Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kilauea Hospitality Group 3 stars

19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, HI 96785, USA

#43 of 56 hotels in Volcano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 317 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    It’s clean and i meet nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They offer coffee for guest for making their own breakfast but that’s all. And for people like me who hate coffee there is nothing also, there is no tea for example.

    It’s clean and i meet nice people. And the house is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    There are better options to stay in Volcano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can hear other guests every move, every conversation and even the "splash" of their bathroom. If you wanted to hear the sounds of the rain forest you may be out of luck. I ended up having to drive down the road and sleep in the rental car since the other guests were REALLY loud 2 nights and early mornings in a row. Rooms were sadly in need of upkeep, carpets badly stained, sink had cracks. The only coffee available was the "Wolfgang Puck" packets that had been left on an old coffee maker in the room. The lanai would have been nice if it hadn't been used for furniture storage - complete with sheets over the items.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Great stay in a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear some of the other vacationers while they were talking quietly in the main living area, but it was not a problem.

    The surroundings were beautiful, it felt like we were in a tropical paradise. There was no problem with vog or sulfur dioxide. Apparently, there was a 5.3 magnitude earthquake nearby but we didn't feel anything. The room was nice and the checkout staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Just ok, but not as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They communicated with me weekly that the national park was open but when we got there everything in the park was closed, I would have cancelled if I had known this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Not their fault that the volcano was closed, but there was nothing else to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedspread was dirty, room smelled a little. Location was not easy walking distance to the village, no footpaths, no umbrellas for sale in the local shops despite being in a rainforest.

    Well appointed kitchen. Quaint decor. Good internet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    The price seemed high for a shared-bathroom situation, but the place was very nice and super clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the common area there was no comfy seating for reading or chatting. Probably because there wasn’t enough room. Not surprising in a 1912 building that has otherwise been nicely renovated.

    This place was cleaner than any hostel-type place we had ever stayed at. Kitchen was very well furnished. Bathroom shower tile more upscale than usual. Lots of towels, soap and shampoo. Front desk staff very personable and informative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.0
    Nice and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the ground floor on volcano hale and we could hear people walking on the upper floor all the time. It was pretty annoying.

    Although the room is small it is very nice. The shared bathroom was very clean an spacious with towels of all sizes. The location is ideal for visiting the volcano park (with a car)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    I had a wonderful visit that met all of my expectations and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    I liked the hostel aspect of the Hale House as it lent to meeting fellow travelers and getting their enthusiasms for the Big Island and personal lives. Two travelers celebrated their birthdays that day and they were each from different countries and backgrounds. I had a great visit that was enhanced by having down-the-street access to Kilauea Volcano that had just decided to put a show on!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    It was just what we needed/wanted. Thank you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow, but I have neck issues, so should probably travel with my own. :(

    Clean, well cared for property, nestled in the lush fauna minutes from Volcanoes National Park. Quiet and well stocked kitchen and baths. Check in was simple. The property where my granddaughter and I stayed was just 2-3 minutes from the office. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would suggest a mirror outside of bathroom....

    Wonderful hotel to feel like you have gotten away from it all! Close to Volcanoes National Park and restaurants. Our room was spacious and was like being a tree house. The lava like shower was huge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfy bed, friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many emails!! I would get a couple a week for almost a month before my stay!

    I couldn’t make it to check in during the times someone was at the front desk, but they sent me all the information and made it easy even though I arrived so late!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Incredibly peaceful and beautiful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really enjoyed being in a house built in 1921, surrounded by a lush rain forest. Sharing a well-stocked bathroom was about the only inconvenience, but I guess that's just part of the adventure. Having an awesome Farmer's Market right down the road was just icing on the cake.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs. Im handicap and had some problems negotiating the stairs/steps.

    Large room. Eating area with microwave and small refrig separate. Beautiful bathroom and shower. Bed was comfortable. No food on site, but recommended multiple sites with times and addresses. Extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    A M A Z I N G !
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised with our room, the view , the place , so close to the national park, was just stunning , for the price one of the best rooms were I have ever stayed. If you are planning on going to volcanoes national park this is the place !! It comes with everything !!! Microwave , coffe machine , hot tub , view , amazing bed , living room , tv , etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.3
    clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable, lumpy and hard. No "refreshments" in morning. Cups, eating utensils and basket were food would go, no coffee nothing as promised.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful room with a king and a full bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff upon check in, It was quite difficult to find the unit which was very far away from the reception.

    Beautiful room with a king and a full bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    3.3
    Too expensive what u pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpolite staff, old house, can hear other people, old furniture, not clean enough, bugs in the room, very low water pressure in the shower, pictures on the webpage look way different than how it looks like!

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Considerate host, well managed property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very considerate. They arranged a humidifier in the room, which greatly increased the comfort given the surroundings were a rainforest. Lightings at the parking ensured we could find out way returning late at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    The property gave us a free upgrade to the chalet and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property gave us a free upgrade to the chalet and we stayed in the treehouse suite. The layout was quirky and there was another set of stairs in our place - but we loved it. I felt like I was staying in a private treehouse. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple of cockroaches in the rental which I suppose is expected in a tropical location. Bed was sagging in the center and pillows were very hard.

    Plenty of parking and room for our stuff in the room. The town is safe and close to volcano park. Newly tiled bathroom and plenty of towels

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.1
    Not a bad place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    creaky floors, can hear neighbours talking, cramped carpark

    Near volcano national park, 5mins drive to volcano village for food. Staff waited for my arrival at night for me to check-in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    So glad we found this retreat !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was huge and would be over the top with a rain head .

    the size of the room, the decor and accessories ,certifiably not the average hotel room. the porch for morning coffee, the serene location, the zen of the check in lodge, the extra supplies in the entrance hall, a corkscrew provided.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    I loved the house our room was situated in, that was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the house our room was situated in, that was situated in a beautiful garden in the middle of the jungle. Really nice bed and nice bathrooms. Also the common areas were spacious and inviting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.3
    Clean & comfortable - but dark. Bring a flashlight & matches for the woodstove.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in is challenging ... limited time frame and then we drive to a different location (2 miles), and no staff at the lodging where we were assigned. Nice room - but everything is dark - including the lovely (dark) bathroom. I have macular degeneration - could NOT see - so I had to go outside to put on make-up. Truly, light fixtures need to be installed in bathroom - especially near sinks. Beautiful room, woodstove (which we used on a rainy night) and coffee pot. Time glasses & opener provided - but bring your own matches for the woodstove. Lighter provided doesn't work. Great spot for boy scouts. Be prepared, and you will have fun.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay next to the volcano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the ground floor under the stairs, it smelt a bit stuffy/musty, but I think there are better rooms. In all cases it wasn´t really a problem for us as we just were in our room only to sleep.

    Great common area (but maybe not that great for who sleep just next to it), ideal to relax and share experience in the volcanos with other guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Accommodations in the converted house were basic but clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some trouble finding the property at night, and bothered some neighbours in the process. Volcano is dark! (as it should be).

    Accommodations in the converted house were basic but clean and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.8
    The unit was unique and funky but we would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The unit that we were assigned was built something like a cave, with the interior walls mimicking stone walls. It was on the first floor, surrounded by heavy tropical rain forest There was very little natural light and the rooms were oddly configured with large steps between the various sections of the unit. There was no comfortable chair for reading. The space tended to be cool and heaters were slow to function. No breakfast -- or any food -- was available at the hotel.

    We were only 2 miles from the entrance of Volcano National Park, making our sightseeing very easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant base to explore the Volcano park and surrounding areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathrooms sometimes meant long waits. Similarly for the kitchen and dining table - morning congestion so you had to be strategic in your timing to use the facilities.

    It was a mostly pleasant experience in communal living. The shared kitchen and bathrooms were kept clean and people accommodated one another pretty well, with some being friendlier than others.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a some bugs inside room. Inevitable for rainforest actually. Room curtain didn’t block sunlight well.

    Very cozy volcano house for our stay. We stayed for 2 nights. Landed Hilo and took drive around the town, Akaka falls and Mauna Kea before coming back to check in. The other morning it’s pretty close to drop in the volcano park and start the volcano tour. It’s really convenient. As a volcano lodge, the design and room quality is fairly good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower heads seem to be of the cheapest quality, the water flow rate is extremely low, and the shower head was non-adjustable. Because of that, I was paradoxically freezing a bit while taking a shower. Check-in is only for two hours and at another location, which was not very obvious to find (it is exactly at the address and location where it says it is, but this is not easily visible from the main road and located exactly at a crossroad, where I chose the wrong street). Maybe the hotel could make a sign that's visible from Wright Road, that would make it easier to find. other than that, the stay was perfect!

    Awesome room - clean, spacious, high ceilings, had the flair of a Swiss chalet, a king and a queen bed, and a bar seating area for two people. Beautiful, large and clean bathroom. There is even a hot tub outside! It's very quiet at night, no traffic noise or other disturbances. Overall, very good value for money!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    In the middle of the rainforest.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find. The receptionist could be friendlier and give more informations

    In the middle of the rainforest. Very cozy and quiet. Bath and kitchen were modern and clean Very close to the volcano np. Ideal for a visit during nighttime

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Close to Volcano NP, but don’t get a room on the bottom floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the bottom floor and while it was easy to access, we heard lots of noise from above us. Cold room- needed more than the one extra blanket in the closet. Shower was a bit low on pressures but the temperature was fine. A hidden stump at the end of the parking lot did damage to our car’s bumper.

    Comfy bed, large room, good-sized kitchen and well appointed, secluded property, no traffic noise. Room had a heater and fan in the closet and a ceiling fan. Lots of books to read, interesting artwork and decorations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    rooms was very clean and well serviced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    reception staff unfriendly - no concept of a greeting or a smile water in shower is barely warm water in hot tub was also just luke warm - no interest in the issue from reception staff

    rooms was very clean and well serviced

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.8
    Ok property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms and rooms could be upgraded a little bit better. Water flow from shower is weak

    It's only 7 minutes drive to Volcano National Park. If you are planning a full day or longer visit in the park, this facility is perfect. Ok for a couple or a group of friends. I would not suggest the place for a family

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.3
    All in all Re
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    don't expect too much for the price, since everything in Hawaii is expensive! the check-in / check-out times are very restricted, you share the facilities with others, and the rooms are not very well isolated from noise.

    Perfect spot to relax and explore the volcano area, for that I really can recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Very cozy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water did not work when we were there, but they said they were having trouble.

    We booked last minute after our other accommodations fell through and they were great! They had everything ready for us when we arrived late at night and they made sure we were comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    Good, but not what we expected based on the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This accommodation has multiple properties, and the majority of the interior photos are from the more expensive properties / rooms. The cheaper rooms are very different from the photos shown, which is misleading.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful, exotic home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water, could have been stronger and faster heated.

    It's a very nice space to be , close to nature, and relaxing. I wish there are more privacy about bathroom sharing. It seems that too many people sharing only one full bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    An excellent place to stay while visiting Volcano National Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Lokahi Lodge room 201 was phenomenal with a king size bed and large bath. The property is secluded and quiet. The outdoor hot tub was a treat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    it was okay. The facility was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was raining but that had nothing to do with facility. Room was musty and small. I surmise the owners are updating the facility. In the future probably will be adequate.

    closeness to volcano.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    3.8
    No staff located on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No staff located on site. Placement of TV( very high on wall) making watching TV awkward. The pillows on bed terrible!!!! No seating in room other that the bed. I would not stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    We loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms fans were adequate but A/C would have been appreciated.

    Very comfortable rooms (we stayed in two) with delightfully quirky decors. Sink, dishes, silverware and cloth napkins. Very quiet area, beautiful grounds. Spa. Very helpful staff. Short drive to Volcano National Park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice place in the rain forest
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old house, you probably gonna hear other guests in the morning (in the evening everybody is tired), you are going to check in and out at a different location, but it's not far (don't get confused with addresses), 11:00 am check out might be too early for some

    Nice old house, easy to meet other guests, affordable, nice kitchen and dining area, community fridge, close to the park entrance, good value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    4.2
    Convenient to access Volcanoes National Park, about 10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't think it was value for money. A budget, dated, hostelesque hotel, with a 3 star price tag. Better to stay in Hilo and drive to Volcano to get much more value for money. Bed was uncomfortable and room was small and had a wet dog smell. Shared bathrooms were clean though and it was quiet.

    Convenient to access Volcanoes National Park, about 10 minutes drive away. It had good wifi and in the main building there is free coffee available beside reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Neat stay in Volcano Village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were quite a few stairs to even get to our room and then there were stairs in the room leading to the bathroom. This wasn't a problem for us being a young couple, but I could see how it could present problems for others less agile.

    It was definitely a unique experience. Our room looked like it had been carved out of the volcano and the mood lighting was a little strange, but it just added to the experience. The huge shower with two shower heads was great. The room was spacious and the little kitchenette was nice. Everything seemed very clean and several things appeared to be updated. The hotel is right in the middle of the rainforest and less than a ten minute drive from the National Volcano Park. There aren't a tremendous amount of restaurants in Volcano, but the hotel is within 5-7 minutes of the good ones.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    A wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice accommodation in a historic building of 1912. Easy parking outside. A spacious lobby and good internet connection. Clean and nice. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Didn't stay at shared accommodation, paid for upgrade. Almost in the Volcano!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to check in at one site and proceed to another location is a bit inconvenient.

    Perfect location in Volcano Village minutes from park. Safe and comfortable well maintained property. Paid for upgrade and stayed at lodge so this review does not apply to shared accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    4.2
    Trapped in an escape room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like I was trapped in one of those rooms you need to escape from. The room had brown walls, doors and ceiling so the room felt like it was closing in on you. The room was also located between the shared kitchen and bathrooms so could constantly hear people's bathroom habits and conversations. I wouldn't go back to that room if I was paid

    Got to meet some really friendly people in the shared space and both the internet and bathrooms were of good quality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in location is a bit hard to find, staff we're very reserved and came off a bit unhappy/rude

    Quirky and good little room. Facilities were good. Very short drive to volcano park entrance!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Volcano Zen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room greatly exceeded our expectations. It felt like home. If you are the type of traveler that wants their own luxurious bathroom, this probably isn't your spot, but if you want a clean, well decorated space that is tranquil then book here. I will definitely stay here when I'm in Volcano again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.3
    The room was clean, comfortable, and near local sites of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not that I didn't like it but this is a communal fascility with shared commom space including kitchen, living area, and bathroom. My parents would not be comfortable here but we enjoyed meeting the other guests who were all pleasant and respectful. A time crunch for the bathroom in the morning for an early departure was the one downside.

    The room was clean, comfortable, and near local sites of interest.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.0
    Next!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and musty. In need of major updating. Parking is ridiculous and front desk agent was cold and rude. Ask for card and handed us keys. Didn't welcome us or describe home amenities or area info. For 206$ it's way over priced and I wouldn't recommend staying there

    Great location in center of town. Close to park and highway

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.5
    Good value, cosy room. Rent a car, though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the location is good, this only applies if you'll be renting a car (which you should if you're exploring the big island without a tour bus or something). Don't expect that you'll be able to hike the entire national park on foot. Also, check-in closes fairly early so plan around this.

    The location is great. It's basically right next to the Volcanoes national park, so it beats getting a hotel in Hilo and driving for an hour every day. The room was nice and the shared common area promotes meeting your housemates, although I expect that you can also get unlucky and have people making a lot of noise in the common area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.5
    Great value and location, but thin walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls and doors on the house transmit a lot of sounding noise and if you're in a room near the kitchen it was probably quite noisy considering that there are eight rooms in the house and four are close to the kitchen. Also. The building is in need of repair

    The fully-equipped kitchen self catering very convenient.. your location is very convenient to volcanoes national Park and the price is very reasonable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    4.6
    Good location right in the heart of Kona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like a lot of hotels in Hawaii, this was built in the 70s and hasn't been updated since. Ok for a night but I wouldn't want to stay longer. Don't pay for parking; there is a large free lot right behind the hotel. I was there on a Friday night and had no problem finding a space.

    Good location right in the heart of Kona.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    We regret that stayed only one night! I wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frogs could have sung not so loud :)

    Breakfast at 8 am was not only delicious food but also a pleasant and friendly communication with other guests from different countries. Thanks to owners for helpful advice on sightseeing, etc. Trees and flowers make you feel in the tropical garden!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Great little hideaway in Volcano
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows weren't great. Confusing to find entrance

    Small quite comfortable and close to national park. Great place and affordable. I will book again if I come back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.7
    Quite close from Volcano National Park, about 5 min by car .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Volcano Hale is an old house (might be noisy) and the room we had was quite small. There was almost no space to even open the suitcase. Volcano Hale is something more similar to a guest house or hostel (multiple rooms with shared living room, kitchen and bathrooms) than a lodge or hotel. It is nice, but the pictures of the main basically show the other buildings of the property

    Quite close from Volcano National Park, about 5 min by car . Volcano Hale is an old house in a quiet area, perfect for resting.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Five minutes to lava!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent service, answered questions promptly, even though i was several hours late, my room was waiting for me. Great value and only a few minutes to Volcano National Park entrance and a few more to see lava.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    6.3
    Location was very nice, a 10 min drive to the park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night no water at all. Later on a very bad warm shower (no pressure), room quite small.

    Location was very nice, a 10 min drive to the park. Some restaurants and shops around. Cute old house

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    5.0
    Budget yes; beware the short ceilings and roaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ROACHES in the room and bed. Short ceiling, squeaky floorboards 4 feet above the bed. Claustrophobic room 303 volcano Hale building. Desk manager didn't care when I told him about the roaches.

    Proximity to the park. Communal European style hostel style.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Combination of location (very close to Volcano National...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Combination of location (very close to Volcano National Park) and price could not have been better. A very peaceful spot to come back to after a day of hiking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    8.8
    Quaint and somewhat comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was as advertised but it was too small for us. Do not take your luggage into the room because there is no room

    Quaint little room with shared bathroom and sitting areas

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    6.7
    Not for soft bed sleepers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hard bed and the room did not smell fresh.

    The score would be higher if I liked hard beds but it gave me a backache. It was fun to have access to a kitchen. The shared bathroom was not a problem and they provided plenty of toiletries. For a discount place it was ok and it was great to be so close to the entrance of the Volcano park. Other guests were pleasant to visit with. Could hear footsteps upstairs. There was a foyer and a common area upstairs with a dining area and piano.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful stay especially the bungalow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that the bungalow was not featured online. There were pictures of 3 properties n the bungalow was not. If I knew about it I would've booked that particular place at least for 5 days n flew into Hilo earlier. But because it wasn't we decided jus to come for the weekend.

    I liked our first room. It was comfy more of a hotel room feeling. Our second room was absolutely the best. It was the Bungalow. We had our own drive way our own deck with fireplace living n bedroom was comfy home cabin feeling bathroom n shower were to die for. One of the nicest features the glass shower. The staff especially Robert was very nice n helpful. He was very nice n professional answered questions I had n helpful on places to see n do in Hilo. I'd come back to a place with a staff like that. Tamarin I believe she was also very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    5.0
    Not what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed at the Chalet Kilauea for 4 nights and were disappointed with the room we received. The pictures certainly promised more than what we got. The check in was at 3pm and when we arrived the rooms were still not ready and had to wait another hour. The queen room we had was dark, low ceilings had only 2 bar stools with no other seating area. There were no bedside tables, cupboards or hangers. No in-house laundry. Very noisy due to timber floors and thin walls. You can hear other guest moving in their rooms or have showers. The better rooms like the King Room and Bungalow are not available on the booking.com website I found out later. All up not good enough for $200 a night price bracket. I would not book this hotel again

    Great location, nice gardens and very peaceful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    5.8
    Convenient but don't have high expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not look like the photo on website. Not dirty but definitely old. Bed was too hard and carpet was stained in hallway and dirty in room. I think most of the places in that area are just old and due for an update.

    Location was good near volcano and restaurants, shop and gas

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    8.8
    Room too hot for early bedtime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot when we arrived but they said it was guaranteed to cool off, which it did, but a few hours later than we wanted. We had just come out from a three day backpack down to the coast and the day was very hot and with little breeze and the hike out involved a bit of elevation gain as well, so we were looking forward to a shower and an early trip to bed. The heat in the room, however, prevented an early bedtime and even when we did turn in it was still too hot to sleep. There was a fan in the room but it was unbelievably noisy so that did not help us fall asleep either.

    Location and price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.1
    - very close to volcano
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the room was just a bit small

    - very close to volcano - practical to have access to the kitchen and common bathroom - basic room Very close to volcano although I don't know if that's very important because distances are not big on Big Island

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    5.4
    Close to Park but expected more for what we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lokahi Lodge)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was very expensive for this small, old room with no air conditioning. But I guess it was all about the location. Pictures look a look better than it was.

    Very close to town and Volcano Park. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    Great home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable. Just very hard, like sleeping on a floor.

    The room and bathroom were both very clean, so I appreciated that! The kitchen upstairs was helpful and the common room was very cute! I wished it was cold enough to use the fireplace.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Quiet location in nature, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location in nature, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Good communication about ongoing eruption.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good communication about ongoing eruption.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    had a lovely time, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Full Bed, Shared Bathroom (Volcano Hale)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noisy neighbours one night out of four

    a lovely green setting and charm of an older house

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Chalet Kilauea Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was exceptional

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: