Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 3 stars

487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940, USA

#8 of 67 hotels in Monterey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1027 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Very attractive room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was NO air conditioning. I guess I didn't read that. We definitely needed that. We were on the 1st floor, so we didn't feel safe to keep our patio door open.

    The hotel was very different. The lobby was the old Victorian house, and the rooms were a newer wing. The breakfast was delicious! We were able to walk to the Cannery and feel safe. It had a nice underground parking garage.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable. Tried to charge me for parking when booking website said price included parking. Complained & charge was refunded but still.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Very nice accommodations. Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that we had to pay $15/night for parking.

    Very friendly, helpful staff, location was excellent. Walking distance to Cannery Row and Fisherman’s Warf.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Clean, friendly, and basic. Research carefully before booking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are a bit dark. limited options to prepare snacks in your own room. No air conditioning (this can be important). Parking fees. Breakfast very basic with sausage and bland omelette the only cooked option. No attached restaurant, no room service. Getting your luggage through all the doors which require your room key can be a pain.

    Bed very comfortable. The cheese and wine hour each afternoon is a nice touch. Room rates are OK but there are a lot of add on's, including $15 a night parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    awesome for the price we paid. We didn’t need anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except dude in room above us, which had nothing to do with place but I think he must’ve been doing burpees and jumping jacks at 6 AM nonstop so we couldn’t sleep. Also, I went through booking.com. It was $189/night plus tax=$210. No cancellation/not refundable. I called the facility and I couldn’t understand the girl’s name (like Mayar??) but she said if I book through her she has same room for $220 BUT she’ll apply her employee discount and get me online rate of $189 plus taxes fees...=$261 or $271...but you get the opportunity to cancel if needed. she sounded very shady and persistent that I get it from her vs online and I said I’ll call back. She said ok but cross your fingers that it will still be available then. I said well if not then for that price I’ll go to the upscale hotels like Monterey Plaza and hotel. Ended up

    Easy Parking access, even if $15/night. Small and quie hotel. Close Proximity to Cannery Road. Good Breakfast. Clean and roomy rooms. Balcony. Fireplace. Comfy bed. Nice large desk+mini fridge and coffeemaker. Complimentary Wine and cheese every afternoon. Friendly staff. Even if something wasn’t available in room, you’ll get it if you ask for it (i.e. razor, toothbrush...). Allowed us earlier check in and later check out. Ability to call another room and deal with pain in the booty guests. No ac in room but fan was in closet. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Excellent from start to finish!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It should be mentioned that the access to the garage is through a steep slope up and then down. For low slung vehicles, the front bumper and then the exhaust catches. A warning for low slung vehicles could be posted on your site.

    Everyone was friendly and professional. The location is excellent for bars and restaurants in Cannery Row and Fisherman’s Wharf. The free wine and cheese in the afternoon is a lovely bonus, and a way to speak to other travellers. As returning guests we received a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    The hotel, while not very updated is very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Suite with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is very tight, and if you get in too late, you will have to park in the street.

    The hotel, while not very updated is very clean. The room was huge and comfortable. The location was amazing. It is only about 2-3 blocks away from Cannery row and the Aquarium. But if you have kids, be forwarned, you will be huffing up a slight hill.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    3.3
    Don't even think about this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Victorian" lobby photo extremely misleading- this is not an inn by any stretch of the imagination-nor where you will be staying. Preposterous rates to stay in a 1980's era adjoining property with old lumpy mattresses and dated - not "victorian"- fixtures. Plus additional daily parking fee. Paint smell lingered from ongoing painting during tourist season ( couldn't wait until winter?) And at least 4 different types of "king" rooms makes booking an intended room a crap shoot. Meh breakfast with items not replenished. Took 3 calls over 2.5 hrs to front desk to get a blanket from an indifferent staff person. Came away with distinct feeling of being fleeced.

    Ok location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Charming location just off the main street in Cannery Row.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing negative to say.

    This is a wonderful boutique style hotel walking distance from Cannery Row. The setting is excellent and the hotel is very attractive. I noticed there were a number of repeat visitors staying there at the same time. Based on my experience, I can see why. The beds, pillows and room were very nice. Added touch was the wine and snack gathering in the lounge every afternoon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    It was ok. Would not stay again as there are other and better choices in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced at $300 a night - even during the jazz festival. Tired and dark property with a fake Victorian decor that makes everything look cheap.

    The room was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice, but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking below the hotel was 15 dollar per night, a bit ridiculous. We wanted to do the laundry at this hotel because we had been travelling for quite some time already, but they charged a lot of money for that. So we just picked 7 pieces and paid 43 dollar to have them clean it. That was a bit disappointing.

    Clean, spacious room. What we liked the most was the fact that there were two sinks. There was a bathroom with a sink, toilet and bath/shower, and outside that bathroom was another sink. Very convenient. Location is good, and there were a lot of choices for breakfast. Remember to buy your tickets for the aquarium at the front desk, saves a lot of time since you don't have to wait in line at the aquarium. We recommend taking a whale watching tour in Monterey!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay. Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Suite with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving! We would loved to have stayed longer! Monterey is expensive to stay in the centre.

    Great location, walking distance from Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. Plenty of parking. Huge comfortable room with a balcony. Friendly and welcoming staff. Good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Location, friendly staff, large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated but it kind of adds to the look of the place.

    Location, friendly staff, large rooms. Loved the fireplace (just wish we stayed long enough to put it to use). Balcony was a bonus too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Location was great walking distance to cannery row and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost was high for an older property BUT I realized that all of the properties except a Few are older in the Monterey area and the cost was on par w the other hotels plus it was a great location so worth the cost

    Location was great walking distance to cannery row and restaurants fisherman’s wharf

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    The room was clean and very comfortable with the gas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying $15 a day for parking. Shower not very powerful.

    The room was clean and very comfortable with the gas fireplace being a highlight. The Coffee maker was lovely. Breakfast staff were accommodating. Very easy walk to Cannery row.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    It was nice, although we tried to light the fireplace, but the lighter wouldn't work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the parking garage needs to be fixed. The driveway has a huge "hump" before going down into the garage itself and my BMW bottomed out each time I drove in and out. The hotel should be held responsible for the damages to the underside of my car.

    The fireplace in the room, although we couldn't light it because the lighter wouldn't work. So, in that sense, the fireplace was a waste.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Quite a standard hotel but in aquifer location on Monterey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost $15 extra, bathroom was dated with very “interesting” tiling by the bath. Ground floor room which meant that people above sounded like a herd of elephants

    Quite a standard hotel but in aquifer location on Monterey. Staff were helpful .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Location is fantastic for cannery row activities.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was bad. Very low shower head and the hand held shower part leaked and sprayed water all over.

    Location is fantastic for cannery row activities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Quaint hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be accessed from the street - while there was no secure / gated / reception access there was apparently security in the car park area but we didn’t see anyone. While the breakfast and location was good the hotel plus parking makes it a little pricy so we would not stay again.

    The hotel is 2 blocks away from Cannery Row so is very conveniently located. The room was well appointed but the fireplace key wasn’t where it should have been - we found it when we were packing up. Breakfast was delightful - enough space for all and a lot of choice. Location was quiet so we got a good nights sleep.there is an underground car park which is charged at $15 per day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    A great clean relaxing place! Will definatly go back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When the room was cleaned our used glasses and plates were not picked up.

    Love the wine and cheese hour. Great breakfast. Perfect location. Staff very welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Love Monterey, great restaurants and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little street noise if you get a room up front.

    Large suite,comfy beds and friendly staff. Having underground parking is a huge plus. Free breakfast had plenty of options and very good, we travel a lot so we have seen the other side of that. Hotel is right in the heart of the best restaurants, everything is walking distance even the wharf. We walk a lot but we are 70 so younger folks definitely can walk this whole area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fleas in the room where a pet had obviously been on the bed cover.

    A pet had obviously been in our room on the ground floor, it is a ‘pet friendly hotel’, but we were bitten by fleas. We shall never stay in a ‘pet friendly hotel’ again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Aside from the above comments, stay was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need updating. In poor condition. Tv remote needed to be replaced. Coffee maker didn’t work.

    Location bed was comfortable breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Liked the area try the 17 mile drive well signed around Monterey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing all good.

    Excellent room with door to large roof terrace it was supposed to be shared but knowone else used it. Free wine and cheese reception from around 4.30pm every day. Good breakfast also free. Large underground car park so car off the road. Central position close to seafront and attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location good partial ocean view, staff was nice and...
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking is expensive I’m from Monterey and never paid for parking outside the street and garage parking for cannery row.

    Great location good partial ocean view, staff was nice and loved the wine and cheese hour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Awesome stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little difficult to get in and out of. My car got stuck due to the entrance/exit being so steep. Should offer alternative parking for some vehicles.

    Overall, great stay. Complimentary wine and cheese was a great addition.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints

    The room was big, had a fireplace. There was also a little sitting area outside. The breakfast was nice and they also offered a wine and cheese hour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Relatively low water pressure in shower, but probably a consequence of the region and not the hotel.

    Location one block off from Cannery Row was nice. Parking structure below facility made trips simple - no valet but modest daily parking fee. Complimentary pinot grigio also a nice surprise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    The 3 night stay was relaxing and comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only window was the balcony door. It would have been nice to have another small window. We were not informed ahead of the nightly pet fee or the nightly parking fee.

    The room was as shown in the photos. When we arrived and entered our room we were greeted with a bottle of wine, a tiny box of chocolate and a small pet dish with dry food. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay with everything we needed. Friendly staff too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Complementary wine and cheese were an unexpected additional bonus. Very comfortable room with a good shower too. Breakfast had plenty of choice. There was also free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Suite with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was average

    Comfortable stay in a large room. Gas fireplace was a nice addition and beds were very comfortable. Located within walking distance of Cannery Row

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Great Hotel - Thoughful Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel knew it was an anniversary trip for us and made an extra effort to make it special, thank you. The location was great, near to Cannery Row and the afternoon tea was a real treat. Breakfast was extensive and yummy. Staff polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Me, my man and my dog give this plac e 2 thumbs up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure was low and there wasnt much breakfast selection, and no microwave in the rooms but thats all i can really complain about.

    I love the view i love the closness of the beach and its dog friendly and they give you dog bowls and food and wine for a low cost and the staff was amazing, very comfortable, very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very outdated. The shower head was horrible and didn’t regulate temperature- I either got burned or froze.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Comfy bedding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Really lovely room and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating/air conditioning didn’t work. Fortunately we could use the fireplace.

    Really lovely room and good location. Some litter avoiding measures at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful, friendly and safe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maybe I'll be on the top floor next time so I don't hear people above me.

    Loved the room with the fireplace! And the bed was very comfortable! A quick walk to the beach, Cannery Row, and the Aquarium! I didn't even rent a car for my stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall a wonderful stay - would not hesitate to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast eggs and sausage were pretty bad. Adding frozen strawberries for the Belgian Waffles would have helped a lot.

    Bed very comfortable - great pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Monterey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable. Nice to have the balcony to sit on and relax. Breakfast was pretty tasty. The proximity to the Aquarium and Cannery Row was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel just a very short walk from the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel just a very short walk from the town. Really spacious and comfortable hotel room, including a couple of books to leaf through on the town and local restaurants. The buffet breakfast was good with fresh omelettes, waffles, crispy bacon, sausages and all the usual breads, croissants and so on. Highly recommended, and we will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Great Location and Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was tasty and not excessive. Could have used a few more breakfast options. Location was fantastic. Walking distance to the aquarium, Cannery Row and all the restaurants we ate at. We never moved the car once from arriving to departing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in the center of Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked basically everything about that hotel. It was easy to check in, the receptionists were very friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and oh my good, the beds were even more! The hotel is only 5 minutes walk away from everything you have to see in Monterey. It's close to the marina, to the aquarium and to the famous Cannery Row. With that is also closely located to many restaurants and bars. The breakfast was great, especially the waffle maker. Unfortunately we had nly for ne night there! But if we should have more time for Monterey in the future we know where to stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Very welcoming receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but the room was t quite big enough for the number of guests that stayed.

    Very welcoming receptionist. Great comfortable room, we only stayed one night but would happily of stayed in that room longer if we had to and we were a family of 4 with 2 teenage boys. Location about 20 minutes walk to the aquarium and The Cannery. There was also a supermarket in walking distance if needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Description said every room had a balcony - we didn’t. Despite prior request for gluten free options at breakfast, the hotel didn’t accommodate my request at all. Not even gf bread for toast. Seems ridiculous to me that someone could not go out and buy a single gf product to offer for the two breakfasts I had there?? GF crackers are very easy to find to offer with the wine too? Step up your game would be my advice as the hotel is lovely and it’s a shame!

    Close to Cannery Row, the hotel was nicely appointed with a spacious room and comfy beds. Wine and cheese in the afternoon a nice touch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was clean, comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee was bland and week. It is nice when a hotel serves really good coffee. milk and Cookies at night with the wine and cheese for the kids would have been great too.

    Could easily walk everywhere from hotel. The wine and cheese was nice. The convenience of a hot breakfast was nice too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    Look above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look above,

    Eggs were rubbery. Sausage ok, yoghurt good. Coffee bad. Wine and cheese nice. The best part about staying here is the location and the rooms are a decent size, we we had fun renting bicycles for a couple of hours and saw the restaurant where they filmed big little lies. Beautiful stunning scenery. All the restaurants are overpriced but they come with many view tables on the water. They charge an extra $15 night for parking so for 2 nights it’s$412 or so. Bed was comfortable and room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable experience that fit our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower had low water pressure, and was awkward having two shower heads coming from different angles.

    Bed and blankets were comfortable, and we really enjoyed the view that we had from being on the corner room. Enjoying being welcomed to a wine and cheese event as we checked in. The location was probably the best part of the stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Very expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More updated carpet and style of the rooms. They are clean enough but pretty outdated.

    They were nice enough to comp us for a room upgrade due to the amazing amount of noise coming from the room above ours. But it was so noisy that we did not sleep at all the first night. The fireplaces were nice enough to look at, but provided no warmth. If you are looking for that warm up by the fire feel, these won't get the job done.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    Other than the heater, or lack thereof, the facility was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed two nights with my daughter. Upon turning in the first night the room was a comfortable temp...however we woke up cold in the middle of the night. Regardless of the temp on the screen and being able to adjust the temp, it did no good. The room stayed 61 degree's! I spoke with reception in person before breakfast and agreed to meet a facilities person in the room to work on it. He played around with the screen for a few minutes until detaching the control unit from the wall, rerevealing a switch in the "off" position. Why would this have been done I can only guess. Maybe to save energy in a room not being used often? I was told assistance was available 24/7 and I could have called during the night. Umm,the room should have been checked and made ready beforehand! It wasnt faulty equipment, it was failure in procedure.

    Walking distance to aquarium & shops, and an ok breakfast selection for convenience to start the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were in awesome, in passing I had mentioned my day and they took upon them self to send a bottle of wine and personalized note from a small convo. Truly above and beyond, it was awesome!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Plenty of space, quiet and super close to great restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked about calling San Francisco and was told it wasn’t a long distance call.......turns out it was long distance!! To their credit, the charge for the call was removed before I even queried it! Great customer service.

    Excellent location.........close to cannery row but lovely and quiet. Good breakfast and helpful staff. Big room and very comfortable and cosy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean and friendly - a sensible and satisfactory choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Can't criticise anything - it was what we expected from the website and other traveller reviews:

    We stayed for 9 nights, so we reckon we tested it well! Reception and dining room/lounge are in a Victorian to which wings of bedrooms have been added. You need a room card to access the buildings from the street or garage or from the outer doors of each wing, so good security. Rather traditional decor, unexciting and slightly old-fashioned rather than obviously Victorian, and kept very clean by truly hard-working cleaning staff. We were on the 1st floor, served by a lift from ground floor and the basement parking garage. Our room was a double Queen with a large window and window seat, and a gas fire. The beds were comfortable, and there were plenty of plugs for laptops, phones and cameras. The bathroom was generous in size and there were plenty of towels, but the shower flow is not great. The breakfast buffet offers a good choice of breads and muffins, range of cereals, porridge, yoghurts, fresh fruit, preserves and the usual make your own waffle option. Savoury food is bulk buy, ready-cooked then microwaved, omelets and sausage, which means hot food is available right through the breakfast time. Wine and cheese each afternoon was a good chance to meet people. As visitors to the US this is something we enjoy, we meet nice people and we learn from them about different experiences and places. The hotel is close to the nice neighbourhood restaurants on Lighthouse and to those on Cannery Row, some touristy , some more up-market. We liked not having to drive to find somewhere to eat each night, after a long day out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    The bed, pillows and bedding very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay $15.00 for parking

    The bed, pillows and bedding very comfortable. The temperature in the room was perfect. There was a fireplace in the room! The breakfast menu was simple and very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    The location, price, and size of room (two room suite) was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, price, and size of room (two room suite) was fantastic! To be one block off of Cannery Row and the beach made the weekend getaway so much more enjoyable and relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location and great for family with young kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smells like hair oil. The interior is dated.

    Location is great! Walking distance to aquarium and beaches. The breakfast waffle bar is nice! Staff are really friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location and very comfortable room. For excellent rating provide more blankets!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The driveway into the parking lot scraped the bottom of my car going in and out. My car is not low. This needs to be fixed. I was cold, there was one thin blanket on the bed, we asked for more blankets and got one another thin blanket. They said they had no more blankets because all the other guests were requesting blankets. This caused me to wake up in the middle of the night cold. They need more blankets.

    The room and location is excellent. The beds are comfortable. The breakfast was good with a large variety of food, both hot and cold. For the price you can't beat it, although for the price it should include parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel and I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view of the ocean

    Coffee was great. They also gave me water when requested and when I asked for extra blanket they were quick to bring it to my room. Staff was very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    That we didn't know prior to booking that there was a...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we didn't know prior to booking that there was a parking & pet fee. Disappointed that we did not get our $30 pet fee deposit credited as both dogs are non shedding and the room was left immaculate

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Loved the room, staff, breakfast amenities and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last night there were guests across that were very disruptive. They kept us up till 1:30 am, slamming doors, cussing and talking loud. They kept going in and out and you could hear them in the hallway. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. Some people just don't know how

    Loved the room, staff, breakfast amenities and location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    The front desk was friendly and helpful with our arrival as...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk was friendly and helpful with our arrival as well with our checking out! also thank you for letting us know that highway 1 bridge was out. The staff that was very friendly as courteous. We will be returning on our next road trip. Jose R.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Great place for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like to pay extra for parking

    The room was amazing! Great fireplace, beautiful, comfortable and cozy. They even left a dog basket for our dog! The breakfast was great and the afternoon wine and cheese was fun and great for my family. Great location...you can walk to the Aquarium and the Cannery from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Location is great, walking distance to Cannary Road and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    About 11% tax added on bookings.com price and $15 a day for parking.

    Location is great, walking distance to Cannary Road and Aquarium. The free breakfast was solid!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location for families going to the Aquarium
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows are not sound proof and the street is a bit noisy. The breakfast could be better, not many options.

    The decoration, room size, fireplace and location were very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well maintained and clean. Lovely room. Really enjoyed the fireplace. Nice breakfast offered to get your day started. Staff very friendly and accommodating through out the property. Short walk to Cannery Row and the Aquarium.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    For the price it is good for the closeness to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Microwave in the room would be nice.

    Location was great and the room was quiet. Breakfast was okay but a bit crowded in the dining room for a buffet style meal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have a outdoor sitting area with a fire pit, but I won’tcomplain As the lobby had a fireplace and sitting area. It was nice tone walking distance to the wharf,etc

    Loved the wine and cheese in the early evening. The breakfast was goid, but not the real healthy kind I like. ( I am just a health food person). The coffee was really good and I have today the staff were VERY courteous and hard working. It was my birthday and there was a bottle of wine for me inour room when we arrived

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Will definitely book again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time we have stayed somewhere with no complaints:)

    The staff was excellent. Very knowledgeable. The room was cozy. Very clean and 3 minute walk to cannery row!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    The room I stayed in was much more than I expected at a best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I stayed in was much more than I expected at a best western hotel. It was spacious but felt cozy and great for couples. Close to the main attractions in Monterey, about 10 minutes walk to the aquarium at a normal pace. Plenty of parking spaces but the big bump at the entrance of the parking garage might scratch the bottom of smaller cars.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast and wine & cheese events daily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    $15/day Fee for parking seemed excessive for off season, especially for a weeks stay.

    Excellent breakfast and wine & cheese events daily. The location is perfect for walking to the Cannary area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    Had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair dryer in room

    Breakfast buffet has very diverse choices. Loved having a working fire place in the room. Staff were all very professional, helpful, and cheerful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in a great location!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking spots were small and precariously close to large pillars. I parked outside when it was full one night. I talked to the woman at the desk and she offered a spot in another location. Since we were leaving in the morning, I requested that they just refund my parking fee for that night. She did.

    The evening reception was a pleasant surprise. Our room had a fireplace and a sitting area in the corner with a window that had a small ocean view! This hotel was highly rated, and having visited, I totally understand why!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    I'd stay there again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower head little low for a 6+ footer, (wet) towels rack hangs right over toilet paper, limited breakfast selections, - minor quibbles. (all too common) slow household toaster - really frustrating

    Comfortable bed, TV channel guide (which you often do not get at hotels), comfortable room temp, free USA Today, wine/cheese hour, good streaming shower, tasty breakfast sausage, pet friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    If not for the thoughtless family above me, I would have enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the beds were extremely comfortable, I didn't get any sleep because I could hear the family above us stomping back and forth in their room. Along with their child who jumped from the bed, ran across the room, to jump on the couch to then jump off the couch to run back to the bed. And so on, and so on, for HOURS. I let the front desk know, but nothing changed so I don't think they actually did anything about the situation. I doubt I would stay there again, but if I did, I would request a top floor room. For almost $300 a night, one would think that the floor/ceiling would be a little more sound proof.

    The beds were very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast had many different options. The eggs, sausage and French toast were a delightful surprise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    Premium paid for holiday weekend was not worth it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy street side room location. We took our Golden Retriever so they only designate certain ground floor rooms. The flooring was laminate which makes sense for pets but you could hear the dogs' nails clicking on the flooring at night when she moved around. The sliding glass door out the back did not latch. We didn't have any valuables and were only staying a night so I didn't sweat it. The noise coming from the room above was as loud as the street noise and I believe the upstairs guest was just walking around or taking a shower. Every time he/she moved around at night I could hear it loud and clear. We paid premium for Holiday rates, $317 with dog and it wasn't worth it. $100 less it would be worth it.

    Nice room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Overpriced sub-luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overcooked breakfast in crowded room. Multiple extra unexpected charges including parking. Awful tap water, yet no bottled water in room.Do

    Location next to Cannery Row, large room with balcony

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    A definite do again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but we really enjoyed the afternoon cheese and wine social. The location was just a couple of blocks to Cannery Row and an easy walk to the Monterey wharf. The room was large with a fireplace and very clean. There is paid parking that is easy to get into and out of.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: