Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Francisco Inn 2 stars

385 9th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, USA

#186 of 264 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 358 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    4.6
    Considering the quality of the room and amenities, it should have been much cheaper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi was very slow and disconnected frequently. There was no privacy whatsoever, with the sole window facing a public area - it was easy to see into people's rooms. The room had a smell that never went away. "Breakfast" shouldn't really be called that and we didn't even bother with it after the first 2 days. The location is SoMa so it's pretty central, but this comes with the downside of being full of homeless, drunks, and addicts - some of them just steps away from this property. The lighting and furniture in the room were dreary and not comfortable.

    The staff was fine, depending on who was there (the front desk changes a few times a day). Free parking was good, and the parking lot is sheltered and pretty safe - a big plus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.8
    I did not like it.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear everything inside the room. Footsteps, doors, coughs, everything from every side. There's not enough parking for every guest, so your fighting to get a spot. The room wasn't that bad, but it's not the greatest. The badroom had mold in the walls. The rug looked really old. It didn't smell pleasant. The placement it not that good either, there wasn't anything near to eat.

    The employees were nice, attentive, and kind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.3
    At least we weren't murdered
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty room. Single fire exit. Immigration raid on one of the nights (seriously, what the hell?). Loud domestics on multiple nights. The internet barely works. The TV wasn't even tuned properly (not to mention it's an old tube set). The photos absolutely do not represent the property.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.6
    Vicinity of the hotel is quite dirty and populated by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vicinity of the hotel is quite dirty and populated by homeless, which add to usual "flavor" of the SF air. If they swept the floor once in a while, it would greatly improve the first impression. Because of skylights in the bathrooms, the rooms become quite cold at night even in August, and you can hear pretty much everything from adjacent rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    The room and price its ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    San francisco there is a homeless.

    The worker who checked us in, very friendly, helpful and accommodating. He helped us with the plane of the city and to visit, how to pay toll at the golden gate. very correct room for the hotels and price that oscillate in San Francisco.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice location for visiting SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was noisy. The breakfast was frugal. Only tea or coffee and 1 kind of pastry available.

    The location was good, close to downtown and the train station. Our room had a spa tub.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Good for that neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price is steep for its class.

    Location is convenient if you are visiting around that neigborhood, but if you are travelling for tourism you'd be better off at the same price elsewhere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    due to delays in our flight we had to stay 2 nights in SF, SF inn was the cheapest room on trivago.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the stairs leading up to the room and balcony could have been cleaner.

    the room was newly renovated which made it very nice, i especially loved the square shower head. judging from the downtown location we thought the room wouldnt be very nice but it totally was. we also loved the golden gate bridge window blinds, very nice...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay, great value!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the neighborhood around San Francisco Inn isn't too nice looking, it is safe.

    The continental breakfast was ample. I had one of the newly renovated queen rooms that had newly updated features in the bathroom (tile shower, glass sliding door) and updated furniture in the bedroom. There is a locked door that leads to all the rooms, only accessible with your room key, so safety was never a concern for me. Great value that exceeded my expectations!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Could be better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly run down. Rooms street side noisy. No hot water for shower. Breakfast is a joke - coffee and a few cookies in a corner of the reception, stand up. Don't call it breakfast, call it refreshment and expectations will be fine.

    Clean. Friendly staff. Best location for my business meeting. Good bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    This is an economical place to stay, but pack your ear plugs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t sleep because of the noise. Traffic goes by the hotel all night and the window as are not soundproof.

    The location was convenient and the price was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Brightness stay at San Fracisco Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The prices, in general, in San Francisco, are out of control, nonetheless, the value for money is good for the San Francisco Inn.

    The best is the bathroom with natural light coming from a ceiling window! the cleaning ladies do a great job everyday and it is remarkable the friendliness at the front desk. Also, we were very confortable with our car parked at the parking of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    It’s was okay, not the best, not the worst!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not really existent, it consist of cereal, juices and pre packaged bakery items. There are a lot of bums around the area, but for the value it’s not too bad, since it’s only a few blocks away from everything. The parking consist of 2 handicap and probably 8-10 stalls. Meaning the first come first serve rule really does apply.

    For the most part everything was ok, the location, the value you get, and the cleanliness were the best part.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    over all okay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are made over parking lot. There was no place to eat at reception. A basic breakfast was needed to carry in your room on 1st or 2nd floor. There was no lift. Room need to be upgraded. One mile walk to union square.

    nothing special, very helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    It was a bed to sleep in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A channel guide for TV should be in rooms. Should have plug available near the desk for plugging in my laptop.

    Breakfast was cold cereal, oatmeal, coffee, juice & fruit. would've been nice to have a hot breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    For the location and value its worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well the ice machine was in a separate section of the hotel and required a different key card or staff assistance to access. A soda machine and ice machine on BOTH sides of the property would be beneficial. The heat on the thermostat was also inoperative, but the room had a space heater to compensate.

    The room was small and compact. It had all the necessities and basics. I never really lacked for anything while there. The desk could have been a bit bigger but I adjusted. I do recommend this hotel if you are looking for value and location. It was basically 2-5 miles for everything I wanted to do and Uber Rideshare made getting around quite affordable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Great SOMA option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No clear/light curtains only blackouts so it's either light or privacy.

    Good SOMA location. Great value for money, very basic breakfast but gets your day started and fruit included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Okay for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lighting in the room is very poor, and the so-called air conditioning didn't really help the heat at all. You'd have to open the windows, but then it's quite noisy because of the street, other guests and the parking lot downstairs. Parking on street has a two-hour limit.

    The biggest plus is the location. A not-too-busy neighborhood with straight bus connection to both the airport and the city center. Market Street and the financial district is a 15 minute walk away. Bathroom and bed quality is okay, facilities are basic but this is an inn, so don't expect any more. Staff don't do much but they are helpful if asked. Breakfast is dollar pastry with coffee and tea, but at least they offer something.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value for the price, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so lovely & helpful & though decor of roims very dated the cleanliness of the rooms made up for it. Comfy bed with freshest white sheets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of USB plugs would be a nice touch.

    Great beds and a good sized room. Parking was easy and there’s was always plenty of space. The breakfast that you could take up to your room was surprisingly good (oatmeal, cereal, OJ, yogurt, fruit, coffee etc). Nice location close to the highway and good access to downtown and the bay area. Very good value for money! Would recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    2.9
    Would NOT stay in that hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    See above... Not sufficient parking. No elevator. Pre-packaged "Continental breakfast". Filthy drawers and carpet was literally black w/ dirt. Doors did not seal. Scary neighborhood.

    "Continental Breakfast" was all pre-packaged food. No elevator. It states "free parking", but there were only 10 parking spaces for the entire place. The neighborhood was very sketchy and over a mile walking to anything of interest. The door to our room went out onto a balcony and for several days it rained...which was fine... but the door let in serious amounts of water so our already FILTHY carpet was soaked. The beds were horrid and the drawers were disgusting. Needless to say, we lived out of our suitcases and spent as little time as possible in our hotel room. The cleaning gals were super friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Great Quality for the Price!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    I must admit, I was skeptical, I think I have found my new Favorite place to stay. It’s inexpensive, walking distance from Bart !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO ELEVATOR!! The room was okay. The one chair in the room was gross. It was badly stained. Yuck. The room was dusty as well.

    It was close to our final destination and parking was free. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Very basic, staff were very accommodating and nice, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, breakfast, mattress was narrow, uncomfortable, pillows flat and hard. Neighbourhood.

    Inexpensive for SF but VERY basic. The staff/0wners were very accommodating and nice. Room was very clean, one lamp didn’t work (electrical), tiny room, bed and pillows were uncomfortable. On a strict budget, doable, but bring on vacation with a young girl, not recommended, dubious neighbourhood. Parking limited.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Great find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs, soda machine $3.65

    The bed was super comfy. HBO CHANNEL watched awesome movies while there free parking nice clean bathroom. Very polite and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable and reasonable.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested extra pillows but the staff had great difficulty filling this request. I arrived in early evening and wanted to take a bath and go to bed. After waiting an hour I went down to the office and was told to wait. They did show up but I had to wait up for nearly and hour and a half.

    small but satisfying continental breakfast, microwave and refrigerator, spa tub.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    Good for Business Travel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The American way of Breakfast. Only packed food, NO Kitchen.

    Good Location. Near from Union Square. BART station near for transport. Market, Subway at walk able distance. Peaceful environment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Thanks for having us.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets for one are too thin when it gets cold, and also idk if its what they washed them in but it broke out the skin on our faces a little.

    But other than those 2 quick fixes everything is perfect nice little comfrontable setting they give you in your room. The staff are very kind as well would always keep this as a go to when needed for a get away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Quadratisch. Praktisch. Gut.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, everything was alright.

    Personel always friendly, even after midnight. I'd never have the idea to take a breakfast at the motel! Free parking in walking distance to Moscone Convention Center. Available even for a while after checkout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Location was great for my trip purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need new paint and some upgrades (e.g. new furniture and new tv)

    Location was great for my trip purpose. The place was clean, but it definitely needs some upgrades.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.0
    The city was awesome I would have stay another week if I was able to. The hotel served its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was in neighborhood that was very noisy. It isn't located near a grocery store or target so you need a car or you have to use uber or public transportation to go these places. The neighborhood isnt the best their people on the street including homeless people. It is not in the center of the city for the attraction are everything is about a 15 to 20 mins or more away. The continental breakfast is basically cereal and prepackaged pastries everyday.

    The price was pretty reasonable for the san francisco area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay for being really close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the first day we turned on the lights and saw a roach run under the microwave. Parking was very limited. We planned out our day to explore the city early in the morning and get back to the hotel early in order to get a parking spot, then walk or uber for the rest of the day. The mini fridge leaked a little, but was not a big issue.

    The room was nice, small but felt cozy and roomy; it did not feel overcrowded. The bed was ok, comfortable enough to sleep through the night. The bathroom was clean and roomy; and we got upgraded to a jacuzzi tub, which was nice and relaxing after a long day of exploring the city. The location was great, we walked to a lot of places, it was right in the city. Overall I would recommend this place for a few days to spend in the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    2.5
    VERY POOR HOSPITALITY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! , PLS. SAFEGUARD THE OTHERS FROM SUCH ENFORCED RESIDENCE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    , SS MR.SAI @ THE RECEPTION WANTS TO CALL A POLICE , SINCE I REQUESTED MY DETAIL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!it is not a HOTEL , JUST

    extremely poor and beyond our expetation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    Good for about 100 dollars/night
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No value for money. Damn expensive at 250+ dollars per night. Small rooms and beds. In the name of breakfast, they serve pre-packaged cornflakes, cereals and oats at the reception desk.

    In room facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.3
    Friend my staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super Overpriced. Bathroom not super clean; old bath, toilet leaking or just old pee on the floor

    Friend my staff. Walking distance from union square. Free parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Location is very convenient for people with itineraries in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is rather small and well-worn. Breakfast options are way too limited.

    Location is very convenient for people with itineraries in the SOMA district, such as the Dore Alley Fair and the Folsom Street Fair. The staff is helpful and kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Great place for a quick stay😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cramped but the price and location you really couldn't beat it. Clean not fancy. Safe. Nice staff.

    Great location close to public transportation. Decided to walk around find a breakfast location because there were so many choices. Covered parking which was the main reason we chose it. I'm not sure how safe it is at night but we had a small baby so we were in the hotel all evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.0
    Location with free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sticky nightstand, old tv, it really could use a makeover. Also the cleaning ladies are way too early and keep knocking on the door.

    Location with free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.0
    Basic, no frills, parking included.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy street, uncomfortable bed and pillow, outside corridor. Breakfast was a joke. Old pastry and watered down coffee.

    Price. parking included.basic but clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.8
    The ONLY reason to stay at this property is that you can't afford anyplace else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels and sheets were the only clean items in the guestroom. The carpet was disgusting. The furniture was covered with a patina of dirt, black at the floor level and almost clean on the top surface. It was so dirty and run down that my wife decided to sleep in the back seat of the rental car...............

    Nice, helpful, accommodating staff. Parking was convenient, if you are lucky enough to get a parking space; first come, first served................

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.0
    Basic. No comforts. Without big expectations, OK for night or two. Wih a short walk, close to public
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, we booked this place for a couple factors: Parking and breakfast. Both of which were...well, OK. Don´t expect any comforts. This hotel provides the very basics. If you are lucky (and I guess we were), you can occupy one tight spot in their very restricted parking garage. Albeit, we had a big car, but we had tried to work all that out ahead of time, and were very surprised upon arrival that had we arrived a bit later, we may have never had a parking space, which is really important in SanFran! The rooms, too, very basic, somewhat mildew-smelly but OK...we survived. Don´t know if I would recommend this place to others, but you have to consider the alteratives, I suppose... Breakfast: gert. Plastics, packaged goods and a few fresh fruits. We found it amusing. Took our trays to the room, as explained (no place to sit anywhere at the reception)... It was like camping out! Access to the city is more complicated than we had expected. You´ll have to walk about 10 minutes to public transport and figure out the city´s complex transport system. The hotel was of no help whatsoever regarding. We ended up needing about an hour to figure it all out before finally accessing an underground into town. People are not helpful there in general. So we just did trial or miss until we finally were lined up with the appropriate tickets. An informative hotel staff certainly could´ve eased the blow!

    Well, the staff was OK at the desk. They could hardly answer a single question regarding sight seeing or public transport, and only responded to our "free parking" demand as promised with a blatant "First come, firt serve." but they were friendly at least. Upon arrival, we were told how it is with "breakfast", and the reception really said, "We are required to provide a tray and you can come here and get your breakfast and take it to the room." (see what we didn´t like for more details). It was easy to get to places if you don´t expect immediate access. The showers worked well. While we didn´t eat there, had I not been travelling with younger kids I would´ve gone to the Ethiopian restaurant up the road (direction of the city)...looked and smelled real yummy with average prices! And there´s a Trader Joe´s about a 7 minutes´ walk away (which ended up our main source of food nearby due to a lack of alternatives). As we were coming in from the LA area, we didn´t know if we´d make the hotel reception´s 10 p.m. curfew! And it WAS close!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    No handicap access to rooms.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no handicap access , all rooms are up two flights of stairs. I sent a note with reservations saying we are handicapped and no one contacted us . The man helped us going in, but not there to help leaving. It should say no disability access on your website. .

    The man working there was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable bedroom and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Even when the doors were closed you could still hear some noise from outside. The breakfast wasn't the healthiest and there was no gym at the hotel.

    Good value for the money, comfortable bedroom, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    2.5
    Not for Family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room smelled really bad couldn't breathe

    Nowhere does it tell you that it's right next to a strip club and you have homeless people camped out in tents all around the inn.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location to walk downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was minimal, at least Raisin Bran and milk, but no tables or chair, you have to take it to tour room. Lots of homeless around the neighbourhood (seems like in most of SF), which does not give a very positive feeling, especially as they go through garbage and the streets are quite messy. We live in a city bigger than SF and homelessness is not such a big issue.

    Beds were comfortable, the bathroom area separated from the sink, which is always nice for two people. There seems to be parking for everyone even though they say first come, first serve. It is a 20 min walk to Union Square and, easy access to bus 47 ($2.50), which takes you directly to Fisherman's Wharf. You can then leasurely walk back to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Decent location, but somewhat over-priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator in a 3 storied building, carrying luggage to the top floor was inconvenient. Some traffic noise from the busy road outside. Rooms need better sound-proofing. Overall, felt a bit over-priced given these issues. Last but not the least, the cleaning staff needs to be told to be more careful - they left my room door unlocked and open on one of the days when I was away, with all my luggage and belongings exposed to anyone who might have walked in before I returned around 8 PM. Thankfully, I was lucky not to have lost anything.

    Location was close enough to downtown. Walking distance from Civic Center. Room was okay, cleaned daily. Breakfast was basic but sufficient. Staff was cooperative in general.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Good, enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have extra pillows for the bed. (E.g 4 Would be good as their pillows are quite flat)

    The cleanliness of the place and the friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.1
    Good for hardy travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sure it's a little old and worn but it's clean.

    A great location in San Francisco if you already know the city, and the price can't be beat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    4.6
    Wait A Minute!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like them putting an extra $100.00 hold on my credit card during my stay! I hated that the t.v. played some stripped down version of basic cable that played prerecorded loops of shows from that channel, i.e. back to back southpark, but not actually comedy central! SIDENOTE: BOOKING.COM should be aware of these negative things and show these details before we book. 😕

    Clean quite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    5.4
    Its good for passing true, but not for more than 1 night, very friendley on the check in,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very mutch noise from traffic even when you lay on the other side, a bad sight from the room. Breakfest is really nothing, 1 cake, cornflakes and a drink, nothing fresh no bread or nothing

    The hotel was not bad, but a little expensive for the location and the looks. Big bathroom, the fridge made a lot of noise and could be better replace or change of location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed staff did not care our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our toilet almost overflowed after being at the hotel one and half days. We had to use other bathroom. Staff told us that it was cause of overuse of toilet tissue and said so in a very rude manner. We were only in the room an evening and left early next morning and came back later in the night, thus did not overuse any tissue. We asked for some compensation and they were not understanding and it was obvious they just put us off. We have stayed her three times before, so somewhat loyal but they did not care.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    6.3
    CLOSE DOWNTOWN BUT MUST BE BETTER CLEAN
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff should be more kind to customer and if you get in hotel, they should be expected smiling to customer. Bathroom has better renewed or ventilator shoul be in place because it smells bed

    The hotel is very close Downtown

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I indicated there were 3 guests checking in but was only provided one queen bed and room was rather small. Walking distance to a Bart station and if you need a little workout, you can walk to union square and even fishermans wharf.

    Great location!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.3
    Affordable, clean, secure, and in a good location for my needs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice staff, easy to get to, towels were plush and not like a thin sheet! The little refrigerator was handy and cold when I got to the room. It is a small Inn but in a good location. Trader Joes and Costco are a block or two away. There is a Safeway a half mile away as well as a great gym (SF Fitness, 4 blocks away).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.5
    The cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was packaged oatmeal, cereal, pastries. The homeless were lying practically in driveway. It's across Hannigan from the Salvation Army who gives out free meals which the homeless eat on sidewalk in front of entrance.

    The cost. Rooms very small but comfortable. Parking free -sheltered and watched.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast and hotel stuff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small. Sink was inside the room, not bathroom. Walls were thin so it is quite noisy. Smell of the room was bad.

    Breakfast and hotel stuff was nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    5.8
    Clean,prompt response to questions or requests .
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not really appetizing or healthy ! Cannot really call it continental when your menu includes danish, cereal and coffee !!

    Clean,prompt response to questions or requests .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Loved the location, the room was very clean and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't wotk and the clock radio kept turning on by itself.

    Loved the location, the room was very clean and the staff was super nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold on wallpaper and around fans! Decor was old! Not enough blankets.

    Staff was friendly!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Dated, not upscale
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dated, not upscale

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Friendly straff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was of low quality.

    Friendly straff, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    It was great overall. This is my second time booking at the San Francisco Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. It is very limited and it is hard to get out of your stall because of space

    I liked the quantity of sheets on the bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean and with refrigerator, microwave, coffee make, tv.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was a bit too hard.

    Clean and with refrigerator, microwave, coffee make, tv. Good price. Free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    It was very clean e everything was new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from center.

    It was very clean e everything was new.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    street noise

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    We were upgraded to a nicer cleaner room and staff is great
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there a club next to the hotel and the music is loud at night

    We were upgraded to a nicer cleaner room and staff is great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Clean, convenient, great parking (free)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit pricey

    Clean, convenient, great parking (free)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    It served the purpose of clean and cost effective
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aging needs upgrades

    Room clean bed comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit on the dark side with poor lighting Nowhere to eat breakfast

    Helpful staff Help yourself to breakfast in the morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice room and staff
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking inadequate

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking based on availability, good position close to bus stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice motel with nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The area was pretty rough. Not a lot of restaurants and shops close by

    Nice motel with nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standing breakfast with limited choice of food.

    Free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay will use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small but cozy

    Place was clean near to bus stop friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: