Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Village Inn - Blowing Rock 3 stars

7876 Valley Boulevard, Blowing Rock, NC 28605, USA

#7 of 11 hotels in Blowing Rock

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 329 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The back deck was covered with leaves and spider webs and sticks. It wasn’t really useable for sitting out on. It should have been cleaned.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a thing.

    A fully-remodeled motel in the old school with parking right outside door. Pleasant little brook runs through back of property that you can enjoy from private deck off your room. Room with queen bed was roomy with plenty of storage space and a sitting area off the main bedroom. Staff was friendly and courteous, and there is a cheese and wine gathering in the clubhouse in the afternoon. Our preferred location when traveling through the mountains.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice overnight stay. Tough to judge the hotel as the weather was awful and couldn't do much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little tight in terms of space. The place bills itself more like an Inn, but it still has a bit of a motel vibe.

    There was a nice wine happy hour for guests. The room was clean. The location was good. An excellent restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful short break in a fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful room, super comfortable bed. Loved the patio at the back of the room and the rocking chairs. Lovely scenery on the door step. Plenty of restaurants close by. Pretty town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    It is a older place with an excellent location, however; they need more staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need more staff. Could not check in at 3:00 pm because room wasn't ready. Room wasn't ready until 4:50. Only two housekeepers and one person working the front desk on a day when 28 units were sold out. The front desk person was only working his second day and we saw him take 3 or 4 reservations on the phone, setup evening snacks, start a fire in the fire place, and check in 28 different groups of people. Too much for one person to do at front desk.

    We like the price and we were only a ten minute walk from the shops in Blowing Rock.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Great property but management needs to concentrate on details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Great receptionist/breakfast and cookies! Room lacked ice bucket, hair dryer, iron, and cleaning crew did not clean our room or replace towels, coffee etc. Great property overall but not being managed to level of detail required for our future business.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Creek social hour cookies wine all complimentary.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little small. View could have been improved with a little landscape screening

    Creek social hour cookies wine all complimentary. Comfortable bed.deck off room. Lots of bathroom supplies

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    a weekend to remember
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The GFI outlet in bathroom didn’t work. Thankfully I brought my own blow dryer and was able to use outlet in bedroom. The claw foot bathtub was beautiful, but sat high off floor, making it difficult to get in. I literally tripped the first time I used it.

    The bed was VERY comfortable! The view from back porch area was relaxing especially since their was a creek. The pond at front was very nice as well and property was beautifully landscaped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Quaint, comfortable, modern access with wifi and cable, small town feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in room could have been brighter and we found bath tub difficult to get in and out of and we are not old people. I liked the concept of the claw foot tub but felt a shower would have been better and safer.

    Happy hour was lovely meeting new people and talking about the area. Did not stay for breakfast and just grabbed some fruit to go. Loved our room on the creek. The rain did not permit us to take a walk to town or take advantage of our porch off the room or sitting areas by the lake. Little room on the side with an additional chair, fridge and coffee maker was lovely. We walked to dinner next store at Twigs, met local people and had a great experience overall. Would stay again. Price was right!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Would try another motel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed serious updating. The window drapes did not work. They were so old, the fabric almost came apart with handling.

    We did not have breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    A cute Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great except the bed. Too soft for me & my Husband. He felt like he was sinking which made me feel like I was on a slope.

    This place is cute & quaint! Loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Too short! We would love to have stayed longer! Will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was an all round great experience.

    Water features both the creek running behind our room and the pond with a fountain made our stay very relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Excellent, cute, very friendly, and very clean place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can say was missing was the towels were small. Big fluffy towels would have been perfect. But overall that was minor.

    It was a wonderful hotel. Very clean, nice staff. I loved how cozy it was. We will definitely stay there again!! She made cookies for us at 4:30. Everyone was just so nice! There was food to feed the ducks. They thought of everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Good getaway for an individual or couple, but fell short of our needs as a group.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked six (6) rooms. However, they were short-staffed so our rooms were not ready. I did not receive a receipt for the rooms. There is no desk clerk after 9:00pm. From the photos online, it appeared that there were two beds in a room, but there was only one, which I felt was deceptive. There were ants in our bathroom. Breakfast did not begin until 7:30am and we had to leave at 6:15am.

    The Village Inn was charming, and the desk clerk was very helpful. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Rooms are excellent, every detail is well thought out, the breakfasts were not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. Would rather not have had to pay at all for it than to have had the selection offered. Coffee was very good though and I appreciated that it was offered all day.

    The individual climate control In The bedroom was perfect for us as we like a room a tad bit cooler than most people do. The bathroom was cleaned really well and I greatly appreciate a well cleaned bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing time. Loved the evening by the fire in the lodge lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little soft. Some quirks like noisy heat unit, TV volume wouldn’t change, tub drained slow but each of these was addressed immediately when we brought them to the attention of the staff.

    The lodge lobby. Due to a rainy weekend we spent a greater amount of time here than we would otherwise. It felt very relaxed and homey.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Love the place, the location, the staff; but the cold was just unreal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so cold! I was up all night because I couldn’t get warm, even under the thick blankets on the bed. The floor was freezing cold when we got up and it was miserable getting out of the shower due to the room being so cold-STILL. We had the heat set on 74. It was FAR from that temperature. I understand it was 7 degrees outside, but the heating unit wasn’t enough for those temperatures. Or maybe it wasn’t on for long, before we got there. I was cold the minute we walked in, until the time we left Saturday morning at 9:30....

    Great room. Perfect for the price we paid. Staff was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice place with good lockation and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lacking protein foods

    Comfortable, clean place. Staff is friendly and helpful. The place is near downtown- walking distance and next door to my favorite restaurant, Twigs. Easy to find. Check out is at 11:00AM, which is a blessing compared to many other places that have earlier time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping staff did not keep the room stocked with toilet tissue and tissues. I had to go to the desk twice for more toilet tissue.

    Very good location. The room was very nice but small. I liked the deck overlooking the stream.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and great rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the location! It was within walking distance to downtown. The room was clean and beautiful, though it did need an extra chair. We had a fabulous time and would definitely book here again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Convenient location, quiet and nicely furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location, quiet and nicely furnished. View of the creek behind the property with a porch and an chairs. Room had small sitting room off the bedroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice if the GUIDE button on the TV's remote had worked.

    We loved the location of this property along with the cleanliness and comfort of our room. The bed was awesome! We will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nicely decorated room with a very comfortable bed and very nice bed linens. Would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend to family and friends!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    4.6
    Too many serious glitches to have a relaxing getaway as we had hoped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of workable heater and intermittent TV and hot water due to recent flooding in area--not told about these issues up front when checked in; college students working front desk and no maintenance available until next day; trash and food from previous guest left in room upon arrival

    Appearance of facilities--quaint, rustic; liked stone fireplace in breakfast area; easy walk to Main Street in Blowing Rock

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful Comfortable Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that I found that needed improvement was the parking. It is limited (1 spot per room located outside your room) and if there are people staying there that have more than 1 car for their room, then you run out of spaces. I think the motel should include in their instructions that you are allowed 1 parking spot per room and if you have more than 1 car then the second car will need to park on the side of the driveway or somewhere else instead of taking the parking spot of another room. (that's what happened to us). We came back after eating dinner and our spot outside our room had been taken. The one and only complaint for this whole trip.

    Loved everything about this beautiful Inn. Will definitely stay here again. Very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Shower was wonderful (great water pressure and shower head). Near shops and restaurants! Breakfast and Afternoon snacks were good! Delicious fresh baked chocolate chip cookies. Loved our trip!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Village Inn extended our stay in Blowing Rock and easy to attend App State game and drive BRP.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only mirror was in the bathroom. Need one more in bedroom.

    The bathroom was small but beautifully renovated. The shower and tub were roomy and the hot water came on instantly. The reading nook with easy chair was very much appreciated. The king bed was like a cloud.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    We stayed here 3 nights, had a king bed, mini fridge, coffee maker, deck, and parking right outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find, just a few blocks out of town, but the address Valley Blvd. is also 321. And their sign is hard to see when driving passed. So we passed it several times. Internet was poor but I found that if I went to my car right outside the door, I was able to get better internet. I hope they clean the rooms a bit more especially the sliding door tracks!

    The bed was comfy and the closet was big. Liked the deck and the staff was friendly. There is a Food Lion close by. The Inn has cheese , crackers, wine, chips set up around 4:30 pm and a nice fireplace. Views are nice out back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast was good and the evening happy hour was a pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in room 116. I needed a through cleaning.

    Breakfast was good and the evening happy hour was a pleasant surprise. The Appalachian students who staffed the front desk were very helpful and responded to all of our questions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed stay very much. Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed during the first snow of the season and it was very very windy. Heat acted up for a few minutes and took a while to heat up the room. Did not like having to only go right from the parking lot and making u-turns constantly.

    We stayed in room 103. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Wish we had stayed more than one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed seemed a bit soft and worn. We had a problem with hot water in the morning because apparently they had a flood the day before we arrived and it affected some electrical circuits. I was very pleased with the way they sincerely apologized and reconciled with us for the inconvenience.

    This was a great little find! As soon as we checked in there was a complimentary wine and cheese happy hour. Our room was perfect for us - a small sitting area with a microwave and fridge. There were rocking chairs on the back deck of the room and the staff was very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There had been a storm a day before we arrived. When we got up the next morning we had no hot water. It was quickly fixed and we were able to shower before we checked out.

    We loved the wine and cheese reception, the s'mores for the fire pit , and feeding the ducks. The decor is beautiful and our bed was quite comfortable! The staff were super nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyed our stay, but not sure I’d stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t get the room conveyed by Booking.com. However, room was comfortable.

    Staff was super friendly, room was a little small. Breakfast.....needs a little more variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing, safe and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were thin, could hear our neighbors in next room. They were polite, so it was fine.

    Loved the service, staff was so friendly and genuine. The rooms were decorated beautiful, felt like we were home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    I might go back there when I plan to go to the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed cover was too heavy and generated heat consequently not useful. There was no extra light blanket in the room. Although we had carried a light blanket with us, still if there had been one provided by the Inn it would have been helpful.

    The cleanliness of the bathroom, although being small, was excellent. Hot water, shampoo, soap, towels were all good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Rooms are quite small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet connection very slow and inconstant

    Rooms are quite small. Overall experience was good but we came with higher expectations. Breakfast very basic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing mountain retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was great

    Room was clean and felt like a mountain retreat. It is very convenient to Blowing Rock and Boone . We took a hike on the Moses Cone trails. Relaxing and nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    It was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny bathroom space. Room could use a remodel! When power went out the front desk employee did not know where the circuit breaker was and had to wait on help. Any one of the men/women staying there would have been able to "flip the switch". Consequently the Continental Breakfast had very slim pickins'.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Good
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff (young guy) at check in not friendly and not knowledgeable.

    Comfy beds, pet friendly, friendly front desk at check out good. At check in not so good!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    3.3
    It was barely acceptable and over-priced.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of space to put anything especially the postage stamp bathroom!!!!!

    Breakfast was available to us until11:00. Make-your-own-oatmeal and waffles plus yogurt, muffins, bagels, bananas, and orange juice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Bed was comfy and room was quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. No eggs and everything else seemed old. Wine was bottom shelf as well. We skipped breakfast and the happy hour on day two.

    Bed was comfy and room was quaint. Staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall very nice, neat place to stay. Unique charm.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and difficult to get ready in. My flat iron cord fell between the sink and wall in the tiny crack and I almost did not get it unstuck.

    There were a few unexpected "extras" that they had around the property that I didn't expect and they were just nice additions. Example: a fridge, microwave and keurig type machine in room. There was a coffee, hot tea bar in lobby and to top all that there was duck/ carp food to feed the pond animals. The back porch area was also very nice and the scenery out the window off the deck was beautiful. Beautifully maintained property overall, especially the grounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Very friendly,helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with beautiful claw foot tub was difficult to get and and out of with bad knee.

    Very friendly,helpful staff. Beautiful property with pond and ducks to feed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    We might go back when we visit Blowing Rock again, or we might try a place closer to towm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were good things about the Village Inn, and there were things that were less than desirable, too. On the good side, the rooms are charming, and there's a creek that runs behind the Inn that you can view from your rear deck. It's wonderful to sit there in the mornings with your coffee and just watch the creek flow. On the front side is a pond with a fountain, and there are ducks and fish living in the pond, which you can feed with provided vittles for them. Parking is right outside your front door, but there's only one spaces per room, so if somebody shows up with two vehicles, somebody else is screwed. It's reasonably well maintained for being an older facility, but the walls are very thin, and you can easily hear what's going on in adjacent rooms. The continental breakfast was okay, and you can even bake your own fresh waffles. They provide an afternoon snack which includes freshly baked cookies. The location is about three blocks downhill from the center of Blowing Rock, which means you either have to be up for the walk, or you have to drive and attempt to find a parking space downtown.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    While the property was clean, the staff friendly and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the property was clean, the staff friendly and the location good, I found the room to be very musty, so much so, that we ended up opening all the windows and had the fan blowing, instead of the air conditioner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Hope to be back one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved this hotel, small but perfectly formed. Friendliest staff on our trip, who were very helpful. Room was great, with large comfy bed and outside deck area overlooking garden at rear of property. Lake with seating benches at front of property - husband saw a Heron here and was very happy. Evening cheese and wine snack, with good quality wine and snacks available in the lounge are which was very comfortable and cosy. Breakfast was a cold buffet with option of a hot sausage sandwich. Location was great as easy walk into Blowing Rock, but away from the crowds (and the streets downtown can get very crowded at the weekend). Easy location to drive to with parking available outside the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    It was one of the best quick vacations we have ever had. We plan to return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room had a private quiet deck. The lodge had a large deck that overlooked a stream. Sitting by the lake was restful. The free breakfast and evening wine with cheese was very good. Beds were outstandingly comfortable. It was a very calm and a peaceful getaway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    It was very quiet, the staff was friendly and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stayed in was very small and cramped. It looked like we were in the smallest room in the inn. There was a king bed which was fine, but there was hardly enough room for the one chair in the room and there was no lamp on the table on one side of the bed. The bathroom was small with no room around the sink for anything. My wife had to put on her makeup on the deck. My biggest complaint was the size of the bath but I suppose it was a large as it could be with the space of that room.

    It was very quiet, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was good as well as the facility where breakfast was served. Overall staying there was a pleasant experience. I especially enjoyed the pond out front and the river that flowed on the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful area/place-Cleanliness, an issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom tub hadn't been washed for a while. There was a dirty ring around it. The floors hadn't been swept. There was a dirty towel left on the back of the bathroom door. Clean towels hadn't been left by housekeeping and the bed wasn't made. We informed a different attendant and towels were brought to the room but the floor wasn't swept or bed made. There was also a broken outlet cover with pieces on the floor, that was told to the attendant, as well. It wasn't swept up or cleaned up.

    The attendant, upon arrival, was wonderful. Pleasant, kind, helpful and knowledgeable. His attitude and demeanor made us want to come and stay, again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location next to the highway but surprisingly not noisy. Well appointed room, nice bathroom and a balcony with rocking chairs. The hotel lounge area in very comfortable with nice decor and furniture, this is an excellent choice for a stopover on your journey.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Great stay with our dog!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not much for breakfast for someone who has to eat gluten free. The only thing I could eat was yougart.

    Staff was wonderful. Very dog friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay. Disappointed in breakfast offering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms were small. Shower/tub was not handicap friendly. Would have been nice to have had a safety bar and safety mat to stand on. Eggs, Grits and Bacon for breakfast were not offered. We would have loved to have had this instead of waffles. Muffins were offered as well as waffles and cereal. It was good just wish we had more of a choice.

    Bed was okay. No complaints. Porch was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Had an enjoyable stay and would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The living room was too cramped, there was barely room to sit down and no view. Also the bathroom was small, toiletries had to go on the floor as there was nowhere to store them.

    In general the accommodations were good. The deck is a very nice feature. Nice view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful grounds, room, and common area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What didn't we like? We couldn't stay longer!

    Beautiful grounds, room, and common area. All the staff were friendly and helpful whenever we had a question. Short walk to historic Blowing Rock shopping and restaurants; short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    Neutral - For the Price it was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At first glance room appeared well refurbished with nice furniture, but actually was disappointing. Internet connection was bad, only one electrical socket which was in the bathroom; pedestal sink, so no where to put anything. Room smelled musty, ac rattled. Bed was not that comfortable. Wood floors with an area rug under the bed--rug looked very dirty so luckily had flip-flops to wear around the room. Tub/shower not inviting. Not really within walking distance to main part of town unless you're athletic.

    Nice deck with chairs & pretty creek view. Breakfast was continental as advertised and was decent. Wine & cheese at 5:00 was nice. Pretty lodge setting. Parking right outside the door (motel style).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.0
    Okay value but I wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is on a busy highway and our room was right next to a restaurant and ABC store. The room was very small, dark and musty smelling. Housekeeping didn't clean our room one day, and it was tough to get clean towels once they had left.

    The staff was friendly and personable. The breakfast was good (continental), and the happy hour wine and cheese was also a nice touch. The private decks and deck chairs are also very nice. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    It was our third stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time we had a room where the porch was facing other rooms. We prefer the rooms with porches that face the little creek in the back, but it was still a great room.

    It was our third stay. We really love the room. It is so cozy. We always stay there and then the next day we travel down the Blue Ridge Parkway to Ashville. Very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location, good breakfast, super friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt like the bedding on the beds was fairly cheap. For example, the dust ruffle wasn't an actual dust ruffle and was literally hanging on pieces off the bed.

    Loved having our own private deck. Nice breakfast every morning. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to Like!

    We loved it all. The bed was extremely comfortable,and the staff was very friendly.My husband and I can't wait to go back in Oct

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.5
    The bed was the best thing about the room.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was too small; very little room to move around. Only one side of the bed had electrical outlets. When we walked into the room there was a musty smell, the sliding glass door was open and the room was rather cold since it was a wet, dreary day. The heat unit took awhile to warm up the room. It is an older establishment so upgrading it would be very costly I'm sure. Would not stay here again.

    The bed was the best thing about the room. The view outside the sliding glass door was nice as there was a creek not too far from the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Wine and cheese in afternoon nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nowhere to put soap or shampoo while taking shower. A little hard to get in and out of the tub.

    Wine and cheese in afternoon nice. Loved pond and creek. Décor nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    Wine reception was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish there was more food at the breakfast, like more protein options.

    Wine reception was very nice. Staff were all great. The bed was super comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our HVAC unit was be Being held together with duct tape and rattled a lot but it worked fine. The bed in our room needs to be replace. It sags in the middle so it felt like I was sleeping in a hill all night and I woke up with terrible back pains.

    The location was great and the grounds were beautiful. It the weather was a little cool to enjoy them. The room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    6.7
    Not sure I would recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathrooms were small. The room heater wasn't very efficient.

    The breakfast was a sufficient continental meal, the evening reception was nice too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.8
    It was comfortable for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and dark. The web pictures made the property and the hotel look a lot nicer than it actually was.

    The bed was very comfortable and it was in walking distance to downtown, the staff were very friendly. It was nice to have deck to go out on. The stream was very nice to listen to.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.0
    2nd time staying here, not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not clean. there were cobwebs in every corner of the room, the bathroom mirror was crooked and the trim was broken. the floor was not vacuumed. the AC was covered in dust and inside the vents was black gunk. We stayed here a few years ago and the place was really nice however it seems to be getting a bit run down we will be staying elsewhere in the future.

    Staff was nice and the breakfast looked good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Bit of a Walk but Worth It
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unaware that the reception desk closed at 6 p.m. Fortunately the young woman on duty called my cell phone to let me know. Even more fortunately, I was close enough to make it on time.

    I'm a frequent visitor to Blowing Rock, but this was my first stay at the Village Inn. The sleeping area was good-size and the bed very comfortable. A small sitting room off the sleeping area held the usual minifridge and microwave, but the pod coffeemaker was a nice touch. The claw-foot tub in the bathroom required a wraparound shower curtain for a shower but presented no real problem. I wish I had time to enjoy the deck outside the slider. A short but steep walk up the hill takes you to the heart of town and several restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Blowing Rock!
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little small for more than one person. It was fine for me as a single, but I would hesitate to stay there with two or more. Because I was there off season, the lobby closed at 6 pm. If the lobby had been open and a fire in the beautiful fireplace, I would have liked to have taken advantage of that. I was expecting that to be the case when I got there.

    Very friendly, clean and the breakfast (am) and cheese, crackers & wine (pm) were a nice touch

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Old-fashioned charm in a lovely location
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO one in the office when I arrived at 7:30 pm Key was left in a drop box for me, and 2 other envelopes for other guests. One of the pillowcases was so worn it was fraying at the hem, but linens were clean. I don't like Keurig coffeemakers (which they had) since they are difficult to clean (water tank) and K-cups are not at all green - huge trash problem, since they cannot be recycled.

    old-fashioned charm, with modern conveniences - cable TV wi-fi, nice breakfast. Liked my little "balcony" that gave a nice view of a stream.The tile work in the bathroom of room 109 was beautiful, but the wallpaper was hideous and did not go with the tiles. Nice toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.7
    Very helpful and very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress is way too soft and ours was like a ski slope. We asked to change rooms and they accommodated. Location off highway so a little noisy.

    Very helpful and very nice staff. Large rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    We loved staying here and will be back again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The maid walked around all morning with a cell phone in one hand , trying to work with the other hand . In our room the bed looked like it was not made properly . The in room coffee never was refilled along with the soap and shampoo . The second day , the towels were left on the sink and not put on the towel bar .

    The location was great . Nice looking property . Updated bath rooms .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Great family or business lodge that's pet friendly!
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I only had a night there!

    They allowed us to check in early, staff was extremely friendly, clean, close to downtown Blowing Rock, easy check-in, pet friendly, DELICIOUS COFFEE, & REAL cream!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    10
    Cozy getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were excellent and really focused on guest comfort. Wine reception, fire pit outside with complimentary s'mores kit and plenty of quiet cozy places to sit. Room furnishing were great, comfortable and cozy!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    This place was awsome friendly rooms are clean bed was confy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great

    This place was awsome friendly rooms are clean bed was confy I will be going back to stay. Wine snacks in lobby. Just a wonderful place to stay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.8
    Very nice place to spend a couple of nights in Blowing Rock!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi kept going off and on in our room. More off than on, particularly later at night. The housekeeper took out our trash and restocked the bath towels, but didn't straighten up the bed or leave another roll of toilet tissue which we needed the next morning.

    The two young men on staff were very nice and courteous! They are an asset to Village Inn because they answered all our questions, replenished the breakfast bar and beverages, and wanted to make sure everything was taken care of. The room rate was a good deal! The continental breakfast selections were plentiful! Was very impressed with the variety of breakfast items, both hot and chilled.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Charming and Awesome!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of any way to improve the Inn or Staff. Fantastic stay, and I will stay again.

    So charming and comfortable! It was as though I had my own little cabin. Bonus,,,the beautiful lobby with fireplace:)

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: