Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Union Square Plaza Hotel 2 stars

432 Geary Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#177 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1377 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was tired not particularly clean and the whole area was surrounded by homeless people sleeping rough on the streets, area was very noisy.

    The hotel was fairly well situated for sight seeing and the staff were helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had 3 bath and hand towels. I indicated and paid for a room for 4 adults ($219) When I requested for another set, the front desk guy asked if I requested for another set upon check in. When I said "no" because I only realize we were short a set, instead of calling housekeeping for a set, he noticed 2 bath towels layed out on the counter and said, "take 1 from there" and walked away... Additionally, when I walked into the bathroom, one of the gel container (holding Orange shampoo) hanging up on the wall had a leak and was dripping into the tub. Door stopper on wall was pulled out of the wall and closet floor was a bit dirty. The Bed was very uncomfortable with a big dip in the middle, and I woke up with a sore back...Because we stayed for the night. I did not make a fuss about it.

    The Location and parking a block away from Union Square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish it was a little less shabby but still it was great for the money

    The old property was classic in feel and the staff was amazing. Love the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a lot smaller than they persevere in the photos, the bathroom is tiny! And the rooms are pretty outdated. I know it’s a cheap hotel in a busy area but maybe updated carpet and bedding would take it a lot further.

    Staff were great. Location was awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The structure is a bit old and could use some renovation, but rooms are kept clean.

    The hotel is in a very good position to visit all the main attractions of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is legitimately just a place to shower and sleep. It can be very noisey however so if you’re a light sleeper, good luck. Rooms are so so old! Tv wasn’t working and we had to get someone to look at it only to be watching fuzzy tv the whole time after that. They don’t provide normal facial tissues, so bring your own or use toilet paper. Heating did not work either which we asked twice about. Apparently they turn it on at 10pm each night which then allows you to heat your room. Check in and check out was quite slow. There’s only one lift which can be quite slow so taking the stairs can be quicker. I wouldn’t stay here again for the price you pay.

    Location. Short walk to shops in union square and close by to lots of eateries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little noisy in the night since I took the "room with view" option, probably better to opt for the other option. There was a lot of homeless and hookers in the night.

    The staff was really nice, the room was clean and spacious, the internet was good too. It's really well located, you can go walking to a lot of places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping was very poor - they did not clean the bathtub or sweep the floor. I found dust around the television set which has been there quite a while. The light in the bathroom did not work - switch had to be turned on and off several times before it actually came on. the bathroom tissue roll did not hold the toilet paper. It keep coming off.

    location was alright but I would not go out at night. Felt unsafe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was run down and wasn't anything like the website - a total letdown and disappointment. They have a set of rooms that are dark, dirty and dingy - and sadly that's what we got !!

    The staff were helpful...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No view from the window. The window goes to a kind of a shaft. Noise from outside of the window (some workroom or workshop there).

    Atmosfere of the hotel. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, can't open window as won't stay open, no ice machine or refrigerator. Noise from garbage collection at all hours of the morning.

    Location and staff are fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to outrageously slam the door to actually lock it. My hair blow dryer wasn't working, I called the front desk and they rudely told me they are busy now and hung up on me. The cleaning people start vacuuming early in the morning and considering there is no insulation and you can hear your neighbors talking, I was woken up everyday by that noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    What I liked you can find below. The rest in this hotel is rather poor. This hotel needs a total renovation and refurbishment. Starting with a hair dryers, window frames (windows need to be sound-proof due to the very active city life behind those windows, outside) and mosquito nets and finishing with the doors, the elevator, floor rigs/carpets, furniture - everything needs to be renovated and replaced. They are old, smell badly, covered with many years dust and scratches. And the final note. I heard that San Francisco tap water taste is great and the quality is one of the highest in the world. I was ready to drink only tap water and to feel happy. And the water was indeed very good everywhere in the city. But not at this hotel. It had some kind of weird taste here. Why? Isn't it the same famous San Francisco water?

    A question above is about this hotel style. There is no style here. A total absence of any style. Which is really sad. But the staff and the location of the hotel are perfect. Thank all of them who work there. They are very responsive and really great. Yes, the staff and the location of the hotel couldn't be better. The linen and towels are really clean and fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of basic amenities and overall cleanliness. I purposely did not spend much time in my room because of this.

    The staff were very friendly. Other than that, this hotel was much worse than I anticipated. It’s in a convenient but not very great area. If you have to stay in this area, there’s better options for not that much more money in the neighborhood. The hotel has not been updated in decades and they do not have central air. If you’re traveling for business or have a bit more of a budget, I’d look elsewhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Carpet is old so it has some smell. I was worry about bugs but there was none during my stay.

    Great location at Union Square. Hotel has a smell of history. I did not know there is no air condition when I booked it. Luckily San Francisco weather was cool when we stayed. No need to have air condition. Bathroom was newly renovated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Even though staff was very friendly when I had arrived a person at the reception did not pay attention and it was not nice. Curtain did not cover the window. Sometimes a little noisy.

    The room and a bed were clean and it was the most important. Staff actually was very friendly and warm. Hotel has an excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv did not work nor the internet.

    The tv was not working nor was the internet. The street noise was so loud all through the night. It didn’t get quiet until after 2am and our window was not facing the street. The room was really hot so you had to keep the window open.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little warm for my taste - the only heat control I could find was the open/close knob on the radiator that didn't seem to do anything, but I could probably have opened a window if I needed to. I'd happily come back here.

    Comfy bed; hot shower; plenty of sockets for charging stuff. Great location at a budget price and the hotel happily looked after our bags securely on check-out day while we did some tourist stuff before heading to the airport. Lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities are very old/dated. My room looked like an old college dorm room. While the room itself was clean, the common areas smell of food/humidity. Room was VERY noisy, room faced some sort of industrial alley where it seems someone operates heavy machinery throughout the night, and windows are probably low quality so unable to keep out the noise. Room lock did not seem very sturdy.

    Room and bathroom were clean. Location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shuttle to the airport was cheap but the driver was unfit to drive. He was not focused on driving, playing with the radio dials the whole time and not really paying attention to the road. The shuttle was also not in great shape. Take an uber.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding was smelly Room carpet was not cleaned properly Central heating radiator was making funny noises first night and I had to move room to front of property which was a bit better room cleanliness Old style furniture which certainly needs changing

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel overall !! Very tiny hotel, old, smell of chemicals from the moment I entered the building until the room. I can't checkout on 1st day but I managed to checked out the next early morning. No hotel's facilities at all. It's too pricy for that kind of hotel. Good that they refunded my other 2 nights stay.

    Walking distance to union square

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old facilities, beds somewhat uncomfortable, does not have air conditioning, outdated heating system Booking webpage says it counts with parking making you believe that it is included. But not, parking lot is extra to the total price and the parking is two blocks far from the hotel It is expensive hotel for the old facilities it offers

    Location and fast service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No options for parking, dirty alleyway view with homeless people and loud workers smoking all day.

    Location was great. It was adequate for what I needed the room for. Considering I was downtown SF, the only issue was finding a long term parking spot that didn't cost the same amount as the hotel. If you are traveling without a car, this location is ideal and the room was comfortable and quiet. My room faced into an alleyway that overlooked a parking garage. There were people smoking downstairs in the alley. They were a little loud during the day, but at night time it was quiet and peaceful. I'd probably stay again. The price was reasonable for what you got.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing could have been better.

    No A/C. Too hot in the room. Cramped space/room. Does not even have ice dispensers. Noisy. But, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very outdated. Curtains were dirty and stained. Shower was falling apart. Beds were very springy. This room needs some TLC.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Very close to Union Square!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom

    We had a great stay location was fantastic and the staff were lovely and very helpful the room was very clean and tidy but it was small for 4 people and the bathroom was tiny.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad smell outside the rooms. No idea what it was. Very noisy garbage collection during the week. Rooms facing the rear can hear it

    Nice central location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above comment.

    They had no water to drink, no ice, we were told the owner didn’t want to spend the money, no coffee, nothing. No washcloths to shower with. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the alley full of trash and homeless picking through it in the middle of the night. FUTURE FOLKS LOOKING FOR A HOTEL, PICK ANOTHER ONE!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise level from the back alley is very bad. I stayed on the second level. I could not sleep on the first night. The noise came very suddenly once every 30 minutes or 1 hour from the alley. I requested to switch to a less noisy room, but staff did have room available until my 3rd night. He gave me a room on the 5th floor, which is way better than the one on the 2nd floor. So if you stay on the back side of the hotel, try to get a room on a higher floor.

    The hotel is at a very convenient location. It s close to shopping, a muni station and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no facility in the room not even bottled water, there was too much noise from the street used to wake us up at night, elevator was outdated

    The location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was clean and functional, but dated. Old building and furnishings, but kept clean which I appreciated.

    Fantastic location - steps away from Market Street - and a safe area. Incredibly nice front desk staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As others have noted the alley behind the hotel is very noisy...people throwing bottles in recycling dumpsters, trucks loading and unloading. This goes on all night. The rooms were clean but smelled strongly of febreeze. Free wifi was unreliable and slow.

    Location was great. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Room was clean and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not that they can do something about it, but 5 in the morning (every day) the garbage truck picks up everything from the back alley, and it get's noisy.

    Wi-Fi service was really good, even with all the geeks (due to the convention) in town. Also I loved the fact that they would clean and change towels every day (not all hotels do that).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs ice machine. Could use clocks in rooms. And needs washcloths. Kinda noisy outside. Especially between 2am and 5am

    Super helpful friendly staff! Great location close to everything. Staff answered needs promptly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely outdated. The bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable- I barely slept the 2 nights I was there. I travel all over the world and it was the most money I’ve ever paid for a hotel room that honestly was only worth about one fourth of what I paid.

    The staff was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room feels a bit dark.

    The hotel is located near restaurants and not far from Union Square. There's a 24-hour diner which can be reached within 2-3 minute walk. The hotel is clean and the wifi connection is good. If you're in town for a quick stop (business/leisure), this hotel is a good choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The television did not work and the WiFi speed was pretty slow and cutting out when I was trying to stream video (since the television did not work). Also, the shower heads were really low and the hot water was not very hot.

    Easy check-in/check-out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was central, but was constantly harassed by beggars and homeless people. The room was facing the street, extremely noisy even at night time. The rooms are very aged. A fridge would have been useful. The rooms need a modern renovation urgently.

    The staff was very accommodating, gentle and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no ac in room and I turned on the television there was no video I could only listen to the sound of show but couldn't see anything it was just black. The nice outside was so loud that I didn't sleep at all because I had my window open since it was so hot .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Payment due upon check-in ... HECK NO, we paid beforehand. So one strike, I came in positive attitude but when we check-in I was not happy when she greeted us by saying "if we have any visitors?" The reason why she said that because after 2 am a different kind of people comes out in the neighbourhood, if you know what I mean. Then she put us in this room, the fire detector was low on battery and was a missing hairdryer. We called and asked them to get put us in another room which is right next door. it was a lot better the fire detector working and there is a hairdryer, but I looked out from the window facing the alley, of course, there was homeless with his tent. That did not bother us but what bothers us there were dumpsters ... restaurants with the clingy clanging sound of empty bottles at 2 or 3 am. It was a miserable stay especially the price I paid ... it is not worth it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location meant close to not so nice surrounding area. Windows not double glazed so no sound proofing and it’s on a busy noisy street

    Central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. It was hard to understand the staff, rooms were NOT family friendly size wise. The room was so tiny that it was hard for 2 adults and 1 child to even move around in, there wasn't any tv in the room as it so stated. Didn't feel clean, very outdated, door didn't lock along with it had no child lock on it which is a big no no for our son as he likes to escape lol. The elevator was god awful...we could barely get 2 adults and again 1 small child in it. Bed was DEFINITELY NOT queen size...ultimately we didn't end up staying there but wasted the money unfortunately. Would never recommend!

    Nothing honestly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    NO cable tv

    The hotel is well located. simple and good for the price. Ask for Tim and/or Indira at the front desk, they are both really helpful with whatever you need. Felt really well, which is weird in this kind of hotels in SF - I come every month -.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old dingy and stinky. The bed was uncomfortable and it did not feel clean. The windows were paper thin and we were kept up all night with constant dumpster activity banging around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ring for somebody opening the door. We arrived very late went for something to eat and when we came back the receptionist was not there. Not a big issue. He came in 2 minutes. But we were too tired.

    Great location. Next to union square very close to chinatown

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an older style hotel, so the rooms are small, but that goes with the territory.

    Perfect location for getting around in San Francisco and super friendly staff who were very helpful with all our needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom window would not close. The was a pair of women's panties hanging in the closet. There was no air circulation. The key would not work in the doorknob most of the time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being in a very centric area it makes it sort of noisy, all day and all night. The tiny and only elevator in the property barely works. It is usually quicker to use the stairs. The water pressure in the shower was not that great. It was kind of difficult to find it. Nest door to Diva Hotel might help.

    The staff is amazing. Very cordial. The location is good. Not far from Bart station. Market St., Powell St. There are several 24-hour diners in the proximity. The bathroom has a bathtub. The room was very spacious. Emergency exit plan was visible. Some guides mention that one of the rooms in the fifth floor is haunted. A reason to come back again! Theaters are across the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small refrigerator and microwave would be wonderful. Special needs diets could make it unlikely to visit again.

    There was no food available... that I was aware of.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I traveled with my German husband and our German friend. The lady at reception, when finding out our friend is German, asked him if he knew Hitler. Seriously.

    Great location. Right next store was this fantastic little Japanese taiyaki place. Great restaurants in the vicinity. The room was big enough for us three, the place seemed clean. Parking is just a few blocks away on the same street. I'm not sure in the end if it was a good deal to go through the hotel for parking ($35 for 24 hours). I suggest looking around to see if there are cheaper options close by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very outdated hotel. Smelly and noisy. There is a recycle center in the neighborhood which is active even during the night. Couldn't sleep without earplugs. Didn't worth the money.

    Good location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room I was in had no internal way to control the air. It was a warm morning and the heater just kept pushing more hot air into the room.

    Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stinky and dirty!! No amenities at all. Furnishments old and dirty. Terrible view on garbage repositories with amazing noise during all night.

    Position is quite good. Other than that, well below decency!! And for 200$ per night: a real theft!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is close to the tenderloin. While the staff was great a few blocks in the wrong direction can get you into a scary place.

    Hot water was ready when you wanted to take a shower, no waiting for it to heat up. The room was clean and had decent free wifi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were very uncomfortable. Older style spring mattress. Need to upgrade to more solid, soft mattresses. Parking was a tad inconvenient. An extra cost that wasnt expected

    location was great. Good service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows that kept some outside noise out, more room.

    Very old hotel, high price presumably due to a large conference in town at same time. Very noisy with small room and bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there during a big conference so the rooms were very over priced!

    My fiancé lost the diamond centerpiece of her engagement ring but luckily Tim was such a great help and let us go through the surveillance footage and we managed to pin point exactly where we dropped it and unbelievably managed to find it!! Wouldn’t have found it without Tim’s and the rest of managements help. Hansel was also very nice and helpful - after getting a terrible sleep the first night we requested a room change and he happily did it for us and we had a much better experience for the following 3 nights! Thanks again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we were in a room on the back side of hotel, directly above dumpsters. It was unbelievably noisy during the night and early morning hours, and made sleeping a challenge. Staff did offer to move us, and we should have taken them up on the offer!

    Excellent location and very friendly staff! Not fancy, but cozy, convenient, and everything we needed for our trip!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was very noisy. There was no information or intstructions of any kind in the room. There was a staff member, who hardly spoke or understood English. There were no salon for guests and the reception hall was very narrow.

    The location of the hotel is central and close to street cars and cable car. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being threatened by rude staff and refused a second night for no reason

    When I checked in with my partner we were not told of any supposed rules they had. In fact they were very pleasant. I had a friend stop by to see my partner and I and he was greeted nicely and the 3 of us went to my room for about an hour. When my partner and I returned there was a female clerk who asked who we were. I stated we were in room 209. She very rudely and in a nasty tone said I was not allowed visitors. I told her we were both checked in. Later on we came back for the night. She again in a very rudely tone said no visitors and threatened to kick us out. Again I stated we both registered. The next two times we saw her she threatened us again. That said we booked a second night. When we went down to sign in for the second night they didn't care we already booked a second night and refused to give us a room because we had too many visitors the previous day. Which we didn't and we're not told of a visiting restriction in the first place. DO NOT GO THERE THEY ARE RUDE AND NASTY PEOPLE. I am filling a complaint with the BBB and booking.com

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a weird smell in the hallways and there was a lot of noise outside of the hotel specially at night

    The staff was very helpful and very cordial. The location was awesome really close of all the main attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Requires maintenance. Also, being on road itself it disturbs in the night.

    The property is in central location at Union square and everything is very near and walking distance. The property requires maintenance. The cleanliness is excellent. If you have room with a view it is a constant source of irritating traffic and people shouting at night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ugh! Who uses plastic blankets?! Very nasty. Removed them. Other feature of the property was loud noise from the street all night - homeless people shouting to each other. Not the hotel's fault, but a condition of being right downtown.

    The staff were all lovely: Tim, Indra and Andy. Very helpful and friendly. The hotel is right downtown a block from Union Square and the trolleys. Lots of galleries and great restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought it was all good. No complaints really !!!

    The Manager was nice enough to upgrade me without charge to a better room with a better view. I found the Hotel to be well located near Union Square. And very good value indeed !!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    smelled very weird, my family (who were staying at a much nicer hotel) had to wait in the lobby as there were "no guests allowed"

    good location, close to metro

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities here are abit old cuz it's actually a quite old hotel and there's no aircon or ceiling fan so if you travel during summer that wouldn't be so comfortable. However, I travelled during winter time so that was alright for me

    The location is pretty good in my opinion. Walking distance to Union squares and shopping centers nearby, lots of stores and restaurants around this area. The staffs are extremely friendly and nice. I came back for the same trip because I really like the staffs here. From the receptionists both day and night time, the cleaning room staff, pretty much every staff I met from this hotel is lovely. If you travel in winter time but not too cold like I am then it's a good place because there's actually no air-con in the room. But like I said I travelled during the beginning of winter so I don't actually need an air-con. My room has great view to the theatre opposite for both time and the room is quite spacious as well. They offer free wifi too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The filthy towel that I reached for when exiting the shower. It was filthy with yellow marks on it. It's obvious it was used and never washed. Absolutely filthy!

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking and bigger rooms.

    The parking was quite a challenge as the streets are not very friendly in SF, but that is to be expected. The hotel is an older one, the rooms are small, but adequate. The beds were very comfortable! and it was walking distance to Union Square, in December, which was a big bonus. The most notable thing was the staff...very helpful and friendly. I would return again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is the best. Next to Starbucks and many restaurants. Staff was very friendly & helpful. The WiFi was great with high speed. The price is reasonable compared to other hotel in the same area. It was value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, quite, helpful staff all very friendly, for the price this little treasures was exactly what I was looking for, A good place if looking for a place to stay for the night

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were only 2 pillows on the bed. There was no facial tissue supplied. The street noise was very bad in our front of the building room. Ask for a room on the inside if you want to get to sleep before about 1 AM.

    The building had a lot of character. It was clean and everything was functional. The stairs were open and comfortable to use, which we did to get extra exercise. There was an elevator if needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is too soft and bouncy and the sink is right in front of bed. Shouldn’t it be in the bathroom? There’s a lot brown and back stain and strong stinky smell on the mattress sheet and we found hairs on the pillow case as well. The worst it the bed. I don’t recommend this hotel to people with back issues.The hygiene is totally below expectations.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is too old , needs major renovation. The room is so tiny and window wooden frame is rotten. No basic things like fridge and coffee maker. No air condition at all and I don't know what happens in the summer time.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was a dump. The room was 100 years old in terms of bathroom and bed and carpet. No advance warning of what to expect

    The guy at the front desk was fantastic. He was friendly caring and knew the answer to every type of question. Best part of whole place

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Union Square Plaza Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: