Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort 4 stars

3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140, USA

#227 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 77 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Paid WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.3
    Miami Westgate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t have a bar didn’t have a restaurant or any gift shops. The things that were close to the hotel like food was disappointing. We told housekeeping we would be out the room shortly could they clean then of course our room was not cleaned i our entire stay from Thursday to Sunday ..I’m a west gate owner but i will never stay at the one in Miami again.

    I didn’t like anything but the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    It was not worth what we paid for it. Was not like any other West Gate Resort I have seen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sleeper sofa mattress was worn out, it made you roll to the middle of the mattress, the lights turned on in the middle of the night on their own. We woke up at 2am with the lights on. The air conditioner was not cool at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    We had a really nice journey at the Westgate South Resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The couch was not comfortable at all. The swimming pool is not very sunny (but it is heated). Not a lot of shops and restaurants in the area (but free shuttle to all Miami Beach).

    We had a really nice journey at the Westgate South Resort. The staff was really nice and helpful, the room was nice and big, the service was good (towels changed everyday, beds made, complimentary bottles of water, coffee, soap...). We were satisfied with the room equipments. The beach is really beautiful, just outside the hotel. The swimming pool is nice but not very sunny.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    2.5
    Overpriced, old, nothing interesting in this location,unprofessional stuff, not welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unpleasant welcome We arrived at 8 pm. After a very apathetic welcome went to the room realized the hotel is going through renovations. In the corridor next to our room saw smoke coming out of the vent and felt a strong smell of construction materials in the room. We insisted to change it and we got another room. Shortly after they wanted us to leave this room and said they will find us a new hotel through booking.com. It was late at night so we refused. We ended up staying in the room after we strongly disagreed to leave and the reception clerk apologized. The room has not been cleaned during our stay, the carpet was dirty, furniture are old and stained, we had to ask and wait for clean towels , they didn’t put new soaps and didn’t empty the garbage. We paid a lot for this hotel and felt it was not justified.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is located right on the boardwalk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear the people upstairs moving around. During my stay the upstairs guest moved around all night. They were doing construction and the hallway was covered in plastic, which wasn't a good welcome. The floor looked as if it needed moped.

    The hotel is located right on the boardwalk. Family friendly hotel. The staff wa awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.0
    beautiful grounds and location. Rooms so so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and overall building structure was somewhat poorly constructed. Floor was sloped and bumpy. Could hear the conversation of people in the room next door. Foot noise from upper room very loud as was the hallway noise.

    Location and beach access was great. The grounds were beautiful and the fellow who provided the activities,barbecue etc was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.1
    Westgate comes up short
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Charges on top of the resort fee for umbrellas, beach chairs, use of backyard cabanas. Pool closed at dusk despite ample lighting. The amount of tours and sales going on daily for the time shares, disrupted natural flow of relaxing.

    Heated pool, play area for kids in yard, BBQ available for use. Full kitchens in rooms. Valet staff was awesome. Location to beach and boardwalk as well as being just off the craziness of ocean drive and south beach.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    2.9
    The worst hotel i have ever been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and noisy room. Staff wanted to charge us extra for cleaning the room (told us only change of towels and bed was included in the price) the lift certificate expited 3 months ago so it was scary to use it

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    Check in - was quick and easy. Booking confirmation showed a lower price on valet than they give (must have been a typo) but there was no fuss. I presented the email and it was done. Service - anything needed for the room was promptly brought up. Valet was very quick. Wow - we had to unexpectedly check out at midnight rather than 10am so we were given a small refund back. Beach - so close! And the boardwalk is beautiful. The beach is very clean and kept up.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    9.6
    Really lovely facility!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly over priced. There were a few sections of the facility we didn't have access to, because we weren't "members", even though we paid all resort fees.

    Really lovely facility! The outdoor area is well thought out and makes it easy to relax and unwind (pool, firepit, volleyball, lounge chairs, extremely close to the beach). The pool lounge chairs are the most comfortable lounge chairs I've ever sat in. The room is very spacious. Everything is up to date, with a full kitchen, jetted tub, etc. the staff was extremely helpful, allowing us to store our bags and providing wonderful suggestions for restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the road repairs going on outside was terrible

    Updated decide - easy beach access - good pool & outdoor facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    On the beach clean facility clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee and construction

    On the beach clean facility clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    We enjoyed the location to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of the place - very old needs to be knocked down and new place built - very tired and dated

    Location great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, no parking $42 for parking for a such place

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice oceanville
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was beautiful

    Nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    Overall the stay was good great location for everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view wasn’t good the sheets had stains in them

    Bed was comfortable room was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was on the beach and our room was nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was on the beach and our room was nice ...The Miami Westgate location is small and does not give breakfast to anyone but on Wednesday

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    2.5
    DO NOT BOOK AT THIS HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms, broken bed, rude staff

    Nothing it was a disgrace

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.2
    The cleanest resort I have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanest resort I have stayed in. Jacuzzi hot tub in the room...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    8.3
    Great location, right off the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor housekeeping. Often had to ask for basic things like soap and towels

    Great location, right off the beach. Very comfortable room. Fantastic facilities in the room

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beach Bar was not open. Entrance from outdoors and pool area should not have you walking thru main lobby !

    Excellent location ! Very clean and comfortably.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.3
    - large & nice appartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - the floor must be wood as you hear every step - must be an older building but renovated and everything very nice arranged - one lady wanted to sell us stock from Westgate, didn't find that appropriate as she was telling us she wanted to inform us about discounts in parks ect. - parking directly next to hotel 1 h 1 dollar (10 per day). Should be included.

    - large & nice appartments - whirlpool in the room - directly at the beach - everything very clean - nice pool and garden - super market in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.2
    The view was gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The elevator was broken our entire stay. I was asked by the bellman to help carry my things up three flights of stairs while I was also carrying my 1 year old.

    The view was gorgeous!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.9
    my room was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was tight. Construction was well underway around the resort. The resort facility was nice and clean but the building next door was and eyesore.

    my room was very comfortable. My partner and I loved the Kitchen, Jacuzzi, and deep walk in shower. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Pot, pans, utensils, cups, plates, buying groceries. Saved us money.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    10
    The hotel was lovely their customer service was amazing they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was pretty hard and I know there was no control over this but their elevator wasn't working .I have a bad knee do going up and down the stairs was a bit difficult

    The hotel was lovely their customer service was amazing they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom villa for free ultimately we enjoyed it

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    6.7
    Right on the beach, grilling in the back was fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our shower water fluctuated from hot to cold while showering. Had maintanence come up twice but was never fixed. Maintanence or maid service doesn't speak English. And our trash was not picked up. Towels not changed out of when we requested face towels they brought us regular towels most likely because they couldn't understand us.

    Right on the beach, grilling in the back was fun

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.3
    Comfy huge main bed and jacuzzi, lovely gardens with bbqs,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No balconies (but we had to book at last minute and knew this before we arrived)

    Comfy huge main bed and jacuzzi, lovely gardens with bbqs, fires, hammocks, volleyball etc and great sun loungers

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    6.3
    The location was ok and if you are looking for a large room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Reception staff was not welcoming nor friendly. Customer service is not their strong suit. Whether its a question about the wifi or where to find things in the area it was met with indifference bordering on irritation. Worst experience we had travelling the coast of Florida. The place is all about the beach - the area itself doesnt offer much else. Either go further south or choose a proper resort. This was overpriced for what it was ...

    The location was ok and if you are looking for a large room this certainly fitsvthe bill, unfortunately that is the best we can say about the place.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    8.8
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    not parking garage/lot

    good location

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    6.7
    Staff pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking bad and no access to beach rooms very noisy

    Staff pleasant

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: