Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Vendue 4 stars

19 Vendue Range and 26 Vendue Range, Historic District, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

#11 of 73 hotels in Charleston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 614 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    The Vendue has amazing artwork on display throughout the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Vendue has amazing artwork on display throughout the entire hotel! Their rooms are amazing and have a nice fireplace. The location is great, you can walk to King street and to the waterfront from the Vendue. The rooftop bar attached to the hotel provides amazing drinks, food, and views of the city! I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay there again. Would request another supreme king room, this time with a walk-in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little disappointed that when we checked in we did not get the standard tour that the bell staff seems to be giving to all of the other guests who checked in around the same time. Although while we were sitting in the lounge enjoying our complimentary glass of champagne I saw a Knouff tours go by and heard enough of the presentation that I became acquainted with the special advantages of the property.

    The continental breakfast in the morning was excellent, as were the complementary cookies and milk in the evening. We also enjoyed the happy hour in the afternoon. The desk staff and all of the ancillary staff were extremely friendly and greeted us with a smile every day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    Fun city - great food and history - and ironically, glad to be home from vacation so we can sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the back alley of the hotel and was right next to a staircase that led to the rooftop bar. The garbage truck pulled up every morningat 4:30 am and was so loud no one could sleep through that! It was horrible. The staircase echoed and all we heard were drunk kids all night yelling. It was the most unpeaceful sleep we have had anywhere - and I paid a lot for the room. We didn't ask to be moved for fear we'd be put someplace worse, plus we heard they were booked anyway.

    Hotel lobby had cool decor. Liked the breakfast, wine receptions, little treats during the day and cookies at night. All were a very nice touch.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    The big rooms and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise in hallway in morning. We closed the hall door. That helped.

    The big rooms and comfortable bed. Breakfast was super! Liked the entertainment too. Walking distance to places of interest and meals. Good service. Revival was excellent. So much ambiance . Roof top fun for fun seekers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    We really had a good time at the Vendue and appreciated the hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was not as comfortable as we would have liked and the pillows not as firm.

    I loved the art all over the hotel, the docent tour, wine time, the live music and the cookies and milk. The continental breakfast was good. The staff was excellent - everyone super friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay while visiting Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay at the hotel was outstanding. The hotel was wonderful, the art was amazing, the bartender was very good, and the music in the lobby was exceptional. Having free rental bikes is a very nice perk in Charleston. Free wine and cheese was a nice touch, milk and cookies was as well The wifi was good except near the exterior wall where it was non existent. But you are not in Charleston for the wifi in the hotel room. Excellent location, walkable to many of the attractions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Our stay at the Vendue was quaint, luxurios, artsy, and to date unmatched.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They are in the middle of renovations, so understandable so, we couldn't enjoy the full beauty of the hotel, but I can tell it's going to be spectacular when it's complete.

    The displays of art throughout the hotel. Service was excellent, from the receptions, to the bellhops, to the concierge. Location was excellent, lots of restaurants in walking distance or free DASH bus system. Everyone one made us feel extra special. Can not compliment enough about service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than what I’m used to. I heard everything going on in the hall and rooms around.

    The location was perfect. The art work all over the hotel were a nice touch to the lively atmosphere. The staff were professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Amazing location, near stellar service, but a room, and bathroom that really, really disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sadly, the room disappointed. We stayed across the street from the main hotel, at 26 Vendue, which was relatively recently acquired by the hotel. While the furnishings were quite nice, and in tune with the historical vibe of the location, the room rapidly disappointed from here. The carpet had seen better times, frayed in numerous spots, and stained at the door. And the bathroom was just terrible. The toilet plumbing pipes where rusted, and the toilet itself was old and didn't work well. We frequently (daily one to three times) had to remove the lid, reach in, and manually adjust the moving parts to get it too function properly, as in flush, or refill with water. The hot water tap in the bath was bent at an angle, and ceiling vents were also showing rust. Some days all the towels where replaced, other days we got new towels, but hand clothes and face towels had magically vanished with no replacement. Obviously used glasses were not replaced. And with the toilet paper roll quite low, we discovered that there were no additional rolls at all in the cabinet, necessitating and un-showered walk across the street to steal toilet paper from the lobby bathroom. When you are paying close to $300 USD per night, we expect much better. And there was major black stains (water damage? mold?) on the ceiling above the central staircase down. We saw attempts to clean this, but stains remained. Sorry, we would love to come back here for (almost universal) wonderful service, but a 5 star experience (and price) cannot have 1 star bathrooms.

    The staff were incredible. Near stellar service, whether that would be checking in, which included a complimentary glass of champagne, or a quick tour of all the facilities. Beautiful artwork adorned all the walls, including our room. The concierge was helpful, especially finding the ice machine, which felt like navigating a maze the first time, but easy afterwards. Each day between 4 and 5, there was complimentary wine and finger food in the drawing room. Staff where very attentive, always gracious and smiling, and consistently made us feel welcome. From a food perspective, we only experienced the morning continental breakfast (excellent) and the menu from the rooftop bar. The latter was a bit hit and miss. A delicious cheeseburger, but a poorly executed shrimp slider, which arrived without the promised lettuce and tomato, and slider buns where cold, and tasted less than fresh. Oh, and one more item, the location was perfect. Right in the heart of the French Quarter, close to many historical sites, restaurants, galleries, and the waterfront park - just amazing locale.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Best hotel service we've ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel staff was outstanding. Mark, took great care of us from the moment he opened the door. He offered champagne while we waited for our room to be ready, greeted us by name every day he saw us and always went out of the way to make sure we had everything we needed. Definitely will be staying at the Vendue again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The concierge ruined a surprise and didn't respond to emails, but everyone else was fantastic.

    The rooms were great. The free happy hour and breakfast was great. The rooftop was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Yankees were won over by the south!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onky Suggestion, hall carpets need cleaning and repair on a step.

    REVIVAL restuarant is EXCELLENT! Kaitlyn our server for 2 nights was AWESOME! Mgr Josh at Revival, also terrific! Ed, doorman, was so so so sweet, helpful, funny, knowledgeable....the best! Toni & Kaitlyn, concierge were a HUGE HELP with ideas and making all our reservations. Their suggestions were awesome and the best! The entire staff was professional and willing to please. Morning breakfast, super, afternoon snack and water, 4pm cocktails and apps and evening milk and cookies in lobby were pure perfection. Champagne welcome, comp . Waters and sherry in our room every day also a huge plus!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    The Vendue is a GREAT hotel and a lively way to lodge in Charleston. I will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the carpet in the hallways could use an update. As an art collector, the old patterened carpet made it difficult for the art to be the focal point.

    Overall I thought the Vendue was an exceptional hotel. The location is GREAT, the staff is friendly, the room was stylish... I enjoyed “Revival” the most. Their restaurant(and rooftop bar) were amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Upscale & Excellent! Would return in a heartbeat!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was interior without windows. Didn’t realize this until after the booking was completed. It was fine since most of our time was not spent in the room; however would not be my preference if we return. Watch for this detail if you book.

    The Vendue exceeded expectations. Complementary touches that impressed me: the art of course, champagne upon arrival, bottle water in rooms, cookies an milk before bed, and a “ continental breakfast” that was like a buffet including: fresh fruit & berries, delicious pastries, bagels, hard boiled eggs, cereal & yogurt.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location with the ability to walk everywhere you would want to in Charleston. Hotel was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise levels in the hallways were super excessive due to the marble/tile floors. Every footstep seemed to be in your room, primarily later at night when there was no sound masking from your own TV or conversation

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    Location was great for walking around The Battery and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was the tiniest room ever. Pretty pricy for a closet. The staff for the breakfast in the morning seemed a tad moody when I asked if the ceramic mugs could be replaced. I was surprised by the snarky response....if there are none out there then there are none. Sorry, but in a hotel of this caliber the proper response would be “let me see if I can locate some for you” and then get up and follow through. Disappointing.

    Location was great for walking around The Battery and restaurants and shopping. Upstairs bar is nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel! Hope to return when it is not so hot and humid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two negatives. 1- the water pressure in the shower was extremely low. One of the lowest I've ever experienced. 2- there is a public restroom at the end of the road which kept getting traffic from a lot of homeless. We were approached by two different individuals begging for money while exiting the hotel. Normally I would not be offended but the one man started holding my two year olds hand and touching his face.

    Milk and cookies every night. Amazing continental breakfast. Wine and appetizers each night too. Beautiful facility. Very clean. Staff super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Great short trip stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really liked the old Vendu which was restored , but the new one is excellent in a different way

    Best staff I have encountered in an American hotel Food was exceptional in Rooftop bar and new in hotel restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    Average, surely not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Very noisy A/C , couldn’t sleep if on due to noise or if off due to heat. - Basic (poor) continental breakfast - Had one large cockroach in the bathroom - No minibar in the room, even empty to keep cold drinks Poor WiFi

    Location and overall decoration of the hotel and rooms. Rooftop.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.8
    I will not waste my money & time again. What has happened to the Vendue Inn?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in including valet service was extremely poor. We had to worry about a parking ticket while the valet attendant gathered our bags and took them into the lobby. Subsequently, we had to meander through the crowd and noise in the lobby to find the two desks for check-in ( happy hour was evidently allowed to take over the entire downstairs breakfast room and lobby w/o any concern for incoming guests? ). We almost had to use sign language just to state our names and reservation #. The entire arrival experience started our stay in Charleston on a very bad note ( we essentially stayed away from the Vendue the entire evening as Charleston has much to offer, fortunately ). What has happened at the Vendue Inn? The room we stayed in was not worth the price. Too small, bathroom was dated and looked like it had received tile repairs by someone who happened to drive by in a repair truck just before we arrived ( whomever did the work or inspected on behalf of Vendue should not be used any longer! ). The handle for the hot water in the shower came off while trying to turn on water ). What has happened to the Vendue Inn? The so called "breakfast offered w/ the room rate" was comparable to what we would find at an economy hotel just off I-95. What has happened to the Vendue Inn?

    Vendue Inn needs better attention to their check-in, room quality & decorum and a general assessment of how they regain their status as a top choice for accommodations in downtown Charleston ( Vendue had that status in years past .... it has lost that currently ).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    It was a great location and was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food from rooftop was terrible and way overpriced. We ordered it through room service. Room was veery small for price.

    Loved the salmon and scallion cream cheese at breakfast and Cameron was very nice and helpful with our bags and valet of car

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful introduction to Charleston!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant was not open due to the remodeling.

    location was very convenient to restaurants and the Dock Street Theatre. The Art Theme was extremely interesting and quite different than most hotels. we are looking forward to the reopening of their restaurant focusing on local ingredients that have been overlooked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was very cool and in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a deluxe queen room and I'm not sure what classified our room as a deluxe room. The listing said the room would have robes, it didnt. The room was small and the cosmetics of the bathroom were under my own standards for my home. The shower curtain was stained, the trim and floor by the tub had water damage, the towel bar by the shower was starting to come off the wall, the caulking around the tub was coming off and missing in several spots and the tub itself was sketchy at best. The customer service was not what we would expect from a hotel of this status ($$$) and ranking. Overall the staff weren't very friendly and the two girls who handled breakfast were just rude. When we checked in we were told that we would have $25 a day credit to spend at the hotel bar/restaurant and anything we spent over $25 would be billed to our room, too easy. That night we had a few drinks in the bar ($28 after tip) and had them billed to our room. The next morning my wife wanted to check and make sure this info was accurate and turns out it was not. My wife was told that since we didn't book through a certain booking agency we would not get the $25 a day credit even though we had been told we would by the girl who checked us in. The manager after some discussion with my wife said they would credit our account the $25 for the first night but after that anything charged to our room was our responsibility, fair enough. When I got my final bill the credit had not been applied. We did however get a $20 credit at checkout after talking to the staff again. We believe we would have gotten more for our $$$ at another hotel.

    The hotel was very cool and in a great location! The nightly cookies and milk were a good touch. Breakfast was good and not the norm which was very nice. The "Lobby Ambassador" was by far the nicest person on staff, he was down to earth and a very genuine person! The Rooftop Bar and Grill was cool and the food was good, I recommend the grilled chicken nachos.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    We loved it and would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, our stay was excellent. The only glitch was our shower only had cold water! We discovered this problem at 7 pm when we had 8 pm reservations for dinner, so there was no time to fix the problem (which they did offer to do, but we declined because we were rushing to get ready).

    What a unique property! Artwork on all the walls, delicious continental breakfast, spacious and clean and unique rooms. Excellent service and hospitality. We loved it!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.6
    Very mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room, attitude of some of the staff, Lack of timely response to guests concerns. Continental breakfast was good but there was limited seating, brought friends and their shower door was jammed. Needed to change room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed the place. Now my top choice in Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No eggs on a couple of mornings. Room small. Expected more from the roof bar. Parking was difficult.

    Loved the berries in the breakfast buffet. Liked the art. Location great for downtown activities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    The art displayed throughout the hotel was an added bonus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The art displayed throughout the hotel was an added bonus and excellent . The staff, especially Eric the Bellman was helpful beyond any expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall, our stay at The Vendue was very relaxing and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We wanted to reserve a table at The Rooftop, but even if you're a guest at The Vendue, they had no control of seating at The Rooftop, which got very crowded.

    The Vendue was amazing. The staff was very friendly and made sure that we were comfortable while we waited for our room to be ready, since we got there early. They greeted us with champagne. We felt very pampered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    The location of the hotel is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was plain and boring, we had upgraded to a King Signature. They charged my card for something that I didn't recognize and when I asked about it they said they would check into it, still haven't heard anything and been home for three days. The air conditioner stopped working in the middle of the night.

    The hotel staff were helpful and the nightly wine was nice. The breakfast in the morning was good. The location can't be beat. The resident artist was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff greets you with a smile and a choice of a glass of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just minor housekeeping; someone had taken the finials off of the lamps beside our bed so the shades wobbled. The fan above the bed had a bulb out. The elevator to the Rooftop Bar/Restaurant had no air. No coffeemaker in the room.

    The staff greets you with a smile and a choice of a glass of champagne or wine. The hotel is strewn with incredible art. The Rooftop bar and restaurant is a nice touch. The continental breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    staff was great--greeted me by name day 1 and quickly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be good to describe that not only do "interior" rooms have no windows but provide photograph to demonstrate that there are two types of interior rooms. Quality difference is large.

    staff was great--greeted me by name day 1 and quickly resolved a problem I had with the original room I was assigned to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    All aspects of our stay at the Vendue were class A.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room did not have a window

    The staff was really wonderful from the door men, front desk, drawing room,, roof top bar and house keeping. We were in room 260 in the Art Vendue and really enjoyed the various paintings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was great, but too much money for the value received
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No free southern breakfast like they used to serve! 3rd floor 'premium' room was apparently right under the rooftop bar. Noise for much of the night, EVERY NIGHT. Bummer. Gluten-free chocolate chip cookies were not very good. The lobby music was annoying. I miss the old southern feel of the Vendue.

    Spacious room. Comfortable bed. Complementary champagne, and brandy in room. Staff were mostly very helpful. Can't beat the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All the staff were amazing. We particularly enjoyed the roof bar and daily gratuitous cocktail hour.The location was perfect. We will definitely book there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    We had fun in Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room safe was broken-major inconvenience. Desk staff not overly helpful-almost like an inconvenience. More friendly toward artists in residence.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Weekend Getaway, for Foodies
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queen bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Elevators were slow. The rooftop bar was very crowded with locals, don’t expect a good table.

    Great location. The art displayed throughout property was amazing. The lobby bar was nice. Well staffed with efficient and courteous people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    The downstairs bar area has a great flow and the service is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs bar. One elevator and long lines.

    The downstairs bar area has a great flow and the service is excellent. We were there on a Saturday evening and the bartender and server were phenomenal! The bartender took such pride and showed a true passion for his craft. Our server was so personable and smart and both had the best customer service skills!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Very pleased with The Vendue as a special place for a special occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have preferred a walk-in shower instead of stepping in and out of a tub. High cost of valet parking.

    Continental breakfast well stocked with some of the freshest fruit and pastries you could hope for. Bed very comfortable. Staff attentive to needs. Complimentary bottle of champagne for my wife's birthday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a perfect location...close to the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we didnt like the interior queen room that i booked at all. It was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was beautiful as well but it was "cozy"....no windows and it was claustrophobic so I recommend spending the extra money and getting a room with windows..

    The premier King room at 19 Vendue was fantastic, high ceilings and windows and spacious. The breakfast was great and so were the complimentary hors d'oeuvres and wine .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful and popular hotel, beautiful weather, interesting people, great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only suggestion I have for the hotel is that some variation in the continental breakfast would be a good idea. The coffee and food were plentiful and good, but perhaps switch some items up day to day.

    The Vendue sits in an ideal location near the waterfront park, many restaurants, and several quality art galleries. Upon arriving we were given champagne in the beautiful lobby bar, where the daily wine reception was in progress. Accessible by a separate elevator are two very nice rooftop bar areas which are popular with good views across the town and harbor. Our room was comfortable and well appointed, although I will elect the larger king room on our next visit. Don't miss the art! There are exhibits on each floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very pleasant and most accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only had one chair in the room. Had to run the hot water for a while to get hot water in the AM. The hot water ran out while taking a shower late at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay! I would return to this hotel, no problem. Rooftop bar is a must see and experience.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an older hotel, so if you are looking for the standard "chain" type of hotel experience, this is not the one. However, it is a charming and comfortable hotel. We had a room with a fireplace and a claw-foot deep soaking bathtub. Very comfortable, nice hotel.

    Excellent location - great restaurants within walking distance. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    It was the perfect final highlight for our adult family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to come up with anything here. The lobby chairs were cute but uncomfortable.

    Art gallery throughout. Helpful attentive staff. Afternoon wine. Great location and charm

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room was loud, but the staff and manager were excellent and moved us. Fabulous location for the hotel and top notch service. I highly recommend the rooftop bar!

    Excellent location, staff. We were there for a busy weekend in Charleston, but still felt like the hotel paid attention to every detail.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Great drink, food, and service at the Vendue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Greeted with a glass of champagne and a very helpful concierge. The location, just down from the battery is perfect for access to the best bars and restaurants Charleston has to offer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay!! Great location! Very accommodating staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi connections were not very good. Really slow at times. Also we were told that there would be choc. chip cookies & milk every night & we never saw any evidence of this amenity.

    The art reception in the afternoons

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    The consierge was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our third visit to Vendue but the first following your remodeling. Unfortunately, we preferred the more classic style of the older Vendue. Our room was very small with no sitting area. The hot water was absent on the last morning of our visit; so we could not take showers. Our room was on the second floor, accessable only be stairs. We could deal with this, but we should have been told that there was not elevator access. What if we could not do the stairs?

    The consierge was very helpful. Her recommendations worked well and she helped us with directions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Location is great and a great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was f'dar too small for the cost and very loud along the alley. Seems like they really tried to squeeze the room in where it did not belong.

    Location is great and a great atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    The just- right choice for comfort, location, sophistication, and intelligence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderful Drawing Room with varied casual seating was an always inviting spot for morning breakfast, afternoon wine and art reception, and anytime refreshment. The infusion of some 400 original art works throughout the hotel and curated exhibition was a stunning surprise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Great location and fab hotel for this lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop bar is one of the best in the town. Staff in the hotel were great, all the little extras- art talks, bikes, breakfast, milk and cookies made it a fab spot. Well located, we could walk everywhere. Rooms were an ok size, bathrobes provided - overall, fab stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    2.5
    not what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were informed a few days before our stay that due to "hot water issues" we were being booked in a hotel down the street. We saw others checking in at the Vendue and the staff in the roof top bar was not aware of any water issues. While the other hotel was nice, this would have been a repeat visit to the Vendue and we were disappointed by what happened. They did give us some vouchers for free drinks on the rooftop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    The Vendue is an almost superb hotel that has some problems that should be easily remedied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No hot water on the first morning due to some malfunction and only lukewarm water on the 3rd night of our stay. Mgmt discounted our room by $100 for one night. First floor room was a bit noisy due to location near the front door and poor soundproofing-loud footsteps from the room above.

    Super friendly and helpful staff, great continental breakfast, fluffy towels, prompt housekeeping, interesting art on the walls and a superb location for restaurant hopping and exploring Charleston by foot. The amenities, location and staff make this a charming place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location but our room needed touch ups on the interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint chipping and could use new carpet saw stains on the floor. There was a lamp with the lamp shade bent and park of the towel rack seemed to be missing in the bathroom but towels covered it well. On one of the days we stayed they had a water issue were there was only cold water and we were not offered a new room till 2pm after we had told them we only had cold water and went ahead and showered. They offered in the afternoon to change the room if it wasn’t fixed when we returned to our room, but no offer of additional things to make up for the inconvenience or no discount given to make the situation better.

    Great location, friendly staff, god complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Best Location in Downtown Charleston; However, the the sacrifice space and $$$$ were not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny Rooms; no refrigerator. Door did not lessen any sound; could hear everything in the foyer! I'm sure that everyone could hear my room as well.

    Staff was amazing! Location was perfect as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Excellent, will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished the construction was completed. Workers were noisy in the morning.

    Wasn't sure what an interior room was. Was able to upgrade to a signature king with no problems and a nice deal too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    The Vendue is a gem of a find in the old historic district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Vendue is not only a smal boutique hotel, but an interesting art venue to showcase local artists. The art changes frequently and they even have a resident artist with his studio on site. Complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres are a served prior to a guided tour through he gallery.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Large, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy rooms. It felt like people in the hall were standing in my room. There was no sound proofing.

    Large, comfortable room. Fantastic staff. Great location. Great rooftop bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for what we had Wanted to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Different room. We were right by the entrance facing the street. There was a lot of activity and noise pretty much all night in that location.

    Perfect location for what we had Wanted to do.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice location and nice, but not great accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to ask for too much at breakfast. Coffee urn empty, cream container empty. Fruit container needed refilling. Staff needs to stay on top of things to be a truly great venue.

    Rooftop was a great place for lunch or a drink.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall we had a lovely stay. The hotel is lovely and ideally located and bed was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check was confusing we could not tell which building to check into. They need better signage. It was made more troublesome due to the Comcast truck parked in front of the hotel. I don’t know why the van wasn’t instructed to park around the corner or across the street which is where we had to park and transport luggage from.

    The room was very large and beautifully decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helped make us feel relaxed and on vacation. Especially the welcome glass of champagne. There is a lovely view from the rooftop bar which we enjoyed in spite of the cold weather.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    In general beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed or bed frame

    We really love the hotel that old touch and super modern contrast, all the arts etc etc but at the same time hate to death our bed. It was so noisy even when we were just trying to lay down I believe the wood was old and that’s why

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    It was the most amazing experience we have every had at any hotel we have stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we could not have stayed a few days longer!!!

    The Vendue bell man was very impressive. He was polite, courteous and knew our names every time he saw us. He was also very helpful in telling us where the locals eat so that we could enjoy some of the best food in Charleston. The remaining members of the staff could not have been any niceer. The continental breakfast was wonderful as were the cookies and milk in the evening and the Sherry in our rooms was unbelievable. It was an amazing experience. We look forward to staying at the Vendue in the future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good location and would consider another visit when weather improves
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, many items run out 90 minutes prior to breakfast end time. Difficult to find table to eat breakfast many tables were left with uncleared items. Mattress a little too soft for my liking

    Room size, location, character of hotel, welcoming

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    The Vendue was an enjoyable place to stay for a very convenient location in the wonderful city of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for our comfort. The pillows were horrible, too soft and flimsy.

    Great staff, very attentive. Atmosphere was very nice, location in Charleston is great. Loved the art work.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Gr at location, nice relaxing live jazz in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No munchies available in the bar. Continental breakfast was included, but very limit d, basically cereal, mass produced pastries and hard boiled egg. Coffee was good.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice live jazz music every evening in the bar. The bartender and wait staff were excellent. Lots of art everywhere to admire. There’s an old and remodeled building. If you like historic, pick the old one. The new one, in my judgement, is a better option. Both are loaded with art. Location is excellent. Within walking distance of some of the best restaurants. I

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful stay! This is a charming hotel in an ideal location. The service was incredible - everyone made us feel welcome and special. The rooms were beautiful and we enjoyed viewing the artwork. The champagne check-in was a nice touch and was a perfect start to our weekend getaway. We wish we could have stayed longer! We look forward to coming back when the restaurant is reopened.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location but needs better breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was very limited. When I asked for a glass of water, I was told to go to the lobby to get it. Ran out of fresh fruit and bagels before the breakfast timeframe was over.

    Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Superb Hotel and Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved happy hour in The Drawing Room, there was an artist there painting while you sipped on a cocktail and listened to great music. The manager came by to see if we were enjoying everything and arranged for us to take a walking tour around Charleston, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We used Charleston Footprints Walking Tours with Michael Trouche. I would highly recommend using his company if you love history.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    We had a great weekend during the annual "restaurant week" in Charleston!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not equipped with in room coffee service.

    The location is excellent for walking to many of Charleston's best restaurants, galleries, pubs and shops. Optional valet parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    We had a wonderful visit to Charleston and would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom- too small and no privacy Also, fan very loud in room- no windows Would have preferred to be in the main bldg- did not realize we were across the street Otherwise- fabulous!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    PERFECT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great. Went out of their way to insure my wife and I had a beautiful 25th anniversary. That had a hot water issue but that happens and we were generously compensated for.the inconvienence.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the noise from the rooftop bar we could here them at 7am walking around moving things . Last thing I want to hear at 7 am on vacation is noise waking me up each day. Then the entire building was out of hot water . Not the best place for the money they charge.

    Staff was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location and style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and the did not clean when we were gone but compensated us. Waited 20 minutes to order breakfast and know one came to help us. Had Christmas dinner there. Veal cutlet was mostly fat and prime rib was over done and dry.

    Location and style.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the portion that had old furniture and small. Had to step into shower to shut door to bathroom. No hot water on the first night. Staff was friendly but argued with each other constantly.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.5
    It was 0k, but not enticed to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is an “old” smell as soon as you enter the elevator, like dust. The gift certificate they give you to use cannot be used for breakfast, the only meal we did have.

    The staff was exceptional

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Vendue traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: