so you are a bit stuck for choice.

    The historical aspects of the hotel where a nice additional touch, the rooms where very nice and clean and the bed was really comfy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded at a cost because the room we were given was far too small, hotel feels poorly lit and poorly maintained and generally tired (in spite of its grand form), staff service is average.

    Central location, stunning views from SPG floors in tower, decent sized room, well appointed bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were friendly and extremely helpful, including the Concierge desk. Everyone made sure we were well hydrated... offered big bottled water whenever we were! The hotel was lovely and clean ..... beautifully renovated but the room could have been larger!

    The staff were excellent including the concierge desk. They were very helpful and everybody wanted to give us bottled water wherever we went.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there for two nights. Room was not done while we were there.

    Very comfortable bed. Check in was very slow but they upgraded us to a larger room free of charge, which was a nice gesture. The upgrade room (king bed) was okay in size but not large, so the queen room we originally booked must've been tiny.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check-in was so smooth. I had initially booked the room just for myself but due to last minute changes in plan they had to accommodate a friend of mine who was travelling with me as well. They were able to provide us with a new room that was available right away instead of making us wait until 4pm which was the normal check-in time. Saved us 6 hours of waiting and only charged us for the additional person charges which was about $25/night. This particular property is at an excellent location overlooking Union Square which is well connected. I love the Westin specially for their impeccable service levels worldwide!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction. The building didn’t highlight the antiquities of the architecture . Ugly flower arrangement at entrance. Lobby wasn’t impressive at all.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds – Tower Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    My daughter brought some friends for her birthday, and of course as teenagers were enjoying themselves by talking and listening to music. Unfortunately, the staff/security came up and gave them quite a scare with 3 people showing up interrogating them. A simple warning over the phone would have sufficed - these are responsible girls and they would have cooperated immediately. This left a bad taste for us being treated in this manner. I would think twice coming back to this hotel.

    The breakfast was great, and the rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amenities weren’t great for example the hotel don’t automatically provide drinking water, cotton, bedroom slippers etc. everything only on request

    Location was great and staff was friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room – City or Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallier room to what I thought we’d get,, but still for the price it was more than adequate and very clean.

    The efficiency &friendliness of staff; speed of elevators; location at Union Square; the overall buzz of the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wait staff at the event in Alexandra’s were below par Obviously Union workers with a secure and well paid position No smiles or jaunt in their step!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For $350, I was expecting the room to be just a little bit bigger, but I guess I was paying for the location as well. Overall was a great experience.

    The bed was extremely comfy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my honeymoon night. The manager Francisco told me they had our honeymoon notes in the computer before we showed up. They did not have any notes what so ever. Our first room had loud construction noise in the next room for hours until we called to change rooms. After we moved, the new room did not have all of the things our first room did so we had to call again to get all of the normal items every room should have. After they knew I was pissed only then did the staff start calling me and my wife by our last name. All of the things that went wrong would of been no problem but it was our honeymoon night. Definitely not worth the price.

    The decor and how clean the room are

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds – City or Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My friends unfortunately did not have the same experience:( The room they were in the phone was broken and the toilet backed up. The hotel did move them and upgrade them on the second day:) From that point on the hotel was AWESOME!!

    The staff was exceptional from housekeeping, front desk, room service 5 stars and Stuart in baggage is amazing!! My breakfast was cooked to perfection!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The line to check in was long. Only one person was assisting people waiting to check in.

    Liked most things - the room, location, cleanliness, staff, etc. were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are so many homeless people hanging around. People are screaming. The smell of urine lines the sidewalks all around

    The inside is beautiful and staff is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    Loved breakfast in the Oak Room. Close by and delicious. Loved that it was in Union Square and we were able to view the parade for Chinese New Year. Everyone there was helpful and answered all our questions. Room was good size and very comfortable. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dark out curtains only shears. I could literally have read a book with all lights off. My room was never cleaned. We got in so late we didn't feel like having housekeeping clean at that hour.

    Rooms were new remodeled and very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting woken up at 740am to hammering drilling and music from the upstairs construction. Also the carpet was very worn and dirty looking.

    The location was nice for plenty of activities and ease of transportation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new renovations to our floor left a few loose ends like non-working sockets and USB terminals but they were immediately rectified when called upon.

    Really love the location, it’s unbeatable. So close to everything that a traveler would want sand more. It’s my second time and I’m still likely to choose this hotel on my next trip to SF.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A/C in the room was so loud we had to sleep with ear plugs.

    Location is great for the hotel, but the amount of homeless people hanging around the property made my partner felt so uncomfortable. It is such a beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not super clean or “4 Star”. It’s literally like putting a pig in lipstick. Exposed brown pipes in the bathroom. The bar in the lobby had terrible drinks. The best thing about this place is the location. They’re so lucky this is in the heart of union square in San Fran. And parking is $70 a night! Just a waste, pay an uber and stay in Nob Hill at one of the finer hotels.

    Location is about the best thing. And the bathroom has a nice marble tub. Otherwise very dated hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amenities severely lacking for a high end hotel. No complimentary water in the room, no kettle for boiling water, no cotton buds and all those toiletries a high end hotel has.

    Nothing much. For the price point amenities are bad. But one thing awesome is that their tv has Netflix

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Get coffee other than Starbucks. It is the MacDonalds of the coffee world.

    Upgraded room to tower was lovely. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No table or light on one side of the bed. No restaurant in the hotel open for dinner. Buffet breakfast was expensive. Blast of cold air on getting into the elevator.

    Comfortable bed, good shower, helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room – City or Bay View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    For a 5 star hotel, I don't see why amenities like shower cap and in room slippers were not provided and toiletries was disappointingly of very basic quality. Concierge personnel was very lacking during our check-out which happens to be on a Saturday. Was told we had to wait 30mins. We ended up having to move 13 luggages to the lobby ourselves by making multiple trips up and down as our airport shuttle coach was waiting. The hotel should have anticipated the crowd and better manage it in this area.

    The hotel's location was centralised for food, sightseeing and shopping. Hotel staff was overwhelmingly warm and courteous, really made us feel like home away from home! Westin have trained their staff very well indeed which is really commendable. As we have children with us, we were very pleased that our request for connecting rooms was accommodated plus we had a great room at the Tower wing with a view of the golden gate bridge!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I already shared - confirm what you are actually getting and as the customer service for this booking app told me - never reserve online!

    I liked my stay because it continues a 22 year tradition where the woman in my family cross the bridge to shop Union Square and then come back with the children for ice skating, plays and the like. Finally, we come for a large family get together so we can all get together “pre-holiday” events which always seems to cause a family or two to miss the big day so this way we can still see one another. We have always rented the “Parlor” in the Landmark building. We have rented an entire floor on one trip. The best part of the “Parlor” isn’t just the view of the park; but the entertainment it provides and space so everyone can enjoy a drink and appetizer in a shared area in which no one intends to retire for the evening. So the early birds can rise at 4am to start the coffee and the late night group, after enjoying “just one more night cap” downstairs can come to the Parlor and have the “last” cocktail all the while the children are sleeping peacefully in bed, the early birds are peacefully asleep in their room despite the boisterous laughing and reminiscing about the good day or years past. This year, that didn’t happen. We could not be more disappointed. The Parlor HAD BEEN ROBBED! We knew renovations were coming but we expected improvements or noise not to have a Murphy bed floating in the main throughway to one of the connecting rooms and telling our first year guests who were so excited to have a living area to stay up late only to think the organizer lost her marbles. The bar was GONE. NO DISHES, NO REFRIGERATOR, NO ICE BUCKETS, NOTHING, NADA. The furniture that had been a former great spot to avoid the movement throughout the room and aafelybenjoy their drink and cheese and crackers. The kids could easily see the park and get excited for the holiday. Instead, we got a surprise that our toilet leaked learning the hard way by slipping on my back side, being referred to a restaurant that missed the mark with the kids, just an overall miss.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was very crowded and the row to wait turn was very long. The fifth floor hallways smelled like marijuana and at night there was a lot of noise in the hallways.

    The location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattresses are clearly very old and haven't been changed in quite some time. We were literally sinking into the middle of the bed. Had to request a room change as it was impossible to sleep. The mattress in the new room was marginally better. The conditions of this property overall were well below my expectations and experience at Westin hotels I've stayed at elsewhere (which are normally quite good). Everything was worn, dated, and desperately in need of refurbishment.

    Staff were attentive and helpful in helping to resolve our concerns (and facilitating an early check-out with no penalty). That was the one key bright spot in an otherwise highly unsatisfactory stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room – City or Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    It is an iconic historical hotel in San Francisco, we got a room in the tower at the 28th floor with a great view of the city. Services and staff are great, they promptly answer to any your request. Bed was good and comfortable, everything clean. The location is amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was as dirty run down staff more interested in getting an up grade to other area of hotel .. they know it’s bad .. Management of this hotel need to have a good look at them selfs the stand is so poor and it’s a Westin go figure... I love old hotels and there character but this has been totally Let go .. and to charge like a top hotel...... checked out and went to another hotel next day nicer friendlier staff clean and cheaper .. 5 min walk away ..

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways and certain areas of hotel were freezing. Colder than outside and it was winter time. No mini bar in room was a bummer. We spent alot of time in our room so mini bar was needed. The bathrooms could of been a little more up to date but overall room was nice.

    The staff was great and did not miss a beat. Valet guys and bell hop were on point. Check in was very good and room service was always timely and delivered by people with great attitudes and kindness.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no lobby lounge, aside from the coffee/ snack area at the lobby section.

    The hotel itself is very accessible. All shops and restaurants are walking distance. The rooms are huge. I totally love it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room – City or Bay View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in we had to wait til 10pm for our room to be ready. We didn’t arrive until 9pm and the last thing we wanted after a long haul flight and cab ride was to be told to sit and wait in a closed filthy cafe area for an hour. We stayed for 6 nights and not once did any member of staff, including those in the cafe that we went to every morning for breakfast, say hello, nice to see you again, how are you etc - very very impersonal.

    The room was great, view of the bridge exceptional. Concierges were very helpful. Clock Bar is perfect for early evening drinks. William the manager was very good. Dealt with our request for a later than usual check out with the utmost ease and grace.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accommodations for my dog. Was told dog bed would be sent, it wasn't. No hotel facilities available like a dog run or grassy bit. Not provided food or water dishes or poo bags. Room service didn't start until 6 a.m.

    Room service food was very good. Nice fluffy towels. High water pressure. Lots of hot water. High ceilings, lots of hangers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to get information on tourist tours - you need to have the info before you go to the conseirge! Greyhound are up a block to the left - but we didn't discover them until our last day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The person at check-out was not very interested in hearing my complaints about the hotel and it's service, especially for a Westin Club member. I enjoy Westin hotels, but not the Westin on Union Square, San Francisco.

    The Christmas decorations. The wait-staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Group
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 7 teenagers were in the room across from us the first night. They were so loutd and yelling up until about 1:00 AM. Not fun.

    The bed, Heavenly. The staff is awesome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, and our corridor, felt tired and in need of upgrade/ decoration. There was only one hook in the bathroom to hang wet towels and no showercap or shower gel.Seem like small things but for a hotel of this class I’d have expected them. On our final night we were disturbed three times by groups yelling in the corridor outside our room.

    Couldn’t have had a more central location (although a pre-Christmas shopping frenzy increased around Union square it made the downstairs of the hotel somewhat manic). Great shower in room, plenty of fluffy towels and comfy bed. We had wonderful views over Union square and the Christmas tree and skating rink. Good to have a small fridge in room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was 68.00 per day plus tax 76.00 that’s nuts. I would like to return but will rethink it. Parking charges almost the cost of the room for a night?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room – Tower Building
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff training needed in breakfast room. One waiter put his fingers around the eating end of the spoon, knife and fork when setting tables. He also put two of his fingers in the coffee cups when setting the table! When I was asked as soon as I sat down if I wanted coffee and said ‘no’, the waiter removed the cup. I wasn’t asked if I would like tea. A good idea with English and Australian guests. The continental breakfast area was not distinct from the buffet and the pastries were of inferior quality. The supplier needs to be changed. Cafe staff and food was of a good standard. Interestingly, at time of payment our Amex card was declined even though we used it extensively in San Francisco before and after checkout! Taxi to airport had no problem with payment either. A mystery.

    position and hotel history.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds – City or Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wonderful view from room on 26th floor. lobby good for people watching. great location if you want to stay on union square (but need to uber or very long uphill walk if you want to go anywhere else).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price to keep my car there was a bit steep. It was $75 for 9 hours. Ouch !

    Every employee that we encountered was stellar in their attentiveness and made us feel more than welcome. The room was small, but clean and cozy. The bed was extremely comfortable and shower head was amazing !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room – City or Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things that I would assume are standard in a hotel of this class need to be specifically requested: bathrobe, slippers, corkscrew. On a good note they were really fast and efficient in delivering items upon request.

    The view from the higher floors is exceptional. Area is very central, good for shopping, business. There are some nice galleries around as well. Lift ride is an experience on its own. Beautiful lobby, with classic, old elegance feel to it. Rooms are big & comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King Room – City or Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t realize that guest drop off is on Geary and not Powell so we had to drag our suitcases so we can access the ramp to get inside.

    We loved the room service wt lots of selection; the check-in process was efficient; quick trip to the Tower via express elevators; lobby cafe for meet & greet and the proximity of the hotel to shopping in Union Square!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking charge seems excessive, no wi-fi instructions in room, no tv/channel guide in room, coffee maker had to be placed on floor for cord to reach outlet.

    The bed was very comfortable, staff was pleasant, and location is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage very difficult to access. Coffee maker didn’t work - expected higher quality. Luggage storage staff gave the wrong claim tickets. Noise level was high in room next door.

    Location, great decor for the holidays. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe King Room – City or Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why are there 3 check-in staff for a 1200 bedroom hotel on the Friday ahead of SantaCon and a whole Pre-Christmas weekend. My queue to check in was 20 minutes and the queue was that long for hours later, even when I asked the supervisor to get more staff behind the counter for everyone. Shocking way to run a business and leaves a bad First Impresion.

    Gave me extra check out time on account of appalling queue to book in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds – Union Square View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi reception in the room was unstable. We ended up relaying more on our portable wifi device during our stay.

    Hotel reception staff was very helpful and accommodating to our requests. They even offered to provide us with our own microwave in the room when we requested room service to heat up our food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room location. Would have preferred a room with a view especially since booked 3 months in advance.

    Bed wonderful. Location of property perfect. Room location terrible. Parking exorbitant. I would stay again but know now what to ask for to get a room with a view. Staff was great except at coffee bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location!! Staff is friendly and helpful. This time *I have been many times to Frisco and will always come back to the Westin* I got a very big room in a very high floor...wonderful. Great bed and bath. There is Netflix if you care for movies, I say go out!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room – Landmark Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel a little run-down, but I guess that's why it's going through a refurbishment now.

    Big and comfortable hotel. Great location on Union Square, just across the street is a cable car stop (though actually, I walked pretty much everywhere), lots of shopping malls and cafes.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: