Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of WaterColor Inn & Resort 4 stars

34 Goldenrod Circle, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459, USA

#1 of 4 hotels in Santa Rosa Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 64 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Best resort bed! Huge pillow top with a beautiful duvet set and lots of down pillows. Heaven. Everything in the room was thought through and made the stay so comfortable. Stunning views. Fabulous staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices

    Rooms were beautiful Beach was beautiful Expensive after resort fees (which we didn’t have time to use) and taxes. Over 500 per night I stayed at the Ritz and really nice places but not as expensive as yours The cookies were wonderful! The attention to the rooms and always replacing towels and coffee and turn down at night was great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good place spend our 40th Anniversary .

    The bed was very comfortable! The pool host was extra kind, the idea a pool for adults was a very good one. The housekeeping was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We didn't care for the shower in the middle of the room - lack of privacy. We would have preferred a separate room for this. Also there is not enough privacy on the balcony because your neighbors are right there next to you.

    The staff was so incredible - especially the bellmen (Cole, Sean, Derrick). They were always so helpful and friendly. We loved the bicycles and convenience to the beach. The hotel was very clean and beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm afraid after coming here at least three years running its now rundown and becoming a little threadbare. Carpets throughout are a disgrace. Charging for previously available morning coffee is outrageous and unmatched in any other high class hotel. Staff shortages in June are very obvious. Deck chair charging system is a rip off. Diminished wine and food choice in The Gathering Place restaurant.

    Good location.....nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alcohol at the bars is watered down. I recommend to order the wine instead, if you're drinking with dinner.

    Breakfast at Fish Out of Water was amazing. Rooms are clean, comfortable and staff is extremely helpful and polite. It was a good experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra fees for beach chairs & umbrellas, especially given the price of the room, was surprising and disappointing.

    The bed was marvelous! Wanted to take it home with me...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room lighting was a bit dark, I would have preferred a couple more lamps or brighter ones. Really everything was amazing.

    Everything! Amazing property, views, suites, amenities, staff... Definitely new top choice for a romantic vacation. The best room I ever stayed in. The view, the balcony and high chairs to enjoy the view, the amazing bed and pillows, the relaxing decor, the beautiful shower with windows to still enjoy the view! Incredible

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costly resort fee for pool despite off season. Stated was also for parking and WiFi so not free

    Beautiful waterfront property. Staff upgraded us lovely and interesting location ..booked an extra night because was so enjoyable. Food good in restaurant. All staff very friendly. A great experience overall

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach chairs were a mile down the beach from where you have to go to get a wrist band to get on the beach! A little silly. Take a cue from seaside and just put bands in the house. Phone alarm went off 3 nights at midnight and they told us each day housekeeping had fixed it. Front desk girl said it was ok for my mom to come get us and park golf cart from seaside at watercolor pool but the security guard went nuts and we had to get out of the pool and kids were crying. Quite dramatic and a hassle. Also I think it silly to have the hotel pool for adults only. Would have been much more convenient to just take kids there since it was raining 90% of the time.

    Cleaned room twice a day. Awesome!! Lots of pillows on bed. Had fruit in lobby for kids. Gave us late check out so we had an extra beach day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ability or lack there of to rent beach chairs/umbrellas was a problem. We had guests visit us at the resort and found it impossible to rent anything additional despite many tagged but never used thru the day. We also left our chairs for lunch only to return and find that our chairs had been "rerented"to another couple. I took care of this on my own, but it's something that should never occur.

    The resort was everything we expected and more. The facilities were well maintained. The staff was professional and courteous.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of our stay the facility was completely booked which made for a very full pool. I would have liked for my 16 year old daughter and I to have been able to lay by the adult pool in peace.

    This was my first visit to this part of Florida and it was LOVELY! I LOVED the cleanliness of the grounds and the community as a whole. I enjoyed being able to walk and or bike everywhere. And the staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One morning the beach had cans and trash scattered.

    Pretty views, friendly staff, beautiful ocean and beach. Bed was like a cloud! Awesome chairs on the balcony!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More umbrella/chair combinations at the Beach Club and Adult Pool. Had to arrive fairly early in the morning to claim chairs that flanked an umbrella.

    Bed---and pillows---were fabulous. The food at all of the restaurants was divine. Easy to get out and find a supermarket and nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our only complaint with the room was the pull out sofa bed. The mattress was so thin that the springs were pushing through. Our two 13 years olds slept on this bed and complained a little at first. We thought they were just kidding around, trying to make us feel guilty because we had the luxurious big bed. Then, after a couple of nights, we took a closer look and it was pretty bad. With only one night left, we made it through. If we had payed closer attention, after the first night, we would have asked for a new mattress on the sofa bed. I'm sure the staff would have taken care of the problem had we asked. The only other complaint was the cost of food in resort restaurants. If there were a few other choices with lower prices for families, it would have been perfect. We walked into Seaside a few nights for dinner, so it worked out for us.

    The staff was so welcoming and accommodating from start to finish. Beautiful, well maintained property with lots of fun things to do was such a great perk! The beautiful design of the area is like something out of a movie, and felt very safe. We were able to let our teenagers ride the bikes around the property. We loved the evening turn down service, too. Having "twice a day" room service was really nice. Towels to take to beach and pool was another plus! The little coffee bar/counter with fridge was perfect for us to have lunch or snacks in our room. A bellman to bring our bikes was SO nice! We can't wait to come again for a longer stay! It will be our "beach vacation destination" for years to come!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    The service we received was awesome! Room service twice a day. Staff brought us cookies every night! Our room was clean, pretty, and offered a beautiful view of the ocean. Comfortable beds with lots and lots of soft pillows!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the poolside grill was a bit pricey.

    I loved the smell of the lobby when I walked in to check in. I loved how friendly everyone of the staff members were. I loved how soft the bed was. I loved my view. I loved riding bikes to seaside. The housekeeping staff was phenomenal!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The adult only pool is fairly small and as a consequence when you get groups of people there talking and using their mobile phones, you get anything other than peace & quiet. Not the hotels fault but it did happen both days we were there with different groups of people.

    Everything you could possibly want on hand - bars, restaurants, shops, sports, entertainment, spa, pools, beach, books, dvd's etc. Very large, clean room with twice daily maid/towel service. We had a Gulf view room which had a balcony and a wonderful view of the dunes and sea. The adult only pool is a bonus if you want a bit of peace & quiet away from children. No valet parking charge.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    liked it all

    pillows

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great place to stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything closed after 9 pm ,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Couple
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor shower water pressure. Dated interiors

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff all were great, they all went WAY out of their way to be friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Loved the soaps, shampoo, conditioner and scrub. Loved the nightly cookies.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was extremely comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is not really a walking beach.

    The area. Very biker friendly. Can get around with a bike. Much to do.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach access

    Site location of the view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking onconvience but valet parking is helpful

    location of the property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view and location was great! The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pricey for off-season

    location and comfortable bed and free bikes

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant service was average at best. Food was good service was awkward.

    Location, location, location. Clean, great amenities, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, comfortable bed, excellent location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterfront Gulf View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maid staff was lacking , a lot ! Some days our room wasn't cleaned and 2 days in a row they didn't leave toilet paper

    Location and. Good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • BeachFront Coastal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach chair rental was too high

    Great staff Loved the room, bed and showers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This may be picky but they should have a notebook prepared with the restaurants in the area and their menus. Also they should have some sort of snack area to purchase crackers, candy , Juices etc as there is no place to buy anything like that in Watercolor. They would have a captive audience for snacks. Front desk didn't even know what they served food wise at the pool. Everyone said there was no ice cream . I walked over and there was a large cooler of different ice creams.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe extend happy hour slightly, to 6:30? Add a couple other food items other than just sushi. Consider some complimentary beach chairs, maybe during the weekdays. Live singer in Gathering Spot is always fun.

    Great staff - always helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pull out couch bed was in need of repair. It was missing springs so you would fall through on the corners. Had housekeeping in our room late in the evening to try to remedy the situation.

    Bed and pillows were perfect!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I forgot to mention this in the review from St Joe properties. We ate dinner in the gathering spot, and it would be a better experience if there were more sound absorbing options. It was pretty easy to hear other diners and maybe something to absorb sound would help

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it could have been warmer on the last of the three days!

    The adult pool. The helpfulness of the staff. The free coffee in the morning. No mini bar, but a fridge. There were not a lot of extra charges for things. The rooms are not cheap, but then everything was included-beach towels, etc.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Better lighting in bathrooms and a lighted magnifying makeup mirror. Update equipment to play iPhone 6 plus in room. Hot tubs in adult pool area.

    I think a continental breakfast should be included for the price of the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was concave - needed to be replaced- and the comforter was very heavy.

    The room was excellent: great view, two lavatories, plenty of room, heating/cooling very good, comfortable seating area, Keurig in the room, daily toiletries supplied, staff very helpful, very clean facilities.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wasn't really bad but ordered a $45 bottle of French wine (lived in France 29 yrs). husband tasted and said okay, but as we started drinking it, wasn't right. We pour out similar Bottles. Told waiter only 3rd bottle ever sent back. Ordered a different one-was fine. The waiter never mentioned anything about the other wine. Asked if tried and said too busy. Felt uncomfortable and wished he would have told us something. It was ignored and we decided to drop it But felt like we could have at least received an apology. It was Christmas Eve and we were having a $75 each menu +.

    Loved our room & view (think we were upgraded), the way hotel laid out, the restaurant, and lots of shops around, plus lots of activities offered. Unfortunately, it rained the whole time we were there, even foggy, and couldn't even use the pool area.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They were refurbishing a room right next to ours which was noisy during the day. Property beginning to show wear.

    The staff was over the top! Location is great. Beautiful area.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pricey even for an upscale hotel considering that dunes block the view of the gulf.

    We we able to extend out check-out time. The restaurant food and staff were amazing!

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Resort fee high when we didn't use any amenities- we arrived in evening and left in morning - just an overnight stop on our road trip

    Restaurant was excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We went for our night of and night after our wedding. We did not know it was so child but it was a holiday weekend so not mad about that. We did however have a really tough time at the hotel sushi bar restaurant. We were really excited to see there was live music and a real close and nice restaurant down stairs. The wait staff is where the issue was. We waited to be greeted by our waiter for over 30 minutes. We then waited for our saki for over 30 minutes and actually got our appetizers before we got our drinks. it just seemed like no one there was focused and no one was helping except the young blonde busboy.

    We loved the location and the front desk staff and bellman. 10.0 for this rating

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We've travelled to Watercolor Inn multiple times and this time things just seemed a little off , mainly with housekeeping and the cleanliness of the room .

    I love the location and the food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only downside was the shower in the room - water pressure was not good and could not get a comfortable water temperature. Also the toilet location had the door opening inward so it was hard to get in and out. Balcony not quite as private as it could have been.

    Friendly, helpful staff and convenient to everything. Comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed wasn't very comfortable. There were numerous chemical stains on the carpet in the hallway.

    Wonderful location. The level of helpfulness and friendliness of the staff was one of the best we've encountered.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really geared to families, not couples. Beach too crowded and overrun with children Beach set up is for the entire Watercolor community, so chairs not always available for hotel guests Water pressure was poor and Double headed shower didnt work. We were told it was designed that way. Why have double heads if you can't use them at rhe same time? Bedside reading lites and closet lites didnt work. At this price point, expect these things to be in working order.

    Convenient location Room was nicely appointed Liked the library

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really liked everything, except it would have been nice to have a more inexpensive place to eat for breakfast. Overall, there needs to be a few more restaurants (in different price ranges) to eat at.

    The quiet exclusive surroundings. The friendly staff. Our room was wonderful because they upgraded us- why I don't know.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing I didn't like it was a wonderful resort.

    The staff and service was outstanding during my entire stay. The food and drinks were very good for the money,

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Resort is nice and very expensive, expect to pay $70 for 3 people at buffet & $100 for 3 people at lunch. Walls needed painting & carpet needs replacement at the resort. Rent a home. Overall fun for the family, staff was excellent.

    Excellent location, walking distanace to restaurants, shops, beach. Will be returning again each summer.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    first waiter at beach club we encountered was very rude and young boys out with umbrella rental patrol were as rude and snobby as they could be about "those umbrellas were rented over a year in advance" like we were some kind of riff raff

    Location was excellent, most of staff was excellent, room was very nice for a beach property, nice breakfast with a great view in the Fish Out of Water restaurant

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the only bad thing I have to say was there was a bazillion beach chair rentals and umbrellas and we never could rent one! They were always gone and when we took our beach own beach chairs down by the water's edge, we were talked to very disrespectfully and told we would have to take our beach chairs way down the beach! So we told him if we could rented water color chairs we would have done so!! So based on that experience, don't know if I would go down there again!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of privacy on the balcony.

    We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and the staff at the front desk was very welcoming and accommodating! We arrived early and they were able to get us checked in and on the beach to start our vacation we will be back

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tried calling 1 1/2 hours BEFORE arriving to confirm our stay and couldn't get through to anyone!!!! That was my first impression- very disappointed:(

    The quietness

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food at beach club could have been better.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The price is a little high

    Loved everything but the price.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cost was a little high

    Very friendly, clean... great place

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Might be a little too expensive for me to stay there all of the time. 😞

    Loved the Watercolor Inn! I would go back tomorrow!!

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very nice. Concierge dinner reservations were very helpful and excellent dining experience.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked how efficient the staff was when I needed something. I liked the layout of the rooms. And the food was very good.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Veiw of the ocean

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personal southern charm & delicious cookies for turn down

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No hot tubs

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was excellent. Staff was great. We had a stunning view of the NYE Panama City Beach fireworks from our balcony. A great surprise!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    accommodations, ocean view, activities close by, staff

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Loved our stay so much we stayed an additional day

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Group

    The cost of hotel, restaurant and bars.

    Cleanliness and beauty of the facilities, town and beach.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not being able to see the beach

    The room and the location

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpets in halls, stairways need replacing in many places

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Red tide

    The furnishing of the rooms ate very good. Roomservice was great. Delicious breakfast. Bikes Gratis wifi

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was clean and comfortable. View was beautiful. Turn down service was a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    awesome location, awesome service, everything you need

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: