Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tradewinds Carmel 4 stars

Mission Street at Third Avenue (PO BOX 3403), Carmel, CA 93921, USA

#19 of 44 hotels in Carmel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 299 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.2
    A relaxing retreat in a charming town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Inn is at the top of the town, which means uphill. We liked this, but you might not, if you're not feeling energetic.

    In picture-perfect Carmel, the Tradewinds Inn has both charm and personality. Courtyard gardens splashing with fountains follow an Eastern theme which is echoed in the rooms themselves, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful - we dealt with different people over our two-night stay and this was true of all of them. They certainly know their town: restaurant recommendations were spot-on.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.7
    Location was good to all the shops and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was very wobbly it was like sleeping on a water bed Reception staff were efficient but not too friendly

    Location was good to all the shops and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Overpriced for what you get, which is basically a fancy Bed and Breakfast. Nevertheless Carmel is expensive so probably the price is average for Carmel. Breakfast was repetitive and I would have expected more variety, something as simple as changing the bakery or the fruit each day can make it more interesting - instead of serving all options all days.

    Comfy beds and cozy linens. Quiet and relaxing environment. Good brewed coffee. Yummy cookies. Friendly staff. Walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Also to Carmel beach but it's not a short walk, about 20 min in each direction (and the return is uphill).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    The property is relaxing and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit further from town than I thought ....but only by one block. Great property

    The property is relaxing and beautiful. Bed is cozy, room was clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Calm, luxurious, comfortable pampering experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only suggestion I would make is for the hotel to organise a comunal table for breakfast. They have limited space and hosts have to have breakfast in their rooms. The hotel gives you a cozy peaceful feeling very in line with the city.

    Everything . FROM comfort, cleanliness, to quiet relaxing time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable beds, quiet location, free parking, cold buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to drive to the sea Breakfast served at 8am.. it’s late if you want to get out early. Also not enough tables in breakfast room for guests. You either waited or took breakfast to room. Not sure it’s worth paying for partial sea view.. you could only just see the ocean from the walk way outside of the room. Not sure it’s best place for Children although they are welcome, it’s a very peaceful hotel, zen atmosphere, running water displays,

    Comfortable beds, quiet location, free parking, cold buffet breakfast .. good selection. Coffee very weak. Carmel is quiet village atmosphere, very nice, selection of expensive boutique shops, not touristy or tacky.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    This is a beautiful property in a nice neighborhood just a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unlucky with an end room on the second floor of the building. As we sat on the deck enjoying the evening we were unaware that there was a small tiki torch in the garden under the slatted deck. My husband has allergies to smoke and soon his eyes puffed up and he was in an allergic shock reaction. The staff were very gracious and said they would turn off the tiki torches during our stay. Also, this end room had a wall light on the outside by the sliding door that was on all night. The light reflected off the deck roof into the room, making it impossible to sleep. While there were black out curtains, when they were drawn no fresh air got into the room and it became hot and stifling. Had we been one room over there wouldn’t have been a tiki torch or an outside wall light.

    This is a beautiful property in a nice neighborhood just a short walk to shops and restaurants. It has beautiful gardens, nice decor, an excellent bathroom and in our room, a wonderful balcony facing west with some water views. The staff was very gracious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful place, rooms were very luxury spa, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good

    Beautiful place, rooms were very luxury spa, lovely toiletries in the bathroom and staff were very helpful with recommendations and directions. Very comfy bed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Tranquil Oasis with great attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult and there was absolutely no exception to getting into the room before 3pm even of the room was ready. Reception staff could have been a little more welcoming especially as we had arrived very early, no suggestions on what we could do or where we could go before the room was ready, in the end we got changed into beach gear in the car park and headed there to await 3pm.

    The extra touches and attention to detail was exceptional. The room was every clean, loved the kaftans instead of bathrobes. The garden area was lovely and very tranquil, particularly liked to meditation area. After a shaky start (arriving too early to a not very warm welcome) we absolutely loved this hotel and would return. The staff did eventually warm to us - thankfully.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Easy parking and check-in and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is at the top of a hill (not a massive one) just something to consider.

    Easy parking and check-in and out. Very friendly staff. Complimentary continental breakfast is a really nice touch. The beds are very comfortable and rooms are a good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful serene place and excellent location as only a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful serene place and excellent location as only a few blocks to Ocean Street, the Main Street in Carmel by the Sea. Rooms were like being in your own room at home and then some. Bed was super comfortable and linens silky soft.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    I would stay again, but only if the price point was lower (less than $300).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It can get pretty hot since none of the rooms have a/c. No extra bathroom amenities (no qtips, vanity kits, etc). Not good value for money at $380/night.

    The comforters were so cozy. Loved the asian inspired robes but certainly not worth the $118 they were charging for each one. The included breakfast was a nice touch and appreciated that they serve local coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    A zen property, comfortable and so well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was above the recycling, therefore we were awakened by the truck early

    Very comfortable and the Asian style property is well put together. Loved the proximity of everything. The bed was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Quiet relaxing break at Carmel Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain about here-apparently most hotels in Carmel have no air conditioning so can feel stuffy if you don't leave windows open

    Personal service, very peaceful and serene. Nice extra personal touches around the property give it a unique feel. The complementary breakfast was an added bonus, fresh fruit and pastries available every morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service, loved our room, great location, and the loved our bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they had more options for breakfast. Better selection.

    This hotel was a hidden gem! I loved how close everything was. The fireplace, walk in shower and bathtub were excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous room and location. Surly reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foot noise from the elephants in the room above us. The first lady at reception was lovely but the following older one was just surly. I don’t see why you would work in hospitality without learning ‘sorry’ and ‘thsbk you’.

    Lovely room with a very friendly pussy-cat called Sweety. Lots of great attention to detail and very comfy beds. Awesome town for a quiet getaway.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms aren't ready til later in the day. So if you arrive in the morning or early afternoon - you might as well go grab lunch. I was looking for a nap after a long drive. Also no hot tub on the premises.

    Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Great for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited selection at breakfast, not a huge amount of tables at breakfast. Unwelcoming host upon arrival at breakfast. Needs a lesson in customer service.

    Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff at reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.0
    OK, but probably never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No compensation for the unbearable conditions in the room when the temperature is high. We spent two nights trying to sleep with the room temperature at 87 degrees. While sorry is the standard response - I spent many years in the hospitability industry and the norm is compensation to the guest. There was none! Charged the full rate for all nights.

    Convenience to Ocean Ave

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Location, ccmplentary breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor balcony faced a wall and was over the garbage collection area which was picked up early and was a loud transaction

    Location, ccmplentary breakfast,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    2.9
    Very poor hotel, service and anti persons with disabilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel was service dog not friendly..... Shame shame on them .. the room was tired we had robes that were ripped in many places. The beds were worn... we looked at the parking garage and the people above us were so loud it was like they were in our room. I would never recommend this hotel in fact i would recommend it be taken off the booking.com site

    i was extremely disappointed. We booked on Booking.com.. the hotel turned out to be tired and poorly run... We travel with a service dog as my husband is blind.. The clerk at the front desk, upon hearing of the dog assigned what can only be said to be the worst room in the hotel.. right above the parking, on the corner of all traffic and the room above was occupied by a very noisy family. I told the clerk I wanted another room and she said there were non... I know there were others because the hotel was basically empty..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Rest and relaxation in Carmel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The decor is a little faded, could be refreshed. However was clean. I turned off the water display in the room - trickling water not restful for me!

    The hotel is clean, comfortable and serves an excellent continental breakfast with plenty of choice. The bed was comfortable and the in- room facilities good. It is at the top of a hill but nevertheless close to main restaurants etc in central Carmel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Not what I expected, and not in a good way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You would probably like this place if you enjoy a rustic kind of tropical setting. Parking is very limited and tight spaces when available. The room we were in was loud not only because of hearing all the rooms around us, along with a lot of upstairs walking, but the seagulls are horribly noisy beginning before sunrise. Not a place to get rest. The room was island clean, meaning it was not dirty, just not a pristine clean location. The fire pit and office close very early, which left us without any amenities. No pool spa, or really anything onsite to do. Not recommended for young adults or kids. Not a place I would return to on future visits.

    It was "quaint". Staff for the most part was friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Good Times at Tradewinds in Carmel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish breakfast started earlier for us who flew in from 2 time zones away...but we adapted by day 2

    The cookies in the lobby ! Breakfast was wonderful. The front desk staff were very friendly and so helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location for a stay in Carmel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is small and need to get in early to get a table although can take breakfast to your room

    Location is great very close to main shops and restaurants. Staff were very knowledgeable about the area and where to eat. The complimentary breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Just Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and amaizing room!!! They went above and beyond to make it a pleasent stay: flowers, straberries and great comfy bed.Loved this place and the design. I highly recommend it:)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    A calm oasis, with the gentle sound of flowing water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A calm oasis, with the gentle sound of flowing water everywhere. Little touches, such as the orchid and the chocolate covered strawberries on arrival, set it apart from other places we've stayed. Quality breakfast, with plenty of fresh fruit on offer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Too short a visit ... I would love to go back and stay longer next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing ... it was all amazing.

    The decor was gorgeous ... very soothing and peaceful. The grounds were immaculate ... just a very beautiful place to stay. The breakfast was lovely as well and you could even take coffee away with you. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone I knew would be visiting the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Comfortable, friendly, well-located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were so sorry to only have one night at Tradewinds! I can't say enough about the attentive and thoughtful staff who made every effort to make us feel welcome as we celebrated our mother's 90th birthday week. They left a personal note and chocolate-covered strawberries to welcome her! They also made excellent dinner recommendations and answered all of our many questions. Our room was comfortable & well-appointed; loved the kimonos. The garden is beautifully landscaped, parking is easy, and our fireside breakfast was abundant and tasty. The location can't be beat: peaceful and private, but near the center of Carmel. We would love to return someday.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't change a thing.

    Beautiful property with well appointed rooms and gardens. Very clean rooms with great amenties. Friendly competent staff who go the extra mile. Even the complimentary breakfast was good with quality coffees and teas. 😊

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Loved Carmel and the Tradewinds. We will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was next to the linen room and the door had to be slammed to close properly. Therefore I was hearing the slamming door very often

    Employees were pleasant and professional. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Clean hotel and nice staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the mattress is too soft but acceptable.

    Very very clean hotel. The welcoming strawberry dip chocolate and the chocolate feels very warm heart touched. Breakfast also very nice. The staff is very friendly and nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Aggravation in Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very hostile. After booking on line and paying for my room in full, I was told via email that I could not have my 15 year old daughter stay with my wife and me in the double queen room without an extra $30 fee. I called and was told that would not be the case, but when I arrived the manager insisted that the fee be paid. Upon checkout we asked to purchase a $110 kimono for my wife that she enjoyed and wanted as a memento of our stay. Despite our attempts to work the manager she insisted that we still pay the $30 extra person fee that was not disclosed when we booked on line with Booking.com. This would be in addition to the kimono we wanted to buy. Eventually, the manager took off the $30 fee but told us never to return! Given the nastiness of the checkout we did not buy the kimono and took it off our bill. My wife and I were beside ourselves and felt very cheapened by the whole experience. It really put a damper on our visit to Carmel to realize that our satisfaction was not even worth 30 bucks to the hotel manager.

    The room was very nicely appointed with many luxurious details. We have travelled all over Asia, Europe, Australia and New Zealand and were very pleased with the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Because of the problems we won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. Not a good mattress. There was water noise running in the corner of the bedroom for hours at a time, while sleeping and awake. The footboard sticks way out on the bed and my shins are bruised and my husband stubbed it with his foot.

    Sheets were excellent. Room and grounds were beautiful. They had beautiful kimonos in the room to wear for robes. I bought one in the front office.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    A tranquil stay in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints! It was a wonderful stay from start to finish.

    The property was gorgeous with ocean views and a lovely zen garden. The staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel had plenty of parking and it is close enough to walk to where you need to go but not so close to the action that you had tons of traffic and noise.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been better. Very slow draining sink, mild-moderate mold present in the shower/tub caulking and cracked/ chipped shower door seal. Bath products provided were in generic containers and weren't labled with brand/ ingredients (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body lotion) so you didn't know what you may be using. No staff on premises after 10 pm on the night of our stay (but we could call a sister property 1-2 blocks away for assistance, if needed). Breakfast was not available until 8 am. Outdoor carpeting on outside walkways was loose and had big wrinkles/ rolls in it.

    Very resort-like, relaxing, comfortable room. Bedding was fabulous. Plenty of towels. Large, deep bath tub. Nice resort touches like chocolate covered strawberries, relaxing spa sounds/ music and a soothing, table-top fountain with running water waiting for us upon arrival. Continental breakfast was excellent. Breads and pastries were very fresh and excellent quality. Great coffee! Fresh melon and berries were ripe and flavorful (hard to achieve as we stayed on the last day of winter). Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.3
    Fine if you get a top floor unit - otherwise stay away due to noisy floors of upstairs occupants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The poorly-constructed floor in the unit above transmitted a tremendous amount of loud noise from the occupant walking about, totally ruining our peace and quiet. I would not stay here again.

    The room and bathroom were beautifully decorated and very zen-like. The staff are very attentive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.0
    View of ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little too soft for our taste. For any walking destination from the hotel, the return was uphill.

    View of ocean. Automatic light at night for bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    The ambience was so nice- decor and outside landscape was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They have a soap, shampoo, conditioner dispenser glued to the wall of the bathtub, but the shampoo was near empty and the pump was broken as it takes time to pump it out. The tub is nice but wide so if you are short, it is uncomfortable to hop over to the inside of the tub.

    The ambience was so nice- decor and outside landscape was zen-like, then they carried the theme to the rooms. I love the asian inspired decor, the batik kimono they provided for use- everything was classy and clean. There was a generous supply of towels. Breakfast in the dining room was sufficient, with breads, yogurt, fruits, juice and coffee. The bst thing that greeted us in our room was a welcome plate of chocolate covered strawberries and 3 packages of nuts and pretzels. What a lovely touch! I rate this hotel "close to excellent".

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    The ambience was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear people walking in the room above us and someone taking a shower in the room next to us.it should have been quieter for the cost

    The ambience was good. We especially liked the outside fire pit in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    wonderful. great surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    bed extra soft . the sheets were so soft.. and the goose down comforter and pillow were wonderful. the ambiance was so sweet. the buddah statue and fountain. The staff extra nice with ideas of restaurants. They helped me find out which roads were closed with the mudslides. And I lost my earring there , and within one hour after i left they found it and are sending it to me on the mail. Very good location to walk to town. and the walk back is up a hill but it burned lots of calories from dinner.. and desert. would stay there again in a heartbeat.. good economy for the room and very good and so much food for breakfast.. very good coffee

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    I will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! We loved it!

    Great location, close to downtown galleries, coffee shops, and restaurants. 12 minute Uber to Spanish Bay. Comfy, 0 street noise, beautiful bathroom

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    10
    Magical place to get away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a smaller place with a limited breakfast dining room space but you can bring food to your room easily or eat outside in the lovely garden area so it wasn't a problem for me.

    The Tradewinds is a beautiful place to stay. From the excellent views to the extra clean bathroom and soaking tub, you will not be dissappointed by this hotel. I appreciated the extra touches of chocolate covered strawberries and flowers upon arrival as well as an extra comfy robe to properly lounge in. I would recommend without any hesitation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    Great location but not worth the money if you look for privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo suggested a private deck but it turned out to be the public walk through. So no privacy for $405 /per night. That is not acceptable to me and should have been pointed out when I spoke to the front desk person on the phone. Therfore You can only enjoy the beautiful view they advertise with people directly viewing your bedroom. The room also is dark in the morning.

    Location, quiet surroundings and lovely view of the ocean outside the room. Proximity to shops and restaurants as well to the most beautiful beach

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.1
    Nice place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 1 PM and the women wouldn't let us check in until 3 which was their standard time yet there was barely anyone in the hotel and I'm sure our room or 50 others were ready? I've traveled all over the world and that hasn't happened in many years if ever when the hotel obviously has rooms ready? It was just foolish and inhospitable. When we checked out 1 hour late per our granted request the cleaning people were camped outside our door to start cleaning as we left yet again occupancy couldn't have been above 30-40% it's just weird behavior from a pretty nice property!!

    Great location and nice room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    The bathroom was super nice and the room decor felt very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't especially comfortable- I think it was a pad on top of a boxspring. Not terrible but not amazing.

    The bathroom was super nice and the room decor felt very upscale.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Love, love, love Tradewinds Carmel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was that our stay was not longer!

    We were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. The staff were all So accommodating, couldn't have been better! The room and the grounds are so beautiful and relaxing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Don't hesitate to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful grounds. Good parking. Comfy room with a fireplace. Love the zen atmosphere. Christine at the front desk was amazing. I accidentally made my reservation for the wrong dates. So I missed my first night of two. She was kind enough to move my res over to the correct night. I will definitely be back!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.0
    Had NO air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had NO air conditioning

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Lovely location and really passionate staff. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location, close enough to centre and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, close enough to centre and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Staff and close proximity to Ocean Ave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff and close proximity to Ocean Ave.,beach and 17 mile drive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfasts

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Walking distance to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy upstairs neighbors. Sounded like a herd of elephants when they walked around or children ran.

    Walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Quiet, nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast and a bit expensive for what you get

    Quiet, nice and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable one night stay in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Design , location , evening wood fire , breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Design , location , evening wood fire , breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    Unhappy experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room. Heard steps all day and half night from room on top of our room. Big windows but trees covering light

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with losing a few room accents. Very dusty and dark.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Very peaceful and relaxing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful facility, exceptional service, discrete when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not comfortable

    Beautiful facility, exceptional service, discrete when handling a noise problem, gracious apology to us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    2.9
    Most miserable night of a week long trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. No air-conditioning. Shower was disgusting.

    The only thing we liked was the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Room was very clean and inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very clean and inviting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.0
    Great sheets!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great sheets!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff and great central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Excellent stay to relax and reconnect with loved ones. Awesome for foodies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be great if there are options for room service

    Very easy and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Cozy hotel with a friendly staff. Can’t miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room with a fireplace and a large bathroom. Quiet location right in Carmel. Highly recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    Quaint property but a bit overpriced for quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the beds in our room was crooked and lights were out in the bathroom.

    Some of the staff were very friendly but others were not.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    I loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it. Nothing wrong with this place at all. You can definitely spend way more for a marginal increase in value but this place is fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    No AC and it was hot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No AC and it was hot! Could have used an overhead fan. Did provide a room fan, but it didn't help much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    Close to main road and walking distance to beach and all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to main road and walking distance to beach and all restaurants. Great staff with best lunch and dinner suggestions

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.8
    A little far from the main drag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from the main drag Decorations are tired and need to be redone Good breakfas

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place in good location. Room got a little stuffy at night if the balcony door wasn’t open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were awful. No support whatsoever.

    Very serene and well appointed. Staff was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    beautiful stay, wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful stay, wonderful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Quaint hotel in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly insulated floors. Person upstairs paced and we heard every step despite ear plugs.

    Great location, helpful staff, nice room.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: