Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Turtle Bay Resort 5 stars

57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, HI 96731, USA

#1 of 6 hotels in Kahuku

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1325 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    The location is beautiful but the quality of facilities / rooms should be better given the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities and rooms are a bit dated and the excursions are very overpriced for what they offer

    The staff were very helpful and the location is beautiful - room had a great view of the sunset.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    We specially came to turtle Bay to celebrate my wife's...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We specially came to turtle Bay to celebrate my wife's birthday along with 4 other couples and the staff was rude at the restaurants, they also have no bars or lounges open after 10 pm. They should at least have one bar open during the week, I was very dissatisfied . We were there for 2 days and on the second day ,they didn't refill us with coffee, sugar, shampoo, conditioners or anything as if we only paid for 1 day stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Turtle Bay Resort Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the hotel being approx an hour away from the airport, the taxi, uber & shuttle fees are huge. We were travelling from NZ so with the conversion we found everything extremely expensive. If it was dollar for dollar, it would definitely have been more reasonable. Our uber cost between $80-100US one way. A shuttle that is affiliated with the resort was going to charge $320US! The resort is nice and secluded but you’re kind of stuck there because it’s so expensive to rent a scooter or explore slightly. So you’ve got to make sure you’re happy with that. We were here for 6 days and in hindsight 4-5 would’ve been enough. The resort grounds are beautiful. The resort itself is kept clean and tidy, it’s just looking a little tired and old. It smelt quite damp through the hallways, like the carpet had been wet and not dried out. No big deal though. While the bedrooms were nice they also were a little dated. The shower head was like a sprinkler, there is little to no pressure so it’s extremely difficult to wash your hair (if you have a lot of long hair like me). It was refreshing after a hot day but a bit ridiculous how little pressure there was. The TV had a range of channels but it constantly buzzed. The noise level was a big thing for me, there are a lot of families staying here with kids and you can hear almost everything if they’re not considerate people. A lot of the parents seemed to let their children do as they pleased - running up the hallway screaming, talking loudly and whining outside bedrooms late at night etc. The slamming doors drove me a bit insane, when the door shuts it pulls closed quite hard so makes and banging noise which seems to travel. If people are sitting on their balconies drinking late at night you can also hear everything. Not the resorts fault, just people I suppose. I was a bit disappointed with the pool area, for such a huge resort it was very small and although there is a kiddy pool, I found a lot of them were in the other area too.

    We spent 6 days here for our honeymoon to chill out & relax. Definitely a range of pros and cons which I’ll be candid about. The hotel is on the North Shore of the island so you’re away from the busy Waikiki area. The rooms are very spacious and kept tidy. We received a voucher for 2 free sparkling wines because it was our honeymoon & there were chocolate macadamia nuts upon arrival in the room. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom nice and large with double sink area. They offer a green program where if you get house keeping every 3days, you receive 1 free buffet breakfast with the purchase of 1. We had a partial ocean view which was very partial but it was still nice and fine. We were offered an upgrade for $30US extra a night but declined. Our flight arrived in the morning so we were 2hrs early for check in. This wasn’t a problem and they waived the early check in fee (apparently). The buffet breakfast is around $32US per person each day and it’s delicious. This is at the Kula Grill. We mainly ate at Roy’s for lunch and early dinners, their food and drinks are amazing and located on the beach. If you want cheaper food definitely go to Lei Lei’s which is a nice short walk towards the entrance of the resort. The beach offers beach towels for free to lie on so you don’t have to pack your own. There is also sunscreen available for purchase (I would bring my own next time though). The beach was beautiful. We found if you carry on walking around more you come to a much more secluded area which we wish we had found earlier. There was almost no one there. We went for a few walks around the resort, there are numerous maps around so you can take a wander & explore a bit. There are horse stables, a pillbox from the war time & more. It’s very pretty and worth the walk. There are a range of activities to do at the resort (if you can afford it). The staff are all very lovely and polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Great 25th Anniversary Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "light snack" provided as an added benefit of being on the 6th floor which is only accessed with your key in the elevator was underwhelming to say the least. The bonus of getting one buffet breakfast FREE with the purchase of another wasn't thoroughly explained so when we went to use it, I had to leave the table to track the right piece of paper down.

    We stayed on the 6 floor which is a little slice of heaven! We were staring directly at the point and the view was amazing. Taking a shower with the door open being able to look at the ocean was something I won't soon forget!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    If you are looking for a nice resort to stay with family, this is the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel overall is quite old and needs a redo. Unfortunately the staff was also rather unfriendly during checkin and checkout.

    We did enjoy the nice pool area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort life can be very expensive and because you are isolated food etc all needs to be purchased at resort prices snd the selection is limited

    Location is amazing at turtle bay fazio golf course amazing great rate with turtle bay stay aswell unlimited use of towels at pools and beaches vista level breakfast was great basic but what you needed sunset at turtke bay needs to be seen!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    The rooms were very spacious and we liked the walks around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at Roy's Beach House was a little off putting. About 6 different staff servicing the table and asking the same questions over again. It ruined our dinner as our conversation was constantly interrupted.

    The rooms were very spacious and we liked the walks around the properties. Beers by the pool bar at sun down were a highlight - good vibe and music. Loved the valet parking service too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice location on the North shore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worse shower head for hotels. Unless you are as wide as a gorilla, most of the spray is around your body both sides. Also, only place that serve one toast instead of two with 2 eggs breakfast at their Kula restaurant.

    Nice location on the North shore

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely get-away on the north shore of Oahu!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Turtle Bay was a great get-away for our honeymoon. The large King size bed was comfortable and our partial ocean view was amazing! We used the spa services to get a seaside couples massage that was superb!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    The sound of the ocean, beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay $46 per night for resort fees and then you have to hire beach chairs and umbrellas to enjoy the beautiful beach.

    The sound of the ocean, beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location and stunning grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite pricey and you had to pay for extras like car parking each day when it’s hard to not have a car as you’re far from places (which isn’t a bad thing as the isolation is what we were looking for).

    Beautiful location and stunning grounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    A beautiful resort but very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we booked, it was free to park the car but we were hit with a USD $15 a night to park in the public car park- not even valet parking- upon check-in. Disappointing. Price of food at the restaurants a bit over the top - but delicious nonetheless and excellent service.

    Beautiful gardens and surrounds, so picturesque! You must take a long walk on the massive property. Room very clean- immaculate in fact, nice bed and pillows! We had a gorgeous ocean view on the third floor. Restaurants great but pricey!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Would definitely come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they are going to include breakfast in the room rate, it should be a buffet style and not a selection of yogurt, fruit and cereals etc placed in the hallway near the elevator.

    Location was quiet and peaceful, great to relax and chill out - not like Waikiki where it can get it overcrowded and busy. The hotel also offers many different activities, so theres plenty to see and do. Lots of wildlife in the area too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Lovely beaches on the hotel grounds, wonderful sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have a car if you want to explore outside the grounds - but the hotel is so big, there is so much to do. There were bugs in the fruit and salad from the cafe. Flies all over the windows. Apart from that a great resort.

    The amount of beaches nearby is super convenient, there are no turtles on these beaches by the way, you have to go a little out of the hotel grounds to see turtles on the beach. Otherwise the beaches on the grounds were lovely. The pool is a good size and the fitness centre is really nice. The range of restaurants is good because you have a selection and the fine dining restaurant are the best to dine in as you get amazing service, they gave us a complimentary dessert for our honeymoon and the food was fantastic - order the steak dish and pork dish mmmmmm The room was spacious and partial ocean view was AMAZING!!! You see the whole sea to be honest - it was a gorgeous view and the sound of the waves whilst sleeping was divine. Get the ocean view room as I can't begin to imagine what that might be like!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    More to do and better value at Wakiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not good value for money and no other restaurants within 20km. Need a car to get around. A couple of days and you will run out of things to do or run out of money to do anything.

    The pool was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    The golf, the beach and the restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not great facilities in the room, no kettle, hair dryer wasn't great, the sheets are rough and the coffee machine didn't work.. the view of the beach and pool was great but not the roof of over grown garden we over looked.

    The golf, the beach and the restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice but budget for all the additionals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional costs, eg hire of tennis racket is 25 USD and you are only allocated the court for one hour. The cost of hiring beach cabanas depending on rate eg full cabana, partially shaded covering etc was also expensive compared to other hotels. The spa menu was also excessive in compression and so was the use of classes eg Pilates etc

    The location is beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a wonderful stay at Turtle Bay Resort - we loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a wonderful stay at Turtle Bay Resort - we loved the availability of pool and beach, the many nice restaurants on the property, the sunset views, and the activities offered. Did an afternoon horse trail and just loved it! All staff was so helpful and friendly! The valet guys were super!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel staff were excellent in taking care of us. But for the price there shouldn’t be any mildew
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were mildew in the shower tiles. The shower water control lever came off in our hands. The hex key is missing. The closet doors won’t stay shut. The locking hardwares were missing or broken.

    The check-in counter staff went beyond expectations. Room service was excellent very prompt. All staff that we encounter through the halls always greeted us with Aloha. Location is breathtaking. This is what makes Hawaii unique.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Apart from the food- the resort is absolutely gorgeous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food for such a highly rated resort was bland, basic & way over priced. We enjoyed the food trucks more. Egg noodles? There weren't a lot of options on the menus and they charged a 17%-20% service charge every time on top of the added 18% gratuity . We were going to order room service until we saw the mandatory $5 delivery (which is fine) & 17% service charge + gratuity. We did have a villa and ended up cooking more due to the above.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Great, Seduced on the North Shore, It's a change from the many hotels of Waikiki beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cottage - Beach Front
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Parking fee is now $15/night (as of April 1st) in addition to the resort fees Cottage parking was constantly full. Restaurants on the resort are overpriced ($31+tip for breakfast buffet) Although... overall would stay again!

    Cottages were worth the extra price, They're secluded enough to make it seem like you're staying in a much smaller resort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful place. Woudl return. Great ocean view and balcony. Sunsets!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced activities and dining. Staff was not very friendly or helpful

    Fabulous room with amazing view. Really nice property. All activities are really over priced. However, great place to stay overall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Was an ok stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge $15 for parking per day. It’s very dated and needs updating.

    Location was great. And there’s not much else in the area. Roy’s was delicious. All rooms have an amazing view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and elegant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything except for what I described above. The Resort is beautiful.

    The only problem we encountered was with a Registration Clerk a week before our arrival. We had driven up to Turtle Bay from Waikiki and had lunch at Turtle Bay. As we left, I stopped at Registration to confirm our prepaid reservation and was told that there was not a record of my pre-paid reservation that I made in September for two Family Suites. I was very upset and after returning to Waikiki, I called back to the hotel about the problem and was told that, of course, we had reservations. The incompetent desk clerk made for a very dismal drive back to Waikiki. I am pleased that it worked out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paddle board hire. Nil or costly

    Beautiful location. Shame no kitchen facilities. We would try a villa next time. Food at pool and restaurant below average for price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Amazing views everywhere and a nice walk/hike path along the shore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The breakfast wasn't included in the hotel room and it was very pricey. Not enough choices of restaurants.

    The sea shore and views were spectacular. Snorkeling was included in the resort fee and it was easy to spot fishes close to the shore.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Everyone should visit the North Shore when they come to Oahu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired and maintenance was lacking. Sliding glass door needed to be fixed. Sink didn’t drain plus A/C filter was dirty. Lots of wind at the north shore.

    Staff kind and responsive. Location and views were amazing. Pool and beaches were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful. We’d come back again for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few areas could have been cleaner near the pool. The Hostess at the Restaurant near the steps to the pool was less than friendly. And actually a bit rude.

    CeCe at the front desk was exceptional. All and all most of the staff were VERY thoughtful and lovely. The Valet staff was exceptional as well. We had to visit our car 3 times to locate a missing wallet. They took us by golf cart and one gentleman even offered us his extra charger. Very nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    The Cottage, Palmer Course and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurants inconsistent, warped floor boards and broken screen door in cottage. The overall style of the resort seems tired.

    The Cottage, Palmer Course and beach. Watching the surfers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We totally enjoyed your super clean acomodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The "free" breakfast was not really a breakfast. We booked on your top floor and thought it included a real breakfast.

    Pleasant stay with lots of quite rest. We are not big partiers so this was awesome for us. If you wanted to me more involved you certainly had all you needed at your facility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Liked that there was a mini fridge to be plugged in, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The door in the bathroom is one sliding glass door, better if their was two doors. No places to hang more then one towel other then the draw string in the shower. Buffet and restaurant are over priced.

    Liked that there was a mini fridge to be plugged in, and the breakfast and lunch snacks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel, but don't stay here unless you have money to burn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel are constantly trying to squeeze every last cent out of you. From charging US$100 per day for 2 sun loungers to adding hidden costs to every extra thing you expect to be included in a 5 star resort. We were so disappointed with the underwhelming service, customer attention and their constant need to bleed you dry despite already paying a fortune to stay there. Such a shame.

    Beautiful hotel, comfortable rooms and a gorgeous setting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    It was comfortable and pleasurable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the menu and food available could have been more healthy and more diverse.

    The location is great and the pool facilities and access to beaches and golf was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful place to unplug.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful place to unplug. Great views, good food. Like the Ritz in Naples, Florida, but not constantly trying to liberate dollars from my wallet. Better priced. Staff was really helpful with off property ideas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    We will be returning soon, this is heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That this trip went so fast.

    Every aspect of this stay was remarkable. Thank you. Turtle Bay is what Hawaii is supposed to be like. The views are spectacular, from the resort. Unlike most on the island, there are no gigantic buildings around. Truly beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    Not convince. Won’t recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Level Ocean View Double Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old, I did feel at ease in it. There was a strong and unconfortable smell when we walked into the room the first day. The breakfast at the 6th floor is really cheap, no much choises, not tasty.

    The staff is nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Great place for a golfing retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great deal to do for teenage boys that didn’t cost extra. Looked at the segways and they were really overpriced compared to ones we had done before. Family room was spacious but only good for a three person family unless your kids can sleep on a sofa bed together.

    Beach was really nice. Weather wasn’t great for us but still had a fab time. Ate at Roy’s three times - fantastic! Golf was really good and the three day deal was a good option.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location; Service a little inexperienced/lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Valet service - either insufficient staff and queues of hotel guests always waiting, or when staff were there unfortunately they looked the other way 80% of the time. Restaurant food - would be nice to see more local food offerings Hawaii culture - would be nice to have some cultural events Check in - problem at check in (a) could not find our booking, even though we had received a welcome email a few days earlier; (b) tried to charge us again for the resort fee for our entire stay and we had to prove that we had already paid for this - luckily I had a print out + then did not provide the "amenities" pack that came with the resort fee charge

    Location - fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful location, but should be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived from Honolulu and right away was met by either $15 self-parking or $20 valet. Considering this is a resort on its own, miles away from anything, do they really need to charge for parking when everyone there had to drive to get to it? Check-in was a nightmare as we booked an ocean view vista (6th floor) room, and asked to be near the end of the wing (I read reviews that said the sound of the ocean was best there). The first room we were given only viewed the bay (west wing, south facing, looking over the pool and bar). This made both myself and my wife disappointed, and she went down to ask if we could get a room with an ocean view as we booked. When she came back after checking the second room with a smaller balcony (east wing, south facing), again it was a disappointment. Those rooms have very small balconies and only get sun in the morning. By this point (I'm not kidding) my wife was in tears. We had such high hopes for this resort, yet here we are not getting what we paid or asked for. I went down and chatted to the front desk, and they gave me another option, basically opposite from the first room. This one (west wing, first room on the wing, north facing) was better than the others, with a large balcony and facing the sea. We sat confused, as I had put in the room booking a request for ocean view and at the end of the wing, yet they gave us the option of 2 bay viewing rooms, then finally an ocean view but at the beginning of the wing. Why hadn't the receptionist given us this room in the first place, or (for that matter) it as the alternative rather than the small balcony one first, when she knew this was was available all along? Our wifi also didn't work in the room, and after asking 4 times to get it fixed and being reassured it would, it finally was done on the 3rd day of our stay. The beach at the resort is nice, however (and I kid you not), you have to pay for the sun loungers! $25 for HALF a day!

    The room we finally received (after going through 2 others) was about as close as we expected to get (though still wasn't what we requested). I'd recommend asking for East or West wing, north facing (though I doubt it'll get noticed, our request didn't). The room was comfortable and clean, with a nice big bathtub and a dance-floor sized shower. The larger balcony was far better, giving you room to move the chairs (which are better than those on the small balcony). The waves sound amazing, and you can see sunset from the balcony (photo below). The beach by the resort is nice and easy to swim in. Lots of locals and people come to the beach. You get free towels and 2hrs free usage of the snorkels and masks (the lady running the hut said it closed at 4:30, and if you didn't return them, it was a $28 charge!). Food options are overpriced, but the two we tried (Lei Lei's and Roy's) were both superb in terms of food quality and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice change from waikiki crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey, especially because there's limited alternatives around for dinner etc. Very windy spot, in bay as well as pool area. We couldn't enjoy the bay or the pool much for that reason. Might depend on season though.

    Amazing views, spacious rooms, nice bay for swimming and snorkeling sheltered from surf.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude in the surfer bar. Expensive parking and costs- not much difference in price and a rip off considering to stay at this resort you would have to have a hire car. Unnesscary costs added to the holiday.

    Pretty good over all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    + Beautiful location - Big resort feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No adult only areas/pools. For a big place there could have been some allowance for adults traveling there without children who don’t want to be surrounded by them. Felt like ClubMed.

    Stunning location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Concierge was lovely touch,.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor service in lobby restaurant (Kula something). Took 10 minutes before someone acknowledged us....then forever to get order. And it wasn't that busy. The complimentary glass of wine helped.

    Concierge was lovely touch,.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Amazing family holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly & accommodating, particularly given we arrived very early after a long flight and let us check in early. Location was spectacular with food options to accommodate all! We will definitely be back and were all very sad to say goodbye at the end of our stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the restaurants and room service were very expensive and I don’t think they justified the price. There really isn’t anywhere else to go in the area & it seems they know it. Missing a few things I would of expected from a $500+ resort - no mini bar, robes/slippers, welcome drink or breakfast included. The rooms needed a fresh coat of paint and aircon units were very loud.

    Lovely setting with lots of pool areas and beach access. Short drive to Turtle Beach & places for surfing. Lots of shops on site with a variety of gifts, clothing, food & drinks. Onsite parking at no extra charge. Rooms were fairly modern & had beautiful outlooks. Refillable water bottles provided which was great to reduce plastic waste. The staff were friendly & accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be less expensive. Prices are definitely too high.

    Excellent location, clean, very quiet and spacious rooms especially bathroom. Beach with very comfortable longchairs and enough sunshade. I loved the breakfast and dinner at Lei Lei‘s, the restaurant situated a five minutes walk at the golf course. But the restaurants in the hotel are also recommendable. Good idea to sell high-quality water bottles for free refill for only 5$. I appreciated that very much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Loved turtle bay, staff are really friendly and the surf out the front was fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurants is expensive for what it is. We had breakfast and snacks included on the vista level however this was really minimal. Snacks consisted of nuts only. Because of the location, you are forced to eat at the hotel unless you drive out to the food trucks. Due to location, you have to drive to everywhere else but this is standard on the north shore.

    The bed was really comfy and the view from our room was stunning. Love the balcony and the spa bath.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Perfect spot to celebrate 15 years of marriage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely happy with our stay. Initially had booked vista level, but decided to upgrade to a cottage once we arrived—worth every penny for extra privacy and comfort. The staff is friendly and courteous. The resort is in close proximity to awesome beaches and spots to explore. In addition there’s Hidden beach and Keiki Pool that are calmer swimming spots within walking distance but away from the crowd (which isn’t much of a crowd compared to larger resorts). Roy’s was our favorite dinner restaurant right on the resort. While at Turtle Bay you must stop by Kahuku Farms for lunch and a smoothie—fresh and delicious! We are already planning a return trip with our kids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Great views from the rooms (I expect most rooms will have an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were thin and cheap. The vista level is a rip off, comes with very minimal breakfast (worse than average concierge lounge) and their free afternoon tea was just apples and bananas.

    Great views from the rooms (I expect most rooms will have an awesome view). Restaurant food was pretty good. Pool cabanas were nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Hard to leave..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying in such a beautiful resort & even after upgrading only having cereal as the included breakfast. When I went for breakfast, the staff member took my breakfast voucher & I was told to help myself to the selection, half way through my meal another staff member approached with a bill & I was charged an extra US$15 for the fruit selection & told guests have to pay extra for the full breakfast selection.

    Location, comfort, staff, facilities,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Family friendly resort with first class appeal in a remarkable oceanfront location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Cottage - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet was a little pricey but the food and service were great.

    The resort is in a beautiful location that will delight you with amazing vistas and sunrises/sunsets. We stayed at an oceanfront cottage which was close to the main hotel giving easy access to restaurants, the beach area, walking trails and other activities. The resort was very busy when we arrived but nevertheless the staff were always attentive and responsive to our needs. I would love to return again and highly recommend it to couples, families and groups of friends who are looking for an oceanfront beach experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Great resort in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food options at hotel were a little pricey, and limited options nearby; mainly food trucks

    Excellent staff, great location, nice facilities. Good process for hospitality suite when leaving late

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice rooms but was expecting more for money and reputation in terms of facilities and activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was quite an isolated location so it seems setup for just staying at the property but I didn't feel there was enough to do in that case

    Room was nice, very comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, fantastic, will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping came around at 8am eveyday, which I have never experienced before.

    Everything was fantastic. Great to Listen to the ocean. Excellent location 10/10 loved our whole stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Very nice stay - relaxed at end and could have stayed 1 more day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cottage - Beach Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roy’s service not good / friendly but missed in all areas - food was good. A lapse on pick up from cottage the following evening even though it was confirmed however it was not our regular host

    Location and cottages are excellent and quiet which is what we requested. Concierge for cottages a definite plus also texting to group very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Came here for my sisters wedding spent a great ordeal of money the location is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Cottage - Beach Front
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff everywhere else not so nice and kind of rude especially at the rest like roys and Lei Lei and the buffet

    The concierge staff at cottage suites were great, super friendly and accommodating Erphaim was the best!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Location you can’t get any better on the north shore, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was terrible, but I’m a picky Aussie who is used to clean healthy meals so others may like it. (My boyfriend said it was all very processed but served it’s purpose and then said he thought it was pretty good) The buffet breakfast didn’t have anything for me the eggs were on fries and the bacon is rashers but that’s pretty standard throughout the islands (and not to mention US). The only place I actually liked for food was Lei Lei’s on the golf course and i had the ribs. Otherwise we just left the resort in search of food as it was very expensive eating there for 4 days.

    Location you can’t get any better on the north shore, the hotel is literally right on the beach, our room overlooked the bay where you can see the horse stables. You have 2 hours free snorkel hire every day at the beach where Roy’s Beach House is and the beach there is stunning. Laid there all afternoon. The point bar by the pool is also great, watching the sunset there right infront if the blow hole was beautiful, the pool was great awesome slide and jacuzzis for adults. Lots to do from the hotel, we did horse riding, helicopter ride and snorkeling all at the hotel. They cart you everywhere in buggies too if you don’t want to walk which is very nice of them. It’s all round a great hotel and my boyfriend said it’s the best hotel he’s ever stayed at for the activities and I would have to agree.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    The cottage room was nice but we won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Cottage - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is not large enough to accommodate all the guests. There were not enough chairs for everyone. They need an adult pool as well as the main pool. The pool with the slide into it did not have enough room around it for parents to sit to supervise their children Only 8 people could fit in the hot tub. It should be 2-3 x larger or add another one. For the cost of $1000/night you would think it should include breakfast Roy’s restaurant was mediocre and very pricey

    The bed and the pillows were fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Would go back for sure. Amazing sunrise and sunset views from all over the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vista levels at a premium could do with better quality breakfast and snacks if making that a point of difference. All rooms would have had amazing views so needs to be more value in paying a premium.

    Great activities and a spectacular location. Nightly entertainment wast great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the movie forgetting Sarah Marshall and the resort was so beautiful in the movie and when we got here is was not as magical as I was hoping for it to be .. but still a beautiful resort !

    Staff is amazing! Some of the nicest people ever!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay at a hotel that fully met with our expectations. Staying at the Vista recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, especially at Roy´s overpriced. Cleanliness somewhat under par until my wife had a discussion with the cleaning ladies.

    We had two connected rooms on the Vista level ( 6th floor ) with access to both breakfast and afternoon snacks on the same floor, very good because we travelled with a 11 months old baby. Abundance of activities to choose from at the resort. Fridge and corkscrew in the room which made it possile to buy a takeaway dinner and enjoy a bottle of wine on the balcony. Generally very good food in the restaurants, excellent at Roy´s restaurant by the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    It was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff were very helpful and cordial. Other hotel staff were very helpful and friendly as well. Great location surrounded by the ocean all sides. The spa has wonderful treatments and I wish I could go there every month for the facial. Loved staying here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Loved that you could sit at the pool or in the pool bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved that you could sit at the pool or in the pool bar watching our boys surf. Off the wall cabana was perfect for that too. Also loved Roy’s restaurant. Amazing food and great atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    North Shore Relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WI-FI could have been better, sometimes would disconnect.

    Beautiful setting on the North Shore. Pool, beach area, snorkeling, trails for walking/biking, golf, spa. Evening Entertainment in the restaurants and poolside. Staff excellent. Great place to watch surfers and look for whales. Rooms were spacious, especially the bathroom, lots of closet space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic! Loved the resort and location. We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful location. Lovely and quiet. Food and beverages were available at the pool. Pool was open until late - not often found but really appreciated. Staff were amazing and friendly. Breakfast and food available on Level 6 was great. Close to Pipeline and Sunset Beaches.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Turtle Bay is what you come to Hawaii for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish that I could book my next year vacation now but it will not allow a booking that far in advance.

    We only stayed one night at Turtle Bay due to an error in my planning that caused a"gap" in our two week trip to Ko Olina. It would have been far easier to stay at our Marriott Resort for that one night. The Marriott did not offer us any real assistance and wanted to charge us over $400 for the one night in-between the two weeks that we were staying there. That would be fine but they were unwilling to budge the 10:00am check-out and the 4:00pm check-in which left us feeling a little under appreciated as we have vacationed here for 6 years. We decided to try Turtle Bay for that one night. We were greeted very warmly at the front desk by a woman named Carol. We were able to get into our room early. We had an absolutely spectacular view of the ocean and pool. We settled into our spacious room with two vanities and a mini fridge, walked, swam and sunned all before our check-in time! My husband played golf the next morning and loved the course while I took a glorious walk along the shore and visited the stable. Carol extended our check-out time until noon! We enjoyed our one night stay at Turtle Bay so much that we will definitely be returning for much longer next year! Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was spacious and our balcony with a view provided a relaxing place to sit out and read. I particularly liked our comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    For a Hawaiian stay away from the bustle of Waikiki this is a great spot to come
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should offer a lower cost dining option that has healthier food than just the pool snack bar. Every restaurant that has indoor seating is extremely expensive

    The best thing is the incredible view from the room. It's great having the sound of the waves crashing right below us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the feather pillows, they smelled funny (I don't think feathers and ocean moisture mix well) and weren't very comfortable.

    Lots of amenities, great location, very nice. I was pleased with the view and the spacious room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Sunset and Mai Tai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    Good location, comfortable room, great food and drinks, especially for surfers. The beach is active for active sports, the wind is constantly blowing. Wonderful sunsets and wonderful cocktails (try the Mai Tai).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Had a fabulous time here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee is probably the biggest disappointment for us being from New Zealand as we don’t know what to ask for when wanting a good strong long cup, not filter coffee.

    Had a fabulous time here. Always something to do whether you want to swim, sunbathe, play golf, explore or eat at any of the amazing restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    Amazing view from our room on the 6th floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View Double Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing view from our room on the 6th floor. Nice continental breakfast available on our floor. The nature, ocean, beaches, woods... around the hotel is overwhelming and is of a pristine beauty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing-it was outstanding

    Everything! It was fabulous! We went with our children and grandchildren who are 6 and 3. There was so much for all of us to do. We enjoyed the pool, beach, biking and hiking trails, along with tennis and basketball.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Level Ocean View King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    there's nothing I did't like everything on our vacation was great

    The experience at Turtle Bay resort exceeded our expectations, we dined in the main restaurant the food was excellent had a massage loved it my partner had a facial it was an amazing trip

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very late flight departing Hawaii, so when I asked for a late check out, the desk clerk offered a hospitality suite instead. This gave us complimentary use of a guest room for an hour at the end of the day to freshen up before heading to the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Turtle Bay Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: