Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Western Holiday Lodge 2 stars

40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271, USA

#11 of 13 hotels in Three Rivers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1428 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have definitely been cheaper, but I understand why they charge what they charge. It's the location. They are less than 15 mins from the Sequoia National Park. The AC unit could have been cooler. The sheets and pillow should have been newer. It smelled musty when you first walked in. The room with the King size bed was dusty.

    They are less than 15 mins from the Sequoia National Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast provided was waffles, muffins and cereal. The bathroom was sour smelling. The pool and hot tube pump was not working and because of this there were several dead bugs in the pool and hot tub, once my daughter ran out shouting "there is a cockroach on me." The couch in room looked broken and I did not dare to sit on it. The water in the bathroom went hot and then cold and when it was adjusted would be supper hot or freezing cold.

    The staff was friendly. Good location to the National Park. When we had our room cleaned it was done very well and the maid placed the stuff animals of our kids so it looked very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom are old & tight & water pressure is very low, Swimming pool is dirty, playground is dusty unmaintained

    Location was nice but you have to plan on having your dinner early most restaurants close at 8pm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key didn't work and had to get a new one twice. Left my Apple airpod and hoping to get it back.

    It was close to the Sequoia National Park entrance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything needs to be updated - the rooms are tired and the furnishings are old. We had issues with two different rooms where the keys would not work which was inconvenient

    The location was great and the property was pretty clean. It had a decent pool and offered a continental breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is rough around the edges. Our private patio was riddled with cobwebs and weeds. The breakfast area was rather messy--not maintained well. And coffee was removed too early!!

    The location is particularly good. The view of wetlands and mountains is nice. Local restaurants offer a variety of fare.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    chairs on the outdoor seating area were not clean and could not be used.

    Location near entrance of Seqouia National Park and view of Kaweah lake back end.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we were there the WiFi wasn’t working, and if it was working it was very slow. The room key kept stopping working despite keeping it separate from our mobiles. The fridge and air con made a lot of noise at night. I would say it was over priced for what you get.

    The room was clean, had a tv, comfortable bed, and It was convenient location for getting to Sequoia National Park and would stay again if visiting the park again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs a refresh... the rooms have old dirty carpets and curtains, and smell bad. The air conditioning sounds a lot, but is quite ineffective. The breakfast consists of cakes and coffee... and lacks healthy choices. The only thing nice about the property is it location close to the park.

    Location close to the Entrance to the Sequoia Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filty. One of our rooms had roaches and other bugs crawling around. It was very dusty. Some of lights had no covers and see had no plugs. Did not get a good night's rest

    There was nothing positive that I can say about the motel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This a worn out old motel. No Wi-Fi in rooms. Ice machine in our building not working. Toilet tank cover mismatched and left rank exposed. I realize this was near a national park but is grossly overpriced for what you get.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old structure. Some refreshment (the carpet, conditioner, courtains, telephone between rooms...) and some little fix in the toilets is needed.

    Good position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change original room because WiFi didn’t work there. Although it was poorly working in new room too. By our arrival staff at the front desk didn’t say when is the breakfast and check-out time so we missed both. Also we wanted to use hot tub but it was turned off

    Nice place to stay in picturesque area. Clean, equipped room had everything that listed. staff allowed us to change the room when we found out that WiFi doesn’t work there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Competitive price. Fragrant Jasmine flowers outside. Fresh grapefruit for breakfast was delightful! Pool looked refreshing, although we didn’t use it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a month road trip in west coast, this really is the WORST motel I've ever stayed! When we arrived it was 9pm, there's a lamp right outside our room door, so the door was all covered by millions of flying bugs- it was crazy a lot like a bug nest so we even couldnt open the door. The receptionist refused to change our room for us as all the similar rooms had been booked out, or we had to pay extra to change to one bigger room. There were also a lot of different bugs and insects in the room, even on the bed! It made the room more creepy! Moreover, when we turned on the water, it was MUDDY WATER running out! The shower was awful as well- the water stream was sometimes small and changing from extremely cold to extremely hot then to extremely cold all the time!

    Free breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over-all lack of cleanliness. The bathroom floor was sticky, bugs came into bathroom through a hole in the window screen, landing in the bathtub. Bed was not comfortable, with two small pillows. Bathroom sink drain was slow to empty indicating it was possibly clogged. Dark brown carpet showed stains. Curtains stained. Outside premises not clean, trash in garden areas. Breakfast included, but we left early, so can't comment about breakfast.

    Easy to locate. Friendly staff, easy check-in. Convenient parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took forever as the desk was unattended with no way to contact anyone. After standing there for about 15 mins someone finally showed up. However we were not offered an apologise/reason for the wait or even asked if we had been waiting long. It was pretty rude. My shower had about 45 seconds of hot water. The room was old and the sheets stained. We could hear our neighbors clearly through the walls (glad we didn't have any kids with us) 😐 But the worst part was that I got eaten alive by mosquitos at night (about 25 bites in total).

    I enjoyed the random cats hanging around the place. And it was super close to Sequoia National Park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearly 200 dollars for two nights just to sleep. Internet did not work at all, also not at the public places where it was supposed to work. Cleanliness of the room... Old dirty carpet, dust everywhere... It is not because it is located at the entrance of Sequoia that it just needs to be expensive without anything more to add... It seems tourists are only important for the money they leave behind. If the rating of the hotel is good or bad, it seems not to bother at all 😟😟😟

    Friendliness of staff at check in,check out and of cleaning staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was empty! So was jacuzzi! Hotel is on main road so a lot of traffic noise. Bed sheet had blood marks on it. Not sure if it was washed! Broken bedside light. Incredibly noisy aircon machine. Fridge compressor active every 5 minutes. Turned it off! Really poor breakfast - I’ve been to the ‘continent ‘ and that’s not a continental breakfast!

    Very convenient to Sequoia. Easy to find. Open area with basketball court and horseshoe pitching. Swings etc for children. Poland jacuzzi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could use some updates. The a/c should be placed lower for short people like myself.

    The location was perfect. The rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room #31; heater/AC unit and controls in an unreasonable location 6 feet above the floor over the wash basin counter. I had to stand on the counter to see and adjust the controls! I am 80 years old, but in good health.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, uncomfortable window wouldn't lock heating was bad, bed hard. Wouldn't ever stay there again. Had to move to upstairs room because first room door wouldn't lock. Went to tell desk clerk & she said she was on break. She finally hollered at someone and that person sent young man who was the only good thing to happen. He helped us move our luggage to the second and finally the third and final room. Deck railings had bird droppings and cat hair on outside chairs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost no wifi connection in case the room is not located next to the office which they blamed on the mountains and the atmosphere. In the office it works good... Strange...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was astounded to find the Quran and not a Bible in the room. Let us remember what this country was founded on! God and His Word, the Bible! We have removed Him from our schools and our Public schools and education are a mess. I respectfully ask that the Bible be put back! It is hard to say God Bless America when we remove every trace of Him! Put the Bible back,THanks

    Denise was amazing! She was friendly and helpful! She was positive and patient when the waffle makers didn't work properly. The price is right! Thank you for that!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly. Everything was broken. Bed bugs. Bathroom door stuck in wall... no door...no lock on tbat door!. Phone broken. Ice machine broken. Chair n mattress stained. No wifi or pool as listed. Very bad smell. Breakfast...waffle makers didn't work. 20-25 people jammed in 15 person breakfast sitting area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. Beds weren't made, pupic hair in the bathroom, light bulbs burnt out, remote didn't work, a/c blew a little bit of cold air, it smelled stale, there was still trash in the trash cans.

    I liked they gave us a room before check in time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was cold in the morning Wifi was very slow and sometimes not working at all Breakfast was limited tot cake, waffles... Not quite what you need for a day of hiking

    Good location quite close to sequoia national park Room was clean Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an issue with the sink and not been able to use it the first night was a challenge, especially with three grandchildren trying to brush their teeth, wash their faces before bed. The issue was resolved the following day.

    The location was great. The playground really good for grandchildren and the trails behind hotel great workout. The breakfast options offered were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sidewalks next to the main road. Difficult/dangerous to walk to restaurants.

    Breakfast was good. Perhaps an option of having meat, eggs and beans on toast would be good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit softer beds.

    The staff was super friendly an very informative. Was right next to the river. It’s not a fancy hotel, but the people and the place, have a more homey feel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I checked in on Sat., 3/4, the room was not ready, so I was moved to another room, which was being worked (bathroom remodeling), so the young man apologized for the inconvenience and upgraded us to a bigger room. Very clean and spacious room, with a lovely patio view of the surrounding. Thank you Western Holiday Lodge!! - Adriana

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The unpleasant lady at the reception. She is very rude and does not know how to deal with guests, she probably has never been to a real hotel to see how they really work.. The breakfast is very poor and everything looks like recycled from previous days. If you are diabetic you may want to skip it. WiFi does not work, especially in the rooms. Bring a flashlight, the room is like a dark cave. Everyday there is cleaning service but I am not sure what is cleaned, rooms are extremely dirty. If you check under the bed you could see nuts and dead insects from the previous century. Heating system of the room makes you feel in the airport, it is very noisy. It is also too small for the room so it takes ages for having a decent temperature inside. Moreover the person that cleans the rooms takes good care in turning the heating off. So when you come back from a freezing day in Sequoia National Park, you will feel back in the mountains. Overall, it looks like this hotel had a better past. Seems like the owner died and someone else without experience took over.

    The playground outside of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would help if the staff knew a bit more about the Sequoia National Park. The staff didn't seem to know about the weather or road condition or didn't seem to know chains were required. The air con was quite noisy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much choice of restaurants - usual burger/mexican places. Wifi poor.

    Lovely location. Three Rivers is a pretty 'strung-out' town outside Sequoia National Park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that I got has a bed bugs and they move me to different room , small bed that I pay for , and they charged me the same , it was horrible it’s no way for me to come back again

    The view and location was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not very clean. found two dead cockroaches in our room in a corner. and they were there three days later as well. despite daily houssekeeping.

    large rooms affordable and a great play area for kids and adults alike. decent bf with a wafflemaker

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    - found 2 dead earwig in the bathroom when we took the room => seriously, when was this room last cleaned? certainly not the day of our arrival - the key card didn't work and the staff had to come open the room everytime we wanted to enter - staff was rude and seemed irritated at us for having to come open the room for us because of their system wasn't working - room was missing a towel (we were 4 guests, there were 3 towels) - no shampoo or body wash provided - wifi never worked on any of our 6 devices (even in the lobby) - breakfast: short time window (7-9am) => about 6 tables that were supposed to sit ~50+ guests at the same time. People were eating their waffles standing. Orange juice seemed like diluted with water for volume.

    Location was convenient and has good parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the tapping noise of the mini-fridge at night. the vacuum whistling noise from the shower hose when the guests from next door are showering early in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribly poor internet connection, namely available only in common areas. Bathroom sink broken, no hot water for 2 days (eventually repaired, due to continuous complaints). The room was not clean, found several insects. Breakfast area with very few tables, couldn't accommodate guests.

    It is pretty close to Sequoia national park.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were bed bugs and my arms was full of bites. The only good thing is that they offered us a free room later when we complained But do I want to stay again to receive more bites?

    Breakfast is always spectacular. They also have some cats that are very entertaining.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water was offered anywhere on site and there was a lack of provided amenities such as shampoo/conditioner in rooms.

    The location was perfect. Just a short drive to the south entrance of Sequioa National Park and near gas stations and stores.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was friendly and helpfull. There a very good place to have dinner walking distance from the hotel. It was a simple place but I felt very well received there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpeting and the room got quite cold at nights (the heater was so noisy couldn’t let it be in the whole night )

    The size of the room was luxorious comparing to the other hotel rooms during our visit in California! Staff was okey and the room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some little trouble with the shower, trying to fill up the bathtub, because the water wasn't getting hot enough after a while. But no big deal, once they had a hotub outside, right next to our room.

    The room was really nice, with a really nice fireplace and air conditionin. The sheets were also really soft and cozy! It was a great experience! The staffing were pretty nice and helpful as well :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid $120 a night, had I known that the shower curtains are filthy, the rooms smelled like an ash tray I would not have booked. Overall I paid $120 for a $40 worth of a room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were not properly washed. I found some hair in my bed. My wife was mad about that.

    Located close to Sequoia Park. Pool and ice machine are on site. The simple breakfast was good and time-saving

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SPacious room. A little creek is behind the lodge. We had a patio with chairs, ideal for sitting out and watching the breathtaking landscape near Sequoia at sunset.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No hot water! Luke warm most of the time. Only had hot water after two days. Internet was limited and the TV system belongs in the 70's.

    Typical US breakfast... not very exciting ....coffee was good though... staff friendly and helpful....beds comfortable ...overall cleanliness was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dated with dirty carpet probably due to hikers. Was very dark needs updated lighting above sink.

    The staff was great! It was clean and didn't have bugs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard and I'm comfortable for my husband. And the cable went out the second night.. all the channels were the same for a minute I thought I was in the twilight zone. Lol

    Loved the location I would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second bed was just a sleeping couch, but we paid for two queen size beds. We had to fold it out by ourselfes. The breakfast wasn't satisfying.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff, Cleanliness, Condition of facility, Holes in screen door which was falling off, front door lock that seldom worked (had to have staff open on two occasions), lack of soap for bathroom, weak Breakfast, cable TV that did not work, internet service that seldom worked in room, Structure in need of repair. Ice machine out of order. I could go on, but I think that you get the message. Would never recommend this place, way overpriced.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could use some updates. No hooks in bathroom to hang clothes when bathing. No drinking glasses. I brought my own. Air conditioning was noisy and a little difficult to control.

    The room was large and fairly clean. Breakfast was pretty good and staff kept up with supply of food. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tube TV with poor reception.

    Breakfast was included. Provided refrigerator, microwave, ice maker machine which worked great when the temperature was close to 100F. Locarion was close to Sequioa

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights did not come on yet so it was hard to navigate to the right room... but is was dark at 7:30 ish. Could not find the room well, thank goodness for cell phone lights. The TV remote was broken, there were only 2 bath towels and a bath mat (shower good but needs a spruce up) the a/c was really welcomed with night temps in the upper 90s Decor dated, hair dryer really dated. No map of place to find ice machine.

    Large rooms, a sitting room with larger than most mini fridge and microwave. Continental breakfast with waffles, yogurt, fruit, cereal, juices and coffee. Did not use coffee maker in room. King size bed was very comfortable and a large back balcony was a perk. I would have stayed another day but I was not going back to Sequoia! Although it is still quite a distance to the Sequoia entrance, there isn't too much else to choose from. It was so hot and late when we arrived that my dream of soaking in the hot tub did not come to fruition. I could see that Kids were in the pool having fun. Just down the street there was the best Pizza place! Pleasant Indian woman at check in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The clerk who checked me in nearly lost my ID and checked me in for the wrong number of nights. The bed in the room was not particularly comfortable. Breakfast was included but was very basic.

    The room was clean. There was no charge for parking the car. The hotel is relatively close to the entrance to Sequoia National Park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet quality was terrible. The only place you could get it (if even then) was the lobby. The staff I felt was poor. The rooms weren't the greatest. Not worth the price at all.

    The breakfast was very well done, save the fact that there were no eggs. Good location to the entrance of Sequoia National Park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows didn't lock! Found couple boards on property to use as "locks" so all was good! Could use touch up paint (paint inside bathroom door scraped off in big patches). Shower cap would be nice but no huge deal. Also, 3 adults & only 1 washrag. Odd, but we got more.

    NICE STAFF, CLEAN rooms w/comfortable beds, which was good enough for us! Bonus: Cute mama cat w/2 'teenager' kittens for guest entertainment! ❤️

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- It is not a high class hotel but it is perfectly adequate, clean. The Air con unit very efficient but super noisy (we noticed that in many places actually) but eh better that not having any in those temperatures. Hotel is by a road but not a busy one ( we did not hear any). Breakfast IS basic and the seats are few and it can get crowded in full season (some guests were standing up waiting for a seat).

    Great location: easy distance to Sequoia NP. Pool was empty when we got there so our family had exclusive use of it for a couple of hours and it was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff extremely friendly and accommodating. this is a family-owned business and they do what they can to accommodate. good pool & hot tub. plenty of parking. nice rooms. no problems.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms looked old and not very clean. There were bugs and bees in the swimming pool - which made it difficult to use... The breakfast was very poor.

    The vicinity of the Sequoia National Park is great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby has a very strong odor of indian food, water in shower in on and off, even the temperature of water is on and off. Didn't like the room, nothing is great in this hotel except for location !

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed redecorating. The TV was very old and didn't work correctly. Had no hot water to start with but the lady in charge came quickly and sorted it out. Breakfast was basic but fine.

    Well located for Sequoia park. Pool and games for children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of this motel is clearly overrated. They suppose to offer free internet. However, the internet was not working in the room. Upon request that internet is not working the personnel did not care much. They said it should work in the lobby: well it did not work there as well. It is obvious that they have not sufficient and powerful routers and access points around the property. One should be aware that when the major of the guests connect to the internet the routers goes down if overloaded. However, the stuff with did not seem to be interested to solve any of those problems. We have found half-eaten food (muffin) in the fridge which stayed from previous guests. I guess the cleaning stuff only makes the bed and changes the towels. Other facilities are obviously "clean enough" for their guests. Another disappointing thing is that we had "visitors" in our room. More than 300 ANTS were walking on the table and around and inside of the sink as well. Therefore, we would NOT RECOMMEND this motel further on to any travellers.

    /

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the room was clean and well equipped, we found beds too soft for our needs.

    We liked the hotel location, Three Rivers are right at the border of the Sequoia National Park and you get very quickly to the Giant Forest. We found hotel staff very friendly and also enjoyed evening bath in the swimming pool. Breakfast was continental and gave us energy for the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is served in non-acceptable conditions: crowded people in a tiny space oblged to fight for sparse food slowly refilled by an indolent staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The main bed was really good, but the sofa bed was no good for our children to sleep in. - The breakfast was in it's essence not too bad, but the space was a joke. When we entered the breakfast at around 8:20 (breakfast is available between 7-9am) about half the people there were standing up as there were not enough seatings, and you need to be an early bird to get some of the good stuff like eggs, fruit and yoghurt. A tray would make a huge difference as we didn't mind eating in our own room. We just need help to carry the stuff :-)

    The room is really good and spacious, and I loved having our own balcony with the best view ever to the river and foothills. Other wonderful things were air condition, fridge, a 'dinner'-table and a well functioning bath and wc

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom wasn't clean and not enough towels for us but given extras when we asked. Breakfast and seating area was poor. It was obviously a 'Best Western' hotel once, but it is no longer part of that chain and therefore not that quality. This ended up being the most expensive place we stayed at over the 12 nights and was the worst! Overpriced.

    The pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms. Bed not confortable with unpleasant linen. Noisy air conditioning. Ants in the bathroom. Very limited breakfast in a smelly room.

    Closed to Sequoia National Forest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    omg, SKETCHY! room smelled like dirty feet, my wife got nasty flea bites all over her body. ants in the bathroom and sink area.

    Parking was easy, and close enough to Sequoia.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could do with some updating and general maintenance.

    Location was near perfect for visiting both Sequoia and Kings Canyon Parks. The cost was significantly less that other hotels when we booked., however this is reflected in what you get. It's all quite dated and does need some work done to it. There was usable WiFi, all though not very reliable. It's suppose to only be available in public rooms but we managed to get it in our room okay. Breakfast was fine with waffles, cereal and an assortment of cakes. Our room was large and the beds were perfectly comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hadn't water in our room(stone in pipes??). In reception hall man was so fast with payment that charched my credit card during authorisation although I preferred to pay by cash.

    Swimming pool, location,very calm place, close to Sequoia N. P.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I let staff know that whenever the showers were turned on in the room above a loud screeching noise would resonate throughout. That made it impossible to sleep. They just kept telling me it was going to be fixed but it never was. Then No hot water...I was told to shower when all the guests weren't around at the same time. My wash basin was clogged. The rugs were ugh and the pullout sofa was crammed against the bed. Luckily we wouldn't use it bc you can tell it was not clean and besides the cushions were sunken into the floor. Serious upkeep is needed. Prices in Visalia are better and there is a whole lot more to see in Visalia!!'

    Bed was surprisingly not uncomfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. It's your standard budget hotel.

    Close to park. Pool, basketball courts, and horseshoe pit provide activities. Friendly staff and atmosphere. Plenty of parking and food places nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Refer to my previous answer

    The room was disgusting. The carpet was filthy, bed cover and the bathroom area smelled like mildew. There was sparkle on the walls that hadn't been painted over. The shower didn't drain while I showered so I stood in 6 inches of dirty water. There were two young Hispanic men at the front desk who had poor attitudes and were not in the least bit helpful at providing any information about directions or landmarks to the surrounding areas (restaurants, national parks, etc.). $171 per night was outrageously expensive for such a run down and poorly maintained hotel. I will never again visit or recommend Western Holiday Inn to my friends and family. Very disappointed in my experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Western Holiday Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: