Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waterfront Hotel a Joie De Vivre Hotel 3 stars

10 Washington Street, Oakland, CA 94607, USA

#3 of 42 hotels in Oakland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 340 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit pricey for an older hotel that feels more like a motel also $32 a night to park my car at the hotel I am staying at is ridiculous

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Fourth of july.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with Water View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No jacuzzi tub

    Great staff and amazing balcony views and prefect location to restaurants and shops and lots else to do as well as movies and music venues. I would definitely go back to this wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great location close to transportation and good restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the location close to SF ferry and restaurants. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the free fresh fruit and evening wine and cheese offerings. The pool area was clean and we had great weather to enjoy it. I loved the split bathroom with two sinks. The beds were comfortable. Enjoyed the nautical theme throughout

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The staff were courteous and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with Water View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The staff were courteous and helpful. The room was clean. There were also earplugs in the room (which was good because Plank was a little loud). We didn't try out the restaurant but it looked good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fees.

    The beds we're very comfortable. It was nice and quiet. I was surprised at how expensive the parking is. Room service prices were reasonable. A nice place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Loved the location!
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on-site restaurant was horrible in service only as nobody served us at all in the free seating bar area! Bartenders had no idea about drinks! Simple vodka cranberry tasted like old cranberry! Went to Scott’s and it was amazing!

    Loved the location! Lots to do, great people, clubs etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    The hotel was great and the location was even greater.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was great and the location was even greater. So fun to walk along the marina, hear live music on Saturday, walk to a great dinner spot, and see the beautiful farmers market on Sunday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    WAterfront staff was so welcoming and sensitive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly everything was outstanding especially staff

    Lovely view - superior bed concierge with extra blanket readily available MAIN POINT Outatanding staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    Will probably not stay here again because of,the low quality of,hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room With Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of,hotel for,the cost

    The location is amazing. Quality of,hotel is subpar for the cost in my opinion. Lots of flies in,the lobby hot amd cold water are hit amd miss overall needs to,be updated in my opinion

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    Unfortunately, we wouldn't stay again at this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear everything in the room above us all night long and barely got any sleep. We could also hear the automatic front door sliding open and close throughout the night as well. We also couldn't get the shower door open - shower seems to be the same since the 1980s.

    Good location for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.7
    I was robbed by them and you
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Suite with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above

    The staff was kinda helpful saying that they would try to get me in my room before the now absurd new 4pm check in time but it was all lip service my room wasn’t ready until 4:30 to then get into this room that took so long to clean and it was half way done boggers from someone who snotted on the wall were left beside the bed and the whole cleaning of the room didn’t have much effort for it to have taken 6 hours to clean because checkout for me was the maids banging on my door to get out the next morning at 9 am just ludicrous this place has some nerve charging me 800$ a quarter of a night I’m about done with booking.com

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in Jack London Square which is handy to Amtrak and BART stations and ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were pleasant but not very informative. For example not told about wine at 5.00, the cafe or shuttle bus.

    Large comfortable room with good view over bay. Coffee shop on site was good. Wine and cheese at 5.00 was a nice touch with the opportunity to meet other guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Disappointed with room service food: ordered Caesar salad...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oops, see abive

    Disappointed with room service food: ordered Caesar salad & breakfast. Also really really wished hotel offfered breakfast delivery times before 7:00 am. I really should have left earlier, but needed a breakfast first.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant helpful staff, comfortable room, nice location by the water, a little noisy.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free shuttle to the downtown area wasn't available due to a mechanical problem. This was disruptive as I chose this hotel over another for this reason. The free city shuttle bus was 3 blocks away but being a city bus made a lot of stops and took about 35 minutes to get to downtown. Also there was no decaf coffee in the room and one out of three creamers( half and half) curdled my coffee. Trains run nearby and are noisy but not too frequent during the night. Valet parking was really the only parking option as there is no overnight parking in the public garage, and street parking and local lot parking not recommended due to vandalism overnight in Oakland.

    Happy hour in the lobby with invitingly warm fireplace and free wine was a nice surprise for a winter day. Nice location by the water with access to the public walking trail. Room heater worked well. Bed was comfy and room clean. Staff very nice and helpful and were able to provide a one hour later check out. We had a delicious dinner at Lungomare restaurant next door which was convenient ( although they tried to stick us in an out of the way tiny corner but were able to change the table at our request) Valet parking was easy, but a bit expensive, and the car was parked right out front so there was easy access if I forgot something.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Overall we enjoyed the place and will probably return. Just have to stay on top next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    OMG! Our room was under the top floor balcony. At about 2:30am, it sounded like they were bowling above. And despite the double windows, could hear people outside talking etc. should have known by the earplugs provided with toiletries. Couple hours no sleep

    The view was awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Fun waterside hotel
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was especially terrific. Great access to the Oakland airport with the Amtrack schedule, and to San Francisco via the ferry. This hotel has a wonderful bar with outdoor heated seating. The staff is what made it terrific -- the gentleman checking us in "set the stage" with his friendly and personable demeanor. He recommended the Oakland Grill for brunch. It is just a few blocks away; the outside looks like nothing special ... but inside best brunch and value! We loved watching the boats on the water, and the rowers gliding down the Oakland estuary from our room. Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    It’s in Oakland but ferry terminal is on doorstep and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room With Water View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bit small for a family, but a good view nonetheless

    It’s in Oakland but ferry terminal is on doorstep and great trip into San Francisco every day across the bay, only 20 minutes. Also, great restaurants, diners and shops are near.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Great Location. Comfy beds. Easy walk to SF ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Room with Water View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furnishings are worn and a bit sad.

    The restaurant has a limited menu and the food is just OK. Not bad...just OK. The cafe in front of the restaurant has lovely muffins and GLUTEN FREE scones which were yummy. Great coffee and eggs. Bathroom was well appointed and beds were comfy with lots of pillows.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Great birthday trip!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom facilities could be updated, the toilet was dripping the whole time and the showerhead was probably 30+ years old. It all functioned well, but obviously hasn't been updated in a generation or so.

    The staff and the location were amazing! Very accommodating to my small dog that we brought with us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    The staff were aware we were in our honeymoon and went over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were aware we were in our honeymoon and went over and above in the preparation of our room and a little gift. Felt incredibly personal and made the last night of our trip very memorable. All accompanied by a hand written letter thanking us for choosing to stay there... the little things like that go a very long way

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great location, beautiful hotel, big rooms
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all, everything was great!!! Better than my spectations, parking is expensive though

    Staff so nice and professional, rooms so clean and spacious, very convenient location, Great restaurants around, next to the ferry!! We definitely would stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Waterfront Hotel with great staff and location in Oakland's Jack London Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit dated and could use a re-do. However, they are clean and comfortable.

    The staff at this hotel was wonderful and accommodating; from check in to parking staff, all went out of their way to assure a terrific stay. Could not ask for better! Taylor at the front desk even helped me navigate my Uber ride back to the airport! The location is terrific and I was provided an upgraded room with balcony and waterview when checking in early. How nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trains horns during the night.

    Huge room with plenty if space and it includef a table and chairs and couch. Also lovely view being right on the water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    The stay was wonderful for it amenities not only the hotel but also that transportation is so easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING!!

    The location of this hotel is marvelous. We took Amtrak from Sacramento, alighted at Jack London Square a short walk of 5 mins. and one arrives. Then to go to San Francisco we took the ferry which also is nextdoor to the hotel well a 5 min. walk away. So utterly convenient. Their restaurant is lovely with waterside seating! A fantastic stay and totally relaxed as we did not deal with driving stress. We highly recommend this hotel, its locale, also the delightful pub called Heinold's First and Last Chance Saloon!!! We took the free shuttle to the Oakland downtown area where restaurants abound and one hears blues music eminates from them. Such an alive place!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Had a great 4 days, and the location/comfort of the hotel played a big part of that
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no bar are around the pool / lobby

    The location is excellent, in trend Jack London Square, 100 yds from ferry hop in to SF and walk a couple of streets back and you are in Authentic Oakland. Room was massive and very clean / well kept with all the expected hotel facities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Loved the hotel. Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive per night Wardrobe space small for 2 adults / 2 children Rooms facing car park quite noisy from other guests and the train

    Lovely hotel. Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    3.8
    Valet parking staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room with Water View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an awful stench that hung around the lobby and other parts of the hotel. Not sure what the culprit was but it was really foul. Also lots of flies on the balcony. If this was a 100-dollar per night hotel you would put up with it, but paying their prices and having to put up with this is a bit much. Also, we arrived 3 minutes before official check in time and were told in a rather direct way by the staff that it wasn't check in time yet... by the end of the conversation it actually WAS check in time so didn't see the point of getting that whole spiel for being just a few minutes early.

    Valet parking staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.0
    it was ok for one night. and on short notice of staying in Oakland.
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have paid the same amount for hotel rooms that where bigger and like a apartment with full kitchen separate rooms for the kids, and Jacuzzi tub in master bedroom and beach was walking distance. was not real impressed with having to pay to have my car parked we always park our own car at the hotels we stay at.

    n/a

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    You'll love the location right on the water and five minutes from the Ferry to San Franciso.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not the Ritz but great location and very clean , and reasonable price made it great for us.

    Great location within minutes ( 5) of the ferry to San Francisco. 20 minutes and you're in San Fran without the hassle of traffic. The ride is very nice with a trip under the Oakland Bay bridge. We paid $13.50 round trip to get back and forth. Minutes off the highway in Oakland and 20 minutes from the Oakland Airport. They have valet parking and everyone there was very helpful. Nice restaurant on site which we enjoyed for an outdoor lunch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Convenient Hotel for Oakland Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was in a really nice area on waterfront, with plenty of restaurants near by. The accommodation was all very pleasant. Hotel was convenient for flights from Oakland Airport. Ferry is also available locally for transfer to San Francisco. All though not an issue in our case, hotel is not really walking distance from BART.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    If Oakland (without a car) is your destination or SF, good place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to say.

    Nice hotel – convenient to Amtrak and Ferry to SF. Used the free Broadway shuttle as well. Jack London Square is a nice place to stay, especially if you want to visit the city via ferry or go up into Chinatown for lunch/dinner. Rooms nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.8
    Needs investment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room With Water View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in disorganised. Hotel tired and a bit grubby. Windows filthy. Air con very noisy Valet parking expensive for what it was.

    Close to the airport after a long flight. Check out was friendly. Restaurant next door was good. Lots of eateries in the area. Great breakfast at Oakland Grill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Waiter in the restaurant tried to charge regular price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Room With Water View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiter in the restaurant tried to charge regular price instead of happy hour price. When we asked to see a dinner menu at 4:45, he said they hadn't yet been printed for that evening.??

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Best Stay Ever...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had been able to stay longer. I am hoping to come back for my 70th birthday the end of September.

    Your front desk staff was excellent Abby (I hope I got that right)was very helpful and Pablo was great with our parking. You provide great customer service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Conformation sent but not received
    • Group
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in they didn't have me in the system. I showed them the booking.com reservation but they didn't r curve it so they put me in a room with no view.

    The staff was helpful when they couldn't find my booking.com reservation even though I showed the conformation they took care of it so I had a room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    The room was spacious and the bed was wonderful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was spacious and the bed was wonderful. I slept great for the first time in a long time. My room had a view of the bay which was also nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Good location for ferry to San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a car is not necessary, it would be useful. It is a good 15 minute walk to shops and we didn't find any sort of supermarket within a short walking distance. Attached restaurant had a reasonable selection but was not cheap! There are a couple of other bars/restaurants within walking distance, but I would probably recommend a taxi if you are venturing further into Oakland at night as walking felt a little uncomfortable as it was not particularly brightly lit in some areas.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent location for the ferry to San Francisco, which is regular and easy to use. Rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. Cleaning and bed making were carried out daily. (The fridge and microwave were also useful) Hotel pool was warm and sheltered with comfortable sun loungers - however, I imagine it would be quite crowded in good weather. Reasonably priced depending on offers - the price varied quite a lot depending on when booked.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    A pretty to place to stay on our first trip to California
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first time we stayed we didn't have a tub and the shower floor was a little slippery but the staff made sure that when we returned that we had a tub and a good view too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Hotel is great - their bathroom amenities STINK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They changed the personal care amenities this time to "Jonathan Adler" products. The incredibly STRONG stink of soap, shampoo etc is unbearable and lasts for HOURS! Luckily we had our own little bar of soap, that needed to serve as shampoo etc, as well. Hotel provided bathroom amenities need to be scent-neutral.

    View of the water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Convenient, affordable, friendly, and loaded with character
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Room With Water View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is older, which is fine, but the carpet was looking a bit rough in my room. Everything else was great though.

    Friendly and helpful staff, great location, shuttle was a great asset to get to the conference center. Also very convenient to have the ferry stop just outside the hotel, since it was a scenic and very affordable way to get to San Francisco from Oakland.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Best Stay in Oakland
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy hour ends at 6:00pm sharp. Wine picked up as I entered lobby and after asking if I might get a glass...no. I didn't even know there was a happy hour until I stumbled into it. Is it a secret?!

    Nautical decor! Quiet. Harbor view. Access to ferry. Location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.1
    Great location; would stay again in spite of minor annoyances
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioner was very noisy and was set to cool only down to 76 no matter what the setting was. The temperatures were about 17 degrees above normal for the time of year, so cooling down only to 76 left us very warm. Also, we asked for an additional bath towel. The person at the front desk said that housekeeping would bring one up to us. It never happened. I wish the shuttle to the 12th street BART station would have run past 9:00 am, at least until 10:00 am.

    The location with the ferry to SF practically right out the door was fabulous! Also, we had only about a mile walk to a family member's apartment. We enjoyed sitting on the outside decks, just enjoying the nice weather, scenery, calm waters, beautiful sunsets...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    My Second Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints here!

    This is my second stay at the Waterfront and I have no complaints. Staff was extremely helpful and very kind. We got there a bit early and they were able to check us in early! Great location and many activities happening during the weekend of my stay. Great winery around the corner of the hotel and a nice Farmers Market on Sunday. Bart station is very convenient and there's also a free shuttle that goes up and down Broadway, which drops you off right at Jack London square.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay at the Waterfront Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was more industrial as it is a port, but still had decent restaurants and bars within walking distance

    Quaint hotel on the waterfront, super clean and comfy room with great attention to detail on in room amenities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.2
    Never staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need some serious help over there. The beds are awful, and housekeeping begins to enter rooms at 8:00 am for check out. They came in THREE TIMES before noon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Good place, but not for those that are light sleepers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was ok, although the bar made a great Lemon Drop. The walls in the rooms are very thin, you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms around you. The train blowing its horn all through the night was annoying too.

    Location was perfect and the room was comfortable. Easy walking distance to many fabulous restaurants in Jack London Square. Hotel staff was great and the shuttle service was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.5
    nice location, nice view, good rooms, frendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Room With Water View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    you have to log in all the time to the wifi. i t cuts you off. breakfast place waas around the corner and pretty expensive

    nice location, nice view, good rooms, frendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Fun and nice place to stay in Oakland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Friday night wine and cheese hour was not served, and the staff didn't seem to know or care that is wasn't

    The hotel is right on the water front with lots of restaurants, coffee,and bars plus an easy to walk to old town Oakland or Chinatown

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two reasons I am unhappy with my charges and stay. 1- no internet. I was planing to work in my room but had to check out early due to no internet access. 2. I requested to be in the main part of the hotel with city view. The room that I received was really far and down many Halls. Traveling single I always make sure i am in the main section of any hotel but they would not accommodate my request. The room was nothing like the pictures Never mentioned trains and train horns I changed my flight and am leaving early due these inconveniences Have complained but no one has ever contacted. me with a resolve

    Clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.6
    A delightful place to stay!!
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't comment on the swimming pool, because it was cold and raining that weekend. There truly was nothing we didn't like, but we all wished there had been a hot tub outside by the pool.

    My daughters and I really liked ALL of the staff very much!! (Especially the wonderfully good natured man who's name escapes me at the moment, who parked our car for us; and never showed an ounce of annoyance at our requests to retrieve some forgotten item from our car!!) We also enjoyed the restaurant downstairs, where I got to taste fresh mozzarella made from water buffalo in the USA! I also really appreciated the fact that you folks promptly took care of an $81 charge from the cocktail lounge, that showed up as a room charge on our bill, and was not generated by me or my daughters.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    5.8
    Extremely loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbors in the next room where having a party and extremely loud my room wasn't discounted or no special accommodations since I had to be moved at 10:30 At night

    Staff was nice when I asked them if I could change rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.1
    The staff was incredibly friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room With Water View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that I could hear the train late at night from my room.

    The staff was incredibly friendly. The furniture in the room was very comfortable. The fireplace in the lobby was pretty neat. The heated pool was a lot of fun.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    5.4
    You pay for the location ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walls are thin. Could clearly hear the baby crying in the next room. Ice and vending machines right outside my door and very noisy. Good thing the A/C / Heating system fan was so noisy it drowned out most of the outside noise. Just had to turn down the TV volume every time the fan quit.

    The location of this hotel is the real benefit. Good thing I was able a reasonable rate for this hotel by Booking.com as it is no better than any other hotels I have stayed in. Tried to stay an extra night but the rates were more than double. Rooms are not worth that kind of money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.2
    Will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilets were too low for comfort for a senior with knee issues (getting up and down). Hallways could be spruced up.

    Wonderful bed and pillows! Nice touch to provide 2 bottles of water, as well as a Keurig machine, microwave and mini frig in the room. Exceptional staff friendliness and service! Also, very convenient to seeing a show at Yoshi's!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    3.8
    Nothing' , bathroom.
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Room With Water View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing' , bathroom. Too old toilet st ver low difficult using it , old bather tub n shower loose holder nothing to hold on too very slick tile cold floor no heater in bathroom vanity below waste line facet Lee king water all overgrandute on flooring miss mach tile color and black area around corner s of tub looks like mold. Bedding tore sheets dirty border old decorating birdercovers old hard pillows l could go on non. Won't ever be staying there again will not recommend to friends or family

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Check in and prepare to enjoy a great ambiance of the hotel and its surroundings.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location is absolutely wonderful! So much to do in the area and close to downtown, Chinatown etc. The hotel restaurant was great, the bar was fantastic with live jazz music . We were right on the water. The staff is kind, helpful and courteous. I lived the laid back feel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.2
    Have two small children and located our room above the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have two small children and located our room above the restaurant with the all night New Years party. Pretty lame but every other time we have stayed it's been great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.6
    Great place Christmas Eve
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initially staff assigned us to a room without the full water view, which we had paid for. Upon request, they moved us to waterfront room.

    Lovely place to stay Christmas Eve between visits with family. Very pet friendly. Nice area to walk by bay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, perhaps a little dated in it's decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room With Water View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, perhaps a little dated in it's decor. Charming staff and Jack London Square is well worth a stroll through (Which won't take long).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.2
    Hotel is in the good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can only connect to the internet with 3 devices to the low speed connection. Else you have to pay. It would be OK ten years ago, now it is very annoying. We are family of four with 7 devices that need internet. We hat to switch between devices, and this doesn't always work.

    Hotel is in the good location. Guys on the parking are very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Loved our stay here,, was able to grab a sweet price for a...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our stay here,, was able to grab a sweet price for a few days as I was working a few nights at a local place there. Had a nice water view off the porch.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.3
    Good location, and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking should be included in the price of the booking. The walls are pretty thin - we could clearly hear the neighbours talking in their room.

    Good location, and the room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was professional and friendly, and accommodated an early check in for us. Lots of places nearby to eat and drink. The ferry to S.F. is also right nearby. I would stay again!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.2
    Quick stay at the Waterfront Hotel a Joie De Vivre Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to request a delivery twice...I think the front desk forgot about me but they ended up coming through after all although I didn't need the item any longer. I didn't like that I didn't check in earlier to get a chance to enjoy this hotel more...there will definitely be a next time because Ill be back!

    I requested a room with a good view and got it & the valet staff also waited for us to check in past normal closing time (8pm) in order to drive us to our show downtown...I really loved that the staff went above and beyond. Good info from the driver and front desk regarding Ferry and Taxi travel. Free apples & water are +s. Location seemed sketchy at first but turned out fine.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Wish there were more gems like this one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can not think of one single thing I did not like. The best place I've ever found for the price!

    The most friendly staff I've ever encountered. Restaurant food delicious. Everything is located right within the hotel - bar, breakfast cafe, etc. Located in Jack London Square which is filled with fun things to see and do. Love this place!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    7.9
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet was very low. It was almost liking squatting & I'm only 5 feet

    Liked the character of the WaterFront Hotel. Had a balcony room facing the water side. Enjoyed watching the ships & boats go by.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.5
    Make sure you get a room facing the water and not the train tracks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I normally like the sound of trains but this was a lot.

    The second night was better because we were facing the water. The first night and the following morning we could hear the trains and didn't get sleep.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Needs Attention to Noise Restrictions and TV Functionality
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room With Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and bar below my room was hosting a party with very loud music until 2:00am. Called and front desk and nothing they could do. Find it odd that they aren't any noise restrictions given that the restaurant/bar co-occupies a common space with the hotel. TV worked for about 20 minutes then overheats and blacks out; no picture and no sound. Called front desk and they sent maintenance who did nothing. Just irritating at the rate of $300 night that weekend. They did reduce my bill by almost $500 for all the inconveniences though.

    The restaurant and bar below my room was hosting a party with very loud music until 2:00am. Called and front desk and nothing they could do. Find it odd that they aren't any noise restrictions given that the restaurant/bar co-occupies a common space with the hotel. TV worked for about 20 minutes then overheats and blacks out; no picture and no sound. Called front desk and they sent maintenance who did nothing. Just irritating at the rate of $300 night that weekend. They did reduce my bill by almost $500 for all the inconveniences though.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Excellent Jack London Square hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or King Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toast was cold & no butter. When butter came, toast still cold.

    From my first contact with the bell hop, every employee was helpful & cheerful. The view of the boat harbor was fascinating. The bed & pillows were comfy. Scrambled eggs were perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    I can't complain!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the valet (Steve in particular) to housekeeping, everyone was so pleasant and respectful. I was in town visiting friends and family, since returning from deployment and the entire staff was so accommodating. Even my pup had a blast! Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Excellent check in to make you feel special, marvellous view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent check in to make you feel special, marvellous view of the Estuary and its diverse shipping, very good cafe for breakfast, city and parks within walking distance - the Waterside is a gem and Oakland is a viable alternative to San Francisco.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    I've stayed in many hotels in the Bay Area and ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a huge complaint but just FYI - trains do go by Jack London Square a few times a day. I'm a light sleeper but I didn't have a problem with it at all. I just used that as my alarm clock to wake up in the mornings. They do provide ear plugs but I did not use them. I believe trains do stop and begin at a certain time, please don't think they run all night.

    I've stayed in many hotels in the Bay Area and Waterfront is my fav so far. Location was great. Close to the BART stations & free shuttle bus that runs up and down Broadway, restaurants, bars and of course ferry service to SF, which was very affordable and a different take on getting to SF, I loved it! Easy check in and check out service, friendly staff, comfy & clean room. Room had a wine cork opener, that's a huge plus! We stayed on 5th floor with city view and it was great. We had a great view of city, hills and view of Jack London Square. Oh and they have a complimentary wine hour, another plus. Looking forward to staying here again in the future!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was wonderful, amenities great, excellent fitness room, room was spacious and always clean and comfortable. Lovely fireplace to have morning coffe with paper ( complementary!) Location to Oakland attractions and SF ferry was prime!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    6.3
    - Secure place to park your vehicle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Most staff members are great, others just seemed to not want to be there. - Waiting on valet, even after calling 15min ahead to retrieve vehicle. - Doesn't have that Joie de Vivre feel that you get from the JDV locations in SF.

    - Secure place to park your vehicle. - Restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.2
    Great stay, enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Room With Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the breakfast were poor. The portions were not big enough for a proper breakfast, and a little pricey. So we had to find a breakfast place three blocks away. Also, be aware of train horns, although not really a problem as the rooms are well sound isolated.

    Nice rooms, nice people, close to the ferry to SF, great shopping nearby. And great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: