Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C 4 stars

2100 Massachusetts Ave, N.W, Northwest, Washington, DC 20008 , USA

#56 of 138 hotels in Washington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 613 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    good hotel, nice people, but need to ask room supplies refill from cleaning lady
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room supplies (shampoo, condition etc) have not been refilled on time (sometime it won't be refilled even when you run out of them) breakfast change day over day, it's all cold food (I am fine with this), the thing made me a bit sad is sometimes they provided meat(ham etc and i missed that day), sometime they are not. price is good(10+tax), you will have muffs, croissant, milk, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea. cereal, toast and other bakery etc.

    everything else.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for downtown DC, pleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms and a/c didn't dry out the humidity the first day.

    Great service, clean room, comfortable beds, rooms were quite small compared to modern hotels, but it is an historic hotel, loved the location, so close to attractions and neat Embassy buildings and quaint brownstones. Several businesses in walking distance. Quick ride to Washington Reagan airport too!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Reasonable price with perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small and old room. Not good view from our window. Lots of noise when other guests went by. Expensive parking fee.

    Reasonable price with perfect location. Nice employees.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    It's a gem !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was the fact I had to go home . I would have loved to stay longer

    What a beautiful place with the sweetest employees I have ever met. So very welcoming and it's like you have known them forever. Very professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing I would like to have some of my money refunded but I know that’s impossible. Because t
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should know they’re under construction there’s really no help because there’s no front desk and there’s no recourse my room was not what I booked

    The room we book Was not available they put us in another room that only had one bed so I had to share with my 87-year-old father. The room with directly over the construction they were doing which started at 7:30 AM. When I got there the registration desk charged me $1118 because of the room mixup but because I booked with you and then they charge me whatever amount I originally booked with you which was about $600 more. I spoke with them and they felt bad but said I needed to go through you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is nothing to write home about -- no frills continental. But enough to tide you over till lunch.

    Room was well appointed and comfortable. Everything was clean and tidy. Decor not the most modern, but definitely well-taken care of. Staff OUTSTANDING from the reception staff to the doorstaff, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    The location is great, the rooms (depending on which one you...
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel decor is much older and outdated than I anticipated - lamps were not working etc, price paid was too high for this, restaurant food choices and availability is very limited.

    The location is great, the rooms (depending on which one you get assigned - I had to request for a alternate one) is nice, the staff are willing to accommodate requests and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Great staff. Great location. Facilities so-so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't told about the construction. "Luxury" used loosely here.

    Location is great. Staff was wonderful!! Rooms are tiny. Beds are tiny.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    This is my second time staying at this hotel, and the rooms...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my second time staying at this hotel, and the rooms weren't particularly clean either time. It's a beautiful place, but they need to increase the cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    rude and unaccomodating front desk staff that did not make you feel welcomed at this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our reserved double queen bed that we selected back in October had been given to a guest that had decided to stay last minute. There also wasn’t any other room available with queen beds. Instead we were placed in a room with a king bed and a sleeper sofa that was supposed to accommodate my daughter. We requested the sofa bed be made and when were we finally were able to check into that room at 6 pm (after not receiving any calls about our room being open) we found a small room with a dirty and depleted sleeper sofa with no bedding available in the room. After being rudely spoken to by the front desk staff and being told “well you can leave,” we were switched to a room with two double beds and promised to be able to move into our requested room the next morning. Well we were never able to into our requested room and were stuck in a incredible small room with two double beds with three adults. The bathroom was falling apart with a broken rods and rotting bathroom cabinets. The front desk staff talked down to us and never offered a reason for why we couldn’t get in our room. The only compensation we were given was complimentary breakfast for 3 days which was basically the equilavent of what you would get from Dunkin Donuts. By no standard would I consider this a luxury hotel. Do not stay here.

    The staff that greeted at the front door were incredibly welcoming and kind. They were the only thing great at this terrible place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Decent room in a good location however breakfast was a rip-off.
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast for $10 is what most places give for free. It was a basic continental breakfast but They charged $10. We just went to the local Panera every morning.

    Veey nice room. Even though it was small it was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful historic hotel located in a convenient, yet quaint location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was slightly stuffy on a hot day - air conditioning had to keep going at full blast to make it feel comfortable. Perhaps part of the historic hotel package.

    Beautiful historic hotel decorated accordingly. The hotel seemed to deal with the current state of construction in a great manner - did not affect experience or stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and helpful personnel, very close to metro.
    • People with friends
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very poor in choice and not enough for all guests.

    Very nice and helpful personnel, very close to metro. Comfortable beds and spacious room and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing experience great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. The room needed a good clean. Bath scratched. Curtains & nets needed a wash.

    Renovation work prevented any sort of a decent breakfast, although only charged $10 you'd expect the management at least to make an effort apart from toast, hot drink and some cereal. No effort was made. We even had to clear our own tables. The room looked tired and needed a spruce up. The area behind the tv cabinet had not been cleaned for weeks. The bath was scratched. At these prices you expect more sadly no one appeared to care, the staff agreed that this wasn't good enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    The people at front door doesn’t even help you carry the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people at front door doesn’t even help you carry the luggage , after they close the cafeteria there is nothing to drink or eat at the hotel ! Not even Vending machines to get a bottle of water. The quality of television is the worst! Wouldn’t stay there again .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed with not being told of renovation work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under renovation, no kitchen, "continental breakfast" basically croissants & pastries on plastic plates with plastic cutlery & paper cups.......really this is a four star hotel & which American hotel serves this for breakfast??!!

    Comfy bed, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Stuff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The linens should be changed every day. The shower needs a portable head. The soap dish has not been cleaned troughout my stay. The coffee/ tea tray was not clean. It was very noisy due to the construction, starting at 5 o’clock in the morning.

    Stuff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Met our minimum requirements
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was small, back trash alley view, also looked into other rooms' windows ( and visa versa). Shower had trouble pushing out water. Bed was comfortable - although there was a stain on the top sheet. Great neighborhood

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is very old and needs Renovating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old and currently being renovated. Renovations started at 5:30am and woke us up. The bathrooms are terrible and the hot water took 15 minutes to warm up. There are signs of mould and dampness in the room.

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in reasonable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had very few healthy choices and lacked variety. Wifi only available in lobby and breakfast room.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable room. Large bathroom, but shower actually too powerful. Lovely bath towels and comfortable bed. Not too far from the train. If you like walking then you can walk to all the museums and monuments, as well as Georgetown.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Great place for adults with no children
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Grand Deluxe Double With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more bedside outlets. Would love to have complimentary coffee available late morning and early evening

    The hotel was well maintained. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great location and close to metro and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location, classic-old style...but consider another place until the renovation is complete.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drawback of hotel building renovation must be discussed. I was awoken early in the morning by loud banging noises of renovation materials tossed into the back of a construction dumpster. (My corner room was along the street and alleyway.) That meant my one day to sleep late was foiled. Plus, there was the ongoing sound of construction work going on somewhere below. If you get up early and only need a place to sleep, the construction won't bother you.

    You cannot beat the location - two blocks from Dupont Circle subway stop. Embassies are chock a block around. The building is old, well maintained and exudes a classic Washington, DC style. It has a decent sized gym and friendly staff (especially the doormen). Note- not a place for persons wanting modernistic environments.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Staff was very kind and accommodating!
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under renovation...Although everything is very nice, everything is very old and dated. The renovation was not made clear on the Booking.com website. I was a tad disappointed.

    Staff was very kind and accommodating! Made you feel like family. Extremely kind and helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area was under construction so couldnt enjoy true beauty if hotel, however this did not effect the stay, we couldnt hear any of the work being done which is a plus

    Location Quality of hotel Bed super comfy Free coffee

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, well maintained older style hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Surprisingly, dining area furniture was a bit tired, and there was no restaurant or coffee shop. This was our first time at the Fairfax, and the traditional front section of the hotel was closed off due to reconstruction. Not sure if the lack of restaurant facilities was due to this construction, or that they never existed before.

    Lovely, well maintained older style hotel. Friendly staff. Up to date bathroom. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.8
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However, the breakfast was horrible to say the least. Cold hard boiled eggs, stale bread etc. Not what one should expect for $15.00 per person. The staff did adjust our final bill and removed the add on for the breakfast, however, it took two days of chasing them down before it finally happened. Based on this I can not recommend this hotel.

    Wonderful location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed my brief stay especially that the I got a free upgrade at check-in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room key card not working and having to go back downstairs to have them recharged. There should at least be a telephone or the floor for that.

    The location was perfect for my business meetings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.3
    Okay but wouldn’t rush to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, we were met with help yourself which is fine but clean the table afterwards. Also plastic plates & cutlery, really? Check out was easy but kept getting pushed to back of queue for car, my daughter was with us and she had a 3 month old baby, not good!

    Good location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice, close to most sites and great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, when we arrived, we had no idea that there was a massive construction project going on in the main entrance and main lobby, and the signs were not so prevalently displayed. Booking.com and the hotel didn't mention the change of the entrance or construction from what I remember when I booked. After one of the construction workers pointed to the end of the driveway, we found the entrance and the reception desks. We liked how they turned the ballroom into the lobby, but the set up was a little awkward. It wasn't a problem, I just wish we would have been informed before arrival.

    The complimentary coffee bar in the morning was great, and the big screens in the lobby were nice to watch the Olympics on. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The doormen were also very pleasant and welcoming! We only stayed one night but I wish i had more time to take a bath in that fantastic tub in the bathroom!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    Room 523.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 523..bathroom was an ice box! Very small room. Check in & check out very confusing. There was no flow to the reception desk and no signs directing u. Glad it was for only 1 night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Outstanding stay in a lovely historic hotel, with a excellent customer service and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower ran a bit slow, but it wasn't a big deal. Water was warm and heated up fast!!

    Outstanding bed, pillow and comforter. Centrally located in a beautiful area with many amenities within easy walking distance. One can (and we did) walk to some of the Smithsonian's and the White House. Beautiful historic hotel located among some beautiful embassy buildings. Outstanding staff, friendly, courteous, responsive. All well done and I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Great convenient place to stay in Washington DC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints

    The location was perfect the property was beautiful the staff were amazingly helpful Dupont Circle Metro station is right there you can go anywhere from this hotel very easily and the room was beautiful and clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Staff were exceptionally nice;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cheaper parking inclusion would have been nice, but we did find on-street quite easily.

    Staff were exceptionally nice; hotel was super clean, very filling breakfasts, though the same every day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    The room was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only meat option was pork bacon and pork sausage. No chicken or turkey. For the price close to $20 with tax, you would think the price would entail a better variety.

    The room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    great value and splendid bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    access to ground floor barroom all day no grond floor restrooms near lobby there are no public rooms lounges etc - just business and conference rooms no breakfast service just plastic self service food menu uninspiringly dull and over seasoned /salted

    excellent traditional room and bathroom- great bed bar not bad

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    We were very pleased with the staff and the facilities. Thank you!
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating was a bit noisy - the fan was constantly blowing - but I can't complain, we stayed warm the entire time we were there, despite the draftiness of the windows. But it was not an issue - in a historic and beautiful hotel like this, part of the charm is in the detail like original window settings and frames.

    We had a corner room on the 8th floor, full of light and a wonderful view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    The bed was supposed to be a king bed in both the rooms I reserved and it was a queen in both rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I put my daughters credit card down on the room and paid cash upon leaving yet the hotel will NOT RELEASE HER CARD!!! The hotel stay was paid in full for two rooms and here we are on Jan. 9th after checking out on Jan 7th and your hotel has still not released the card with her money so she is unable to use it!!!!! I'm so very upset over this. My daughter is upset as well!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice facilities with history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive parking, only with vallet service. Price is mostly because of its history of welcoming famous guests than for the facilities themselves...

    Nice facilities with history. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Closer to all the monuments and it’s one of the prime...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner found some dust in obvious places. Rooms need ventilation since it’s an old building it has the old smell. Could be an issue for someone allergic.

    Closer to all the monuments and it’s one of the prime locations in DC realized after getting there. Restaurants close by. Got upgraded so thanks for that.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    Accomodations were enjoyable enough, but not sure if I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Young lady at front desk was not attentive at check-in nor when returning to ask questions regarding local restaurants. There were 3 draws for storing clothes; however, drawers did not fully extend, nor were they deep. Additional storage area in bedside tables. Disappointed at the additional cost for parking and the inability of the in-house bar/restaurant not being able to provide cold beer other than beer they had on tap. TV had very limited HD channels, majority were channels were fuzzy and unwatchable.

    Location was clean, pretty and convenient to metro and local eateries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    With outside temperatures in the teens, the unheated bathroom made our stay quite unpleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no heat in the bathroom. We notified the desk when we awoke the first morning and left the Fairfax to have breakfast at a nearby restaurant. When we returned, the bathroom door was left open and the thermostat was set at 85 degrees, presumably to heat both rooms. We noted that the bathroom heating vent was still inactive. Subsequently, we reset the thermostat to a reasonable temperature and the bathroom became an ice box once again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Great base from which to explore Washington DC.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It let itself down with the use of plastic tableware and cutlery at the breakfast service which were then just thrown into a bin.

    The hotel was well situated about a 20-minute walk from The White House. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet and our room was comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Great spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a $6.15 cost for every 15 minutes of PC use in the business center plus $0.79 for printed page. I can understand the charge on the prints, but the pc use, that was a bit much. In my case I needed to reprint a pass I lost, and it took me about a minute, yet I still had to pay the full 15 mins

    Great facilities. The restaurant gas really good too, and a great solution the night we arrived since we got there past 10 pm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Location, room, and staff will make me come back again and again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The free wifi is an impossibility. Because of the proximity of another hotel, I was constantly connected to their wifi and could not get into my e-mail because the room number did not correspond. The problem is not new, the Fairfax should do something about it. The breakfast room does not do a hotel of that quality justice. But, there are many places in the neighborhood which offer good breakfasts for half the price.

    The Fairfax is my favorite hotel in Washington. The rooms are very beautiful and well appointed. They have a view and one can open the windows - twice a plus. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    <3<3<3<3<3 Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI is not free and can only connect up to 3 devices.

    Can't recommend more. The room is cosy with good air con warming up the room quickly. Just love the fabulous ascent of the toiletries. Taxis queueing at the gate so one can commute to anywhere easily. Starbucks within one block's distance. I left my phone by the bed when checking out. Realised it 2 hours later so called the hotel immediately. They were extremely helpful, from the receptionist to the cleaning lady to the doorman, yes I mean everyone. Thanks so much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the money! Extremely disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty. We were in shock. As if they just did the bed from the last visitors and that's it. There was an open coke cane on the floor next to the bed, toilet paper pieces on the toilet seat and a blade cover in the shower!!!! The next morning I talked to the housekeeper myself about these and they cleaned it but i have never had such bad experience in a hotel about the cleanliness. Not worth the money! Extremely disappointing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    It was a nice hotel overall, however a bit pricey for what it’s worth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that you had to vallet your car while there. Parking was $50 a night on top of the room charge. That can add up quickly. They did manage to give us a small discount since we stayed for four days which was nice. We were looking forward to having a bar and restaurant in the hotel, but it closed the entire time. No vending machines were offered. It was a short walk to cvs if you needed anything.

    The staff was great. Very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    A most wonderful & plesent experiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not fault The Fairfax at Embassy Row .

    it is well situated to everything. The hotel is a beautiful building it has a 1930s to 1940s look to it, but at the same time it is up to date with everything. the staff are very friendly & helpful, I will definitely bee visiting again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Our anniversary trip started off fantastically staying here with the accommodation and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The suite was amazing and if I could find a fault, it was the fan behind the panel in the bedroom, but otherwise it’s a perfect place to stay and visit Washington

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    What's not to like!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly, helpful staff; a good selection for breakfast including a cooked option; roomy, comfortable accommodation and a great location close to transport. We'd certainly recommend it to friends and would stay there again ourselves.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location and a nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think this was the hotel's fault, but when we arrived they were unable to find the second reservation that I had made through a third party site. This made my first 24 hours a bit stressful as the second reservation was for 3 nights. Other than that the stay was excellent.

    The location was great. The proximity to Dupont Circle and excellent restaurants cannot be overstated. The overall environment was very good, and the hotel was quiet during the evening hours, which I always appreciate it. The staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel, and Location - 5-Star Staff and Facility
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I travel to D.C. regularly, and this was my first stay at the Fairfax. The room wasn't large, but very adequate... but I was there for the location and a bed. The room was clean as a whistle, bed was wonderful, the bathroom - and especially the shower, was the best ever. The hotel staff was 5-star from the bellmen to the desk staff to the restaurant manager. As good as I can ever remember. And there was even a human being that gave me my wake-up calls. The Fairfax is my first choice in D.C. from now on!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.8
    Heritage hotel needing an update and charming enough to deserve one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy bed, ancient carpet, old bathroom, and TV from two decades ago. And internet at a charge!! Also, restaurant was closed due to “too much competition outside” so bar fare available only.

    Lovely area and building, but the hotel is tired and neglected, and in need of some deserved, tender loving care.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    This hotel has a lot of historic character and is located in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I feel like this hotel was a well deserved 4-star hotel at some point, but I was not impressed with the wear and cleanliness in our room. A layer of dust on the windows and the shelf in the closet was quite unappealing. The tub/shower and other areas in the bathroom as well as the carpet have obvious signs of their age. Fortunately, it looks like this property is looking to modernize within the next year or so and I would be happy to come back in the future to experience their new look once it is complete.

    This hotel has a lot of historic character and is located in a great part of town and easily accessed by the Metro at Dupont Circle. The staff are very kind and accommodating. The included breakfast was simple and good (scrambled eggs, meat, oatmeal, fruit, and assorted breads/pastries), but I could not imagine paying the $12+ per day for the selections offered if was not already factored into our nightly room rate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Clean, comfortable, convenient location. Great stay in DC!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    The staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious. The beds were firm and comfortable. A perfect stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    First Time Guest!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, location, location! A great bargain right near DuPont Circle. Easy to get everywhere! The room was clean & the staff was accommodating - but I didn’t love the pillows. Not a deal-breaker.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean. For example, a condom wrapper remained on the side of the bed stand, as well as other signs that the particular area was not cleaned often. Stains on the furniture. Wrippled carpeting (on which I tripped on and nearly fell).

    Location. History. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    the room was lovely, very spacious & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we travelled from the uk & had not eaten since the morning, we arrived late & there was nowhere to get food in the hotel not even a sandwich or snack

    the room was lovely, very spacious & comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    It would be better if I didn't have to fill out questionnaires. The hotel was EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE. E
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be better if I didn't have to fill out questionnaires. The hotel was EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE. End of story.

    It would be better if I didn't have to fill out questionnaires. The hotel was EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE. End of story.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought in selecting the 'Grand Deluxe' room I would have had more space with couch and sitting area. The room was a 'standard' room with a view.

    The location was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.0
    bREAKFAST FOOD SUCKED.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bREAKFAST FOOD SUCKED. nO MINI BAR CONTENTS IN ROOM! nO UMBRELLAS IN ROOM WAS POURING RAIN. NONE AVAILABE AT FRONT DESK EITHER. NEEDS TOTAL REMODEL AND UPDATE VERY DATED!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Conveniently located in DuPont Circle by restaurants, shopping and Metro.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although housekeeping staff was very friendly they did not give me toiletries on the last day leaving me scrambling

    Staff is friendly. Love the East Coast charm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    A slightly worn old-fashioned luxury hotel for a very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi should be free! Low-level background noise irritated. Bathroom fittings were past their best. These points should be seen in the context of the price asked; we would very happily stay once again.

    Excellent location, good area (surrounded by embassies), easy access to the metro, top-notch breakfasts available a short walk away (Le Pain Quotidien). Bed very comfortable, if a little high (in the American manner). Freebies of good quality. We had an excellent value prepaid deal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Traditional hotel, comfortable, but should have free internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free internet in the room. Bathroom small with little storage. The front desk staff were not over friendly

    Comfy bed with extra long pillows. Near the metro

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    Would stay there again if on a similar short term stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of vending machines and ice machines was an issue. Lack of a workout facility was a problem on the rainy arrival day. Room could have used a mini fridge.

    included 2 free breakfast vouchers. Had a business center for computer access and boarding pass printing. Room had decent levels of noise reduction from outside noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    We would definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was rather expensive, went to Starbucks instead and while waiting for our shuttle, we found out the bar didn't open until 5:00, so we waited in the lobby instead.

    Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. They allowed us to check in early since our room was available. They directed us to nearby locations and provided us with appropriate restaurant choices. Bartender was accommodating (changed channel to Red Sox game) and food was prepared and served as ordered. Work out room was well equipped and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Will stay there again. Very nice hotel and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sofa bed, where I slept, was uncomfortable. A nice air mattress to lay over the lumpy mattress would have helped.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was lumpy and breakfast at the hotel is expensive.

    Great location. Took the Metro from the train station and there is a metro stop about 2 blocks away from the hotel. There are a number of great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and at least one good book store. Hotel is an elegant, older one and it was nice and quiet. They do have a restaurant but I did not use it. Medium sized room but large bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location, great front desk staff, comfortable bedroom, disappointing bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a lot more bugs in the room that I expected in a hotel of this standard. The shower was over the bath and there wasn't an easy handrail to hold onto when climbing in and out. It was also difficult to get the water to drain.

    The location is excellent on a nice safe street close to restaurants and the metro. The staff on the desk and the porters were extra nice and helpful. The room was spacious and very comfortable and had a lovely relaxing armchair and footstool as well as a work desk and chair.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Did not like 50 dollar valet parking only option.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like 50 dollar valet parking only option. Lights in room were not working. Staff were friendly but inflexible i.e. Not given necessary responsibility to resolve customer needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    4.2
    This exploits the good location and the historical building to basically rip-off the guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost everything except location and look-and-feel of the Hotel is not acceptable. Personnel was not so friendly, the breakfast was very poor and totally inadequate for the price: all plastic silverware and dishware with little choice of food and drinks. It lacked most fruits, I took some pears but it seems I had to was chewing on a piece of rubber. The rooms were nicely decorated, but in a poor state (decayed and dirty). The air-con in the room was extremely noisy, so at the end you had to choose between staying awake because of the air-con noise, or stay awake because of the heat and humidity. This was not just our room, our children's room, and our co-traveling friends had exactly the same issue. This shows how much the Hotel (not) cares about its customers. I do not recommend to stay here, unless you have a real compelling reason.

    The location and the historical look of the Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Well-located and beautiful hotel with superior staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt the cost was high for the buffet breakfast offered.

    The check-in was very fast and we were greeted by very friendly reception staff. The room was very spacious and clean, and so was the bathroom. Beds are very comfortable, which was a treat after a 8 hours drive to DC. We were very impressed by the staff throughout the hotel, regardless of the type of service, they were truly amazing. The location of the hotel was also advantageous, 5-10 minutes walk from Dupont Circle and from the metro station to reach the monuments, white house, museums, etc. We were greeted every time we arrived or left the hotel by the valet parking gentlemen, who also always went out of their ways to help us get to where we needed to be.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast should be more environmentally conscious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How come every plate, bowl, cup and utensil had to be disposable for breakfast buffet? Seemed like a waste, if it is all disposable, it could at least be recyclable.

    It was decent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    I arrived late at night and the stuff was really helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When my friend arrived, she had to go in and asked for someone to come for the valet parking. Also have in mind they charge you, as almost EVERY hotel in the US a fee for unexpected incidents that can take up to 30 days to return if you live abroad.

    I arrived late at night and the stuff was really helpful and nice. The room was nice, the AC worked perfectly and the bed was good. Also the location, near Dupont Circle, is perfect to take the subway and even walk around. I was able to walk to the White House in like half an hour from the hotel looking at nice shops and restaurants around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Not bad, not awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Feels a bit old fashioned to have to pay 13dollar/night extra for wifi. Not much that really make it feel like a 4 star hotel

    The location on Embassy row , such a pretty neighbourhood. The free cookies in the lobby are a nice touch too

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: