Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waikiki Resort Hotel 4 stars

2460 Koa Ave, Waikiki, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

#69 of 210 hotels in Honolulu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 525 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Had a great time in Waikiki, a definite return is needed, and would stay at this facility again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Earlier check in times would be ideal especially if travelling from Australia, flights get in at 0600 and check in at 1500. If staying at this facility ask for early check in. Bathrooms need updating, but were kept clean. Don't like the idea of fridge being underneath bathroom sink.

    Location was excellent, 2 minute walk to Waikiki Beach, 4 minute walk to bus stops, 10 minutes walk to International shopping centre,, restaurants all around, the room was kept clean at all times, the housekeeping staff are amazing at this facility. Partial ocean view which was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was old and very tired in presentation. It seemed much smaller than I’d anticipated from the website - though I can see that it was accurate and just the way photos were taken. The pool is very small and pool area uninteresting.

    Staff were wonderful and combined pleasant, welcoming service with efficiency. The location is superb, a short walk to the beach, and that is really what this hotel is about.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.2
    The hotel is very dated hotel. The wifi never connects. Beds are too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated hotel. The wifi is barely available. We had issues with opening the balcony door and moved rooms and still had issue with the door. Reception staff not helpful. Beds advertised as doubles but are more like king single and not comfortable for 2 adults.

    Excellent location. Housekeeping very accomodating and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    Apart from the bed situation the stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sofa bed = what is the point. They are NEVER comfortable. The room was large enough to add two single beds or another double for a family visit - we travelled as a family of four adults.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.2
    Location was great and the Ocean View very great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fornitures were very old, the carpet was old and dirty, the small bad was really not comfortable.

    Location was great and the Ocean View very great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Idyllic setting, would go back. Simply Paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Rooms are a good size, cleaned daily. Staff friendly & helpful. Pool area well maintained.small shops in hotel, similar prices to the resort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Location perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man that sold me my tours was very rude , never helped me , would rather talk on his personal mobile phone . Spent a lot of money going to pearl Harbour, he didn’t even mention it’s broken we saw nothing a complete waist of money .

    Location perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    Good location, not so good staff and practice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our reservation is for two double-beds. When we checked in, hotel staff told us we were to 'upgraded' to one king-bed and sofa bed. That is not the way for doing the business. Can booking.com do something?

    location is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location, but will not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Looks better on photos than in real life. Small room for two queen beds. A table was stealing to much of the limited space. The room and facilities felt worn and in need of a face lift. Pool area was not very nice and closed the first day. Construction of a parking house in front of the hotel. Not visible on photos.

    Location. Discounted breakfast was appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location in Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was terrible in the room. Swimming pool was closed for two days due to a private event... and once we got to go to the swimming pool, we were asked to get out of the pool for 15’ because they were going to do a film shooting or something along those lines....

    Location, close to everything, beach, convenient stores, restaurants, etc.DVD availability for kids

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    nice and relaxing and if you hungry at 1 or 2am just hop to Maca for a feed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    none at all

    The location which is handy to the beach and transport and Macdonald and just good and friendly service .this is our second time and we will definately book it again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, met expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated, this is pretty common in Hawaii.

    Good location, upgraded to penthouse which helped. The room was a good size and clean, met expectations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    + good location close to waikiki beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - old fashioned rooms - the bellboy was an akward way very persistent for a tip - the bathroom has a combined bathtub and shower

    + good location close to waikiki beach + free wifi + private balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Our stay for the most part was pleasant, but not exactly comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra bed was extremely uncomfortable because you can feel the springs. I expected for an ocean view, there wouldn't be a building blocking the view as in the picture online. The room we were in should be described as a PARTIAL ocean view.

    The location is perfect as far as the distance from the beach and easy to find. The buffet breakfast was amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice second row hotel, just 1 min away from beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi very slow. Connection lost frequently.

    Nice room with (partial) ocean view and balcony in 16th floor. Free beach towel service. Parking available for acceptable extra cost per day with unlimited in/out policy. In-house breakfast buffet for 16$/person. Helpful personnel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    It was a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the bed was firmer, too springy, the flush handle needed to be changed and the shower head. Some minor things could be changed but you get for what you pay.

    Breakfast buffet was great for the money and there was both hot and cold and a variety to choose from. The hotel lobby is open and spacious with plenty of fresh air. We didn't use the pool so can't comment but one block from the beach and central to everything in Waikiki. What I paid for the room was worth it and for the three night I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget. The first time I checked in they upgraded me with an Ocean view which was great and no extra cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Stay here if you only care about location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bad customer service. We had an issue with the parking access and the guy at the front desk was rude and condescending. The common areas of the hotel look run down and the beds, in particular, were really uncomfortable. I wouldn't come back, I'm sure you should be able to find a better hotel for the same price.

    The best thing about this hotel is the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very tired looking hotel. The rooms did not meet our expectations. The reviews all reed well and the photos seemed fine, but really disappointed when shown our room. Also our key cards kept clearing and would have to go back to reception. Not ideal. Would not stay there again

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    We would stay at the Waikiki Resort Hotel again. It was family friendly. O
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check out could have been faster.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable after a fun and full day at the Zoo. We could relax and enjoy the family's company in our room without feeling cramped. We had 3 separate suites and the hotel honored our request of keeping our rooms in close proximity of each other. Made it very convenient for us, especially with 2 bouncy and lively toddlers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    apart from a few minor issues .......No other problems
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no spa Pool but that doesn,t suit everyone..........Accomadation for 4 people but when we got to the room had to set beds and get extra towels etc

    Helpfull Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.0
    Would stay somewhere else next time due to the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy during the night & early morning. Noise was from doors of other rooms nearby & very noisy from the street.

    Close to the beach & shopping. Staff were lovely & helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved it and will stay here again if ever we return to Hawaii
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately Australians have become espresso coffee lovers but the U.S. prefers brewed coffee. Thank goodness for Maccas down the road we were able to get a cheap yummy coffee once a day.

    We were upgraded and had a lovely view of the centre of Waikiki Beach. (Thank You). It was a short block back from the centre of the beach. Close to the Macdonalds and central to everything. Loved this hotel. Great location but not at a 5star price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was about 1/2 the size of room my husband had last year. Too noisy all night long ... doors slamming and balcony door opening and closing. Were we put there because of the children?

    Staff and location plus restaurant illina

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.0
    View was better than I anticipated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not helpful, never got a text telling me our room was ready. Tub didn’t drain properly, gross getting shower in 6 inches of water.

    View was better than I anticipated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    3.3
    Horrible, sorry, hated every single second.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Everything

    Hated every single second of being in this hotel. Full of Koreans (which is fine)...but clearly a hotel geared around Koreans as they have Korean Air based there. Just unfriendly, dirty, shabby hotel. Not a pleasant experience. Food on offer awful. Bar awful...said cocktails on door....don't exist! The noise was excruciating from the street and the building works, and right opposite a multi storey car park which car alarms going off all night. Asked to move and they moved us one floor up and an apartment over....It was just dire. The only good thing...Manager was good at dealing with my complaint...receptionists unhelpful and obviously had no sense of humor. Changed hotels and had an amazing time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    At the beginning of our stay we had some problems and our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    At the beginning of our stay we had some problems and our stay was not as expected. But after we spoke with Connor at the desk our stay turned out to be very good ! I would still recommend you this place ! :) Kind Regards Vedran

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Great service and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was a little cold and didn’t warm up at all.

    My husband and I stayed here the night we got married. The front desk upgraded us to a penthouse suite when we came to check in!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Delighted with location, room size/comfort, cleanliness and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bathroom. Lack of table inside room at which to eat. External noise from neighboring hotel and early morning trucks.

    Excellent location. Helpful staff. Comfortable beds. Kitchenette. Everything worked. USB charger.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Hotel with easy walk to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean but place is tired and could use a refresh and definitely a good clean in common area

    Friendly and helpful staff. This is a three star hotel with good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in Waikiki without breaking the bank
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated look and feel of the place. Old carpets and furnishings. TV is small and the one in the room the remote didn't work. Some of the front desk staff were unpleasant however the 2 bell boys were awesome. They were helpful and always had a big smile.

    Fantastic location with ease of access to the Waikiki beach and shopping areas. 2 ABC stores right next door. View was okay and at the 17th floor we could see most of Honolulu during a clear day. Very good value for money. While other resorts can go for 3 times the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Excellent Location, Staff & very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    We loved this Hotel 1 street back from the beach. Whilst an older hotel it was very clean, comfortable and the staff were all lovely. It has a laundry (bonus) and a Bar with great staff. We did not use the restaurants so we can't rate them. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic spot in Waikiki. Would happily come back here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing is a bit average. You can easily hear the noises of the street (we were on the 10th floor)

    Bed was comfy and the welcoming gift was a very nice touch. Also free DVD rentals which was great for rainy nights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay for what we went for.
    • Family with young children
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was told we would get half off on parking but ended up paying full price. Don't like people just saying things and not following through. Did not realize got charged fully until we reached home, my fault for not checking the bill before leaving.

    Location was great for the reason we were in Waikiki. My son had his prom just steps away from the Waikiki Resort Hotel. Friendly staff from front desk to housekeeping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Great for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kind of smaller room, but it was only my wife and I, so not that big of a deal.

    The hotel staff was great. The hotel was overall pretty nice. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    It was ok because of that one thing
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a late flight & we couldn't get a late check out. So this hotel might not work for us again, I like to shower before I catch a late flight . Your location was ideal but without a late check out it won't work for me.

    Our family was close to where we needed to go

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic location, but dated hotel and noisy night life with thin hotel walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We landed in Honolulu at 7am and arrived at the hotel at 8:30am but couldn’t access the room until 3pm!! They would not let us up a minute early. Which was frustrating considering we’d come on a international flight and were absolutely exhausted. Don’t book this hotel if you’re flying in early like us. You’ll get told to go do something until the rooms are ready. The rooms themselves are very dated, bathroom is small especially the shower. Don’t expect to have good water pressure either.

    Location was great, close to the beach, shops and resteraunts. Rooms were clean, pool was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Easy access to the major Waikiki attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bus tub is a little small and shallow. Breakfast buffet of the restaurant (Ilima) was limited selection and not good quality. It was like more continental breakfast.

    Location is good. Close to the Waikiki Beach and shopping areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    We recomment the Waikiki resort hotel....even the cleaning staff were all smiles. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area is uninspiring. The chairs are hard, the loungers are uncomfortable and tired looking and you can’t go in the pool because the water is freezing - they need to heat the pool. Also, it would be nice to have a shower stall near the pool, in the bathroom adjacent to it as well as towels. Instead you have to go to the basement for towels. I understand that’s because of the homeless coming to steal them... so sad.

    The smaller restaurant in the lobby is underrated and underadvertised. We had a 20 % off coupon which made it the best deal in town. We didn’t eat breakfast because it was a buffet for 15.99 each and we thought it was too much (both food and money) until we realized that’s an average price of food in Honolulu. Still, we ate at the Iliana restaurant a few times and it was excellent, including an a la carte breakfast on our last day Which we didn’t know was available.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Blessed with a penthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints about the hotel or the service. Only negative was some construction noise from a hotel nearby.

    We booked a standard room and were upgraded to the best room in the house....a penthouse with ocean, city and mountain views. The staff were very friendly esp Nancy and Branden and always willing to assist. Housekeeping were always smiling and had a great sense of humour. The location is great - no more than 3 minutes walk from your room to the beach. The zoo is no more than 10 mins walk and there are plenty of shops and eateries within walking distance. A car is optional. The in-house brekky was great value and the quality and choice was excellent. The Korean restaurant menu also looked yummy but we didn't get to try it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Awesome location, 1 minute from the beach. Nice views of the ocean and the sunset too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could we have access to a gym? Also is there a way to get better lighting in the Koa street. Sometimes at night it felt a bit spooky.

    The beds were really comfortable and the air conditioning quiet. The cleaning staff are fantastic, so friendly and efficient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    it was a bed and bathroom, nothing special. wouldn't rave about it to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra Small bathrooms, lack of shelving in shower had to put all products on floor an with lack of room in shower it was tight.

    The helpfullness and friendliness of the concierges

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a lie. They cheat their photos and showing the room that are not even available. The bathroom is supper small. First time in my life that I heard there is a half bath room. The bath tab is literally a half one. Super small. There wasn’t even a ocean view. My view is blocked my the building and constructions in front of building. This hotel is lying about their rooms and the service they are providing. The location is also pretty bad. There are alarms, car rings, people fight sounds around you. No way to fall in sleep at night. I thought I am going to have a nice stay, turns out to be a full disaster.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Great value and got obstructed view of ocean but still worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was dated and shower was very small

    Loved the unlimited free dvd rentals. Was not expecting to use that amenity but at end of night it was great option. Also location to how far from the action was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    It is second time for us to stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is second time for us to stay at this hotel. Location is perfect and close to everything.Room is clean and neat. Friendly staff. It is always great as usual.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, not so great value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are small for such an expensive hotel and the pictures show it much better then it really is.

    The location of the hotel is great, you can get to the center of Honolulu and to the most popular places by foot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed every part of our stay at the Waikiki Resort. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the location of the hotel. Very close to everything - the beach, restaurants, ABC Stores...Check in was a breeze. Service was excellent. Wouldn't mind staying at Waikiki Resort again on our next visit to Oahu.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    My daughter's stuff doll was missing from our room and the reception did not bother to look for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Windows are not sound proof, noisy garbage truck doing their collections early in the morning, loud busy street noise at night, the male reception at the front desk counter is not very friendly.

    Free DVD rentals, many fast elevator access, good location to the beach and shopping center, house keeping cleaner every day, easy to get a taxi and transportation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    My daughter's stuff doll was missing from our room and the reception did not bother to look for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Windows are not sound proof, noisy garbage truck doing their collections early in the morning, loud busy street noise at night, the male reception at the front desk counter is not very friendly.

    Free DVD rentals, many fast elevator access, good location to the beach and shopping center, house keeping cleaner every day, easy to get a taxi and transportation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    A great place to relax and unwind. Very comfortable. Will be returning again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon in our room was slightly noisey and the pool was not heated. But other than that I cannot complain.

    The location was fantastic. The restaurant downstairs was great value for money. The view from our room was just beautiful. The concierge (Lisa?) was excellent and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Good location but old run down more like 2 or 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old. Really needs an upgrade. The flush was very weird just kept running all night and the staff were very slow 1 time I asked for a bottle opener but never recieved it so went to reception next day to get one very poor service in terms of reception answering.

    The view was good but the building in front getting renovated ruined it. Location is really good 2 mins from the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.8
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staffs were very rude and some of staffs are doing discrimination against Asian people. One of receptionist was very kind to white family and she was telling me “if you want to wait, do as you want” when I was asking for double check of the check-out receipt which was double charged with parking fee. She also said that “whatever your notification said, you can check it by yourself” when I got a notification from credit card company of my parking fee was double charged. I understand that she was busy with other customer helping check-in, but It was her who told me she can help me for check-out at the same time. She lied to me that she didn’t tell anything like that when I asked back about what she said. Worst thing is that she was keep lying to me about what she said to cover this up. Don’t go this hotel if you are Asian.

    Location was perfect. It was 1min walk away from Waikiki beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.1
    Location is great and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness of the room can be improved.

    Location is great and comfy beds. Easy check-in and check-out processes with friendly staff. However, ended up with a room very close to the hotel lift even though I had put in a special question for a quiet location for the room and also informed the hotel that this holiday trip is to celebrate my 16th wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    1st choice is Waikiki Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very popular hotel so it was difficult to extend our stay

    I like the location close to Waikiki Beach and the staff. Cherry from reservations was very helpful when we made enquiries about our stay Dennis (porter) always lovely person. Buffet breakfast very good value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bell desk was not open early morning so when we checked out at 5.45am could not get a trolley up to our room to load up our bags they were locked away. Had to make multiple trips in the lift to get bags down to reception.

    Location and restaurant were good as was room clean with comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    I'll never choose another hotel unless its fully booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to get a reservation. It's very popular

    Location, staff - have always stayed here in 6 previous occasions. This resort will always be my first preference. The staff are always willing to accomodate your requests

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.6
    No aloha spirit in this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was terrible. Two guys Dean and Branden. Branden attitude as a FACE OF HOTEL WAS AWFUL! Rolling eyes in front of guests in 4(!!!) star hotel, I think it soooo inappropriate. I didn't get answers to my questions, they didn't help. I'm a local here, and this hotel doesn't show aloha spirit. If you on vacation here you def don't want to see this unfriendly faces((

    Ac was cold which is good. Room was average size. Bathroom was ok, but kinda old

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Good price; prime location; friendly easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool notice - stated swim at your own risk if you have any cuts etc - you will get an infection . It stopped us from wanting to swim in it at all

    Location. Friendly staff. Easy access to beach and walking to restaurants and shops. Kids loved hiring a new DVD (included in price of room ) each night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    3.8
    Dissatisfied we should have been warned that there was renovations happening before we arrived
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the elevator The noise from the renovations was going through the day and night very disappointing 😡 There was a lot of mold inside the mini fridge as well 😮 The noise from the other hotels renovations was annoying The rooms walls are so thin you can hear everything your neighbors are saying and doing The other guests spitting on the ground outside

    The location is great, and the pool area is fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.6
    We would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were not very welcoming on arrival. As we pulled our car up at the front door to unload our bags, the bell man stood behind his desk. He did not speak to us at all let alone offer assistance. The man who served us at reception was nice enough but seemed to be training and needed to check everything with his colleague. They attempted to charge us the resort fee twice as they did not believe it was included in our booking. I had to show them proof of booking via booking.com app. Getting up to the room was disappointing. The city view is essentially a view to an old apartment and some high rises in the background. The room was relatively clean, however there was still an empty wine bottle on the balcony and when we called room service to remove it, she could not understand what we were saying and after 3 attempts we just threw it in the bin. The TV stations were in another language and we couldn't figure out how to change it. We ended up having to click through stations and guess what shows were. The bathroom is extremely tiny and old. The hotel is essentially marketed at Korean guests. Korean Airways staff stay here, there is a Korean restaurant and a Karaoke bar. Overall we did not have an enjoyable stay here. I would not class it as a 4 star hotel, however it was a place to rest our head while we checked out Waikiki.

    The location was very central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    The room was quite big with a nice balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small and the door was just right on the water. They let us pay to leave our luggages after we checked out. The place that they suggested us for breakfast for really bad. Food not fresh. Not worth it at all for the price. It is better go on the Main Street.

    The room was quite big with a nice balcony. Very close to the beach. The staffs were ok. There was a guy at the desk who was really good helping us with directions and offering a key for the bathroom that we could use after we checked out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    It was ideal for us to have 3 nights stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I first started to book the Waikiki Resort Hotel direct because they had on there web Site that breakfast was included. I tried to email them several times to take Up there offer direct but did not have any Success so that's why we booked through Booking.com

    Yes the beds were very comfortable as well As the pillows. The Hotel is in a very good location so handy To walk to Kuhio st and get on the Ala Moana Bus. Also a quite are and so close to the Beach where we like to swim.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Hotel very seventies but clean. Close to beach & shops & restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough lights in room & bathroom Not enough mirrors Slow cleaners Pool is not pretty, no plants ect. Restaurant at the entrance was not very friendly & food was very ordinary The hotel is very seventies needs a good makeover

    It's close to beach 1st reason to come back Close to shops & restaurants Beds comfortable & clean Staff was friendly & helpful Restaurant in 2nd floor was nice with delicious food Liked the foyer of the hotel, great Wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    old building with the old carpet. the key to the room don't work most of the time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too expensive for an old hotel building, need to change especially the carpet.

    it's a very old hotel building, it should be cheaper but it's not. We even experienced water leaked in the bathroom from the top level. So we had to move to another room after we came back (exhausted) from a tour. We ask for accomodation and they gave us couple 2 ticket each to the Illima breakfast. But an old hotel like this shouldn't charge people so expensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Fairly basic but all you need!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is possibly a little rundown but it didn't matter because it was comfortable and very clean!

    Great staff, easy location moments from the beach, very clean, nice big room and big bed! Buffet was excellent too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Love the vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed here before. Love the location one block back from the beach towards Diamond Head end. Away from all the crowds and close to stores where we could buy breakfast supplies to keep the cost down. Would definitely stay here again if we revisit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Excellent location 2mins walk to Waikiki beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Staff were excellent. Reception staff and the guys who kept our bags and booked our shuttle back to the airport all had excellent customer service skills. Extremely polite and friendly. The location is excellent as its literally a 2 min walk and you are on the beach. I also felt our rented car was safe in the hotel car park. Hotel was great value for money when you realise your location. Hotels nearby are far more expensive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Waikiki Resort Hotel is "AA" (Awesomely Affordable)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom sink was too tiny and didn't drain well. toilet was a pain to flush, had to press and hold in the button. there was a little bed next to the Queen bed so it was impossible to walk around on one side of the bed.

    staff was very helpful. breakfast was good bed was comfortable location is close to everything in Waikiki

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    A Wonderful Surprise!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Everything. I had a previous reservation at a different property and when I double checked the evening before, I discovered it was cancelled and the prices raised. Last minute, I found a great deal here for a better price, better room, better location. The best part was our beach view!!! I am so grateful for the hospitality and last minute accomodations. I feared I wouldnt be able to find another room like the first one I booked, but surprisingly it was so much better!!! It was perfect!! What a Blessing!!! Thank you so much for helping me make my mother's bday and first Hawaii trip something we will cherish forever!!! I will be back!! Mahalo!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.9
    Great for a stress free holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with City View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oldish hotel - although it has a good atmosphere. Bed a bit too soft so the housekeeping staff immediately placed a bed board to make it firmer. Daytime construction noise was noticeable but it was quiet at night. Do not take the rooms next to the lift (we were offered an upgrade but when we heard the lift noise we decided to stay where we were).

    Location, price, friendly & helpful staff, laundry onsite, very close to the beach (70m), reasonable sized room. Free DVD loans onsite, cafe, Korean restaurant, small night club bar onsite. Extensive Mini Mart on the ground floor. 50m to McDonalds, 200m to the Honolulu Zoo, is next to the Hyatt from which is where most tours leave ((Buses). Basically the shopping starts near the hotel all the way up to the Hard Rock Cafe (about a 1.2 km shopping stretch).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately I found my room to be a bit noisy due to construction at a nearby hotel and the endless stream of tour buses arriving to collect/drop off guests at the corner entrance to the hotel. Not the hotel's fault, but about the only thing I can fault.

    I stayed on my own for 7 nights and was very pleased with the room. Bed was super comfy and I was upgraded to a partial ocean view room! The breakfast at the restaurant (buffet) is a fair feed for the price and the coffee wasn't terrible (an unfortunate trend across north america). One block (100m) to the Waikiki beach shore, walking right past a tastefully hidden McDonald's. Going one block away from the beach is the other main street with the trolley stop (Pink line) 5 minutes away. About a 30 minute ride to Ala Moana shopping centre, but plenty to see along the way. Ample shopping opportunities within 15 minutes walk, same for food, of which there are many excellent choices. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    5.4
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways had a smell like old food. The parking was expensive and didn't always let you out. I had to have them manually open the gate to let me leave

    The location was great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Friendly staff, great location, very happy with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After arriving early in morning & couldn't book in till 3pm. You can leave your bags with Bellman which was good.

    The ladies at the front desk were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Bargain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picked the hotel for its location and good value

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy lift

    Bed was great. Restaurant needs to be opened for dinner. Overall the hotel needs a refurb but our stay wad excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Location is very convenient and close to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is small

    Location is very convenient and close to beach

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: