Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Detroit Marriott Troy 3 stars

200 West Big Beaver Road, Troy, MI 48084, USA

#7 of 12 hotels in Troy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

  • Paid WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a large event going on the night I arrived and I was concerned about the noise. I asked for a room far away from the festivities and they had already made arrangements to have my room far from the group. I had no problems with the noise. Although I did not use the bar, I am not sure I would have been able to be served.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was the smallest I have ever see or stayed in. The staff (all) tho very friendly and nice, left me lacking...the cleaning particularly as we never got cleaning services al day despite three calls and a walk form to the front desk. Only after the walk down did garbage get picked up and toiletries replenished. In addition, the room truly lacked for the price and the bed lights had a short that shocked us twice. No bueno!!!

    The lobby, pool, bar and restaurant were amazing. Staff was beyond amazing and cistomer service exceeded expectations. Everyone was so helpful and courteous and willing to go above and beyond.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state would have been nice except for there was a large party in the room next-door to us that was up all night drinking and being very loud and using my grade language in the hallway

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit chilly until I turned the heat way up to 78 It would be nice to have a simple continental breakfast included, especially having children. It felt like it would attract a business type trip rather than families.

    The pool area was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free shuttle to Churchills and your courteous drivers and hotel staff ,excellent room,comfortable bed and pillows are the reason we always return for our annual cigar boys weekend at Churhills....keep up the good work!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more seating in the pool area. 3 families were there and one of them had a birthday party that consumed all of the seating for our family of 3. We sat in the exercise room till the party was over.

    Rooms were very clean. Location was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We brought it to the attention of staff that the number of people smoking on floor 11 (parents of youth hockey players in town for a tournament) was unbearable and naturally found its way into the HVAC system. Also, due to volume of families staying here, makes elevator access difficult.

    Location was good, parking was very convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy who checked us out in the morning had no personality. He didn't tell me the amount we were charged for. He did not even ask us how our stay was. There is no Continental breakfast. There was no microwave in our room if we wanted to utilize it for the kids. No cartoon channels for the kids at night.

    The bed was comfortable. The location was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    first the person at check in told us we over paid using booking.com. told us if we had used the marriott site our rate would have been less also no free internet because of booking.com even though we had a ff marriott number. i have never had a problem using booking .com

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room smelled like sewage. Moved us to a different room that didnt smell much better but put up with it because we were tired from traveling. Also bought a movie was supposed to be 18 dollars. Got home realized they charged me 25.

    Beds were comfortable and the water was hot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amenities in the room, size of the room, additional charge for something as basic as internet (in this age), $5 tag on a tiny water bottle kept in the room, outdated lighting and switches = do not justify a $320 bill. I live in the SF Bay area and you get a 2x better place to stay with less than $110 along with complimentary breakfast and everything else. I do not understand why it has to be so expensive in Troy.

    The entrance and the majestic appearance that it gives when you enter.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My initial call to book the reserve the room was met with a very rude employee. After reacting very annoyed to me asking about rooms for our friend's wedding, she told me that the deadline had passed for the rooms that were blocked off. Then, she hung up on me after I told her that I found a lower room rate online, and was waiting for her to offer to match the price.

    The room was clean, the staff I met in-person was very friendly and helpful, I was allowed to check in at 10:30 AM, and they even brought a mini fridge to our room for the breast milk my wife was pumping over the weekend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I called the front desk for a toothbrush and never received one.

    I liked the comfort of the bed and pillows but they had my body sore afterwards. I guess they were too plush

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bigger shampoos

    We are cigar aficionados and we requested a cab to take us to Churchill's cigar bar in Birmingham and the Marriot provided the shuttle service,it was a pleasant surprise

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air/heat unit broke in middle of night and started making a loud buzzing noise that lasted all night. Kept us up all night. Was supposed to be a mini vacay away from kids, but not very relaxing. Also-tv was broke- could only get one fuzzy channel. When we checked out at 7am because we couldn't sleep- we told the front desk and they barely apologized and said they'd have maintenance fix it. Well, I'm sure your next guests will appreciate that. But our night was horrible.

    Very clean. Updated hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jeffrey gave me and my grandkids a free buffet breakfast. When I checked out That morning the buffets was on my bill. The desk clerk said it wasn't free. I went ahead and paid for it because I didn't want to argue in front of the grandkids. I was going to use this hotel as my hub because it is one that is near my grandkids. I use to be a marriot member when I traveled but I need a hotel that's honest.

    Great buffet desk clerk Jeffery was awesome Pool was great Dinner was good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very surprising and disappointing the WiFi is not complimentary. I've traveled extensively and an endless list of hotels offer complimentary WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just wanted coffee and a sweet roll for breakfast. Very little selection for a continental breakfast so I had a bagel, coffee and juice for $16. Too expensive for that.

    Very clean. Comfortable bed with excellent pillows.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provide extra towels. Offer pricing for families. We had to book an extra room after seeing the size of the king with sofa - big enough for two adults only. Too cramped for more.

    The bedding was very comfortable. Perfect location for our stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't connect to the Wi-Fi. And I wish the room was a tad bigger.

    The bed was a lot more comfortable than I had expected it to be haha. The view we had on the 9th floor was spectacular, I could see the sunset and sunrise.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little too soft

    Bar staff excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and I hated the waiters at the breakfast . The worse I have seen since long time....

    The staff the reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Room was quite/clean/

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good beds. Easy access

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is completely useless, they don’t know how to run a hotel or treat people.

    The hotel was very nice, clean and new

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eleveters needed more as building is high to reduce wait time

    Good staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very comfortable. Free parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet. I have to flush twice because it didn't clear up at the first. The toilets at the Hampton were more modern and efficient.

    The bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from my room

    The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel! Loved the pool! Super kid friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was Ok but too expensive for what you got. One night I paid 289

    I did not get what was advertised. Room service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better value on restaurants

    Location Cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower/tub. need hand held nozzle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could've stayed longer to enjoy the hotel!! It was a quick stay!!

    Beds were amazing!!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was satisfactory

    Overall experience

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking area too cramp

    friendly staff, cleanliness. location of hotel is close to major freeway

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi

    The rooms were really nice, bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is HORRIBLE

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Cleanliness of rooms. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great and we loved this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed too early for Saturday night

    Fantastic eggs benedict

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool closed at 11

    Enclosed parking garage, nice pool, restaurant on premises.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    MUST PROVIDE FREE WIFI

    Been at this location before & like the location and facility

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smelled or carpet and were dark

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was like a cloud and the room was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Family with older children

    Everything was nice. The house keeper assisted me in getting into my formal gown when it would not zip. I was in a hurry and she saved the day. She was an Angel. Thanks so much for good service beyond the call of duty. The beds slept perfectly.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My wife complained that the lighting wasn't bright enough for putting on makeup. I think its ridiculous that a hotel of this stature charges for wifi when hotels just a notch below this one don't. That would be a deal breaker for me if I was staying more than a couple of nights.

    Beds comfortable, room clean, HVAC worked quietly and efficiently. Front-desk made special arrangements so we could check in early.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything! The hotel was nice, clean, easy to get to, just great! The best part was the staff! Everyone was super friendly and wonderful! LOVED this experience and will be coming back!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish the hotel bar could have remained open for hotel guests after midnight so we had a place to keep visiting near the hotel after the wedding reception.

    In town for a wedding

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The elevator to access the parking lot is quite strange, dirty smell like old lube oil.

    Really nice location, near the Somerset Mall and great restaurants near by. Good staff, good breakfast, big parking lot.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Couple

    There was free wi-fi in public areas, so we ended up not using it. Would've loved to have it free in the room. Pillows were very soft, almost too soft.

    A clean room with a comfortable bed, desk for working and clean/nice bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need free wifi and free breakfast. They also need to put two sets of towels in the rooms because I think people shower at night and in the mornings. They also need to put shower caps in the rooms also.

    My room was really clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had nothing but issues with this hotel from beginning to end. Staff seemed to constantly play "games" that ended up costing us (and from the sounds of it) several other people who we listened complaining to management. When we asked the hotel to hail us a cab to the Palace in Auburn Hills, they hailed us a $3/minute service ($360 cab ride as we got stuck in traffic for two hours) instead of the flat rate service they could have hailed for us (that they had later hailed for us on the way back). They also tried to bump up our rate from what we had booked on booking.com and when argued, bumped it back down, but then charged my card two days later for what they wanted to charge us originally. I would not recommend staying here as there seems to be a lot of games played and it ends up costing people more. It makes it extremely frustrating, especially when your currency doesn't hold much value in the United States.

    The Facility is beautiful, hotel was clean and rooms were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Group

    I would actually stay elsewhere for less or equal money rather pay for Wi-fi. I will make sure I know the wi-fi policy before I book Marriott again.

    Great rooms quiet

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loud children on our floor

    Friendly staff, professional staff, quick and courteous service

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No continental breakfast - paid $20 for two people.

    Staff was very polite. Used shuttle service.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were not very pleasant, and not warm and welcoming.

    The bed was relatively comfortable

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds are very comfy

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very comfortable sleep, excellent value Staff, including staff in the restaurant were all very friendly

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I was looking forward to go swimming. But to many kids

    Staying the night was a good idea after our Christmas party. The breakfast was very good

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable beds and great room service with excellent food. The room was extremely clean and the staff courteous.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    need improvement in food service, seating and food both need much work

    room was clean

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel...the breakfast the wi_fi

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is located right next to Sommerset and a 5 minute drive to Birmingham. It is in a great location!

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paying for wifi

    It was awesome from the friendly staff to the supper clean room. Had the Best experience ever.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Staff is very good 7 friendly, especially the receptionist Heather :)

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The front desk was understaffed

    It was close to the wedding venue.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Group

    Breakfast not included

    The location and the room size.

There are also 48 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: