Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Westgate New York City 4 stars

304 East 42nd Street, Murray Hill, New York, NY 10017, USA

#358 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1430 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Paid WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    I was so pleased with the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    I was so pleased with the staff. The front desk, the valet, the chamber staff. So friendly and helpful. We were meeting our cousin and his wife who came in from Scotland for a surprise and the staff helped us out tremendously.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location, friendly staff, but like all NY hotels, overpriced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Periodic hot water. Had to pay for wifi, unlike most other hotels. No mini fridge in room. And of course, price was too high (but I would have to say this last issue is a problem for nearly NY hotels - just because all NY hotels are overpriced does not mean the issue should be dismissed or accepted)

    On the positive side, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great location, two blocks from the UN; markets, restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Location. Staff. Comfy beds. Coffee/tea maker in room with paper cups with lids ...excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queen size room is quite small but beds are new with toppers. There is a small restaurant that only does breakfast and it costs 35 $ p.p. There is no bar.

    The staff were exceptional. Kevin on reception was very chatty and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    The Queen Suite was extremely spacious with a decent sized...
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The little coffee bar in the lobby was fine for a quick breakfast or the occasional snack and a very effective use of the building's space and facilities but was not, by any means, a substitute for a real restaurant (though ordering delivery from a nearby restaurant was no problem). As the in-room TV options were somewhat lacking by 21st century standards, I would recommend hotel guests bring a computer or tablet and HDMI cable with the appropriate cords to hook everything up to the TV for access to Netflix, Hulu, etc. or your personal media connection. Please note that due to the configuration of the Westgate NYC Wifi, streaming technology such a Apple TV or Roku could not be used for this purpose. And, while I'm sure the same could be found in any NYC hotel room, it's worth noting that we returned to our room one evening to find a cockroach easily > 4-inches scampering along the wall behind the couch.

    The Queen Suite was extremely spacious with a decent sized living room complete with couch, desk & chair, bar sink and Flat Screen TV- a perfect space for our party members who had their own rooms to congregate. & socialize. The bathroom had a jetted tub and dual rainfall/hand-held shower head as well as a bidet & large (but cracked) marble vanity. The bedroom was a bit small but appropriately sized for the rest of the suite and had a very comfortable bed with ample storage. The staff could not be friendlier or more effecient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    I'd stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little further away from where I needed to be but the walking was very fun!

    I love the doormen they were friendly and extremely helpful. I felt well taken care of!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only snacks available - no restaurant on premises.

    Close to a ramp for easy on and off the Eastside highway...made it very convenient to get downtown to a Concert with ease.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Property was quite central so you could do so much just by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There didn’t have free WiFi for hotel guests in their rooms

    Property was quite central so you could do so much just by walking and I got a good deal for the stay since I booked in advance

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Economy versus care
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor water pressure in 2 rooms experienced. Broken security latch on door. No wine glasses, corkscrew or refrigerator in room. WIFI not free in rooms.

    Great location. Reception staff provided an upgrade to a balcony room for our booking. Friendly barman. Good value compared to equivalent NYC hotels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The don't give you bottle water in the room and WIFI was not available in the room unless you paid extra.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The staff was attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was not free. The facilities are old and not working properly, e.g. tce machine was not working in all floors, the bathtub was slightly clogged.

    The location and the spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    There was a mistake on the hotels end when we checked in and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mistake on the hotels end when we checked in and they kept trying to charge me again. Dealt with it everyday we were there and each new person had no idea what was going on. None of the staff communicated with each other once it was solved and they tried to charge me once again when checking out so we had to go through it all again explaining it to people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator broke while we were in it. But we were able to get out after a minute of it shutting down and we were fine.

    They bed was comfortable. and it was walking distance to Times Square. A plus is there is also a Starbucks in the building. Everyone was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    The first night of check in we stayed on the top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night of check in we stayed on the top floor. Major rain storms and the roof began to leak. It was pretty gross especially for my toddler to walking on wet carpet!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    42nd St. Jewel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom lighting could stand an upgrade.

    The doorman was very helpful in recommending an excellent Vietnamese restaurant just around the corner. This came after explaining that the hotel's restaurant may be a bit pricey for a family of five. The concierge was friendly as well. The room was quite small, but that was to be expected in Manhattan. However, the beds were like clouds and made up for the room size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    if you are visiting the United Nations Headquarter, this is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you are visiting the United Nations Headquarter, this is a great location. it's two mins walk from the hotel to the visitor center. The place is clean. but you have to pay for WIFI in the room! there is no free WIFI.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    2.9
    Eh..
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty rooms, couldn’t sleep in my bed the first night. Had to leave a note for my bed sheets to be changed. Vents were dusty, lamps were dusty, t.v didn’t work. They charged $10 a day for WiFi! Nothing was complimentary pretty much paid just breathe. I honestly paid way to much for this place. Wish I could file for a refund.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    Short 5-10min bus ride to Times Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness. Mildew in the bathroom. Hair on bathroom floor. The cost per person for breakfast is ridiculous.

    Short 5-10min bus ride to Times Square. The doormen are great and knowledgeable of the neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    We really enjoy are stay in the hotel. Good attractions near this area, a lot of restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some areas to be fixed in the bathroom.

    Location, location!! Good area to walk with family. A lot of restaurants and attractions walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    I LOVE this place... perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of my friends had a little musty smell in his room. Windows were a bit dirty... but it's NYC. I think they would be difficult to clean.

    Excellent bed, room, pillows! I felt very very safe coming and going at any and all hours. Staff was excellent: attentive, very friendly, helpful. Excellent location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    It is a good place as a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a good place as a hotel

    It is a good place as a hotel, it does not have a good internet signal in the loby area, and the cost of the wyfi is high. If you are in the company, ask for a KING bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    I’ll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony room was great. Small but very quaint and the large balcony made the room seem bigger anyway. The bed was comfortable and clean and the bathrooms were a great size with some even better lighting!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    2.5
    Extremely disappointing. Overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Roll in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is one of the worst hotels I ever stayed in. The staff is rude. The room was disgusting with crums over the carpets, the TV was not working, the bathroom was dirty. Overpriced and HORRIBLE!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    7 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to get up at 3:00am and move rooms because there was a ticking noise in the closet. It was an old hotel, so apparently there was a fuse box in the closet.

    The staff was courteous and quick with all requests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    It was and okay location with and okay price. Had a couple of complications with our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only like two outlet worked in our room. We also did have a bad tv and my husband called a couple of time about it and it took them awhile to even check it out. They realized it was indeed broken then said we’d switch rooms and so we packed up and waited an hour to hear from them so my husband called again and they said “oh sorry we won’t be doing that anymore” so we had to UNPACK again.

    Super nice that the cleaned the room every day. We also had a bad tv so they came and switched it for us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    We will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Westgate is a wonderful hotel with a great sense of history. Every interaction with the staff was positive, from the doormen to the check-in staff to the concierge to the Tudor Market server to housekeeping. The location was terrific - lots of restaurants, markets and pharmacies nearby and a 10 minute walk to Grand Central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location, average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nearly an hour late being prepared for us. There was only a tiny selection of tea/coffee in the room. There wasn’t complimentary WiFi, and the room inexplicably stank of marijuana.

    Great location and good view from the tiny balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.4
    Location is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service of front desk is very bad. I have bad experience when I ask to get my money back dealing with room deposit. I am waiting it till a week but no solution

    Location is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Westgate stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In this modern age of free WiFi at hotels, I could not believe Westgate New York City, does not provide free WiFi. I was disappointed. Also the faucets in the bathrooms are complicated to operate. I had to call for assistance. A.C. did not work, but room service was abrupt in taking care of trying to fix and brought a fan to the room.

    Room was clean. The staff did everything to make my stay comfortable, despite the odds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Great stay, Great location
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queen size bed wasn't a normal queen size. They said it was queen size but it was a full size.

    I like everything. I had a pleasant stay. All staff were nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Weekend At The Westgate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would of liked having a mini refrigerator in the room and free WI-fi! You have to purchase WI-go and the reception is horrible!

    The bed was comfortable!! Great location!! Nice staff!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No liquor despite advertising bar. Ridiculous price for breakfast. Shower difficult to figure out. Water not hot enough and weak water pressure. Staff seemed overwhelmed and frustrated by computer system. Advertised 3 pm for check in but most rooms were not ready.

    Clean room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Way better than expected.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge.

    Location - very close to UN, 42nd street has everything, and 20 mins walking to Times Square. You can print for free from e-mail. Wifi was good and for free. Room was well cleaned and spacious. Was able to extend for one more night smoothly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The television set did not work, was repaired but had same problem the next day when nobody came. The room was not cleaned, even not after it was reported twice at the frontdesk. The curtain of one window did not function. It looked like I had one of the last rooms that was not well looked after. Wifi should not be an extra, paid for, but be included nowadays.

    The location is great and I had a quiet room. Bed was comfortable and room small but fine for 1 person on a business trip. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    The location is close to Grant Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for 4 adults and two kids. I knew there is only 4 beds. And booking.com let me book it. When I requested the kids bed, they said they will give if available. During checkin they said kids bed not all possible for the room as it is small. The rooms were really really small and it was a nightmare sleeping there.. when requested, they said they will send some extra pillows, blankets, etc but never sent. We were early to the hotel for checkin. We could keep the luggage there but was a struggle to use the bath room as it was key locked. The air condition vent was noisy. Couldn’t sleep well. In general, they just don’t care much about customer requirements even if they could help. They just don’t care much.

    The location is close to Grant Central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    Major disappointment!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad house keeping (only came in once out of 2 days), very thin walls for noise (Rude security person), no mini fridge, room was very small despite previously communicating the number and details of guests, just one bin in the bathroom but nothing in the actual room, no plug adaptor on site!!!

    The location is the only good thing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Decent hotel, good location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fill my kids water bottle, was told to “use the sink”... for $325 for one night I expect WiFi to be included. It’s not :/ amenities are sparse, sheets weren’t all that soft. Didn’t feel as upscale as I expected it to be.

    Location is good for midtown. Many eateries and shops nearby. Subway a short walk. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.8
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Upon arrival in the room the safe wasn't working and there was a trickle of blood on the outside of the toilet. at 03.30 on our first night the pipes started banging above the AC vent which went on for over 2 hours so lack of sleep that night. We had already paid for the hotel upon booking (booked when was the Hilton, then changed to Westgate shortly before our arrival), yet upon arrival the put a hold on the credit card for $150 more that what the room cost when booked and that the room hadn't been paid for. For all this inconvenience to put it mildly we did not once receive any apology from any staff member regarding this, especially the more than 2 hours of banging we incurred.

    Very little.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.4
    Glad we only used it to sleep in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is NOT 4 star!! It looks tired and worn out, with a serious upgrade needed. Wifi is ridiculously slow No plugs or USB beside bed No bar or fridge facilities in room

    The location was fair, close enough to walk to time square but also far enough away that its quieter. Room was clean and good view (windows could do with a clean) Staff were lovely and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Decent enough location but staff let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff very rude and unhelpful, and didn’t give any details so we kept having to back to ask (check out time, Wi-fi details, breakfast) Breakfast was extremely expensive, room keys kept being deactivated and hotel tired looking

    Doormen and housekeeping were friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    The location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was really inferior (bad), they didn't clean waste basket, they left cleaning stuf around the room, roomkey didn't work and when we asked help at the maindesk in reception the staf were really unpleasant!! Won't recommend to anyone!

    The location is perfect! The hotel is middle of everything like Grand Station subway and just a short walking to Times Square and Broadway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    We did not like being charged a Resort Fee by the new owners Westgate, as this is not a resort hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were a party of 5 staying in 2 rooms. The original booking via Booking.com was with the Hilton Grand Central, but they sold it recently to Westgate Hotels. The hotel is old and needs updating. Upon check-in we were told there was an extra 25 dollars per night per room for the "Resort Fee". The rooms were already over 200 dollars a night each, plus 14.75% tax and 3.50 pn City Tax. Thankfully, we had printouts of the original booking and argued, so they canceled the Resort Fee. We will not be going back.

    The rooms were small but comfortable and the maid service was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    We were not happy with having to argue about the Resort Fee, as this is not a Resort Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were a party of 5 staying in 2 rooms. The original booking via Booking.com was with the Hilton Grand Central, but they sold it recently to Westgate Hotels. The hotel is old and needs updating. Upon check-in we were told there was an extra 25 dollars per night per room for the "Resort Fee". The rooms were already over 200 dollars a night each, plus 14.75% tax and 3.50 pn City Tax. Thankfully, we had printouts of the original booking and argued, so they canceled the Resort Fee. We will not be going back.

    The rooms were small but comfortable and the only positive was that maid service was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    I had a fairly good stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Based on the cost that there was no breakfast included.

    The property was clean and the staff friendly. It was within walking distance to the venue at which I had my meetings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.0
    Situated perfectly for the job - conference in the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Roll in Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Taxi booked by the Hotel did not accept credit cards and could not issue receipt - so I guess it was not a regular one. But when I book in the hotel, I assume, that I get a legal cab :-(

    Situated perfectly for the job - conference in the UN-Building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    3.3
    disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is very verybold property which require general renovation. AC was super loud, rooms were dirty and I am not sure vacuuming would help at all. Constantly tapping water in the shower. Super dirty windows etc, etc. Coffee machine in the room was from 1990. No mini-bar, no bottled water.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    nice hotel, though small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we got was very very small and crouded. besides - there were some unexpected problems - the wifi didnt really worked for us and there were some loud noises from the cloack room during the night. we shared this problems with the front desk in the morning, and they were kind and helpfull, so we still left the hotel satisfied.

    The staff was vrey nice and helpfull, and when i shared the problems i had with the room - they offered a generous compensation which left me satisfy in the end.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff, and a building that is full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice to have bottled water in the room, and some china cups to drink out of instead of plastic. A mini-bar would also be appreciated. I would have liked bathrobe and slippers.

    The location was great: quiet, but central. I like that the building has so much character - it doesn't feel like a chain hotel. The bed and pillows were super-comfortable. I had a room with a balcony which had an amazing view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor - just a bit tired particularly in the bathrooms. Price of a small bottle of mineral water was extortionate.

    The hotel met our requirements, the staff friendly and helpful. The decor was just a bit tired but the rooms etc were clean. Beds and linen very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean spacious more traditional hotel def not what I’d expect from Hilto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Roll in Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the lift broke down & I had to walk down & bavk up 15 floors thankfully this only happened once

    This property was right on the edge of 42nd street it’s a little far out but for us it meant a little quieter and you could actually get a sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    The room amenities were good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The staff at (a) reception and (b) housekeeping were rude and not helpful; this was disappointing.

    The room amenities were good. I will recommend the property to others because of its location (especially if you work at/near the UN).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    I didn’t use too much of hotel, just to sleep, comfortable bed, perfect location
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the view from my room, there was no view...and also I found in the washroom some hair. Also I checked that I need parking, and I had to pay for it $65/24h, and later on the receipt parking was listed for $55/24h, but I still was charged $65....

    The best thing is the location, comfortable room even though it was small, very nice washroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Overall, the stay was great. The rooms were tidy and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi only worked well in certain areas, for example in the room it was excellent but once you stepped out into the corridors, calls would drop and wifi would not work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    We had a nice time but spent a lot of time traveling and walking for things to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price of the breakfast buffet and inconvenient location

    The staff member who served us at the hotel bar was very friendly. This hotel is not close to tourist attractions so plan on walking or spending funds on cab. Also not close to subway station. There was little to do in the neighborhood. Our room was stuffy and musty but was glad we could open the window. The neighborhood is quiet and we kept the window open all night and were not bothered. The breakfast buffet was outrageous for what it was. There was not sign of the price and we didn't ask. I just about fell off my chair when my bill came of $69 for two people for scrambled eggs, sausage, bananas, potatoes, pastries, coffee and juice. The staff was really nice though, just wish the breakfast buffet price was more reasonable. I would expect to pay $18 per person for a deluxe continental buffet like that back home. I could justify the price if it had a selection of brunch options including prime rib, salmon, and quiches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location, rooms a bit out-dated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the historical building aspect is cute on the outside, I expected the rooms to be less historical and more modern.

    Nice hotel, really good location, bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. It’s located in a historical building, so it has a vibe of old New York.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Room was average but you can't beat the location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was average but you can't beat the location. I have to say this about the front desk staff; they were the absolute best. Went above and beyond to fulfill my requests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff member at my time of check in was outstanding.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shows a lot of use, and wear.

    The staff member at my time of check in was outstanding. The young man was professional, yet personable. Great experience at check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    The windows in each room and bathroom made it easy to let a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the rooms, bathrooms, hallways and elevators were all very small (probably just due to being a very old building) but if you’re looking for spacious and new, this isn’t the one you want.

    The windows in each room and bathroom made it easy to let a nice cool breeze in without letting rain in. Staff were all really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location and friendly staff but very poor WiFi connection and rather outdated amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi connection even if the hotel has a WiFi. Room was very outdated and not clean. The room’s door lock (the chain lock) fixture showed a sign of breakage as the fixture was loose!

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    good price, good location, excellent staff, acceptable facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Room (1315) was a bit unsettling at first. What do do with the extra chair? I never really figured out the light switches.

    Friendly, competent staff - thank you. Convenient - for me. Hot water, good pressure, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The clicker for the TV was MOST difficult. I had to cal staff to come and show how to turn on the set. Also the shower faucet...the directions on the wall were fine but why such an elaborate flixture? What if English were not your native tongue?

    Ease of check in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel that met my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The snacks, beverages, etc were very over priced.

    Location was excellent. Nice smaller hotel without too much hype. I would have appreciated having a concierge. Please update your website with the change in this information.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.2
    Room very small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eventhough a 4 stars hotel I feel like a 3 or may be a 2. The room was quite clean, but smaller than what we thought it would be from the pictures. The staffs they were mostly helpful, still they weren't the most hospitable for "4" stars hotel. May be it is the New Yorkers thing? The internet connection here is really horrible, My boyfriend spent the first night trying to get connection with hotel technical support, and yet the connection still periodically dropped out (My Iphone couldn't connect at all!!). I won't come back the next time though. I feel like the money I spent, I could get better services elsewhere.

    The good thing about the hotel is its location. It is close to Grand Central, Time Sq, Etc. So we could get around with ease. There are also some nice restaurants around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Exhausted in New York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We he a clogged shower drain so I call to have it repaired and no one showed up. The buffet wasn't worth it, it was way over priced.

    It was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we got smelled of cigarette smoke and there was no tissues or toilet paper. There was a used paper cup on the bathroom counter and the bed looked like someone had been sitting on it. However we were quickly given another room

    Friendly. Helpful responded fast to all concerns

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location if a little tired room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little tired wanted to pay with a different credit card and account had already been charged . This cost me extra credit card charges

    Great location and helpful concierge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    I wish I had stayed at the Hyatt.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival the advertised sundry in the lobby was closed. I had no remote control in my room. The air conditioning was shoddy. The scent of the room was unpleasant and there was no room service at all, despite it being advertised. The front desk staff was pleasant but there was little they could do about the aforementioned items.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Based on our experienced during this reservation, we would be unlikely to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Roll in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed size I paid for, queen, was NOT what I received. When I complained, I was told that the double bed in my room was a "New York City queen." In 30+ years of staying in the city, I've never heard of such a thing. Also the TV in my room DID NOT WORK. Finally, we were given a handicap-accessible room (which was fine, as long as someone with special needs didn't need it). The button to open and close the door to the room DID NOT WORK. This was not a problem for us, but could have led to an awful situation for someone with special needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    I would go back there if I’m going back to New York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Roll In Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in our room wasn’t working. It’s was so hot. They had it checked but still wasn’t fixed. Apart from that, they were brilliant.

    The room was a good size. The team was very helpful and friendly. Very professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were very small and dated. All the facilities - iron, ironing board, hair dryer, worked but only just as they all had their faults (iron plug cable wouldn't stay extended, for example), ironing board was old and hard to put up/take down. On the whole, just low standards basically.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    Ok location, rooms needs a little TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned properly, black hairs form the previous occupant in/on the bath on arrival. Bathroom wasn’t particularly fresh and there was a stain on the floor under the sink unit showing that the floor if being mopped wasn’t mopped properly.

    Staff were very friendly, nice building, quiet location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices at the little restaurant were really high, my water bottle I was reusing got thrown away from my room and it cost me almost $4 for a 20oz bottle of water.

    Great location, comfortable bed, accommodating staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, Clean and safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t use restaurant too expensive.but loads of value restaurants very near .. central to everywhere Lovely hotel ) staff lovely Jose the door man was so helpful too anywhere we wanted to go he gave us directions .. will be staying again in November

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Bed very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was poor. Expensive largely processed food that I could buy in a store.

    Bed very comfortable. Room perfectly adequate. Tea and coffee making facilities. Very good room service. Excellent location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    30 th Birthday trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have requested a room with a front street view as this was our first stay in New York, my granddaughter wanted to see outside in lights, but that was a mistake on my behalf.

    Loved this hotel, the rooms were comfortable, very clean, the right size room for us which was for two adults and a child, the staff were brilliant, they made sure your stay was perfect, nothing was any trouble they went above and beyond great service. Would recommend staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    2.9
    Not particularly clean, quite isolated and rooms small and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not particularly clean, quite isolated and rooms small and staff rude and unhelpful. No bar or lounge area and would not regard it as a typical Hilton/international standard hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: