Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ventana Big Sur, An Alila Resort – Adult Only 5 stars

48123 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920, USA

#1 of 4 hotels in Big Sur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than maybe a better ocean view (although thinking its probably not possible due to location of Inn), absolutely nothing!

    Staff pampered us and were kind and accomodating. Not pretentious at all. Ventana thought of every little thing from complimentary cocktail hour (A+), bath robes, privacy as needed, superb room accommodations (we were upgraded as a birthday gift to my wife-thank you!), champagne and strawberries, ample towels and water bottles, free shuttle service within 4 miles in a LandRover, lighting in room was perfect, property kept so nice., trails lighted and well maintained. Loved being among the Redwoods. Spa massages were perfect! Probably the best we’ve ever had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds and setting are stunning! You are above it all and yet have incredible views of the ocean from the resort. It is one of the most peaceful resorts I have been to with a staff that is kind and attentive, always concerned with you getting the most out of your visit. I can not recommend it more highly as a place to be indulged and completely away from it all while being bathed in nature throughout your stay. Just incredible!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices are not so friendly if you don't manage to catch special deals.

    Great ocean and mountain view, two pools and feeling of absolute relaxation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no tea and coffee and milk facilities in the room which for a hotel of this standard. To be fair its true in a lot of American hotels and standard in even the most basic UK hotel. Adding insult a little is at breakfast (where breakfast is pretty expensive), free filter coffee is available but if you want a cup of tea you're charged $6 for a tea bag and $7 for a latte. However this is an incredible hotel but they need to change this tiny thing so you feel that you get value for money. I don't mind expensive hotels at all which are good but they don't need to get ever last cent out of you and I don't want to feel if I come here again that I need to bring my own kettle and tea bag. But other than that it was amazing

    This is a lovely hotel in a phenomenal location and the rooms are very nice indeed. Great restaurant too with a lovely vibe. Staff are lovely. We would def revisit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place with relax and quiet atmosphere. You can really forget about everything except your time. Add breathtaking ocean and mountain views. But to get full balance you should try to catch special prices as original ones are not so friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere in the common areas, the board games and pool, fire place in the room, the location of the hotel couldn’t be better, outdoors jacuzzi with mountain views ,amazing surroundings and the activities organized by the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The HVAC system, at least in the 2 rooms that we stayed in, was sub-par for a facility in this price range. It's an old Amana through-the-wall system that you'd expect to see in a mid-range motel, and it's VERY loud, like wake-up-in-the-night loud. The first room that we were assigned--room 5--had an additional noise problem--it's located right above a walk-in refrigerator with a loud fan that cannot be turned off at night. This is very disappointing in a location where you want to enjoy the priceless quiet and darkness. The staff kindly moved us to another room.

    Terrific location. Wonderful swimming pools and spas. Comfortable beds. Charming, helpful staff. Free shuttle to locations within a 4 mile radius--you may want to use it because the food at Ventana is very expensive. Great walks on the property and close-by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have bit more activity options and social interaction. Jazz music and cocktails around the fire or on the deck.

    Beautiful, serene, and relaxing facility.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a fire alarm that went off in the middle of the night that jolted us wide awake. Front desk said that they'd been working on the spa and that the alarm system was malfunctioning. I got no sleep due to adrenaline flooding my system! Staff was polite but offered no reduction in price or anything else (I didn't ask, that said, one would think that at $750 a night for no sleep, one would be offered.) We won't return. This was my second time there.

    Rooms were lovely, setting is incomparable, restaurant has great food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything on that hotel was simply perfect, the price you pay worth the whole experience you get, specially after the lovely upgrade gave by hotel team

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was cold when ordering room service. Staff interrupts a lot and call more than any place I have ever stayed. Very hard to find. Sign was so small and not lit well. Scary because you have very spotty cell service in the area.

    Food was good, beautiful place, staff was good, nice place to getaway and recharge.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was mediocre at best, the steak was tough, just ate about of third of it. It is overrated for the price. The staff was great though.

    beautiful property and excellent staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impossible to improve.

    Everything was wonderful - one of the top hotels I've ever stayed at. Beautiful campus, unbelievably attentive and polite staff, and wonderful all-around experience.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that could have been better was that my husband got a bad case of food poisoning during our stay. While it could have been from anything he ate that day, the last thing he had was from the restaurant at the hotel. It would have been a good gesture for them to comp that meal (it was a $30 salad which in the grand scheme of things was a drop in bucket of what we spent there). They did send up some gatorade which was nice, but charged us for it!

    The location is beautiful and romantic. Rooms are cozy. Drivers will take you to and from local restaurants. On-site naturalist will give you a tour of property and can recommend other places to visit/hike. Two words - No Kids!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the parking reception untill we arrieved to our room staff was really really nice and friendly, the place is gorgeous!!! We loved it here!!! come back for sure!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasn't fond of the breakfast at the hotel restaurant but there are plenty of great breakfast options/bakeries in the area.

    Everything was perfect from the staff, location and the hotel grounds are amazing! You can hang there the whole time if you wish as they have great trails and scenery, a spa, great rooms with a view and hammocks and happy hour. It's easy to get to the state parks and surrounding restaurants in the area. A great place to get away and relax and enjoy Big Sur. Highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi was completely useless - we could not connect any of our 5 different devices. When we told the staff, they unfortunately casually dismissed it as "a known issue" stating that the wi-fi was basically terrible throughout the hotel. On the one hand, it's nice to "unplug" for a day or two, but on the other hand, for the rather high price point they charge, completely useless wi-fi is not acceptable. Were it not for this, we would have rated this experience more highly.

    Rooms were amazing and the staff and service was superb and very friendly. The food excellent and the location beautiful and secluded.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No attention to detail with staff for a high end resort. Also the common pool area was so dirty. And the spa facilities were lack luster and not overly relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited access to public areas with ocean views due to corporate event bookings. Only pool available (other was under construction) was clothing optional, I am no prude and have been to many clothing optional pools and beaches, but I was not interested in that kind of energy on this trip.

    The staff was fantastic! Especially the waitstaff and bartenders. The food was outstanding!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The hot tub was the best feature in the suite. Overall stay was super relaxing. The food at the restaurant was absolutely delicious!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was very disappointing for a property of this caliber. It needs a complete renovation. Also, the restaurant staff is very unprofessional. The first contact I had went poorly. So disappointed. The bartender Jill was our only pleasurable meeting. Too bad the hotel does not take advantage of such a beautiful setting. This should be a 5 star experience and it was not even a 2 star. So happy we only booked one night. Plenty

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower had lousy water pressure. But the bath more than made up for that.

    The views from the breakfast terrace would be hard to rival or recreate anywhere in the world. The grounds are beautifully kept and the wild herbs, flowers and trees fill the air with the most incredible scent. Open fires in the room and a terrace set within the tree canopy were a real treat. The room was also beautifully designed, both in terms of materials and its proportions. Loved the free yoga class in the library to start the day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is just okay, not great, and over priced.

    This is my favorite hotel in the world! Rooms are spacious, pure luxury yet cozy. Wonderful views of the hills. Favorite feature: the spectacular one mile walk through the forest, part of which is the path to the restaurant. We love the pools, great for lap swimming. The property is clean, the staff are genuine and delightful!! Two nights felt like a week's vacation, given the tranquility and peacefulness. Wish we booked more nights, one could stay here a very long time!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt for the cost of the hotel per night there were several ways the hotel could have been better. For example- typically upon arriving to a hotel of such caliber one is offered a drink, at the very least water. This never happened. Furthermore, the restaurant was closed for a wedding and alternative food options in the area are skim- felt as though the hotel should have warned us prior to our arrival and should have reserved a reservation at the restaurant across the street. Finally- there was no staff at the pool and the towels clearly need to be replaced.

    The room is spacious and the bathroom well done .The wine and cheese hour is fabulous and so is the bonus complimentary chair massage. The complimentary breakfast was delicious but wish we had more than 3 options.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were amazingly welcoming and helpful. Stephanie in particular was wonderful. facilities are stunning and grounds so beautifully kept. rooms are beautiful too. Could have spent a week there.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just an amazing place. Big Sur is an amazing place and this hotel capture its spirit. It is made for relax and it does the job perfectly. The staff is really great and the facilities are awesome. It was our honey moon and so we found a bottle of champagne in our room. The restaurant is also excellent. Probably the best place I have been until now.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was comfortable, though not exceptional, and equipment which had been used to dig a trench in the meadow just outside rather spoiled the view. When we checked in, we booked a table for dinner at the restaurant for both nights. We were told that, given the lovely weather, we'd be able to eat at the outdoor dining terrace. However, we were not told that on our second night there would be a wedding reception on the terrace, which meant that other guests had to eat inside (immediately behind a band which was playing music for the wedding guests). We felt that this was something about which we should have been told when we reserved the table - or indeed even earlier, when we booked the room - since the best thing about the hotel is the outdoor dining experience. We ended up cancelling our table for dinner that night, which was very disappointing. On the second morning, we both found scraps of paper in our breakfasts. Although the restaurant manager dealt with this very well, and immediately removed the offending plates and invited us to choose anything we wished from the menu, overall we were understandably left feeling that our experience at Ventana Inn had not lived up to expectations.

    The location of the open dining terrace was the most beautiful we've experienced anywhere in the world.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is perfect

    It is the most beautiful property I've ever been to. The rooms are gorgeous and comfortable. The staff remembers you and goes out of their way to be nice and helpful. The location is magnificent, not only because it's Big Sur, but also because the grounds, the flowers, the walking paths - and every visual thing - is a feast for the eyes. It's quiet and serene. The restaurant has fabulous food. I'm spoiled.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    walls a bit thin. could hear a barking dog as they allow dogs on the property

    Definitely worth the $$$$$

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning views! Cosy and beautiful hotel rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service insuffisant Restaurant spa laundry room service

    Le site

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was average

    Very nice facilities and relaxed feeling!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the setting was outstanding. staff very friendly, but did not actively communicate all the benefits and activities available for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every detail and the circle of light formed by the sequoias

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was the road and park closures due to the recent rain

    Definitely going to head back

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfection!

    One is treated like royalty.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having only one day!

    Everything although pricey but that is what you pay for high end Big Sur

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    to expensive. Room was small.

    The staff were amazing. And location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything from the sheets the tub the path the pool the staff and the location. Never wanted to leave.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simply the most relaxing, best trip we've ever had! Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the views, the interior, the staff were so kind and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so cozy, excellent service .It was really calming to stay there

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Friendly staff very helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really didn't mind the rain all that much.

    Chef is superb. Excellent dinners. Best food on our trip.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was too short.

    Pretty much everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough time

    Location, staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect for couple. Beautiful room. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Japanese hot baths

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head seemed like one used for water conservation. Ok but not great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    overcharged my money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything, location, peace, nature at its best the views, staff, wished we could have stayed longer

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is obvious that this type of resort needs a lot of maintenance

    Location - resort style

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff not willing to give an hr extra at check out after 30% occupancy way too expensive for what it is!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    spacious rooms friendly staff amazing location very helpful concierge

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant the food was almost unedible and way over priced

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price felt a bit high for the facilities, since we were there just for a day, we didn't get the benefits of any discounts

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoke from the fires.

    The room was great. Excellent restaurant. Best massage ever!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Great service and a wonderful view. Very relaxing and peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed with dinner. Pork served too rare twice. They did not charge for the meal due to the poorly prepared dinner.

    The room, spa, staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Fireplace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is fabulous in the forest with amazing walks and views. Peaceful and luxurious Highly recommended !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place is insanely nice. Walking around the trees and forests was amazing. We woke up to deer right outside our door. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was awful. We paid $250 for three very small portions. It was well made but aimed at flessing the traveler.

    Everything except the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    My room was divine! Everything and everyone was wonderful! Took advantage of the walking tour and appreciated the beauty and grace of the location. Embraced by the peace of Ventana! Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is equivalent to a Holiday Inn. Definitely not up to par with the rest of the hotel.

    Beautiful hotel. For the value of the hotel, I would prefer it to the Post Ranch.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything about the Ventana is beautiful! The setting is a perfect place to unwind after a long day of hiking! The breakfast on the terrace overlooking the coast is unbelievable!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More variety in the continental breakfast. The hotel while unusually good, is in fact very pricey.

    the gardens and grounds were superb, best ever. Massage excellent, restaurant v.good. The redwood trees are majestic.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property was amazing! The room was very private and comfortable. We got a lot of use out of the hot tub and the fireplace. We loved the food that was offered in the restaurant. The people were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant and spa were both fantastic. Hiking trails were beautiful. Staff was excellent. Complimentary breakfast room service was a great and very welcome deal, after having splurged to be there!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wait staff at restaurant are very rough around the edges from the bartender to the breakfast crew. They could use some etiquette training.

    The location is stunning.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's expensive, which is common for Big Sur. Which means that expectations are super high. Changing rooms for the hot spa baths could have been slicker (warmer in winter for eg), and the bar didn't have many non alcoholic drink options available – unless you're happy with super sugar laden options! Hotel was quiet while we were there, but soneone had been put in the room above ours (when all others in our block wee free), which was a shame as we could hear their stomping well into the night, when they could have been offered a room one door down and this would have bee avoided.

    Beautiful setting. Great accommodation. Lovely breakfast. Cheese and wine in the afternoon was a nice added touch.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was perfect. We have been staying here for over 20 years. Never disappointed. Staff exceptional. Food creative and delicious Spa massage the best ever. Hikes on property scenic and guides informative Perfect place to relieve stress !

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rain prevented realizing the full benefits. Go in good weather and stay at least two nights to soak in the benefits. No ocean views.

    Terrific environment and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sheets on the bed the first night were ribbed & caused an irritation to my skin. Left a note & generous tip & requested smooth sheets. Much better. With so little time we could not partake in your many offered activities for the $40 a day charge.

    Everyone was very polite, very helpful. Morning breakfast was excellent. Nature walk hike would have been so much better if the excellent guide took into consideration "age." Meaning slower pace.

There are also 48 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: