Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Union Square San Francisco 4 stars

114 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#134 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1203 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.6
    Buyer beware!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half the rooms look at another building, so close you can hear them talking. Bathroom had mold. Bed was broken, there solution was flipping the bed, never touched the mold. You are charged 25/night for cheap wine and coffee, neither wife or I drink. Be aware the pictures shown on booking.com look new, this hotel is old and run down. Really San Francisco was not a favourite city, won’t be back.

    Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t know the hotel was under renovation, our room had black cloth and tradies working outside so they offered another room with no black cloth on the window. Big mistake the room had a tiny window facing inner courtyard with no light felt like a jail. Bathroom was disgusting and very old. The walls were paper thin and we could hear all of our neighbors conversations very annoying!!We were told that we would be refunded our ammenities fee of $25 per night and it has been nearly a month and still haven’t received it, just lies. Location is ok if you overlook all the homeless on the streets outside, not worth the money at all, wish we had stayed at fishermen’s warf

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cons - temporary construction/renovation due to which we didn't have a view from our window, however it wasn't a real problem for us at all.

    Pros - spacious bedroom, comfortable queen size beds, good amenities, great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff, localisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Petite Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit unfresh smell in the room. Quite pricy, especially if without breakfast. Maybe that's normal in the center of SF. Parking expensive.

    Staff, localisation. Room compact but practical.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Location and interior decorating of the room ( economy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Petite Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge 29 US dollars for each night ( wine ? But I don't drink wine )

    Location and interior decorating of the room ( economy petitte two- double- bed room )

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    3.8
    Of all the hotels I stayed at this was the worst and most expensive ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom nasty, mold, paint peeling and toilet paper was hanging on for life. They forced a daily $25 fee for coffee and wife. If you don’t drink either it should be waived.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    4.6
    Depressing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they put me in was like a tiny dungeon and it wreaked of urine. There was a full sized bed in a room that barely accommodated the bed, let alone anything else. I was supposed to have a Deluxe Queen Room, and if you look on their website, that is pictured as a beautiful room with a desk and a gorgeous view. They kindly moved me to another room. Same exact room, different floor! My room was teeny, dark, and really outdated. My "window" faced a brick wall and the mattress on the bed was old, hard, and springy. For almost $200 a night PLUS a parking fee...I am incredibly unhappy with this facility. Also, they gym they promote that they have, is at a completely different hotel 3 blocks away! I came here for a relaxing and fun night away and I ended up walking the streets until bedtime because I didn't even want to be in my hotel room, it was depressing and scary!

    Staff was nice and helpful when asking how to navigate the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was under renovation during our stay so we didn't get to take pictures of the hotel and it was a mess in the street with the scaffolding and nets around the building. The room was smaller than expected, we got the premium king room which says is the biggest in the area...

    Front desk Andre was very fun and friendly guy. Location is great! Small but clean room. Bathroom is huge!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    A gem in the heart of SF! ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean; housekeeping staff was excellent. It was so quiet; couldn’t hear anything from outside or around us. The bed was very comfortable. The guest services agents were warm and welcoming, and most helpful. Location, location, location! It couldn’t have been better!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed an air conditioner in the room, the ventilator does not quickly cool down the room after a shower

    I loved the central location and hospitality of the staff. Rooms are clean and well serviced

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location in Union Sq. Not a lot of frills, but a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was being painted, which we were unaware of when we made the reservation. The entire building was draped in black cloth. The bathroom needed a good floor moping. The room was comfortable and staff was very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Compulsory fee & ongoing renovations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a compulsory $25/day fee - so the pricing information is inaccurate. In addition the hotel was undergoing renovations, so my window was completely covered with tape and scaffolding.

    The location is excellent, very central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little bit too dark, mainly due to renovation of the building / protection sheet on the window.

    Great location, closed to metro, BART (for airport), cable car stations and shops. Friendly staff. Wine and music at 5-6:00pm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, nice room, Jewel the concierge was wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too bad the hotel is going through renovation which they didn’t even let us know and the only window in the room was closed with a plastic bag!!!

    Great location, nice room, Jewel the concierge was wonderful and gave us lots of excellent tips!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Central location in Union Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessing the hotel is tricky, as the entrance is Powell Street cable car route. Parking scenario was not clear at booking, but there is a parking garage around the corner. The bathroom needs to have ventilation added as there was what looked like Mildew and the paint peeling away along the ceiling and one wall. It was otherwise clean.

    Central location in Union Square. Staff was friendly. Reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.0
    The location was perfect, for being right in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets were stained. The room wasn’t the cleanest, quite dusty. Felt itchy when I came into the hotel each time. Had no view outside my room. There was paper stuck covering the whole window. Very expensive in price for what you were getting.

    The location was perfect, for being right in the city. The staff were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    A very good choice in the center of San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can say that everything was as I have expected.

    The room was very clean and the staff very friendly. We have received good tips and the location was excellent. I would advise everyone to book a room in this hotel. It is a very good choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks nothing like photos. Room was dark, dingy and not very clean. Bathroom was old and unattractive. WELL over priced for what it is and would not stay again!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location, average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel's approach to charging customers. Lack of courtesy regarding reservation work and all windows being covered.

    Comfortable and clean. Location great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.6
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was different from what was on the confirmation picture. Room had no windows and was musty with no air circulation. Felt cheated and front desk told me I should have checked trip advisor as website pictures were not correct.😡😡

    Location was at the center of action

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    4.6
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room Not clean also when they clean it! Electricity was off twice during our stay! Internet was not working all the time Pictures posted not the same what we had!

    Location and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    The best part it is in the middle of the down town and you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking options was not available and they were offering at a very high cost.

    The best part it is in the middle of the down town and you will enjoy moving every where.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    The front desk staff was abrasive during check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff was abrasive during check in. I didn't like that I couldn't pay cash for the room and had to use my credit card while out of my home state.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Fantasic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable room, great location and really friendly helpful staff! The concierge was more than happy to help us with planning all of our activities. The morning coffee and Happy hour in the evening was a lovely touch!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Ok - construction to front of building spoiled the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were very uncomfortable, no air conditioning just a noisy fan. No floor space to move around, what you see is what you get.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and rooms were clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt no spring on the mattress so it was not easy to sleep. Back hurt. Sink in the bathroom was so tiny. After using it, wet all over. No AC so it was hot and stuffy.

    Location, location, location! Center of the union square and everything is around the corner. Great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    It was very clean, great location and they had water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you have a item left behind you need to call them to collect can't be done by email (left my charger and my phone ran out of battery so made it more difficult to call) even when I went in I needed to call.

    It was very clean, great location and they had water stations

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location to all the cool shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location to all the cool shops. Ross Dress Store is just around the corner, MAC, Sephora and more. Such friendly & helpful staff. Loved the filtered water system in the hallway, we were always able to fill up our water bottles. Pleasant sleep, comfy bed. It’s worth paying a little extra to stay in a lovely and tidy place. We would recommend. From the Aunty & Niece all the way New Zealand.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    From start to finish .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t find a vault with anything

    From start to finish .. booking in was friendly and efficient.. room was always kept clean... right through to checking out. Staff and always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    For a 3* it is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed to see that this property is NOT a boutique hotel, neither it is a 4* hotel. I would be very happy if they had advertised it as a 3* hotel, but to say it is a 4* boutique hotel it is such a misleading statement.

    It is a decent 3* hotel, without anything exciting. Location is its best asset

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    Too small and too hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cable Car Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t recommend that you anyone get the cable car kit house I believe it was because you’re going all the way up to the top and it’s very very hot in the room which they have AC but it’s still very very hot in the room

    My room was very small very very very hot .on the patio area lighting didn’t work at night time . I needed extra towels and the lady at the front desk didn’t want to give me extra towels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.8
    Warning - photos are photoshopped!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos are photoshopped and really really misleading!! Our room wasn’t anything like in the photos! The view out of our tiny window was a brick wall and the room tbh was really not nice, it was worth at least half of what we paid. One of the floors smelt like dead rats and the smell had taken over the room, we had to leave and go somewhere else. It was just awful. I’d advise anyone to pay a little extra and stay somewhere else whilst they sort the hotel out..

    The location is good if you want to go shopping. The staff were amazingly friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    5 day stay in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No breakfast comes with stay. Also USD $25 facility fee payable daily (compulsory, provides for morning coffee, evening alcohol beverage between 5-6pm, unlimited phone calls locally or internationally which I don't use anyway). A bit of stains in the cot provided I tried cleaning with wet wipes but it cannot be removed. One of the front desk staff occasionally is curt.

    Very very central location, right in the middle of the shopping district. Safe area also. About 45min walk to Fisherman's wharf (Pier 39) for whale watching cruises, or Pier 33 (Alcatraz cruises). 30 min walk to Lombard Street to take a picture. Downstairs next door was Tad's grill, which was a reasonable spot to eat in. Got upgraded for free to a suite for some reason. Cot provided for my infant. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Reasonable for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hot room when it wasn't even hot outside and the small (noisy) window air-conditiong unit barely managed to keep the room in a liveable condition.

    great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk in cupboard/wardrobe needs a light in there, as difficult to see. Also garbage bin in the room needs to be larger, especially for the family rooms. As we had to take our own garbage out everyday, or put in the hallway garbage bin, but this seemed to be full most of the time (other guests having similar problems) or leave an overspill by the bin in our room, which was not the best. Also having to ask every day for more towels, as the cleaners only put two in, even though we are staying in a family room and had toothbrushes/ used towels to match the amount of guests.

    Great location to explore the city and great transport links nearby. Easy and quick check in, staff friendly and rooms clean. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the hotel had a lovely feel to it. Check out is 12pm and they do offer a left luggage facility too. The rooms included shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap and makeup remover, if you are travelling light. Towels are provided too, but if there are more than two of you in room, it seems that you have to ask for extra towels everyday (we stayed for a week and had to ask every day). A hint for the cleaners is to count the toothbrushes, to know how many people are staying in that room, especially a family room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smell in room, light wouldn’t work, we were told it would be fixed and it wasn’t even though we stayed for 3 nights, staff not very friendly, except for concierge

    Good location, size of the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Don't fall for the penthouse suite, on pictures...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing like the pictures. Paid 1300$ for a room I would've paid 200$ the penthouse suite was built in the early 2000s the toilet is falling apart, the carpet is dirty, on the site it doesn't say that you have 10 stairs to go thru to get to your room since elevator can't reach it, on top of that there's only 1 elevator. The refrigerator is not even fonctionnal, the dryer was so full of dust and rusty . I was really disappointed, I travel the world I thought it would've been the ideal place to propose to my other half.... But no. I'll have to figure it out once again.

    The 2 staff at the reception, were really good at customer service as much as they could.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Lage
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not possible to get a real bill, which is normal in other hotels.Even when I asked, he was getting loud. For a Hotelprice of 500 Dollar a night a would expect that. 1 one 6 personal was nice the rest not even wellcoms you when you are comming

    Lage

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Not the best, not the worst
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were aware that the hotel room was going to be small but it turns out it was smaller than we even imagined! Both main room and bathroom were incredibly tiny. The closet was the only decent sized thing in the room. It really did feel a bit cramped with two people. Check in was fine, they accidentally gave us the wrong room key at first so we had to wait an extra 20 minutes for the correct key. With all the options available in SF, I highly doubt I would stay here again.

    Aside from the little snafu with our room key, the concierge was very accommodating. They answered all our questions regarding the city and the best spots for late night dining and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location, staff very helpful especially Reuben who gave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but clean and comfortable.

    Good location, staff very helpful especially Reuben who gave us some excellent advice about good restaurants to visit nearby. Complimentary wine and music in reception was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for a deluxe room and we found a very small room with no “real” windows in the room neither in the bathroom and not enough space for two people to open the laggage with a small bed. Fortunately the reception admitted the mistake and changed our room the day after for a better room even if it wasn’t the one shown on booking.com at the time of the booking. Ciao, Nunzia

    The location is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Not a relaxing place. Perfect to be in the center of the city for a purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy, particularly from street: old building. No eating facilities on-site at all: neither bar nor café.

    Spacious room. Great consierge/bellman. Perfect location for bars and shopping. Great wine hour and accompanying guitar player. Two parking options on-site, though, expensive: 55 and 63 USD per 2 4 hours

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is near ideal but deceptive pricing practices should be more clearly listed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on internet listed as $135 - thought it was a great bargain even with the expected taxes, but there was so many unlisted “facilitie” fees that the price skyrocketed to $185!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    if the front desk staff also doubled as maintenance and cleaning crew this would be my favorite hot
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maids were extremely Nosey and invaded privacy numerous times.i was uncomfortable

    Front desk staff AMD valet were so sweet a nd helpful. Lived them to bits

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    OK hotel. Great Location. May not repeat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a bit rundown in all the public spaces. Rooms are clean but minimal. Note that most if not all rooms DO NOT HAVE airconditioning. Also the hotel forces a 25$ facility fee per day for stuff that they shouldnt be charging for. Had to put my foot down and get those charges removed.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff were vary helpful and frendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit harder that we perfered

    The staff were vary helpful and frendly. The water bottle filler was handy. Location saved us time and money as we walked most places. The room was quite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    My stay was too short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom sink was so small that when washing my hands/brushing my teeth, the water would spill onto the floor. When the cleaning staff had their carts in the hallway, which is quite narrow, it was difficult to get past them (with luggage it was impossible - like in the plane aisle.)

    The room was clean. The towels were fluffy and ample. The location was fabulous. The sound level was minimal (with the Cable Cars going and coming all day.) Very much like many hotels in Europe - small rooms, small elevator but charming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and the coridors had funny smell. Room is super tiny, bathroom and toilet as well. "Facility fee" (which is somewhat of a surprise) is 25USD.

    Friendly and colaborative staff. Great location - just two blocks away from Union Square, next to street car line. 5-6pm they have live music and vine, which both are complimentary. Somewhat authentic, with small coridors and decorations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, small room and no breakfast, a bit pricey, but very clean and quaint
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny rooms, but other than that, we loved the boutique feeling and style of the hotel.

    The bed was comfy, the staff friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, the rooms were just very tiny!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.8
    San Francisco is beautiful and maybe in another hotel it was better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small and the mattress felt so bad we couldn't sleep for 3 night! And when we ask for cleaning at our first day they say it's not including the day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    It was great for the trip we made, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not understand why the light switch in the bathroom was behind the bathroom door, you had to go into the bathroom,and close the door to turn on the lights

    The staff were amazing, location perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stunk like mildew, the bed was terrible, the coffee maker didn’t work, the hot water was lukewarm, cold water didn’t work, bathtub was disgusting, and it was so loud. You could hear everything!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.2
    Great location, very close to Westgate mall and Union Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and common areas smell bad as its very old building, a/c unit blowing directly on your bed/ face, no closet space, barely any space to move around in the room

    Great location, very close to Westgate mall and Union Square

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Do not book the economy petite room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we got was not what was pictured. The room had two tiny windows that wouldn't open. They faced into a ventilation shaft anyway. There was zero natural light in this room. There was a portable air conditioner in the room that barely worked, so the room was uncomfortably warm. I can't imagine what this room would be like in the summer.

    The room was clean and the bed was decently comfortable. The location in Union Square was convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Good, clean and safe hotel with friendly staff centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked 1 room for a family of 5 through booking.com. However, the fire regulations in San Francisco stipulated only 4 people are allowed to a room. Check the fine prints when you book through booking.com as some hotels do / some hotels. I got stung with the cost of an extra (but nice) room for my children (19, 18 and 12 year). We stayed in a room overlooking the street. Was very noisy even in the middle of the night. Note that there is this cost of $25 per night per room as mandatory charge to cover the facilities such as wifi, the glass of wine on the house when the music is on.

    Beds are very comfy. Staff all very friendly. Nice touch to have music in the lobby in the evening with for a glass of wine on the house. Great location if you like shopping. Lot's of places to eat and drink. There was a bottle of wine waiting in our room to help us celebrating our big 50 birth celebrations which was a nice touch and very much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the aircon in the room wAs old and noisy. the room was not sound proof. we did not sleep well on our second night because guests at the other rooms were talking loudly until very early in the morning.

    Location.. it was very close to everything - train, cable car, muni bus and street car stations. lots of restaurants and shopping stores and of course Union Square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    Didn’t live up to our expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The bathroom was not up to the same standard of the bedroom, it felt dated and in need of a refurb and did not look like the pictures advertised - The bedroom felt cold and the AC/heater wasn’t very effective - it was also placed so that you could not close the blackout blind fully.

    - The location was good and close to transport links - The bedroom was nice, clean and reasonably modern - Bed was comfortable and large - Complimentary coffee in the mornings and wine with music in the evenings was a lovely touch

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.0
    Great location in union square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window, no ventilation, no light, bed was horribly uncomfortable and this was not a cheap stay. Unavoidable but at one point the heater was stuck on full while the back of the air con was pumping out hot air.

    Great location in union square

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    The location was convenient and the price was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a radiator in the room that is extremely loud and sounds a lot like a rodent scratching around. It was really hard to sleep because of the noise.

    The location was convenient and the price was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    I had a very frustrating experience at the check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a very frustrating experience at the check in. After working all day, I got to the hotel at around 11:30 pm. I was told I needed to leave a deposit of 100 dollars and pay 25 dollars per day because of the room Wi-Fi. I said I had my credit card maxed out because of some issues I had had during business trip, but I would leave the total required in cash. I was told that the hotel doesn't accept cash and the suggestion was that the hotel would cancel my reservation and I could look for another hotel around midnight. I told it wasn't fair because the two nights had already been paid. After begging, the receptionist checked me in for just one night and told me that I had to solve the deposit issue the following day. After coming back to Brazil, I realized that the 25 dollar fee (50,00 dollars for the two nights) for Internet had already been charged when I booked the hotel thru Booking. Very disappointing experience. The following day I was able to solve the problem and I had a relaxing day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location, if you can afford it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very expensive, and the actual room was quite small. Our room had no veiw at all as the next building was 3 feet away. The hotel is an old building, which adds to its charm, however there is no sound proofing between rooms and the hall.

    The location is fantastic! Being able to walk out the door and be walking distance to everything. The staff were great, and they had wine and live music every night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Petite Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Cracked bathtub 2. Bathroom door need body to push open. 3. Tap is lose. 4. Small room 5. No proper front of hotel to off load luggage 6. Bed is not exactly double. More like super single 7. Toilet roll holder too low. Too near floor 8. TV position jutting out of wall. 9. Noisy street noise disturb sleep.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.0
    They charged us way to much for our room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charged us way to much and for that reason I will not go back.

    It was the last hotel room in SFO the we could find on this night (spring break). They charged way to much and the only good thing was that we only needed the room for a few hours to sower and get a little sleep. The shower worked great, we all agreed :).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, Ive forgotten his name, Asian guy at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was raining and when the rain hit the ac unit in the room it was creating a load dripping sound at night

    Friendly staff, Ive forgotten his name, Asian guy at reception on first day was super helpful (im so sorry about forgetting your name, been traveling a bit)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    The stay was an exciting experience and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not able to find the blow dryer, until the moment I walked out to check out.

    The simplicity was absolutely perfect. The light neutral color scheme was calming and the bed was cozy. The art was a good touch and the hotel had a welcoming atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Great stay and yes would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a terrible problem with the old heater making a horrific noise for over an hour around 4:30am. Finally had enough and called reception. Next day they gave us a descent discount and were very sorry. Thank you.

    Decor, shower, beds, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awfull. No lights. Small windows. Big hole around the entrane doors so you can enjoy the corridor ligths all nights. The bathroom was not for an adult. There was no space to turn a round. When i asked them to i will pay more (it wasnt cheap) just change my room the answere was no way.. meanwhile they have got free rooms according the booking.com

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Great location, comfy bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was slow but could easily take stairs, otherwise no real complaints.

    I travelled here with my boyfriend and 2 other couples. The location was great! There were tons of restaurants nearby, and a Walgreens across the street to pick up snacks late at night. The rooms were small but if you’re out and about all day you really only need the space to sleep. The beds were SO comfy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Very nice woke up revived
    • Group
    • Economy Petite Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room or the price of the room

    I enjoyed the location and the night life around the hotel staff was awesome I am just from a different part of the country where you get much more space for the money spent but it was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    We had a lovely visit and didn't spend that much time at the hotel so that made up for other things
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were extremely "full" and it was difficult to sleep well. It was either cold with the air on or it was very stuffy. We kept the air on and it was cold. I asked for an extra blanket and they said they don't have extra. The bathroom had long hairs stuck to the wall (both me and my husband have short hair) and there is a really gross spot on the ceiling where there clearly was a leak and not properly sealed back up.

    It was central to Downtown and it was easy to get around. There was a good amount of hot water. There was air conditioning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    3.8
    Tiny room with no real window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room with no real window. Not very clean. Looked way better in pictures online when I booked so I feel it misrepresented the place. Barely enough room for two people. Room not in good shape.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.3
    Would like to return but will want to try a room in the inner part of hotel to avoid the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows or the air conditioner allowed the city noise through as it is not sound proof which made it difficult to sleep through the night.

    I liked that everything was walking distance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    If you want downtown experience without breaking your wallet, this is the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit dated with smaller rooms, room AC unit bit noisy and no ventilation in bathroom. Apart from that a great hotel for the price! Parking at the back of hotel is very pricy at about $50 a day.

    Location. Location. Location. Can’t get any better than this! Union Square, all the expensive boutiques, department stores and nice restaurants are nearby. Very friendly front desk and concierge. Cable car terminal, BART stop are within 5 minutes walk. Great service with free coffee and tea in lobby and room. Great and fast WiFi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Rooms were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly hard to find. Can be a bit "horror movie" like in the corridors. The AC in the room was quite loud.

    Rooms were very nice. Bed was very comfortable. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.4
    Good location, bad hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Petite Room, One Double Bed or One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small and dark rooms without outside window. Old and noisy airconditioning, no thermostat. No desk or table to do some work. Wifi sometimes very slow and keeps logging off. Absolutely no value for money.

    Nice location and nice bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: