Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town 3 stars

909 Third Street, Downtown Sacramento, Sacramento, CA 95814, USA

#41 of 78 hotels in Sacramento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 746 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was OK, the eggs had a lot of liquid in the bottom of the pan, the fruit was gone as were the pastries. The coffee was not good at all. We were in the breakfast room at 9:00 am, it wasn't like we showed up at the last minute before it ended.

    We attended an event at the Capital, the location of the hotel was perfect, we were able to safely walk to and from. The pool and Jacuzzi looked inviting, although we did not use it. There is also a work out room. The property was clean and staff friendly. Convenient parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Short, effortless, pleasant, trouble-free
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wanted somewhere near the station - couldn't be better. A further bonus - a short walk to the old part of the city - and public transport. And very happy with the free breakfast. Great value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Ok for a night. Good for train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A big gap at the bottom of the door let cool air out and the air conditioner couldn't keep up. Also, at the time the breakfast buffet was busiest, an employee was "deep cleaning" the area, incuding turning chairs upside down and putting on table tops next to us and wiping them down with what quickly became very dirty water in the bucket. Not too big a deal I guess, but wierd.

    The food on the buffet was pretty good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    It was a great experince
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your check in staff needs to explain to the customer about all the benefits you get by staying there like getting free admission to laughs unlimited

    It was a great experince

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.5
    Everything worked, no issues with anything provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything worked, no issues with anything provided. Smallish but adequate heated outdoor pool, jacuzzi. Breakfast was very adequate served in separate restaurant next door. Parking outside room. Best thing was old town area and Sacramento Railway Museum is only one minute walk away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Nothing special motel.
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to freeways, one side of building very noisy and looks out on road, breakfast could be vastly improved.

    Convenient location for my purposes, free parking, third floor room (pool side) facing trees was quiet. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Quiet and peaceful on a busy street
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food but its the basic breakfast ..

    The staff were accommodating. Stuck in Sacramento due to flight. Nothing special..just comfortable for a price near the old town of Old Sacramento .I had a long layover and i got to see Old Sacramento and went to the museum...People who worked there were wonderful. An inexpensive basic but comforters and bed very nice and quiet away from street..towards pool. Its downtown but free transport from airport

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable accommodations with easy access to Old Town and to freeway on-ramps.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV picture became pixilated during movies, probably from weak signal input rather than defective TV. WiFi worked well, but the room is short on power outlets. A power strip next to the desk table would have been nice.

    Safe, secure location, close to town. It is nice to see that my favorite hotel has been well-maintained and includes a refrigerator and microwave in the room. I've paid more for less.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    I don't know if I'd stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe it was because we were in a handicap room, but there was no closet, no desk or chair. Breakfast items weren't hot. Poor selection of bread for toast.

    Room was clean and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    birthday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    i couldn't ask for you guys to change a thing with the service provided for me. thank you again!

    the free breakfast was super yummy and the beds were so comfy! I was a little skeptical with the location so close to the freeway and that being the weekend they closed part of it to repair the road, but the noise wasn't a problem at all, I slept like a baby still!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Beds very comfortable, great location, breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much light in rooms, could be a little darker. Also, air conditioner to loud.

    Beds very comfortable, great location, breakfast. Area seems safe and secure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Will be back next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting needed more. There was a switch by door couldnt figure what ot was for.

    Breakfast was perfect both days. I slept very comfortable. Size of room was perfect, lots of space. The best was the pool and hot tub.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Awesome hotel stay
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect.

    I liked how fresh our room was, the heater in the bathroom was a huge plus, the free sandwiches & beer were awesome right when we checked in and the breakfast was very good. I will definitely stay & recommend this hotel to all of my friends. Also it is extremely close to the Golden 1 center for events.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel to visit Sacramento old town and also the other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel to visit Sacramento old town and also the other part of the city. Easy accessible from the freeway and walking distance to the Old town. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is served in the nearby diner and it is superior to every hotel breakfast i have experienced in the USA. It has a outdoor pool and a gym but we didn't use them so can't comment about it. I used it twice during my three week trip through Northern California.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    The front desk lady was friendly and super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints. The room didn’t smell super great. You get what you pay for. Your car will get towed if you don’t immediately put the permit paper on your dashboard.

    The front desk lady was friendly and super helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Everything worked well; the tv, the air conditioner, the fridge, the blow dryer. There was free breakfast but we didn’t see or try it (we slept in).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    My family and friends came for a Charity golf tournament! Our stay with Vagabond Inn was great fun!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I assumed they keep the A/C on in the breakfast area to keep people moving because it's small and if the hotel is full it would be hard to find seating.

    The bed was extra firm and had plenty of pillows, Great location to Old Town Sacramento, 2 blocks away. I enjoyed the variety of hot and cold breakfast. The staff is always looking for ways to make sure my stay met my expectations!! And they were really crowded this weekend!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Good venue in fowntown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located close to a high-traffic road, so - even with the room door and windows closed - there is some noise from the outside. The noise level depends upon the orientation of the room. Breakfast is included in the room price but it is a rather basic one, both in quality and variety.

    The bed was comfortable, the room had plenty of space, the bathroom has a separate space for the sink. Everything was clean, the WiFi worked very well, and the parking was on-site and free of charge. The position is very good to visit Old Sacramento and other down-town areas (such as the new DoCo centre, museums, and the state Capitol. There is plenty of restaurants and bars in the area. The price-performance ratio is very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Location, clean room, complimentary breakfast, pool &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use new carpet & counters

    Location, clean room, complimentary breakfast, pool & jacuzzi, refrigerator, microwave, 24hr coffee, & tea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for a perfect vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was great, location across from Old Town, great value, great breakfast, nice and quiet for downtown location, a tad dated, but again very comfortable. Front desk people were extremely friendly too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an old condom wrapper on the floor as we entered and the bathroom wasn't very clean or pleasant to use Building looks old and run down, elevator smelt terrible The provided breakfast was very poor

    Free on site parking Well located in Sacramento

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was to cold in the breakfast room. Our food was cold before we could eat it. I think they turned down the Air Conditioning when we asked. They charged $10 for a second parking pass.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    We had a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could have been a little friendlier.

    The room was comfortable, with great lighting. The manager's reception and buffet breakfast were very good. The proximity to Old Sac and the Amtrak station are excellent. We have stayed here before, and would stay again, no questions asked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.0
    Not too pleased when I paid so much money and wake up with bug bites
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in the restroom and I paid $150 for this room paint peeling off of the walls light and bedroom out not working

    Me and my wife got a couple of bug bites paint peeling off in the restroom mold in the bathroom doors that's a bit much for $150 could have probably got to clean your room for a cheaper price across the street

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Great value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could use some upgrades! Although the need was comfortable, the room needs some renovations. The wallpaper was coming off the walls near the ceiling! The bathroom wall was not stable. I leaned on it and it was as if the adhesive was peeling away from the wall. You wouldn't know it by looking at it!

    The staff was nice, upon check-in and check-out! I informed the staff member upon checking out of the wallpaper issue, she seemed genuinely concerned. The hotel is walking distance to old sac, which is the reason we stay here! There's also a later than normal check out which is nice!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Location perfect for our needs and pet friendly
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet needs a wash in our room. outdated cracked chairs in front desk. By 5 am all coffee gone from coffee lounge. By 8:30 food mostly gone from restaurant next door and didn’t seem like anyone would refill

    Breakfast was hot and full of variety . Room facing pool away from freeway noise. Location within walking distance to Golden 1 and Old Sacramento. Thai restaurant nearby. Our dog didn’t make a mess and we walked everywhere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    It was a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towel cabinet next to the pool was out of towels.

    Very nice place. Very close and easy to walk to Old Town. We rode in on the Harley's, parked them for the night and we didn't have to worry about them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Better than Expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patricia was very accommodating! The cafe and Brew restaurant serving breakfast was better than we expected. A few of the rooms are renovated, if they can get to the rest, it would be awesome!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    2.9
    Unacceptable. You owe me a credit!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. However maintenance person was great.

    This property was awful. I am a loyal Bookings customer and you are usually accurate. In this case the room photos do not reflect the actual rooms at all to the extent that I feel Bookings owes me a refund. When I complained the front desk person is told me “If I didn’t like it, I could leave.” The morning front desk person was on Face Book.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Very Good - would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located close to old Sacramento and downtown. (Although the route to the oldtown is sort of through the multi story car park!) The hotel is also across the road from the railway station. We had a free breakfast that we weren't aware of and made use of the free shuttle. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Nice little café style restaurant next door that was good. Good a/c

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    I’ve stayed here in the past and LOVE that it’s just across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t much in the way of dining nearby (outside of Old Sac) in town but there was a mediocre restaurant on site for “to order” breakfast if you didn’t want the free buffet. They are open fir other meals. Unimpressive food. I’d opt for eating in Old Town for lunch and dinner.

    I’ve stayed here in the past and LOVE that it’s just across the street from Old Sacramento and the Railroad Museum. We just walk there! Breakfast included by way of a buffet in a separate dining area in the onsite cafe. Comfortable and clean room. Quiet. Microwave and fridge. Soda machines on site. Nice staff. Ample free parking. Big plus!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    A decent hotel close to old town with a lower price than others in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not great although they tried. If you get there at 6:00 it's fine but if you arrive at 9:00 there's nothing left. It's attached to the restaurant next door which has a deal with the hotel. Also the Vagabond, though clean and decent, has a motel feel and is a bit impersonal. The location fine but is very close to the freeway and it's difficult to fine the entrance.

    The room was excellent for a motel type room, comfortable bed, fridge, microwave, iron, close-up mirror and even a kleenex box in the wall. The shower had good pressure with plenty of of water. The pool was the perfect temperature and clean. Also the jacuzzi was clean and hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Decent price for a decent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Black out curtains are NOT black out curtains. Sun was so bright in our room, might as well have had them open.

    Decent price for a decent hotel. Cafe was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. We came from San Francisco to stay one night as our plane home leaves from Sacramento. Free shuttle picked us up promptly from the bus station. Old Sacramento is a two minute walk and completly charming old restored 19Th century town. Pool is small but delightful. Whirlpool a great added bonus. Breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Very close to both the train station and the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window of my room was not soundproof at all. My room was just in front of the swimming pool, and people started using it quite early in the morning (around 8 AM). Since I had arrived at the hotel very late in the night, I would have liked to rest a little bit more in the morning, but the noise prevented me from doing so.

    Very close to both the train station and the city center. The 24h reception allowed me to check-in very late in the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable rooms, good breakfast. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception clerk at front desk upon arrival was rude.

    The location was great, just a short walk to old town and across the street from Amtrak. Breakfast was a good surprise as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable, and close to the railway museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast (included) at the adjoining cafe was basic, and we were studiously ignored by the member of cafe staff. Not the sort of welcome we've received everywhere else in the US.

    Clean and comfortable, and close to the railway museum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    So Close to the train Station just across the road. and also the old town centre. Very Pleasant but would have liked more time to experience the old town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Location was good for access to old Sacramento, room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast range was limited

    Location was good for access to old Sacramento, room was clean. Pool area was good with plenty of chairs, tables and loungers, even towels at pool side

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Terrific location for exploring Sacramento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not acceptable, everything was lukewarm at best. I told the front desk the food warmers did not work but three days later the oatmeal was still cold.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, and centrally located, this property is a good, reasonably priced choice.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The complementary breakfast was delayed. Because I was in a rush, I could not take advantage of it.

    The room and the property were clean and comfortable, and though basic, had everything that I needed. I would stay at this property again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, comfortable stay with free hot breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was comfortable and relatively clean, but underneath the bed didn't look like it had been vacuumed in months and there were large hairs in the shower and on the bathroom floor. Also parking was a bit of a circus after dark on the weekend, so get there early unless you want to be playing musical chairs. It seemed a lot of people were using the parking lot without permits, maybe to visit restaurants nearby.

    Great location, with free parking and easy access to the freeway. Also within walking distance to downtown and the Capitol. There was a decent free hot breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs and sausage. The rooms felt modern and up to date, with good facilities and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    It was centrally located to old Sacramento and downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nosy sure to proximity to freeway. Breakfast was next door and that place could use some update. Plates had done and on Sunday the staff was not able to keep up with coffee refills and the like. Never could get the internet to work even after talking to the staff.

    It was centrally located to old Sacramento and downtown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.8
    Do not stay here if you are a female traveling alone.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an awful experience. I did not feel safe at this hotel. There were beer bottles laying around the property, people smoking pot near the walkway from the cafe to the reception. The only good thing was the location. I would absolutely not recommend this property to women traveling alone. I slept with a foot stool against the door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Location! Location! Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an older hotel that could use some paint and updating but I'm ok with it... You can't beat the price and location!

    Great location! Minutes from Golden 1 Center, a quick walk to Old Sacramento. Clean rooms, bed was comfy. All the amenities of a 5 star with a 3 star price tag. Pool was fab for the over 90°days!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    An ok hotel in a great location with some nice perks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rude and inefficient check-in staff. We had to get our keycard twice because the one they gave us did not work. The sink was peeling. As others have mentioned, the walls were very thin and there was limited privacy. There were no towels in the pool area. The equipment in the fitness room looked like it was from the 1980s.

    Great location. The breakfast was very good and included. Those were major plus factors. There is a pool and hot tub, which were nice. There is also a fitness room with a bit of equipment. The room was decent. The receptionist was nice enough to let us stow our stuff at the reception after check-out so we could explore because we had a later departure time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    More than I expected! I perfect location, comfortable room, comfortable bed and bedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issues with homeless in the entire downtown and Old Town Area. Always walk with someone at night.

    Awesome location, comfortable bed and bedding, free breakfast, free parking, 2 minute walk to Old Town and within a 5 minute drive to Convention Center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Great stay and would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint is that the hotel is old but everything worked and it was clean.

    Great location. Old hotel. Clean and beds were comfortable. Lots of tv channels. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    breakfast & coffee in lounge, location, front desk staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No charging outlet for my electric car. hearing conversations outside the room, including housekeeping 2 doors down

    breakfast & coffee in lounge, location, front desk staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sign in the window by the elevator that said "dangerous area". You can get cancer in that area because of the chemicals. I did not like going in that hallway to the elevator past that "dangerous" room!

    Room was comfortable. Bed was very good! Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Good Value Close to Amtrak & Old Sacramento
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside areas of the motel were a bit grungy.

    I chose this motel because of its location--close to the Amtrak train station and Old Sacramento. The motel is directly across the street from the train station. The area was well-lit, and I felt fine as a middle-aged solo female traveler walking there at midnight. The next day, it was a one-block walk to Old Sacramento...terrific! Clean, comfortable, modest room. Good water pressure. The included breakfast was in a separate "restaurant" room with lots of food choices: scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, coffee, juice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    a lovely little place,except for road and railway noise early in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its unfortunate that it is surrounded by major roads as the noise early in the morning was LOUD !! The pool area was nice but needs some more greenery to make it a little more private from overlooking properties

    This place is a little Gem for location. The rooms were clean and its was a good price. You were in the Old town in less than 2 min walk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    The food is excellent and the price is to they give you...
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is excellent and the price is to they give you breakfast with your stay and it is awesome the location is great for walking to Old Town and the staff is friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Hiro at the front desk and the staff at the breakfast took...
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hiro at the front desk and the staff at the breakfast took such good care of us. I had made a mistake on booking.com for my reservation and both Hiro and Booking.com were great in sorting it out without any penalties and for the original price. We were there for my daughter's volleyball tournament so only had time to sleep and have breakfast (some teammates visited the pool and the hot tub too) but it was very comfortable and clean - shower was great and there was a hair dryer, big TV, fridge and a microwave and phone chargers built into lights right by the bed. Parking lot had room and the front desk was great at reminding us to put the hotel parking pass on the dashboard (very important as the parking lot is shared with a restaurant and cars without passes were definitely towed while I was there.) Thank you Vagabond Hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    A great working vacation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no serious complaints

    Located close to Railroad Museum. Easy walk to Capitol I like the breakfast offerings. Scrambled eggs, biscuits/gravy, sausages, bacon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great Location and Staff Service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    carpet needed vacuuming !! it was busy and I'm sure the cleaning Ladies would have wanted more help. I only saw two women one per floor and it was a 3-floor hotel. They always tried to please us when we asked for things like extra towels and soaps. I loved the outside entrance to room Because you can step right outside to breathe the air!

    The breakfast had a great selection of two different types of scrambled eggs, old fashion potatoes plus gravy plus waffle iron.. and for the healthy people they had oatmeal hot and ready with brown sugar and cut up fresh fruit!!! The beds and linen very clean, carpet needed vacuuming though, But overall it's the best location next to Amtrak train station . 2 blocks from Old Town Sacramento. short walk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    2.9
    I would like 2 be confiscate for the bad exesperance i had
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like the idea first room door wasnt secure second room bugs in the bed & 3rd room sink was clog up couldnt use it the employee was very rud phone didnt work in room over all waist of money didnt at all get my moneys worth employee wasnt concern about all i went through after along ride on amtrack just wanted 2 relax never did next door 2 me i was awaken from people cussing fighting police came it was noisy up untill 2:00am ruin my whole night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.2
    very depressing and worst experience of our overseas trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything, as above, also could not find a plate or cup or whatever for breakfast that did not have a chip in. the notice about cancer danger !!!! what could we do when we arrived late afternoon, we had to stay there - had not choice never again

    the convenience to the railway station, everything else was way below expectations. quite depressing. felt unsafe and security were needed to stop people breaking into our room. we are two grandmothers and a 14 year old girl. very scarey

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    The bed was comfortable and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was horrible and the first set of rooms smelled like an ash tray and was told by staff it was a non smoking facility however; the moment i opened the door the smell was horrid. The second room the toilet didn't flush but the third room was much better.

    The bed was comfortable and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is mediocre, only plus is location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated, staff was abesent for check-in, and the airport shuttle was delayed an hour due to a lunch break. No elevator, bed is old and uncomfortable, small facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Location in old Sacramento and freeway adjacent - very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location in old Sacramento and freeway adjacent - very helpful for our needs. Beds were comfortable and the hotel was surprisingly quiet. Also we had mixed up our reservation and hotel staff was very helpful I correcting it for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    For the money it was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was able to check in early. Late check in and the staff on at the time was alone so he had to answer calls and try to get me into the room.

    The location was perfect. The room was perfect ! The bathroom was really small. But overall was a good experience. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Okay for one night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could use an update and the room could have been cleaner. The noise from the surrounding roads and freeways was very loud, I was glad I brought my sound machine.

    The bed was comfortable and there are several attractions within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean, cleaning staff was friendly and it’s...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel offers free breakfast at restaurant next door but the food is not ideal. I prefer spending the extra money and getting a better breakfast somewhere else. All the room doors are hard to close so you have to slam them very hard in order to close them correctly, making a lot of noise to your next door neighbor.

    The room was clean, cleaning staff was friendly and it’s conveniently located downtown Sacramento. Old Sacramento, great place to visit was a few blocks away and you can find good restaurants within a short drive. If you like sleeping late, request a room on the opposite side from the parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    3.3
    Directv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First thing, was the transient sleeping on the ground outside the lobby area. Lobby smelled terrible. Room smelled funky and the bathroom smelled strongly of a men’s gas station bathroom odor. You know the smell. Mold in the corners of the bathroom, a little bleach would have taken care of it. Sheets were cheap and didn’t fit the bed properly. Super noisy due to its surroundings (super close to freeway).

    Directv

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Good overall stay. I would stay here again, prefer my usual room although I did check-in late this t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy pillow, noisy guests congregating in hallway past midnight and drinking/loud talking. Some freeway noise also from certain rooms.

    Bed comfortable, convenient location, nice size refrigerator, check-in process easy, complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    I like the location of the hotel and the breakfast.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the sheets, but overall it was clean

    I like that it was very conviene, it was close to the concert and close to the train. Everything within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    Bring your earplugs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve traveled to Sacramento for work before and stayed at this hotel. It’s within budget and you can’t beat the location. This time though, There were seedy customers in adjacent room. Not sure if they were a family, a group, or what but their noisy comings and goings in and out the room, talking and moving of furniture against the joining wall continued way into the night. Was it drugs? Was it a cult?! Dunno. No time to care, I had a business meeting and needed sleep. Trusty earplugs solved the distraction. I had thought this hotel was free from this kind of discourteous customer.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Excellent experience. It's right next to the train station and the freeway which was convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one wash cloth for a double occupancy. Pretty small complaint, eh? Could have used a curtain over the window above the door.

    We arrived very late and needed to change nights due to the blizzard canceling flights. Every person I dealt with from the booking agent to the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a feast and the dining area very enjoyable. The bed was amazingly comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Our room was nicely decorated and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby needs updating, it doesn't represent the hotel well.

    Our room was nicely decorated and clean. The bed was so comfy. Easy walking distance to Old Sacramento. The breakfast buffet next door at the restaurant was included with the room and was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    3.8
    Location is convenient to freeway and within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where to start? The single receptionist struggling to cope at the front desk, the constant noise (OK, it's downtown), half-inch gap under room door, clogged drains in sink and bath, no plug for the bathtub, lumpy pillows, a general air of just doing enough to get by.

    Location is convenient to freeway and within walking distance of old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.0
    cant say i like anything about this establishment other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    didnt like anything other then the closeness to old sacramento

    cant say i like anything about this establishment other then the girls in the front area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People at the parking lot was talking till 3am. The management should have stepped in.

    Close to the shops, it was like pier 39 fun for the whole family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    I would never stay here again.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their were homeless people hanging out in the lobby. The smell in our room was so bad, we requested non smoking but it smelled like a musty old smell like they were trying to cover up the smoke. There’s a window above the door with no curtain so when you turn off the lights a bright light shines through that lit up the entire room. Even though I only spent $100 I felt like it was worth $40.

    The bed was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Priced right for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit noisy on a freeway entrance.

    The room was clean and comfortable and the price was reasonable, especially when the rest of the hotels in the city were fully booked with a large conference

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    This place is near everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great! It is across the street from Amtrak and within steps of Old Sacramento as well as the new Golden One Center and the new DoCo hub. Staff was friendly and quick at check in On Tuesdays they have a Manager's Reception and serve a light dinner. Our room was clean and fresh smelling!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: