Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tower 23 Hotel 4 stars

723 Felspar Street, Pacific Beach, San Diego, CA 92109, USA

#7 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 317 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girls at the front desk could have been nicer, wish there was a pool, and I think it was a little pricey.

    Comfy beds, room opened to the lounge deck, directly on the boardwalk and steps to the beach, welcome drinks were awesome and Kasey the staff member was so so amazingly accomodating!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not a good value. The room was the worst part of the experience. Bed was uncomfortable, sheets and carpet were very worn. Bathroom was clean but not luxurious. Sliding barn style door did not completely shut on bathroom with no lock.

    The location was amazing! Right on the beach and near many attractions in PB. The on site restaurant was also spot on exceeding my expectations with service and quality of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only areas for improvement are the plastic chairs on the balconies of the rooms and the chairs on the sun deck. They both felt and looked a little cheap and not fitting of a hotel this nice. One other minor issue is they could improve the service and bussing up on the sun deck, we waited a while for service a few times and noticed used glasses from previous guest left on the tables for several hours.

    Tower 23 is one of the best places to stay in PB ! The sun deck area is amazing and the staff are all great. Our room and the public area were both well maintained and clean. Beds are nice firm memory foam and the room is super quiet and lets you get a great night sleep. Initially we were concerned that there is no pool, but this actually helps keep the sun deck area very peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roomy balcony with a beautiful view but very poor deck chairs just little plastic chairs so not very inclined to spend much time on the balcony you paid a big price for. Also not much lighting in the room and only one night table on one side of the bed but not one for the other side. The minimalist look to the extreme I think.

    View from room and deck area very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price you pay you should be getting so much more. I’ve stayed downtown for cheaper and you received more accommodations.

    Not much. Paid almost 450 a night for free cable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sanctuary Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe some paintings on the walls in the room. But it was still beautiful

    The service and view was amazing. The food at JRDN was the best I’ve ever had. I loved the room we stayed in. I will defenitely be coming back! Plus they have an in room spa service that was great! I really couldn’t have picked a better hotel. I’m glad we stayed here!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food served at the restaurant on the property could have been better for the price.

    The hotel is in an excellent location on the Pacific beach. It is well maintained, clean and has all required amenities. Staff and service are great too. We had amazing views of the ocean from our bedroom (stayed in Surf Pad room). Valet Parking is a bonus considering the location. Its a must stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a long way from the centre of San Diego

    The bar and restaurant staff were second to none. Superb customer service and excellent food. The room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini fridge was not cold, bed was terribly uncomfortable, there was a fly in the ice out of the ice machine.

    We liked the location, view,and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter and I came to celebrate her 21st birthday. They were simply amazing. From the first hello to our sad goodbye they couldn’t have been nicer. Hands down the best!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one side of the bed had a reading light and bedside table. Bed was a bit soft. Reading chair was not very comfortable.

    Modern vibe. Perfect location right on the beach. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Valet parking was very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, Tory, Tenae, Stephen, and Cristina were attentive to our every need. The memory foam bed was so awesome I think I'm gonna have to buy one for home!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant under refurbishment so not available. Will certainly enhance property when completed.

    Situated on coast. Good position. Good size room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free garaging. Good area to sunbath and have light dining and drinks etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As returning guests, looking forwards to enjoying the bar & restaurant, there was no warning that they were closed for refurbishment. We understand the desire to update, but with no prior warning, it definitely dimmed our view. Room service should have then been slick but took over an hour & then with slow room service, we were then being rushed to check out .... really dysfunctional this time, which is a shame

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property with lovely staff, tranquil setting, amenities were wonderful and very well thought out, superbly done down to the tiniest of details

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sanctuary Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was under construction and was not told about it until we arrived.

    Staff was fantastic upgraded us to oceanfront room with two bathrooms. Really made a big difference.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We where very disappointed about the closed restaurant and bar. We new from earlier visits to this area that the restaurant was very nice and good. No information via booking.com. We make a choice for a hotel on the complete comfort information, and that was false. Other hotels give that information also via booking.com !

    Location was good,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that JRDN (restaurant) was under construction & didn't know until we arrived. Plenty of other places to eat, however & looking forward to dining at JRDN next visit!

    Everything & everyone! Steven went above the call of duty with professional, friendly service & humor! Entire staff treated us like royalty & made my bday extra special! Clean & comfy. Location & views ++ Thx so much!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 1 night

    The partial ocean view room was really only a partial view from the balcony. All I could see when standing in my room were the hotel rooms across the way. I visit hotels on the ocean with some frequency and will say that this is an unusual way to operationalize this room type.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. The hotel is right on the water and very convenient to local restaurants and bars. The welcome drink is a nice touch. And compared to other cities, the cost to valet a car is very reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first two nights we were woken by the people staying in the room above us were very loud and the sound travelled. The second night, they came in from a night out around 2am and cranked the music and were extremely loud. We called the front desk and within three minutes the noise had stopped - kudos to the staff! Also, the restaurant at the hotel was under construction - we only found this out upon arrival and nowhere during the booking process was this mentioned. Did t have a huge impact on our stay but would have been nice to know up front as we had planned on eating there the first night of our stay.

    The location is fantastic! Everything in PB is within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well as knowledgeable of the area. The valet, Andrew, was excellent. The room was nice and clean and the view amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurant still under construction. food could have been better.

    got an awesome upgrade to the sweet suite - it was breathtaking. they also got me cake for my bday! loved the visit, I'll be back for sure!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant under construction, was not informed prior to trip. They tried to serve food and drink on the second floor deck but service was unreliable.

    Excellent location, staff was generally helpful and friendly, rooms were clean and airy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath tub. Hotel restaurant was under renovation with no notice. Very limited menu In a temporary dining room setup for guests of the hotel.

    Bed very comfortable. Coffee maker in room. Chaise lounge in room with very plush robes and super shower accessories.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff could be better informed about hotel and rooms.

    I wish I had known that the hotel restaurant was closed until late February for renovations. There was very loud construction happening in the room next door to me, I had to call the front desk multiple times to get it to stop.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sanctuary Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was absolutely incredible. They provided FAR above and beyond what we needed, and made us feel like royalty. The luxurious room and ocean view was nothing short of amazing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very nice and the bed very comfy. We had a problem with the air conditioner, which is why this wasn't a total "excellent" rating, however the hotel did adjust our bill. Staff was great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that we didn’t book this place for more than 3 days! Great location!

    Everything about this Hotel is cool! The entire staff has excellent customer service! The breakfast is awesome! The surf pad rooms are the best and have the best views! Our corner room #305 was the perfect location! Checkout TripAdvisor!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Communal area on the second floor takes a little getting used to. Stayed three nights and had to pay an excess amount for room taxes. The valet parking is $30 per night and with booking.com it was included. There is virtually no parking on the streets.

    The view is fabulous! The rooms are clean and well taken care of. On the weekends it gets a little busy and people walk into your space to navigate to their room on the second floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!

    Luis was wonderful as was the rest of the staff. We had a wonderful dinner on Monday nite at Jordan with Kaitlin? As are waitress who was special given that she was very attentive. Thanks to all and can't wait to get back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it all!!

    Luis, in particular as well as all of the other staff members we encountered throughout our stay were phenomenal! Every need, request or concerns were immediately taken care of. Everyone was super friendly and always had a warm "hello" or "welcome back" and a smile for uswhen we returned to the hotel. The "extras" like beach chairs\towels etc were a nice surprise and ALL of the valets were so sweet and delightful also. The Beds and pillows were soooooooo comfortable! Cannot wait to return!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the hotel is falling short of the cool, modern style they are trying to sell. The rooms are tired looking and need a facelift. Also, I found the bed and plastic chairs on the balcony very uncomfortable. The balcony and view are the selling point yet you can't sit comfortably for very long! Shower is lacking power and it feels pretty unglamorous showering in a shortened bath rather than a proper shower cubicle/ wet room.

    Fantastic location on Pacific Beach. We had a beach front room with a spectacular view of the sea and sunset.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location on the beach, modern interior design, large rooms with very compfy beds. We had partial ocean view and it was fantastic to watch the surfers. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Parking was super easy. Sure would stay there again if I would go to San Diego.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited coffee cartons for coffee maker. Only 2 per room per night. Coffee creamer is nasty when there is a fridge in the room. Why not provide small carton of complimentry milk?

    The sun deck outside our room was really enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been breakfast. They had some alternatives but very few in the restaurant.

    We really liked the location of the hotel. Just some stairs and you were right on the beach. Also the view of the ocean. The rooms were modern and clean. The valet parking was easy to get to and They were very service minded.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to be told the upstairs lounging area needs a pass key to exit when early arrival and relaxing til room availabe. Fortunately our daughter was informed.

    Room 205. Corner room facing ocean worth additional pricing. Excellent restaurant on boardwalk as part of complex. Inside parking. Location on beach and close to wine store! Hung windsock and brought our own outdoor lights. Our second experience at Tower 23 and definite repeat event! Ocean and people watching! Took all meals (3 nights) in indoor/outdoor incoporprated restuarant and menu ample varity to handle that!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant music was too loud so hard to hear each other or the waitress

    Fab hipster hotel right in the beach. Rooms are full of contemporary touches with great bathrooms. Staff super friendly and helpful. Loved the free bike rental fir exploring the boardwalk. Couldn't fault it and definitely plan to return

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved it.

    Such a comfortable hotel with beautiful, modern rooms. The position overlooking the beach is perfect. The bar is great and very convenient. Parking is a breeze with free valet service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gym or fitness room would have been great. Service on the pool deck was patchy (but really friendly). Hotel is a little pricey but it's SD in the summer so...

    Loved the hotel - huge rooms which were really well-equipped. Loved the balcony and sea view. Fantastic friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could be a bit more decorated. Needs some more art and plants. Look and feel a bit too clean. Would be nice if breakfast would be included.

    Very friendly staff. Bikes, beachwear, boogie boards, it's all there!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful oceanfront property on the boardwalk of Pacific Beach, our favorite area of San Diego with cliff side views. On arrival, we were pampered with complimentary welcome drinks and valet parking. Our lovely modern room opened out onto a deck area for relaxing with views of the ocean. We were treated to free bikes which we used to ride the long boardwalk and surrounding area including riding around Mission Bay. The hotel is close to all of the popular restaurants and shops, including Konos and the PB Shore Club. The hotel gave us the use of free beach towels, chairs, and umbrellas which made our beach time convenient and relaxing. Once we checked out, the staff let us know that we still had use of the valet parking and free rentals for the remainder of the day. They were kind and helpful, available to our every request. The on site restaurant overlooked the boardwalk and pier. To sum up, we were treated as special guests and would definitely stay there again when we visit San Diego, one of our favorite cities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath was a little small and couldn't sit in it very comfortably as the tap was in the way. Did have to take a long walk to get to room as only 1 access route.

    Amazing on the beach location, balcony looked right out to sea. Good size rooms and very attentive staff throughout our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A pool would have been nice.

    Very nice location, great terrace overlooking the beach. All very clean and spacious. Good room size. Valet parking service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They cleaned out their sewer or something sewer related at 6 am one morning. The smell woke me up. It would have been nice to have been notified when they were doing maintenance.

    Breakfast at JRDN. Drink service on deck. Proximity to beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't realize this hotel was in a major bar district and the lobby sounded like a night club most of the evening. The staff was wonderful with our kids and we didn't feel uncomfortable but our family was definitely not the norm.

    The hotel provided beach complimentary beach equipment for us. They even had sand toys and boogie board for the kids.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The restaurant was nice but they didn't really have a selection for a simple lunch or a lighter dinner option. The great thing is there are a ton of places within walking distance so it gives you a reason to get out and explore.

    We absolutely loved staying at Tower 23. We were in San Diego for our honeymoon and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel for the week. The staff was so great and accommodating, they even bought us a bottle of champagne the night we arrived to congratulate us on our wedding. This was definitely the best hotel in the area with a breathtaking beach view, if you want to feel special and pampered, this is the hotel for you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sanctuary Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Came here to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday. The staff and management made the stay special and really took care of us. The room itself was amazing and our view alone made it worth while. I want to note that this was a staycation. We live in San Diego but it made it extra special to fall asleep to an amazing sunset and we woke up to the view of the ocean. It was definitely really tough to leave. Would recommend if you have the opportunity to stay in one of the ocean facing suites.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AA swimming pool/ splash pool would have been a nice addition, but not a major show stopper as the sea is right in front of the hotel.

    great hotel in a superb location, right on the beach. Well worth paying the premium for the 'surf pad' rooms with full sea view. The rooms are a great size, well kitted out and everything seems very clean and well maintained. The sun lounger deck is very nice and provided a great way to spend a few hours in the sunshine. Only a short drive from La Jolla and very easy to get to San Diego airport. Valet parking at the hotel was very convenient. Happy hour in the hotel bar is worth trying out - especially on a Tuesday night with 50% off bottles of wine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ask about late checkout when I booked. I was told they would try to accommodate me. The nite before checkout I asked again. I was sooo tired from conference I could not wake up to ask again that morning. I received a very rude call from desk at 1130 from a female telling me checkout was at 11. I explained I was tired and couldn't do that. She did not care She stated I had to check out now. I told I was afraid that would be impossible. Then she stayed 15 min. I told her I had to get shower and I would be naked. I asked how we could solve problem. She stayed 30 min. At 1201. I received another rude call stating I was given 30 min and did I need luggage assistance. I replied no. And then 5 min later I received the same exact call from another female staff member who was just as uncaring. I was walking out the door at that time. There was no concern for the customer. And when I was leaving, the cleaning ladies were nowhere around. When I tried to check in at around 2 pm I was told check in was 4. I knew that. I was just seeing if a room might be available. When I was leaving your facility a customer was telling his wife to come on because their room was ready. Again I don't understand. I spent 2k$ at your hotel. I would think a little consideration would be nice.

    Manuel in facilities was awesome and caring. true in restaurant was very nice. As well as lewis

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too stiff. Could use a lock on the bathroom door. Too many homeless people congregating and sleeping on the benches outside of the balcony.

    Location, location, location!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was lovely and quiet, always a big negative for me when I stay at a classy hotel but where I can hear what my neighbors are watching on TV! Also enjoyed the fact that you can open the sliding door and hear the ocean. They really go the extra mile: we received a complimentary bottle of bubbly when they found out it was our 30th wedding anniversary :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the restaurant was served at the earliest at 9am which we found a little late.

    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we were made to feel very valued and spoilt.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sanctuary Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was a pool

    The view of the ocean the hotel was spotless. The rooftop deck were the fire pit was breathtaking and watching the sunset was magical

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE MENU IN THE RESTAURANT FOR DINNER WAS NOT AS I HOPED. IT WAS TOO UPSCALE FOR THE AREA AND THE MENU SELECTIONS WERE ODD COMBINATIONS.

    THE LOCATION WAS WONDERFUL! STAFF WAS HELPFUL AND SMILING, ALWAYS POLITE.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had blowers going on the rugs in the hallway at bed time and it kept us up, elevator was broken and no one around to help us down with bags from the 3rd floor.

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offer a bowl of apples in the lobby area. It's a small expense but makes guests happy. I was in the hospitality business for 30 years. You guys do a great job.

    Front desk people were amazing especially one young lady that was particularly helpful. I wish I could remember her name but she was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A pool-even a small one would have been nice. Balcony a bit small. Not sure about the frosted glass door bathroom that faces onto the bedroom rather than the hallway.

    Great location, stylish modern hotel, friendly helpful staff especially at reception, lovely rooms, great sun terrace, good food at the JRDN restaurant-this is certainly a hotel to stay at. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No pool...but this is offset by the Pacific being less than 20 metres away.

    Excellent location in Pacific Beach, easy access to La Jolla and also easy to get into the city (but will need a car / cab). Also good local bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surf pad gave a perfect view of the beach and surfers. Bliss. Reception staff were helpful and we used the free bikes and beach chairs. Location was the best place away from the buzz of central San Diego. The restaurant and bar as well as the roof terrace were fabulous. I'd recommend this hotel for a great stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area is not very central and very geared at people in thier early 20s. We though the hotel was very overpriced.

    Great staff and right on the ocean front. Free bike rental.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was great.

    I loved everything about this hotel. Probably the friendliest staff we had during our 2-week trip across California, they take such good care of their guests. Location is amazing right on the beach, and the hotel itself is very modern with spacious and clean rooms. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Surf Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It took forever to get hot water to the sink. If we ran the shower on hot it helped but that is wasteful. The deck furniture is terribly uncomfortable. The seating in the room was poor.

    We liked the location as far as the boardwalk was concerned. The food was great. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inflexibility to allow us to stay an extra 3 hours on our last day despite our willingness to pay for those extra hours. We were told it wasn't possible due to demands on housekeeping and yet housekeeping didn't attend to our room until after 2pm and we had to vacate at 11am. Some rooms were still being refreshed at 5pm!!! Why deny the hotel additional revenue from customers who've spent a significant amount of money at the hotel?

    Location, outside relaxation area, bar and restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sanctuary Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This part of San Diego definitely is not the nicest, or best for families. Wish there was a pool on the rooftop like you would expect from the pictures and how they sell it online.

    Location right on beach and near everything is great! Cool hotel and rooftop.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pity that there was no breakfast buffet.

    Splendid room with ocean view, nice bathroom with shower. Nice patio on the second floor with ocean view and sun loungers. Personnel was very friendly. Just cross the dike to get on the beach. Free bikes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff ok but not brilliant - need to be made to feel more special as a guest particularly in the bar / dining area.

    Bed and rooms were great. Buzzy atmosphere. Location on point.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hiding taxes and fees are too much. The hotel didn't have a gym or a swimming pool to relax for the price your paying for. Valet parking is 25 a night, and outside parking is hard to find.

    Location was perfect, and the hotel provided bikes,skateboars,towels,umbrellas,etc.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay an extra $30 a day to park

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unschlagbare Location direkt am Pacific Beach. Sehr modernes und stylishes Hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tower 23 has amazing staff, location, and rooms. Highly recommend this property...we will be back. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C in the room could have been a bit cooler but other than that terrific

    Clean, comfortable and right on the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location. Warm and friendly staff. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spirit Pad
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no pool or gym

    Location superb and very stylish room. Nice restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sky Pad
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool or hot tub. No business center to print off airline tickets

    Friendly staff, proximity to the ocean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sanctuary Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a pool!

    The rooms were so spacious, beds super comfy, in house food amazing as was the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sanctuary Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool

    Sweet suite was great

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tower 23 Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: