Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garden Court Hotel 4 stars

520 Cowper Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301, USA

#4 of 29 hotels in Palo Alto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 60 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    You will love your stay and not be disappointed. It’s truly a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    We travel all over the world and the Garden Court Hotel is one of our favorite hotels. It is outstanding in all aspects from service, cleanliness to comfort. Thank you for such a lovely place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location in a pretty town. Would recommend the hoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough breakfast pastries - there were only 2 left at 8am A location map in bedroom would have been helpful

    Room comfortable, bathroom clean, slippers appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, fantastic staff, excellent housekeeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed Fri to Sun on Labor Day weekend. Both mornings at 8.40am the housekeeping staff knocked to clean my room. I think that's a bit too early to be asking to have your room cleaned. If I wasn't already awake, I would have been annoyed.

    Beautiful hotel, fantastic staff, excellent housekeeping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful boutique hotel. you will not be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On weekends it's easy to do street parking overnight. Great location for walking around university street. The room was beautifully decorated, great black out curtains and staff was always friendly and professional. Try and book when the $279 rate is available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room/bathroom position was awkward. The door opened out onto the room and was too close to the bed to achieve total privacy. Was promised a View of downtown but got a View of dumpsters and active construction site. Even without that, there wouldn't have been much "View" to the room. Was small for the price. Cramped space for my husband and I but perfect for solo traveler.

    Beautiful decor! Loved the little balcony, turndown service and mini bar amenities. Was surprised to find helpful office supplies in the desk.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    Best choice for Palo Alto - best rates on Weekends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 306 is next the the employees room and can be noisy during the day. The wifi is a bit weak and inconsistent.

    The smooth reception, location off University Avenue, getting our room early, Molton Brown amenities, fireplace, balcony, being upgraded after complaining about being in the room next to Employees quarters (there was a lot of chatter during the time we were in the room).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.8
    Altogether pleasant, helped by a great staff, right down to the wonderful guys at the car valet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was way smaller than last time, and this time, I was with my wife. Pretty cramped. I expected more for $2000.00 for a 3 day stay.

    Location, great bathroom, balcony, little stand with coffee and tea and pastries in the morning at the reception, all the little touches. I have been here before.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.8
    Great business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot breakfast only available after 8 am

    Great location on University Avenue, in the heart of Palo Alto Large, well furnished and very comfortable rooms and bathrooms (5* level)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay. Will recommend to others.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely comfortable bed. Nice location in the downtown of Palo Alto. Very polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice return stay in very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good

    Nice balcony and aircon good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location, wonderful staff and nice rooms!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Friendly staff. Great en quiet room with excellent bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Comfy bed and great to have coffe and pastries very early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed and great to have coffe and pastries very early in the morning at the end of the corridor ! A real treat to beat jetlag

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent surprise for the breakfast morning at each floor !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent surprise for the breakfast morning at each floor !!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect locatIon, excellent facility
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location for the Inn but much too expensive for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and bath are dated.

    Good breakfast and very nice lobby area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Personal touch
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal touch

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    Gym
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Quiet.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet. Great location. Super helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Toiletries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pastries were bland

    Toiletries Cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    Awesome from hotel staff and ballet parking! Very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was really friendly and care about our needs

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel, beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    10
    Can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our time there, they made it a very special stay for my husbands birthday!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    8.3
    I loved the bed and bedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The view out the window was poor and noisy. Not conducive to relaxing on the balcony. I'm the type of person who likes to relax with my tea in the morning. I would have preferred to make it in my room rather than get showered, dressed and find it. ( which I never did by the way)

    I loved the bed and bedding. The room size was great. Staff very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    WSJ and NYT sent to the room in the AM.
    • Couple

    No coffee maker in the room. Coffee was avaiable with pastries in the lobby

    WSJ and NYT sent to the room in the AM. Sunday Times was available in the lobby.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    10
    Location, property, service .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    Location, property, service .......everything and everyone was impeccable! Will definitely be staying there again in the future!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    10
    Cannot say enough about the staff and their friendliness...
    • Couple

    Cannot say enough about the staff and their friendliness & willingness to accommodate us. We had a restful & relaxing stay and will definitely be coming back.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    10
    We absolutely adore this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't say there was anything we did not enjoy during our stay.

    We absolutely adore this hotel! From the cleanliness of the room to the elegant decor to the amazing people that tend to your needs - amazing. We go for comfort, elegance and to be pampered and they do not fail to deliver!

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    9.2
    Love the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you have a car, you pretty much have to valet...one night we waited for over 5 minutes and no valet showed up! Had to park it ourselves and give the keys to the front desk.

    Love the location. Rooms and amenities are very nice.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    The best service of any hotel I've ever stayed in.
    • Solo traveller

    They ran out of breakfast pastries on my floor, but there was a room full of young college girls next to the buffet and perhaps they just cleaned it out.

    The best service of any hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    6.7
    very clean and comfortable
    • Couple

    After a I paid and checked out trying to get helped by calling my son in his room and she is not paying attention. She is listening to the other customer who is being helped by her coworker.

    very clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    If you are travelling for pleasure or have business in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are travelling for pleasure or have business in downtown Palo Alto, the location can't be bettered. A calm oasis with very comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    Friendly folks, nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Work out facility not great

    Friendly folks, nice room.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.6
    Coffee & pastries each morning on each floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee & pastries each morning on each floor

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    8.8
    Great beds.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Great beds. Nice and quiet rooms. Close to many restaurants. Look and feel is not like the typical boring hotel but has a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    5.4
    Clean and comfortable room and bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overprized

    Clean and comfortable room and bed

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    The event planning staff .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom amenities were missing (shower cap) Missed having a coffee pot in the room.

    The event planning staff .

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Wonderful stay in PA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful stay in PA. Hotel was cozy, clean and has a wonderful staff!

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    7.5
    They said breakfast was included but it was only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They said breakfast was included but it was only coffee/tea and mini pastries. Wifi did not work at all

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    7.5
    To much noise with the construction across the street
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    To much noise with the construction across the street

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    8.3
    Great bed - nice bathroom & products
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great bed - nice bathroom & products

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    8.8
    Nice room, good location, pleasant staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited facilities such as a pool.

    Nice room, good location, pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was perfect. Will book again!

    The amazing service from the employees/ the beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot tub or sauna on premises.

    Beautiful location. Lovely lighting and decor.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.2
    The young man who turns down the sheets was so sweet &...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The young man who turns down the sheets was so sweet & kind!! That was the evening of Jan 26th. I hope he gets recognized!

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Everything: location, amenities , rooms, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything: location, amenities , rooms, staff. Ground Zero ffor Palo Alto. Great pride of ownership. Elizabeth is great.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    9.2
    Very nice rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cost of night parking.

    Very nice rooms Great staff Good restaurant Great location

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.8
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fruits in the room for the first two days. After that, there's no fruit in the roon anymore.

    The location is good.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff and particularly Rose the wonderful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff and particularly Rose the wonderful housekeeping manager

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room charge was substantially higher than indicated in reservation made on Booking.com

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Nicer than the Ritz Carlton and cheaper !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nicer than the Ritz Carlton and cheaper !!!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Very pleasant atmosphere reminiscent of European hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pleasant atmosphere reminiscent of European hotels. Excellent location, delicious food, and very helpful and courteous staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    The Best Hotel in Californie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Best Hotel in Californie!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    The manager and his staff are wonderful and very...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    The manager and his staff are wonderful and very accommodating

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.5
    Perfect bed!
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was poor. Worst I've ever experienced.

    Perfect bed!

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    7.5
    Great doorman
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Reception personnel unwelcoming

    Great doorman

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    Our stay was absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Our stay was absolutely wonderful. Beautiful rooms and very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.2
    Excellent ambiance throughout, peaceful and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent ambiance throughout, peaceful and cozy

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: