Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. Los Angeles hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Venice Suites

Reviews of Venice Suites This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

417 Ocean Front Walk, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291, United States of America

#138 of 377 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 918 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    7.5
    It's pleasant stay but will choose different area if I come back to California!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift is very old and a bit hassle if you have big bags as you need to hold the door and put your bag inside the lift at the same time. The location in front of the beach is an advantage, but also please be aware as there are plenty of homeless around the hotel area. (as long as you go in a group that should be OK)

    The staff is very friendly. The room is spacious and you have plenty of space to put your stuff. This place is more like your studio apartment rather than a hotel which is good as you feel like at your own home. The rooftop is the best part. Loved it! Right in front of the beach.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    7.1
    Slightly shabby but good location for Venice beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Powever parking was a few blocks away with just drop-off at the property. room a little shabbier than it looked from the photos. Clean but dated and slightly scruffy

    Location good, right on the beach, Staff super helpful and a good breakfast venue close by. Despite being on the front our room was quiet

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    9.6
    Nice small hotel right on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t know if all the rooms are the same size but we had a room with the window facing the beach and it was a very large room with a separate bedroom. Still was a little expensive for February at the beach but the people were very nice it was only $10 per 24 hours parking in about a five minute walk but you could never find parking around there if you tried otherwise. No breakfast but plenty of places around. I will stay there next time again.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    10
    Great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great hotel but was quite noisy outside and you could always hear the foot traffic upstairs at night.

    Great area. Close to cafes/restaurants. Right on the beach. Close to Santa Monica Pier and other attractions.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    7.9
    Good place & location, staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The number of homeless rough sleeping made the area feel unsafe, although did not have or see any problems.

    Being by the beach was great, and rooms were good sized!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    5.8
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was not clean. The bathroom floor was full of previous guests hair and it was so dusty that it clearly hadn’t been cleaned for a longer time. The next day we asked the guys at the reception to make sure it is clean, but nothing was done. It remained dirty. When I complained again they said, they have new staff and apologized. They clearly couldn’t care less about a customer complaining. That was a shame. Another thing was the heating wasn’t working. An employee came and couldn’t get it to work. We then got a brand new and still packed electric heater, we had to set up ourselves.

    The location was very good. You step out of the door and you are on the beach. We had already read about the homeless people. It was quiet shocking but they were all very friendly. Rooms are well sized with a good equipped kitchen. Parking facilities are 5 minutes walk away and very handy to have. Overall it was a good stay and value for money is ok. I would recommend it but hope they work on their cleaning staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being woken up up through the night. Having an unusable iron and broken ironing board. Not having (small) soaps and shampoo replaced when it was clearly all empty.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.5
    The price is worth the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quite pricey for the facilities themselves but its the location that you are really paying for. Also we had just come from Vegas and a 4 star hotel so that should be taken into consideration too.

    We booked it for the location and this was wonderful. There was a rooftop terrace to enjoy the views from. The apartments had parking available nearby.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    7.5
    Location is great, facilities great, kettle for coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was around five minute walk away, wouldn’t have been a problem except for we had bad weather🙄

    Location is great, facilities great, kettle for coffee finally, first American motel that has provided a kettle🤷‍♀️

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    5.0
    The location was the only good part, and even then, it would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were put on the ground floor, which was only good because we didn't have to use the stairs or the very run down elevator to get to our room. The reception area was also on that floor and it was 24hr which meant there were always people walking through the very small hall way. Our room was right next to there outside car park and the rooms were barley, if at all, sound proofed so there was a lot of noise from that area and the small lane which was on the other side of the room. There was so much noise my partner kept checking the windows to make sure they were actually closed, which they were This room also happened to be next to a back entrance and a stair case to the upper floors and people didn't care how much noise they were making and the hotel didn't have signs to tell people to be considerate. The bed was really hard. The toilet seat was old and needed cleaning. The windows were very dusty.

    The location was the only good part, and even then, it would be better to just rent an airBNB or pay a little bit more for something much nicer.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent in every aspect. This is my second time staying at this hotel and I enjoyed it so much. Staff is really helpful, rooms are spacious and clean. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to stay right by the beach. One thing to add: rooftop view is spectacular.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    The location was amazing, staff were very helpful and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was amazing, staff were very helpful and the room was big compared to what I thought it would be and was actually really quiet at night.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    9.6
    I really like the location to building with nice good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the fact that there's so many homeless people living right out the front door.

    I really like the location to building with nice good convenient area.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    8.8
    We would stay again. The location is great and the staff is helpful and great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is on street. The bathroom was not clean.

    The location was amazing and the staff was great too. We thought that Tabitha was really helpful and great. The bed was very comfortable and, considering the location, it was very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    7.5
    Great place on Venice beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got a ground floor studio next to the elevator which was noisy and old, though vintage.

    Good studio next to the beach. Room big enough and kitchen well equipped. Great bed.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    8.3
    Great place on the beach.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is too old and noisy, tough fashionable for the vintage style

    Great place on the beach. The studio is well equipped and comfortable. Great bed

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    10
    A perfect place to start your vacation in California
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late at night and experienced a really warm welcome. Very friendly young lady in the office. The view from the roof top, which is has very cozy furniture, was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    10
    Top place in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing all perfect keep up to good job the place is amazing!

    Best Hotel we stayed during our holiday in California , very very good location amazing staff always ready to help . The room and the bathroom are spotless and the bed the best one I ever slept in

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    5.0
    Big room, right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    They list parking at the hotel, but really it's at a parking garage a 10 minute walk away. They have a single person elevator inside but they have steep steps to get into the property which are a pain with heavy bags. It's not very well sign posted at the rear of the hotel so when you're driving along it's not easy to find. Not very clean and woke up in the morning to find a cockroach running around on the bedside table which meant we got up and left very quickly after that.

    Big room, right on the beach.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    10
    Proximity to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Odor in passage Old outdated elevator

    Proximity to beach Quiet. Large bright room Modern facilities- fully equipped kitchen; modern bathroom. Comfortable bed. Rooftop patio with couches, tables & chairs; barbecue & beautiful view of beach, ocean, mountains

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    6.7
    Not bad but I wouldn't return
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access was quite difficult and this was not described clearly on the property description. Car access is only available via a narrow back lane. The property was not signposted from this side. When we eventually found it, the spot we were told to park while we check in was blocked off for a film crew. So, we had trouble parking for the short time it took to check in. Then the film crew woke us at dawn and disturbed us for the whole of our stay. They were right outside our windows. The property gave us no warning of this inconvenience and no apology.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    This trip was very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t expect the vast population of homeless and the stores to opening so late and closing so early. Other than that this location was great!

    I love the quick beach access and the view!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.2
    Great place for extended stay, excellent value for money on beachfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints with property as there were no surprises. What you see is what you get.

    Old style hotel with renovated rooms that were very clean, well laid out with everything you need for a stay. Being more like a studio apartment than a hotel room meant we could make breakfast and dinner and spend all our days sightseeing rather than finding restaurants every day. Partial ocean view was great and rooftop bbq and lounge facilities were great for watching the sun go down. Property was exactly as advertised. Added bonus of having a pay laundry in building, 2 washers and 2 dryers with pay wash powder dispenser. About 20 mins walk away is a fantastic store called Wholefoods, you can get all the food, ready to eat and serve or start from scratch cooking and drinks (beer wine etc) that you need. The service desk will call you a cab and your back to hotel in a flash. Excellent shop for all types of food and good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    8.3
    Good Hotel at Ocean Boardwalk of Venice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In the night it is noisy, as at least during my stay, many homeless people camped and slept opposite of the hotel front door. This is a bit strange for Europeans at least. I can not blame the hotel for that, but it was really noisy. Roomservice forgot cleaning during first 2 days

    Arrival, even after midnight, was no problem, as against their own received info, reception is on duty 24 hours. Room was, as requested, on a higher floor. Room has great size, is well equipped and exactly as being shown on pictures. Hotel is right at the Ocean Boardwalk and for that reason just a minute away from the beach. Parking for 10 USD/day available and not too far away from the Hotel. Breakfast is not being offered, but along the walkway are several shops and restaurants. Staff was extremly friendly and nice.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.5
    The center of Venice Beach boardwalk in a clean, nicely updated apartment type lodging
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Off site parking. Had to walk from garage. Noisy at night with homeless camping nearby. Sold as partial view of the ocean which was more of an alley view.

    Adjacent to beach and the circus and sights of the Venice Beach boardwalk. Also close to a wide variety of restaurants in Venice and Santa Monica. Excellent furnished rooftop with sweeping views of coast and bbq facilities. Nicely furnished room with hardwood floors and comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    7.5
    Surrounded by cool shops and cafe/pubs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surrounded by cool shops and cafe/pubs. Located short distance to main part of venice beach and Santa Monica but still felt very quiet and relaxed

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.0
    Fab location and facilities and wonderful to be next to ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wasn’t serviced or cleaned despite several requests !

    Location on ocean was great although our view was not. Facilities great in room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.3
    Great for individual or business travellers. Perfect location with good accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area is very noisy at night and there are a lot of interesting characters around. The room wasn’t cleaned daily and there was no safety deposit box

    The beds were very comfortable and it was a 10 second walk from the beach and 25 minute walk from Santa Monica. The room has hair dryer and beach towels which was great

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay!! Everything you need and more!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I arrived very late and tired to be greeted by 2 lovely staff who very much welcomed me and got e swiftly checked in to my apartment which was so comfy and had everything I needed. Also the complimentary coffee, sugar and creamer was such a welcome as I was desperate for a drink !!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was fine but did not like the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi Internet was slow and dropped out. The unit was close to rear alleyways noise issue lots of homeless people around. Venice area is really dirty.

    Well equipped kitchen

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.5
    Fine hotel right on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really negative but I’m not sure the room is nice enough to justify the price tag.

    The room was clean & comfortable & the hotel is located right on the boardwalk.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware of that there are a lot of homeless nearby. Also bath windows ir the first floor are street level and have a little bit of trasparency

    Excellent location. Staff was very kind just steps from the beach

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    4.2
    It was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Top Floor One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Homeless people right out the window dealing drugs. Homeless were yelling all night, it was so loud I couldn’t sleep at all. Parking was a 10 minute walk from hotel with extra charge. Was overcharged

    Place was clean. Employee was nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.1
    Venice Beach - was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking is actually situated at least a 10 minute walk away, barely anywhere to stop and pull over by the hotel just to check in, very confusing when you don't know your way around the narrow one way streets! Quite a dirty area around the hotel and beaches, quite unexpected. Pretty expensive for 2 nights, but overall a nice recommendable stay.

    Amazing roof terrace, perfect for watching the sunset. Nice apartment, simple and large for 2 people. Situated just a 10 minute walk from the famous spots of Venice Beach. Comfortable bed and really nice sofa.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    5.4
    - RECEPTION: EXPERIENCE OF CHECK-IN WAS REALLY POOR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    - RECEPTION: EXPERIENCE OF CHECK-IN WAS REALLY POOR. STAFF WAS UNHELPFUL AND UNKIND. SHE LOOKED UNHAPPY FOR WHAT SHE WAS DOING (THAN PLZ DONT DO IT FOR OTHER VISITORS!) - PARKING PLACE: IT NEEDS 10MINS WALK FROM IT. - NO MARKET NEARBY

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    8.3
    Noisy , very polite and helpful staff comfy bed . A little disappointed with Venice beach overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise and the view . Very noisy , not just outside , other guests playing loud music , general noise from the room above all night , tv on , talking loud , scraping furniture along the floor . View was described as a. City view but was just a car park

    The room and the staff were very nice 😊

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.9
    The rooms were spacious and clean and the hotel was right on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fridge in the room was quite noisy and would make sudden noises in the middle of the night.

    The rooms were spacious and clean and the hotel was right on the promenade so easy to locate! The property also had fast WiFi!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    Our family loves it. Would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Top Floor One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great location, well priced, great facilities and right in the middle of everything. Great that there were two tvs. Great place for families, we all LOVED it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    5.8
    Close to the waterfront but.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    ...that means you get all the noise from everyone wandering around the beach at night (not the nicest neighborhood). The rooms are absolutely not soundproof... definitely not worth the 200$ we paid for one night !

    Close to the waterfront but...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.5
    Apartment nice, surroundings disgusting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In front of Venice Suites and also along Venice Beach many homeless people live on the street! They are dirty, noisy, smelly, loud! Disgusting! If I could have known about them I wouldn't book Venice Suites!

    Fully equipped kitchen. Close to the ocean. Rooftop nice. Laundry available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.9
    Great clean property right on the beach which was quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t feel that safe with the rough sleepers on the front outside the door

    Great clean property right on the beach which was quiet considering the noise from the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.1
    It was clean and close to the beach within easy walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bedroom Suite - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed in our room was terrible. The side of the bed has no support and was uncomfortable and easy to fall out of. Also, as many others have stated, the homelessness around this area is saddening. The beach across from the hotel becomes tent city at night. All in all this property is overpriced for the facilities offered. It might be on the beach but it's still in the slums.

    It was clean and close to the beach within easy walking distance of everything. Perfect for a one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    7.1
    Eventful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At 1 am in the morning, the fire alarm was activated, by whom, no one knows. We were locked out of our hotel room not only because we had to evacuate the building but also because we inadvertently left our hotel room key in our room in the rush to evacuate. That's where, Jason, the after hour emergency help comes in. He finally comes, after over an hour of all residents standing outside. The initial security guy stands around on the phone trying to call and get a hold of dispatch, emergency, or whomever, to come and provide answers and relief, no success because now all he can do is "wait"! 😩 He finally gets a call back and is told someone will be on their way. He announces to everyone that he is "sorry" and it was and "false alarm" and everyone can go back inside! With the screeching, ear-piercing alarm still going off, everyone goes back inside. Initially I had asked the security guy if he had the capability to let us inside our room and he said he would take care of us. Whatever that meant, I assumed he had a master key. But come to find out, he didnt. Well, Jason, the after hours emergency guy, successfully turns off the alarm but then he locks himself out of the office where he leaves his phone and surprisingly enough, his master key does not work to let him back in to call someone who can let us back into our room😠 so 2.5hrs later, we are sitting here, waiting to be let back in to our room so that we can grab our belongings and go. Very eventful, but sad visit.

    The check-in girl and Jason were very nice!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    6.7
    Sunny, beachy and vibrant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It just looks a bit dated. If they would put on new carpets on the hall and some new paint, you would get a completely different feeking to the place when you arrive. I didnt know Venice was such a hippy place, you really smell it ;) I would not bring my children to stay there. I sometimes felt a bit unsafe, especially after 19.00.

    The location, litterally on the beach. The rooftop access.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    10
    Nice room, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice room, very clean. View was amazing & our location was right on the beach. The rooftop terrace was amazing! Would definitely recommend & would definitely stay here again. 2nd floor room 22 did not disappoint.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    6.7
    Not for families or those who don't want to see the darker side of LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise at night driven mainly by arguments between the homeless people.

    So this is a great location right on the beachfront but you need to know that the area is literally full of homeless people. They are sleeping right outside the entrance and if you are there at night this is not comforting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    10
    Will always stay here !!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As soon as my daughter and I arrived we welcomed !! Roof top deck amazing !! Rooms clean , spacious.. I could go on and on .. you can literally park in back walk up front and pick up your keys and settle in without any problems !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    6.7
    Good facilities - not a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location !! I was excited to be right on the boardwalks but since the rooms don’t have AC (window open the ocean breeze is nice) you can hear EVERYTHING on the beach. This means you hear all the homeless who stay overnight on the boardwalk and beach. We were constantly woken up by shouting and screams. I didn’t find the area to be safe, especially in the evenings when people started heading home and the sun was going down. Things got shady really quick.

    The Queen studio was cute - lots of room, a clean little kitchenette and washroom. The shared rooftop Terrasse was an added bonus, it has a great vantage point of the ocean/ beach, lounge chairs, and a BBQ. There’s also a coin laundry which came in handy for us to wash our clothing mid-trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place to stay. We loved the fact that was close to the beach. We loved the set up inside had its little kitchen, vet comfortable and clean. Definitely would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    8.8
    Really good and we'd be happy to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The number of homeless people all along the public walkway. It was sad to see so many people in need of accommodation.

    We were very happy with our stay. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the property is located right on the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.2
    Very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking was safe and secure, the walk to the space was a bit long since it was a few block's from property so my companion had some issues. Was concerned about safety late at night walking from parking to property so we were back before sunset.

    Location was great. Fully equipped kitchen came in handy. We were upgraded to a one bedroom with full ocean view which was beautiful. WiFi was strong so no issues. Then Venice scene was below us so that was cool. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    I cannot wait to come back to Venice Suites - so much fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fact that we had to leave!

    The comfort of the furniture and bed was awesome and the kitchen was perfect! We loved every bit of Venice Suites. We also loved how centrally located Venice Suites was on the Boardwalk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    4.2
    Don't tarnish your imagination of Venice Beach by actually going there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Parking is not included, and if you pay for it is a commercial lot 300m away. - The staff was unresponsive and unwilling to take 5 seconds from a phone call to answer a question about WiFi. - There are *zero* restaurants in the area we would even sit at. - There are homeless people everywhere. - Although the room was okay, the hallways and especially the elevator were tight and scuzzy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.2
    Was able to check in early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot of street noise and screaming all night but was to be expected given location.

    Was able to check in early. Staff at front desk were very friendly. Room super comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.4
    apartment was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    area wasn't too clever big homeless problem bit of a shock on arrival as they made camp outside the apartment block . shame as apartment and staff were great. 9.4 score for apartment area not good,

    apartment was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    5.0
    Location is awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is very basic. The carpet in the corridors is very dated. Parking on site not possible. They say to can park 10 min for check in- was full when I arrived. So I got chased away by the police. The rooms are ok but lack character or Charme. Feels very much like a hostel. Wouldn’t stay again given the costs of this place...

    Location is awesome Roof top common area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.6
    Fab view, friendly staff and right one Venice Beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - having read other reviews we were wondering what the night time would be like, but no issues at all. We walked to Santa Monica pier and then got an Uber back to the hotel.

    Super friendly check in staff, who kept our bags until the room was ready. The car parking was really not that far away, and I felt fine walking there alone. We drove to the property to drop off and pick up our bags, so we didn’t have to carry them far at all. The view from our room was incredible. Like all the pictures you see of Venice Beach. Also a great view from the roof top terrace, with BBQ to use. The living area was huge - kitchen, dining table and sofas. A separate room with comfy double bed with nice bedding and a bath in the bathroom with toiletries. I also made use of the laundry facilities as we were mid way through our roadtrip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Great base for stay in Northern LA straight at the beach with open view to Ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not find very nice restaurants nearby. We found Cheescake factory in Marina del Ray very nice, for example. C&O tattoria at Washington avenue was OK, singing togeather with other clients and the staff elevated the spirit! On Abbot Kinney Avenue and Rose Avenue some nice restaurants can be found.

    Terrace and laundry on the roof were great! Rooms were fresh and the view astonishing to the ocean Free tennis courts 1/2 mile towards Santa Monica pier. Full kithcen equipement!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.2
    Overall, it was an amazing stay and we would love to stay again if we are ever in LA again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park is a few blocks away and it walking in the area with a pram is difficult.

    The location is amazing. We had a beach front apartment with amazing views at sunset.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    3.3
    The view was the only good thing about our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Things were not clean. Going into the bathroom, to small to even change in, for the first time and finding someone else’s hair all over the place. The kitchen was not clean, dishes were dirty that were put away in the cupboard. Tables were dirty. The HOMELESS yelling at each other till 3:30 am really sucks!!! It’s now 6am and time for me to get up!!!

    The view was the only good thing about our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.8
    Great location right on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The second night we had someone in the room above us that stomped around all night. And it was quite loud in our room

    The place is in a great spot, we loved our time there. Hotel reception girl was not that friendly but there were no problems I would stay again because it was right near everything and had all we needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent location and very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very light, could do with block out curtains

    Great stay. Lovely property, very modern and clean inside and the location is right on the beach. We were only here one night but would recommend for a longer stay due to kitchen facilities, first place we have stayed at that has a kettle! Rooftop patio really cool and the views were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    4.2
    Little disappointing and unhelpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car parking was a mess. I wrote in my booking notes that I needed parking, and used the local car park described in their email. However it cost me $20 for a night, not the $10 described in the posting. When I asked them why it was double the price, they said I should’ve bought it through them and I should’ve said in my booking - which I did. Staff didn’t really want to help, and left me feeling pretty shortchanged.

    Good coffee and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    10
    Exceeded my expectations and offered a comfortable stay with some nice isolation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nada. They were exceptional. The only thing I don’t like is not finding them sooner.

    What didn’t we like was the real question. You can bet we’ll be back after this exceptional experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Perfect location for sunset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bedroom Suite - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small bottle of milk in the fridge would have been appreciated.

    Nice sized apartment, clean and comfortable. The roof terrace with its BBQ facilities and loungers is a great place to watch the sun set. Brilliant location, right on the beach front - close to bars and restaurants but quiet and private. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    5.8
    Overall, the value was not there for what we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, the value was not there for what we paid. This is a budget establishment. I paid the same price for a nearby luxury hotel. However, my "discount" was anchored to an absurd price point, so I thought I was getting a deal. Hope this helps others from making the same mistake.

    The gentleman working when we arrived was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the area. He was professional and provided tips for improving our exploration and experience. Wish we remembered his name to say thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    6.3
    Stay in Santa Monica instead, if you really have to visit Venice Beach (tip - don’t bother)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is like Venice Beach itself, tired and in need of updating! I was a bit disappointed considering the high price. Room size was good and everything was there and worked but it was just a little dirty and worn out. Bed not the most comfotable, torn towel, stains on soft furnishings etc. The room had obviously been cleaned by the stuff was just old....i expected more for over $200 a night!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.8
    Great time at fabulous location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Beachfront Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you want to sleep undisturbed, this is not the place. Lots of drunk and troubled people making noice.

    Outstanding location right on the beach. Friendly and accommodating staff. Very nice apartment on top floor (#41). Good parking possibility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    3.8
    Awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in was catastrophic. Someone was supposed to be there until 8 pm, at 7.20 pm nobody there. We had to wait 30 minutes in the car in a small alley that was very busy with traffic and homeless people walking around. The lady at the desk arrived shortly before 7.50 pm. Although she left at 8pm she was having dinner before and she was very rude. It seemed that she didn't understand that we were upset because had to wait in the dark in a street where people are smoking meth next to you. We have received instructions via email. However, we never received anything. At least on the next day she apologized. Area is dodgy and it is called ghetto by the sea by some locals. We were staying on the ground floor and around 1 am after someone yelled like a mad man we heard a knock on our window. We felt not safe. Hotel in general is way past its prime as is venice beach. The garage is 5 minutes away and it is very inconvenient to park the car temporarily. Don't go there especially at night.

    Rooms were clean but towels dirty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    8.3
    Liked having a kitchen separate from bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Didn't know when booked hotel I had to park car about 6 blocks away - got soaked on rainy nights. But garage was easy to use. Upstairs neighbor stomped and banged furniture late at night.

    Liked having a kitchen separate from bedroom. Nice bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    9.2
    Nice Studio with a beach view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite with Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only thing is that it can be very loud at night if there are drunk people outside.

    Venice Suites is really nice and comfortable. We have paid for a studio with side sea view. You can see the sunrise from the window or on the roof terasse. The studio has everything you need and I would recommend to stay there if you want to stay in Venice Beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place would recommend for adults
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The atmosphere changed when the sun went down. The homeless men and women started making there spots up about dusk. While most didnt feel threatening there was one or two that made me uneasy. Which limited out time we spent exploring the nightlife. Also the elevator only held 2 people or 400 lbs, traveling with kids that made for a lot of trips up the stairs to the 4th floor. Parking is a nightmare. Its 4-5 blocks away. Hotel doesnt have any deals with vendors for bike rentals or sight seeing.

    The location was perfect in the daytime. The room was clean and had most everything you need.Roof top patio was equipt with a bbq which we used a few times. Stella was great, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.1
    A nice and comfortable stay near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can clearly hear the upstairs neighbor walking around in the room, and when someone in another room took a shower, the water pipes were quite noisy.

    The room was clean, aery and came equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and affordable perfect for our one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Studio Suite - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is still a bit dated. But honestly the rooms are fine it’s comfortable and close to everything.

    Comfortable and affordable perfect for our one night stay. The man who checked us in was very friendly and helpful which was great, especially after a 15hr flight.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    First time visit to the area was enhanced by our stay at Venice Suites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Suite - 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can be a little noisier than a normal hotel, but not a show stopper.

    Location was right in the middle of Venice, walkable or a short ride to points of interest and restaurants. Room was spacious and clean. Rooftop patio was incredible. Laundry on-site was handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Venice Suites Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: