Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 3 stars

715 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657, USA

#18 of 41 hotels in Vail

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 189 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    • Room internet service was iffy regarding quality vs whether surchage or being free... • not included on the hotel booking charges: breakfast (>$29 per person plus tx); parking ($50 per day obligated to use vallet); resorts fees etc; rates given was %499.00 per day, final fee without breakfast and extras were 34% higher... • after booking through booting.com, received a msg of $100 lower fee for same days that I could not opt for...

    Good location, good bar service, good sky vallet, rental and checkin services.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and what they call Resort fee should already be included in the price; I have been using this hotel for years, it is getting worst.

    The gondola and the ski school area at the hand.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was nor good, the 5 days that we stayed , 4 of thos we run out of towels and soap , service room was very poor . In the other part staff was very kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    everything was great ( including massage at the spa) but I was worried about the cleanliness of the hot tub - only used it once. Did not notice anything but give the numbers of people using it after a days skiing it was a concern.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very average given the room rate plus the parking was added onto the final bill that made the overall cost outrageous. Also, since there was no snow, management could have discounted.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was horrible. Got hit with hidden fees and paid $250 extra to the resort. Also they have no first aid kit if you get a minor injury

    Staff is god awful. Ended up paying an extra 250 dollars of hidden fees. I didn't like anyThing about the trip

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The INDOOR pool and hot tub.

    The staff was outstanding! Always smiling. The staff would always tend to your every need. Very helpful with planning activities and the transportation to get there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was a pain. You either have to pay to use valet parking or park your car in a ramp that is a 10-15 min walk from the hotel.

    Very close to the city center and shopping. Easy to walk to and from this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All in all the stay was a bit mediocre; very thin walls and mixed quality customer service. However the one highlight was interaction with Brian the valet manager. Following a ski valet mix up, he really went above and beyond to resolve the issue and bought a glass of the wine for the trouble. Fantastic service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Not only great accommodations, but the staff was excellent. I got very sick while I stayed here, and the hotel staff was so caring and accomedating!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mandatory valet parking, small pillows, breakfast was full service rather than buffet, very pricey for a place to sleep in the off season

    clean, nice looking hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff in the restaurant opposite the bar. One was hugely efficient and helpful, couldn’t gphave done more. The other .... I ordered a drink. And she moved quickly... to actually deal with her mobile phone, and only after that to prepare the drink. She had a pony tail on Sunday evening is the only ID I can give

    The omelette cooked by chef was amazing and the bed\pillows! We particularly appreciated the night time lighting in the bathroom and the car valet parking service, so cheerfully delivered! Excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size was kind of small for 2 queen sized beds but what really bothered me was that the a/c did a VERY loud noise everytime it switched on and off, something unnaceptable for a hotel in that price range.

    Good location and Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking unless you walked back into the village. Not used to paying a resort fee AND a valet parking fee. Should have just been included in the price so I could accurately shop for a better value. Great facilities, but add ons suck.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested through booking. Com a balcony and king size bed when checking in I asked if the room had a balcony she said no so she quickly looked for one and gave it to us however when we got to it it had two small double/full beds. We did not want to make more work so we wound up sleeping in separate beds for what was suppose to be our romantic getaway, my husband is 6'8" and 275lbs he does not fit in double beds. Also when booking through site we were not aware of the parking fees as they only do valet for $25 a night extra so I paid approximately $67 dollars more after some small taxes and parking. So NOT the price your website gives. It's misleading.

    Lots of pillows, nice pool and hot tub, staff were amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a little bit dated, and for the price, would expect things to be kept more up to date.

    The staff were exceptionally attentive and always made us feel as though the service was personalized.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room or Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was non American and not as warm and patient as I have experience for this price point. Also laundry and business facilities were unclean. Computer keyboards were filthy and outdated.

    Beautiful location and views, very clean and well appointed rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a $35 extra daily charge for amenities which are standard in other motels. For us most of the things charged for we did not use. Because of this charge we will not stay in this property again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was not comfortable, asked for king, got a double. Queen would've been better. Housekeeping did not service room on first day, asked for room to be serviced by 9am the next day, housekeeping still didn't service room the second day. pool, hot-tub and spa open at 7. Need to open at 6 for early risers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only bar closes at 11pm!!! People were shocked when they started issuing last call on a Friday night at 11pm. Crazy!! Be sure to BYOB for your room if you plan on socializing past that time on the property.

    Location of the property is on the far end of Lionshead but there's a shuttle stop right in front of the main entrance and there's easy access to Gore Valley Trail. The coffee shop opens at 6:30am which is great. The Gold Leaf Spa is small but good offering many of the expected services.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our second time st this location and the second time we were treated rudely by the attendants in the pub. Ignoring, didn't get the order right, had to make sure we were charged correctly. They couldn't tell us how big the bowl of soup was.

    When you drive up they were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went during the ski season and were not there to ski, so the price was pretty high, but that's not the fault of the motel. It's just an amazing location to ski!!

    The staff was accommodating and it was great that we were able to get a room at the last minute.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible - won't ever come back. Be careful - what you pay for online is not what you get. We booked a room with view and balcony and we're put in a dungeon with a view of the back of an air conditioner. The air conditioning then broke and the room was so dry and cold we both got bleeding noses and no sleep. When we complained they fought us over the issue. Horrific experience do not stay here. It's also nowhere near the gondola and Lionshead generally is inferior to the main area of Vail. Also, be careful of the front door staff. We asked on how best to get to Avon or Eagle, his advice was to take the hotel car at a cost of $50 (it is a $15 cab ride or $12 uber). We said we would get a cab, so he gave us a card for the most expensive cab company in Vail - and I'm sure The Marriot gets a kickback from the company they gave us. We ended up getting a $12 uber. Basically the Marriot tried to rip us off at every opportunity.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furnishing, needs an upgrade., lights were poor in room, staff rude at checking ( in a exec plate/ Marriott) stay 150 days a year and these folks were rude. More interested in chatting w/ each other. Said they'd call when room was ready. Never happened. Very sad and unprofessional

    Location. Bed bar

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff pushing for tips at every turn. When you are paying that much for the accommodation, can't the hotel actually pay the staff sufficiently, so that they don't have to be beggars !

    The ski valet service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The entire process of checking in ski boots and shoes and having to walk wearing ski boots to the ski lifts... would be nice to have an area at the lift to change shoes!

    Breakfast bistro option vs. sitting down in the restaurant for breakfast... the burrito is tasty.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely uncomfortable bed and pillows. Our room door did not close tightly on its own, so therefore every time we returned after housekeeping or turndown service, the door was able to be pushed open.

    Location. Overall facility cleanliness. Convenience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries and towels not replaced. No hot cider and cookies after skiing Shuttle not available Dining room closed in the evening

    The cosy bar area Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited an hour and a half for a king size room and was given a double bed. I could have had that room an hour earlier.

    Courtney the n the bar was great. Very friendly and personable. My girlfriend really liked her......

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service was amazing and made us feel like we were honored guests. We were celebrating a birthday and they even brought us a gift which made the whole trip even more memorable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the fact that this facility had a workout room but some of the equipment needs work.

    Loved it- beautiful surroundings - great buffet breakfast- Wonderful staff- had a wonderful suite with a view of the mountains. Full service and great service from all staff members.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a thing!

    Very nice, spacious bathroom... good mattress. Free shuttle bus stop at the front door, free coffees in the hotel Starbucks... pretty nice setup.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The online pictures of the room are misleading as far as how it will actually look. The room was nowhere near as nice as pictured online. The room was outdated and in need of a remodel. My "mountain view" was more a view of trees and another building with some mountains above it if I stretched my neck far enough.

    The staff was friendly at the front desk.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are uncomfortable. Bathrooms could have been cleaner.

    Great staff and service. View is beautiful and good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We were upgraded since we only needed one bed. Online booking indicated two beds for our price category.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old property

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub wasn’t hot enough

    The room was beautiful cozy and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone is extremely friendly. The night manager surprised us with an amazing room. The whole experience has been amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room or Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Requested a king bed, got 2 full beds, room next to elevator

    Staff was very friendly, good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room or Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water stained ceiling tile over tub

    View, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room or Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    housekeeping

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping is ordinary didn’t clean the room very well.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Location , Shuttle , View ,Comfort and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basically only choice for parking was valet

    Room and view were great. Loved the free shuttle buses to take us around. Beautiful area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Valet parking fee room lighting

    Restaurant on site

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't that comfortable Dated decor Poor lighting

    Location Great view Food at hotel was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Resort fee when we did not use any of the facilities

    Great location, public transportation to shopping areas

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were comfy and the view from our room was gorgeous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet service

    smores in afternoon

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is perfect. Location is superior...grounds are impressively kept. Overall this was a fantastic trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room or Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms older than pictured. Resort fee stated internet included. Not true!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast! Extremely expensive but you can share.

    You can walk to everything!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no self-parking option

    Large room with great bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay to park plus tip each time you got your car

    Very nice pools and workout room. Bar is large with lots of tvs

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Bed was fabulous and room was bright as we like that

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Employees were great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallish rooms but very clean

    Short walk to gondola. Bus to town outside front door. Most of all pleasant staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need refreshing. Dated wallpaper in bathroom. But, very clean and comfortable.

    Location was beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on arrival excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was expensive but very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , couldn't have asked for anything more than what was given to us.

    Everything, absolutely awesome place deff will b going back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was nothing but relaxing and the staff was all friendly,helpful & super !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door did not have a lock.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction

    The site

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful and moved us to a better room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was smaller than I anticipated. The room was noisy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room or Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old - room is too small and bathroom was awful!! Bed was not comfortable. Way overpriced!

    Location buffet was great, and so was our service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking

    Service!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the extra charges above the room rate.

    The friendly people, the clean rooms the great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom doors do not lock, lack of privacy.

    Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Clean hotel. Great views. Close to town and the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    paper thin walls, could hear conversations and kids in next room with no problem

    location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Usual Marriott excellence.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: