Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avalon Hotel 4 stars

16 East 32nd Street, New York, NY 10016, USA

#181 of 418 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1005 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.2
    Great location for main trains and subways for exploring Manhattan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room rather than just in coffee area.

    The beds were extremely comfortable, hot shower and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Excellent, we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was well located and impeccably clean. We also had the very pleasant surprise of being upgraded to a suite! The valet parking was excellent and my car was safely off the street and well taken care of.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had stove in kitchen but no pots or pans to cook with, a few plates and bowls but no silverware - kitchen needed to have dishes, silverware and pots and pans

    amazing bathroom - beautiful, modern living room and bedroom - morning breakfast was great - large selection of fresh food

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Really lovely stay comfortable and clean. Will stay again for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Halloween decorations in the lobby a bit of a put off and cheapens the look as you walk in. The Avalon lobby is actually quite nice. Having large spiders and webs covering interesting pictures I found disappointing. The hotel room is a bit noisy from street noise. We were on the upper floors and could hear people coming from the bars in the wee hours pretty well. It is NYC and it is an old building.

    We Loved staying at the Avalon Hotel. The staff were wonderfully friendly and thoughtful. Breakfast (which was included with our rate) was also great. Good coffee, good selection of fruit and pastries. No plastic cutlery, or paper plates here. China and real flatware. Lovely older building that kept much of its older architecture visible. Also appreciated being able to get tea and coffee around the clock. Room very comfortable and spacious, by NYC standards. It is in Korea town and easy walks to bus and trains.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bathroom should be upgraded with new shower and taps. the price was a bit high compared to the accomodation of the hotel.

    very friendly and helpful staff! the location was perfect and good breakfast. very good beds and pillows.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.0
    the uncomfortable suite..
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had paid over $700 a night to stay in a suite, with a extra bed for my son. The sofa bed was practically broken , & although the hotel was kind enough to put a extra bed the next day It was very bad, so we got tired of complaining. We commented on the hotel site and told them we will put of review , & the hotel took off a total of about $200 from the invoice. Although I didn't ask them or expect any discount, I think it would have been decent of the hotel to cut our rates sizeably in order to compensate.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    6.7
    Spacious accommodations, shower and jacuzzi tub, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken toilet, wifi flapping, business center wrong keyboard for Apple Computer , coffee machine intermittent, elevator slow, no outside terrace

    Spacious accommodations, shower and jacuzzi tub, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    5.4
    Avalon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. Old fashioned out dated and awful lighting. Very dull and dark room. The window had masking tape on it. The bathroom was very outdated. A shower curtain in a 4 * property and a tap that was loose. Rusty door hinges the decor was awful. No comparison to our stay at the Row last year

    The staff were very helpful and courteous. Reception staff were very friendly and we wete happy with the doorman. Extremely friendly. Loved the free coffee & tea facilitie.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late after a very long journey and were exhausted. Unfortunately there was extremely loud music coming from a venue somewhere at the back of hotel. While this was beyond Avalon's control, heavier curtains may have provided better sound proofing. Thankfully there was no music on subsequent nights and we were able to get to sleep without any problem. However I do appreciate that events taking place in the vicinity are beyond the control of the hotel and it would not prevent us from returning!

    Fabulous location. Luxurious surroundings. Suite was large by NY standard and beds were extremely comfortable. Lovely continental breakfast included. 24 hour coffee lounge available free of charge.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location at a great price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit dated and worn, but it was very clean, so this isn't really a problem for me. I was on the fourth floor and there was still a bit of street noise, but mostly during the day, it was fine when sleeping.

    The staff at check-in were pleasant. The room was comfortable and clean. The location is super convenient. A short walk to the 33rd Street station, great restaurants, and attractions! I will likely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced, creaky laminate floors, AC didn't work, staff wasn't accommodatin to our needs at all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no working AC in our room, we set the AC before going out to a show, came back and woke up to tempatures in the 80's in the room. Sweating and exhausted I reached out to the front desk, I didn't want anyone in our room at 5AM... ten minutes or so later I called back because it was apparent there was not way we were going to get to sleep in that heat. They sent a service tech up to reset something... it took over an hour before it was anywhere near a reasonable sleeping tempature again. After tossing and turning in bed all night from the heat we finally fell back asleep around 6AM. We slept through breakfast, exhausted from the lack of sleep and called the front desk to ask for a late check out (hoping to get some sleep before our 6 hr drive home) The front desk staff asked "well, how long are you thinking" my girlfriend responded "an hour?" they responded back "how about a half hour... Honestly, knowing that we had troubles with the AC in the room I was hoping to have a few hours to sleep before our drive, but they couldn't even give us an hour?!?!? Terrible service.

    Room was good size

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    nice place, great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    All good. People from hotel service are very nice and helpful and they always help to solve any problem. We also liked the breakfast so I am not sure why was the breakfast rating so low. :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Great value Hotel with a great location for any stay in New York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While both lifts work - and were never out of order during our stay - they were slow to open each time they reach the floor requested - with a little time delay before the door would open, which was a little unsettling.

    The staff were excellent - from the people on the front desk to all the other staff we encountered. The room was clean and a good size - the wooden floors adding to the feeling of cleanliness. The choice and quality of the breakfast options also impressed us - but most of all - the location of this hotel was perfect. Literally a stones throw from the Empire State Building - and very close to subway options - make this a great value for money hotel for any stay in New York.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.3
    Location is near to one attraction only empire state
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't good, the finish of the room is very poor, price is very high comparing to the hotel facilities

    Location is near to one attraction only empire state

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.8
    Old, noisy and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff very unfriendly, old and very noisy hotel, completely overpriced. AirCon not working. There are thousands of better hotels in NY

    Not much positive I could think of...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.5
    Very nice hotel in center of Manhattan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just as a note : breakfast offers hard boiled eggs but no warm egg dishes (scrambled/omelet). But this was not a real issue for us as it has plenty of other choices to have a good breakfast to start your day !

    Located in the center of Manhattan : the Empire State Building and 5th Avenue are around the corner. Times Square is only a short walk away (15 minutes). We had a suite with 2 large beds and a sofa bed. The room was very practical with enough space to put your clothing and luggage. Air conditioning worked very good. Very friendly staff. We had a small leakage issue in the bathroom the first morning but it got fixed and all cleaned up within the hour after reporting it. Very good service. Breakfast is continental and offers different choices of cheese, meat, fresh fruit & juices and delicious pastries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Very nice staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room could have used a coffee maker and/or a small microwave. Found 2 large bugs in the tub over the 4 days there. Not wild about the faux wood floor with no area rugs.

    Very nice staff and good location. Comfortable room temperatures.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Solid hotel and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge provided takes way too long to cool down anything, could be improved.

    Great sized room for a Manhattan hotel. Perfect for a group of friends or a small family.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Loved the location, the staff, the little extras like a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were a little frustrating, very slow

    Loved the location, the staff, the little extras like a coffee/hot chocolate machine available any time. The breakfast was great, the concierge, Abby was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    The place is clean and employees are really friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old building so the elevators are a bit slow.

    The place is clean and employees are really friendly, smiling, and quick responders for any of our request, thank you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    24 hrs coffee and tea for free, consistence breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator too slow

    24 hrs coffee and tea for free, consistence breakfast and spacious room, great location, walking distant to almost all attractions in Manhattan

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    24 hrs coffee and tea for free, consistence breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator too slow

    24 hrs coffee and tea for free, consistence breakfast and spacious room, great location, walking distant to almost all attractions in Manhattan

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    24 hrs coffee and tea for free, consistence breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator too slow

    24 hrs coffee and tea for free, consistence breakfast and spacious room, great location, walking distant to almost all attractions in Manhattan

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    24 hrs coffee and tea for free, consistence breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is too slow

    24 hrs coffee and tea for free, consistence breakfast and spacious room, great location, walking distant to almost all attractions in Manhattan

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Old refurbished hotel in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden "Resort fee" which really is misleading. Breakfast at that rate without any warm dishes. Dated furnishings.

    Hardwood floors and the comfortable beds. Water pressure was amazing!! Room is super clean though. Personally i love the location being so central and esp the good 24/7 food around!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.5
    Bad surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived at the hotel (at about 11,30 pm) the receptionist at the front desk told us that there wasn't any free room in the hotel (that we reserved and payed in february) and that we had to go to Roger Hotel (five minutes walking). We had to accept, of course. At Roger they gave us a little room: the wall was 30 cm from the bed, bathroom 2x3 meters (maybe) with a 30 cm diameter sink, very limites space to put luggage

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Impressed. Great value for the price. Will return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was awful, but I closed the shades and spent little time in the room, so it didn't matter.

    Room size, cleanliness, amenities, location. Air conditioning was superb and the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was basically just toast and cereal, the pictures make the rooms look modern but our room had an old suede couch with water stains. It would have been fine if we didn’t pay so much.

    The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    I booked and paid for a twin room and got a king bed instead.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked and paid for a twin room and got a king bed instead. The hotel must pay attention to a specific request. 2 men traveling together on a business trip having to sleep on the same bed is not ideal. The hotel’s excuse was that the rooms were fully booked. The room shouldn’t have been available for booking at the first place. Very disappointed with breakfast as well. Only cereal and dried out fruits. Will not book again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not the one shown during the reservation procedure. I was "pre-checked" around 11 AM, but at 3 PM I was told that my credit card is not authorised. I have hotel's confirmation from the time of reservation that my card was successfully pre - authorised, After offering another two cards I was told that they are also not authorised although the third one was "checked" by the look. To be precise - on two of those cards I have some daily limits but only for the ATM machine, which was not the case, and even if it was, my daily limits are higher than the cost of the room. However, on the third one I have no limits at all. It is my opinion that the room simply wasn't ready on time, but of course, there is no way to prove it, although the trolleys with the towels that stood just in front of our room around 4 PM, and the incomplete equipment of soaps, baths and other necessities could be considered as some. Knowing how hard work is in front of the cleaning ladies, a honest answer would be much more acceptable than a public embarrassment for allegedly inadequate cards with which I paid all my bills within the next 3 weeks without any limitation.

    The only thing I like about this hotel is the position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not the one I booked. I showed my confirmation to a concierge, but she refused to change my room. We had to stay very small room.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    great location. huge rooms for the city. great staff and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast is really quite simple. if you can deal with just a croissant or equivalent and coffee then you are fine. the elevators are super slow so be patient.

    these have to be some of the biggest rooms in the city - good layout and great comfy beds. positioned in mid-town with easy access to everything. empire state building around the corner. quite the gem

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient stay for a fun weekend in NYC!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were there to visit NYC and see Dear Evan Hansen. We loved this hotel. Like staying in this area because it is close to everything and quiet too. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. The staff was so helpful upon check in and also on Sunday when we attended a matinee and needed to store our bags until after the show. Were sort of rushing for the 7PM train and thanks to the staff, we made it to Penn with time to spare. Professional and courteous. Would stay here again. Excellent Korean restaurant right next door. Many other good food spots in this Koreatown location. Empire State Building right there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    Mediocre overrated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “deluxe king suite” was neither “deluxe” nor a suite. It consisted of a room with a king bed and a warped uncomfortable sofa bed. The AC was terribly noisy, making it difficult to get some sleep. This hotel is not a 4 star hotel and certainly not worth $450/night.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy at night, sofa bed is too soft to sleep We arrived at 3:10 and our room was not ready till 3:30. However the staff was nice and offered us free breakfast.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous, would recommend it. Eco aware too, save our oceans!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only comment is as above, all hot drinks free in lobby which is great but to carry hot disposable cups, in the lift, often with shopping etc, up to the twelfth floor is not ideal! We mentioned this in passing when checking out and they did point out that had we asked they would have tried to accomodate us, our mistake. We will know better when we return!

    Fabulous size room and good facilities with the exception of hot drinks in room. However, we did not ask for kettle/coffee machine and am confident that had we asked they would have provided something! Staff were excellent, seemed very sincere especially Wilson. They went above and beyond to make this a good experience for us. Would recommend, (already have done actually), and return if the price was right for our dates.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    2.5
    The room good sized
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At avalon, the hotel is seemingly nice in the beginning, however during check-out, there will be lots of fraudulent charges. We only had two people going for breakfast and three at the last day, however we were charged for 5 people breakfast. Also we were mistakenly charged for our mini bar. With this mistake, instead of admitting it, they will bounce you to different people at different times - no one wanting to take responsibilities. We had a flight, so therefore because the manager wasn’t in, they said they’ll check further and make sure to follow up and e-mail the receipt the next morning. However, the next morning, no e-mails were sent instead there were only charges in our cards of those mistaken charges!! Unbelievably bad service! If you can, find somewhere else!

    The room good sized

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice but expensive (as everything in Manhattan)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I eas charge for a 20 dollars fee per person per day.. I thought I was going to pay 385 dollar and ended paying more than 550. I think this things should be told before

    Great hotel. Great breakfast (very complete)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    Very upset with desk clerk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very upset with desk clerk. He arranged a car to take us to a concert in Newark and then no one came to pick us up. When we called we were told we didn’t make return reservations but that was not accurate. We were told to call 30-40 min before concert was over and then pay the driver directly. We were also told to find another way home when we called the reservation clerk. My friend and I are senior citizens and I am also handicap. We will never book with this hotel again nor will we ever trust anyone to make transportation arrangements for us. A very unfriendly and potentially scary event. Very poor!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    lots of wind in our room - we had originally no mini cooler in our room and had to wait a long moment to have a kettle and crib but we eventually got these

    beautiful hotel - hot chocolate and coffee free in the lobby - nice valet - nice location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay if you like more space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    More choice for breakfast, like a waffle bar. Water and ice should be available in room for the resort fee charged daily, and the plugs in the room were all loose and it made it difficult to charge our phones at night.

    loved the hot chocolate machine in the Lobby, loved that breakfast was included, even though it would be better with a waffle machine or eggs and bacon, etc, we couldnt eat it everyday even though it was included because it was the same, little choice each day. The bigger rooms and big bathroom was great! Lobby was really nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    2.5
    nice city but would not stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrible staff and front desk. I booked a family room which says it accomodates 5 people on booking.com and I paid for a family room with 5 people as I have three children.When I checked out they charged me extra for the third child after checking out. I was very upset that they advertised it as a 5 person family room and then they charged me 200 dollars more when I checked out. When I told them i Booked for 5 people they said because my one daughter was 14 they have to charge more. This was a terrible surprise and service on their part and I found it to be misleading advertising how it was advertised. The Location is in the middle of koreatown with korean restaurants leaving all their garbage outside on the curb. Hotel is dated and old and small lobby with no restaurant. I would not go back here. Terrible experience overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Fraudulent advertising: reservation for 5 persons but only 4 bed places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have been victim of fraudulent advertising: we made a reservation for 5 persons but only 4 bed places were available. We were obliged to pay a surcharge to have what we asked for. I think that both the hotel and Booking.com should be considered responsible for that

    Very close to the 5th avenue

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    we were bumped to suite due to over booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed has legs that stick out. our toes have stuck 3 times and it hurts. toilet should be next to bedroom. not convenience for mid night use

    we were bumped to suite due to over booked. thanks hot drinks at lobby was great for anytime use. regards

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic birthday vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little updating required but to be honest this added to the nostalgia of the building.

    Location was ideal centrally positioned for all of the iconic landmarks. All queries and concerns were dealt with in a fast and efficient manner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    glad its over.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Layout is awkward for a suite. No natural light. Bed was not comfortable- uneven with lumps. Breakfast was terrible

    clean, hardwood floors. Nice staff. good ventilation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel and staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing I didn’t like about this hotel

    The staff was amazing!!! The front desk was very helpful at all times. The hotel is in a great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect classic style New York hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a $20 / night facility fee on my final bill that could have been shown a bit more clearly on my Booking.com quote when I booked the hotel. Price of breakfast seemed a bit high so we chose to eat elsewhere. Other than that, the hotel was perfect.

    Perfect classic style New York hotel. Very clean, staff were excellent. Great location, 1 block from Empire State building, 2 blocks from Penn Station (train from Newark airport). Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Avalon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a pleasant hotel in an excellent location. The staff are helpful and professional. There's a nice coffee machine by the lobby and it's free. The hotel is well-kept, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Not the best experience ... stayed here due to snow storm and will not repeat it again .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given a room that is on the lower floor and very dated. The room smells like smoke , too warm and no way to adjust the temperature . No amenities in the room , i.e. coffee or tea.

    Good location ...it was snow storm when I stayed and needed a place close to work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Asalways New York does not disappoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was 83 degrees and it couldn’t be turned off.There was no way to lower the temperature other than to open our windows which we did however there were no screens. we were brought a fan so we could be comfortable.Sadly we would not stay at this location again due to this.

    Location and room size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    A friendly, comfortable stay close to Penn Station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to have coffee available in the room.

    I liked the older style of the hotel and the fact it was located so close to Penn Station. The older style includes nice fixtures and faucets and feels really solid. The staff were really friendly and the bell man remembered my name (!) even when I’d misplaced my claim ticket... I liked having the coffee machine on the first floor but I would have liked to have the opportunity to make coffee in the room, too. I stayed in a Junior Suite. The room was roomy and very comfortable. I would definitely stay at The Avalon again and recommend for others staying near Penn Station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Great location. Room size and staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got stuck in the elevator with my 10 and 13 year old daughters for about 8 min. I called the front desk from the elevator and they addressed the issue quickly but a bit scary. The front desk sent an apology note along w a fruit plate to the room which was very thoughtful.

    Size of rooms are great! We stayed in a queen jr suite so had plenty of room for the kids. The living space provided a small ‘get away’ for my teeneager so she could have her own area. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some issues with breakfast but the staff took care of it right awaym

    The property was gorgeous and great walking distance to everywhere we needed to go.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    THIS WAS MY SECOND VISIT AND WOULD RETURN AGAIN, MAYBE AT A RETURNING DISCOUNT, HOPEFULLY.
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SOFA APPEARED DIRTY. BED SHEETS HAD SOME DUST BUNNIES ON THEM. NOT SOFT TOWELS. NEED MORE THAN 2 WASHCLOTHS. MISSED HAVING A SHOWER CAP. REFRIGE WAS NOT PLUGGED IN AND PLUG WAS WAY BACK AND COULDN'T REACH IT. THESE WERE NOT CRITICAL TO MY VISIT, BUT COULD USE SOME IMPROVEMENT.

    STAFF WAS EXCELLENT. GREAT COFFEE SERVICE ON 1ST FLOOR. LIKED THE STREET VIEW. OVERALL PLEASANT ROOM.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing :)

    Excellent location, excellent facilities, excellent staff. Plus? YOU HAVE FREE UNLIMITED COFFEE, LATTES, COLD AND HOT WATER 24/7. Also, the Wifi speed was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location & good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV didn't work (but who wants to watch TV in New York!?) Robes & slippers in the room would have been a nice touch. But overall no complaints whatsoever.

    Perfect location, walking distance to many sites and subway stops. Very helpful & friendly staff. Room very spacious and comfortable - we were on the 4th floor (405) and there was hardly any street noise. We didn't have breakfast, so can't comment on that.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Staff was EXCELLENT - very friendly and accommodating making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were a little tired and the paint "dinged", but everything was clean. The mattress sagged a bit, (I prefer a very firm mattress) but overall the facility was very good.

    Staff was EXCELLENT - very friendly and accommodating making check-in a breeze. Location EXCELLENT. Great Korean BBQ and massage in the neighborhood and walking distance to many tourist destinations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    We ejoy our stay. It was great. We would like to state more time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is elegant and luxury. It is situated in the heart of middle Manhattan. The only bad thing that we complain about was the breakfast. The breakfast was good, but they promised "a continental breakfast," and it was not so big and varied as expected. But the service and cleanliness were pretty good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    the room and staff were all excellent no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    when i called to confirm the room hte lady did not let me know that u had valet parking afteer i told her i am outside looking for somewhere to park so i had to park up the block for over niht

    the room and staff were all excellent no complaints

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Would recommend to anyone looking for midtown location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, big comfortable rooms. Staff was friendly and helpful...we’ll stay here again! We also liked how quiet the rooms were....great nights sleep!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel that works well for travelers around the empire...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Room was a bit "old feel" but extremely spacious. 2. Room towards street has some car noise

    Great hotel that works well for travelers around the empire state building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    The staff were very focused on hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very focused on hospitality. Ready to be sure we had everything from toothbrushes to even snapping a family photo for us. Everything was perfect but the icing on the cake was the espresso in the lobby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    2nd visit and tho room not as nice I would still recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the hotel on the seventh floor and I was woken up by the bin lorries each morning. I also would like to have coffee making facilities in the room but there is a coffee machine on the ground floor so this is not a major issue although on one occasion I had to wait while one guest made eight drinks !! 😡

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    I would definitely stay there again. Beautiful lobby, close to everything, a great spot for couples!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating vents were loud when the fan went on and the air is very dry. I filled the bathtub with hot water to get some humidity into the room. (But that's common in every hotel in NYC I've stayed)

    Very large rooms and bathroom, especially for New York. Excellent complementary coffee, tea, lattes. Front desk staff very helpful and extremely polite regarding needs in hotel and restaurant recommendations. Location is very good and is a little south of all the hustle and bustle. Easy walk (2 blocks) to Macy's, Broadway, and subway. Only a 5 min walk to Madison Square Gardens and Penn Station. Perfect for active individuals who are willing and able to walk 10 blocks to Broadway Theatres, 5th Ave and Rockefeller.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.8
    Toilet leaked water after every flush.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet leaked water after every flush. Hotel & rooms needs a good renovation - old decor, wallpaper etc. Very big column in room that took up too much space.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.1
    I would book the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfortable. Toilet did get blocked which also appeared to be a problem in another guests room, obviously happens regulary due to scrape marks where they have used a plunger to unblock. Good location for Times Square and Empire State Building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    4.6
    Great location but way over- priced and lacking in service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff service was cold and unwelcoming. I specifically booked a room for 3 adults and was provided with an ‘upgrade’ room that had a king bed and an uncomfortable sofa bed. We were advised that they did not provide a duvet for the sofa bed so we had to make do with the synthetic blanket.

    Great location Front door (note, not front desk) staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Staff very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra charges for mistakes made by Booking.com that were not my fault but understood they had to make them. Booked a family room with 2 beds and a sleep sofa as there were 5 of us. I was very clear with that when I booked. When we arrived they placed us in a room with one king bed and a sofa. They were great to move us to a larger room but charged me for that and also an additional charge for one of us for breakfast. It was then that I realized my confirmation said 2 people. I know what I booked and did not look a the confirmation closely. That was my fault. However I have reached out to the Booking.com staff with little response. I spent more than $100 over what I expected.

    Staff very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Definitely will plan to come back to this hotel for a longer stay in NYC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no negative thoughts about my stay at the Avalon Hotel.

    My whole experience with my 1 day over night stay at the Avalon was wonderful. Every one was most helpful and courteous to me in getting me around NYC by using the METRO subway. The continental breakfast was delicious. I enjoyed the fact that they had free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available to their customers staying at the hotel. Definitely will tell my friends about my stay at the Avalon Hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no complimentary breakfast or free airport shuttle.

    Awesome location- right near the Empire State Building in midtown. Close to 5th street- access to most of the vibe. Very comfortable and spacious. The staff were absolutely lovely and helpful- so accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, very clean, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing missing was disposable bathroom slippers, which is very small compared everything else that was good

    Friendly staff, very clean, perfect location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Our stay was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the lobby could be a little more modern, with brighter colors

    The location is prime and the staff was very nice, eager to answer all our questions. Our junior suite was very comfortable (we travelled with 3 children) and recently remodeled. We would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Great location and really large rooms for Midtown Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a little dated, but that adds to the character of the place - no complaints really, considering location and rate.

    Great location and friendly staff. The rooms are really large for Manhattan and I had an inward facing room that meant no traffic noise. Beds are really comfortable and rooms well equipped. Will return for sure!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    My favorite hotel in NYC so far in regards to great value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They need to fix the bathroom door in the ladies room (lobby) and add a hook to hang our bag when we use the toilet.

    There was a great little filtered water and coffee/tea stand in the back of the lobby where you could make coffee, tea and tank up on filtered water all day/night. LOVED this feature! It is also environmentally friendly, not to have to keep buying plastic water bottles. Staff were very friendly and helpful, made me feel very welcome. Rooms were big, which I great appreciate.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Avalon Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: