Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Three Chimneys Inn 3 stars

17 Newmarket Road, Durham, NH 03824, USA

Review score

Based on 61 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite spacious, bed was great and the French toast was amazing! We also had a delicious dinner in the Tavern at the Inn. Gardens are beautiful and lead down to the river. Neat college town!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Excellent Base to ecplore the White Mountains, Great Bay, The Lakes and Portsmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroons are very nice and spacious and have view over the top of the trees. Decor is classic and contemporary at the same time. Full of original details but does not feel old and old-fasioned. Staff is super nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Genuinely historic and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning needs to be exchanged for something new and less noisy.

    This amazing old building is very nicely restored and functional. Very cosy with some fun elements. The leafy garden makes this a hidden secret. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A Splendid Durham Get-Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This place is an absolute gem and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The Inn starts the historic district in Durham on the Oyster River. The grounds are beautiful and interesting to tour, the rooms are well appointed and very comfortable, and the inn is very convenient to UNH. But the real surprise was the quality of the restaurant--the ffrost Sawyer Tavern. The food was absolutely first-rate and the environment was colonial and charming. Breakfast is serving in a different, somewhat more formal room on the main floor of the inn. It was delicious and well served. We had a wonderful time and are very grateful to the manager and staff we encountered.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    Best for special occasions
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the money if you aren’t involved in a special occasion. The parking was horrible and far from the entrance. Staff offered minimal assistance.

    Beautiful place with great ambiance for special occasions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Bath towels were large and fluffy, definitely better than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall was you could hear everything. The door to our floor banged shut everytime someone came or left at all hours.

    Bath towels were large and fluffy, definitely better than what you get at an average hotel. Staff very helpful with ideas on places to eat and things to do.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Charming and cozy historic inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very soft and not that comfortable. It was OK for one night, but if we were staying longer, I wouldn't have been thrilled. The food at the restaurant was very good, but I found the menu a bit limited.

    What a charming find! Close to UNH, we found the property easily. The room was clean, well appointed, with nice touches like the refrigerator, quality bath products, and decor appropriate to the timeframe of the historic inn. The front desk staff were wonderful - so helpful and pleasant. Breakfast the next day was top notch. Don't miss the French toast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    A dreamy location where I could picture having my wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I didn’t like is that I only booked one night. Wish I could have stayed longer.

    Loved that it was a historical building that kept the design and maintained clean lines. I loved my bedroom with wooden floor, exposed beams and comfy bed. Staff were very pleasant and breakfast was delicious!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive for what it offers but a nice place to stay.

    Located on the outskirts of Durham the hotel has a great location in the trees overlooking a lake. The "tavern" at the property has a good selection of drinks and an interesting menu. The room was very comfortable with a good WiFi connection.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Plesantly unexpected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tub was weird in that you literally had to climb into/over it. Not sure if it was for soaking or what. Most people just want to shower in the morning.

    The breakfast was the perfect way to start the day, especially the french toast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    The Inn is absolutely beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Inn is absolutely beautiful! Every member of the staff is super friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is amazing! We can't wait to go back again. :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was loud and the fireplace kept going on during the night. Strange!

    Breakfasts were good, breakfast buffet excellent. Young lady at front deck was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay at a boutique style historic inn Kinda crazy, but it works. Immaculately clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understand that breakfast was "complimentary" but it still was a little under-whelming. Really picking at straws here

    Impeccably clean. Very comfortable room and bed. Room amenities were very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    An excellent B&B. Solid 5 star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have designated unloading parking space for guests near entrance. Had to idle car in handicap space while unloading at check in. Same when checking out.

    Charming property. Twenty minute drive to downtown Portsmouth where there are good restaurants and lots to do.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Truly, there was not one thing that I disliked about the Inn.

    The food at the fffrost Tavern was delicious and the fish was sooo fresh! The host was amazing! In fact the entire staff was exceptional. When we arrived, the girl at the front desk walked us to our room, showed us how to use the key, asked us if we were satisfied with the room they chose for us and offered to bring whatever we needed to our room for us. I truly cannot say one negative thing about Three Chimneys Inn, it was one of the best places I have ever stayed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    An excellent O'night at 3-Chimneys
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators, steep narrow stairs and some very narrow doors in this huge old mansion makes handeling luggage very difficult - so pack a light o'night bag for your stay here, not a big heavy roller bag - you are on your own, no one to help carry/deliver your bags.

    Newly renovated rooms in the carriage house were very nice for a quick overnight stay for two - small but not too small - nice amenities - very good food at the Tavern and the buffet breakfast was excellent - with Booking.com discount it was a very good value as normal prices in summer Sea-coast area are very pricey

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience staying and dining at the cozy, Three Chimneys Inn
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is such a minor request that it's not even worth mentioning but when coming into the office, determining where to go for dinner and breakfast could have been a bit clearer. (LIKE I SAID, NOT AN ISSUE AT ALL!!)

    Everything about our stay at Three Chimneys was wonderful. Food was excellent, complimentary breakfast was delicious.....eggs, bacon, French Toast, cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries. Staff was pleasant, helpful, and our room was cozy with everything we could have asked for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    I loved the ambiance and the immaculate conditions throughout the Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a little uncomfortable because of the new paint odor in our room. This was not anything the Inn could control, however.

    Super friendly and helpful staff and charming decor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    The place to stay in Durham
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely.

    The overall peacefulness and relaxed nature of 3 Chimneys. A perfect place to stay. The 3 Chimneys restaurant is also excellent and good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent and quaint Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think off.

    The Rooms were really nice and was nice to be able go to the tavern for something to eat at night. The Breakfasts were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    They got me hooked as a repeat customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen closes early at times but that is understandable

    Friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    The room was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both windows were broken and wouldn’t open, it was a nice evening, I wish I could have had them open.

    The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Rustic ambiance, historic tavern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rustic ambiance, historic tavern

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.5
    high bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    high bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay but brief.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three flights of steep old stairs and no elevator. If we were older we would not make it to our room!

    Charming ambiance. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    Great staff, very nice breakfast, good wi-fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a bit rustic.

    Great staff, very nice breakfast, good wi-fi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    The staff was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Skunk!

    The staff was great!!! The entire trip was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Great place, clean, old inn restored to its natural beauty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Loved it All!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    The place was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The place was very clean. The food was delicious and the staff were A++

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    super nice B&B, with very frienly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    the staff was very friendly and helpful.The food was excellent at the pub and breakfast in the morning. We loved it and would go back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Quiet setting near river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet setting near river. Beautiful town, and historical building- very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    The restaurant was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was lovely. Great food and very friendly staff. A special thanks to Brett for looking after us so well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Stay here when visiting UNH!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great food, excellent room, nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    A great place to stay!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff were great and the food was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Awesome!!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food for breakfast, cozy atmosphere, friendly staff very accommodating

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    10
    I am not exaggerating when I say that they people who work...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I am not exaggerating when I say that they people who work here are the nicest hotel employees I have ever met. The place is lovely and quirky and perfect. I especially liked the fireplaces that heat each room and the four poster bed. Full cooked Breakfast was included and was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    It was in the low please
    • Family with older children

    It was in a lovely location. Very quaint. Shopping my daughter off at the University of New Hampshire. It was convenient, clean, good food. A pleasant change from the typical hotel chains in the area.

    It was in the low please

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    Great location, especially if you are looking for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The walls are thin, so there was a late night "party" and it made it a bit difficult to sleep.

    Great location, especially if you are looking for an alternate place to stay near UNH. Staff was wonderful and the Tavern is a treat.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Liked it all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked it all! We have a 1790 post and beam home, and enjoy old homes. The Three Chimney Inn is definitely old, 1742 - and so well maintained and treated gently. Everything was just perfect!

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    I liked the historical features if the Inn.
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was comfortable but was very elevated. I needed a step stool to access the bed.

    I liked the historical features if the Inn. The breakfast was fantastic. Additionally, the staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff. Great food, especially breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    10
    Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Beautiful place. Staff very accommodating/friendly.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Our room was wonderful warm, cozy and just so relaxing, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was wonderful warm, cozy and just so relaxing, we truly were able to unwind and relax

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful buildings and the bed was just incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The aircon in tavern was too cold for those sitting in its path.

    Beautiful buildings and the bed was just incredible.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Wonderful staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful staff and good food. A true Gem!

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    9.6
    New England feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    New England feel

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    10
    The beautiful house and barn and how old it was and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beautiful house and barn and how old it was and the bedrooms are just amazing.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Beautifully preserved and adapted New England inn in lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully preserved and adapted New England inn in lovely garden surrounded by magnificent trees. Charming, authentic feel.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    7.5
    Wait staff and front desk staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Chopped up layout of the room; no drawers , smoke from the fireplace below leaking into the room

    Wait staff and front desk staff

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: