Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Washington Square Hotel 4 stars

103 Waverly Place, Greenwich Village, New York, NY 10011, USA

#114 of 419 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1486 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Location in the heart of Greewich Village and well served by local restaurants and the subway stations. Told tge area can sometimes be noisy and with difficlt characters but experienced nothing of that kind

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    A characterful hotel in a peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors are narrow and in need of some t.l.c. but the main public areas are bright and in character with the age of the building.

    The hotel had real character and was not just a modern box. The location was ideal with Washington Square across the road and a subway station at the end of the road. It was so peaceful in contrast with the noise of central Manhattan. A real haven to come back to at the end of a busy day. It was quiet overnight, no traffic noise making it easier to sleep after a day’s sightseeing. The continental breakfast wasn’t extensive in choice but it was plentiful. The staff were very helpful, especially on our first night when we needed to find a doctor. The only exception was a slightly grumpy doorman on our last day who we hadn’t seen before and wasn’t the gentleman who had smiled and greeted us every other day of our stay. I had mentioned to the hotel before we arrived that we were visiting NY to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary and when we arrive they had upgraded us and left a bottle of wine in our room. We had a lovely room overlooking the street with a view of the park. On our way from the airport my husband’s rucksack had ‘gone missing ‘ so we were very hassled when we arrived. The upgrade made for a lovely surprise and made us smile again. Washington Square Hotel is a real contrast to the hustle and bustle of New York and we would certainly stay there again if we return to the city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.3
    Staff was efficient. Location was excellent and convenient. Room was so-so.Included breakfast was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Per our rental agreement when I booked the room I was supposed to get a room with a king-sized bed (this was printed right on our receipt.) When I checked in I was told the room had 2 twin beds because I didn't book it directly through the hotel. It turned out to be acceptable because the 2 twin beds were next to each other. Also, the staff said I could transfer the next day to a room with a king bed. We declined this offer; not wanting to re-pack our things and move. The room itself was small, dark and without any view of the outside. The one window looked out on a dark air shaft. But the most concerning criticism is that I got bitten by some kind of bug in the bed. The welts left were small, raised, red, itchy bumps - 3 total. I'm not saying it was bedbugs - just some kind of insect (flea? mite?) that bites and itches (room 207). I did report this to the front desk and they said they would look into it. Our reservation ended that day though. I would probably stay in this hotel again-but only if the room was larger and lighter with a "real" window looking out on to anything but a dark airshaft.

    The best aspect of this hotel is it's very convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Weekend in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel prices in NYC are expensive!

    Great location. Room was clean and had everything I needed plus more. All staff were helpful and pleasant. Free entertainment a few steps away in Washington Square.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyable- the hotel staff work hard to make the Washington Square run like clockwork
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in the bedroom a little dingy - maybe the brown & beige is a bit dated

    Excellent breakfasts - the food was high quality and well presented. Waiting staff attentive and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    An utterly charming hotel in Greenwich Village and a great value...perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was wonderful, right in the Village and near subway stops to anywhere we wanted to go. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms tastefully appointed. The adjacent restaurant, North Square, is one of the best restaurants I have experienced and for the quality of the food and presentation, quite reasonably priced. Great staff. Will always stay here when visiting NYC!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    We would stay again and recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Ron, the lobby attendant, was fantastic, warm and helpfull as were the front desk staff. The location suited us very well. It's close to the subway, good restaurants and music venues. We booked three rooms and all were great Our service breakfast was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.1
    suitable for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the locationn in relation to the subway, comfy clean bed

    the hotel is old art decor and in Grenwich village .which is ideal think the area is fine during the day but we did not feel comfortable during the day ,our room was fine ,and the free braeakfast although continental is wellcome ,did not know you could take it in the pay for restaurant as well we know now .as a brit would say its a bit overpriced

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    The location and staff are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and staff are fantastic. This was my second time staying at this hotel. The restaurant serves wonderful food. After spending a noisy day on the streets of NYC it is a welcome relief to relax and dine in the lounge. The bartender, Christopher, is attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Nice foe weekend/ short vacationi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small. Not enough place for 2 suitcases. And hardly any space t walk around the bad. There was one small window adressing some kind of internal narow patio.

    The design of the hotel is nice. The bathroom is nice an comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Continental breakfast was disappointing as there was no food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was disappointing as there was no food left when we got there at 9:30. Checked again in 15 minutes and still no food. No one around refilling empty dishes. Otherwise wonderful stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    We have stayed here before and like the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Non smiling staff, stairs

    We have stayed here before and like the location. I asked for a walk in shower and they assisted me with that which I was grateful for. The breakfast is decent but we noticed they have stopped making latte coffee on request. There is stairs in a lot of places, and a bit of a rabbit warren. there are many places to eat The White Oak Tavern down the road excellent food and wine. It is opposite Washington Square Garden which is fabulous and close to NYU. If you are after luxury stay somewhere else, for a clean and tidy room in a great location this is it. The staff need to smile more behind reception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location but bad room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was poor. Our window view was zero - it had a brick wall a few feet in front of it. Very disappointing when we told them it was our honeymoon.

    Very good location in New York

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the same price I could have stayed in the standard. No refrigerator in the room. They told me room is waiting for final inspection!! My observation it was not vacuumed. The restaurant staff rude and not welcoming. Self service breakfast ran out of regular coffee at 10 and no sign of anymore

    Location was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic trip and the welcome prosecco for my birthday was a fantastic surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really loved the people that worked there. Very helpful front desk, concierge and other servers etc. They were so down to earth and willing to help. The neighborhood is great and walking distance to many great places.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in the Village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the Express breakfast area - same continental offering, in a self serve format. Plus complimentary cold drinks (and coffee)available all day along with fresh baked cookies! Bonus! And so welcome in the hot weather.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of something

    From The moment we walked in the staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to get us into an early check-in into a room all in all it was a great experience staying at this hotel and I would recommend this hotel not only for the staff and excellent service we received as well as the location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Good Location but corners cut on the room renovations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The front desk people could be more friendly and the toaster for the continental breakfast should have been retired a long time ago as it will not eject correctly and the guests are digging down inside the toaster to TRY to retrieve their toast with a fork or the bread tongues.....a safety issue!! I heard one older gentleman complain to the attendant and was told that the owner did not want to replace it. This I believe as in our newly renovated room and bathroom they refit an old make up mirror that was rusted around the edges top to bottom and the mattresses were not replaced with new ones. Consequently sleep quality was poor.

    Newly renovated bathroom, quiet for sleeping and good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast was more basic than we had had at our previous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wow factor about any part of this hotel. It was basic.

    The breakfast was more basic than we had had at our previous new york hotel and they had an express and a non express version. The express version was self service which was fine, but the food area was squashed and only enough room for one person to make toast at one time. The non express was table service, but I don't recall seeing any croissants which is why we went express. The breakfast was basic, but good quality and no hot options. Our room with a view was not a view and the room felt a bit dated, specifically the bathroom. Our room was next to the lift and we were woken numerous times because of the noise. Mainly from people dragging their suitcases and talking really loud. In the room the hard floor made it feel unwelcoming. The description said it has carpet. We chose this hotel because it said it was "boutique", but if the description was right then the hotel definitely had a different meaning in the US than it does in England. The people in reception were very nice specifically one gentleman, but we struggled with our cases when arriving and departing, but at no point did anyone help with the door which was frustrating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Affordable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - when I booked it was advertised as "very good breakfast" in your site. Actually it was the worst continental breakfast I ever met

    Location, room of normal size, cleanliness, staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Friendly hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our rooms was facing a nearby wall so impossible to get much sense of the city.

    The included breakfast made a difference and was a good start to each day. The staff were friendly, especially during the week. Great location near the park, bars and restaurants and also several subway lines. Walkable to lots of other neighbourhoods too. Interesting part of the local music history too if you are interested in that. Receptionist sorted us a car back to airport on last day which took any stress out of the return journey.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable, lovely friendly hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would be an added bonus if the rooms had a mini fridge in them to keep drinks cold, as there isn't anywhere at the hotel where you can buy bottles of water late in the evening. Also small cartons of milk in the room is needed as there is only small sachets of powdered milk, which does not taste very nice in tea (and of course there is no fridge so there is no way to keep a carton of milk fresh/cold).

    I've stayed here 4 times now and will continue to stay here when I visit NY again. Its in a great location, easy walk to and around the Village, Washington Square Park right across the road and a subway just at the end of the street for easy access to visit all attractions. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the beds very comfortable (with lovely cotton shoes/duvet covers) and the breakfast very good. Would definately recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like? Perfect hotel for our holiday.

    Everything! Can't recommend enough. The staff and accommodation are outstanding and we couldn't have asked for more friendly, congenial advice and help. Perfect location for accessing authentic NY. This is the best value for money hotel we've ever stayed at and the friendliest and most professional staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location in Greenwich Village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is clean but the cleaners clearly use a product that doesn't smell good so this is not nice when you first come in. Breakfast options included are basic, with additional options available at an extra cost in the attached restaurant - the dish I had was not good and certainly not worth the extra money.

    The location was ideal and the staff couldn't be nicer and more helpful - they are definitely the biggest asset to this hotel. Room was a good size. Shower worked well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff were all friendly and helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked mini fridge in room

    Staff were all friendly and helpful. Room was not ready when I checked in so they upgraded my room. Great location particularly if you have student at NYU or The New School. Nice boutique like hotel. Nice area with Washington Square Park across the street. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money thanks to the wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is relatively old which means it is not completely soundproof.

    Hotel was clean, in a quiet, pleasant neighbourhood. Staff very efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    The service at Washington Square Hotel was absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The service at Washington Square Hotel was absolutely fantastic! Hotel breakfast was really good, comfortable beds and short distance to public transport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    A surprise in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, very close to the park and to the subway in a very cool neighborhood. Rooms are very clean, a bit small but I think it's normal in the City. The hotel is not new but very well kept. Breakfast is simple but with good products, you see they put in care in that, and having breakfast included in your rate is definitely a plus. The staff is polite, and I would like to thank in particular the nice man of the morning shift who gifted my daughter with a baseball cap.. such a gentle touch!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    The location is excellent and size of the room was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work that well up on the 8th floor. A small refrigerator in the room would have been a huge help. It's probably time to start replacing the beds as they both dipped in the middle of the mattress significantly.

    The location is excellent and size of the room was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Great iconic New York older style!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My last stay in this hotel was 2006 so I was keen to see if it still was good and I was not disappointed. Love the older style, the staff are excellent and we particularly enjoyed the breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Manhattan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with easy access to great boutique restaurants and the subway lines. Enjoyed being across the street from Washington Park. The doorman was incrediblebly helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    It exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was below average but it was included in the price. The first day they had no mini croissants but when I asked the girl for more, she said there wasn’t anymore. I noticed there were 4 under the counter where people couldn’t see. She said she usually cleans but was helping out. I think she wanted them and I figured if she needed the food for herself, I wasn’t going to deprive her of it. Life in NY isn’t easy and it’s expensive so I understand.

    Ronnie, the doorman was extremely helpful and friendly from day 1. The thing that impressed me was 1) cleanliness. I’m a germaphobic and don’t want to see any hair or dirt. The place was sooo clean 2) the staff was accommodating. I had read reviews about not getting a room that faced a wall. The girl who was in training initially gave me one until I asked for a view and the senior receptionist was very accommodating and even upgraded me because I was staying 4 days. 3) the NORTH SQUARE restaurant on site was the very best! We ate at a lot of great restaurants from moderate to high end. We ALL remarked that The food was rhe best we had. For me, it’s one of the best restaurants we’ve ever eaten at. It wasn’t cheap but you have to treat yourself when you’re on vacation or even if you’re not. I would highly recommend it!!! I wanted to eat there every night. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in time of 3.30pm was very late and left a little bad experience, especially as check out time is 11am. Would help very much for a faster turn around time.

    Excellent staff that are very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    NYU
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wish there had been a t.v. channel list it would've made things a little easier with our daughter. We also were told we wouldn't have access to a microwave but I believe there was one in the lounge area where guests have access. When we arrived we were yelled at to move our car which was kind of off putting. The guard said it was for guests only but we were answering a phone call while he was yelling at us so we weren't sure what the problem was. Once he realized we were in fact guests he was ok with us being there. Maybe just kindly asking wouldn't be too hard instead of yelling.

    We liked that they were accommodating for our need of a refrigerator. My daughter has several food allergies and it's just safer for us to make her food ourselves and store it in the refrigerator. The rooms are comfy and always clean. I was surprised that our room was so quiet, the last time we visited NY we could hear so much noise outside. Our last trip to NY we stayed at a different hotel where there was only wifi in one chair (ridiculous but true) in the entire hotel. Thankfully this is not the case at the Washington Square Hotel. I thought that wasn't an issue at all these days but apparently it is. Most of the staff greeted us when we walked by and one of the security guards gave our daughter a cute duck toy. She was so excited! We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Amazing Hotel & Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location 10/10 , staff very helpful and super friendly, rooms where nice and clean & the breakfast was great value for money! Would definitely stay here again :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, clean, comfortable and great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lived in NYC some years ago. I always recommended WSH to friends when they were in town. I never had one friend who didn’t like it. I stayed this trip while on business. It met all my expectations. Friendly, clean, comfortable and a perfect location if you like being in the Village.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Love this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    What a wonderful 9 night stay in room 903. The hotel was outstanding! Clean, quiet, well located, friendly staff and even a free breakfast included. I will certainly return! I could not fault it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    Ronie the door man was most friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was on my paperwork and advertised on Booking.com at this property ‘s off site parking was $45 a day. We parked there 2 nights and paid $197. We do not recommend if parking your car is an issue. TV sound was terrible in both rooms we were staying in with other family members. Housekeeping didn’t get to clean our room before 5 pm after that we said never mind.

    Ronie the door man was most friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Washington Square Hotel is a Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the continental breakfast had a good selection. For us, it would've been perfect had it included some eggs and some ham and cheese slices as well. (We are being ultra picky here) But it was still good value for what we paid for the hotel.

    Everything else about the hotel really. The staff, in particular, Ronnie the concierge, who was a fountain of information, he helped us with anything we needed to know. The decor of the hotel, which was Art Deco. The rooms had everything you may need. A hairdryer, a coffee machine, a safe, air conditioning, and even an ironing board and steam iron. The bed was very comfy as well. To top it all, Grenwich Village, where the hotel is situated is a really cool part if New York. Lots of nice bars and restaurants and not mention, Washington Square park just yards from the Hotel, which has a fountain in the middle and had random jazz bands playing every day. Just a reaaly nice place to be.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    From the first moment of your stay, you feel like home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast should include a gluten free solution like hard boiled eggs...

    The charm of a family owned place, the staff so kind and so attentive. This hotel is an oasis of calm in the middle of the frenzy of New York City.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Hotel surrounded with pleasures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the first night we received a room that suffered from some kind of inner voice from pipes or something like that. I am very sensitive to voices especially from inside the room that get into my soul. The room was replaced and the second room was absolutely quiet.

    Very close to Jazz venue in NYC especially for me the Smalls though walking to the hotel at 1 am is not the most recommended experience, And the Washington park......

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable hotel with a good location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the location of this hotel, close by the park at the southern end of 5th Avenue. Very nice and helpful staff. Nice rooms, and in general very good value for money. Very good beds and a nice bathroom with all the neccessary perks. We liked the cosy breakfastroom and the quality of the breakfast that was included in the price of our two-night stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great gem in the village!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! The staff was fantastic! We arrived before check in time. The hotel kept our luggage in storage until our room was ready. They offered us some breakfast even though we weren't checked in yet. The doorman was awesome! He gave us ny ball caps to take home to our kids. The room was very clean. It had a keurig, bathrobes and an umbrella in the room for guest use. Great location in the Village. Will absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay; great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The first room on the 2nd floor we were assigned to was a little off putting - there was a musty odor in the room (very old carpeting) and it was the smallest room I've ever been in and we supposedly had a Deluxe Queen. The following day we were moved to a Deluxe room on the 6th floor which was MUCH better. The floors were wood-look vinyl and much more contemporary and clean; also the room was larger as it did not have a huge column taking up alot of space. Pillows were hard as rocks.

    Staff were friendly, check in was fine. For a smaller hotel, was pleasantly surprised that they had an adequately equipped gym. Complimentary continental breakfast in the lounge was very nice. Towels were fluffy! The room we were moved to on our 2nd day on the 6th floor was much brighter and cleaner than the first room. The location of this hotel is PERFECT for anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Greenwich Village - quiet block and right across the street from Washington Square Park. Happy Hour in the hotel lounge was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Charles rocked our stay. He was the best front desk guy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridges in the room.

    Great location . Near lots of shops and restaurants. Right at Washington square park. Rooms are small. No fridges. But that's new york for you! Lovely hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Outatowner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn't have parking. Parking garage was only a few blocks away so it wasn't really a big deal.

    Staff was great, rooms were very clean. Location was the best part of our stay. Will definitely be booking here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location hotel in downtown NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not all superior rooms were that superior, rather more interior. Request for a room with a view of the park was met. .

    Comfortable boutique hotel by Washington Square with easy access to Greenwich Village, downtown Manhattan and easy metro access to uptown NYC. The rooms are rather small but the beds are comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    We would stay there again and highly recommend it to any travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed mattress could have been longer and pillows a little better.

    The staff was excellent and helped us with directions and area points of interest. The room was larger than expected, clean and the hotel was in an excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Superb friendly place, but more care of the environment please guys!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One very small negative observation: the breakfast involves far too much unnecessary packaging. Everything could be served without disposable cups and cutlery. Otherwise.... Its a great place

    This is a great family run hotel. The staff are very friendly and the location is spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel in a fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways were a little dated thought the decor could do with updating.

    Great location and the staff were so friendly. Added bonus of complimentary breakfast which you could take away if needed. Dressing gowns and slippers provided which were most welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location, good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very dated hallways and carpets. Awful lino in bedroom, trying to be a modern floor but fails miserably. Room didn't get cleaned (or new towels) on 2nd day because I left "Do Not Disturb" sign until 10.10! They should have checked room later. Felt it was slightly overpriced, over $1050 for 3 nights with taxes. Needs fridge in room. No comparison to others at same price on same visit.

    The staff were very very helpful. The position is excellent, loved the park. The breakfasts were good. The shower was AMAZING but they need to spend their money on flooring! Area is quiet at night, slept really well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    A special personal touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was wonderfully accommodating. I happened to mention it was my boyfriend's birthday, and they sent up a complimentary bottle of proseco! And, got us a lovely room with a view of Washington Square Park. This hotel is in a perfect location as well. Love this neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely boutique hotel at the corner of Washington Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely boutique hotel at the corner of Washington Square. Staff were very friendly and helpful. As it is an old hotel corridors are narrow but rooms are of average size for New York. Room comfortable with twin beds. Nice coffee maachinenand good size bathroom. Lovely toiletries. Free breakfast either in a room off the hotel lobby or in the restaurant next door. Good selection for a continental breakfast. Ideally located at Washing Square and a 5 minute walk to the subway. Would stay there again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay at Washington Square Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives, would stay here again.

    Excellent location, right at Washington Square park. Great to be in the village, with the village vibe right on the doorstep. Very handy to subway to get around NYC easily. Very helpful reception staff all the time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall had a very pleasant stay and hoping to return next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff were not really friendly. Breakfast service was slow and could be improved.

    Location couldnt be better for getting around. Bed was extremely comfy, spacious bathroom, doorman was extremely friendly and really helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was great however gentleman at checkout got a tad short with me when asked if i could be a few minutes late for checkout because i had to walk to a certain nearby store and pick out a gift for my daughter. I explained that i wasn’t sure where the store was and that i probably would not be late but worst case if i got lost walking i may be to which he abruptly replied “well how late are we talking “ and i said i didn’t know maybe 5-15 minutes and he kind of made me feel bad for asking. It was a Sunday checkout and didn’t seem too busy. Anyway he wasn’t very nice. However the doorman who checks bags overheard us and he was so nice he walked me outside and showed me directions to take to get to the store and said it was a 10 minute walk. So we listened to his directions and got back in plenty of time to check out. So why could the man behind the desk have done that?

    Walking distance to all Greenwich Village has to offer. The two doormen we had were awesome! Nate and another gentleman who worked Sunday, didn’t catch his name!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location for exploring Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size. Bigger rooms available.

    Excellent location for exploring Manhattan. Quiet street. Washington Square is a delightful park. My room was small with no outcome but comfortable and well serviced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in an excellent area of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe was our room location. Being situated next to the lift/elevator, some people had no respect for other guests while waiting for the elevator to arrive as why they had to raise their voices when talking was beyond me.

    Great hotel in an excellent area of the city. Room was of a decent size, clean with a really comfortable bed. Complementary breakfast in the morning was a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    I will be staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing to not like. Just don’t expect to find parking in Manhattan that doesn’t cost a fortune.

    Friendly staff, Convenient and nice location, quiet and comfortable rooms, clean and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok, not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was incredibly small and the window had no view...we looked at a brick wall five feet away....no natural light at all. Sitting chair was ridiculous. Continental breakfast was weak.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    We look forward to returning next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our fifth visit to this wonderful boutique hotel.You can’t beat the location on Washington Square Park and the staff is always so warm and welcoming. It’s also comforting that they know exactly who’s coming and going.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended. Quiet, clean, well-run, great breakfast.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was really nothing to complain about, but if you insist, I would say I could have done without the weird poster in the room of a blow-up of some guy's face.

    Great price for such a great location. Nice lobby, clean room, friendly and efficient service. Best of all was the breakfast - delicious omelette and potatoes served quickly, good coffee, pleasant service in a pleasant room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Probably one of the best located hotels in New York, ideal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to be fussy and firm on your choice of room if you want any thing reasonably quiet.

    Probably one of the best located hotels in New York, ideal for nearly every subway route within close walking distance and the Square just across the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location for Washington Square/NYU
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricy for the small size room but that is to be expected this time of year in NYC.

    I booked this hotel because I have stayed here before and knew it was a great location when visiting NYU. Room was very quiet and clean with everything I needed for the one night. Parking garage one block away was also very convenient especially for New York City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for 4 nights, a long time to stay in a small dark room with a small “queen” bed. The Rate we paid was more than the rate for the same room I overheard staff quote on a phone call at the front desk.

    Express breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Thank you Dinnella and team!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinnella was at the front desk and made out stay special by attending to our needs. I was at the WSH last year and came back for a repeat. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely staff, great location, worn-down room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room really needed a brush-up. Small room, which is ok if the facilities are up to date but they werent. It did not meet my expectation.

    Great, friendly staff, made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.6
    My suggestion is: stay away from this hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I arrived, the manager at the reception tried to give me a room without a window (with a window facing a wall which was not more than 10 inches away), that is a sort of cellar. I had booked a "Superior Queen Room" six months earlier, by Booking.com. They gave me an acceptable room only after I called the police.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Although our trip was short, your hotel fit our needs perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could use a fan to help remove steam.

    The bed was very comfy, the room very clean. Everything was in order and appealing. We were able to check in early, which was a bonus, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our breakfast at the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, clean and comfortable little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little shabby but the owner told us that a major regurbishment is due later this year.

    The staff went out of their way to help make the holiday enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    The lounge and restaurant were excellent as was the express...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were a little small and not enough places to put clothing as were guests for 5 nights. The room was also too warm and a/c not flexible.k

    The lounge and restaurant were excellent as was the express breakfast room. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel with old world charm. Small, comfortable rooms filled with history. Lots of international clientele. Right off the square and within walking distance to fabulous restaurants and jazz clubs. Can't wait to return!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel but paid very expensive parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel referred me to the cloest GMC parking garage. I didn't expect that the garage has charged me $114 for 1.5 days to park my car. Too expensive! ! Their front gate ad says daily parking rate $24 was very misleading.

    Good location, walking distance to Washington Square Park and NYU.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Can’t wait to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was as wide as a queen but shorter than one. My legs hung off.

    Staff was soooooo nice and accommodating. Just adored all of them. Nice continental breakfast included! Just THE most perfect location. Great products in the room! Would absolutely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    A delightful but far from cheap stay in a charming NYC neighborhood with plenty of good restaurants,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only potential problem was the twin beds on wheels. Transferring files on one to the other is dangerous as the other bed will move and you may very well fall into the gap between the two. Maybe a chock under the wheel or a locking wheel would work.

    Restaurant “Square North” excellent with very good veggie offerings. Concierge and front desk very helpful, Bigelow Apothecary body lotion very nice. Location perfect for visiting NYU.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: