Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waikiki Gateway Hotel 3 stars

2070 Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

#93 of 210 hotels in Honolulu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1041 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location and nice sized modern room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed and we weren’t advised prior to arriving. Very loud noise from building work which if you wanted to sleep in after 9am you couldn’t. Rooms on anything other than top couple of floors do not have sea view.

    Fantastic location and nice sized modern room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous, centrally located hotel with the friendliest, loveliest staff in Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we could fault about the hotel.

    Hotel is in a brilliant location, close to the beach, shops & restaurants. There is a convenience store & ATM machine in the lobby. Room was clean, bright & had all the necessities. Breakfast was good value & tasty. Ricardo & the girls on the reception desk were phenomenal! They were all extremely helpful & friendly! Special mention to the ever smiling Roger, jack of all trades! He seemed to magically appear every time we needed an odd job done :) Thanks guys for making our first trip to Hawaii a pleasure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Staff are brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only concern was there is no fan in the bathroom - there was a slight sewage smell in the bath upon entering that lingered.. ? After showers it was muggy with no fan. All else was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Perfect. Will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay at hotel La Croix. The hotel is in an excellent location near Waikiki beach. The room was nice, clean and spacious and the staff goes above and beyond to make guests feel welcome. Special thanks to Wayne for his excellent customer service. The breakfast was great, with a good variety of fruits, vegetables and hot items. My wife and I strongly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel great, door man, excellent, but reception staff, need to worry about all multicultural guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was 3pm, an hour and half later, after I complained, they reckon they had forgotten about us, and told us also that hotel housekeeping hadn’t finished our room, I’m not biased, but we noticed they certainly didn’t forget about the Chinese people, they got their rooms straight away, we weren’t happy, especially when I know how Hotels run...

    The location was excellent, especially close to shopping, beaches, shuttle tours and main attractions..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    A very nice hotel, great location and a nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was upgraded and it was great. A corner room with two balconies one overlooking the ocean and the other overlooking a small park. What a surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    The staff are super friendly and go out of their way to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are way small. Hard to fit our 2 suitcases - but in reality we only slept there as we were out exploring! The pool is super small and only has a few chairs.

    The staff are super friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. Responsive to all requests and questions. Malorie at the front desk is a gem! Location was the best. Quick 10 minute walk to the beach and right downtown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    All in all it was a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and shower didn’t clean. The lock box did not work in my room. Swimming pool was very small.

    My room and bed was great. The location was great. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Close to all shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge you 20 dollars a day for breakfast discount weather you use it or not.

    Close to all shopping. Friendly front desk staff and transportation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Ok for price but next time I would pay the extra for a better hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No chair / table in room to put things Only mirrors in room were above bed (where you have to climb on bed to get too) & in bathroom - very poorly thought out Tv was on side of bed rather than in front of you Shower needs updating very old Too much noise from traffic

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    good location good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very nice breakfast (for one person it was free. The second had to pay around 12 dollars but it was worth it). Very nice staff and very good location (local bus stops nearby). Of course there is some noise from the street during the night but no noise from parties or restaurants ... My coffee machine was broken but they repaired it right away after calling the front desk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money & location! Gem in Waikiki!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 28 nights

    The laundry machines were broken for the entire month I stayed there. They had a nice exercise room but for some unknown reason they would close it at 8pm daily. This was useless because you could still get in and use it because its unmonitored. There was no reason to have this rule.

    This was amazing value for money! Great rooms with large TVs, incredible wifi, kitchenettes, $20 credit for breakfast buffet, and the location can't be beat. I would recommend this to all travelers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Great people good location right price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for parking was a surprise 29 a night. I obviously did not read everything. This was an unexpected expense. My fault though.

    Front desk was awesome. I had some W-2 forms that needed to be printed. I emailed them to the front desk and bam they took care of it. Not to mention there not only helpful but very attractive. The valet guy Vincent he is very helpful with knowledge of the area. His willingness to help with bags and jump if you need him too. Please remember to tip your valet guy's they work very hard to help us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    Good Location, the building is a bit aged.Bath rooms have tub and not applicable for all people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sliding door to step out on balcony was so heavy and didn't have rollers on it to make is slide. I needed to lift it all the time

    The ABC shop below, I asked for a addapture for my mobil and they didn't have one at the desk. Then I asked where I could get one,told to go down the street, when they sold it down stairs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff were excellent but the hotel requires updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was broken and virtually unusable. Fortunately there was a bath. The air conditioning while effective, directed its flow directly over the bed. The breakfast was basic and the breakfast room in need of a makeover.

    We were upgraded to the penthouse which had excellent views to the ocean and good amenities. The room was large and the bed good. The staff were particularly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall, despite the friendly efforts of the staff, the hotel looked tired and in need of work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was small and the shower controls did not work well. The breakfast was basic and the breakfast room was in need of a makeover. .

    Our room had an excellent outlook over greenery to the ocean. The staff were most helpful. The bed was comfortable and the bedroom quite large.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    The beds were comfortable, I didn't spend a ton of time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers we awkward and the water escapes on to the floor very easily , and the bathroom has literally zero/none/nada counter space for toiletries . I think even a little roll away hutch would work to resolve this .

    The beds were comfortable, I didn't spend a ton of time in the room so it served it's purpose for showers ,sleep and breakfast , rental brach gear is part of the room Fees so that was nice . Location is great especially for the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value but needs some loving renovation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds with Ocean View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gosh the laundry facilities did not work and only one icemaker in laundry area. The pool is a hazard ...needs desperate renovations to return to safe standard... metal steps lifted out when exiting and dip in pool depth dangerous. Needs access for children and disabled and elderly people. My disappointment was I could not swim in the pool. No access to toilets or change room near pool so had to drip through foyer thus creating slip hazard. Toilets in reception area closed. Electrical hazards in breakfast area with overloaded powerboards which kept tripping when 2 basic toasters turned on. Staff lovely but understanding of English was very poor for customer focus area in serving breakfast. Usually tea and coffee making facilities with some supplied milk tea and coffee but only a pod coffee maker in room...no milk, tea or anything in fridge which was disappointing. In fairness we did ask and get a kettle and bought supplies at the ABC shop onsite. Having stayed elsewhere, these items not supplied by other hotels but still it is a customer need and should be provided even in lower standard hotels. The doorway to bathroom are narrow so we walked in sideways but learnt to do this over 2 weeks. Lots of work to be done on this hotel but overall there was a sense of warmth and teamwork that made it bearable...plus the beds were comfy!

    Great staff who were professional friendly and accommodating with practical advice. Rooms comfortable and cleaners such a Mia excellent at making up rooms to look great. So overall made up for things in hotel that don't work. Still good value and I would stay there again knowing all negative points. Staff did amazing work, particularly reception crew and cleaners and should be recognised for this....given hotel so needs reinvigorating .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Value, Great Food, Amazing Location & Even Better Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The pool was quite small

    The breakfast was beyond excellent!!! The staff were the friendliest and most helpful people! The location was ideal as it had a main pick up stop right outside. We will most definitely be staying here again if we come back! the gym was also great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe they are updating the rooms and hallways so it smelled a little.

    Staff were so very helpful and present!! Knowledge of areas, friendly, any help I needed they were right there for me!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a very relaxed, wonderful and satisfying stay with your Hotel! Will come and stay anytime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We very much enjoyed our stay and we would recommend Waikiki Gateway Hotel to our friends and families. Our highlight was the warm presence and manner of staff! Brandon and our other brother (the bald guy with the brown/black lei) you guys are AMAZING! Thank you for going over and beyond to ensure that we had everything that we needed and that our stay was absolutely amazing! Mahalo Nui and Kia Ora from New Zealand.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    The location and the staff were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub was old and needs a deep cleaning.

    The location and the staff were perfect. It was walking distance to the beach, shopping and restaurants. The hotel breakfast was good with nice variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    It was a great holiday and i loved staying at the gateway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our towels were often replenished with two towels short, everyday.

    The hotel was central to other bus stops, it was close to the main strip, it was central to other restaurants that weren't on the main strip which was all walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Great location for Waikiki that stayed out of the tourist throngs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved more towels in the room to start so we didn’t have to bother the housekeeping staff. Didn’t intend to do laundry but the machines didn’t wash out the clothes. Save your change. Overall great hotel

    The staff was wonderful and incredibly accommodating especially Darwin. Hotel provides daily paper as well as water and coffee service in the lobby. Great location! Hotel is the pick up drop off point for many trolly services and shuttles. The air con was cold and powerful. One of the rooms on our floor was being renovated but we never heard construction or noise for our five day stay. Very quiet, courteous and considerate!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    We had a romantic, relaxing getaway here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the room would have been a little bigger, but it worked for us nonetheless.

    Staff was fantastic! Loved the view from our terrace penthouse. Terrace was bigger than expected!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Feel Aloha
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the warmth and professionalism of the staff who made our stay wonderful and admired the minimalistic modern style decor. Our room was impeccably clean and cozy; enjoyed the access to the fitness room, pool, surfing gear and complimentary beverages and newspaper + plus ; and, having affordable vehicle valet service was a comfort due to the challenge of parking in Waikiki. Truly a "hidden gem" for the wise and budget savvy locals and visitors alike.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When booking the hotel, it listed a free breakfast. That is not the case. While economical, we still had to pay for it each day. We were not informed of the resort fee on the booking website. Both of these drove the price of our stay up.

    Nice hotel with friendly staff. Room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Good price for big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Microwave and refrigerator stops working. Valet parking was not very good, workers leaving their stop to smoke and when checked out car was dirty (brown sticky liquid on windows, coffee?)

    Good price for big rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Kinda pricey for one night also watch out for hidden fees.
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the staff when I checked out. First of all I was nice. But the European staff guy was really rude, when I was asking questions why he was charging me more on the stay in the hotel. Remember people watch out for hidden fee also for security deposit whatever. So that is double whammy. He started giving me attitude, even my friend noticed that. No aloha with this Apple. I had a good room, the bathroom is small and the shower door doesn’t close well. But overall all the staff were nice except this guy.

    Probably just the location in between shops and the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.6
    I only had the croissant one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The cleaning staff was very inconsistent. We would leave in the morning around 9:oo AM come back 4:00 or so and the room still not made up. Dust bunnies on the floor. Floor was laminate and dirty. The bottoms of our feet were black from walking in the room. No fan in the bathroom. Smelly hallway. Loud air conditioner. Not enough American food in the breakfast buffet . Sorry, we do not eat rice and miso soup and salad for breakfast. We were not happy there!!! Tried to heat something to eat in the microwave and the power bar didn't work. We waited about 3/4 hour for someone to come replace it.

    I only had the croissant one day. They were not there every day that we were . We went else where at least half the time we stayed there . The croissant was good the one day I had it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool with microscopic wood paneling from 70s painted over with white paint and a large cockroach in our room one night

    Staff was friendly facilities were fairly clean and centrally located in the heart of Waikiki

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    3.8
    I will never ever ever stay here or recommend this hotel to even my worst enemy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel. When I went to bed at night I felt things crawling. There were a bunch of pop up fees and it felt like we were being manipulated out of our money, us and other guest as well. The pictures on booking.com is not what the hotel actually looks like. It’s a horrible old hotel and at random times the hotel would smell like sewage drains.

    The pineapple was very sweet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    2.5
    Requested certain time upon arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested certain time upon arrival. Staff totally ignored the request, asked if we could check out a bit later since our flight isn’t until 11:30pm. Staff member definitely pretended to look for any accommodation and ignored that as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Great friendly hotel at a convenient location in Waikiki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a litlle thin so you can sometimes hear noise from the hallway. The toilet makes a long sound after flushing. Room service one time cleaned my room but forgot to make my bed. However, I am out most of the time and only used the room to sleep so it did not bothered me.

    Love the friendly staff. They really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and are very helpful. The location is also very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    I do love staying at the gateway but hope I will get a room with all amenities the next time.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that there was no microwave , when the 3 precious times I stayed there, there was a microwave in the room. Secondly the name change threw me off as I circled around the hotel with my luggage trying to figure out where "the gateway" was and why another name was shown on the building.

    I love the staff. Customer service is important to me

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel building is a bit into to years and outdated and isn't as new and modern as others; would need a touch up.

    Complimentary bike rentals on the site Excellent location Great that it had a balcony Staff was nice helpful Convenient store on the site

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Love love love the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need to be updated and they didn’t completely clean the room I am sure not on purpose but there was garbage left in the kitchen cabinet and bathroom

    The staff was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Location is great and the staff have all been extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom really needs an upgrade as does the room in general but the bed was nice which is always most import.

    Location is great and the staff have all been extremely pleasant. Breakfast was okay and the bed and bedding is good. Room was a nice size too and we enjoyed our 12th floor view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    probably wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Worst stocked kitchenette in a room that I've stayed in. 4 x plastic dispoasable knifes, forks and spoon set. Paper bowls. Plastic plates. 1 pot, 1 pan, couple of mugs and glasses and thats it. No cleaning products to wash dishes or dishcloths etc.. Very soft, lumpy uncomfortable bed.

    Good location, close to the beach and some great restaurants and shopping nearby. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    After giving my credit card details to hotel staff, my card...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After giving my credit card details to hotel staff, my card was fraudulently used for online purchases but thankfully those transactions were blocked by my bank. I haven’t used my card anywhere else while in Hawaii.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.6
    - Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - We had hard time looking for the hotel, the signage stated "Hotel LaCroix". Same goes for the Uber drivers. - Ricardo, the front desk person seemed unfriendly & annoyed when attending to my wifi issue.

    - Location - Convenience store downstairs

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated interior,ie: popcorn ceilings, exposed conduit on ceiling, and balcony needed plaster and paint. Bathroom was tiny! Waterwent off one day for an hour or two

    The view of the park and ocean was awesome!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Had an enjoyable stay. Would definitely stay in the same place the next time we are in Honolulu.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff at Front Desk were very accomodating - Darwin, Jennifer, their supervisor, and the one who attended to me on 17 January. Jennifer and her supervisor went out of their way to accomodate my request. Millah, Pearl, and Annabel of Housekeeping also deserves a commendation as well as the one in charge of the elevator (evening shift of 18 January 2018).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.5
    the hotel was in a central location and the managers...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The buffet had limited options, the pastry was stale. Housekeeping only serviced the rooms after staff asked reception, the room was lacking basic necessities - Pens, hairdryer ect. The electrical appliances where connected using multiple power boards that would short circuit and maintenance where required to fix the issue. Hotel rooms didnt come with blankets - again had to ask staff for them, and the bed was made using incorrect size sheets i.e queen sheets on a king bed,

    the hotel was in a central location and the managers welcomed guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    Modern hotel but small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smallness of both the hotel room and the gym - the fact that the storage area for our clothes was in the bathroom, and that there were no bedside cabinets. Also disliked the constant road noise we could hear.

    This hotel was in a good location, a few blocks from both the beach and Ala Moana mall. We had a room on the 9th floor, and found the room to be quite a bit smaller than we are used to. As such, there was no room for bedside cabinets, and the storage area for our clothes was in the bathroom. Granted, the room had been modernized, however they failed to do double glazing on the windows, and despite being on the 9th floor we heard road noise all night. We used the hotel gym on one of our days, and like the rooms, it was very small and cramped. There is an assortment of free weights, a treadmill and bike, but just no room to move around. I did like the coffee maker that was provided - a nice touch, however for the same price I think we'd choose to stay in a larger roomed hotel next time

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    Average accommodation but very handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is very old and tired. I tried to check in at 2:57pm but was told the room would be available at 3:00pm so had to sit down and wait until 3:00pm which was ridiculous. Some repainting was being done on the floor I was on. The curtains in our room didn't reach right across the window so you couldn't keep the light out completely. 'The cupboards in the room were very difficult to open. Breakfast was pretty average. The lift malfunctioned fairly frequently. The pool is big enough to get wet but that's about all.

    The location was good. Very handy to the beach and main shopping street. Bus stop right outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful Staff with an Amazingly Accomodating Manager "Jose"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we had an issue with the room, the Manager , Jose, was extremely accommodating! He went out of his way to make us happy! Jose and his staff care about making guests happy! Next visit to Hawaii, I will certainly return to stay at this resort! Thank you for all your caring and being so accommodating!

    Very friendly staff! Super Manager!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Or room was very clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Or room was very clean and spacious. The staff was very helpful, very friendly and accommodating. The valet staff were especially friendly and very courteous. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pool was there but not a feature of this hotel

    location near the beach, bit of a walk but still close by. The bus connections also very good. 19 or 20 to/from the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location, not the most helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had the worst sink and faucet combination. It had a vessel sink an a faucet that was not designed for the sink. The spout was so close to the bowl that you would be touching the bowl to rinse your hand or the toothbrush. The spout was about an inch off the bowl. You could tell that the beds were old because you could hear the springs in the mattress as you sat on it. Also it was very hard and uncomfortable. They had flat pillows so you needed to use two pillows to sleep. I requested a small table and an extra chair for the balcony because there was only one chair and the front desk said there were no tables or chairs available, so we had to have our meals on the desk in the room.

    The bathroom was ok, the room was clean. I enjoyed the small kitchen but no dish washing detergent or sponge and only one fork

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    The buffet breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were tourist busses right outside until 11pm. It was a little noisy for me.

    The buffet breakfast was good. I thought the potato home fries were tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    we sould have stay from the biggining in this Hotel!!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Longer opening hour for the breakfast time

    when we let deliver our dinner from outside of the Hotel, which is the restaurant from the Hotel's suggested (Italian). After our ordering to delivery, the power of the electric system in part of city felt down. The hotel's light was half off, of course the power of elevator also off. Normally, the delivery staff from outside, We only pick up ourselves at the lobby. But we were staying on 10th floor, we could not move for 2 hours by that time, then the man was all the way walking up stairs deliver our food to 10th floor !!!!! amazing!!!! plus Pizza and Salad was sooooooooo delicious!!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    nice, brteakfast could have offered more veriety on different days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    sirens all night and too many street people.

    Staff was very accomodating, Hotel is old and falling apart in some areas. I would probably stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.2
    Photos are deceiving. Hallways smelt. Resort fee? But why? It’s a Hotel! Very deceiving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need to be more alert and more professional. Upon arrival, I told staff NOT to use my debit card which was on Booking.com, but she didn’t listen and used it. This was a massive, impactful mistake because my funds were held and I couldn’t get a release since I’d already transferred money into an international card! Furthermore, my refund of 100$ deposit still is not refunded and we came home 3 weeks ago!!!

    Some staff made up mistakes of others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    We had three rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had three rooms. None had a place to hang towel or clothes while taking a bath. Receptionist never answered the phone from our room, billing system at the end was very confusing and people at reception had language problem

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Is good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is dated and the facilities reflect that. But you get what you pay for, and it's perfectly acceptable if you plan to spend the bulk of your time out and about.

    Is good value. Everything was fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    3.8
    First night is Honolulu not comfortable sleep. The breakfast was best part of the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price. The quality of the room was not worth the price. Room is small, no coffee, water, creamer in room. No extra pillow or blanket. Overpriced. Bed not comfortable.

    The location was good. Close to cruise ship and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    The regular rooms are extremely outdated, rust, clear...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 20 nights

    The regular rooms are extremely outdated, rust, clear painting over rust and just old in general. The dressers had stains and it didn't look clean at all. I brought this to the attention of the front desk staff and they immediately helped me and moved me to a studio room which was updated and definitely cleaner. It was a pleasant stay, just beware of the outdated, dirty looking, stained rooms. The staff was great though, as well as the valet parking guys. Absolutely great service!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Good location for a very reasonable price, room was clean...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe in the room didn’t work, couldn’t sit out on the balcony because there was a leak from above so constant dripping onto our balcony - the balcony above was also rotting which wasn’t pleasant to look at. However we didn’t do anything about this/let staff know as we couldn’t be bothered moving rooms so can’t really complain!

    Good location for a very reasonable price, room was clean and bed was comfortable. Helpful staff, great to be able to borrow beach chairs and umbrellas. Handy ABC store in the building. Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    3.8
    Probably wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was on the floor with offices and was tucked away. No bedspread on bed. Amenity fees were charged even though I didn't use anything. This was not explained when purchased. Parking charges excessive. Staff not well informed when questions were asked.

    Valet parking. Coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    The only two minor criticisms are - the limited breakfast buffet options (especially with regards to the egg preparations and the breakfast meats), and the somewhat worn down shower/tub in our room. However, these are indeed minor issues.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and efficient (this includes the reception area staff, the breakfast area staff, and the housekeeping staff). The hotel is great, overall, and all of our requirements were taken care of.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful staycation spot, a little farther from the “strip” but a great location nonetheless!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I took issue with was the extra fees that pop up at time of checkout, and how the situation was handled at time when I needed clarification. Though I do credit them for being civil and fairly polite.

    We really enjoyed the helpful and caring atmosphere. The handwritten welcoming card from the housekeeping staff was so unexpected and sweet. The newly renovated room exceeded our expectations and we will back for more mini staycations soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Great holidays in Waikiki in great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    good breakfast for american standards, very helpful staff, good location; spacetious room, abc store in the building. fot this price I do not expect more.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    I was very impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of...
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was dated but clean. There was no microwave.

    I was very impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the entire staff. I would especially like to commend Miles and Eric, who went above and beyond consistently.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.6
    It was ok but not worth the amount of money. Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are run down trying to look updated with very cheap furniture. Bathroom very old and rusty.

    It was in a good location. Easy to get to attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    This hotel room was very spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a corner room and the traffic noise was pretty loud. The doors that could be unlocked to adjoin our room with the one next door had a pretty big gap underneath it. If our neighbor had been loud it would have been easily heard from our room.

    This hotel room was very spacious and clean. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. They have towels, umbrellas, chairs, boogie boards, etc for free to take to the beach. It's probably a 5-10 min walk to the beach. When you get there you can park in the underground parking garage for free for an hour to unload your belongings. Erick, the parking attendant was extremely friendly and helpful. After the hr it is $29.95 + tax per day for parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.3
    Decent budget accommodation in a nice part of Waikiki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some front office staff were unpleasant to deal with. Room was very small. We booked and paid for a king bed but received a double bed. When we raised this with the hotel they said that we were in a king bed room, but we definitely were not.

    Good location. Complementary breakfast was a good inclusion.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay...!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Toiletries could be improved. No moisturizer or comb provided. Breakfast items could be monotonous if you are having the same for more than 3 days. Electric iron also could be added. Price is slightly on higher side. But I guess it's difficult to get good hotel at reasonable price in Honolulu.

    Great location, friendly staff. Local trip or airport shuttle can be booked via hotel. Corner rooms offer more space with 2 balconies and good views. Daily breakfast is reasonably priced. You can borrow beach towel for free. You can get all daily amenities from the ABC store downstairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Room was nice and overall feeling was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac for three nights after I told them on the first night it was out And walls are paper thin so you can hear everyone

    Room was nice and overall feeling was okay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were average. A bit dated especially the bathrooms- for the price- but then Waikiki is expensive for all accomodations so this might just be standard.

    Good location. Central and easily accessible by bus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay at the Waikiki Gateway Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor seems to be aged, so doesn't the bathtub. As a tall person (6'5) the shower isn't comfortable, but it will do. The ceiling is quite low especially for European standards. So mind your hands while stretching yourself as you might hurt yourself as I did :)

    Perfect location, you are on the beach with a 5 minute stroll. The main shopping street starts 1 block away from the hotel. The beds are comfortable. The TV is nice, and it's really useful that the room is equipped with a fridge and microwave. The staff is super friendly and always in for a chat. They really want to make sure that the service is perfect. The hotel is quiet so no troubles sleeping at night. Pool is cool but I do advise to go to the beach instead ( you are on Hawaii anyway!!) There is a small convenience store located next to the door of the hotel, which can be useful as it rains!. As the name says it all: this hotel really is a Gateway to Waikiki.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our original room had a really bad odor upon checking in. We changed and the room still had an odor but not as strong. The sheets were also stained and they never changed them. (We knew because we seen the exact same stain). Also, was told we’d get kama’aina parking but was then told we couldn’t cause we didn’t book directly through the hotel. I have no clue how that doesn’t make us local.

    Location was great. Pillows are comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Great friendly staff, cost is less than others so don't expect fancy if that's what you desire.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The hotel was built in the 70's and it still shows. It has had a face lift but in my opinion it was done on the cheap. Bathroom ventilation is weak so it has mold with the drywall bubbling as well as paint. The counter/sink and faucets are vintage 70's. A bleach/water solution is used (trying to keep mold at bay) so it stinks after the bathroom is cleaned. The mattresses are coil spring and you feel it. I did sleep fairly well but not as comfy as other low cost hotels I've stayed so if your staying a long time something to consider.

    Location to the beach and town is very good. The breakfast was very good for the price. Every morning there were eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads, juice and coffee. Linens are clean and smell fresh. Beach towels are large so no need to pack them. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful which makes up for the lack in hotel upgrades !! Rooms were fairly clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall I got a great deal from gateway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queen bed is not queen size but more like full size

    Friendly staff. Location is convenient. The hotel accommodated us with the room we booked( although the problem most likely come from booking.com) and valet parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is located at the beginning of Waikiki and close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was alright, but I didn't like it when their china plates and silver ware were changed to paper plates and plastic forks in the beginning of the week. The rooms are renovated and clean, but the building itself seems old and hallway was rather darker side.

    The hotel is located at the beginning of Waikiki and close enough to walk to Ala Moana Center and the middle of Waikiki. It is a very convenient location. The morning walk to the Fort DeRussy was refreshing. The tour bus stopped right in front of the hotel too.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Waikiki Gateway Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: